
TITLE 11 - AGRICULTURE, LIVESTOCK AND OTHER ANIMALS 
 

CHAPTER 1 - GENERAL PROVISIONS 
 

11-1-101.  Definitions. 
 

(a)  As used in title 11, unless the context otherwise 
requires or unless otherwise specifically noted: 
 

(i)  "Board" means the state board of agriculture; 
 

(ii)  "Director" means the director of the department 
of agriculture for the state of Wyoming or his designated 
representative; 
 

(iii)  "Crop" or "agricultural crop," when not 
otherwise defined by statute, means corn, oats, wheat, barley, 
flax, sorghums and other grains, potatoes, vegetables, hay, 
wheatgrasses (agropyron species), needlegrasses (stipa species), 
bluegrasses (poa species), fescue grasses (festuca species), 
grama grasses (bouteloua species), sedges and rushes, shrubby or 
woody forage plants which include salt sages (atriplex species), 
sagebrushes (artemisia species), winterfat (eurotia lanata), and 
forage legumes which include astragalus, lupinus and other 
members of the family leguminosae; 
 

(iv)  "Department" means the Wyoming department of 
agriculture; 
 

(v)  "Person" includes an individual, partnership, 
corporation, joint stock company or any other association or 
entity, public or private. 
 

11-1-102.  Disposition of revenue. 
 
Except as otherwise provided by law, all licensing, registration 
and service fees collected by the department together with such 
other monies as may accrue by law to the department shall be 
deposited with the state treasurer and credited to the general 
fund. 
 

11-1-103.  Penalty for violations. 
 
A person who violates any of the following sections commits a 
misdemeanor punishable by imprisonment for not more than six (6) 
months, a fine of not more than seven hundred fifty dollars 
($750.00), or both for the first offense, or by imprisonment for 



not more than one (1) year, a fine of not more than one thousand 
five hundred dollars ($1,500.00), or both for second or 
subsequent offenses: W.S. 11-6-210(a) or (f), 11-18-112, 
11-19-101, 11-19-102, 11-19-103, 11-19-111, 11-19-210, 
11-19-215, 11-19-304, 11-19-306, 11-19-401, 11-20-114, 
11-20-117, 11-20-229, 11-20-230, 11-21-104, 11-22-118, 
11-23-106, 11-23-207, 11-24-103, 11-24-106, 11-26-101(b), 
11-30-114 and 11-48-102. A person who violates board rules 
promulgated pursuant to W.S. 11-18-103(a)(v) shall be subject to 
the penalties specified in this section. 
 

11-1-104.  License and regulation by the department of 
agriculture; fee. 
 

(a)  The department shall collect a minimum annual fee of 
twenty-five dollars ($25.00) for the first license or activity 
issued or regulated under subsection (b) of this section which 
shall be deposited in the general fund. An additional annual fee 
of twenty-five dollars ($25.00) shall be collected for each 
subsequent license issued or activity regulated under subsection 
(b) of this section. No person shall be required to pay more 
than one hundred dollars ($100.00) in any calendar year for each 
place of business even if the person obtains more than four (4) 
licenses from the department. 
 

(b)  The fee imposed by subsection (a) of this section 
shall be collected upon the following persons or activities: 
 

(i)  Aerial hunting permit under W.S. 11-6-105; 
 

(ii)  Apiary registration under W.S. 11-7-212; 
 

(iii)  Resident and nonresident nursery stock dealers 
and salesmen licensed under W.S. 11-9-102; 
 

(iv)  Repealed by Laws 1994, ch. 46, § 2. 
 

(v)  Seed dealers licensed under W.S. 11-12-103; 
 

(vi)  Aircraft registration under W.S. 35-7-373(b); 
 

(vii)  Repealed By Laws 2000, Ch. 37, § 4. 
 

(viii)  Repealed By Laws 2000, Ch. 37, § 4. 
 

(ix)  Repealed By Laws 2000, Ch. 37, § 4. 
 



(x)  Repealed By Laws 2000, Ch. 37, § 4. 
 

(xi)  Repealed By Laws 2000, Ch. 37, § 4. 
 

(xii)  Repealed by Laws 1995, ch. 21, § 2. 
 

(xiii)  Repealed by Laws 2009, Ch. 191, § 2. 
 

CHAPTER 2 - DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE 
 

ARTICLE 1 - BOARD OF AGRICULTURE 
 

11-2-101.  Department and board created; director. 
 

(a)  A state department of agriculture is created under the 
management and control of the director with the advice of the 
board of agriculture. 
 

(b)  Repealed by Laws 1993, ch. 191, § 4. 
 

(c)  The department is authorized to accept, administer and 
expend agricultural commodity promotion, research and 
advertising assessments. 
 

11-2-102.  Composition; qualifications; appointment and 
removal of members; quorum. 
 

(a)  The board shall consist of thirteen (13) members, 
including the governor and the dean of the University of Wyoming 
college of agriculture or his designated representative as ex 
officio nonvoting members. Eleven (11) voting members shall be 
appointed by the governor with the advice and consent of the 
senate and may be removed by the governor as provided in W.S. 
9-1-202. 
 

(b)  One (1) member shall be appointed from each of the 
seven (7) appointment districts pursuant to W.S. 9-1-218. 
Appointments in each appointment district shall be rotated among 
the several counties comprising the district. 
 

(c)  Members appointed in accordance with subsection (b) of 
this section from appointment districts shall be appointed for a 
term of six (6) years. 
 

(d)  The seven (7) members appointed from the appointment 
districts: 
 



(i)  Shall be selected to represent a cross-section of 
the agricultural industry; 
 

(ii)  Shall be engaged chiefly in agricultural work; 
and 
 

(iii)  Not more than seventy-five percent (75%) shall 
be members of the same political party. 
 

(e)  One (1) member shall be appointed from each of the 
four (4) board of agriculture youth leadership quadrants as 
follows: 
 

(i)  The northeast quadrant shall consist of Campbell, 
Crook, Johnson, Niobrara, Sheridan and Weston counties; 
 

(ii)  The northwest quadrant shall consist of Big 
Horn, Hot Springs, Park, Teton and Washakie counties; 
 

(iii)  The southeast quadrant shall consist of Albany, 
Converse, Goshen, Laramie, Natrona and Platte counties; and 
 

(iv)  The southwest quadrant shall consist of Carbon, 
Fremont, Lincoln, Sublette, Sweetwater and Uinta counties. 
 

(f)  The four (4) members appointed from the board of 
agriculture youth leadership quadrants: 
 

(i)  Shall be selected by considering a cross-section 
of the agricultural industry; 
 

(ii)  Shall be engaged chiefly in agricultural work; 
 

(iii)  Shall be between eighteen (18) and thirty (30) 
years of age at the time of submitting the application for board 
membership; and 
 

(iv)  Shall be appointed for a term of four (4) years. 
 

(g)  A majority of the appointed members of the board 
constitutes a quorum for the transaction of business. 
 

(h)  Appointments and terms shall be in accordance with 
W.S. 28-12-101 through 28-12-103. 
 

11-2-103.  Regular and special meetings. 
 



The board shall meet annually on the second Monday of April, and 
special meetings of the board may be held by a call of the 
director, the president of the board or a majority of the 
members of the board. 
 

11-2-104.  Salary and expenses; oath; election of president 
and vice-president. 
 
The board members, except the governor and the dean of the 
University of Wyoming college of agriculture, shall be paid the 
salary, for attending and traveling to and from official board 
business shall be one hundred dollars ($100.00) per day and the 
mileage and per diem for attending and traveling to and from 
official board business in the same manner and amount as state 
employees. The appointed board members, within a reasonable time 
after their appointment, shall qualify by taking the 
constitutional oath of office and filing it with the secretary 
of state. The appointed members shall elect from their members a 
president and vice-president. 
 

ARTICLE 2 - DIRECTOR OF THE DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE 
 

11-2-201.  Qualifications; appointment. 
 

(a)  The director of the department of agriculture shall: 
 

(i)  Be a college graduate with at least five (5) 
years experience in agriculture; or 
 

(ii)  Have at least twelve (12) years experience in 
agriculture and otherwise be qualified if not a college or 
university graduate. 
 

(b)  The governor with the approval of the senate, shall 
appoint the director. The director shall serve at the pleasure 
of the governor and may be removed by the governor as provided 
in W.S. 9-1-202.  Any vacancy shall be filled by the governor in 
accordance with W.S. 28-12-101. 
 

11-2-202.  Powers and duties of director generally. 
 

(a)  The director shall have his office in Cheyenne and 
shall: 
 

(i)  Act as secretary and executive officer of the 
board; 
 



(ii)  Through the appropriate division established by 
W.S. 11-2-101 and with the advice of the board, enforce and 
execute all laws of the state and rules and regulations of the 
board; 
 

(iii)  Repealed By Laws 1998, ch. 6, § 5. 
 

(iv)  Cooperate with other state institutions and 
organizations, the agricultural departments of other states and 
the secretary of agriculture of the United States; 
 

(v)  Foster a practicable conservation of state 
natural resources; 
 

(vi)  Publish information of practical value to state 
agricultural interests for free distribution among the farmers 
and other interested persons within the state; 
 

(vii)  Promulgate necessary rules and regulations to 
implement W.S. 11-2-202. 
 

(b)  Repealed by Laws 1993, ch. 191, § 4. 
 

(c)  Repealed by Laws 1993, ch. 191, § 4. 
 

(d)  The director in collecting information necessary to 
perform duties of the department and its divisions, may request 
information from any agency of the state, a county, city, town 
or other political subdivision. An agency shall furnish 
information upon written request of the director. An owner, 
operator or manager of any manufacturing, mining or other 
business establishment operating in this state or other person 
having information necessary to carry out the purposes of this 
act shall upon request of the director, furnish the information 
upon forms supplied by the board. 
 

(e)  For purposes consistent with duties imposed by law and 
rule and regulation, the director may accept grants from private 
or public agencies, organizations or other persons. 
 

(f)  The director may allow the permitting, registration, 
licensing, testing, inspection and reporting requirements of 
this title to be conducted electronically as provided by the 
Uniform Electronic Transaction Act, W.S. 40-21-101 through 
40-21-119 and any applicable federal electronic requirements. 
 

11-2-203.  Deputy director; employment of personnel. 



 
The deputy director shall serve at the pleasure of the director 
and is responsible to and under the control and supervision of 
the director. The director may employ professional, technical 
and other personnel as necessary to perform duties prescribed by 
law and rule and regulation of the board. 
 

11-2-204.  Services of persons in employ of university; 
reimbursement; applicability of provisions. 
 

(a)  In performing duties imposed by law which require 
technical scientific training, the director may request the 
services of qualified members of the University of Wyoming 
faculty, resident or extension. Faculty members shall serve 
without additional compensation but the department shall 
reimburse the University of Wyoming for fifty percent (50%) of 
the salary paid by the university while the faculty member is 
actually performing services for the director. The use of 
faculty members and the proportion and distribution of their 
time shall be determined by agreement between the director and 
the president of the university and the faculty member shall be 
employed by the department when performing duties for the 
director under this section. 
 

(b)  This section applies to horticulture, apiculture, 
poultry, dairying, food, oils, seeds, marketing farm crops and 
any other duties imposed upon the department which the director 
and the board determine to be more efficiently and economically 
administered by use of university faculty members. This section 
does not apply to any branch of agriculture otherwise 
specifically provided for by law. 
 

11-2-205.  Repealed by Laws 1987, ch. 111, § 2. 
 

11-2-206.  Reports to governor. 
 
The director shall report to the governor respecting the 
programs and fiscal activities of the department as required by 
W.S. 9-2-1014. 
 

11-2-207.  Rangeland health assessments. 
 

(a)  The rangeland health assessment program is hereby 
created.  The director shall provide for the cooperation and 
participation with the University of Wyoming, state agencies, 
county governments, federal agencies and private landowners in 
the assessment of the condition of the health of Wyoming grazing 



lands.  The rangeland health program shall include, but not be 
limited to: 
 

(i)  The necessity for a rangeland health assessment 
for a particular area of Wyoming grazing lands, including the 
impact on state, federal, local and private property; 
 

(ii)  The rangeland health assessment shall be done 
only with the voluntary cooperation and participation of all 
participants, including the private landowner, the state grazing 
lessee and the federal grazing permittee or lessee; 
 

(iii)  The rangeland health assessment shall be 
conducted on federal or state managed lands only under a 
memorandum of agreement with the federal or state land 
management agency and with the participation of that federal or 
state land management agency; 
 

(iv)  The rangeland health assessment shall include, 
as necessary, establishment of rangeland monitoring, compliance 
with federal agency standards and guidelines and participation 
in the incorporation of assessment outcomes into any federal or 
state decision affecting livestock grazing; 
 

(v)  The rangeland health assessment shall include any 
protections necessary for the management of soil erosion and 
vegetation loss. 
 

(b)  The director is authorized to contract with the 
University of Wyoming, institutions of higher education and 
other qualified state and local governmental agencies to: 
 

(i)  Conduct rangeland health assessments as provided 
pursuant to subsection (a) of this section; 
 

(ii)  Conduct rangeland health assessments on 
previously established exclosures which exclude livestock 
grazing to determine what effect the elimination of grazing has 
had on the quality of the rangeland.  These assessments may 
include an assessment of nearby grazed rangeland as provided in 
paragraph (i) of this subsection to assist in the evaluation of 
the effect of excluding grazing. 
 

(c)  The director shall establish matching funds for any 
contract entered into pursuant to subsection (b) of this 
section. 
 



(d)  The director may accept additional matching funds to 
augment the planned rangeland health assessment to: 
 

(i)  Vetoed by Governor; 
 

(ii)  Identify tools and strategies for resource use 
that best promote rangeland health; 
 

(iii)  Facilitate the efficacy of the rangeland study. 
 

(e)  The director shall establish priorities for the 
distribution of available funding, including consideration of: 
 

(i)  Applications that include multiple resource 
partners; 
 

(ii)  Amount and variety of funding sources; 
 

(iii)  Timing and urgency of the project. 
 

(f)  The director is authorized to adopt rules and 
regulations necessary to implement this section. 
 

11-2-208.  Agricultural research funding program. 
 

(a)  The director shall, through rule and regulation, 
establish a process to solicit applications from the 
agricultural industry in the state for applied agricultural 
research projects. 
 

(b)  The director, with approval from the board, may 
solicit applications for applied research under this section and 
shall contract with any appropriate educational institution or 
other qualified entity to conduct the research as provided in 
the application. 
 

(c)  In soliciting and reviewing applications under this 
section, the director and the board shall: 
 

(i)  Consult with producers and nonprofit 
organizations representing Wyoming agricultural producers; 
 

(ii)  Consider the potential impacts of the research 
in strengthening Wyoming's agricultural industry and 
agricultural production; 
 



(iii)  Consider the time for anticipated completion of 
the research; 
 

(iv)  Consider the educational institution or other 
qualified entity which will conduct the research, giving 
preference to educational institutions located within the state; 
 

(v)  Ensure that the research results will be widely 
disseminated to the appropriate sectors of Wyoming agriculture; 
 

(vi)  Establish requirements for matching 
contributions from the educational institution or entity 
involved in the research and give preference to those projects 
which include additional private and institutional funding in 
support of the projects. 
 

CHAPTER 3 - AGRICULTURAL STATISTICS 
 

11-3-101.  Duty of county assessors. 
 
At the time of making annual assessment of property, each county 
assessor shall collect statistics in relation to farm products 
and agricultural resources from each farm and ranch owner, 
operator or renter as called for by the director. Necessary 
forms shall be furnished by the director, but shall not 
duplicate questions in assessor's schedules. 
 

11-3-102.  Disposition of forms. 
 
The original forms upon which statistics are gathered by the 
county assessor shall be returned to the director immediately 
upon completion of the assessment work, and not later than June 
1 each year. 
 

11-3-103.  Reports confidential. 
 
The reports made to the director are confidential. The records 
of individuals, firms or corporations supplying information 
called for by law shall not be used to disclose personal or 
corporate affairs. 
 

11-3-104.  Service to be performed under general assessment 
law. 
 
The service performed by the several assessors in the state 
shall be performed in connection with their service under the 
general assessment law of the state and as one of the regular 



duties devolving upon the county assessor's office. No extra 
compensation shall be allowed. 
 

CHAPTER 4 - STATE ENTOMOLOGIST 
 

11-4-101.  Repealed by Laws 1991, ch. 16, § 1. 
 

11-4-102.  Repealed by Laws 1991, ch. 16, § 1. 
 

11-4-103.  Repealed by Laws 1991, ch. 16, § 1. 
 

11-4-104.  Repealed by Laws 1991, ch. 16, § 1. 
 

CHAPTER 5 - WEED AND PEST CONTROL 
 

ARTICLE 1 - IN GENERAL 
 

11-5-101.  Short title; purpose of provisions. 
 

(a)  This act may be cited as the "Wyoming Weed and Pest 
Control Act." 
 

(b)  The purpose of this act is controlling designated and 
declared weeds and pests. 
 

11-5-102.  Definitions. 
 

(a)  As used in this act: 
 

(i)  "Pesticide" means any material used to control or 
eradicate weeds or pests; 
 

(ii)  "Authorized dealer" means any pesticide dealer 
licensed in Wyoming who sells, retails, wholesales, distributes, 
offers or exposes for sale, exchanges, barters or gives away any 
pesticide within this state; 
 

(iii)  "Board" means the Wyoming board of agriculture 
established by authority of W.S. 11-2-101 through 11-2-104; 
 

(iv)  "Director" means the director of the department 
of agriculture for the state of Wyoming or his designated agent; 
 

(v)  "Control" means the process of containing, 
preventing, identifying and mitigating weed and pest 
infestations by using multiple integrated management practices, 
including but not limited to, regulation, prevention, survey, 



eradication, pesticides, cultivation, competition, grazing and 
biological control in an adaptive management effort designed to 
reduce economic and ecological impacts from designated and 
declared species and to protect uninfested lands; 
 

(vi)  "County commissioners" means the board of county 
commissioners of a county within which a district is located; 
 

(vii)  "Declared pest" means any animal or insect 
species which the board and the Wyoming weed and pest council 
have found, either by virtue of its direct or indirect effect to 
negatively impact management of agricultural or natural 
ecosystems, or as a carrier of disease or parasites, to be 
detrimental to the general welfare of persons residing within a 
district; 
 

(viii)  "Declared weed" means any plant species which 
the board and the Wyoming weed and pest council have found, 
either by virtue of its direct or indirect effect to negatively 
impact management of agricultural or natural ecosystems, or as a 
carrier of disease or parasites, to be detrimental to the 
general welfare of persons residing within a district; 
 

(ix)  "Department" means the state department of 
agriculture; 
 

(x)  "Designated list" means the list of weeds and 
pests from time to time designated by joint resolution of the 
board and the Wyoming weed and pest council or by an emergency 
declaration of the director; 
 

(xi)  "Designated noxious weed" means plant species 
having seeds or other plant parts determined to be detrimental 
to the general health or welfare of the state based upon the 
following: 
 

(A)  Has demonstrated the ability to aggressively 
invade native plant communities and agricultural crops; 
 

(B)  Is injurious or poisonous to livestock; 
 

(C)  Is a carrier of disease or parasites; 
 

(D)  Can, by virtue of either direct or indirect 
effect, negatively impact management of agricultural or natural 
ecosystems. 
 



(xii)  "Designated pest" means any animal or insect 
species that is determined to be detrimental to the health or 
general welfare of the state based upon the following: 
 

(A)  Has demonstrated the ability to aggressively 
invade native plant communities and agricultural crops; 
 

(B)  Is injurious or poisonous to livestock; 
 

(C)  Is a carrier of disease or parasites; 
 

(D)  Can, by virtue of either its direct or 
indirect effect, negatively impact management of agricultural or 
natural ecosystems. 
 

(xiii)  Repealed by Laws 1993, ch. 191, § 4. 
 

(xiv)  "District" means any county weed and pest 
control district; 
 

(xv)  "District board" means the board of directors of 
a district having jurisdiction within the boundaries of the 
district it represents; 
 

(xvi)  "District board member area" means a 
geographical area within a district from which a member of the 
board of the district is appointed; 
 

(xvii)  Repealed by Laws 1993, ch. 191, § 4. 
 

(xviii)  "Farm products" means all crops, crop 
products, nursery stock, plants or portions thereof, but shall 
not mean livestock; 
 

(xix)  "Infested farm products" means farm products 
which contain injurious insects, pests, weed seed, poisonous or 
injurious plants or any injurious portion thereof, or plant 
diseases; 
 

(xx)  "Landowner" means any person who has actual use, 
exclusive possession of or exercises control over the land 
through any lease, easement, right-of-way or estate in the land. 
Federal landowner means the federal agency having jurisdiction 
over any lands affected by this act; 
 



(xxi)  "District supervisor" means the person 
appointed or employed by the district board for the purpose of 
carrying out this act within a district; 
 

(xxii)  "Wyoming weed and pest council" means the 
state council composed of one (1) representative of each 
district as authorized in writing by that board of directors. 
The director of the department of agriculture or his designated 
representative shall serve ex officio; 
 

(xxiii)  "Emergency declaration" means the addition of 
a weed or pest to either the statewide designated list or to a 
county declared list on an emergency basis to allow for 
immediate control activities.  An emergency declaration shall 
only last until formal action can be taken by the council and 
the board to list the species through established rules, and in 
any case not to exceed one (1) year; 
 

(xxiv)  "This act" means W.S. 11-5-101 through 11-5-
120. 
 

11-5-103.  Composition of districts. 
 
All land within the boundaries of Wyoming including all federal, 
state, private and municipally owned lands, is hereby included 
in weed and pest control districts within the county in which 
the land is located, with the boundaries of the district being 
the same as the boundaries of the county. Each district shall be 
known as the ".... County Weed and Pest Control District, State 
of Wyoming." 
 

11-5-104.  District board of directors; appointment; terms; 
vacancies; compensation and expenses. 
 

(a)  The county commissioners of each district shall hold a 
public meeting for appointing a district board of directors for 
the district. Prior to the meeting the county commissioners 
shall establish the number of members of the district board and 
shall establish district board member areas. The county 
commissioners may seek the advice and counsel of the members of 
the former district board for the establishment of district 
board member areas. Each district board member area shall be 
contiguous. Notice of the meeting shall be advertised at least 
once in the designated official newspaper of the county and 
posted on the county's official website in the manner provided 
in W.S. 18-3-516(f) at least twenty (20) days prior to the date 
of the meeting. The notice shall solicit nominations for 



directors by petition signed by at least ten (10) landowners to 
be submitted at least five (5) days before the date of the 
meeting. 
 

(b)  From the nominations submitted the county 
commissioners shall appoint the district board which shall 
consist of five (5) or seven (7) directors. Directors shall 
serve for a term of four (4) years or until their successors are 
appointed and qualified. 
 

(c)  Any qualified elector in the district board member 
area he is appointed to represent is eligible to hold the office 
of director. 
 

(d)  All district board members shall be appointed by the 
county commissioners at their first regular meeting in January 
of each year from among nominations submitted by petition in the 
manner set forth in subsection (a) of this section. In districts 
encompassing cities or towns with a population of five thousand 
(5,000) or more, one (1) district board member shall be 
appointed from within the limits of a city or town. A district 
board member shall assume office at the first regular meeting of 
the district board following appointment. 
 

(e)  The county commissioners shall remove a director for 
repeated unexcused failure to attend meetings or for refusal or 
incapacity to act as a district board member. 
 

(f)  When a vacancy occurs on a district board the county 
commissioners shall, at the next regular meeting, appoint an 
individual who possesses the necessary qualifications as a 
district board member to fill the unexpired term. 
 

(g)  At the first regular meeting in February the district 
board shall elect from its members a chairman and a 
vice-chairman, and appoint a secretary and a treasurer. The 
positions of secretary and treasurer need not be members of the 
district board. The treasurer shall furnish a surety bond to the 
district before entering upon the duties of office in an amount 
to be set by the district board but not less than fifty thousand 
dollars ($50,000.00). 
 

(h)  The members of the district board shall serve without 
pay, but are entitled to reimbursement for actual and necessary 
expenses and a mileage allowance at the rate as established for 
state employees. 
 



11-5-105.  Duties; powers; supervisor compensation. 
 

(a)  The district board shall: 
 

(i)  Implement and pursue an effective program for the 
control of designated weeds and pests; 
 

(ii)  Fix the time and place of regular meetings, 
which shall occur at least once each month and shall be open to 
the public; 
 

(iii)  Keep minutes of all meetings and a complete 
record of all official acts, including all warrants issued 
against monies belonging to the district, which are open for 
public inspection during regular office hours; 
 

(iv)  Employ certified district supervisors and if 
certified personnel are not available, employ an acting district 
supervisor who shall become certified within twenty-four (24) 
months from the initial date of employment; 
 

(v)  Make at least one (1) annual inspection to 
determine the progress of weed and pest activities within a 
district; 
 

(vi)  Obtain competitive bids for any purchase costing 
more than ten thousand dollars ($10,000.00); 
 

(vii)  Control and disburse all monies received from 
any source; 
 

(viii)  Render technical assistance to any city or 
town with a population of five thousand (5,000) or more which 
establishes a program as provided in W.S. 11-5-115; 
 

(ix)  Share data with the Wyoming weed and pest 
council and take other actions to support the coordinated and 
comprehensive invasive plant species control authorized in W.S. 
11-5-120. 
 

(b)  The district board of each district may: 
 

(i)  Sue and be sued; 
 

(ii)  Employ personnel and determine duties and 
conditions of employment; 
 



(iii)  Coordinate activities with the department and 
enter into cooperative agreements with other agencies; 
 

(iv)  Secure and maintain bond or liability insurance, 
when deemed feasible by the district board; 
 

(v)  Submit to the department reports required by the 
board; 
 

(vi)  Participate in programs for the control of 
declared weeds and declared pests not included on the designated 
list; 
 

(vii)  Buy and sell real property, personal property 
and equipment as needed to carry out district programs. 
 

(c)  The district supervisor shall receive a salary and 
expenses as approved by the district board. 
 

11-5-106.  Board of certification; duties. 
 
A board of certification is established consisting of the 
director or his designee, a University of Wyoming weed or pest 
specialist appointed by the dean of the college of agriculture, 
two (2) certified district supervisors and a district board 
member appointed by the Wyoming weed and pest council. The board 
of certification shall promulgate rules and requirements for 
certification of district supervisors and shall certify all 
personnel meeting the established requirements. 
 

11-5-107.  Purchase and sale of pesticides; cost share with 
landowner. 
 

(a)  The district board may purchase from authorized 
dealers such quantities of pesticides as are necessary, and hire 
labor to carry out the provisions of this act. Warrants in 
payment shall be drawn on the weed and pest control fund. 
 

(b)  The district board may sell pesticides which have been 
registered with the department for designated or declared 
noxious weed and pest control. 
 

(c)  In the case of delinquent indebtedness under this 
section the district board may seek a judgment from the district 
court for the indebtedness, reasonable attorneys' fees and 
costs. The judgment shall be enforced as provided by law. 
 



(d)  The district board may cost share with the landowner 
the cost of the pesticides, the cost of the application and the 
cost of any other integrated management practice for the control 
of designated or declared noxious weeds and pests. 
 

11-5-108.  Rates and application of pesticides; payment by 
landowner; bidding restriction. 
 

(a)  The district board may establish rates and engage in 
the application of pesticides for weed and pest control, subject 
to subsection (b) of this section. If services provided are not 
paid for by the landowner for whom rendered as provided in W.S. 
11-5-107(d), such indebtedness may be collected as provided by 
W.S. 11-5-107(c). 
 

(b)  A district board shall not engage in competitive 
bidding of bare ground application of pesticides for industrial 
weed control, unless there are no commercially licensed entities 
operating in the state that are able and willing to perform the 
service.  Nothing in this subsection shall limit the district 
board's authority to act pursuant to W.S. 11-5-105(a)(i) and 
11-5-109. 
 

11-5-109.  Inspection of land; remedial requirements; cost 
to landowner. 
 

(a)  Whenever the district board has probable cause to 
believe that a landowner's property is infested by weeds or 
pests which are liable to spread and contribute to the injury or 
detriment of others and the board has provided written notice of 
probable cause to the landowner, it shall make or have made an 
inspection of the suspected premises through the use of lawful 
entry procedures.  No entry upon any premises, lands or places 
shall be permitted under this subsection until the landowner or 
occupant has been notified by certified mail and, if the 
landowner has consented to receive notices electronically, by 
electronic means that provide actual notice to the landowner or 
occupant that the inspection is pending at least fifteen (15) 
days prior to the inspection. If possible, inspections shall be 
scheduled and conducted with the concurrence of the landowner or 
occupant. If, after receiving notice that an inspection is 
pending, the landowner or occupant denies access to the district 
supervisor or the supervisor's designee, the supervisor may seek 
an administrative inspection warrant issued by a municipal, 
circuit or district court having jurisdiction over the land. No 
landowner shall deny access to land when presented with an 
administrative inspection warrant issued by a court. The court 



shall issue an administrative inspection warrant upon 
presentation by the district board, through its agent or 
employee, of an affidavit stating: 
 

(i)  The information that gives the district board 
probable cause to believe that any provision of this chapter is 
being or has been violated; 
 

(ii)  That the landowner or occupant has denied access 
to the district supervisor or the supervisor's designee or has 
not responded within fifteen (15) days of receiving notice; and 
 

(iii)  A particularized description of the location of 
the affected land. 
 

(b)  If the suspected area is found to be infested, the 
district board, by resolution adopted by two-thirds (2/3) of its 
members, shall confirm such fact. The resolution may set forth 
minimum remedial requirements for control of the infested area, 
provided that: 
 

(i)  The remedial requirements are likely to be 
effective in controlling an infestation of the species in 
question at the infested area; 
 

(ii)  The board includes potential estimated costs if 
available; 
 

(iii)  The benefits, both economic and environmental, 
exceed the estimated costs of the remedial requirements; 
 

(iv)  The board may assist the landowner in developing 
an integrated pest management plan for the species in question; 
and 
 

(v)  The landowner may propose alternate remedial 
requirements. 
 

(c)  The district board shall deliver, by certified mail, 
to the address of the landowner appearing on the most recent tax 
rolls of the district and, if the landowner has consented to 
receive notices electronically, by electronic means that provide 
actual notice to the landowner all of the following: 
 

(i)  A copy of the resolution; 
 



(ii)  A statement of the estimated cost to the 
landowner of fulfilling the requirements and the amount that may 
be shared with the landowner, as determined by district board 
policy. 
 

(iii)  Repealed by Laws 2020, ch. 135, § 2. 
 

(d)  At the request of the landowner, the district board 
shall hold a hearing in accordance with the Wyoming 
Administrative Procedure Act. The landowner may appeal the 
board's resolution to the district court. 
 

(e)  A landowner who is responsible for an infestation and 
fails or refuses to perform the remedial requirements for the 
control of the weed or pest on the infested area within the time 
designated in the district board's resolution may be fined not 
more than fifty dollars ($50.00) per day for each day of 
violation and not more than a total of two thousand five hundred 
dollars ($2,500.00) per year as determined by the court. Any 
person accused under this act is entitled to a trial by jury. 
The accumulated fines under this section are a lien against the 
property of the landowner from the day notice is delivered to 
the landowner by the district board. All fines shall be 
deposited with the county treasurer and credited to the county 
school fund. 
 

11-5-110.  Appraisal of damage to landowner; hearing. 
 
When the district board determines by resolution that the 
landowner's property has been damaged as a result of carrying 
out its requirements, the district board shall by resolution 
appoint three (3) disinterested freeholders within the district 
to appraise the amount of damage, upon which the district shall 
forthwith compensate the landowner. The landowner may file a 
claim for damages and is entitled to a hearing relative to the 
amount of damages pursuant to the Wyoming Administrative 
Procedure Act. 
 

11-5-111.  Tax levied on property in district; maximum 
amount; weed and pest control fund. 
 
The county commissioners shall annually levy a tax to carry out  
this act. The tax shall be levied upon all property in the 
district and shall not exceed one (1) mill on each one dollar 
($1.00) of assessed valuation. The tax is not part of the 
general county or city mill levies. All taxes levied and 
collected shall be remitted to the district for a separate fund 



to be known as the weed and pest control fund, which shall be 
used only to carry out this act. 
 

11-5-112.  Repealed by Laws 1979, ch. 135, § 3. 
 

11-5-113.  Allocation of funds; formula; special funding. 
 

(a)  An allocation committee composed of the director of 
the department of agriculture, three (3) members appointed by 
the Wyoming weed and pest council and one (1) member of the 
board shall allocate the funds of any legislative appropriation 
to the district boards pursuant to a formula adopted by the 
committee. No district board shall receive an amount in excess 
of one-third (1/3) of its actual expenditures from any 
appropriation, unless the appropriation provides assistance in 
control to a district board under subsection (b) of this 
section. 
 

(b)  If the district board determines a weed or pest is 
seriously endangering areas of a district or the state, 
assistance in control may be provided by legislative 
appropriation for this purpose, and the allocation committee 
shall allocate the appropriation accordingly, and the allocation 
committee and each affected district board shall be responsible 
for insuring that the funds are properly expended. 
 

11-5-114.  Allocated funds; procedure to disburse. 
 
A request for allocated funds pursuant to W.S. 11-5-113 shall be 
initiated by the district board by submitting a voucher and 
documentation. Upon the approval of the voucher by the 
allocation committee, payment shall be made by the state auditor 
out of funds provided for control of weeds and pests. 
 

11-5-115.  Program in cities and towns authorized; funding; 
use of monies. 
 

(a)  The governing body of any city or town with a 
population of five thousand (5,000) or more may establish and 
administer a program for the control of weeds and pests within 
the jurisdictional limits of the city or town. If such a program 
is not established, the district board shall administer a 
program for the city or town. 
 

(b)  A district having a city or town with a population of 
five thousand (5,000) or more which establishes a program shall, 
within thirty (30) days after receipt of any funds collected 



pursuant to W.S. 11-5-111, transfer eighty-five percent (85%) of 
the funds attributed to the property within the corporate limits 
of the city or town to the governing body of the city or town, 
retaining fifteen percent (15%) of the funds for administration 
of the district and for technical assistance rendered to the 
city or town by the district board. 
 

(c)  Monies received by the cities from the district shall 
be used to control noxious weeds and pests as determined by the 
governing body of the city or town. The city or town shall 
provide an annual report to the district board on designated and 
declared weed and pest work completed within the jurisdictional 
limits of the city or town. 
 

(d)  The governing body of a city or town which establishes 
a control program may petition the district board for special 
assistance and funding authorized by W.S. 11-5-113 and 11-5-114. 
 

11-5-116.  Quarantine by director; request by district. 
 

(a)  Whenever the director, the district board or their 
agents find any section of the state to be infested with 
insects, pests, poisonous or injurious plants or plant diseases, 
and it is established that farm products from that section are 
liable to spread the insects, pests, poisonous or injurious 
plants or plant diseases into other sections to the injury of 
others, the director shall without unnecessary delay, declare a 
quarantine against such section to prevent the transfer of farm 
products from the quarantined area. When it is ascertained that 
insects, pests, weed seed, poisonous or injurious plants or 
plant diseases are likely to be introduced into Wyoming by the 
importation of farm products, domestic animals or other objects, 
the director shall declare a quarantine against the importation 
of such farm products. 
 

(b)  A district may initiate a district-wide quarantine by 
one (1) of the following procedures: 
 

(i)  A district may request in writing that the 
director declare a district-wide quarantine. Upon receipt of the 
request, the director shall instruct the district to circulate a 
petition for ninety (90) days within the district to obtain 
signatures of at least two-thirds (2/3) of all resident 
landowners owning at least fifty-one percent (51%) of all 
resident-owned land. Upon receipt of the properly executed 
petition, the director shall declare a district-wide quarantine; 
 



(ii)  A district board may hold a hearing in 
compliance with the Wyoming Administrative Procedure Act. The 
director shall declare a district-wide quarantine when the 
district has provided the director with proper documentation 
that a hearing has been held and the district has found a need 
for a district-wide quarantine; 
 

(iii)  The district board may hold a district-wide 
referendum. The director shall declare a district-wide 
quarantine upon receipt of a certified document indicating that 
the referendum was accepted by a majority of the electors who 
voted in the election. 
 

(c)  The director shall declare an individual quarantine 
when requested by resolution adopted by a two-thirds (2/3) 
majority of the board. 
 

(d)  The district board in compliance with W.S. 11-5-101 
through 11-5-119 may request a quarantine against the entry of 
infested farm products that may be injurious and detrimental to 
the state and enter into agreements with the law enforcing 
agencies to carry out the quarantine provision: 
 

(i)  Farm products and equipment shall be certified 
free of designated noxious weed seeds or infested farm products 
prior to entry into the state, with the exception of any 
processed feed or grain to be reprocessed and fed to livestock; 
 

(ii)  Farm products and equipment are to be certified 
in the state of origin by the proper officials; 
 

(iii)  Interstate shipment of farm products through 
the state need not be certified if covered in a prescribed 
manner as not to allow the dissemination of infested farm 
products. 
 

11-5-117.  Criminal provision; penalty; civil penalties; 
limitations; necessary proof. 
 

(a)  Any person violating any provision of this act is 
guilty of a misdemeanor, and shall be fined not more than seven 
hundred fifty dollars ($750.00) in addition to fines provided 
for in W.S. 11-5-109(e). 
 

(b)  In any proceeding to impose any fine or penalty for 
any failure to perform a remedial requirement ordered by a 



district board for control of a weed or pest in any infested 
area, the district board shall have the burden of proving: 
 

(i)  That the proposed remedial action would control 
the target weed or pest; 
 

(ii)  That the remedial action would be a cost 
effective action and would be more cost effective than any 
alternative action proposed or adopted by the landowner; and 
 

(iii)  That the weed or pest to be controlled was at 
risk of spreading to the land of others in the area. 
 

11-5-118.  Inspection for contamination. 
 
Farm products and agricultural, commercial or industrial 
equipment entering or moving within the district are subject to 
inspection for contamination of designated weeds and pests by 
the district board through its designated agents. The board and 
the Wyoming weed and pest council may promulgate rules and 
regulations which establish inspection standards and remedial 
requirements under this section. 
 

11-5-119.  Rules and regulations. 
 
The board, with the approval of a majority of the districts, may 
promulgate, adopt and publish rules and regulations in 
accordance with the Wyoming Administrative Procedure Act for the 
purpose of carrying out the intent of this act. 
 

11-5-120.  Wyoming weed and pest council duties. 
 

(a)  In addition to other duties prescribed by law, the 
Wyoming weed and pest council shall aid county weed and pest 
control districts in creating, managing and enhancing 
coordinated and comprehensive invasive plant species control 
programs by: 
 

(i)  Developing and implementing data systems to 
support each district in making invasive plant species 
management decisions informed by accurate, timely data, local 
experts, cultural practices and best available science; 
 

(ii)  Coordinating with the University of Wyoming and 
community colleges to assess, to the extent practicable, the 
impacts that invasive plant species can have on socio-ecological 
systems. As used in this paragraph, "socio-ecological system" 



means a dynamic system encompassing interactions between people 
and nature within a defined geographical area; 
 

(iii)  Coordinating with the University of Wyoming, 
community colleges and government agencies to support and expand 
outreach and provide applied research on the best use of 
existing tools to control invasive plant species and the 
development of new invasive plant species management methods; 
 

(iv)  Working with federal partners to reduce barriers 
to timely, effective invasive plant species management on 
federal lands and adjoining nonfederal lands; 
 

(v)  On a biennial basis, reporting to the joint 
agriculture, state and public lands and water resources interim 
committee on the status of current funding models, existing or 
new funding challenges and opportunities to improve funding for 
designated or declared invasive plant species; 
 

(vi)  Encouraging and incentivizing cooperative, 
landscape-scale projects to control invasive plant species that 
include multi-jurisdictional partnerships with clear, long-term 
strategies; 
 

(vii)  Coordinating with other state and federal 
agencies to increase public awareness of the challenges 
presented by invasive plant species and to encourage prevention 
and mitigation practices. 
 

(b)  The Wyoming weed and pest council may, with the 
approval of the majority of the board, adopt and publish rules 
in accordance with the Wyoming Administrative Procedure Act, 
W.S. 16-3-101 et seq. to carry out the purposes of this act. 
 

ARTICLE 2 - LEAFY SPURGE CONTROL 
 

11-5-201.  Repealed by Laws 1983, ch. 87, § 1. 
 

11-5-202.  Repealed by Laws 1983, ch. 87, § 2. 
 

ARTICLE 3 - SPECIAL MANAGEMENT PROGRAM 
 

11-5-301.  Authorization of program. 
 
A weed and pest special management program may be carried out as 
provided by this article and legislative appropriation acts.  



All state and local governmental entities shall comply with the 
program. 
 

11-5-302.  Definitions. 
 

(a)  As used in this article: 
 

(i)  "District" means any county weed and pest control 
district; 
 

(ii)  "Integrated management system" means the 
planning and implementation of a coordinated program utilizing 
all proven methods for containing and controlling undesirable 
plants and pests, including but not limited to education, 
preventive measures, physical methods, biological agents, 
pesticide methods, cultural methods and management; 
 

(iii)  "Management zone" means a geographical area 
within a district; 
 

(iv)  "Materials" means materials used in carrying out 
the objectives of integrated management system; 
 

(v)  "Method" means a procedure or process for 
carrying out the application method prescribed; 
 

(vi)  "Pest" means any declared pest or designated 
pest defined by W.S. 11-5-102(a); 
 

(vii)  "Treatment program" means the use of an 
integrated management system prescribed by the district board or 
the board's designated representative; 
 

(viii)  "Undesirable plant" means any declared weed or 
designated noxious weed as defined by W.S. 11-5-102(a). 
 

11-5-303.  Program components; funding; rulemaking 
authority; penalties. 
 

(a)  Any district may carry out a weed and pest special 
management program in accordance with this article.  If a 
district initiates a program, leafy spurge (Euphorbia esula) 
shall receive priority in the program.  A district may also 
implement an integrated management system under W.S. 11-5-101 
through 11-5-119 using funds specified by W.S. 11-5-111, 
provided leafy spurge shall receive priority pursuant to this 
article. 



 
(b)  Repealed by Laws 2021, ch. 2, § 3. 

 
(c)  Any district which implements a special management 

program under this article shall: 
 

(i)  Establish one (1) or more management zones within 
the district.  A management zone can only be formed with the 
written consent of a majority of the landowners in the proposed 
management zone; 
 

(ii)  Complete an inventory on lands within each 
management zone to determine the scope of infestation; 
 

(iii)  Establish management criteria for the special 
management program; 
 

(iv)  Select the materials and methods for the special 
management program based upon best available scientific facts, 
current technology and economic considerations; 
 

(v)  At least ten (10) days before final approval of 
the program by the district board, give notice to the public in 
at least one (1) newspaper of general circulation within the 
county describing the special management program and 
approximating the cost of the program. Notice shall also be 
given through another medium if the board determines additional 
publication is necessary to ensure sufficient notice to the 
public. 
 

(d)  Programs under this article shall be funded as 
follows: 
 

(i)  Landowners shall contribute to the cost of the 
treatment program on their land as determined by the district 
board not to exceed twenty percent (20%) of the total cost; 
 

(ii)  The district shall contribute to the cost of the 
treatment program within the limitation of district funds 
available under subsection (e) of this section; 
 

(iii)  State or federal agencies owning lands or 
administering lands, which are untaxed for the purposes of this 
act, shall contribute to the total cost of the special 
management program; 
 



(iv)  Assistance to a district's coordinated program 
may be provided by legislative appropriation pursuant to W.S. 
11-5-113(b). 
 

(e)  A district may levy not to exceed an additional one 
(1) mill on the assessed value of the taxable property within 
the district to fund its contributions under this section.  Upon 
request by the district board, the board of county commissioners 
may levy the amount of tax requested not to exceed the mill levy 
authorized by W.S. 11-5-111 and this subsection. 
 

(f)  Any landowner who refuses to perform remedial 
requirements as established by the district board after due 
notice as required by W.S. 11-5-109 may be subject to a fine 
provided by W.S. 11-5-109. 
 

(g)  The Wyoming weed and pest council, with the approval 
of the majority of the board, may: 
 

(i)  Adopt rules and regulations as provided by W.S. 
11-5-119 to implement an effective special management program in 
Wyoming; and 
 

(ii)  Establish procedures for prompt reporting and 
billing of expenditures made and for timely forecasting of 
future expenditures which will be required. 
 

ARTICLE 4 - EMERGENCY INSECT MANAGEMENT PROGRAM 
 

11-5-401.  Definitions. 
 

(a)  As used in this article: 
 

(i)  "Account" means the emergency insect management 
special revenue account created under W.S. 11-5-402; 
 

(ii)  "Committee" means the director of the department 
of agriculture, the director of the department of health, the 
director of the game and fish department, the Wyoming state 
veterinarian and the governor; 
 

(iii)  "Insect pests" mean infestations of 
grasshoppers, Mormon crickets or other cyclic or outbreak insect 
infestations or insect species new, recently introduced or which 
present a substantial possibility to be introduced into Wyoming 
such as fire ants, Africanized honeybees or other insect pests; 
 



(iv)  "Insect vectors" mean blood-feeding arthropods, 
mosquitoes, biting flies and other such insects that harbor or 
transmit pathogens harmful to human health and safety, animal 
health including livestock and wildlife, agriculture or natural 
resources. 
 

11-5-402.  Emergency insect management account; 
established. 
 
The emergency insect management program  account is created to 
consist of funds appropriated or designated to the account by 
law for the emergency management of insect pests or insect 
vectors. 
 

11-5-403.  Administrative support for committee. 
 
Administrative support to the committee shall be provided by the 
department of agriculture.  Expenses of the committee incurred 
under this article including administrative support shall be 
paid from the account. 
 

11-5-404.  Program development; additional committee 
responsibilities; annual report. 
 

(a)  Emergency insect management programs developed and 
receiving funds from the account under this article shall be 
based upon integrated pest management principles using the most 
current, scientifically valid methods to manage insect pests and 
vectors. 
 

(b)  Subject to subsection (a) of this section, the 
committee shall establish policies, standards and guidelines for 
programs receiving funds from the account under this article.  
In accordance with established program guidelines and policies, 
the committee shall review applications for participation 
submitted under this article, and based upon its review and 
evaluation, approve or disapprove program applications and if 
approved, establish the amount of program funding from the 
account. 
 

(c)  In addition to subsection (b) of this section, the 
committee shall, in cooperation with the governor, collect and 
compile data necessary to determine if emergency insect 
management programs under this article involve any threatened or 
endangered species under the federal Endangered Species Act of 
1973, 16 U.S.C. 1531 et seq., as amended.  If programs involve 
such species, the committee, in cooperation with the governor, 



shall request an exemption from federal regulation under this 
act for insect management purposes. 
 

(d)  The committee shall establish necessary procedures to 
process applications filed pursuant to this article. 
 

(e)  In addition to subsection (d) of this section, the 
committee shall annually report its activities for each fiscal 
period as required under W.S. 9-2-1014. 
 

11-5-405.  Advisory assistance; assistance specified; 
expenses. 
 

(a)  To assist with the establishment of policies, 
guidelines and the development of programs under this article, 
the committee may assemble necessary expertise from one (1) or 
more of the following organizations, institutions, groups or 
individuals: 
 

(i)  The Wyoming county commissioners association; 
 

(ii)  The Wyoming association of municipalities; 
 

(iii)  Pesticide applicators; 
 

(iv)  Landowners; 
 

(v)  Agricultural producers; 
 

(vi)  University of Wyoming faculty and staff; 
 

(vii)  Scientific and technology industry 
representatives; 
 

(viii)  Public representatives; and 
 

(ix)  Other representatives or individuals as may be 
determined by the committee. 
 

(b)  Persons assisting the committee in an advisory 
capacity pursuant to subsection (a) of this section and not 
employed by the state nor any political subdivision of the state 
shall receive reimbursement for actual and necessary expenses 
and mileage allowance at the rates established by law for state 
employees. 
 



11-5-406.  Program participation requirements; application; 
funding participation levels specified; restriction on 
expenditures. 
 

(a)  Any state agency, any political subdivision, the 
Eastern Shoshone Tribe, the Northern Arapaho Tribe or the 
cooperative tribal governing body may apply to the committee for 
participation in emergency insect management programs under this 
article. Applications shall be filed with the department of 
agriculture and shall at minimum, substantiate compliance with 
standards and guidelines established by the committee. 
Applicants shall coordinate participation in emergency insect 
management programs under this article with applicable weed and 
pest control districts. 
 

(b)  Emergency management program participation under this 
article shall be subject to the following requirements: 
 

(i)  Insect vector management programs or nonoutbreak 
insect programs shall receive not more than fifty percent (50%) 
of total program costs from the account; 
 

(ii)  Subject to paragraph (iii) of this subsection, a 
reactive program for the suppression of outbreaks of 
grasshoppers, Mormon crickets or other outbreak insects on state 
and private lands shall receive not more than fifty percent 
(50%) of total program costs from the account; 
 

(iii)  If the emergency insect management program 
under paragraph (ii) of this subsection is for grasshopper 
suppression, the program shall consist of treatments targeting 
infestations greater than two thousand (2,000) acres or those 
suppressing less than the entire infestation regardless of size; 
 

(iv)  Subject to paragraph (v) of this subsection, a 
proactive, preventative program targeting incipient infestations 
of grasshoppers, Mormon crickets or other outbreak insects on 
state and private lands, with the potential to expand into 
outbreaks, shall receive not more than seventy-five percent 
(75%) of total program costs from the account; 
 

(v)  If the emergency insect management program under 
paragraph (iv) of this subsection is for grasshoppers, the 
program shall include up to two thousand (2,000) acres if the 
entire infestation is included within the program; 
 



(vi)  During the first three (3) years of operation of 
any emergency insect management program, not more than twenty 
percent (20%) of funds provided to the program from the account 
shall be used for administrative costs, equipment and mapping 
activities, and not more than ten percent (10%) of such funds 
shall be used for these purposes in subsequent years; 
 

(vii)  In addition to paragraph (vi) of this 
subsection and during the first three (3) years of program 
operation, not more than twenty percent (20%) of funds provided 
from the account to any program shall be expended for applied 
research specifically designed to provide immediate results 
directly in support of improved integrated pest management 
practices, and not more than ten percent (10%) of such funds may 
be used for this purpose in subsequent years. 
 

CHAPTER 6 - PREDATORY ANIMALS 
 

ARTICLE 1 - CONTROL GENERALLY 
 

11-6-101.  Permission to eradicate upon refusal of entry by 
property owner. 
 
Whenever predatory animals become a menace to livestock owned or 
controlled by any resident of Wyoming and the owner or lessee of 
any real estate in the vicinity where the livestock is ranged or 
pastured refuses permission to the owner of the livestock, his 
agents or employees, to enter upon the real estate for the 
purpose of destroying such predatory animals, entry may be 
obtained as provided by W.S. 11-6-102 and 11-6-103. 
 

11-6-102.  Application to county commissioners; hearing; 
determination; limitation on use of firearms. 
 
The owner of the livestock may file a written application with 
the board of county commissioners of the county where the real 
estate is located, applying for permission to eradicate 
predatory animals. If, after giving the owner or lessee an 
opportunity of a hearing, the county commissioners may grant 
such permission, but the person receiving the permission shall 
not use firearms in destroying such animals without first 
obtaining permission from the owner or lessee of the real 
estate. 
 

11-6-103.  Liability for damage to property. 
 



The permission granted shall permit the petitioner to enter upon 
the real estate but shall not relieve the petitioner from any 
damages which he inflicts upon any property of the owner or 
lessee of the real estate. 
 

11-6-104.  Department to coordinate control efforts; 
centralized and coordinated rodent and predator control plan 
authorized; release of information restricted. 
 

(a)  The department shall coordinate control efforts and 
may contract among agencies and counties for predator control 
under this chapter. The department may establish and implement a 
cooperative and coordinated plan for rodent and predator 
control. It may cooperate with federal agencies in the control 
of rodents, predatory animals and predacious birds, as defined 
in W.S. 23-1-101, which are destructive to livestock, game and 
poultry, or are detrimental to feed and foodstuffs, crops and 
forage production and human health. The department may 
promulgate necessary rules and regulations to carry out the 
purposes of this section. 
 

(b)  Any information regarding the number or nature of 
rodents or predators legally taken within the state pursuant to 
this section shall only be released in its aggregate form.  The 
identity of any person legally taking a rodent or predator 
within this state is solely for the use of the responsible 
agency or appropriate law enforcement agency, shall not be 
released without the individual's written consent and is not a 
public record for purposes of W.S. 16-4-201 through 16-4-205. 
 

11-6-105.  Issuance of aerial hunting permits authorized. 
 
The department may issue permits for the aerial hunting of 
rodents and predators to any person for the protection of 
livestock, domesticated animals or human life, upon a showing 
that the person or their designated pilot, along with the 
aircraft to be utilized in the aerial hunting, have been 
licensed and qualified in accordance with the requirements of 
the Wyoming aeronautics commission. The department shall furnish 
to the game and fish department a list of the names and 
addresses of the persons to whom they have issued aerial 
permits. The department may predicate the issuance or retention 
of such permits upon the recipients' full and prompt disclosure 
of information as the department may request for submission to 
the authorities designated in accordance with section 13 of the 
Fish and Wildlife Act of 1956 or its successor. The department 
shall collect a fee from each person who has any aircraft 



permitted under this section on or before April 1 of each year 
in the amount authorized by W.S. 11-1-104. 
 

11-6-106.  Receiving and expending monies for supplies. 
 
The department may receive money for rodent and predator control 
from the federal government, state appropriations, counties, 
agencies, boards, associations, commissions, individuals and any 
other cooperators and may expend such monies to purchase 
supplies, materials, services, and to employ or contract 
personnel for rodent and predator control. The department may 
make such supplies, materials, services and personnel available 
to cooperators at approximate cost. 
 

11-6-107.  Disposition of proceeds. 
 
All predator furs, skins and specimens taken by hunters or 
trappers whose salaries are paid in full by cooperating 
agencies, shall be sold and the proceeds returned to the 
respective predator management district of the county in which 
the furs, skins or specimens originated. All receipts from sales 
of materials and services related to predatory animal and rodent 
control received by the department shall be paid into the state 
general fund. 
 

11-6-108.  Cooperative agreements generally. 
 
The department may enter into cooperative agreements with other 
governmental agencies, counties, associations, corporations or 
individuals for carrying out the purposes of W.S. 11-6-104 
through 11-6-107. 
 

ARTICLE 2 - DISTRICTS AND DISTRICT BOARDS 
 

11-6-201.  Creation and designation of districts; state 
predator management advisory board. 
 

(a)  Each county is created and designated as a predator 
management district. Each district shall be known as the 
"Predator Management District of .... County, Wyoming," and it 
may hold property and be a party to suits and contracts. 
 

(b)  There is created a state  predator management advisory 
board composed of one (1) representative of each predator 
management district. The state predator management advisory 
board representative shall be appointed by the individual 



predator management district boards of directors and so 
designated in writing. 
 

11-6-202.  Administration of districts by district boards; 
number and qualifications of members; term; filling of 
vacancies; removal. 
 

(a)  The affairs of each district shall be administered by 
a board of directors, each of whom shall be a bona fide resident 
of Wyoming. Directors for the positions identified in paragraphs 
(i) and (ii) of this subsection shall be elected at an annual 
meeting of district livestock owners. Directors for the 
positions identified in paragraphs (iv) and (v) of this 
subsection shall be appointed as described.  The composition of 
the board shall be as follows: 
 

(i)  Three (3) directors shall be sheep owners having 
paid predator management fees on sheep in the district in the 
year preceding election. At each subsequent annual district 
meeting one (1) director shall be elected for a three (3) year 
term.  Subject to the provisions of W.S. 11-6-203(a), all sheep 
owners whether an individual, corporation or partnership, having 
paid predator management fees on sheep in the district 
regardless of the domicile of the sheep, are entitled to one (1) 
vote at the meeting; 
 

(ii)  Three (3) directors shall be cattle owners 
having paid predator management fees on cattle in the district 
in the year preceding election. At each subsequent annual 
district meeting one (1) director shall be elected for a three 
(3) year term. Subject to the provisions of W.S. 11-6-203(a), 
all cattle owners whether an individual, corporation or 
partnership, having paid predator management fees on cattle in 
the district regardless of the domicile of the cattle, are 
entitled to one (1) vote at the meeting; 
 

(iii)  If a qualified applicant for a director 
position identified in paragraph (i) or (ii) of this subsection 
cannot be found or if no qualified applicant seeks election to 
the board of directors, then the director position may be filled 
by an otherwise qualified elector, provided no more than four 
(4) directors may represent any one (1) species of livestock; 
 

(iv)  The board of county commissioners shall appoint 
one (1) director to serve for an initial term of two (2) years 
and thereafter for three (3) year terms from electors in the 
county not engaged in raising sheep or cattle. No appointed 



member may serve for a consecutive period of more than six (6) 
years; 
 

(v)  If the board of directors determines state funds 
are necessary for an effective predator management program to 
assure the statutory requirements provided in W.S. 11-6-205 are 
fulfilled and state funds are appropriated and received for that 
purpose, then three (3) directors representing sportsmen and 
hunters from the district shall be appointed to the board of 
directors by the county commissioners serving the local 
district.  Sportsmen and hunter representatives shall be bona 
fide residents of the district not engaged in raising sheep or 
cattle and shall hold or have held a valid Wyoming fishing or 
hunting license within the preceding twelve (12) month period.  
County commissioners, to the greatest extent practical, shall 
select sportsmen and hunter representatives to ensure 
representation from as broad a geographic distribution of the 
district as possible.  The county commissioners shall determine 
who of the three (3) sportsmen and hunter directors appointed to 
a board under this paragraph shall serve an initial term of one 
(1) year, who shall serve an initial term of (2) years and who 
shall serve a term of three (3) years.  Thereafter, each term 
shall be for three (3) years. 
 

(b)  No director shall continue to hold office after 
disqualification under any of the provisions of this section. 
All vacancies on the district board may be filled for unexpired 
terms by the other directors in office except the public 
member's and the sportsmen and hunter member's unexpired term 
shall be filled by board of county commissioners appointment. 
All members shall hold their offices until their successors are 
elected and qualified. 
 

(c)  For directors appointed by a board of county 
commissioners, the county commissioners may remove the director 
for cause without a public hearing unless the director requests 
that the action be taken during a public hearing. 
 

11-6-203.  Manner of calling annual meeting of predator 
management districts; when held; election of chairman and 
secretary. 
 

(a)  The annual meeting of each predator management 
district shall be held within the first two (2) weeks of 
December. Any person having paid predator fees in the district 
within the preceding twelve (12) months shall be entitled to one 
(1) vote at the annual meeting.  Predator fees paid in the name 



of a business entity may be represented by one (1) 
representative of the entity paying the fees, provided that the 
representative is authorized by the entity to vote on behalf of 
the entity and has provided proof of such written authorization.  
Proof of payment of predator fees within the district shall only 
be through a verified copy of a brand inspection certificate 
which clearly shows that the fees have been paid and the date 
upon which the fees were paid.  No person paying fees within the 
district shall be entitled to more than one (1) vote at the 
annual meeting and no proxies shall be allowed.  Each board 
shall: 
 

(i)  Repealed By Laws 2012, Ch. 46, § 2. 
 

(ii)  Publish a notice stating the time and place of 
any meeting of the district and that directors of the board 
representing livestock interests as provided in W.S. 
11-6-202(a)(i) and (ii) shall be elected at the meeting. Notice 
shall be published once in a newspaper of general circulation in 
the district ten (10) days prior to the date of the meeting; 
 

(iii)  Set the date of the meeting so as not to 
conflict with the date of similar meetings held in adjoining 
districts in order that sheep and cattle owners operating in 
more than one (1) district may attend and vote in other 
districts where they are engaged in such business; 
 

(iv)  Set the annual predatory animal control fee for 
the district as provided by W.S. 11-6-210(a). 
 

(b)  When assembled in accordance with the provisions of 
subsection (a) of this section, the sheep and cattle owners 
shall elect a chairman and secretary who shall act as judges of 
the election of directors representing livestock interests of 
the board. 
 

11-6-204.  District boards; election and appointment of 
officers; meetings; quorum; oath; appropriation requests. 
 
At the annual meeting of the district board, following election 
of directors pursuant to W.S. 11-6-202(a)(i), (ii) and (iv) and 
upon appointment of directors pursuant to W.S. 11-6-202(a)(v), 
if applicable, the directors shall organize by choosing from 
their number a president and vice-president and shall appoint a 
secretary-treasurer. Subsequent meetings may be called by the 
president upon reasonable notice. A majority of the board 
constitutes a quorum for the transaction of business at any 



board meeting. The members of the board shall receive no 
compensation for serving as members. Each director shall take an 
oath for the faithful performance of his duties. If the board 
determines to request an appropriation of funds from the board 
of county commissioners, it shall, at least thirty (30) days 
prior to the time for annual levy of general taxes, notify the 
board of county commissioners of the amount the district board 
considers necessary for district operations during the following 
year. 
 

11-6-205.  District boards; duties generally. 
 

(a)  Each predator management district board shall: 
 

(i)  Exercise general supervision over the control of 
predatory animals and predacious birds that prey upon and 
destroy livestock, other domestic animals and wildlife; 
 

(ii)  Devise and put in operation those methods that 
best manage or control damage caused by predatory animals or 
predacious birds; 
 

(iii)  Administer funds received from predator 
management fees and from other sources to carry out the predator 
management program; 
 

(iv)  Coordinate with affected individuals and 
entities to develop a comprehensive predator management program 
for each respective predator management district which addresses 
livestock, wildlife and public health concerns. 
 

11-6-206.  District boards; powers generally. 
 
Each predator management district board may adopt rules and 
regulations necessary for carrying out the purpose and 
provisions of this article. Each board may appoint employees and 
assistants as necessary and fix their compensation. Each board 
may work through the department to coordinate predator control 
including contracting for predator control services or may 
directly enter into cooperative agreements with boards of county 
commissioners, other predator management districts, the animal 
damage management board, federal or state agencies or other 
organizations or associations for the purpose of controlling 
predatory animals and predacious birds. Each board is authorized 
to pay bounties for predatory animals and predacious birds. 
 



11-6-207.  District boards; record of proceedings and 
expenditures; monthly warrants issued by county for monies 
collected. 
 

(a)  The secretary-treasurer of each predator management 
district shall keep a complete and accurate record of the 
proceedings of the board. 
 

(b)  All salaries, expenses or bounties shall be paid from 
the predator management district fund of the district by the 
secretary-treasurer. 
 

(c)  All expenditures of the district shall be supported by 
properly approved vouchers and supporting documents in writing 
signed by the board president and any other director. 
 

(d)  The county treasurer shall issue monthly warrants to 
the predator management district for all monies collected in the 
county for the predator management district. 
 

11-6-208.  District boards; annual report. 
 
On or before October 1 of each year, the president and 
secretary-treasurer of each district board and each county 
treasurer shall make an annual report to their board of county 
commissioners showing all receipts and disbursement of district 
funds made by direction of the board during the preceding fiscal 
year.  A report of the receipts, expenditures and financial 
transactions of the district shall be made as provided by W.S. 
9-1-507.  The director of the state department of audit may call 
upon any district board or upon any county treasurer for further 
information relating to any predator management district. 
 

11-6-209.  Annual meetings of predator management boards. 
 
Annual meetings for the election of members of boards of 
directors of predator management districts shall be called by 
the president of each board. The meetings shall be called by a 
notice published in the manner provided by W.S. 11-6-203. 
 

11-6-210.  Creation of predator management district fund; 
predator management fees; donations; appropriation by county 
commissioners. 
 

(a)  At the time of collecting brand inspection fees 
imposed under W.S. 11-20-401 and 11-20-402, the brand inspector 
shall collect predator management fees on all sheep and cattle 



inspected within each predator management district. However, 
predator management fees shall not be collected on cattle and 
sheep shipped into this state for immediate sale or slaughter. 
The amount of the fee for each predator management district 
shall be established by each predator management district board 
in consultation with the state predator management advisory 
board and shall not exceed one dollar ($1.00) per head on sheep 
and cattle. The directors elected pursuant to W.S. 
11-6-202(a)(i) and (ii) from each predator management district 
board shall annually determine the predator management fee to be 
charged and collected in the district taking into consideration 
comments solicited from the producers present at the district's 
annual meeting as provided for in W.S. 11-6-203, who have paid 
predator management fees within the district during the 
preceding twelve (12) months and shall inform the livestock 
board of the fee prior to January 1 each year. The fee shall not 
be collected on the same livestock more than once in any twelve 
(12) month period.  The livestock board may retain not to exceed 
five percent (5%) of the revenues collected for the actual cost 
of collecting the predator management fee. Remaining revenues 
collected by the livestock board under this section shall be 
remitted to the state treasurer for deposit in an account. The 
state treasurer, on a quarterly basis, shall distribute the 
revenues to the county treasurer of the county from which the 
shipment originated unless, at the time of payment of the fees, 
the livestock owner designates the fees to be distributed in 
total to another county in this state in which the livestock are 
fed or pastured.  The county treasurer shall deposit revenues 
distributed under this subsection into a special continuing 
fund, to be known as the "Predator Management District Fund of 
.... County" and to be administered by the predator management 
board of that district. 
 

(b)  Repealed by Laws 1990, ch. 87, § 3. 
 

(c)  Repealed by Laws 1990, ch. 87, § 3. 
 

(d)  The district board may receive donations and 
appropriations of money from any source, and such donations and 
appropriations shall be placed in the district fund by the 
county treasurer upon request of the district board. Nothing in 
W.S. 11-6-201 through 11-6-210 shall be construed to prohibit 
boards of county commissioners from appropriating funds for the 
purpose of controlling predatory animals and predacious birds, 
and such appropriation by boards of county commissioners is 
authorized. 
 



(e)  Repealed by Laws 1990, ch. 87, § 3. 
 

(f)  Notwithstanding subsection (a) of this section, the 
amount of the annual predator management fee for sheep and 
cattle shipped into this state for confinement in a commercial 
feedlot shall not exceed twenty-five cents ($0.25) per head on 
sheep and cattle. For purposes of this subsection, "commercial 
feedlot" means any place, establishment or facility commonly 
known as a feedlot conducted, operated or managed for profit or 
nonprofit for livestock producers, feeders or market agencies, 
consisting of pens and their appurtenances, in which livestock 
are received, held, fed, cared for or kept for sale or shipment 
in commerce.  A pasture, field or other enclosure, fenced or 
unfenced, shall not be considered a commercial feedlot for 
purposes of this subsection.  The predator management district 
board shall have the authority to determine if a facility 
qualifies as a commercial feedlot as defined in this subsection. 
 

(g)  Each predator management district board shall annually 
allocate five percent (5%) of all predator management fee 
collections to be used for refunds, in whole or in part.  If a 
refund is requested the board shall pay the refund within one 
hundred twenty (120) days after the end of the calendar year in 
which the fee was paid.  Refunds under this subsection shall be 
subject to the following: 
 

(i)  To be valid, the application for refund shall be 
received no later than sixty (60) days after the end of the 
calendar year in which the fee was paid; 
 

(ii)  No person receiving a refund shall receive any 
predatory animal control services funded in whole or in part by 
the predatory animal control fees until that person has paid one 
hundred fifty percent (150%) of all refunds received during the 
year in which the services were sought and the three (3) 
preceding calendar years; and 
 

(iii)  All monies not paid in refunds shall annually 
revert to the district predator management account on July 1 of 
the following year. 
 

(h)  Notwithstanding subsection (a) of this section, no 
predatory animal control fee shall be collected on livestock 
shipped or trailed within this state if change of ownership does 
not occur. 
 



(j)  Any person failing to pay the predator animal control 
fee imposed by subsection (a) or (f) of this section shall be 
punished as provided by W.S. 11-1-103. 
 

(k)  In addition to the other fees imposed by this section, 
any person paying the predator control fee may pay an additional 
ten cents ($.10) per head to fund the predator management 
activities of the Wyoming animal damage management board created 
by W.S. 11-6-303. Any fees collected pursuant to this subsection 
shall be deposited in the animal damage management account 
created by W.S. 11-6-306. 
 

(m)  Repealed By Laws 2012, Ch. 46, § 2. 
 

(n)  If a livestock producer requests predator management 
services from the district board representing the county in 
which the producer is pasturing or housing livestock, and no 
predator management fees have been collected from the producer 
within the previous twelve (12) months, or if the fees have been 
refunded, the board may charge a service fee to recover 
reasonable and actual costs of the predator management services 
provided. 
 

(o)  To be eligible to receive state funds, the district 
shall assess and collect all available fees on livestock in the 
district. 
 

ARTICLE 3 - WYOMING ANIMAL DAMAGE MANAGEMENT PROGRAM 
 

11-6-301.  Short title. 
 
This article may be cited as the "Wyoming animal damage 
management program". 
 

11-6-302.  Definitions. 
 

(a)  As used in this article: 
 

(i)  "Board" means the Wyoming animal damage 
management board (ADMB); 
 

(ii)  "Crop" or "agricultural crop" when not otherwise 
defined by statute means corn, oats, wheat, barley, flax, 
sorghums and other grains, potatoes, vegetables, forage legumes, 
hay, and any other product of cultivation, trees, bees, honey 
and hives; 
 



(iii)  "Damage" means any injury to or loss of 
livestock, agricultural crops or wildlife inflicted by predatory 
animals, predacious birds or depredating animals; 
 

(iv)  "Depredating animal" means any trophy game 
animal or furbearing animal that causes damage; 
 

(v)  "Furbearing animal" means badger, beaver, bobcat, 
marten, mink, muskrat or weasel; 
 

(vi)  "Livestock" means horses, mules, cattle, swine, 
sheep, goats, poultry, guard animals or any other animal 
maintained under domestication. Bison are considered livestock 
unless otherwise designated by the Wyoming livestock board and 
the Wyoming game and fish commission; 
 

(vii)  "Person" means as defined by W.S. 
8-1-102(a)(vi); 
 

(viii)  "Predacious bird" means any predatory avian 
species that is permitted to be taken under either Wyoming law 
or federal law; 
 

(ix)  "Predatory animal" means: 
 

(A)  Coyote, jackrabbit, porcupine, raccoon, red 
fox, skunk or stray cat; and 
 

(B)  Until the date gray wolves are removed from 
the list of experimental nonessential population, endangered 
species or threatened species in Wyoming as provided by W.S. 
23-1-108, "predatory animal" includes wolves. After that date, 
"predatory animal" shall include any gray wolf within areas of 
the state where the state of Wyoming has jurisdiction for 
wildlife management, but not within an area of the state in 
which the gray wolf is: 
 

(I)  Designated as a trophy game animal 
under W.S. 23-1-101(a)(xii)(B)(I) or (II). 
 

(II)  Repealed By Laws 2012, Ch. 25, § 2. 
 

(x)  "Trophy game animal" means: 
 

(A)  Black bear, grizzly bear or mountain lion; 
and 
 



(B)  From and after the date gray wolves are 
removed from the list of experimental nonessential population, 
endangered species or threatened species in Wyoming as provided 
by W.S. 23-1-108: 
 

(I)  "Trophy game animal" shall include any 
gray wolf within those areas where gray wolves are designated as 
trophy game animals as provided in W.S. 23-1-101(a)(xii)(B)(I) 
or (II). 
 

(II)  Repealed By Laws 2012, Ch. 25, § 2. 
 

(xi)  "Wildlife" means all wild mammals, birds, fish, 
amphibians, reptiles, crustaceans and mollusks, and wild bison 
designated by the Wyoming game and fish commission and the 
Wyoming livestock board within this state; 
 

(xii)  "Take" means as defined by W.S. 
23-1-102(a)(vii). 
 

(b)  Repealed By Laws 2012, Ch. 25, § 2. 
 

11-6-303.  Animal damage management board (ADMB) created; 
composition; appointment; terms; vacancies; compensation. 
 

(a)  There is created the animal damage management board 
for the purposes of mitigating damage caused to livestock, 
wildlife and crops by predatory animals, predacious birds and 
depredating animals or for the protection of human health and 
safety. The board may mitigate damage caused by depredating 
animals by and through a memorandum of understanding with the 
Wyoming game and fish commission. The board shall be composed of 
twelve (12) members appointed by the governor as follows: 
 

(i)  The director of the Wyoming department of 
agriculture; 
 

(ii)  The director of the Wyoming game and fish 
department; 
 

(iii)  One (1) domestic sheep producer; 
 

(iv)  One (1) cattle producer; 
 

(v)  The state director for the United States 
department of agriculture, animal and plant health inspection 
service, wildlife services (USDA/APHIS/WS); 



 
(vi)  Two (2) members representing the interests of 

sportsmen, outfitters and hunters, not more than one (1) of 
these members shall be appointed to represent the interests of 
outfitters; 
 

(vii)  The president of the state predator management 
advisory board created under W.S. 11-6-201; 
 

(viii)  One (1) member from an urban area; 
 

(ix)  One (1) member from the Wyoming game and fish 
commission; 
 

(x)  One (1) member of the Wyoming board of 
agriculture; and 
 

(xi)  One (1) member representing the interests of 
nonconsumptive users of the state's wildlife resource. 
 

(b)  A representative from the United States forest service 
(USFS), the United States fish and wildlife service (USFWS) and 
United States bureau of land management (BLM) shall serve as 
exofficio nonvoting members of the board. 
 

(c)  The directors of the departments of agriculture and 
game and fish shall serve as co-chairs of the ADMB and shall 
give general direction to the ADMB and the ADMB administrative 
officer. 
 

(d)  The director of the department of agriculture or his 
designee shall serve as the ADMB’s administrative officer and 
carry out the ADMB’s administrative functions. 
 

(e)  Except for the directors of the departments of 
agriculture and game and fish, the state director for the United 
States department of agriculture, animal and plant health 
inspection service, wildlife services (USDA/APHIS/WS), and the 
president of the state predator management advisory board 
created under W.S. 11-6-201, the remaining members of the board 
shall hold office for staggered terms of four (4) years.  For 
the remaining members of the initial board, four (4) members 
shall be appointed for a term of four (4) years, four (4) 
members shall be appointed for a term of two (2) years.  Each 
appointed member shall be limited to serving on the board for 
eight (8) consecutive years, however, a member may be 
reappointed after a four (4) year absence.  Each member shall 



hold office until his successor is appointed and has been 
qualified.  As terms of current ADMB members expire, the 
governor shall appoint each new member or reappointed member to 
a four (4) year term. 
 

(f)  When a vacancy occurs in the membership for any 
reason, a replacement shall be appointed for the unexpired term. 
 

(g)  Attendance of six (6) members at a duly called meeting 
shall constitute a quorum for the transaction of official 
business. The ADMB shall convene at the times and places 
prescribed by the chair. 
 

(h)  Members of the board who are not government employees 
shall receive no compensation or benefits for their services, 
but may receive per diem and expenses incurred in the 
performance of the member's official duties at the established 
state rate, to be paid from the animal damage management 
account. 
 

(j)  Members may decline to receive per diem and expenses 
for their service. 
 

(k)  State government officer and employee members who do 
not receive salary, per diem, or expenses from their agency for 
their service may receive per diem and expenses incurred in the 
performance of their official duties from the ADMB at the 
established state rate, to be paid from the animal damage 
management account. 
 

(m)  State government official and employee members may 
decline to receive per diem and expenses for their service. 
 

11-6-304.  Animal damage management board responsibilities; 
animal damage management policy; rules; methods to manage 
predatory animals, predacious birds, depredating animals and 
rabid wildlife; manner of calling meetings; frequency. 
 

(a)  The ADMB is responsible for the formulation of the 
damage prevention management policy of the state, and by and 
through an executed memorandum of understanding (MOU) with the 
Wyoming game and fish commission is responsible for management 
of rabid wildlife, crop, livestock and wildlife damage done by 
depredating animals and wildlife damage by predatory animals and 
predacious birds. The ADMB in conjunction with its 
responsibility may, consistent with the Wyoming Administrative 
Procedure Act adopt rules to implement policies administered by 



the ADMB. After consultation with the livestock board and the 
department of health, the ADMB shall promulgate rules pertaining 
to rabies prevention in wildlife including surveillance, public 
education, vaccination protocol, post-exposure procedures and 
quarantines. The ADMB may enter into the agreements with law 
enforcing agencies to carry out the quarantine provisions. 
Nothing in this article shall preempt the Wyoming game and fish 
commission authority to manage wildlife or determine damage 
pursuant to any provision in title 23. 
 

(b)  In its deliberations the ADMB shall: 
 

(i)  Entertain requests for assistance in order to 
allow mitigation of predator damage; 
 

(ii)  Specify programs designed to prevent damage by 
predatory animals, rabid wildlife, predacious birds and 
depredating animals to livestock, agricultural crops, wildlife, 
property, human health and safety; 
 

(iii)  Provide various degrees of predatory animal, 
predacious bird and depredating animal damage management 
services to individual agricultural livestock and crop 
producers, landowners, lessors or administrators, and to urban, 
residential and industrial property owners.  Damage management 
services shall also be provided and conducted for the benefit of 
wildlife populations and human health and safety; 
 

(iv)  Specify methods for the prevention and 
management of damage and for the selective control of predatory 
animals, rabid wildlife, predacious birds and depredating 
animals; 
 

(v)  Maintain responsibility and appropriate funds for 
the purpose of providing damage prevention and management to 
agricultural livestock and crops, wildlife, property and human 
health and safety caused by predatory animals, rabid wildlife, 
predacious birds and depredating animals; 
 

(vi)  Cooperate with federal, state and county 
governments, educational institutions and private persons or 
organizations to effectuate agricultural and wildlife damage and 
rabid wildlife prevention policies; 
 

(vii)  Develop memorandums of understanding between 
the Wyoming department of agriculture and the Wyoming game and 
fish commission and the United States department of agriculture, 



animal and plant health inspection service, wildlife services 
(USDA/APHIS/WS) to accommodate funding sources and 
administrative guidelines for the program and may contract 
directly with federal or state agencies, boards of county 
commissioners, predator management districts or other 
organizations or associations to coordinate predator control 
services; 
 

(viii)  Consider any recommendations received from the 
Wyoming game and fish commission and the Wyoming department of 
agriculture. 
 

(c)  The ADMB shall conduct meetings in accordance with its 
established policy, but shall meet at least once each year in 
the month of January. 
 

(d)  The ADMB may adopt rules and regulations necessary for 
carrying out the purpose and provisions of this article. The 
ADMB may appoint employees and assistants as necessary and fix 
their compensation. The ADMB may enter into cooperative 
agreements with boards of county commissioners, predator 
management districts, federal or state agencies or other 
commissions, organizations or associations for the purpose of 
managing predatory animals, rabid wildlife, predacious birds and 
depredating animals. Predator management district boards which 
choose not to enter into a cooperative agreement with the ADMB 
shall not be precluded from continuing with, or entering into, a 
cooperative agreement or memorandum of understanding with the 
United States department of agriculture, animal and plant health 
inspection service, wildlife services (USDA/APHIS/WS), other 
entities of government, organizations or associations. This act 
is not intended and shall not replace, rescind, modify nor 
cancel cooperative agreements or cooperative service agreements 
between the USDA/APHIS/WS and the county predator management 
districts created under W.S. 11-6-201 through 11-6-210. 
 

(e)  The ADMB may elect to provide various degrees of 
predator damage management services to any other person pursuant 
to a separately negotiated cooperative agreement. 
 

(f)  The board shall investigate, test and refine the 
concept and practices of integrated predator management. The 
board shall develop and establish measurable goals and 
objectives. The board shall report to the governor and the joint 
agriculture, public lands and water resources interim committee 
and joint appropriations interim committee on or before November 
30 of each year to determine the progress the board has made 



toward achieving the goals and objectives it has established.  
The report shall also include actions taken, the accomplishments 
and state monies expended by each county predator management 
board participating in state funding. 
 

11-6-305.  Wyoming animal damage management board funding; 
sources; methods of collection. 
 

(a)  Repealed by Laws 2020, ch. 48, § 2. 
 

(b)  Repealed by Laws 2020, ch. 48, § 2. 
 

(c)  The ADMB may receive money for predatory animal, 
predacious bird and depredating animal management from the 
federal government, state appropriations, counties, agencies, 
boards, associations, commissions, individuals and any other 
cooperators, and may expend monies to purchase supplies, 
materials, services, and to employ or contract personnel for 
predatory animal, predacious bird and depredating animal damage 
management. The ADMB may make supplies, materials, services and 
personnel available to cooperators at approximate cost. 
 

11-6-306.  Animal damage management account. 
 

(a)  There is created the animal damage management account. 
 

(b)  Money received under W.S. 11-6-305 shall be deposited 
by the state treasurer in the animal damage management account 
to be appropriated for the purposes provided in this article. 
 

(c)  Any supplemental contributions received by the 
department from livestock owners for predatory animal, 
predacious bird or depredating animal damage management programs 
or the prevention and management of rabid wildlife shall be 
deposited into the animal damage management account. 
 

(d)  The animal damage management account shall be 
administered for the ADMB by the Wyoming department of 
agriculture. 
 

11-6-307.  Board to request funding from game and fish 
commission. 
 
The board shall annually request two hundred thousand dollars 
($200,000.00) from the Wyoming game and fish commission. These 
funds shall be expended for wildlife priorities. The game and 
fish commission shall provide recommendations to the board 



regarding expenditure of these funds. Priority shall be given to 
projects that directly involve predator control that will have 
the greatest benefit to wildlife or will reduce the cost to the 
department for animal damage payments. 
 

11-6-308.  District boards; relation to ADMB; duties 
generally. 
 

(a)  Each predator management district board shall: 
 

(i)  Exercise general supervision in determining local 
priorities for the management of predatory animals and 
predacious birds that prey upon and destroy livestock, other 
domestic animals, wildlife and crops; 
 

(ii)  Devise and put in operation those methods that 
best manage predatory animals and predacious birds; 
 

(iii)  Administer funds received to carry out the 
animal damage management program; 
 

(iv)  Maintain existing financial and physical 
resources; 
 

(v)  Provide input to the ADMB. 
 

11-6-309.  Predator management district participation with 
the ADMB. 
 

(a)  Except as provided in subsection (b) of this section, 
if the predator management district has elected to participate 
in providing funding or upon approval of the ADMB, other in-kind 
resources, to the animal damage management account, the district 
may solicit funds or receive services from the ADMB under 
separate negotiated agreement. Two (2) or more districts may 
jointly solicit funds or receive services from the ADMB for 
purposes of this section. 
 

(b)  Whether or not a predator management district has 
elected to participate in providing funding to the animal damage 
management account, the district may solicit funds or receive 
services from the ADMB for control of gray wolves designated as 
predatory animals. 
 

(c)  In any area of the state not under the jurisdiction of 
a county predatory animal board, eligible applicants for funds 
appropriated to the animal damage management board for the 



purpose of controlling wolves designated as predatory animals 
include state or county agencies. 
 

11-6-310.  Applicability of chapter. 
 
This article, unless contrary to federal law, shall apply to all 
federal, state and private lands. 
 

11-6-311.  Exemptions. 
 
The state predator management advisory board or the ADMB may 
exempt persons from payment of the imposed fees when the 
respective board determines that livestock as defined in this 
act are permanently confined within pens or corrals within 
incorporated city limits where animal damage control activity by 
state or federal agencies is prohibited or severely restricted. 
 

11-6-312.  Cooperative agreements generally. 
 
The ADMB may enter into cooperative agreements with other 
governmental agencies, counties, associations, corporations or 
individuals for carrying out the purposes of this article. 
 

11-6-313.  Repealed By Laws 2008, Ch. 39, § 1. 
 

CHAPTER 7 - APIARY REGISTRATION AND INSPECTION 
 

ARTICLE 1 - GENERAL PROVISIONS 
 

11-7-101.  Repealed by Laws 1979, ch. 64, § 2. 
 

11-7-102.  Repealed by Laws 1979, ch. 64, § 2. 
 

11-7-103.  Repealed by Laws 1979, ch. 64, § 2. 
 

11-7-104.  Repealed by Laws 1979, ch. 64, § 2. 
 

11-7-105.  Repealed by Laws 1979, ch. 64, § 2. 
 

11-7-106.  Repealed by Laws 1979, ch. 64, § 2. 
 

11-7-107.  Repealed by Laws 1979, ch. 64, § 2. 
 

11-7-108.  Repealed by Laws 1979, ch. 64, § 2. 
 

11-7-109.  Repealed by Laws 1979, ch. 64, § 2. 
 



11-7-110.  Repealed by Laws 1979, ch. 64, § 2. 
 

11-7-111.  Repealed by Laws 1979, ch. 64, § 2. 
 

11-7-112.  Repealed by Laws 1979, ch. 64, § 2. 
 

11-7-113.  Repealed by Laws 1979, ch. 64, § 2. 
 

11-7-114.  Repealed by Laws 1979, ch. 64, § 2. 
 

11-7-115.  Repealed by Laws 1979, ch. 64, § 2. 
 

11-7-116.  Repealed by Laws 1979, ch. 64, § 2. 
 

11-7-117.  Repealed by Laws 1979, ch. 64, § 2. 
 

11-7-118.  Repealed by Laws 1983, ch. 7, § 2. 
 

11-7-119.  Repealed by Laws 1983, ch. 7, § 2. 
 

11-7-120.  Repealed by Laws 1983, ch. 7, § 2. 
 

11-7-121.  Repealed by Laws 1983, ch. 7, § 2. 
 

11-7-122.  Repealed by Laws 1983, ch. 7, § 2. 
 

11-7-123.  Repealed by Laws 1983, ch. 7, § 2. 
 

11-7-124.  Repealed by Laws 1983, ch. 7, § 2. 
 

11-7-125.  Repealed by Laws 1983, ch. 7, § 2. 
 

11-7-126.  Repealed by Laws 1983, ch. 7, § 2. 
 

11-7-127.  Repealed by Laws 1983, ch. 7, § 2. 
 

11-7-128.  Repealed by Laws 1983, ch. 7, § 2. 
 

11-7-129.  Repealed by Laws 1983, ch. 7, § 2. 
 

11-7-130.  Short title. 
 
This chapter may be cited as the "Wyoming Apiculture Act". 
 

11-7-131.  Definitions. 
 

(a)  As used in this chapter: 



 
(i)  "Apiary" means a place where one (1) or more 

colonies of bees or one (1) or more hives containing honeycombs 
or bee combs are kept; 
 

(ii)  "Bee diseases" means American or European 
foulbrood, sacbrood, bee paralysis or other disease or abnormal 
condition of the egg, larval, pupal or adult stages of bees, 
including bee parasites and bee pests; 
 

(iii)  "Bees" means any stage of the life cycle in the 
genus Apis; 
 

(iv)  "Colony" means the bees, hive and all equipment 
used in connection with the hive; 
 

(v)  "Comb" means the brood chamber used by the queen 
for the protection of brood; 
 

(vi)  "Department" means the department of 
agriculture; 
 

(vii)  "Equipment" means hives, supers, frames, veils, 
gloves or any apparatus, tools, machines or other devices used 
in the handling and manipulation of bees, honey, wax and hives 
and includes any container of honey and wax which may be used in 
an apiary or in transporting bees and their products and apiary 
supplies; 
 

(viii)  "Family unit" means two (2) or more persons 
living together or residing in the same dwelling, house or other 
place of residence; 
 

(ix)  "General apiary" means any apiary other than a 
pollination apiary, landowner apiary or hobbyist apiary; 
 

(x)  "Hive" means a frame hive, box hive, box, barrel, 
log gun, skep or other receptacle or container or a part of a 
container, natural or artificial, which may be used as a 
domicile for bees; 
 

(xi)  "Hobbyist apiary" means an apiary owned by a 
hobbyist beekeeper; 
 

(xii)  "Hobbyist beekeeper" means a person who owns a 
total of not more than five (5) hives; 
 



(xiii)  "Landowner" means the person who has the 
actual use and exclusive possession of the land upon which a 
landowner apiary is to be registered, except that a person 
leasing or renting land for the primary purpose of locating or 
establishing an apiary thereon is not considered a landowner; 
 

(xiv)  "Landowner apiary" means an apiary owned by a 
landowner as defined in this section; 
 

(xv)  "Person" means any individual, association, 
partnership or corporation; 
 

(xvi)  "Pollination apiary" means an apiary operated 
for pollination of commercial seed, fruit or other commercial 
agricultural product as provided in W.S. 11-7-203; 
 

(xvii)  "Queen apiary" means an apiary or premises in 
which queen bees are reared or kept for sale or gift; 
 

(xviii)  "Bee parasites" means mites, including but 
not limited to varroa mites and tracheal mites; 
 

(xix)  "Bee pests" means insects, including but not 
limited to small hive beetles and red imported fire ants; 
 

(xx)  "General beekeeper" means a person who owns more 
than five (5) hives and manages and operates the bees and the 
hives; 
 

(xxi)  "Global positioning system or GPS" means a 
device that provides accuracy in positioning using latitude and 
longitude coordinates; 
 

(xxii)  "Holding yard" means an area where colonies 
are temporarily placed prior to leaving the state or returning 
from pollination in another state; 
 

(xxiii)  "Spray yard" means a temporary location where 
colonies are moved prior to any pesticide application in the 
area of the beekeeper's registered location. 
 

11-7-132.  Disposition of fees. 
 
Registration and inspection fees collected under this chapter 
shall be transmitted by the department to the state treasurer 
for deposit in the general fund. 
 



11-7-133.  Penalties. 
 
Any person who violates any provision of this chapter is guilty 
of a misdemeanor and upon conviction shall be fined not more 
than five hundred dollars ($500.00) or imprisoned in the county 
jail for not more than six (6) months, or both. Each day the 
violation continues constitutes a separate offense. 
 

ARTICLE 2 - REGISTRATION 
 

11-7-201.  Apiary registration; procedure; information; 
conditions; penalties. 
 

(a)  Any person who owns or possesses any class of apiary 
in this state shall register that apiary with the department 
before April 1 of each year. 
 

(b)  Application for registration shall be made to the 
department on forms it prescribes and furnishes and shall 
include: 
 

(i)  The applicant's name and address; 
 

(ii)  The total number of colonies of bees the 
beekeeper owns; 
 

(iii)  The location of the apiary, setting forth 
specifically the location by sectional division to the nearest 
quarter section, the township and range and the latitude and 
longitude coordinates, or if within the corporate limits of a 
municipality, the number of the lot and block in the 
municipality including street address and the latitude and 
longitude coordinates determined using GPS.  All new 
registrations shall include latitude and longitude coordinates.  
Effective July 1, 2012, latitude and longitude coordinates shall 
be required for all apiary registrations; 
 

(iv)  The name of the owner, renter or occupant of the 
land on which the apiary is located and, if the application is 
for an apiary being registered for the first time, it shall also 
show that the owner, renter or occupant of the land has 
consented to the apiary being located on his land; 
 

(v)  The date the apiary was first established which 
shall be included for each location on yearly apiary renewal 
applications; and 
 



(vi)  The class of apiary registration for which 
application is being made. 
 

(c)  Upon receipt of the application and payment of the 
fees, the department may issue a certificate of registration for 
an apiary, setting forth: 
 

(i)  The name of the owner; 
 

(ii)  The specific location of the apiary; and 
 

(iii)  The class of apiary authorized. 
 

(d)  In issuing certificates of registration for apiaries, 
if there is a conflict between applicants with respect to 
location, the department shall give preference to the applicant 
having the oldest, continuous apiary registration. 
 

(e)  Certificates of registration shall not be issued for 
new apiaries which are within such close proximity to 
established registered apiaries that there is danger of spread 
of bee diseases, bee parasites or bee pests or that the 
proximity may interfere with the proper feeding and honey flow 
of established apiaries. 
 

(f)  Each apiary registrant shall post in a conspicuous 
location at or near each apiary he owns legible evidence of 
registration, including his name and telephone number. 
 

(g)  The department shall notify each registrant of his 
delinquency, if that registrant fails to reregister by April 1 
of each year. The notification shall be by certified mail and is 
sufficient if deposited in a United States post office or mail 
box at least ten (10) days before May 1 and addressed to the 
registrant at his last address appearing in the department's 
apiary registration files. Any apiary registration which has not 
been received by May 1 of each year is forfeited and all rights 
under the registration terminate. 
 

(h)  Any person who owns or possesses any bees, hives, 
colonies or beekeeping equipment in this state or who owns or 
possesses an apiary in this state and who fails or refuses to 
register that apiary as provided in this chapter is guilty of a 
misdemeanor and upon conviction thereof is subject to the 
penalties set forth in W.S. 11-7-133. 
 

(j)  Repealed By Laws 2010, Ch. 14, § 3. 



 
11-7-202.  General apiary registrations. 

 
(a)  In order to control, limit and prevent the spread of 

bee diseases, bee parasites or bee pests among bees, hives and 
apiaries and to control, limit and prevent interference with 
proper feeding and honey flow of established apiaries, general 
apiaries registered to different persons shall be located at 
least two (2) miles apart, except as otherwise provided in this 
article. The department shall not register or issue a 
certificate of registration for any general apiary that is 
located less than two (2) miles from a general apiary registered 
to another person, except as otherwise provided in this section. 
 

(b)  Any person may register a general apiary that is 
situated less than two (2) miles from another general apiary he 
has registered, if the location of the general apiary being 
applied for is at least two (2) miles from general apiaries 
registered to other persons. 
 

(c)  A general apiary may be registered even though it is 
less than two (2) miles from any registered pollination apiary, 
landowner apiary or hobbyist apiary. 
 

(d)  A person with an existing apiary that is located less 
than two (2) miles from an existing general apiary registered to 
another person may register his apiary as a general apiary under 
the following conditions: 
 

(i)  His apiary is established and registered with the 
department as a general apiary under the department's rules in 
effect prior to December 31, 2009; and 
 

(ii)  The registration of his apiary has not been 
forfeited or abandoned. 
 

11-7-203.  Pollination apiary registrations. 
 

(a)  The department may grant pollination apiary 
registrations to commercial seed and fruit producers or other 
commercial agricultural producers under the following 
conditions: 
 

(i)  The applicant must own, lease or rent the land 
upon which the pollination apiary is to be located and the 
applicant must use the land for the purpose of growing a 



commercial seed, fruit or other crop which is dependent upon 
bees or other insects for pollination; 
 

(ii)  The applicant does not own the bees or the hives 
which are to be placed upon the pollination apiary; 
 

(iii)  The only purpose of the apiary is to pollinate 
a commercial agricultural crop; 
 

(iv)  The applicant shall provide the department with 
all pertinent information necessary to determine if pollination 
apiaries are needed to pollinate the applicant's crop 
adequately; 
 

(v)  The department may refuse to register a 
pollination apiary based upon its own investigation of the 
matter, but if the department approves the application, it shall 
specify the number of hives and location of pollination apiaries 
needed for the purpose of pollinating the applicant's commercial 
agricultural crop adequately; and 
 

(vi)  A copy of the pollination contract between the 
seedgrower and beekeeper shall be sent to the department. 
 

(b)  A pollination apiary registration is valid only for 
the time period the department specifies, and all pollination 
apiaries shall be removed within two (2) weeks after the end of 
the bloom period of the crop to be pollinated. 
 

(c)  No certificate of registration of a pollination apiary 
may be leased, assigned or transferred and no person other than 
the pollination apiary registrant may exercise in any way any 
rights or privileges authorized by the certificate of 
registration. 
 

11-7-204.  Landowner apiary registrations. 
 

(a)  The department may grant landowner apiary 
registrations under the following conditions: 
 

(i)  The applicant shall be a landowner, as defined in 
W.S. 11-7-131(a)(xiii) and shall own the land upon which the 
apiary will be located; 
 

(ii)  The applicant shall own the bees and the hives 
that will be placed on the apiary; and 
 



(iii)  The applicant shall personally manage and 
operate the bees and the hives. 
 

(b)  No certificate of registration of a landowner apiary 
shall be leased, assigned or transferred and no person other 
than the landowner apiary registrant shall exercise in any way 
any rights or privileges authorized by the certificate of 
registration. 
 

11-7-205.  Hobbyist apiary registrations. 
 

(a)  The department may grant hobbyist apiary registrations 
to hobbyist beekeepers under the following conditions: 
 

(i)  The applicant shall not own a total of more than 
five (5) hives, and all of the hives must be placed on the 
hobbyist apiary; 
 

(ii)  The applicant shall own the bees and the hives 
and shall personally manage and operate the bees and the hives; 
 

(iii)  Only one (1) hobbyist registration is allowed 
an applicant and only two (2) hobbyist apiary registrations are 
allowed a family unit; and 
 

(iv)  If the department determines that too many 
hobbyist apiaries are being registered within too close 
proximity of each other or of other established apiaries so that 
there is danger of the spread of bee diseases, bee parasites or 
bee pests among bees or apiaries or that there will be 
interference with the proper feeding and honey flow of 
established apiaries, the department may refuse to grant any 
further hobbyist registrations in the locality and area of the 
danger. 
 

(b)  No certificate of registration of a hobbyist apiary 
may be leased, assigned or transferred, and no person other than 
the hobbyist apiary registrant may exercise in any way any 
rights or privileges authorized by the certificate of 
registration. 
 

11-7-206.  Restrictions on apiary locations. 
 
Pollination apiaries, landowner apiaries and hobbyist apiaries 
may be located less than two (2) miles from pollination 
apiaries, landowner apiaries, hobbyist apiaries and general 
apiaries registered to other persons. General apiaries may be 



located within two (2) miles of one another only under the 
provisions of W.S. 11-7-202. 
 

11-7-207.  Changing locations; enlarging or selling 
apiaries. 
 

(a)  No owner of an established registered apiary shall 
change the location of the apiary without first receiving from 
the department authorization to establish the new apiary. In 
making the application, the owner shall specify the location of 
the apiary with the same particularity as in the application for 
original registration. If the new apiary is not used according 
to W.S. 11-7-211, the certificate of registration lapses and all 
rights under the registration terminate. Registrations for new 
apiaries shall not be issued for greater areas than the 
applicant can show are reasonably necessary for his needs 
consistent with good beekeeping practice. 
 

(b)  A registered apiary may be sold or transferred to a 
purchaser subject to applicable provisions of this chapter if 
all bees and equipment on the apiary are sold to the purchaser. 
 

(c)  No person may increase the number of hives on an 
apiary to exceed the number of hives consistent with good 
beekeeping practices authorized by his certificate of 
registration for that apiary, except that a person may increase 
the number of hives on a general apiary beyond the number 
authorized by the certificate of registration in order to 
protect his bees and hives from bears or other predators. A 
person may also enlarge a general apiary during the spring 
buildup and in the fall after the end of the honey season in 
order to gather his bees for shipment out of the state or to 
winter his bees on that apiary. 
 

11-7-208.  New locations; evidence of owner's or manager's 
permission. 
 
Any person registering a new location for the first time shall 
have the approval signature of the landowner or manager thereof 
indicating that the landowner has given permission to place an 
apiary on his property. 
 

11-7-209.  Minimum number of colonies. 
 
All registered bee locations must consist of not less than ten 
(10) colonies of bees during a minimum of forty-five (45) or 
more continuous days during any part of normal buildup or honey 



producing period of the year. This provision does not apply to 
beekeepers who own a total of less than five (5) colonies of 
bees registered in only one (1) apiary. 
 

11-7-210.  Normal buildup and honey producing season; 
registration time; voiding registration. 
 

(a)  The normal buildup and honey producing season begins 
on May 1 and continues through September 30. 
 

(b)  The regular registration time consists of the months 
of February through April. 
 

(c)  The established way for voiding the registration of an 
apiary shall be initiated and completed by January 31 during the 
same registration year that the apiary was not in use. 
 

11-7-211.  Forfeit of registration; termination of rights; 
disposition of equipment. 
 

(a)  The registration of an apiary which is not stocked 
with bees during at least forty-five (45) continuous days of the 
normal buildup or honey producing season is forfeited and all 
rights under the certificate of registration terminate. 
 

(b)  An apiary not regularly attended in accordance with 
good beekeeping practice, which comprises a hazard or threat to 
disease control in the beekeeping industry or which by reason of 
its physical condition or construction cannot be inspected, may 
be considered an abandoned apiary and may be seized by the 
department. Any diseased equipment or equipment which by reason 
of its physical condition or construction cannot be inspected 
may be burned, and any remaining equipment may be sold at public 
auction. Proceeds, after the cost of the sale is deducted, shall 
be returned to the former owner or his estate. Before burning or 
selling any equipment, the department shall give the owner or 
person in charge a written notice at least five (5) days before 
the burning or sale. The notice shall be given by certified mail 
or personal service upon the owner or person in charge of the 
property. If the owner or person in charge cannot be located, a 
certified letter sent to the owner's last address registered 
with the department is sufficient notice under this section. 
 

11-7-212.  Registration fees. 
 

(a)  Each year before a certificate of registration may be 
issued for an apiary, the owner or applicant for the certificate 



shall pay the department a registration fee in the amount 
authorized by W.S. 11-1-104, with the exception of those 
apiaries classified as hobbyist apiaries, which will be issued a 
nonfee certificate of registration. 
 

(i)  Repealed by Laws 1993, ch. 135, § 3. 
 

(ii)  Repealed by Laws 1993, ch. 135, § 3. 
 

(iii)  Repealed by Laws 1993, ch. 135, § 3. 
 

(iv)  Repealed by Laws 1993, ch. 135, § 3. 
 

(v)  Repealed by Laws 1993, ch. 135, § 3. 
 

(vi)  Repealed by Laws 1993, ch. 135, § 3. 
 

(vii)  Repealed by Laws 1993, ch. 135, § 3. 
 

(viii)  Repealed by Laws 1993, ch. 135, § 3. 
 

(ix)  Repealed by Laws 1993, ch. 135, § 3. 
 

(x)  Repealed by Laws 1993, ch. 135, § 3. 
 

(xi)  Repealed by Laws 1993, ch. 135, § 3. 
 

(b)  Repealed by Laws 1993, ch. 135, § 3. 
 

11-7-213.  Holding yard apiary location. 
 

(a)  The department may grant a certificate of registration 
for a temporary holding yard location to provide an area for 
holding hives prior to and after returning from pollination of a 
commercial agricultural crop in another state. 
 

(b)  A temporary holding yard location shall not be used 
for planned honey production. 
 

(c)  A general beekeeper shall provide the department 
location information for all temporary holding yard locations by 
designating the yard name and latitude and longitude coordinates 
which shall be included on the yearly renewal application and 
designated with "HY" for holding yard, as the authorized class. 
 



(d)  A colony may be held at a temporary holding yard 
location for not more than two (2) months during the spring and 
for not more than two (2) months during the fall. 
 

11-7-214.  Spray yard apiary location. 
 

(a)  The department may grant a certificate of registration 
for a spray yard apiary location to provide an area for holding 
hives during pesticide application to allow a safe haven for the 
health and safety of the bees. 
 

(b)  A spray yard apiary location shall not be used for 
planned honey production. 
 

(c)  Any hive shall not be held at a spray yard apiary 
location for more than sixteen (16) days after any pesticide 
application and the hive then shall be returned to the 
registered location. 
 

(d)  A general beekeeper shall notify the department or the 
apiary inspector when hives are moved to spray yard apiary 
locations. 
 

11-7-215.  Variance agreements. 
 

(a)  Upon request from a general beekeeper, the department 
may enter into a variance agreement with the general beekeeper 
because of drought conditions, crop rotation, conservation 
reserve program acres or other unforeseen circumstances adverse 
to a yard location. 
 

(b)  Following a thorough investigation of each request 
under subsection (a) of this section, the department shall 
determine whether or not to enter into the requested variance 
agreement.  If granted, a variance agreement shall contain an 
expiration date, after which the bees shall be returned to the 
original registered location.  Failure to return the bees to the 
original registered apiary location shall cause that registered 
apiary location to be forfeited. 
 

(c)  Signed copies of a variance agreement between a 
beekeeper and the department shall be on file in the 
department’s Cheyenne office and with the area apiary inspector 
and the beekeeper. 
 

ARTICLE 3 - INSPECTION AND CERTIFICATION - APIS BEES 
 



11-7-301.  Apiaries; powers and duties of the department. 
 

(a)  To prevent the spread of bee diseases, bee parasites 
or bee pests among bees and apiaries, to protect apiaries 
against depredation by wildlife and to assist law enforcement 
agencies in an effort to alleviate losses due to theft, the 
department may: 
 

(i)  Order the transfer of colonies of bees from hives 
or containers which cannot be properly examined for brood or 
other bee diseases, bee parasites or bee pests to other hives or 
containers; 
 

(ii)  Order disinfection of any bee, beehive, brood 
comb or any other equipment which is infected or contaminated 
and burn any infected or contaminated bee, beehive, brood comb 
or any other equipment if, in its judgment, disinfection will 
not remove the infection or contamination. Before burning any 
property, the department shall give the owner or person in 
charge a written notice at least ten (10) days before the date 
on which the property will be burned. The notice shall be given 
by certified mail or personal service upon the owner or person 
in charge of the property; 
 

(iii)  Quarantine any apiary where foulbrood or any 
contagious or infectious bee diseases, bee parasites or bee 
pests are present and, during the quarantine, prevent the 
removal from the apiary of any bees or equipment except under a 
special permit issued by the department permitting the removal 
under conditions it prescribes. A person may not sell or offer 
for sale any apiary, bees or equipment which are under 
quarantine unless the department issues a permit authorizing the 
sale or removal. Written notice of quarantine shall be posted by 
the department, owner or person in charge at the quarantined 
apiary at a conspicuous place, and a copy shall be personally 
served or sent by certified mail to the owner of the apiary or 
person in charge. The quarantine continues in effect until it is 
ordered removed and a copy of the removal order served in the 
same manner; 
 

(iv)  Inspect any apiary, hives, equipment or premises 
for the presence of bee diseases, bee parasites or bee pests. 
Hives belonging to persons owning apiaries within the state 
shall be inspected for contagious diseases according to 
schedules established by the department.  Apiary inspectors 
shall establish the date for the inspection of any apiary with 
the beekeeper.  The inspection date shall be agreeable to the 



inspector and the beekeeper and shall include a total of seven 
(7) consecutive days upon which the inspection can be undertaken 
due to weather and unforeseen circumstances.  Any beekeeper 
responsible for an apiary who refuses an inspection on any of 
the seven (7) agreed upon dates is subject to penalties provided 
pursuant to W.S. 11-7-133; 
 

(v)  Order the hives within an apiary which is not 
legally registered with the state to be confiscated. The owner 
of the apiary shall be notified at least seven (7) days prior to 
the date of confiscation. Notification shall be by certified 
mail addressed to the last known address of the owner or by 
personal service upon the owner; 
 

(vi)  Promulgate and enforce rules adopted to carry 
out the purpose of this chapter; 
 

(vii)  Enter into agreements with the game and fish 
commission as necessary to protect bees and hives against wild 
animals; 
 

(viii)  Assist any sheriff, peace officer or district 
attorney in any county in the discharge of their duties or 
investigations relating to the apiary industry. 
 

(b)  Any owner of bees possessing more than fifty (50) 
colonies shall furnish one (1) helper to assist the inspector. 
Apiary inspectors may inspect bee colonies at any time without 
previous notice. 
 

(c)  Any person failing to comply with a rule, order or 
provision of a quarantine pursuant to this section is subject to 
penalties provided in W.S. 11-7-133. 
 

11-7-302.  Importation of bees, combs or hives. 
 

(a)  A beekeeper shall notify the department and request an 
inspection to be conducted at any specified registered location 
or holding yard not later than fourteen (14) days after entry of 
any colony into this state.  Following an inspection for colony 
health, the department may issue an export certificate for any 
colony imported into Wyoming.  An export certificate is valid 
for one (1) year and allows export from and re-entry into 
Wyoming at any port of entry. 
 

(b)  Bees shipped on combless packages or in packages on 
new frames and new foundation are not prohibited. 



 
(c)  Comb honey in sections intended for human consumption 

is not prohibited. 
 

(d)  All package bees shipped into Wyoming shall be 
accompanied by an affidavit stating that no honey has been used 
for food in transit. It is unlawful for anyone shipping queen 
bees in cages into this state to use any honey for queen cage 
foods. 
 

(e)  If an official Wyoming apiary inspector finds that any 
bees imported into the state have infectious or contagious 
diseases within fourteen (14) days after arrival, the apiary 
inspector shall destroy the diseased bees and equipment. 
 

ARTICLE 4 - ALFALFA LEAF-CUTTER BEE 
 

11-7-401.  Definitions. 
 

(a)  As used in this act: 
 

(i)  "Bee" means any stage in the life cycle of a bee 
of the species Megachile rotundata (F), commonly known as the 
alfalfa leaf-cutter bee; 
 

(ii)  "Certification" means the process of analyzing 
bees and equipment by the department to determine whether they 
meet the required health standards; 
 

(iii)  "Department" means the department of 
agriculture; 
 

(iv)  "Equipment" means trays, incubators, cell 
removers, tumblers and other apparatus used in rearing bees 
excluding nesting materials; 
 

(v)  "Nesting materials" means shelters, laminates, 
polyblocks, drilled boards or any other product which leaf-
cutter bees actually use for nesting; 
 

(vi)  "Parasite" means an organism living in or on any 
stage of the alfalfa leaf-cutter bee obtaining nutriment from 
the body of the bee or nesting material; 
 

(vii)  "Pathogen" means an organism, parasite or 
otherwise, that causes disease in the alfalfa leaf-cutter bee; 
 



(viii)  "Wild trap" means to trap bees on property not 
owned by the trapper; 
 

(ix)  "This act" means W.S. 11-7-401 through 11-7-407; 
 

(x)  "Sanitization" means any treatment including 
iodine, heat, chlorine or any other method approved by the 
department. 
 

11-7-402.  Duties and powers of department. 
 

(a)  The department shall: 
 

(i)  Administer this act; 
 

(ii)  By rule or regulation adopt minimum standards 
for the presence of pathogens and parasites in bees to be 
certified, imported and possessed or controlled in this state; 
 

(iii)  Whenever it has reasonable cause to believe a 
person is in possession of any diseased or parasitized bee or 
equipment or otherwise possesses any bee or equipment in 
violation of this act or rules adopted under this act, order a 
quarantine of the suspected bees or equipment and may require 
any person in possession of such bees to hold them under 
specified conditions until notified otherwise in writing; 
 

(iv)  Release any quarantine or order to hold bees 
upon a finding that the bees and equipment are possessed in 
compliance with this act. 
 

(b)  The department may: 
 

(i)  Enter into agreements with other governmental 
agencies or private associations in carrying out the provisions 
of this act; 
 

(ii)  Enter upon any public or private premises to 
inspect and sample bees or equipment that may be diseased or 
parasitized; 
 

(iii)  Quarantine any bees or equipment found to be 
infected with pathogens or parasites at a level exceeding 
certification standards; 
 



(iv)  Order the sanitization or destruction of any 
bees or equipment that is infected with parasites or pathogens 
and that does not meet certification standards. 
 

11-7-403.  Annual certification; application; inspection of 
sample; recertification; fees. 
 

(a)  No person shall import, possess or control alfalfa 
leaf-cutter bees in this state unless the bees are certified 
annually under this section. 
 

(b)  To certify bees, a person shall file a completed 
application form provided by the department together with the 
certification and laboratory fees. Certification and laboratory 
fees shall be established by the department for each pound of 
bees certified. The applicant must provide at least the 
following: 
 

(i)  Name and place of residence; 
 

(ii)  The general location and number of bees to be 
registered; and 
 

(iii)  Other relevant information as required by 
department regulation. 
 

(c)  After receipt of an application for certification, a 
sample of the total population of bees to be certified shall be 
selected by the department or its agent in a manner prescribed 
by the department. The sample shall be inspected for pathogens 
and parasites. If no pathogens or parasites in excess of 
certification standards are found, the sample shall be reported 
within certifiable limits. 
 

(d)  When the department receives a completed application 
form, a certification fee and a report that the sample is within 
certifiable limits, it shall issue a certificate for the bees. 
 

(e)  The department shall specify the date by which any 
applicant must apply for recertification the following year. 
 

(f)  Fees collected under this act shall be deposited into 
a separate account and expended for administration and 
enforcement of this act.  In administering and enforcing the 
provisions of this act, the department, by a separately 
negotiated agreement with another governmental agency or a 
private association as authorized by W.S. 11-7-402(b)(i), may 



make the fees available for expenditure by that agency or 
association. Any such agency or association shall be required to 
submit an annual budget to the department for its review and 
approval prior to the expenditure of any funds under this 
section. 
 

11-7-404.  Importation restrictions. 
 

(a)  No bee shall be imported into this state except under 
the provisions of this section. 
 

(b)  Prior to the importation of any bee, the importer 
shall file a completed application form as required under W.S. 
11-7-403(b) and arrange a date and time for inspection. 
 

(c)  Prior to certification, each bee and associated 
transport equipment shall be quarantined. 
 

(d)  No bee shall be imported except in loose cells or as 
adults. No bee shall be imported in a drilled board, soda straw 
or other equipment that prevents adequate inspection of the bee. 
 

(e)  A representative sample of the population of bees 
imported shall be inspected as the basis for certification. 
 

(f)  No person shall import used nesting materials. 
 

(g)  No bee shall be certified unless all other 
requirements for certification under W.S. 11-7-403 are met. 
 

(h)  Used metal or plastic equipment may be imported with 
prior written notice to the department.  Used equipment shall be 
sanitized prior to entry into this state and immediately after 
entry as provided by W.S. 11-7-401(a)(x). 
 

(j)  Any person not already owning or having leaf-cutter 
bees in Wyoming who imports leaf-cutter bees for the first time 
into an area where no leaf-cutter bees have previously been 
placed by that person shall meet the standards for unconditional 
leaf-cutter bee certification  established by rules and 
regulations adopted by the department. 
 

11-7-405.  Restrictions on rearing, moving and trapping 
bees; permits; fees. 
 



(a)  No person shall rear any bee in a nesting material 
from which samples of loose larval cells cannot readily be 
obtained such as drilled boards or soda straws. 
 

(b)  No person shall move any quarantined bee or equipment 
except by special permit issued by the department. 
 

(c)  No person may wild trap or attempt to wild trap bees 
unless that person has been issued a permit to wild trap in 
accordance with rules adopted by the department. 
 

(d)  The permits under subsections (b) and (c) of this 
section shall be issued under rules adopted by the department. 
The department shall by rule establish a reasonable fee for each 
permit. 
 

11-7-406.  Penalty. 
 
Any person who violates this act is guilty of a misdemeanor 
punishable by a fine of not more than seven hundred fifty 
dollars ($750.00). Each day a violation of this act continues is 
a separate offense. 
 

11-7-407.  Laboratory authorized; fees for services. 
 
The department may develop and maintain a laboratory at the 
University of Wyoming agriculture extension center at Powell to 
provide analytical services required under this act and may 
authorize the laboratories to provide services to persons 
possessing bees or equipment by charging a fee equal to the cost 
of providing those services. 
 

CHAPTER 8 - PACKAGING, LABELING AND ADVERTISING OF HONEY 
 

11-8-101.  Definition of honey; improper labeling 
prohibited. 
 

(a)  "Honey" means the nectar and saccharine exudation of 
plants, gathered, modified and stored in the comb by honey bees, 
which is levorotatory, containing not more than twenty-five 
percent (25%) water, not more than twenty-five hundredths 
percent (.25%) ash, and not more than eight percent (8%) 
sucrose. 
 

(b)  It is unlawful to sell or offer for sale any product 
which resembles honey and which is labeled, advertised or 
otherwise represented to be honey, if it is not honey. The word 



"imitation" shall not be used in the name of a product which 
resembles honey whether or not it contains any honey. The label 
for a product which does not resemble honey but which contains 
honey may include the word "honey" in the name of the product, 
and the relative position of the word "honey" in the product 
name, and in the list of ingredients when required, shall be 
determined by its prominence as an ingredient in the product. 
 

11-8-102.  Penalty. 
 
A violation of W.S. 11-8-101 is a misdemeanor, and any person 
convicted thereof shall be fined not more than one hundred 
dollars ($100.00), imprisoned in the county jail not more than 
ninety (90) days, or both. 
 

CHAPTER 9 - NURSERY STOCK 
 

11-9-101.  Definitions. 
 

(a)  As used in W.S. 11-9-101 through 11-9-109: 
 

(i)  "Nursery" means any ground, place or 
establishment where nursery stock is grown, offered for sale, 
sold, distributed or is offered as part of a landscape service; 
 

(ii)  "Nursery stock" means: 
 

(A)  All field-grown, greenhouse-grown or 
collected wild stock of woody plants such as fruit, forest, 
windbreak, shade and ornamental trees, shrubs or vines for fruit 
production, ornamental or protective plantings and herbaceous 
perennials used as ornamentals; 
 

(B)  All plants, rooted cuttings and plants with 
roots attached grown from bulbs, corms, tubers, rhizomes or 
other vegetative parts, whether produced out-of-doors or under 
glass and whether grown in open ground or in benches, boxes, 
pots or other containers; 
 

(C)  All bulbs, corms, pips, rhizomes, tubers, 
roots, cuttings, scions, grafts or other vegetative parts of 
plants; and 
 

(D)  All ground cover, including sod, plugs and 
vegetative mulches and compost. 
 



(iii)  "Nursery stock" shall not include prohibited, 
restricted, regulated or designated noxious weeds; 
 

(iv)  "Nursery stock dealers" means any person who 
obtains nursery stock to be offered for sale or distribution; 
 

(v)  "Nursery stock salesman" means any person 
selling, distributing or soliciting orders for delivery of 
nursery stock directly to the ultimate consumer from a supply on 
hand at a location other than a nursery stock dealer's place of 
business; 
 

(vi)  "Injurious insect" means any animal of the 
phylum Arthropoda known to be injurious to agricultural or 
horticultural plants; 
 

(vii)  "Other pest" means any animal of the phyla 
Mollusca or Nematoda or parasitic plant, plant parasite or other 
vector known to be injurious to agricultural or horticultural 
plants; 
 

(viii)  "Plant disease" means any fungi, bacteria, or 
virus injurious to plants and plant products; 
 

(ix)  "Plant inspection or health certificate" means a 
legal document issued by the department or the plant regulatory 
agency of another state declaring that the nursery stock being 
sold or distributed is apparently free of injurious insects, 
plant diseases, other pests and prohibited, restricted, 
regulated or designated noxious weeds; 
 

(x)  "Vector" means an insect, plant or other organism 
that transmits an insect, fungus, virus, bacterium or other 
infection; 
 

(xi)  "Designated noxious weed" means as defined in 
W.S. 11-5-102(a)(xi); 
 

(xii)  "Substantially free" means any injurious 
insect, other pest or plant disease is not locatable in groups 
or not affecting more than one percent (1%) of the nursery 
stock. 
 

(b)  These definitions do not include cut Christmas trees, 
cut flowers, seeds, seed potatoes or plant parts grown or 
offered for consumption as human food or as feed for animals. 
 



(c)  Age, when stated on any advertisement, label or sign 
in connection with the sale or offering for sale or distribution 
of nursery stock, shall be stated in years from time at which 
such nursery stock was propagated and each shall indicate the 
completion in autumn of one (1) seasonal growth period. 
 

11-9-102.  License requirements and fees for dealers and 
salesmen; disposition of fees. 
 

(a)  No person shall engage in the business of selling, 
offering for sale or distributing nursery stock within Wyoming 
without first obtaining a license from the state department of 
agriculture. The fee for a license shall be the fee authorized 
by W.S. 11-1-104. 
 

(b)  Upon application for a resident nursery stock dealer 
license and payment of the required fee, the director, or an 
authorized inspector shall inspect the premises and stock of the 
applicant and shall issue the license if the inspection shows 
the premises and stock to be substantially free or apparently 
free from injurious insects, plant diseases or other pests and 
free of prohibited, restricted, regulated or designated noxious 
weeds. 
 

(c)  If the inspection reveals the premises or stock not to 
be substantially free or apparently free of injurious insects, 
plant diseases, other pests or prohibited, restricted, regulated 
or designated noxious weeds, the nursery stock shall be removed 
or quarantined from sale and a written plan of action to remedy 
the condition by treatment, control actions or destruction shall 
be presented to the inspector within one (1) working day.  The 
nursery shall be inspected again within a time agreed upon by 
the director, or his authorized agent, and the dealer and noted 
in writing on the plan, but no later than fifteen (15) days 
after the previous inspection.  Upon subsequent inspection the 
nursery stock shall be substantially free or apparently free 
from the injurious insects, plant diseases and other pests and 
free from prohibited, restricted, regulated or designated 
noxious weeds in order to be released for sale.  Failure to 
comply with this subsection shall subject the dealer to the 
penalties provided in W.S. 11-9-108 or 11-9-109. 
 

(d)  No person shall act as a nursery stock salesman 
without first securing a license from the state department of 
agriculture. The fee for a license shall be the fee authorized 
by W.S. 11-1-104. 
 



(e)  No nonresident shall sell, take orders to sell, offer 
for sale or distribute nursery stock which has been grown 
outside this state without first securing a license from the 
department of agriculture. The license fee for each 
establishment shipping nursery stock into Wyoming shall be the 
fee authorized by W.S. 11-1-104. No license shall be granted to 
a nonresident unless the applicant agrees to furnish with each 
shipment of nursery stock an affidavit stating that the nursery 
stock to be sold, offered for sale or transported into Wyoming 
has been inspected by the proper state, district or county 
officials of the state of origin and found free from injurious 
insects, plant diseases and prohibited, restricted, regulated or 
designated noxious weeds. 
 

(f)  Licenses granted to nursery stock dealers or salesmen 
expire on March 31 of each year. All license fees collected 
shall be deposited in the general fund. 
 

(g)  Charitable and educational institutions shall be 
exempt from licensing requirements imposed by this section. 
 

11-9-103.  Right of entry of authorized persons for 
inspection. 
 
The director, or his authorized agents, during reasonable 
business hours, may enter upon or into any premises, lands, 
establishments or places in this state where they suspect that 
injurious insects, other pests, plant diseases or prohibited, 
restricted, regulated or designated noxious weeds occur for the 
purpose of inspecting, controlling or exterminating insects or 
diseases or otherwise carrying out the provisions of W.S. 
11-9-101 through 11-9-109. 
 

11-9-104.  Shipping inspection certificate; health 
certificate; public carriers not to accept stock without 
affidavit. 
 

(a)  Any person receiving directly or indirectly any 
nursery stock which is not accompanied by a valid shipping 
inspection certificate shall notify the department of the 
arrival of such stock, the kinds and amounts of the stock, and 
the name of the consignor, and shall hold the stock until 
inspected and released by the department. 
 

(b)  Public carriers shall not accept for shipment nursery 
stock that does not bear a proper affidavit showing apparent 



freedom from injurious insect, plant diseases, other pests and 
prohibited, restricted, regulated or designated noxious weeds. 
 

(c)  Any person shipping, selling or distributing nursery 
stock from out of state shall furnish with each shipment of 
nursery stock a plant inspection or health certificate stating 
that the nursery stock to be sold, offered for sale or 
distributed into Wyoming has been inspected and issued a plant 
inspection or health certificate by the state of origin. 
 

(d)  Resident nursery stock dealers shall request an 
inspection of any nursery stock to be shipped out of Wyoming.  
An annual inspection shall be sufficient for the purposes of 
this subsection.  The department shall issue a plant inspection 
or health certificate after inspection by the department of the 
premises and nursery stock. 
 

11-9-105.  Nursery stock for sale; condition generally. 
 

(a)  All nursery stock sold or offered for sale shall be in 
a sound, healthy condition and shall be stored and displayed 
under conditions which will maintain its vigor. Nursery stock 
which is dead or so seriously weakened that it will not grow 
with normal vigor when given reasonable care shall not be sold 
or offered for sale. 
 

(b)  All nursery stock to be sold, offered for sale or 
distributed shall be substantially free or apparently free of 
any injurious insects, plant diseases, other pests or 
prohibited, restricted, regulated or designated weeds. 
 

11-9-106.  Sale of nursery stock; labels required; 
identification of stock. 
 

(a)  All nursery stock offered for sale, sold, distributed 
or transported in Wyoming shall be labeled plainly and legibly, 
either by common or botanical names. When grade-size 
classifications are declared, they must be in compliance with 
those established by the department. 
 

(b)  Nursery stock on display for sale may be labeled by a 
suitable sign on a block of stock of the same kind and species. 
In order to properly identify nursery stock being delivered or 
transported to any purchaser, at least one (1) label bearing the 
botanical or common name, or both, shall be attached to each 
separate species or variety, except when delivered to the 



purchaser on the premises and sold from a block of stock labeled 
with a suitable sign. 
 

11-9-107.  Rules and regulations by director of 
agriculture; objections. 
 
The director may issue and enforce rules, regulations and 
definitions to implement the provisions of W.S. 11-9-101 through 
11-9-109, subject to the Wyoming Administrative Procedure Act. 
 

11-9-108.  Cease and desist orders; quarantine; 
confiscation; destruction or removal of nursery stock; hearing; 
final orders; enforcement. 
 

(a)  The department is authorized to issue cease and desist 
orders to any nursery stock dealer, quarantine any place of 
nursery stock business or order confiscation, destruction or 
removal from the state, of any nursery stock the department 
determines poses a serious risk of introducing or spreading 
injurious insects, plant diseases, other pests or prohibited, 
restricted, regulated or designated noxious weeds within the 
state. 
 

(b)  All notices and orders required to be served by the 
department under this article shall be served by certified mail, 
return receipt requested, to the last known address of the 
nursery stock dealer or may be served as provided by the Wyoming 
rules of civil procedure.  The notice of an order issued by the 
department under this article shall include: 
 

(i)  A statement of the grounds for issuing the order, 
including a citation of the statute or rule involved; 
 

(ii)  A statement of the supporting facts; 
 

(iii)  A statement informing the nursery stock dealer 
subject to the order of the right to a hearing on the order 
before the director, right of appeal of any subsequent order in 
accordance with the Wyoming Administrative Procedure Act and 
that failure to timely request a hearing shall result in the 
order becoming final; and 
 

(iv)  A copy of the order. 
 

(c)  A request for a hearing on a proposed order issued by 
the department under this article shall be in writing and shall 
be submitted to the director no later than seven (7) days after 



receipt of the notice from the department. The director shall 
hold the hearing not later than fifteen (15) days after receipt 
of the request for hearing, unless the nursery stock dealer 
subject to the proposed order requests an extension of time for 
good cause shown. 
 

(d)  A hearing on a proposed order issued under this 
article shall be a contested case hearing conducted in 
accordance with the Wyoming Administrative Procedure Act.  After 
the hearing, the director shall issue findings of fact and 
conclusions of law and a final decision either confirming or 
dismissing the proposed order.  The director shall confirm a 
proposed order only if the director finds by a preponderance of 
the evidence that grounds exist under this article for issuing 
the proposed order.  Otherwise, the director shall dismiss the 
proposed order.  If the director confirms a proposed order it 
shall become a final order. 
 

(e)  The department shall serve a final order upon the 
nursery stock dealer who is the subject of the order.  The final 
order shall take effect upon service and shall remain in effect 
until the department or a court of competent jurisdiction 
terminates the final order.  The nursery stock dealer who is the 
subject of the final order may appeal the issuance of the final 
order in accordance with Wyoming Administrative Procedure Act. 
 

(f)  On or after the effective date of a final order under 
this article, the attorney general, upon request from the 
department, may apply to the district court of the county in 
which the nursery is located or the county where the violations 
of this article occurred, for enforcement of the final order. 
 

11-9-109.  Penalty for violation of provisions. 
 

(a)  Any person who violates any provision of W.S. 11-9-101 
through 11-9-109 or any rule or regulation issued pursuant 
thereto is guilty of a misdemeanor and shall be fined not more 
than seven hundred fifty dollars ($750.00) for each offense, and 
may have any license issued to them under such statutes 
suspended or revoked.  Each day shall constitute a separate 
violation. 
 

(b)  Any person found guilty of violating any provision of 
W.S. 11-9-101 through 11-9-109, shall reimburse the state for 
the cost of any treatments, control actions, quarantine, 
confiscation, destruction or removal of any nursery stock from 
the state resulting from the violation.  Amounts collected under 



this subsection shall be paid to the department of agriculture 
technical services division account. 
 

CHAPTER 10 - STATE FAIR 
 

11-10-101.  Annual state fair; where held; purpose. 
 
The state fair board, with the assistance of the department of 
agriculture, shall hold an annual state fair at Douglas, Wyoming 
dedicated to honoring Wyoming's agricultural heritage and 
culture by cultivating Wyoming's agricultural future through 
competitions, educational displays and experiential exhibits for 
youth producers and the general public. 
 

11-10-102.  Duties and responsibilities with respect to the 
annual state fair and fairgrounds. 
 

(a)  The general charge and supervision of the state fair 
is under the state fair board with the assistance of the 
department of agriculture. 
 

(b)  The department shall prepare budget requests on behalf 
of and subject to the approval of the state fair board for the 
conduct and management of the annual state fair and for the 
operation and maintenance of the state fairgrounds, including 
building and facility needs for major maintenance and repair. 
 

(c)  The state fair board shall: 
 

(i)  Select from among its voting members a chairman 
and a vice-chairman; 
 

(ii)  Hold at least four (4) regular meetings per year 
at such times and places as the chairman shall specify.  Special 
meetings may be called by the chairman or upon request of a 
majority of the voting members.  A majority of the voting 
members of the state fair board shall constitute a quorum for 
the transaction of business; 
 

(iii)  Be administratively supported by the 
department; 
 

(iv)  Provide for the year round operation and 
maintenance of the state fairgrounds in a manner that: 
 

(A)  Maximizes revenues but does not disrupt the 
annual state fair; 



 
(B)  Ensures the facilities are maintained in 

good working order. 
 

(v)  Monitor any state fairgrounds facility needs 
assessment conducted by the state construction department and, 
subject to available funding, implement recommendations received 
under subsection (d) of this section to prioritize and remediate 
the identified needs; 
 

(vi)  To the extent the employment of a state fair 
manager would aid in accomplishing the duties required by this 
chapter, appoint a state fair manager to conduct and supervise 
the annual state fair and to manage the year round operation and 
maintenance of the state fairgrounds.  Any appointment shall be 
made with the approval of the governor and shall be subject to 
removal authority provided by W.S. 9-1-202.  The state fair 
board may hire and provide for the supervision of other 
employees necessary to accomplish the duties required by this 
chapter and may contract for services to advertise and promote 
the annual state fair and the fairgrounds; 
 

(vii)  To the extent establishing a subcommittee would 
aid in executing the annual state fair, appoint a subcommittee 
of state fair board members to plan, conduct or supervise the 
annual state fair; 
 

(viii)  Pursuant to W.S. 9-2-3204, make and execute 
contracts and other instruments, including financial contracts 
and instruments that the state fair board determines are 
reasonable and advisable to carry out the purposes and programs 
of the state fair board; 
 

(ix)  Expend funds appropriated for the conduct and 
management of the annual state fair and for the operation and 
maintenance of the state fairgrounds. 
 

(d)  The state construction department shall, in addition 
to the comprehensive needs assessment conducted pursuant to W.S. 
9-5-107, and upon request of the state fair board: 
 

(i)  Assess the state fairground buildings and 
facility needs; and 
 

(ii)  Submit recommendations to the state fair board 
to prioritize and remediate the identified needs. 
 



(e)  The Wyoming tourism board shall promote the annual 
state fair throughout the state of Wyoming and adjoining states. 
 

11-10-103.  Reversion of fairgrounds to donor. 
 
If the state fails for three (3) consecutive years to hold a 
state fair, the lands used for the purpose of a state fair shall 
revert to the person donating them, the state having the right 
to remove all buildings, fences and improvements of whatever 
nature within twenty-four (24) months after the date on which 
the fair should have been held. All buildings, fences and 
improvements remaining on the land after the expiration of the 
twenty-four (24) months shall become the property of the owner 
of the land. 
 

11-10-104.  Catalogues. 
 
At least three (3) months before any annual fair, the state fair 
board shall have a catalogue prepared and copies available for 
distribution to any person requesting it. 
 

11-10-105.  Entry fees. 
 
A fee may be charged for any in-state or out-of-state exhibit to 
be entered in the state fair at an amount set by the state fair 
board. 
 

11-10-106.  Admission charges; other revenues. 
 

(a)  There shall be charged at the gates of the fairground 
an admission fee to be set by the state fair board. An extra 
charge may be made for seats in the grandstand or other 
structure providing added comforts. The charge for vehicles 
driven or stock ridden into the grounds may be fixed by the 
state fair board. All fees collected shall be deposited in the 
Wyoming state fair account, except fees directed by law to the 
state fair endowment account. 
 

(b)  The department of agriculture may receive any money or 
property of any kind or character donated, granted or bequeathed 
for any activities of the state fair.  Monies shall be credited 
to the Wyoming state fair account except as otherwise provided 
by W.S. 11-10-107 and 11-10-118. The department, on behalf of 
the state fair board, shall include within its biennial budget 
request submitted under W.S. 9-2-1013 a report itemizing all 
gifts, income and expenditures under this subsection, W.S. 



11-10-107 and 11-10-118 for each of the immediately preceding 
two (2) fiscal years. 
 

11-10-107.  Power of state fair board to acquire land; 
authority to make rules and regulations; renting and use of 
fairgrounds. 
 

(a)  Consistent with W.S. 9-5-106(a) and (c), the state 
fair board may acquire by donation or lease in the name of the 
state any lands necessary for conducting the annual state fair, 
and may make all rules and regulations necessary for the conduct 
and government of the exhibitions, the sale of privileges, and 
the proper control, operation and conduct of the annual state 
fair and the state fairgrounds not inconsistent with the 
constitution and laws of this state. 
 

(b)  The state fair board may rent out or donate the use of 
the state fairgrounds for stabling and training stock and 
holding stock sales. The grounds may be used free of charge for 
encampment grounds for the state militia under the direction of 
the adjutant general of the state. The board shall permit the 
grounds and facilities to be used for other purposes and shall 
charge fees as it deems necessary to maximize revenues and pay 
the expenses of maintaining the grounds and facilities. One 
percent (1%) of any revenue generated under this subsection 
shall be distributed to the state fair endowment account and the 
remainder of any revenue generated under this subsection shall 
be distributed to the Wyoming state fair account. 
 

11-10-108.  Rodeos; generally. 
 
The state fair board may provide a rodeo as part of the state 
fair program, provided there is no restriction on any Wyoming 
resident who desires to participate in the rodeo other than the 
prescribed entry fee, unless the restriction is required by a 
sanctioning body as part of the terms and conditions to sanction 
the rodeo. Any contract entered into with any person to provide 
entertainment under this section is void if it in any manner 
excludes a Wyoming resident from participation in the 
entertainment because of membership or nonmembership in any 
organization or group. 
 

11-10-109.  Rodeos; liability for injuries. 
 
The state of Wyoming is not responsible or liable in any manner 
for any injury sustained by anyone participating in the rodeo at 
the Wyoming state fair. 



 
11-10-110.  Repealed By Laws 2011, Ch. 72, § 2. 

 
11-10-111.  Reports. 

 
The director of the department of agriculture shall make reports 
as required by W.S. 9-2-1014 in regard to the state fair. 
 

11-10-112.  Wyoming Pioneer Memorial Museum. 
 
A building to be known as the "Wyoming Pioneer Memorial Museum" 
is authorized to house pioneer relics on the state fairgrounds, 
and for such other purposes as deemed necessary by the board. 
 

11-10-113.  Wyoming Pioneer Memorial Museum; supervision 
thereof. 
 
The supervision, maintenance and operation of the museum is 
under the director of the department of state parks and cultural 
resources. The director may assign or employ necessary personnel 
to maintain the exhibits and receive visitors, and may enter 
into agreements for the loan of exhibits, providing the state of 
Wyoming is not liable therefor. 
 

11-10-114.  Wyoming Pioneer Memorial Museum; admission fee. 
 
A nominal admission fee may be charged to reimburse the general 
fund for maintenance costs. 
 

11-10-115.  State fair board; membership; terms; 
compensation. 
 

(a)  There is created the state fair board consisting of 
the following members: 
 

(i)  One (1) voting member appointed by the governor 
from each of the four (4) quadrants specified in W.S. 
11-2-102(e)(i) through (iv).  Each of these members shall be 
engaged primarily in agricultural work and shall be selected to 
represent a cross section of the agriculture industry. 
Appointments shall rotate consecutively among all the counties 
of the quadrants; 
 

(ii)  One (1) voting member jointly appointed by a 
majority vote of both the Converse county board of commissioners 
and the governing body of the city of Douglas; 
 



(iii)  One (1) voting member appointed by the dean of 
the University of Wyoming college of agriculture from the 
Wyoming cooperative extension service; 
 

(iv)  One (1) voting member selected by the Wyoming 
vocational agricultural teachers association from its 
membership; 
 

(v)  One (1) voting member appointed by the governor 
from the department of state parks and cultural resources; 
 

(vi)  One (1) voting member appointed by the governor 
from the Wyoming business council; 
 

(vii)  One (1) voting member appointed by the governor 
from the Wyoming tourism board or a representative of the 
Wyoming tourism board; 
 

(viii)  One (1) voting member appointed by the 
governor from the energy industry; 
 

(ix)  One (1) at-large voting member who is engaged 
primarily in agricultural work, appointed by the governor; 
 

(x)  The director, or the director's designee, shall 
serve as a voting member; 
 

(xi)  The governor or his designee and the dean of the 
University of Wyoming college of agriculture, or the dean's 
designee, shall serve as nonvoting ex officio members. 
 

(b)  The members of the state fair board appointed under 
paragraph (a)(i) of this section shall serve for a term of six 
(6) years. The members of the state fair board appointed under 
paragraphs (a)(ii) through (ix) of this section shall serve for 
a term of four (4) years.  Any state fair board member appointed 
by the governor is subject to removal as provided in W.S. 
9-1-202. 
 

(c)  Except as provided in this section, the state fair 
board members shall be paid a salary of one hundred dollars 
($100.00) per day for attending and traveling to and from 
official state fair board meetings and shall receive mileage and 
per diem in the same manner as state employees as provided by 
W.S. 9-3-102. Members who are government employees or public 
officials appointed to the state fair board to represent an 
agency, department, board or institution of the state, including 



the University of Wyoming, shall receive no salary but shall be 
considered on official business when performing duties as 
members of the state fair board and shall receive mileage and 
per diem in the manner provided by the agency, department, board 
or institution the member represents. 
 

11-10-116.  Repealed by Laws 2011, Ch. 70, § 1. 
 

11-10-117.  Sunset. 
 
W.S. 11-10-116 is repealed June 30, 2013. 
 

11-10-118.  State fair endowment account; administration; 
distributions; purposes. 
 

(a)  The state fair endowment account is created. The state 
treasurer is authorized to accept cash gifts for the account. 
Funds within the account including all funds deposited to the 
account from any source are intended to be inviolate and 
constitute a permanent or perpetual trust fund. The state 
treasurer shall invest funds within the endowment account in 
accordance with law.  Seventy-five percent (75%) of investment 
earnings shall be credited to the endowment account. Twenty-five 
percent (25%) of investment earnings shall be distributed to the 
Wyoming state fair account. 
 

(b)  Repealed by Laws 2021, ch. 144, § 3. 
 

CHAPTER 11 - BUYING, SELLING AND STORING OF GRAIN 
 

11-11-101.  Definitions. 
 

(a)  As used in this chapter: 
 

(i)  "Director" means the director of the Wyoming 
department of agriculture; 
 

(ii)  "Warehouseman" means any person except the 
grower who handles grain for commercial storage or solicits 
grain for the purpose of intrastate, interstate or foreign 
commerce; 
 

(iii)  "Grain" means any variety of beans, wheat, 
corn, oats, barley, rye, grain sorghum, millet, oil seeds, 
sunflower, soybean, flax, or seeds of legumes and grasses; 
 



(iv)  To "store" or "warehouse" means any method by 
which grain owned by another is held for the owner by one not 
the owner except for the transportation thereof; 
 

(v)  "Stored grain" means grain held or placed in 
storage in an elevator, grain cleaning plant, grain warehouse or 
public warehouse of whatever kind by any person not the actual 
bona fide owner of the grain; 
 

(vi)  "Scale ticket" means a load slip or other 
evidence of delivery, other than a warehouse receipt, given to 
the party making delivery by a warehouse licensed under the 
provisions of this act; 
 

(vii)  "Warehouse" means an elevator, mill, storage 
bin or building, subterminal grain storage facility, public 
storage facility or other structure or facility in which grain 
is received for commercial storage or for the purpose of 
intrastate, interstate or foreign commerce; 
 

(viii)  "Audit" means an examination of records or 
financial accounts to determine their accuracy; 
 

(ix)  "Depositor" means any person who is in 
possession of a commodity and entrusts or delivers the commodity 
to a warehouse for storage; 
 

(x)  "Inspection" means the physical review or 
examination of the grain warehouse or storage facility and may 
include an official audit; 
 

(xi)  "Loss" means the destruction of the commodity 
due to fire, theft or weather; 
 

(xii)  "Receipt" means a warehouse receipt issued 
under this act, including an electronic receipt; 
 

(xiii)  "Transportation" means the movement of grain 
from one (1) point to another; 
 

(xiv)  "Verified" means signed and sworn to be 
accurate before a person authorized to administer oaths. 
 

11-11-102.  Applicability. 
 



W.S. 11-11-101 through 11-11-117 do not apply to any person 
licensed under the laws or regulations of the United States 
relating to storing and handling grain. 
 

11-11-103.  Warehousemen to procure licenses; fee; annual 
renewal. 
 
Before engaging in business in Wyoming, a warehouseman or any 
person operating a warehouse shall procure a license from the 
department of agriculture. The fee under this section for the 
initial license and for each annual renewal thereof shall be one 
hundred twenty-five dollars ($125.00).  All licenses shall be 
issued for the fiscal year, or fraction thereof, ending June 30.  
No license shall be renewed unless the department finds from the 
audit required under W.S. 11-11-109 of the warehouse or 
warehouseman's records that the operations are conducted 
properly. 
 

11-11-104.  Application for license; form; contents; 
refusal to issue license; appeal; care of agricultural products. 
 

(a)  The department shall prescribe forms for application 
for a warehouseman's or warehouse license.  The application 
shall contain information necessary to inform the department of 
the qualifications, facilities, experience and financial ability 
of the applicant to carry on the business of buying, selling, 
warehousing and storing grain.  The department shall require the 
submission of any tax return, bank statement, financial 
statement or audit prepared by a public accountant or a 
certified public accountant and any additional information as 
required by rules and regulations in order to establish the 
financial responsibility of the applicant.  If a license is 
refused by the department, appeal may be made to the director.  
All hearings for appeal shall be conducted in accordance with 
the Wyoming Administrative Procedure Act. 
 

(b)  Each warehouseman shall at all times, including during 
any period of suspension of his license, exercise such care in 
regard to stored and nonstorage agricultural commodities in his 
custody as required under the licensing agreement. 
 

11-11-105.  Surety bond required; amount; approval by 
department; conditions; exception. 
 

(a)  Each applicant for a warehouseman's or warehouse 
license shall post a cash bond, acceptable irrevocable letter of 
credit or execute and file with the department a good and 



sufficient surety bond in an amount determined by the department 
based on the maximum number of hundred weight the warehouseman 
can store in the warehouses for which the bond is required, but 
not less than twenty thousand dollars ($20,000.00).  A surety 
bond shall be executed by a responsible surety company licensed 
to do business in this state and conditioned upon the faithful 
performance of the obligation of the warehouseman or person 
operating a warehouse under the laws of this state and of any 
additional obligations assumed by him under contract with those 
who deposit grain with him.  All bonds shall be payable to the 
state for the benefit of any injured party, and shall be in the 
form and contain additional conditions as the department may 
prescribe.  No person is required to file a bond who has already 
posted similar bond with the United States department of 
agriculture pursuant to the United States Warehouse Act of 
August 11, 1916, as amended. 
 

(b)  Cash bonds, irrevocable letters of credit and surety 
bonds shall not be released by the department until an audit has 
been completed and satisfied.  The department shall publish a 
public notice for sixty (60) days prior to any bond being 
released. 
 

(c)  In the event a warehouseman does not renew his license 
in accordance with W.S. 11-11-103 or suspends normal business 
operations, the department shall post a public notice in a paper 
of local distribution for sixty (60) days prior to the closure 
of the warehouse. 
 

11-11-106.  Action on bond for breach of obligations; 
joinder of parties. 
 
Any person injured by the warehouseman's or warehouse's breach 
of any obligation provided by law may sue on the bond in his own 
name in any court of competent jurisdiction to recover the 
damage sustained by the breach.  Where more than one (1) person 
is injured, the action may be brought in the name of all injured 
persons by any one or all interested parties, or by the state of 
Wyoming in their behalf. 
 

11-11-107.  Investigation by department; complaint; 
service; hearing. 
 
The department upon its own motion or upon verified complaint 
against any warehouseman  shall investigate as the department 
deems necessary, and shall at all times have free and unimpeded 
access to all facilities or places in which grain is kept, 



stored, handled or transported. If the department, upon 
investigation, has reason to believe that any warehouseman is 
not acting as required by law, or upon the filing of a verified 
complaint against the warehouseman, the department shall have a 
complaint or copy of the verified complaint served upon the 
warehouseman by personal service, service upon a registered 
agent or by registered mail.  If the warehouseman fails to make 
prompt adjustment or settlement of the charges set forth, to the 
satisfaction of the department, the department shall give notice 
of the time and place of a hearing thereon.  The hearing shall 
be held in accordance with the Wyoming Administrative Procedure 
Act. 
 

11-11-108.  Warehouse receipts generally. 
 
All warehouse receipts issued for stored grain shall be in a 
form prescribed by the department and shall be obtainable only 
by the warehouseman from the department at cost.  Each warehouse 
receipt issued must show the amount of any cash or the value of 
any merchandise the warehouseman has advanced on the grain 
represented by the receipt, but such notation shall not be 
construed as fixing the date of sale of the grain. 
 

11-11-109.  Audit of records; inspection of warehouse. 
 

(a)  At least once each year and more often if necessary or 
if requested by an interested person the department shall 
inspect each licensed warehouse and shall audit the warehouse 
records. The director after conferring with interested industry 
groups shall fix, assess and collect fees for the inspection of 
facilities storing farm products.  The fees shall not exceed 
fifty percent (50%) of the cost of the inspection and shall be 
paid by the person requesting the inspection, if any. 
 

(b)  If a warehouseman is delinquent in renewing his 
license in accordance with W.S. 11-11-103, the department shall 
initiate an inspection and audit of the warehouse immediately. 
 

11-11-110.  Warehouseman's records; generally. 
 
Every licensed warehouseman shall maintain complete records of 
all grain stored, all grain withdrawn from storage, all 
warehouse receipts issued and all receipts returned to and 
cancelled by him.  The records shall be available for 
examination and audit by the department at any reasonable time. 
 



11-11-111.  Warehouseman's records; contents; inspection 
and audit by department; issuance of warehouse receipts. 
 

(a)  Every warehouseman shall keep a complete record of all 
grain handled by him including the following: 
 

(i)  Name, address and phone number of the grower and 
of the owner; 
 

(ii)  Date of issuance of receipt; 
 

(iii)  Kind, quantity, quality and grade of grain 
received; 
 

(iv)  Agreed purchase price, if purchased; 
 

(v)  Agreed commission charged, if consigned; 
 

(vi)  Date of sale of consigned grain, to whom sold 
and price for which sold; 
 

(vii)  Date and details of settlement with vendor or 
consignor; 
 

(viii)  Documentation stating the location of the 
stored commodity.  If the commodity is stored in another 
warehouse, then proof of bonding by that facility shall be 
included in the records. 
 

(b)  The above records shall be open to the confidential 
inspection of the department or its authorized agents at all 
times.  Upon request of the depositor, every warehouseman shall 
issue a receipt for all grain received for storage on a form 
furnished by the department. 
 

11-11-112.  Stored grain to be insured; insurance 
requirements; disaster loss to be reported. 
 

(a)  All grain stored shall be insured against loss for 
full value by an insurance company licensed to do business in 
this state.  A copy of the insurance policy in effect shall be 
provided to the department at the time of the license 
application and the audit. 
 

(b)  Each warehouseman shall comply fully with the terms of 
insurance policies or contracts covering their warehouse and all 
products stored therein, and shall not commit any acts, nor 



permit others to commit any acts, that might impair or 
invalidate such insurance. 
 

11-11-113.  Grading of grain; notation on warehouse 
receipt. 
 
All grain accepted for storage shall be graded by the 
warehouseman or designee according to standards of the United 
States department of agriculture, and the grade established 
shall be specified upon the warehouse receipt issued for the 
grain. 
 

11-11-114.  Stored grain to constitute bailment; amount in 
storage to equal issued storage certificates; exceptions; 
conversion; seizure. 
 

(a)  The storage of grain with a warehouse and the movement 
of grain by a warehouseman constitutes a bailment and not a 
sale.  Upon return of the scale ticket bearing the name of the 
bailee or warehouse receipt properly endorsed and payment or 
tender of all advances and charges, the owner of the scale 
ticket or warehouse receipt is entitled to, and the warehouseman 
or person operating a warehouse shall deliver the identical 
grade and amount of grain placed in storage or transported.  
Every person operating a warehouse shall maintain at all times 
in storage, in the state of Wyoming, grain equal in amount and 
grade to all scale tickets and warehouse receipts issued, unless 
authorized in writing by holders of scale tickets or warehouse 
receipts or by the department to move to other storage, and 
failure to do so is a conversion thereof. 
 

(b)  Grain stored with a warehouse is not liable to seizure 
upon process of a court against the bailee except upon action by 
the owners of scale tickets or warehouse receipts to enforce the 
terms of the scale tickets or receipts.  In the event of the 
failure or insolvency of the bailee, the grain shall be first 
applied as soon as ownership is established and within one 
hundred twenty (120) days exclusively to the redemption and 
satisfaction of outstanding scale tickets and warehouse receipts 
for grain stored or moved with the bailee and grain on hand in a 
particular warehouse of the bailee shall be first applied to the 
redemption and satisfaction of the scale tickets or receipts 
issued by that warehouseman or person operating a warehouse as 
the bailee. 
 

(c)  The department shall, by rule and regulation, require 
posting of current tariffs. 



 
11-11-115.  Disposition of collected funds. 

 
There is created the grain warehouse inspection account. All 
funds collected by the department shall be deposited in the 
account created by this section. Interest earned by the account 
shall be retained in the account. The account is appropriated 
for use and expenditure by the department for the costs of 
administering the programs under this article. Itemized vouchers 
shall be submitted to the department for approval. Upon 
approval, a warrant for the payment of each voucher shall be 
issued by the state auditor for payment from the grain warehouse 
inspection account. 
 

11-11-116.  Revocation and cancellation of license. 
 
Failure of any warehouseman or person operating a warehouse to 
comply with the provisions of this chapter will render the 
license of the warehouseman or person operating a warehouse 
subject to revocation and cancellation by the department. 
 

11-11-117.  Prohibited acts; penalties for violations. 
 

(a)  Any person who engages in or carries on any grain 
warehousing business without first having obtained a license, or 
who continues to engage in or carry on such business after his 
license has been suspended, revoked or expires is guilty of a 
misdemeanor and shall be fined not less than one hundred dollars 
($100.00) nor more than five hundred dollars ($500.00) for each 
offense. Each day that such unlicensed business is carried on is 
a separate offense. 
 

(b)  Any warehouseman or person operating a warehouse who 
converts to his own use or that of another, any grain stored or 
accepted for storage of the value of one thousand dollars 
($1,000.00) or more, is guilty of a felony and shall be fined 
not less than five hundred dollars ($500.00) for each day of 
violation and imprisoned for not to exceed fourteen (14) years.  
If the value of the grain converted is less than one thousand 
dollars ($1,000.00), the warehouseman or person operating a 
warehouse is guilty of a misdemeanor and shall be fined not to 
exceed five hundred dollars ($500.00) or imprisoned not to 
exceed six (6) months, or both. 
 

11-11-118.  Perjury. 
 



Any affirmation under this chapter shall be given under penalty 
of perjury. 
 

11-11-119.  Cease and desist orders; warehousemen; notice; 
opportunity for hearing. 
 

(a)  After notice and opportunity for hearing, the 
department shall issue a final cease and desist order to a 
warehouseman if the warehouseman or any officer, director, 
employee or agent of the warehouse is violating any state 
statute or rule relating to warehouses or warehousemen. 
 

(b)  Before issuing a final cease and desist order, the 
department shall serve notice of intent to issue the order upon 
the warehouseman.  The notice shall be in writing and shall 
contain the information required by W.S. 11-11-121(a).  The 
proposed order shall direct the warehouseman to discontinue the 
violations of law, rule or regulation. 
 

(c)  The warehouseman may request a hearing on the proposed 
order before the director in accordance with W.S. 11-11-121(b).  
If the warehouseman does not request a hearing in writing within 
the prescribed time period, the proposed order shall become a 
final cease and desist order and the department shall serve the 
final order upon the warehouseman. 
 

11-11-120.  Temporary cease and desist order; warehousemen; 
service. 
 

(a)  If the department believes the actions of a 
warehouseman or of any officer, director, employee or agent of 
the warehouse pose an immediate threat to the safety and 
soundness of the warehouse or to the interests of the depositors 
or creditors of the warehouse, the department shall issue a 
temporary cease and desist order to the warehouseman or officer, 
director, employee or agent of the warehouse pending final 
action on the proposed cease and desist order issued pursuant to 
W.S. 11-11-119(a). 
 

(b)  The temporary order shall be in writing and shall be 
served upon the warehouseman.  The temporary order shall take 
effect upon service and shall remain in effect until the 
director issues the final cease and desist order, the department 
dismisses the proposed cease and desist order or a court of 
competent jurisdiction dismisses the proposed cease and desist 
order after hearing. 
 



(c)  On or after the effective date of the temporary order, 
the attorney general, upon request from the department, may 
apply to the district court for the county in which the 
warehouse is located for enforcement of the temporary order.  If 
the warehouseman operates warehouses in two (2) or more 
counties, the request may be made in any county where the 
warehouseman operates a warehouse.  The application for 
enforcement shall be given precedence over other cases pending 
in court and shall in every way be expedited. 
 

(d)  The warehouseman, officer, director, employee or agent 
to whom a temporary cease and desist order is issued may apply 
to the district court for the county in which the warehouse is 
located for a stay of the temporary cease and desist order.  The 
application for stay shall be given precedence over other civil 
cases pending in court and shall be expedited.  The court shall 
grant the stay only if the warehouseman, officer, director, 
employee or agent shows he will be irreparably harmed unless the 
stay issues and there is substantial likelihood he will prevail 
on the merits. 
 

11-11-121.  Procedures for enforcement actions; service of 
notice; content of orders; contested case proceedings; appeal. 
 

(a)  All notices and orders required to be served by the 
department under this article shall be served by certified mail 
return receipt requested to the last known address of the 
warehouseman or may be served as provided by the Wyoming Rules 
of Civil Procedure.  Notice of a proposed order issued by the 
department under this article shall include: 
 

(i)  A statement of the grounds for issuing the 
proposed order, including a citation to the statute or rule 
involved; 
 

(ii)  A statement of the facts in support of the 
allegations; 
 

(iii)  A statement informing the warehouseman subject 
to the proposed order of the right to a hearing on the order 
before the director, right of appeal of any subsequent order in 
accordance with the Wyoming Administrative Procedure Act and 
that failure to timely request a hearing will result in the 
order becoming final; and 
 

(iv)  A copy of the proposed order. 
 



(b)  A request for hearing on a proposed order issued by 
the department under this article shall be in writing and shall 
be submitted to the director no later than seven (7) days after 
receipt of the notice of intent from the department.  The 
director shall hold the hearing no later than fifteen (15) days 
after receipt of the request for hearing, unless the 
warehouseman subject to the proposed order requests an extension 
of time for good cause shown. 
 

(c)  A hearing on a proposed order issued under this 
article shall be a contested case hearing conducted in 
accordance with the Wyoming Administrative Procedure Act.  After 
the hearing, the director shall issue findings of fact and 
conclusions of law and a final decision either confirming or 
dismissing a proposed order.  The director shall confirm a 
proposed order only if the director finds by a preponderance of 
the evidence that grounds exist under this article for issuing 
the order.  Otherwise, the director shall dismiss the proposed 
order.  If the director confirms a proposed order it shall 
become a final order. 
 

(d)  The department shall serve a final order under this 
article upon the warehouseman who is the subject of the order. 
The final order shall take effect upon service and shall remain 
in effect until the department or the court terminates the final 
order.  The warehouseman who is the subject of the order may 
appeal the issuance of a final order in accordance with the 
Wyoming Administrative Procedure Act. 
 

(e)  On or after the effective date of a final order under 
this article, the attorney general, upon request from the 
department, may apply to the district court of the county in 
which the warehouse is located for enforcement of the final 
order.  The application for enforcement shall be given 
precedence over other cases pending in court and shall in every 
way be expedited. 
 

CHAPTER 12 - SEEDS 
 

11-12-101.  Definitions. 
 

(a)  Repealed By Laws 2007, Ch. 8, § 4. 
 

(b)  As used in this act: 
 



(i)  "Controlling the pollination" means to use a 
method of hybridization which will produce pure seed which is at 
least seventy-five percent (75%) hybrid seed; 
 

(ii)  "Dormant" means viable seed, excluding hard 
seed, which fails to germinate when provided the specific 
germination conditions for the kind of seed in question; 
 

(iii)  "Germination" means the emergence and 
development from the seed embryo of those essential structures 
which, for the kind of seed in question, are indicative of the 
ability to produce a normal plant under favorable conditions.  
For the purposes of this act, "germination" may also mean the 
percentage of seed determined viable by a tetrazolium test for 
species identified in the rules for testing, or for species for 
which there are no rules for testing; 
 

(iv)  "Hard seed" means seed which remains hard at the 
end of the prescribed test period because it has not absorbed 
water due to an impermeable seed coat; 
 

(v)  "Hybrid" as applied to kinds or varieties of 
seed, means the first generation seed of a cross produced by 
controlling the pollination and by combining: 
 

(A)  Two (2) or more inbred lines; 
 

(B)  One (1) inbred or a single cross with an 
open pollinated variety; or 
 

(C)  Two (2) selected clones, seed lines, 
varieties or species. 
 

(vi)  "Inert matter" means all matter that is not a 
seed, including broken seeds, sterile florets, chaff, fungus 
bodies and stones; 
 

(vii)  "Kind" means one (1) or more related species or 
subspecies which singly or collectively is known by one (1) 
common name, including but not limited to, soybean, flax, barley 
and wheat; 
 

(viii)  "Labeling" means the display or displays of 
written, printed or graphic matter upon or attached to the 
container of seed or accompanying and pertaining to any seed 
whether sold in bulk or in containers, including invoices; 
 



(ix)  "Lot" means the number or other identification 
that relates to records pertaining to the known quantity of 
seed; 
 

(x)  "Origin" means the state, District of Columbia, 
Puerto Rico or possession of the United States, or the foreign 
country or designated portion thereof, where the seed was grown; 
 

(xi)  "Pure seed" means seed exclusive of inert matter 
and all other seed not of the seed being offered for sale; 
 

(xii)  "Rules for testing" means procedures specified 
by the Association of Official Seed Analysts for conducting seed 
analysis; 
 

(xiii)  "Seed" means the propagative part of a plant 
normally capable of germination to produce a new plant, 
including ovules, tubers and bulbs.  "Seed" also includes the 
following as defined for the purposes of this act: 
 

(A)  "Agricultural seeds" means any agronomic 
crop seeds or seeds of species as defined in W.S. 11-1-101; 
 

(B)  "Flower seed" means seeds of herbaceous 
plants grown for their blooms, ornamental foliage or other 
ornamental parts and commonly known and sold under the name of 
flower seeds in this state; 
 

(C)  "Tree seed" means seeds of woody plants 
commonly known and sold as tree and shrub seeds in this state; 
or 
 

(D)  "Vegetable seed" means the seeds of those 
crops that are or may be grown in gardens or truck farms and are 
generally known and sold under the name of vegetable seeds in 
this state. 
 

(xiv)  "Total viable" means: 
 

(A)  Germination plus dormant seed plus hard 
seed; or 
 

(B)  Viable as determined by a tetrazolium test 
for species identified in the rules for testing, or for species 
for which there are no rules for testing. 
 



(xv)  "Treated seed" means any seed that has been 
treated with chemicals that are harmful to humans, livestock or 
other vertebrate animals; 
 

(xvi)  "Variety" means a subdivision of a kind which 
is characterized by growth, plant, fruit, seed or other 
characters by which it can be differentiated from other sorts of 
the same kind, including but not limited to, C2243 wheat and 
Manchu soybeans; 
 

(xvii)  "Weeds" includes the following as defined for 
purposes of this act: 
 

(A)  "Prohibited noxious weeds" means the seeds 
of any species for which the department by rule has established 
zero (0) tolerance; 
 

(B)  "Restricted noxious weeds" means any species 
for which the department by rule has established an allowable 
tolerance; 
 

(C)  "Regulated weeds" means seed, other than 
prohibited noxious weeds or restricted noxious weeds, of any 
species for which the department by rule has established a 
limitation of amount per pound in a seed lot. 
 

(xviii)  "This act" means W.S. 11-12-101 through 
11-12-124. 
 

11-12-102.  Exceptions to applicability. 
 

(a)  This act does not apply to any person who: 
 

(i)  Has seeds in storage for  conditioning or 
cleaning and the intended use of the seed is not planting; 
 

(ii)  Is a resident grower of seed who sells his seed 
to a seed dealer who is licensed pursuant to this act; 
 

(iii)  Repealed By Laws 2006, Chapter 114, § 2. 
 

(b)  Any resident grower who sells or offers for sale any 
agricultural, vegetable, flower or tree seeds grown only by him 
and sold or offered for sale at the headquarters of his 
operations directly to grower planters of the seed and not for 
resale is exempt from the licensing provisions under W.S. 
11-12-103. 



 
11-12-103.  Licensing. 

 
(a)  Any person who sells or offers for sale or 

distribution in Wyoming any seeds shall obtain a license from 
the department. The license shall expire annually on March 31. 
Application for the license shall include the name and address 
of the person to whom the license is to be issued and the 
location of the place or places of business of the applicant. 
The application shall be accompanied by the license fee 
authorized by W.S. 11-1-104 for each place of business selling 
seeds in packets, packages or bulk of ten (10) pounds or more. 
This subsection shall not apply to any person licensed in 
accordance with W.S. 11-11-103. 
 

(b)  Any person who conditions grain or seed for hire in 
Wyoming shall obtain a license from the department.  The license 
shall expire annually on March 31.  Application for the license 
shall include the name and address of the person to whom the 
license is to be issued and the location of the place or places 
of business of the applicant.  The application shall be 
accompanied by the license fee which shall be the same as the 
fee established for a seed dealer license.  This subsection 
shall not apply to any person licensed in accordance with W.S. 
11-11-103. 
 

(c)  Charitable and educational institutions shall be 
exempt from licensing requirements imposed by this section. 
 

11-12-104.  Restrictions on the sale of weed seeds; allowed 
tolerance for other noxious weeds; rulemaking. 
 

(a)  No person shall sell or offer for sale or distribution 
in Wyoming seed which contains any prohibited noxious weed 
seeds. The department, by rule and regulation, may establish a 
list of prohibited noxious weeds, restricted noxious weeds and 
regulated weeds and establish tolerances for restricted noxious 
weeds and regulated weeds. 
 

(b)  Repealed By Laws 2007, Ch. 8, § 4. 
 

(c)  Repealed By Laws 2007, Ch. 8, § 4. 
 

(d)  Any seed which contains any prohibited noxious weed 
seeds or exceeds the tolerance established on restricted noxious 
weed seeds or regulated weed seeds shall be removed from sale in 



Wyoming and impounded by the director and shall be released only 
for the following purposes: 
 

(i)  For complete destruction; 
 

(ii)  For removal outside of the state; 
 

(iii)  To be conditioned to the point that no 
prohibited noxious weeds are present and to the point that the 
tolerance established on restricted noxious weeds and regulated 
weeds is not exceeded; 
 

(iv)  For processing in such a way as to make the weed 
seeds harmless and sold as feed; or 
 

(v)  For burial in an approved landfill. 
 

11-12-105.  Labeling of packages required; contents; 
exception. 
 

(a)  Each lot of seed which is sold or offered for sale in 
Wyoming, shall be legibly labeled in English upon the exterior 
of the container with a written or printed label. The label 
shall show: 
 

(i)  The commonly accepted name of the kind of seed. 
If seeds are mixed, the kind of each seed making up five percent 
(5%) or more of the mixture shall be stated separately; 
 

(ii)  The full name and address of the person selling, 
offering or distributing the seeds for sale; 
 

(iii)  The percentage of pure seed, crop seed (not to 
be added to pure seed), inert matter, common weed seeds by 
weight, germination, hard seed and the month and year of the 
germination test; 
 

(iv)  The origin of the seed; 
 

(v)  Lot number or other lot identification; 
 

(vi)  Name and number of each kind of restricted 
noxious weed seeds per pound; and 
 

(vii)  The words "poisonous treated" shall appear in 
bold print if the seeds have been treated with chemicals which 



are toxic or poisonous to either humans, livestock or other 
vertebrate animals. 
 

(b)  When seeds are sold or offered for sale in bulk, the 
label required by subsection (a) of this section shall be 
conspicuously displayed on the container of each lot of bulk 
seed. A printed or written statement bearing the required 
labeling information shall be taken from the bulk seed container 
label in the presence of the purchaser and given to the 
purchaser upon request. 
 

(c)  This section does not apply to flower, tree, garden or 
vegetable seeds labeled to comply with the requirements of the 
United States department of agriculture by authority of the 
Federal Seed Act. 
 

11-12-106.  Lawn grass seed. 
 
Lawn grass seed mixtures offered for sale in Wyoming shall 
comply with all requirements of this act, and in addition shall 
contain at least fifty percent (50%) of perennial permanent type 
lawn grass seed that is adapted to local growing conditions, 
such as Kentucky blue grass (Poa pratensis), bent grass 
(Agrostis species) or fescue (Festuca species). 
 

11-12-107.  Weed seeds. 
 
No person shall sell in the retail trade in this state, any seed 
which contains two percent (2%) or more of weed seeds by weight. 
 

11-12-108.  Screenings to be specially labeled and free 
from noxious weed seeds; seizure and destruction; grain cleaning 
establishments. 
 
Screenings of any seeds or grains which are offered for sale by 
any person shall be legibly labeled as such and not sold as 
seeds. They shall be free of prohibited noxious weed seeds and 
shall not exceed the tolerance established on restricted noxious 
weed seed. Screenings found to contain weed seeds in violation 
of this section are subject to seizure by the director of the 
department of agriculture. Screenings are subject to the 
provisions of W.S. 11-12-104(d). 
 

11-12-109.  Failure to label or false labeling of seeds. 
 
It is unlawful for any person to sell or offer for sale or to 
deliver within Wyoming any seeds which are misbranded or are not 



labeled in accordance with the requirements of W.S. 11-12-103 
through 11-12-108, or if the seed is falsely labeled in any 
respect, subject to such tolerance as established by the board. 
 

11-12-110.  Importation of seeds. 
 
It is unlawful for any person to transport or cause to be 
transported into Wyoming any seed without meeting the 
requirements of this act. 
 

11-12-111.  Repealed by Laws 1983, ch. 169, § 4. 
 

11-12-112.  Director to enforce provisions; power of 
director to examine seeds; exception; purchase of samples. 
 
The director shall enforce this act.  The director or his agents 
shall have free access at all reasonable hours upon and into any 
premises or structures where seed is stored or offered for sale, 
except federally sealed granaries or warehouses, to examine any 
seeds and, upon tendering payment therefor at the current value, 
may take from any person a sample or samples of the seeds. 
 

11-12-113.  Rulemaking. 
 

(a)  The board shall promulgate, adopt and publish rules 
and regulations in accordance with the Wyoming Administrative 
Procedure Act for the purpose of carrying out this act. 
 

(b)  Except as otherwise provided for in this act, no 
ordinance or regulation of any political subdivision may 
prohibit or in any way attempt to regulate any matter relating 
to the registration, labeling, sale, storage, transportation, 
distribution, notification of use or use of seeds, if any 
ordinance, law or regulation of the political subdivision is in 
conflict of this chapter. 
 

11-12-114.  Seed and grain cleaning establishments; 
certificates of approval; lists thereof. 
 
The board shall establish standards and other requirements 
whereby seed and grain cleaning establishments may be issued a 
certificate of approval. A list of approved establishments for 
cleaning seeds and grain shall be maintained by the director. 
 

11-12-115.  State seed analyst; seed laboratory. 
 



(a)  The department shall operate a state seed laboratory 
through a memorandum of understanding with the University of 
Wyoming.  The terms and conditions of the memorandum of 
understanding shall include the designation and compensation of 
a state seed analyst. 
 

(b)  A state laboratory operated for the purposes of seed 
analysis shall be located in Park County. 
 

11-12-116.  Analysis of seeds. 
 

(a)  Any person may have his seed analyzed by the state 
seed analyst by paying transportation charges to the laboratory 
and a fee. 
 

(b)  All samples submitted for analysis shall be taken in 
accordance with the current regulations of sampling set forth by 
the United States department of agriculture by authority of the 
Federal Seed Act. 
 

(c)  Seed testing shall be done in accordance with the 
current association of official seed analysts' rules for testing 
seed. 
 

(d)  The state seed analyst may provide a list of 
recommended fees for seed testing and services to the seed 
laboratory advisory group. 
 

(e)  The seed laboratory advisory group shall review the 
state seed analyst’s list and provide their recommendation for 
testing and service fees to the board. 
 

(f)  Fees for testing and services shall become effective 
upon approval by the board. The board may set testing and 
service fees at different levels for in-state and out-of-state 
samples. 
 

(g)  The state seed analyst, upon approval by the board, 
may enter into a separately negotiated contract with a 
government entity to provide testing and services at approximate 
cost. 
 

11-12-117.  Disposition of collected funds. 
 
All funds collected from seed analyses shall be deposited in the 
general fund. 
 



11-12-118.  Duty of district or county and prosecuting 
attorney to prosecute reported violations. 
 
Any district or county and prosecuting attorney to whom the 
director of the department of agriculture reports any violation 
of this act shall cause appropriate proceedings to be commenced 
and prosecuted in the proper courts without delay. 
 

11-12-119.  Seed certification service; authority to make 
rules; fees; disposition thereof. 
 
The seed certification service of the college of agriculture of 
the University of Wyoming may engage in the certification of 
varieties of seeds and propagating materials, and make such 
rules and regulations with respect to certification and 
varieties eligible for certification as necessary to insure the 
production of certified seed of high quality. The seed 
certification service may charge reasonable fees for conducting 
the certification program, and shall use the funds received to 
defray the cost of conducting the certification program. 
 

11-12-120.  False labeling of seeds; prohibited. 
 
It is unlawful for any person to attach or cause to be attached 
to any container of seeds or propagating materials, for the 
purpose of certifying the contents, any label or tag describing 
the contents as certified seed or propagating material, except 
labels or tags which are issued by the seed certification 
service of the college of agriculture, University of Wyoming, 
for the purpose of certification. 
 

11-12-121.  False labeling of seeds; false labeling as 
prima facie evidence of violation. 
 
Any label or tag prohibited by W.S. 11-12-120 found attached to 
any container of seed or propagating material is prima facie 
evidence of a violation of W.S. 11-12-120 by the person falsely 
labeling or tagging the container. 
 

11-12-122.  Quarantine. 
 

(a)  The board, in compliance with this act, may promulgate 
rules and regulations to establish a quarantine against movement 
of seed containing prohibited noxious weed seed and restricted 
noxious weed seed which exceeds the tolerance established and 
may enter into an agreement with law enforcement agencies to 
carry out the quarantine provisions. 



 
(b)  Repealed By Laws 2007, Ch. 8, § 4. 

 
(c)  Repealed By Laws 2007, Ch. 8, § 4. 

 
(d)  All seed shipments through the state shall be covered 

in a prescribed manner so as not to allow the dissemination of 
noxious weed seed. 
 

11-12-123.  Seed laboratory advisory group created; 
composition; appointment; officers; vacancy; meetings; quorum. 
 

(a)  There is created a seed laboratory advisory group 
which shall be comprised of the following: 
 

(i)  Voting members shall be: 
 

(A)  One (1) member of the board, appointed by 
the chairman of the board; 
 

(B)  One (1) member representing organizations 
whose primary goal is improved seed production, appointed by the 
board; 
 

(C)  Two (2) members representing the Wyoming 
seed industry, appointed by the board; 
 

(D)  Two (2) members who are certified or 
contract seed growers, appointed by the board; 
 

(E)  One (1) member who is a person interested in 
seed quality, appointed by the board. 
 

(ii)  Nonvoting members shall be: 
 

(A)  The director of the Wyoming department of 
agriculture or his designee; 
 

(B)  The University of Wyoming experiment station 
director; 
 

(C)  The head of the University of Wyoming 
college of agriculture plant science department or his designee; 
 

(D)  The Wyoming seed certification service 
manager, who shall serve as the seed laboratory advisory group 
secretary; 



 
(E)  The state seed analyst. 

 
(b)  All voting members shall serve terms of three (3) 

years.  A member may serve for more than one (1) term. 
 

(c)  The chairman and the vice-chairman shall serve terms 
of two (2) years with the vice-chairman succeeding the chairman.  
The chairman and vice-chairman shall be elected by a majority of 
the voting members at the annual meeting. In the event that the 
chairman is not able to complete his term, the vice-chairman 
shall complete that term in addition to serving the succeeding 
term.  In the event the vice-chairman is unable to complete his 
term, an election of a new chairman and vice-chairman shall take 
place at the next annual meeting. 
 

(d)  In the event of a vacancy on the seed laboratory 
advisory group, the board shall appoint a new member to complete 
the term of the vacating member. 
 

(e)  One (1) regular meeting shall be held annually in 
conjunction with a Wyoming crop improvement industry meeting, as 
called by the chairman or as called by a majority of the voting 
members. 
 

(f)  A majority of the voting members shall constitute a 
quorum. 
 

11-12-124.  Seed laboratory advisory group duties. 
 

(a)  The seed laboratory advisory group shall: 
 

(i)  Maintain a policy of operation manual, which 
shall be reviewed by seed laboratory advisory group members at 
the annual meeting, and shall contain the policies and 
operational procedures of the seed laboratory advisory group; 
 

(ii)  Serve in an advisory role to aid the state seed 
analyst, the University of Wyoming, the Wyoming department of 
agriculture and the board in the management of the seed 
laboratory; 
 

(iii)  Annually review the price list for seed testing 
and services provided by the laboratory; 
 

(iv)  Recommend to the board as necessary, any changes 
to the price list or other fees of the laboratory; 



 
(v)  Review the annual seed laboratory report; 

 
(vi)  Recommend to the board as necessary, any major 

capital purchases needed by the laboratory; 
 

(vii)  Recommend to the board as necessary, the use of 
new technologies or other seed testing needs as they occur; 
 

(viii)  Provide support as necessary to seed 
laboratory customers; 
 

(ix)  Provide to the board as necessary, constructive 
ideas on how the laboratory can serve Wyoming and the region 
more effectively. 
 

11-12-125.  Penalties; director authorized to investigate 
and file complaint. 
 

(a)  Any person violating any provision of this act is 
guilty of a misdemeanor and shall be fined not more than seven 
hundred fifty dollars ($750.00), or imprisoned for not more than 
six (6) months, or both for each offense.  Each day shall 
constitute a separate violation. 
 

(b)  The director is authorized to investigate alleged 
violations and to file a complaint with the proper district or 
county and prosecuting attorney for the prosecution of 
violations. 
 

(c)  Any person found guilty of violating any provision of 
W.S. 11-12-101 through 11-12-124, shall reimburse the state for 
the cost of any control actions, treatments, quarantine, 
confiscation, destruction or removal of any seed from the state 
resulting from the violation.  Amounts collected under this 
subsection shall be paid to the department of agriculture 
technical services division account. 
 

CHAPTER 13 - COMMERCIAL FEED 
 

11-13-101.  Short title. 
 
This act may be cited as the "Wyoming Commercial Feed Law." 
 

11-13-102.  Definitions; exemptions. 
 

(a)  As used in this act: 



 
(i)  "Association of America Feed Control Officials 

(AAFCO)" means officials of any state, dominion, federal or 
other governmental agency in North America, and employees 
thereof charged with the responsibility of enforcing laws 
regulating the production, labeling, distribution or sale of 
animal feeds; 
 

(ii)  "Association of Official Analytical Chemists 
(AOAC)" means government and industry officials charged with 
developing analytical methods and the collaborative testing of 
those methods, validating data and accepting or rejecting those 
methods for use; 
 

(iii)  "Brand name" means any word, name, symbol, 
device or any combination thereof identifying the commercial 
feed of a distributor or registrant and distinguishing it from 
that of others; 
 

(iv)  "Commercial feed" means all liquid or solid 
materials or combination of materials, including custom formula 
feed, medicated feed and mineral feed, which are distributed or 
intended for distribution for use as feed or for mixing in feed 
for animals other than man except the following: 
 

(A)  Unmixed seed, whole or processed, made 
directly from the entire seed, or unmixed or unprocessed whole 
seeds; 
 

(B)  Raw meat, hay, straw, stover, silage, cobs, 
husks, hulls and individual chemical compounds or substances 
when such commodities, compounds or substances are not 
intermixed with other materials, and are not adulterated within 
the meaning of W.S. 11-13-106(c)(ii). 
 

(v)  "Contract feeder" means a person who as an 
independent contractor, feeds commercial feed to animals 
pursuant to a contract whereby the commercial feed is supplied, 
furnished or otherwise provided to the person and whereby the 
person's remuneration is determined all or in part by feed 
consumption, mortality, profits or amount or quality of product; 
 

(vi)  "Custom formula feed" means commercial feed 
which consists of a mixture of commercial feeds or feed 
ingredients each batch of which is manufactured according to the 
specific instructions of the final purchaser; 
 



(vii)  "Department" means the state department of 
agriculture; 
 

(viii)  "Director" means the director of the 
department of agriculture; 
 

(ix)  "Distribute" means to offer for sale, sell, 
exchange or barter commercial feed or to supply, furnish or 
otherwise provide commercial feed; 
 

(x)  "Distributor" means any person who distributes; 
 

(xi)  "Drug" means any article intended for use in the 
diagnosis, cure, mitigation, treatment or prevention of disease 
in animals other than man and articles other than feed intended 
to affect the structure or any function of the animal body; 
 

(xii)  "Feed" means commercial feed, pet food and 
specialty pet food; 
 

(xiii)  "Feed ingredient" means each of the 
constituent materials making up a commercial feed; 
 

(xiv)  "Label" means a display of written, printed or 
graphic matter upon or affixed to the container in which a 
commercial feed is distributed, or on the invoice or delivery 
slip with which a commercial feed or custom formula feed is 
distributed; 
 

(xv)  "Labeling" means all labels and other written, 
printed or graphic matter upon a commercial feed, any of its 
containers or wrappers, or accompanying such commercial feed; 
 

(xvi)  "Manufacture" means to grind, mix or blend, or 
further process a commercial feed for distribution; 
 

(xvii)  "Medicated feed" means any commercial feed 
which contains drug ingredients intended for the cure, 
mitigation, treatment or prevention of diseases of animals, or 
which contains drug ingredients intended to affect the structure 
or any function of the body of animals; 
 

(xviii)  "Mineral feed or mixture" means a commercial 
feed designed or intended to supply primarily mineral elements 
or inorganic nutrients; 
 



(xix)  "Official sample" means any sample of feed 
taken by and designated as official by the director or his 
agent; 
 

(xx)  "Percent" or "percentage" means percentage by 
weight; 
 

(xxi)  "Pet" means any domesticated animal normally 
maintained in or near the household of the owner thereof; 
 

(xxii)  "Pet food" means any commercial feed prepared 
and distributed for consumption by pets; 
 

(xxiii)  "Product name" means the name of the 
commercial feed which identifies it as to kind, class or 
specific use; 
 

(xxiv)  "Specialty pet" means any domesticated animal 
pet normally maintained in a cage or tank, such as, but not 
limited to, gerbils, hamsters, canaries, psittacine birds, 
mynahs, finches, tropical fish, goldfish, snakes and turtles; 
 

(xxv)  "Specialty pet food" means any commercial feed 
prepared and distributed for consumption by a specialty pet; 
 

(xxvi)  "Ton" means a net weight of two thousand 
(2,000) pounds avoirdupois; 
 

(xxvii)  "This act" means W.S. 11-13-101 through 
11-13-110. 
 

(b)  The names and definitions for commercial feeds shall 
be the official definition of feed ingredients adopted by the 
Association of American Feed Control Officials (AAFCO) and the 
director, except as he designates otherwise in specific cases, 
or as specified in this section. 
 

(c)  The terms used in reference to commercial feeds shall 
be the official feed terms adopted by the Association of 
American Feed Control Officials and the director, except as he 
designates otherwise in specific cases or as specified in this 
section. 
 

(d)  Individual chemical compounds and substances are 
hereby declared exempt from the definition of "commercial feed" 
under the provisions of this act.  The director may exempt a 



product from the provisions of this act if he finds that the 
product meets the following criteria: 
 

(i)  There is an adopted Association of American Feed 
Control Officials definition for the product; 
 

(ii)  The product is either generally recognized as 
safe or is not covered by a specific food and drug 
administration regulation; 
 

(iii)  The product is either a natural occurring 
product of relatively uniform chemical composition or is 
manufactured to meet the Association of American Feed Control 
Officials definition of the product; 
 

(iv)  The use of the product in the feed industry 
constitutes a minor portion of its total industrial use; 
 

(v)  Small quantities of additives, which are intended 
to impart special desirable characteristics shall be permitted; 
and 
 

(vi)  There is no need or problem of control of this 
product. 
 

(e)  Nothing in this act shall apply to any contract feeder 
as defined by this act. 
 

11-13-103.  Labels. 
 

(a)  Every lot, package or parcel of commercial feed sold, 
offered for sale or distributed within this state shall have a 
tag or label affixed in a conspicuous place on the outside, 
containing a legible printed statement clearly and truly 
certifying: 
 

(i)  The product name and the brand name, if any, 
under which the commercial feed is distributed; 
 

(ii)  A purpose statement which shall contain the 
specific species and animal class for which the feed is 
intended.  The manufacturer shall have flexibility in describing 
in more specific common language the defined animal class, 
specie and purpose while being consistent with the category of 
animal class, which may include but not be limited to the weight 
range, sex or ages of the animals for which the feed is 
manufactured.  The purpose statement may be excluded from the 



label if the product name includes a description of the species 
and animal class for which the product is intended; 
 

(iii)  The guaranteed analysis stated in such terms 
that will advise the user of the composition of the feed or to 
support claims made in the labeling. In all cases the substances 
or elements must be determinable by laboratory methods.  The 
guaranteed analysis shall contain the following information: 
 

(A)  The minimum percent of crude protein; 
 

(B)  The percent of added approved synthetic 
nitrogen sources reported as protein, for ruminant feeding only; 
 

(C)  The minimum percent of crude fat; 
 

(D)  The maximum percent of crude fiber; 
 

(E)  The vitamin content as listed; 
 

(F)  The month and year of preparation or lot 
number, all legibly printed; 
 

(G)  The maximum percent of water in the case of 
liquid commercial feeds; and 
 

(H)  Other substances or elements, determinable 
by laboratory methods, guaranteed by permission of the director. 
 

(iv)  The common or usual name of each ingredient used 
in the manufacture of commercial feed. The name of each 
ingredient shall be defined in the official publication of the 
Association of American Feed Control Officials, common or usual 
name, or one (1) approved by the director.  The use of a 
collective term for a group of ingredients which perform a 
similar function shall be permitted.  Collective terms for 
grouping of feed ingredients as defined in the official 
definitions of feed ingredients published in the official 
publication of the Association of American Feed Control 
Officials in lieu of the individual ingredients may be used 
provided that: 
 

(A)  When a collective term for a group of 
ingredients is used on the label, individual ingredients within 
that group shall not be listed on the label; and 
 



(B)  The manufacturer shall provide the 
department, upon request, with a list of individual ingredients, 
within a defined group, that are or have been used at 
manufacturing facilities distributing in or into this state. 
 

(v)  Directions for use and any warning or precaution 
statements; 
 

(vi)  The name and principal address of the 
manufacturer or person responsible for distributing the 
commercial feed; 
 

(vii)  The net weight of the contents of the package, 
lot or parcel stated in the required avoirdupois; 
 

(viii)  For medicated feeds: 
 

(A)  The word "medicated" shall appear directly 
below the product name; 
 

(B)  The guaranteed analysis of the drug or 
medication used, expressed in terms respective to the type of 
drug or medication used; and 
 

(C)  A claim statement shall be included in the 
labeling. 
 

(b)  A custom formula feed shall be accompanied by a label, 
invoice, delivery slip or other shipping document and be 
supplied to the purchaser at the time of delivery bearing the 
following information: 
 

(i)  Name and address of the manufacturer; 
 

(ii)  Name and address of the purchaser; 
 

(iii)  Date of sale or delivery; 
 

(iv)  The custom formula feed name, product name and 
brand name, if any, and number of pounds of each registered 
commercial feed used in the mixture and the name and number of 
pounds of each other feed ingredient added; 
 

(v)  The net weight of the contents of the package, 
lot or parcel, stated in the required avoirdupois; and 
 



(vi)  The directions for use and any precautionary 
statements for all custom formula feeds containing drugs and for 
such other feeds as necessary for their safe and effective use.  
Any custom formula feeds containing drugs or medications shall 
also be provided as outlined in subsection (a) of this section 
with a claim statement and the guaranteed analysis of the drug 
or medication used, expressed in terms respective to the type of 
drug or medication used.  Should any custom formula feed be 
distributed to any other person than the final purchaser for 
whom the feed was made, it shall be considered a commercial feed 
and shall meet all labeling and registration requirements of a 
commercial feed as outlined in this act. 
 

(c)  Every lot, package or parcel of mineral mixtures sold, 
offered for sale or distributed as commercial feed within this 
state shall have a tag or label affixed in a conspicuous place 
on the outside containing a legible printed statement truly 
certifying: 
 

(i)  The net weight of the contents of the package, 
lot or parcel stated in the required avoirdupois; 
 

(ii)  The product name and brand name, if any, under 
which the mineral mixture is distributed; 
 

(iii)  The name and principal mailing address of the 
manufacturer or person responsible for distributing the mineral 
mixture; 
 

(iv)  The minimum and maximum percent of calcium (Ca) 
subject to the following limitations: 
 

(A)  The maximum percent of calcium shall not 
exceed by more than twenty percent (20%) the minimum percent of 
calcium unless the minimum percent of calcium is five percent 
(5%) or less, in which case the maximum percent of calcium may 
exceed the minimum by one percent (1%) of calcium; and 
 

(B)  Where limestone is used as a source of 
calcium in livestock minerals sold in Wyoming, no limestone 
shall be used which contains less than ninety percent (90%) of 
calcium carbonate (CaCO3). 
 

(v)  The minimum percent of phosphorus (P); 
 

(vi)  The minimum percent of iodine (I); 
 



(vii)  The maximum percent of sodium chloride (NaCl); 
 

(viii)  The specific generic name of each ingredient 
used in its manufacture. 
 

(d)  The crude protein, crude fat, crude fiber, vitamins 
and minerals shall be determined by the methods in force at the 
time by the Association of Official Analytical Chemists. 
 

11-13-104.  Powers and duties of director generally. 
 

(a)  The director shall enforce the provisions of this 
chapter and may prescribe the form of tags, stamps or labels to 
be used to show that the registration has been properly filed. 
The director may prescribe and enforce rules and regulations 
relating to the sale of commercial feed he deems necessary and 
may adopt such standards and definitions to carry into effect 
the full intent and meaning of the law. 
 

(b)  The director may refuse to register any commercial 
feed under a name, brand or trademark which would tend to 
mislead or deceive as to the materials of which it is composed, 
or when the specific name of each ingredient used in its 
manufacture is not stated except for those feeds that utilize 
collective terms in the labeling. He may refuse registration of 
any application not in compliance with the law and may cancel 
any registration subsequently found not to be in compliance with 
the law. No registration shall be refused or cancelled until the 
registrant has been given opportunity to be heard before the 
director and to amend his application in order to bring it into 
compliance. 
 

(c)  An applicant may appeal the refusal to register a 
product in accordance with the Wyoming Administrative Procedure 
Act. 
 

11-13-105.  Registration; fees; disposition thereof. 
 

(a)  Each commercial feed except custom formula feeds shall 
be registered before being distributed in this state. The 
application for registration shall be submitted on forms 
furnished by the director, and if the director requests, shall 
also be accompanied by a label or other printed matter 
describing the product. Upon approval by the director or his 
agent, a copy of the registration shall be furnished to the 
applicant. All registrations are effective from the date of 
approval and expire on December 31 each year. The director may 



permit on the registration the alternative listing of 
ingredients of comparable feed value, but the label for each 
package shall state the specific ingredients in the package 
except for those feeds which utilize collective terms in the 
labeling. 
 

(b)  A distributor is not required to register any brand of 
commercial feed which is already registered under this act by 
another person. 
 

(c)  Changes in the chemical or ingredient composition of a 
registered commercial feed may be permitted if there is 
satisfactory evidence that such changes do not result in 
lowering the feed value of the product for the purpose for which 
designed. 
 

(d)  Each application for registration shall be accompanied 
with a forty dollar ($40.00) registration fee per mixture or 
formula. The registration fee shall be deposited in the state 
general fund. 
 

11-13-106.  Right of access to establishments and 
information relating to manufacturing; sampling and analysis. 
 

(a)  The director or his agent shall have access during 
normal business hours to establishments or facilities in which 
commercial feed is manufactured, transported or held for 
distribution, and to information relating to manufacture, 
transportation or distribution of the feed for purposes of 
sampling and inspection. 
 

(b)  The methods of sampling and analysis shall be those 
adopted by the director from the Association of Official 
Analytical Chemists. In cases not covered by such methods, or in 
cases where methods are available in which improved 
applicability has been demonstrated, the director may adopt such 
appropriate methods from other sources. The director, in 
determining whether a commercial feed is deficient in any 
component, shall be guided solely by the official sample 
analyzed in accordance with the methods so adopted. A deficiency 
in an official sample of commercial feed resulting from 
nonuniformity during packaging is deemed to be a deficiency for 
the purposes of this act. For purposes of this act, the results 
of official analysis shall be final, unless it is determined by 
the director that a resample is warranted.  If a distributor or 
registrant requests a resample of a commercial feed based upon 
the director's findings of a deficiency, all costs associated 



with the resampling and analysis shall be borne by the 
distributor or registrant.  If the results of the resampling 
establish the result of the first analysis was invalid, the 
department shall bear the costs associated with the resampling.  
Any requests for a resample to the director shall be made in 
writing. 
 

(c)  When the inspection and analysis of an official sample 
indicates a commercial feed has been adulterated or misbranded, 
the results of analysis shall be forwarded by the director to 
the distributor and the purchaser. The following shall apply: 
 

(i)  A commercial feed shall be deemed to be 
misbranded if: 
 

(A)  Its labeling is false or misleading in any 
particular; 
 

(B)  It is distributed under the name of another 
commercial feed; 
 

(C)  It is not labeled as required in W.S. 
11-13-103; 
 

(D)  It purports to be or is represented as a 
commercial feed or if it purports to contain or is represented 
as containing a commercial feed unless such feed conforms to the 
definition outlined by the official publication of the 
Association of American Feed Control Officials, except as the 
director designates otherwise in specific cases; 
 

(E)  Any word, statement or other information 
required by or under the authority of this act does not appear 
conspicuously on the label, and in such terms that the ordinary 
person under customary conditions of purchase and use would not 
understand; 
 

(F)  The commercial feed is short weight.  All 
provisions for enforcement of items found to be short weight 
shall be administered by the department under W.S. 40-10-117 
through 40-10-136 of the Wyoming weights and measures law. 
 

(ii)  A commercial feed shall be deemed to be 
adulterated if: 
 

(A)  It bears or contains any poisonous or 
deleterious substance which may render it injurious to health, 



but in case the substance is not an added substance, such 
commercial feeds shall not be considered adulterated under this 
subsection if the quantity of such substance does not ordinarily 
render it injurious to health; 
 

(B)  It contains an unapproved food and drug 
administration drug, medication or animal remedy; 
 

(C)  Any valuable constituent has been in whole 
or in part omitted or abstracted therefrom or any less valuable 
substance substituted therefor; 
 

(D)  It contains any prohibited noxious weed 
seeds or exceeds the tolerance established on restricted noxious 
weed seeds pursuant to W.S. 11-12-104 or exceeds two percent 
(2%) of viable common weed seeds by weight. 
 

11-13-107.  Warning to distributor; seizure and order of 
disposition; application for release. 
 

(a)  When the director or his authorized agents find that 
an article is unregistered, mislabeled or misbranded, 
adulterated or that it does not conform to its label guarantee, 
he may issue a written statement warning the distributor that 
the article is considered to be in violation of the law. This 
statement is a warning only, to the distributor that if the 
article is distributed further the director may bring 
proceedings. If the distributor or manufacturer heeds the 
warning and corrects the violation within the time allowed by 
the director, no further action will be taken. 
 

(b)  Any lot of commercial feed not in compliance with 
requirements of law and regulations is subject to seizure on 
complaint of the director to a court of competent jurisdiction 
in the area in which the commercial feed is located. If the 
court finds the commercial feed in violation and orders the 
condemnation of the feed, it shall be disposed of in any manner 
consistent with the quality of the commercial feed and the laws 
of the state. In no instance shall the disposition of the 
commercial feed be ordered by the court without first giving the 
claimant an opportunity to apply to the court for release of the 
feed or for permission to process or relabel the feed to bring 
it into compliance with the law. 
 

11-13-108.  Prohibited acts; penalty; additional sanctions. 
 

(a)  It is unlawful for any person to: 



 
(i)  Sell or distribute in this state any commercial 

feed without having attached or furnished such stamps, labels or 
tags as required by law; 
 

(ii)  Impede, prevent or attempt to prevent the 
director or his agent in the performance of his lawful duties; 
 

(iii)  Sell, offer for sale or distribute in this 
state any commercial feed without complying with the 
requirements of law; 
 

(iv)  Sell or distribute in this state any commercial 
feed which contains a smaller percentage of crude protein or 
crude fat or a larger percentage of crude fiber than is 
certified to be contained therein; 
 

(v)  Fail to properly state the specific name of each 
ingredient used in its manufacture except for those feeds which 
utilize collective terms in the labeling; or 
 

(vi)  Sell or distribute in this state any commercial 
feed which has not been registered with the department as 
required by this act. 
 

(b)  Any person who violates any of the provisions of this 
section shall be fined not more than one hundred dollars 
($100.00) for the first violation and not less than one hundred 
dollars ($100.00) for each subsequent violation. 
 

(c)  In addition to the penalty provided in subsection (b) 
of this section, the distribution of any commercial feed mixed 
or adulterated with any substance injurious to livestock or pets 
is subject to seizure, condemnation and sale as the court may 
direct, the proceeds from such sale to be deposited in the state 
general fund. The court may in its discretion release the feed 
seized when the requirements of law have been complied with, and 
upon payment of all costs and expenses incurred by the state in 
any proceedings connected with the seizure. 
 

11-13-109.  Promulgation of rules and regulations. 
 
The director is authorized to promulgate such rules and 
regulations for commercial feeds as may be necessary for the 
efficient enforcement of this act.  Procedures for promulgation 
shall be those outlined in the Wyoming Administrative Procedure 
Act. 



 
11-13-110.  Cooperation with other entities. 

 
The director may cooperate with and enter into agreements with 
governmental agencies of this state, other states and agencies 
of the federal government in order to carry out the purpose and 
provisions of this act. 
 

CHAPTER 14 - FERTILIZER 
 

11-14-101.  Short title. 
 
This act shall be known as the "Wyoming Fertilizer Law of 2009." 
 

11-14-102.  Administration of provisions. 
 
This act shall be administered by the state department of 
agriculture, hereinafter referred to as the department. 
 

11-14-103.  Definitions. 
 

(a)  As used in this act: 
 

(i)  "Brand" means a term, design or trademark used in 
connection with one (1) or several grades of commercial 
fertilizer; 
 

(ii)  "Bulk fertilizer" means a commercial fertilizer 
distributed in a nonpackaged form; 
 

(iii)  "Commercial fertilizer" means any substance 
containing one (1) or more recognized plant nutrients used for 
its nutrient content and designed for use or claimed to have 
value in promoting plant growth; 
 

(iv)  "Deficient" means the amount of nutrient found 
by analysis less than that guaranteed which may result from a 
lack of nutrient ingredients or from lack of uniformity; 
 

(v)  "Department" means the Wyoming department of 
agriculture; 
 

(vi)  "Director" means the director of the department 
of agriculture; 
 

(vii)  "Distributor" means any person who imports, 
consigns, distributes, manufactures, produces, compounds, 



formulates, mixes, blends or applies commercial fertilizer, soil 
conditioner or soil amendment or who offers for sale, sells, 
barters or otherwise supplies commercial fertilizers, soil 
amendments or soil conditioners in this state.  The distributor 
may also be the registrant; 
 

(viii)  "Grade" means the percentage of total 
nitrogen, available phosphorus or phosphate, and soluble 
potassium or soluble potash stated in whole numbers in the same 
terms, order and percentages as in the guaranteed analysis, and 
fertilizer materials, bone meal, manures and similar raw 
materials which may be guaranteed in fractional units; 
 

(ix)  "Guaranteed analysis" means the minimum 
percentage of plant nutrients claimed in the following order and 
form: 
 

(A)  Total nitrogen (N) percent 
 
Available phosphate (P2O5) percent 
 
Soluble potash (K2O) percent; 
 

(B)  For unacidulated mineral phosphatic 
materials and basic slag, both total and available phosphate and 
the degree of fineness, and for bone, tankage and other organic 
phosphatic materials, total phosphate; 
 

(C)  Additional plant nutrients when mentioned or 
claimed on the label, container or advertising material, shall 
be registered and guaranteed, and guarantees shall be made on 
the percentage elemental basis with sources of the elements 
shown.  When any plant nutrients or other substances or 
compounds are guaranteed, they shall be subject to inspection 
and analysis in accord with the methods and regulations 
prescribed by the department; 
 

(D)  Potential basicity or acidity expressed in 
terms of calcium carbonate equivalent in multiples of one 
hundred (100) pounds per ton. 
 

(x)  "Investigational allowance" means an allowance 
for variations inherent in the taking, preparation and analysis 
of an official sample of fertilizer, soil conditioner or soil 
amendment; 
 



(xi)  "Label" means the display of all written, 
printed or graphic matter upon the container or statement 
accompanying a commercial fertilizer, soil amendment or soil 
conditioner; 
 

(xii)  "Labeling" means all written, printed or 
graphic matter upon or accompanying any commercial fertilizer, 
or advertisements, brochures, posters and television or radio 
announcements used in promoting the sale of commercial 
fertilizers, soil amendments or soil conditioners; 
 

(xiii)  "Mixed fertilizer" means a commercial 
fertilizer containing any combination or mixture of fertilizer 
materials; 
 

(xiv)  "Official sample" means any sample of 
fertilizer, soil conditioner or soil amendment taken by the 
director; 
 

(xv)  "Percent" or "percentage" means the percentage 
by weight; 
 

(xvi)  "Person" means any individual, partnership, 
association, corporation, or organized group of persons whether 
incorporated or not; 
 

(xvii)  "Primary nutrient" means the plant nutrients 
nitrogen (N), available phosphate (P2O5) or soluble potash 
(K2O); 
 

(xviii)  "Registrant" means the person who registers 
commercial fertilizers, soil amendments or soil conditioners 
under the provisions of this act.  The registrant may also be 
the distributor; 
 

(xix)  "Sell" or "sale" means exchange of ownership or 
transfer of custody; 
 

(xx)  "Soil amendment" or "soil conditioner" means any 
material which improves the physical or chemical soil 
characteristics and is manufactured and sold for such purposes 
but which is not added for its plant food content; 
 

(xxi)  "Specialty fertilizer" means a commercial 
fertilizer distributed primarily for nonfarm use such as home 
gardens, lawns, shrubbery, flowers, golf courses, municipal 
parks, cemeteries, greenhouses and nurseries; 



 
(xxii)  "Ton" means a net weight of two thousand 

(2,000) pounds avoirdupois; 
 

(xxiii)  "Organic fertilizer" means a material 
containing carbon and one (1) or more elements other than 
hydrogen and oxygen essential for plant growth, and allowed for 
use under the Organic Foods Production Act of 1990, as 
promulgated by the United States department of agriculture 
"National List of Allowed and Prohibited Substances" rule; 
 

(xxiv)  "Secondary or micro plant nutrients" means 
nutrients other than the primary nutrients that are essential 
for the normal growth of plants and that may need to be added to 
the growth medium.  Secondary plant nutrients shall include 
calcium, magnesium and sulfur.  Micro plant nutrients shall 
include boron, chlorine, cobalt, copper, iron, manganese, 
molybdenum, nickel, sodium and zinc; 
 

(xxv)  "This act" means W.S. 11-14-101 through 
11-14-118. 
 

11-14-104.  Registration of fertilizer, soil conditioner 
and soil amendments; applications; fees; disposition thereof; 
exceptions. 
 

(a)  Each brand and grade of commercial fertilizer shall be 
registered with the department before being distributed in this 
state. The application for registration shall be submitted on 
forms furnished by the department and shall include the 
following information: 
 

(i)  The brand and grade; 
 

(ii)  The guaranteed analysis; 
 

(iii)  The name and address of the registrant or the 
distributor; 
 

(iv)  The sources from which the nitrogen, phosphorus 
or phosphate and potassium are derived; 
 

(v)  Additional plant nutrients, when claimed, the 
percentage guaranteed and the sources, provided, the minimum 
percentages which will be accepted for registration are those 
recognized by the Association of American Plant Food Control 
Officials. 



 
(b)  Each soil conditioner and soil amendment shall be 

registered with the department before being distributed in this 
state. The application for registration shall be submitted on 
forms furnished by the department and shall include the 
following information: 
 

(i)  The brand; 
 

(ii)  Guaranteed analysis on label; 
 

(iii)  The name and address of the registrant or the 
distributor. 
 

(c)  A registration fee of one hundred fifteen dollars 
($115.00) shall accompany each separate formula of brand and 
grade of fertilizer, soil conditioner or soil amendment to be 
registered. The registration expires on December 31 next 
following the date of application and shall be renewed annually. 
All registration fees collected shall be deposited in the state 
general fund and may be appropriated by the legislature for 
programs authorized by W.S. 11-2-202(a)(v), 11-14-101 through 
11-14-116 and 11-16-105(a)(v). 
 

(d)  A distributor or registrant is not required to 
register any commercial fertilizer, specialty fertilizer, soil 
conditioner or soil amendment which is already registered under 
this act by another person if the label does not differ in any 
respect. 
 

(e)  A distributor or registrant is not required to 
register each grade of commercial fertilizer, soil conditioner 
or soil amendment formulated according to specifications 
furnished by a consumer prior to preparation. 
 

11-14-105.  Label requirements. 
 

(a)  Any commercial fertilizer, soil amendment or soil 
conditioner distributed in this state in containers shall have 
affixed to the container a label setting forth in clearly 
legible and conspicuous form the information required by W.S. 
11-14-104(a) and (b), the month and year of preparation or lot 
number, and shall show the net weight stated in both metric 
units and avoirdupois. In case of bulk shipments, this 
information in written or printed form shall accompany delivery 
and be supplied to the purchaser at time of delivery. 
 



(b)  A commercial fertilizer, soil conditioner or soil 
amendment formulated according to specifications furnished by a 
consumer prior to mixing shall be labeled to show the net weight 
stated in both metric units and avoirdupois, guaranteed analysis 
and the name and address of the registrant or the distributor. 
 

11-14-106.  Repealed by Laws 1993, ch. 147, § 2. 
 

11-14-107.  Sampling of fertilizer, soil amendment or soil 
conditioner. 
 

(a)  The director or his designee shall sample, inspect, 
make analyses of and test commercial fertilizers, soil 
conditioners and soil amendments distributed within this state 
at any time and place and to the extent he deems necessary to 
determine whether they are in compliance with this act. The 
director or his designee may enter upon any premises or carriers 
during regular business hours to have access to commercial 
fertilizers, soil amendments or soil conditioners subject to the 
provisions of this act and to the records relating to their 
distribution. 
 

(b)  The methods of sampling analysis shall be those 
adopted by the Association of Official Analytical Chemists 
(AOAC).  In cases not covered by such methods, or in cases where 
methods are available in which improved applicability has been 
demonstrated, the department may adopt such appropriate methods 
from other sources. 
 

(c)  The department in determining whether any commercial 
fertilizer is deficient in plant food shall be guided solely by 
the official sample obtained and analyzed as provided for in 
subsection (b) of this section. 
 

(d)  Official samples establishing a penalty for nutrient 
deficiency shall be retained for a minimum of ninety (90) days 
from issuance of a deficiency report.  A deficiency in an 
official sample of mixed fertilizer resulting from nonuniformity 
is not distinguishable from a deficiency due to actual plant 
nutrient shortage and is properly subject to official action. 
 

(e)  For purposes of this act, the results of official 
analysis shall be final, unless it is determined by the director 
that a resample is warranted. Should a distributor or registrant 
request a resample of a fertilizer based upon the director's 
findings of a deficiency, all costs associated with the 
resampling and analysis shall be borne by the distributor or 



registrant.  If results of the resampling establish the results 
of first analysis were invalid, the department shall bear the 
costs associated with the resampling. 
 

11-14-108.  Reimbursement of purchaser of deficient 
fertilizer. 
 
When a fertilizer is deficient in any element beyond recognized 
investigational allowances, the distributor or registrant must 
reimburse the purchaser of the fertilizer an amount equal to 
double the current market value of the fertilizer as determined 
by the state chemical and bacteriological laboratory. 
 

11-14-109.  Misbranded or adulterated fertilizer, soil 
conditioner or soil amendment; distribution of unregistered 
fertilizer. 
 

(a)  No person shall distribute misbranded fertilizer, soil 
conditioners or soil amendments. A commercial fertilizer, soil 
conditioner or soil amendment is misbranded if: 
 

(i)  Its labeling is false or misleading in any 
particular way, including being labeled organic fertilizer, when 
its use is not allowed pursuant to the United States department 
of agriculture "National List of Allowed and Prohibited 
Substances" rule; 
 

(ii)  It is distributed under the name of another 
fertilizer, soil conditioner or soil amendment; 
 

(iii)  It is not labeled as required in W.S. 11-14-105 
and in accordance with regulations prescribed under this act. 
 

(b)  No person shall distribute an adulterated fertilizer, 
soil conditioner or soil amendment. A commercial fertilizer, 
soil conditioner or soil amendment is adulterated if: 
 

(i)  It contains any deleterious or harmful ingredient 
in sufficient amount to render it injurious to beneficial plant 
life when applied in accordance with directions for use on the 
label, or if adequate warning statements or directions for use 
which may be necessary to protect plant life are not shown upon 
the label; 
 

(ii)  Its composition falls below or differs from that 
which it is purported to possess by its labeling; 
 



(iii)  It contains unwanted crop seed or weed seed; or 
 

(iv)  A commercial fertilizer that contains guaranteed 
amounts of phosphates or micronutrients, contains metals in 
amounts greater than the levels of metals established by the 
following table: 
 
Metal ppm per 1% P2O5 ppm per 1% micronutrients 
 
Arsenic  13     112 
 
Cadmium  10     83 
 
Cobalt  3,100    23,000* 
 
Lead   61     463 
 
Mercury  1      
 
Molybdenum 42     300* 
 
Nickel  250     1,900 
 
Selenium  26     180 
 
Zinc   420     2,900* 
 
        (* only applies 
 
        when not 
 
        guaranteed) 
 
The table shall be used according to the following three (3) 
situations: 
 

(A)  For fertilizers with a phosphate guarantee, 
but no micronutrient guarantee, multiply the percent guaranteed 
P2O5 in the product by the values in the table to obtain the 
maximum allowable concentration of each metal.  The minimum 
value for P2O5 utilized as a multiplier shall be six (6.0); 
 

(B)  For fertilizers with one (1) or more 
micronutrient guarantee, but no phosphate guarantee, multiply 
the sum of the guaranteed percentages of all micronutrients in 
the product by the value in the appropriate column in the table 
to obtain the maximum allowable concentration (in parts per 



million, or ppm) of each metal.  The minimum value for 
micronutrients utilized as a multiplier shall be one (1); 
 

(C)  For fertilizers with both a phosphate and a 
micronutrient guarantee, multiply the guaranteed percent P2O5 by 
the value in the appropriate column.  The minimum value for P2O5 
utilized as a multiplier shall be one (1).  Then, multiply the 
sum of the guaranteed percentages of the micronutrients by the 
value in the appropriate column.  The minimum value for 
micronutrients utilized as a multiplier shall be one (1).  Then, 
utilize the higher of the two (2) resulting values as the 
maximum allowable concentration (ppm) of each metal. 
 

(c)  No person shall distribute unregistered fertilizers, 
soil conditioners or soil amendments. 
 

(d)  No person shall distribute fertilizers, soil 
conditioners or soil amendments that are short weight.  All 
provisions for enforcement of items found to be short weight 
shall be administered by the department under W.S. 40-10-117 
through 40-10-136 of the weights and measures law. 
 

(e)  Any penalties resulting from violations of these heavy 
metal standards shall accrue to the registrant of the material 
that violates the heavy metal standard. 
 

11-14-110.  Repealed by Laws 1995, ch. 46, § 3. 
 

11-14-111.  Rules and regulations. 
 
The director may prescribe and enforce rules and regulations 
relating to investigational allowances, definitions, records and 
the distribution of commercial fertilizers, soil conditioners 
and soil amendments as necessary to carry out the provisions of 
this act. 
 

11-14-112.  Refusal, suspension or cancellation of 
registration; hold orders; release. 
 

(a)  A registration may be refused, suspended or cancelled 
for any formula of fertilizer, soil conditioner or soil 
amendment as herein provided, upon evidence that the product is 
misbranded or adulterated. A hold order may be issued to the 
owner or custodian of any lot of fertilizer, soil conditioner or 
soil amendment to stop sale, use or removal and to hold at a 
designated place when the director finds the product is being 
offered for sale in violation of this act, until the law has 



been complied with and the product is released in writing by the 
director or the violation has been otherwise legally disposed of 
by a court of competent jurisdiction. 
 

(b)  No person shall make any false or misleading 
representation with regard to any fertilizer, soil conditioner 
or soil amendment sold, offered or exposed for sale by the 
person in this state, either as principal or agent.  No person 
shall use any false, misleading or deceptive brand or grade in 
connection therewith.  The penalties provided by subsection (a) 
of this section shall apply to any violation of this subsection. 
 

11-14-113.  Seizure and disposition of fertilizer found to 
be in violation; right to application for release. 
 
Any lot of commercial fertilizer, soil conditioner or soil 
amendment not in compliance with this act is subject to seizure 
on complaint of the department to a court of competent 
jurisdiction in the area in which the commercial fertilizer, 
soil conditioner or soil amendment is located. If the court 
finds the commercial fertilizer, soil conditioner or soil 
amendment to be in violation of this act and orders the 
condemnation of the commercial fertilizer, soil conditioner or 
soil amendment, it shall be disposed of in any manner consistent 
with the quality of the commercial fertilizer and the laws of 
the state, but in no instance shall the disposition of the 
commercial fertilizer, soil conditioner or soil amendment be 
ordered by the court without first giving the claimant an 
opportunity to apply to the court for release of the commercial 
fertilizer to bring it into compliance with this act. 
 

11-14-114.  Notice of violation; hearing; penalty; duty of 
district attorney; injunctions. 
 

(a)  If examination of any commercial fertilizer, soil 
conditioner or soil amendment indicates that this act or the 
rules and regulations issued thereunder have been violated, the 
director shall give notice of the violations and an opportunity 
for a hearing to the registrant or distributor. If it appears 
after the hearing that this act or rules and regulations issued 
thereunder have been violated, the director may certify the 
facts to the proper district attorney. 
 

(b)  Any person convicted of violating this act or the 
rules and regulations issued thereunder is guilty of a 
misdemeanor and shall be fined not less than fifty dollars 
($50.00) nor more than one thousand dollars ($1,000.00) for each 



offense, or the director may apply to the district court for the 
purpose of preventing further violation. 
 

(c)  The director is not required to report for prosecution 
or for the institution of seizure proceedings minor violations 
when he believes that the public interests will be best served 
by a suitable notice of warning in writing. 
 

(d)  Each district attorney to whom any violation is 
reported shall cause appropriate proceedings to be instituted 
and prosecuted in a court of competent jurisdiction without 
delay. Violations of this act may be enjoined by proceedings 
brought by the district attorney of the proper county, or by the 
attorney general, regardless of whether criminal proceedings 
have been instituted, provided the director has entered a 
finding pursuant to this act. 
 

(e)  The director may apply for and the court may grant a 
temporary or permanent injunction, without bond, restraining any 
person from violating or continuing to violate this act or any 
rule or regulation promulgated under the act notwithstanding the 
existence of other remedies at law. 
 

11-14-115.  Action for damages to crops; evidence. 
 

(a)  Nothing in this act shall preclude the right of a 
purchaser to bring an action for any damages to crops, land or 
livestock by reason of misbranded, adulterated or deficient 
fertilizer, soil conditioner or soil amendment. 
 

(b)  The department shall, upon demand, make all results of 
samplings, inspections and laboratory analyses available to any 
purchaser of fertilizer, soil conditioner or soil amendment. 
 

(c)  In a civil action for damages against any distributor 
or manufacturer of any misbranded or deficient fertilizer, soil 
conditioner or soil amendment, all results of the department 
samplings, inspections or laboratory analyses shall be competent 
evidence before any court where such civil action is pending. 
 

(d)  The results of a criminal action for violation of this 
act is competent evidence in any civil action for misbranding or 
deficiency of any fertilizer, soil conditioner or soil 
amendment. 
 

11-14-116.  Sales between importers, manufacturers or 
manipulators excepted from provisions. 



 
Nothing in this act shall restrict or avoid sales or exchanges 
of commercial fertilizers, soil conditioners or soil amendments 
to each other by importers, manufacturers or manipulators who 
mix fertilizer materials for sale, or prevent the free and 
unrestricted shipment of commercial fertilizers, soil 
conditioners or soil amendments to manufacturers or manipulators 
who have registered their brands as required by this act. 
 

11-14-117.  Cooperation with other entities. 
 
The department may cooperate with and enter into agreement with 
governmental agencies of this state, other states, agencies of 
the federal government and any nongovernmental entity in order 
to carry out the purpose and provisions of this act. 
 

11-14-118.  Registration of ammonium nitrate. 
 
2009 Wyoming Session Laws, Chapter 92, provides this section is 
effective on and after July 1, 2009 only upon certification of 
the governor to the secretary of state that the United States 
department of homeland security has published final federal 
rules under H.R. 2764, Subtitle J, Secure Handling of Ammonium 
Nitrate or its successor.  As of the date of the publication of 
the 2009 Wyoming statutes no such certification had been made. 
 

(a)  Any person who possesses ammonium nitrate or regulated 
ammonium nitrate materials shall be registered with the 
department.  The registration application shall be on a form 
approved by the director in consultation with and upon the 
recommendation of the director of the office of homeland 
security.  The director shall charge an annual registration fee 
not to exceed fifty dollars ($50.00).  Nothing in this section 
shall require the registration of any person who produces, sells 
or purchases ammonium nitrate exclusively for use in the 
production of an explosive under a license or permit issued 
under chapter 40 of title 18, U.S.C. 
 

(b)  Ammonium nitrate and regulated ammonium nitrate 
materials shall be secured to provide reasonable protection 
against vandalism, theft or other unauthorized use.  Reasonable 
protection may include, but not be limited to, ensuring that 
storage facilities are fenced and locked when unattended, and 
inspected daily for signs of attempted entry or vandalism to any 
storage facility.  The director in consultation with or upon the 
recommendation of the director of the office of homeland 
security, may recommend other security measures.  The director 



shall work in consultation with or upon the recommendation of 
the director of the office of homeland security to provide 
information to ammonium nitrate users on appropriate security 
measures. 
 

(c)  A distributor shall record the date of sale and 
quantity sold, the valid state or federal driver's license 
number, the current physical address and telephone number for 
the purchaser of ammonium nitrate or regulated ammonium nitrate 
materials.  If the purchaser obtains physical possession of 
ammonium nitrate or regulated ammonium nitrate material, the 
distributor shall obtain the registrant’s registration number as 
a condition of completing the sale. A registrant, if not a 
distributor, shall record the date of application.  All sale and 
application records shall be retained by each registrant for a 
period of not less than two (2) years. 
 

(d)  Registrants shall comply with all federal and state 
requirements regarding the dissemination of any information, 
providing the director and the director of the office of 
homeland security access to the records. 
 

(e)  For the purposes of this section: 
 

(i)  "Ammonium nitrate" means chiefly the ammonium 
salt of nitric acid.  Ammonium nitrate shall not contain less 
than thirty-three percent (33%) nitrogen, one-half (1/2) of 
which is the ammonium form and one-half (1/2) of which is the 
nitrate form; 
 

(ii)  "Regulated ammonium nitrate materials" means 
regulated ammonium nitrate material fertilizer products which 
have been determined by the director in consultation with and 
upon the recommendation of the director of the office of 
homeland security to warrant regulation based on the potential 
explosive capacity of the fertilizer material determined by the 
ammonium nitrate content. 
 

CHAPTER 15 - GRADING AND SHIPMENT OF POTATOES 
 

11-15-101.  Grades, classifications and standards. 
 
In order to make the grading and classification of potatoes 
uniform throughout the United States, the director shall adopt 
by rule and grades, standards and classifications for potatoes 
lawfully established by the United States department of 
agriculture. 



 
11-15-102.  Definitions. 

 
(a)  As used in this act: 

 
(i)  "Carlot" or "carload" means any railroad car, 

truck or trailer, regardless of size; 
 

(ii)  "This act" means W.S. 11-15-101 through 
11-15-112; 
 

(iii)  "Director" means the director of the department 
of agriculture. 
 

11-15-103.  Sorting and grading. 
 
Carlot shipments of potatoes originating in Wyoming shall be 
sorted and graded at point of origin upon request of a majority 
of the potato growers from the county making shipments from any 
shipping points within the county as designated by the director. 
 

11-15-104.  Director to appoint inspectors; term. 
 
This act shall be enforced by qualified inspectors appointed by 
the director and licensed by the United States department of 
agriculture. They shall keep their licenses current and in good 
standing at all times when employed by the director. They shall 
serve at the pleasure of the director. 
 

11-15-105.  Conformity to applicable standards required; 
inspection; certificate, use thereof as evidence. 
 

(a)  No person shall pack, offer, consign or sell in 
carload lots any potatoes loaded within the state which do not 
conform to applicable standards, subject to such variations 
therefrom as provided by regulations adopted in accordance with 
this act, unless such potatoes are specifically described, or 
plainly marked, in accordance with regulations to indicate they 
are ungraded or unclassified. 
 

(b)  Whenever grades, standards or classification have been 
established for potatoes, it is unlawful for any shipper to ship 
carload lots of potatoes without being inspected by an 
authorized inspector. The inspector shall issue a certificate of 
inspection showing grade, standard or other classification. The 
certificate shall be issued in duplicate, one (1) copy shall be 



attached to bill of lading and one (1) copy shall be issued to 
the shipper. 
 

(c)  A certificate of the grade or other classification of 
potatoes, when not reversed or modified, shall be accepted in 
any court of this state as prima facie evidence of the true 
grade or classification of the potatoes at the time of grading 
or classification. 
 

11-15-106.  Reports of inspections required. 
 
The director shall make reports to the United States department 
of agriculture on July 1 each year. 
 

11-15-107.  Director to promulgate regulations; board 
approval required. 
 
Subject to approval of the board of agriculture, the director 
may promulgate regulations necessary to carry out the provisions 
of this act. The regulations shall conform as nearly as 
practicable to any act of congress or standards legally adopted 
by any federal agency relating to the marketing of farm 
products. 
 

11-15-108.  Director engaging in potato business 
prohibited. 
 
The director is prohibited from engaging in the business of 
buying, selling or commission dealing in potatoes. 
 

11-15-109.  Inspection upon request of interested party; 
issuance of certificate; fees. 
 
The director, upon request of any interested party, may furnish 
a licensed inspector to inspect any lot of potatoes within the 
state whether the potatoes originated in Wyoming or elsewhere, 
and may issue a federal or state certificate showing grade, 
quality and condition of such potatoes which will be receivable 
as prima facie evidence in any court in Wyoming. This provision 
includes storage, inspection and less than carload lots. For 
this inspection the department shall be paid by the party asking 
for inspection the fees established by the board of agriculture, 
not to exceed actual costs of inspection and all traveling 
expenses to and from the place of inspection. 
 

11-15-110.  Reinspection on request; cost. 
 



Any interested party may demand a reinspection at point of 
origin if the grade established by the licensed inspector is not 
satisfactory. The reinspection may be made by an inspector 
authorized by the director or by an inspector of the United 
States department of agriculture. The reinspection shall be made 
at the expense of the party requesting the service. 
 

11-15-111.  Inspection fees; exception; when inspection not 
required; consent of director; certification of certain 
shipments. 
 
A fee established by the board of agriculture not to exceed 
actual costs of inspection shall be paid on all shipments of 
potatoes inspected within the district except those designated 
for manufacturing purposes on which no fee shall be charged. 
With the consent of the director, potatoes for seed stock may be 
moved to storage within the state without inspection. When 
potatoes are shipped without inspection within the state the 
shipper shall not be provided with a certificate. Other 
shipments of seed stock must conform to the requirements of 
grade no. 1 except with regard to size, and the certificate must 
contain a statement designating variety, trueness to type and 
percent defects with regard to disease and other blemishes. 
 

11-15-112.  Prohibited acts; penalties. 
 
Whoever removes any inspection certificate before a car is 
entirely unloaded, or whoever except an authorized inspector 
alters any inspection certificate, or whoever without using 
reasonable diligence to secure inspection fails or neglects to 
have potatoes inspected before shipping, or whoever hinders, 
molests or attempts to influence any inspector in the 
performance of his duties, or whoever violates this act is 
guilty of a misdemeanor and shall be fined for each violation 
not exceeding five hundred dollars ($500.00) and the costs of 
the prosecution, or shall be imprisoned not exceeding six (6) 
months, or both. Any inspector who fails or neglects to perform 
the duties imposed by this act shall suffer the penalty herein 
provided. 
 

CHAPTER 16 - CONSERVATION DISTRICTS 
 

11-16-101.  Short title. 
 
This act may be cited as the "Wyoming Conservation Districts 
Law." 
 



11-16-102.  Definitions. 
 

(a)  As used in this act: 
 

(i)  "Agency of this state" means any subdivision, 
agency or instrumentality, corporate or otherwise, of the 
government of this state; 
 

(ii)  "At large member" means any registered voter and 
taxpayer within the county; 
 

(iii)  "Commission" or "state conservation commission" 
means the state board of agriculture; 
 

(iv)  "Conservation" means development, improvement, 
maintenance, preservation, protection and use of natural 
resources, and the control and prevention of floodwater and 
sediment damages, and the disposal of excess waters; 
 

(v)  "District" or "conservation district" means a 
governmental subdivision of this state, and a public body 
corporate and politic, organized in accordance with this act; 
 

(vi)  "Due notice" for those provisions other than 
election and referendum provisions, means notice published at 
least twice, with an interval of six (6) days between the two 
(2) publication dates, in a newspaper of general circulation 
within the boundaries of the proposed or organized district, or 
by posting at five (5) conspicuous places within the organized 
or proposed district, such posting to include, where possible, 
posting at public places where it may be customary to post 
notices concerning county or municipal affairs generally. Except 
as otherwise provided in this act, the notice of any hearing 
required under this act shall fix the time, place and purpose, 
which shall be not less than ten (10) or more than fifteen (15) 
days after the first publication or first posting of the notice. 
Any hearing held pursuant to such notice may be adjourned from 
time to time without renewing the notice for the adjourned 
dates.  Notice for any election or referendum required by this 
act shall be as specifically provided in this act, or if not 
specifically provided in this act, as required in the Special 
District Elections Act of 1994; 
 

(vii)  "Government" or "governmental" means the 
government of this state, the government of the United States, 
and any subdivision, agency or instrumentality, corporate or 
otherwise, of either of them; 



 
(viii)  Repealed by Laws 1987, ch. 21, § 3. 

 
(ix)  Repealed by Laws 1998, ch. 115, § 5. 

 
(x)  "Renewable natural resources," "natural 

resources" or "resources," means land, soil, water, vegetation, 
trees, wild rivers, wilderness, natural beauty, scenery and open 
space; 
 

(xi)  "Urban" or "urban member" means any registered 
voter of an incorporated Wyoming municipality; 
 

(xii)  "This act" means W.S. 11-16-101 through 
11-16-135. 
 

11-16-103.  Legislative declarations and policy. 
 

(a)  It is hereby declared that the farm and grazing lands 
of Wyoming are among the basic assets of the state; that 
improper land use practices cause and contribute to serious 
erosion of these lands by wind and water; that among the 
consequences which would result from such conditions are the 
deterioration of soil and its fertility and the silting and 
sedimentation of stream channels, reservoirs, dams and ditches; 
that to conserve soil, and soil and water resources, and prevent 
and control soil erosion, it is necessary that land use 
practices contributing to soil erosion be discouraged and that 
appropriate soil conserving land use practices be adopted. 
 

(b)  It is hereby declared to be the policy of the 
legislature to provide for the conservation of the soil, and 
soil and water resources of this state, and for the control and 
prevention of soil erosion and for flood prevention or the 
conservation, development, utilization, and disposal of water, 
and thereby to stabilize ranching and farming operations, to 
preserve natural resources, protect the tax base, control 
floods, prevent impairment of dams and reservoirs, preserve 
wildlife, protect public lands, and protect and promote the 
health, safety and general welfare of the people of this state. 
 

11-16-104.  Repealed by Laws 1987, ch. 15, § 1. 
 

11-16-105.  State board of agriculture; duties generally. 
 

(a)  The commission shall: 
 



(i)  Keep a record of its official actions, adopt a 
seal, which shall be judicially noticed, and perform acts, hold 
public hearings and promulgate rules and regulations as 
necessary for the execution of its functions under this act; 
 

(ii)  Assist and guide districts in the preparation 
and carrying out of programs for resource conservation 
authorized under this act, review district programs, coordinate 
the programs of the several districts and resolve any conflicts, 
and facilitate, promote, assist, harmonize, coordinate and guide 
the resource conservation programs and activities of districts 
as they relate to other special purpose districts, counties and 
other public agencies; 
 

(iii)  Keep the supervisors of the districts organized 
under this act informed of the activities and experiences of 
other districts and facilitate cooperation and an interchange of 
advice and experience between the districts; 
 

(iv)  Coordinate the programs of the several 
conservation districts so far as this may be done by advice and 
consultation; 
 

(v)  Recommend the appropriation of state funds 
necessary to finance the activities of the commission and the 
conservation districts; distribute to conservation districts 
funds, equipment, supplies and services received by the 
commission for that purpose from any source, subject to 
conditions made applicable thereto by any state or federal 
statute or local ordinance making available the funds, property 
or services; issue regulations establishing guidelines and 
suitable controls to govern the use by conservation districts of 
such funds, property and services; and review all budgets, 
administrative procedures and operations of the districts and 
advise the districts concerning their conformance with 
applicable laws and regulations; 
 

(vi)  Disseminate information throughout the state 
concerning the activities and programs of the conservation 
districts and encourage the formation of such districts in areas 
where their organization is desirable; enlist the cooperation 
and collaboration of state, federal, regional, interstate and 
local public and private agencies with the conservation 
districts; facilitate arrangements under which the conservation 
districts may serve county governing bodies and other agencies 
as their local operating agencies in the administration of any 
activity concerned with the conservation of renewable natural 



resources; and except as otherwise assigned by law, carry out 
the policies of this state in programs at the state level for 
the conservation of the renewable natural resources of this 
state and represent the state in matters affecting such 
resources. 
 

(b)  Whenever the commission determines that there exists a 
substantial conflict between the resources conservation program 
of a district and the proposed plans or activities directly 
affecting resource conservation prepared by any other local 
governmental unit or agency of this state, and the conflict 
cannot be resolved through consultation procedures, the 
commission shall submit a report to the governor. 
 

11-16-106.  Department of agriculture; when contracts 
invalid. 
 
No contract of the state commission for the payment of money is 
valid unless the commission has available at the time the 
contract is made funds sufficient for the payment thereof. 
 

11-16-107.  Report to director; reports by district 
supervisors to board. 
 

(a)  On or before November 1 each even-numbered year, the 
commission shall report to the director of the department of 
agriculture the number and acreages of districts in existence or 
in process of organization, together with an estimate of the 
number and probable acreages of the districts which may be 
organized during the ensuing period; the balance of funds, if 
any, available to the commission and to the districts; and the 
estimates of the commission as to the sums needed for its 
administrative and other expenses and for allocation among the 
several districts during the ensuing period. 
 

(b)  The supervisors of the respective districts shall 
submit to the commission such statements, estimates, budgets and 
other information as the commission may require. The director 
shall include the information furnished by the commission in his 
report to the governor. 
 

11-16-108.  Petition to form district; contents; 
consolidation and exclusion. 
 

(a)  Any ten (10) owners of land lying within the limits of 
the proposed district may file a petition with the commission 
asking that a conservation district be organized to function in 



the territory described in the petition. The petition shall meet 
all of the requirements of W.S. 22-29-105(f).  The commission 
shall act upon the petition for formation in the same manner as 
set forth in W.S. 22-29-109 for county commissioners in 
determining if a petition for district formation shall be voted 
upon. When more than one (1) petition is filed covering parts of 
the same territory, the commission may consolidate all or any 
such petitions, or may exclude from any petition areas in 
conflict with another petition or petitions. 
 

(i)  Repealed by Laws 1998, ch. 115, § 5. 
 

(ii)  Repealed by Laws 1998, ch. 115, § 5. 
 

(iii)  Repealed by Laws 1998, ch. 115, § 5. 
 

(iv)  Repealed by Laws 1998, ch. 115, § 5. 
 

(v)  Repealed by Laws 1998, ch. 115, § 5. 
 

11-16-109.  Notice and hearing on petition; approval or 
denial; criteria. 
 
After the hearing, if the commission determines, upon the facts 
presented at the hearing and other relevant facts that are 
available, that there is need in the interest of the public 
health, safety and welfare for a conservation district to 
function in the territory considered at the hearing, it shall 
record such determination and define by metes and bounds or by 
legal subdivisions the boundaries of the district. In making the 
determination and defining the boundaries, the commission shall 
give weight and consideration to the topography of the area 
considered and of the state, the composition of soils therein, 
the distribution of erosion, the carrying capacity and condition 
of grazing lands, the numbers of livestock grazed, the 
prevailing land use and management practices, the desirability 
and necessity of including within the district the particular 
lands under consideration and the benefits such land may receive 
from being included within the district, the relation of the 
proposed district to existing watersheds and agricultural 
regions and to other conservation districts already organized or 
proposed for organization, and such other physical, geographical 
and economic factors as are relevant, having due regard to the 
legislative policy set forth in W.S. 11-16-103. The territory 
included within the district need not be contiguous. If the 
commission determines there is no need for a conservation 
district to function in the territory considered at the hearing, 



it shall record such determination and deny the petition. Any 
owner of lands within a proposed district which is less than a 
countywide district may have his owned and leased lands excluded 
from the proposed district upon presentation of a petition and 
description of the lands to the commission not less than seven 
(7) days prior to the holding of the referendum for the 
organization of the district. 
 

11-16-110.  Canvass of ballots. 
 

(a)  Repealed by Laws 1998, ch. 115, § 5. 
 

(b)  Repealed by Laws 1987, ch. 21, § 3. 
 

(c)  Repealed by Laws 1998, ch. 115, § 5. 
 

(d)  Repealed by Laws 1987, ch. 21, § 3. 
 

(e)  Immediately after the polls close, the referendum 
officers shall canvass the ballots. The results disclosed by the 
canvass shall be certified by the commission. 
 

(f)  If a majority of the qualified electors voting in the 
referendum favor the formation of the district, the proposal to 
organize the proposed district shall carry and the commission 
shall proceed to make the determination required in W.S. 
11-16-112. If the majority of the qualified electors voting in 
the referendum are against the organization of the district, the 
proposal to form the district shall fail and the commission 
shall deny the petition. The commission shall promptly make 
public the result of the referendum. 
 

11-16-111.  Board of agriculture to provide for issuance of 
notices, conduct of hearings and referenda. 
 
The commission shall provide for the issuance of notices and the 
conduct of hearings and referenda by appropriate regulations. It 
shall provide for registration prior to the date of the 
referendum of all eligible voters, or prescribe some other 
appropriate procedure for the determination of those eligible as 
voters in the referendum. 
 

11-16-112.  Result of referendum; announcement; 
practicability of district; determination; criteria. 
 
After making public the result of the referendum, the commission 
shall consider and determine whether the operation of the 



district within the defined boundaries is administratively 
practicable. If the commission determines the operation of the 
district is not administratively practicable, it shall record 
the determination and deny the petition. If the commission 
determines that the operation of the district is 
administratively practicable, it shall record the determination 
and proceed with the organization of the district. In making the 
determination the commission shall give regard to the attitudes 
of the voters lying within the defined boundaries, the number of 
voters eligible to vote in the referendum who voted, the 
proportion of votes cast in favor of the creation of the 
district to the total number of votes cast, the approximate 
wealth and income of the owners of land of the proposed 
district, the probable expense of carrying on erosion-control 
operations within the district, and other economic and social 
factors as are relevant. 
 

11-16-113.  Establishment of district. 
 

(a)  If the commission determines the operation of the 
proposed district is administratively practicable, it shall 
appoint two (2) supervisors who are owners of land in the 
district to act with three (3) supervisors elected as provided 
hereinafter as the governing body of the district. The district 
shall be a governmental subdivision of this state and a public 
body corporate and politic. The two (2) appointed supervisors 
shall present to the secretary of state an application signed by 
them setting forth by recital only and not in detail: 
 

(i)  That a petition for the creation of the district 
was filed with the commission pursuant to the provisions of this 
act, and the proceedings specified in the act were taken 
pursuant to the petition; 
 

(ii)  That the application is filed to complete the 
organization of the district as a governmental subdivision and a 
public body, corporate and politic, under this act; 
 

(iii)  That the commission has appointed them as 
supervisors; 
 

(iv)  The name and official residence of each 
supervisor and a certified copy of the appointment evidencing 
his right to office; 
 

(v)  The term of office of each supervisor; 
 



(vi)  The name of the district; and 
 

(vii)  The location of the principal office of the 
supervisors of the district. 
 

(b)  The application shall be subscribed and sworn to by 
each supervisor before an officer authorized to administer 
oaths, who shall certify upon the application that he personally 
knows the supervisors and knows them to be the officers affirmed 
in the application, and that each has subscribed thereto in the 
officer's presence. The application shall be accompanied by a 
certified statement by the commission, setting forth the 
boundaries of the district but otherwise containing no detail 
other than the mere recitals that: 
 

(i)  A petition was filed, notice issued and hearing 
held as required by law; 
 

(ii)  The commission determined that there is need, in 
the interest of the public health, safety and welfare, for a 
conservation district to function in the proposed territory and 
did define the boundaries; 
 

(iii)  Notice was given and a referendum held on the 
question of the creation of such district; 
 

(iv)  The result of the referendum showed a majority 
of the votes cast in favor of the creation of the district; and 
 

(v)  The commission did determine the operation of the 
proposed district is administratively practicable. 
 

(c)  The secretary of state shall examine the application 
and statement and if he finds the name proposed for the district 
is not so similar to that of another conservation district as to 
cause confusion or uncertainty, he shall record them in an 
appropriate book in his office. If the secretary of state finds 
the name proposed for the district is so similar to that of any 
other conservation district of this state as to lead to 
confusion, he shall certify that fact to the commission, which 
shall submit a new name for the district which is not subject to 
such defects. Upon receipt of the new name the secretary of 
state shall record the application and statement, with the name 
so modified, in an appropriate book. When the application and 
statement have been made, filed and recorded, the district is a 
governmental subdivision of this state and a public body 
corporate and politic. The secretary of state shall issue to the 



supervisors a certificate, under the seal of the state, of the 
organization of the district, and shall record the certificate 
with the application and statement. The boundaries of the 
district shall include the territory determined by the 
commission, but shall not include any area included within the 
boundaries of another conservation district organized under this 
act. 
 

11-16-114.  Repealed by Laws 1998, ch. 115, § 5. 
 

11-16-115.  Districts; transfer of land; division or 
consolidation; change in name. 
 

(a)  Upon written request of the board of supervisors of 
the conservation district or districts involved, with a showing 
that the request is approved by a majority vote of the members 
of each board involved the commission may, by administrative 
order: 
 

(i)  Transfer lands from one district to another; 
 

(ii)  Divide a single district into two (2) or more 
districts, each of which shall thereafter operate as a separate 
district; or 
 

(iii)  Consolidate two (2) or more districts to 
operate thereafter as a single district. 
 

(b)  The secretary of state shall make and issue a 
corrected certificate of organization upon receipt of such 
certification from the commission. 
 

(c)  Petitions for a change in the name of a conservation 
district may be submitted to the commission by the board of 
supervisors of a conservation district. If the commission 
approves the change of name, it shall certify the change to the 
secretary of state and shall notify the board of supervisors of 
the conservation district of the change, setting out in the 
notice the new name of the district. The secretary of state 
shall make and issue a corrected certificate of organization 
upon receipt of such certification from the commission. 
 

11-16-116.  Districts; proof of organization. 
 
In any suit, action or proceeding relating to any action of the 
district, the district is deemed to have been established in 
accordance with this act upon proof of the issuance of the 



certificate by the secretary of state. A copy of the certificate 
certified by the secretary of state is admissible in evidence in 
any suit, action or proceeding and is proof of the filing and 
contents thereof. 
 

11-16-117.  Districts; termination; dissolution procedures; 
determination by board of agriculture; legal effects of 
dissolution. 
 

(a)  After five (5) years after the organization of a 
district under this act, any ten (10) owners of land lying 
within the district may petition the commission that the 
operations of the district be discontinued and the existence of 
the district terminated. The commission may conduct public 
meetings and hearings upon the petition as necessary in the 
consideration thereof. Within sixty (60) days after a petition 
has been filed with the commission, it shall give notice of a 
referendum as provided in the Special District Elections Act of 
1994. The commission shall supervise the referendum and issue 
appropriate regulations governing the conduct thereof. The 
question shall be submitted by ballots upon which the words "For 
terminating the existence of the .... (name of the conservation 
district to be here inserted)" and "Against terminating the 
existence of the .... (name of the conservation district to be 
here inserted)" shall appear, with a square before each 
proposition and a direction to insert an X mark in the square 
before one (1) or the other as the voter may favor or oppose 
dissolution of the district. Qualified electors of the district 
are eligible to vote in the referendum. No informalities in the 
conduct of the referendum or related matters shall invalidate 
the referendum or result if notice is given substantially as 
herein provided and the referendum is fairly conducted. 
 

(b)  The commission shall publish the result of the 
referendum. If a majority of the votes cast in the referendum 
oppose dissolution of the district, the commission shall 
determine whether the continued operation of the district within 
the defined boundaries is administratively practicable. If the 
commission determines the continued operation of the district is 
administratively practicable, it shall record its determination 
and deny the petition. If a majority of the votes cast favor 
dissolution of the district it shall certify that fact to the 
supervisors of the district. In making the determination of 
administrative practicality to continue the district the 
commission shall consider those factors set forth in W.S. 
11-16-112 for creation of the district. 
 



(c)  Upon receipt from the commission of a certification 
that the majority of votes cast in the referendum favor 
dissolution of the district, the supervisors shall forthwith 
terminate the affairs of the district. The supervisors shall 
dispose of all property belonging to the district at public 
auction and pay the net proceeds of the sales to the state 
treasurer. The supervisors shall thereupon file a verified 
application with the secretary of state for dissolution of the 
district, and shall transmit with the application the 
certificate of the commission that the majority of votes cast at 
the referendum favored dissolution of the district. The 
application shall recite that the property of the district has 
been disposed of and the proceeds paid over as provided by law, 
setting forth a full accounting of the properties and proceeds 
of sale. The secretary of state shall issue to the supervisors a 
certificate of dissolution and shall record the certificate in 
an appropriate book in his office. The secretary of state shall 
make no charge for any service required of him by this act. 
 

(d)  Upon issuance of a certificate of dissolution all 
ordinances and regulations adopted and in force within the 
district are void. All contracts to which the district or 
supervisors are parties remain in force and effect for the 
period provided in such contracts. The commission shall be 
substituted for the district or supervisors as party to the 
contracts. The commission is entitled to all benefits and 
subject to all liabilities under such contracts and has the same 
right and liability to perform, require performance, sue and be 
sued thereon, and to modify or terminate the contracts as the 
supervisors of the district would have had. Dissolution does not 
affect the lien of any judgment entered or the pendency of any 
action instituted under W.S. 11-16-126 [repealed], and the 
commission succeeds to all rights and obligations of the 
district or supervisors as to such liens and actions. 
 

11-16-118.  District supervisors; term; vacancies; 
expenses; removal; quorum; bond required of employees; areas 
included in district; cooperative agreement with city. 
 

(a)  The term of the two (2) supervisors appointed extends 
from their appointment until the second annual election held in 
the district. A supervisor shall hold office from his election 
or appointment and taking of the oath of office until his 
successor has been elected or appointed, and qualified. 
Vacancies shall be filled for the unexpired term. Vacancies in 
the office of any supervisor shall be filled by appointment by 
the commission upon the recommendations of the district 



supervisors, the appointee to serve until the next election at 
which time the vacancy shall be filled by the electors for the 
unexpired term. A supervisor shall receive no compensation for 
his services, but is entitled to expenses, including traveling 
expenses, necessarily incurred in the discharge of his duties. 
Any supervisor may be removed by the commission upon notice and 
hearing, for neglect of duty or malfeasance in office. 
 

(b)  A majority of the supervisors constitutes a quorum and 
the concurrence of three (3) supervisors is required for 
determination of any matter. 
 

(c)  The supervisors shall require a bond to be issued for 
all employees and officers entrusted with funds or property.  
The supervisors shall provide for keeping a full and accurate 
record of all proceedings, resolutions, regulations and orders 
issued or adopted.  The accounts, receipts and disbursements of 
the district shall be subject to the audit and reporting 
requirements set forth in W.S. 9-1-507(a)(iii). 
 

(d)  All cities, towns, villages or other urban and 
suburban areas lying wholly or partly within the exterior 
boundaries of a conservation district shall, from the effective 
date of this act, be included in the district. In doubtful 
cases, the commission shall determine the district which 
includes any urban or suburban area. 
 

(e)  By cooperative agreement with the city concerned, a 
district may perform within the boundaries of the city any work 
required or authorized under this act, through such 
administrative and financial arrangements as the city and the 
district agree upon. 
 

11-16-119.  District supervisors; nomination; 
qualifications; election; term. 
 
Within thirty (30) days after issuance by the secretary of state 
of a certificate of organization of a conservation district, 
applications for election under the Special District Elections 
Act of 1994 may be filed with the commission by candidates for 
supervisors, who shall be owners of land within the district. 
The commission may extend for not to exceed thirty (30) days the 
time within which applications may be filed. The commission 
shall give notice of an election to be held for the election of 
three (3) supervisors for the district. All qualified electors 
within the district are eligible to vote. The three (3) 
supervisors first elected shall draw lots, one (1) for a term of 



two (2) years, and two (2) for a term of three (3) years. 
Thereafter supervisors shall be elected each year to serve for a 
full term of three (3) years. The number of supervisors elected 
each year shall be determined by the number of supervisors whose 
terms expire at that time. The commission shall provide for all 
elections, supervise the conduct thereof, and prescribe 
regulations governing the conduct of all elections, and shall 
make public the result thereof. 
 

11-16-120.  District supervisors; elections under Election 
Code and for new districts. 
 

(a)  District supervisors shall be elected in subsequent 
elections under the Special District Elections Act of 1994 and 
as hereinafter provided for new districts: 
 

(i)  At the first subsequent director election 
following establishment of a new district, five (5) supervisors, 
who reside within the district shall be elected at large by a 
nonpartisan ballot. Three (3) supervisors shall be rural 
residents, one (1) shall be a resident of an urban area and one 
(1) shall be elected at large. At the first subsequent director 
election, the at large candidate receiving the largest number of 
votes shall be elected for a four (4) year term, the urban 
candidate receiving the largest number of votes shall be elected 
for a four (4) year term, the rural candidate receiving the 
largest number of votes shall serve a four (4) year term and the 
two (2) candidates receiving the next highest number of votes 
shall be elected for two (2) year terms. In succeeding elections 
all supervisors shall be elected for four (4) year terms. 
 

(ii)  Repealed by Laws 1998, ch. 115, § 5. 
 

11-16-121.  District supervisor; cooperation and agreements 
between districts; agreements with districts in adjoining 
states. 
 

(a)  The supervisors of two (2) or more districts organized 
under this act may cooperate in the exercise of any or all 
powers conferred in this act. 
 

(b)  Any two (2) or more districts may engage in joint 
activities by agreement for planning, financing, constructing, 
operating, maintaining and administering any program or project 
concerned with the conservation of renewable natural resources. 
The districts concerned may make available for purposes of the 



agreement any funds, property, personnel, equipment or services 
available to them under this act. 
 

(c)  Any district may enter into such agreements with 
districts in an adjoining state if the law in the other state 
permits such agreements. 
 

(d)  The commission may propose, guide and facilitate the 
establishment and carrying out of such agreements. 
 

11-16-122.  Powers and duties of districts and supervisors 
thereof generally. 
 

(a)  Each conservation district organized under this act 
shall make an annual estimate of the funds required by the 
district for conservation programs and present a certified copy 
of the estimate, along with a budget showing all anticipated 
income and expenses, to the county commissioners.  District 
supervisors shall administer the finances of the district 
according to the provisions of the Uniform Municipal Fiscal 
Procedures Act, except that an annual audit in accordance with 
W.S. 16-4-121 is not required.  Each district shall comply with 
the provisions of W.S. 9-1-507(a)(iii). 
 

(b)  A conservation district organized under this act and 
the supervisors thereof, in addition to other powers granted by 
this act, may: 
 

(i)  Employ personnel and determine their duties and 
conditions of employment; 
 

(ii)  Call upon the attorney general of the state for 
legal services or employ their own counsel and legal staff; 
 

(iii)  Delegate to their chairman, to one (1) or more 
supervisors or to one (1) or more agents or employees such 
delegable powers and duties as they deem proper; 
 

(iv)  Furnish to the state conservation commission 
upon request, copies of ordinances, rules, regulations, orders, 
contracts, forms and other documents they adopt or employ, and 
such other information concerning their activities as it may 
require and to the county clerk copies of ordinances, rules, 
regulations and orders it adopts in accordance with law; 
 

(v)  Conduct surveys, investigations and research and 
disseminate information relating to range management, the 



character of soil erosion, flood prevention or the conservation, 
development, utilization and disposal of water, and the 
preventive and control measures and works of improvement needed, 
but in order to avoid duplication of research activities, no 
district shall initiate any research program except in 
cooperation with the government of this state or its agencies, 
or with the United States or its agencies; 
 

(vi)  Conduct demonstration projects within the 
district on lands owned or controlled by this state or its 
agencies, with the cooperation of the agency administering and 
having jurisdiction thereof, and on other lands within the 
district with the consent of the owner or occupier of the lands, 
to demonstrate range management practices, the means, methods 
and measures by which soil and soil resources may be conserved, 
and soil erosion in the form of soil blowing and washing may be 
prevented and controlled and works of improvement for flood 
prevention or the conservation, development, utilization and 
disposal of water may be carried out; 
 

(vii)  Carry out preventive and control measures and 
works of improvement within the district, including engineering 
operations, range management, methods of cultivation, the 
growing of grass or other vegetation, changes in use of land or 
any measure which may be developed for the control of erosion 
and better use of soil, and works of improvement for flood 
prevention or the conservation, development, utilization and 
disposal of water on lands owned or controlled by this state or 
its agencies, with the cooperation of the agency administering 
and having jurisdiction thereof, or on other lands within the 
district with the consent of the owner or occupier of the lands; 
 

(viii)  Cooperate, including but not limited to 
representing the conservation district as a cooperating agency 
with special expertise as provided by the National Environmental 
Policy Act and in federal land planning implementation as 
provided in W.S. 11-16-135(a), enter into agreements with and 
furnish financial or other aid to, any agency, governmental or 
otherwise, or any owner or occupier of lands within the 
district, in carrying on range management or erosion control and 
prevention operations and works of improvement for flood 
prevention or the conservation, development, utilization and 
disposal of water within the district, subject to such 
conditions as the supervisors deem necessary; 
 

(ix)  Repealed by Laws 1987, ch. 21, § 3. 
 



(x)  Repealed by Laws 1987, ch. 21, § 3. 
 

(xi)  Repealed by Laws 1987, ch. 21, § 3. 
 

(xii)  Repealed by Laws 1987, ch. 21, § 3. 
 

(xiii)  Repealed by Laws 1987, ch. 21, § 3. 
 

(xiv)  Make available on terms it prescribes, to 
owners and occupiers of land within the district, agricultural 
and engineering machinery and equipment, fertilizer, seeds and 
seedlings, male breeding animals, livestock supplies and such 
other material or equipment as will assist the owners and 
occupiers of land to carry on operations upon their lands and 
upon those owned or leased by the district, for range 
improvement and stabilization, the conservation of soil and 
water resources, the prevention and control of soil erosion and 
for flood prevention or the conservation, development, 
utilization and disposal of water. The assistance authorized by 
this paragraph shall be on a limited scale for demonstration 
purposes and the district shall not be deemed authorized to 
compete with private industry; 
 

(xv)  Repealed by Laws 1987, ch. 21, § 3. 
 

(xvi)  Develop and implement comprehensive resource 
use and management plans for range improvement and 
stabilization, conservation of soil, water and vegetative 
resources, control and prevention of soil erosion and for flood 
prevention or the conservation, development, utilization and 
disposal of water within the district, which plans shall include 
range management provisions and shall specify in detail the 
acts, procedures, performances and avoidances necessary or 
desirable to carry out the plans, including the specification of 
engineering operation, fence and stockwater developments, 
methods of cultivation, the growing of grass and other 
vegetation, cropping and range programs, tillage and grazing 
practices, and changes in use of lands. In developing plans 
under this paragraph, the supervisors of the district shall 
consider the customs and culture of residents of the district as 
those customs and culture relate to the land and resource, 
current and historical information and data related to the uses 
of the land and resource; 
 

(xvii)  Make public the plans and information and 
bring them to the attention of owners and occupiers of land 
within the district; 



 
(xviii)  Repealed by Laws 1987, ch. 21, § 3. 

 
(xix)  Manage, as agent of the United States or any of 

its agencies, and enter into agreements with the United States 
or any of its agencies, or this state or any of its agencies, to 
effect cooperation with the United States or any of its agencies 
under United States Public Law 566 approved August 4, 1954, or 
amendments thereto, in connection with the acquisition, 
construction, operation or administration of any land 
utilization, soil conservation, erosion control, erosion 
prevention, flood prevention projects, conservation of water, 
water utilization, disposal of water in watershed areas and 
other water projects within its boundaries; 
 

(xx)  Act as representative for local groups in 
dealing with the United States or its representatives, in soil 
or water conservation matters under United States Public Law 566 
approved August 4, 1954, or amendments thereto; 
 

(xxi)  Accept donations, gifts and contributions in 
money, services, materials or otherwise from any source which 
will impose no financial obligation upon the state, and use or 
expend the monies, services, materials or contributions in 
carrying on its operations; 
 

(xxii)  Sue and be sued in the name of the district; 
 

(xxiii)  Have a seal, which shall be judicially 
noticed; 
 

(xxiv)  Have perpetual succession unless terminated as 
hereinafter provided; 
 

(xxv)  Make and execute contracts and other 
instruments necessary to the exercise of its powers; 
 

(xxvi)  Make, amend and repeal rules and regulations 
not inconsistent with this act, to implement its purposes and 
powers; 
 

(xxvii)  As a condition to extending any benefits to 
or performance of work upon any land not owned or controlled by 
the state or its agencies, require contributions in money, 
services, materials or otherwise to any operations conferring 
benefits and require owners and occupiers of land to enter into 
and perform such agreements or covenants as to the permanent use 



of such lands as will prevent or control erosion and prevent 
flood water and sediment damages thereon and promote the best 
use of such lands; 
 

(xxviii)  The supervisors of a conservation district 
which has officially adopted a comprehensive plan pursuant to 
W.S. 11-16-122(b)(xvi) may coordinate with federal agencies as 
provided in the Federal Land Policy and Management Act of 1976, 
the Forest and Rangeland Renewable Resources Planning Act of 
1974, as amended by the national Forest Management Act of 1976 
and any other federal statute which provides for coordination 
with local governments and federal regulations adopted pursuant 
to those acts. 
 

(c)  A conservation district shall not purchase or hold 
title to farm lands as defined by W.S. 11-34-101(a)(ii). 
 

11-16-123.  Applicability of provisions concerning other 
agencies; validity of contracts of supervisors. 
 

(a)  No provisions with respect to the acquisition, 
operation or disposition of property by other public bodies are 
applicable to a district organized hereunder unless the 
legislature shall specifically so state. 
 

(b)  No contract of the district supervisors for the 
payment of money is valid unless the supervisors have at the 
time the contract is made funds in cash, securities or deposits 
sufficient for the payment thereof. 
 

11-16-124.  Administration of oaths by secretary or 
treasurer of district. 
 
The secretary or treasurer of the district are severally 
authorized to administer oaths within their district in any 
matter pertaining to the business of their district where an 
oath is required by law. 
 

11-16-125.  Repealed by Laws 1987, ch. 21, § 3. 
 

11-16-126.  Repealed by Laws 1987, ch. 21, § 3. 
 

11-16-127.  Repealed by Laws 1987, ch. 21, § 3. 
 

11-16-128.  Repealed by Laws 1987, ch. 21, § 3. 
 

11-16-129.  Repealed by Laws 1987, ch. 21, § 3. 



 
11-16-130.  Repealed by Laws 1987, ch. 21, § 3. 

 
11-16-131.  Repealed by Laws 1987, ch. 21, § 3. 

 
11-16-132.  Publicly owned lands to be administered in 

cooperation with districts. 
 
Agencies of the state, county or any political subdivision of 
the state which have jurisdiction over or are charged with the 
administration of any state, county or other publicly owned 
lands lying within the boundaries of any district organized 
hereunder, shall cooperate to the fullest extent with the 
supervisors of the district to effect the programs and 
operations undertaken by the supervisors under this act and may 
lease such lands to a district. The supervisors of the districts 
shall be given free access to enter and perform work upon the 
publicly owned lands. The provisions of conservation ordinances 
have the force and effect of law over all publicly owned lands, 
and shall be in all respects observed by the agencies 
administering the lands. 
 

11-16-133.  Tax levied on property in district; maximum 
amount; soil and water conservation fund; other appropriation 
authorized. 
 

(a)  Subject to W.S. 11-16-134, the county commissioners 
may annually levy a tax to carry out this act. The tax shall be 
levied upon all property in the district and shall not exceed 
one (1) mill on each one dollar ($1.00) of assessed valuation.  
The tax is not part of the general county or city mill levies.  
The tax shall be levied and  collected as other county taxes and 
the county treasurer shall remit the taxes collected to the 
district to a separate fund to be known as the conservation 
district fund, which shall be used only to carry out the 
purposes of this act. 
 

(b)  Whether or not a tax levy is authorized under W.S. 
11-16-134, each board of county commissioners may make 
appropriations from the county general fund to districts 
established under this act for the purpose of providing soil and 
water conservation programs. 
 

11-16-134.  Imposition of tax; vote of electors required. 
 

(a)  No tax shall be imposed under W.S. 11-16-133 until the 
proposition to impose the tax is submitted to a vote of the 



voters of the district and a majority of those casting their 
ballots vote in favor of imposing the tax.  Any tax imposed 
under this act shall be levied in the year following the 
election at which the imposition of the tax is approved. 
 

(b)  The proposition to impose a tax under this act shall 
be at the expense of the county and may be submitted to the 
voters of the county upon the receipt by the board of county 
commissioners of a petition requesting the election signed by a 
majority of the supervisors of the district.  The election shall 
be at the direction and under the supervision of the board of 
county commissioners. 
 

(c)  Subject to the limitation of subsection (b) of this 
section, the proposition to impose a tax under this act shall be 
submitted on an election date authorized under W.S. 22-21-103, 
or by mail ballot pursuant to W.S. 22-29-115 and 22-29-116. A 
notice of election shall be given by the county clerk in at 
least one (1) newspaper of general circulation published in the 
county wherein the election is to be held and shall specify the 
object of the election.  The notice shall be published at least 
once each week for a thirty (30) day period preceding the 
election.  At the election the ballots shall contain the words 
"for the conservation district tax" and "against the 
conservation district tax".  Upon the initial submission of the 
conservation district tax, or any renewal thereof, after July 1, 
1995, the conservation district board of supervisors shall 
choose one (1) of the following options and the words of the 
chosen option shall be clearly printed in the appropriate area 
on the election ballot: 
 

(i)  If this proposition is approved, the same 
proposition shall be submitted at the second following general 
election or by mail ballot pursuant to W.S. 22-29-115 and 
22-29-116, and thereafter at succeeding general elections or by 
mail ballot pursuant to W.S. 22-29-115 and 22-29-116, every four 
(4) years until the proposition is defeated; or 
 

(ii)  If this proposition is approved, the tax shall 
remain in effect until a petition to discontinue the tax, signed 
by not less than ten percent (10%) of the voters of the 
district, is received by the board of county commissioners, and 
the proposal to discontinue the tax is approved by the voters.  
The proposal to discontinue the tax shall be submitted to the 
voters of the district at the expense of the county at the next 
general election or by mail ballot pursuant to W.S. 22-29-115 
and 22-29-116 for approval or disapproval. 



 
11-16-135.  Special expertise of supervisors of 

conservation districts. 
 
When representing a conservation district as a cooperating 
agency in matters related to the National Environmental Policy 
Act and in federal land planning, implementation and management 
actions, supervisors of a conservation district shall be deemed 
to have special expertise on all subject matters for which they 
have statutory responsibility as provided in W.S. 11-16-122, 
including but not limited to all subject matters directly or 
indirectly related to stabilization of the agriculture industry, 
protection of natural resources including but not limited to 
data and information, conservation of soil and water resources, 
control and prevention of soil erosion, flood prevention or the 
conservation, development, utilization and disposal of water 
within the district. 
 

CHAPTER 17 - LIVESTOCK REMEDIES 
 

ARTICLE 1 - LIVESTOCK REMEDIES GENERALLY 
 

11-17-101.  Repealed By Laws 2011, Ch. 98, § 2. 
 

11-17-102.  Repealed By Laws 2011, Ch. 98, § 2. 
 

11-17-103.  Repealed By Laws 2011, Ch. 98, § 2. 
 

11-17-104.  Repealed By Laws 2011, Ch. 98, § 2. 
 

11-17-105.  Repealed By Laws 2011, Ch. 98, § 2. 
 

11-17-106.  Repealed By Laws 2011, Ch. 98, § 2. 
 

11-17-107.  Repealed By Laws 2011, Ch. 98, § 2. 
 

11-17-108.  Repealed By Laws 2011, Ch. 98, § 2. 
 

ARTICLE 2 - ANIMAL REMEDIES 
 

11-17-201.  Short title. 
 
This article is known and may be cited as the "Wyoming Animal 
Remedies Act." 
 

11-17-202.  Definitions; exemptions. 
 



(a)  As used in this article: 
 

(i)  "Advertisement" means any representation, other 
than on the label, disseminated in any manner or by any means, 
relating to animal remedies as defined in this article; 
 

(ii)  "Animal" means any animate being, which is not 
human, endowed with the power of voluntary action; 
 

(iii)  "Animal remedy" means any drug, combination of 
drugs, proprietary medicine, biological product and combinations 
of drugs and other ingredients, other than for food or cosmetic 
purposes, which is prepared or compounded for animal use, except 
as exempted by the director; 
 

(iv)  "Antimicrobial resistance" means the result of 
microbes changing in ways that reduce or eliminate the 
effectiveness of drugs, chemicals or other agents intended to 
cure or prevent infections; 
 

(v)  "Brand name" means any word, name, symbol or 
device, or any combination thereof, identifying the animal 
remedy of a distributor or registrant and distinguishing it from 
that of others; 
 

(vi)  "Department" means the Wyoming department of 
agriculture; 
 

(vii)  "Director" means the director of the Wyoming 
department of agriculture; 
 

(viii)  "Distribute" means to offer for sale, sell, 
exchange or barter any animal remedy; 
 

(ix)  "Distributor" means any person who distributes 
animal remedies; 
 

(x)  "Dosage form" means an animal remedy prepared in 
tablets, pills, capsules, ampules, boluses or other units 
suitable for administration as an animal remedy; 
 

(xi)  "Drug" means an animal remedy: 
 

(A)  Recognized in the official United States 
pharmacopoeia, the official United States homeopathic 
pharmacopoeia, the official national formulary, or any 
supplement to any of these publications; 



 
(B)  Recognized by the United States food and 

drug administration; 
 

(C)  Intended for use in the diagnosis, cure, 
mitigation, treatment or prevention of disease in animals; 
 

(D)  Prepared for external or internal use in the 
mitigation of parasites in or on animals; 
 

(E)  Intended to affect the structure or any 
function of the body of animals; 
 

(F)  Intended for use as a component of any 
combined animal remedy specified in subparagraphs (A) through 
(E) of this paragraph. 
 

(xii)  "Drug" does not include a device or its 
components, parts or accessories; 
 

(xiii)  "Label" means a display of written, printed or 
graphic matter upon or affixed to the immediate container of any 
animal remedy; 
 

(xiv)  "Labeling" means any label and other written, 
printed or graphic matter upon an animal remedy and any of its 
containers or wrappers accompanying the animal remedy.  
"Labeling" also includes any advertisement or brochure promoting 
the animal remedy including but not limited to television, 
internet, other electronic medium or pamphlets; 
 

(xv)  "Medicated feed" means commercial or custom feed 
which contains drug ingredients intended for the cure, 
mitigation, treatment or prevention of diseases of animals or 
which contains drug ingredients intended to affect the structure 
or any function of the body of animals; 
 

(xvi)  "Official sample" means any sample of an animal 
remedy taken by and designated as official by the director or 
his agent; 
 

(xvii)  "Product name" means the name of the animal 
remedy which identifies it as to kind, class or specific use; 
 

(xviii)  "Registrant" means the person who registers 
animal remedies under the provisions of this article.  The 
registrant may also be the distributor; 



 
(xix)  "This act" means W.S. 11-17-201 through 

11-17-209. 
 

(b)  Nothing in this article shall apply to: 
 

(i)  A medicated feed; 
 

(ii)  A product registered with the department and 
recognized as a pesticide; 
 

(iii)  Any animal remedy intended solely for 
investigational, experimental or laboratory use by qualified 
persons, provided the animal remedy is plainly labeled "for 
investigational use only"; 
 

(iv)  Any person licensed to practice veterinary 
medicine in Wyoming, when acting within the scope of that 
license. 
 

11-17-203.  Powers and duties of the director; promulgation 
of rules; interagency cooperation. 
 

(a)  The director shall enforce the provisions of this 
article and may prescribe the form of tags, stamps or labels to 
be used to show that the registration has been properly filed. 
 

(b)  The director may refuse to register any application 
not in compliance with this article and may cancel any 
registration subsequently found not to be in compliance with the 
law.  No registration shall be refused or cancelled until the 
registrant has been given an opportunity to be heard before the 
director and to amend his application in order to bring the 
application into compliance. 
 

(c)  The director may sample any animal remedy as he deems 
necessary. 
 

(d)  The director shall conduct any investigation he deems 
necessary to enforce this article. 
 

(e)  The director may refuse the registration of any animal 
remedy if available facts indicate that the product proposed is 
of negligible or no value for correcting, alleviating or 
mitigating animal injuries or diseases for which it is intended, 
or the director may suspend or revoke any use for flagrant 
violation of this article. 



 
(f)  The director may determine whether a manufacturer or 

distributor shall be registered under the commercial feed or an 
animal remedy law. 
 

(g)  The director shall cause animal remedies, which are 
found or believed not to comply with this article to be withheld 
from sale pending compliance with this article. 
 

(h)  Whenever the director or his authorized agent finds or 
has reasonable cause to believe an animal remedy is adulterated 
or misbranded under any provision of W.S. 11-17-207(d), he shall 
affix to the animal remedy a tag or other appropriate marking, 
giving notice that the animal remedy is, or is suspected of 
being, adulterated or misbranded and has been detained and 
warning all persons not to dispose of the animal remedy in any 
manner until permission is given by the director or the court.  
Any animal remedy suspected of being adulterated or misbranded 
may be removed from display by the manufacturer or vendor, but 
shall be left on the premises.  No person shall dispose of a 
detained animal remedy in violation of this section. 
 

(j)  If an animal remedy detained pursuant to subsection 
(g) or (h) of this section is found, after examination and 
analysis, to be adulterated or misbranded, the director may 
petition the judge of any court of competent jurisdiction in 
whose jurisdiction the animal remedy is detained for an order to 
condemn the animal remedy.  If the director finds that the 
detained animal remedy is not adulterated or misbranded he shall 
remove the tag or marking. 
 

(k)  The director may promulgate rules and regulations for 
animal remedies necessary for the efficient enforcement of this 
article.  Procedures for promulgation shall be those outlined in 
the Wyoming Administrative Procedure Act. 
 

(m)  The director may cooperate with and enter into 
agreements with other Wyoming agencies including the state 
veterinarian, other states and agencies of the federal 
government in order to carry out the purpose and provisions of 
this article. 
 

11-17-204.  Registration; fees; audit; investigator special 
revenue account. 
 

(a)  Any manufacturer of animal remedies, except the United 
States department of agriculture, shall register each product 



before distribution in Wyoming.  The application for 
registration shall be submitted on forms furnished by the 
director and shall be accompanied by a label or other printed 
matter describing the product.  Upon approval by the director or 
his agent, a copy of the registration shall be furnished to the 
applicant.  All registrations are effective from the date of 
approval and expire on December 31 each year. 
 

(b)  Every registrant of animal remedies shall pay a 
registration fee of forty dollars ($40.00) per product. Of this 
fee, twenty dollars ($20.00) shall be deposited into the general 
fund and twenty dollars ($20.00) shall be deposited into the 
inspection account. 
 

(c)  An applicant may appeal the denial of a registration 
in accordance with the Wyoming Administrative Procedure Act. 
 

(d)  The department may conduct a product compliance audit 
to assure compliance of this article.  The audit shall consist 
of label and registration reviews.  A registrant may appeal any 
negative audit in accordance with the Wyoming Administrative 
Procedure Act. 
 

11-17-205.  Labeling. 
 

(a)  Any animal remedy distributed in Wyoming shall be 
accompanied by a legible label bearing the following 
information: 
 

(i)  The name and principal address of the 
manufacturer or person responsible for placing the animal remedy 
on the market; 
 

(ii)  The name, brand or trade-mark under which the 
animal remedy is sold; 
 

(iii)  An accurate statement of the minimum net 
contents of the package, lot or parcel, the contents stated by 
weight in the case of solids, by volume in the case of liquids, 
and by both count and weight or volume per dose in the case of 
dosage forms; 
 

(iv)  The common or usual name and quantity of each 
active ingredient; 
 

(v)  Adequate directions for use; 
 



(vi)  Adequate warnings against use in conditions, 
whether pathological or normal, where its use may be dangerous 
to the health of animals, or against unsafe dosage, methods or 
duration of methods, administration, or application, in such 
manner and form, as are necessary for the protection of animals. 
 

(b)  Any word, statement or other information appearing on 
the label shall also appear on the outside container or wrapper, 
if any, of the retail package of the animal remedy or shall be 
easily legible through the outside container or wrapper of the 
animal remedy. 
 

11-17-206.  Professional supervision required for 
preparation and packaging of remedies. 
 

(a)  No person shall compound, manufacture, make, produce, 
pack, package or prepare within Wyoming any animal remedy to be 
offered for sale or distribution unless the compounding, 
manufacture, making, producing, packaging, packing or preparing 
is done with adequate equipment under the supervision of a 
licensed veterinarian, a graduate chemist, a licensed 
pharmacist, a licensed physician or some other person as may be 
approved by the director after an investigation and a 
determination by the director that he is qualified by scientific 
or technical training or by experience to perform the duties of 
supervision as may be necessary to protect animal health and 
public safety. 
 

(b)  No person shall make a claim that an animal remedy is 
antimicrobial resistant without verification and support 
documentation of the American Veterinary Medical Association. 
 

11-17-207.  Right of access to establishments and 
information relating to manufacturing; sampling and analysis. 
 

(a)  The director or his agent shall have access during 
normal business hours to any establishment or facility in which 
an animal remedy is manufactured, transported or held for 
distribution and to information relating to the manufacture, 
transportation and distribution of the animal remedy for 
purposes of sampling and inspection. 
 

(b)  Any method of sampling and analysis shall be as 
approved by the director from current established methods. In 
any case not covered by an approved method, or in any case where 
methods are available in which improved applicability has been 
demonstrated, the director may approve the appropriate methods 



from other sources.  The director, in determining whether an 
animal remedy is deficient in any component, shall be guided 
solely by the official sample analyzed in accordance with 
approved methods.  For purposes of this article, the results of 
official analysis shall be final, unless it is determined by the 
director that a resample is warranted.  If a distributor or 
registrant requests a resample of an animal remedy based upon 
the director's findings of a deficiency, all costs associated 
with the resampling and analysis shall be borne by the 
distributor or registrant.  If the results of the resampling 
establish the result of the first analysis was invalid, the 
department shall bear the costs associated with the resampling.  
Any requests for a resample to the director shall be made in 
writing. 
 

(c)  The director shall make or cause to be made under his 
direction, analysis and examinations of samples of animal 
remedies furnished to him by the director to determine whether 
the animal remedy sampled conforms with this article and shall 
certify the results of the examinations to the director. 
 

(d)  When the inspection and analysis of an official sample 
indicates an animal remedy has been adulterated or misbranded, 
the results of analysis shall be forwarded by the director to 
the distributor and the purchaser. 
 

(e)  Any animal remedy that is manufactured and distributed 
under registration from and under the supervision of the United 
States department of agriculture, and in compliance with the 
regulations of that department shall not be considered 
adulterated or misbranded. 
 

(f)  An animal remedy shall be deemed to be misbranded 
under the following circumstances: 
 

(i)  It is not properly labeled; 
 

(ii)  It is not labeled as required in W.S. 11-17-205 
and in regulations promulgated under this article; 
 

(iii)  If the label is false or misleading; 
 

(iv)  If the information required on the label is not 
conspicuous and clear and if any word, statement or other 
information required to appear on the label is not prominently 
placed conspicuously on the label, as compared with other words, 
statements, designs or devices in the labeling and in such 



terms, as to render it likely to be read and understood by the 
ordinary individual under customary conditions of purchase and 
use; 
 

(v)  It is distributed under the name of another 
animal remedy; 
 

(vi)  If the recommended dosage is dangerous to the 
health of animals when used in the dosage or with the frequency 
or duration prescribed, recommended or suggested in the labeling 
of the animal remedy. 
 

(g)  An animal remedy shall be deemed to be adulterated if: 
 

(i)  It consists in whole or in part of any filthy, 
putrid or decomposed substance; 
 

(ii)  It bears or contains any poisonous or 
deleterious substance which may render it injurious to health 
under customary or usual use; 
 

(iii)  Its container is composed of any injurious or 
deleterious substance which may render the animal remedy 
injurious to health; 
 

(iv)  It was prepared, packed or held under unsanitary 
conditions where the animal remedy may have become contaminated 
with filth or where the animal remedy may have been rendered 
injurious to animal health; 
 

(v)  Its composition, purity, strength or quality 
falls below or differs from that which it is purported or is 
represented to possess by its labeling.  The director shall 
allow a reasonable tolerance from such representation as is in 
accordance with good manufacturing practices. 
 

(h)  No person shall forge, counterfeit, simulate or 
falsely represent or without proper authority use, any mark, 
stamp, tag, label or other identification device required by 
W.S. 11-17-205. 
 

(j)  No person shall alter, mutilate, destroy, obliterate 
or remove any part of the labeling of any animal remedy if the 
act results in the animal remedy being misbranded, or do any 
other act, while the animal remedy is being held for sale, which 
results in the misbranding of the animal remedy. 
 



(k)  All provisions for enforcement of animal remedies 
found to be short weight shall be administered by the department 
under W.S. 40-10-117 through 40-10-136 of the Wyoming weights 
and measures law. 
 

11-17-208.  Warning to distributor; seizure and order of 
disposition; application for release; hearing. 
 

(a)  When the director or his authorized agent finds that 
an animal remedy is mislabeled, misbranded or adulterated, or 
that it does not conform to its label guarantee, he may issue a 
written statement warning the distributor or registrant that the 
animal remedy is considered to be in violation of the law.  This 
statement is a warning only to the distributor or registrant 
that if the animal remedy is distributed further the director 
may pursue further action.  If the distributor, registrant or 
manufacturer heeds the warning and corrects the violation within 
the time allowed by the director, no further action shall be 
taken. 
 

(b)  If it appears that any manufacturer, distributor, 
registrant or any other person responsible for animal remedies 
has not corrected the reason for the warning in subsection (a) 
of this section or has violated this article, the director shall 
cause notice to be given to the manufacturer, distributor, 
registrant or person that a hearing will be had at a date and 
place named in the notice.  The director or his authorized agent 
shall hold a hearing in accordance with the Wyoming 
Administrative Procedure Act. If the manufacturer, distributor, 
registrant or person fails to appear at the time and place 
designated in the notice, the director or his authorized agent 
shall conduct the hearing as though the manufacturer, 
distributor, registrant or person were present.  If it is 
established by the hearing to the satisfaction of the director 
that prosecution is warranted the director shall provide to the 
Wyoming attorney general: 
 

(i)  A certification of the facts; 
 

(ii)  An official report of the result of the hearing; 
and 
 

(iii)  A copy of the analysis or other examination 
which bears on the case. 
 

(c)  Any lot of an animal remedy not in compliance with 
requirements of laws or regulations is subject to seizure on 



complaint of the director to a court of competent jurisdiction 
in the county in which the animal remedy is located.  If the 
court finds the animal remedy in violation and orders the 
condemnation of the animal remedy, it shall be disposed of in 
any manner consistent with the quality of the animal remedy and 
the laws of Wyoming.  In no instance shall the disposition of 
the animal remedy be ordered by the court without first giving 
the manufacturer, distributor or registrant an opportunity to 
apply to the court for release of the animal remedy or for 
permission to process or relabel the animal remedy to bring it 
into compliance with the law. 
 

11-17-209.  Prohibited acts; penalty; additional sanctions. 
 

(a)  It is unlawful for any person to: 
 

(i)  Sell or distribute in Wyoming any animal remedy 
without having attached or furnished such stamps, labels or tags 
as required by this article; 
 

(ii)  Impede, prevent or attempt to prevent the 
director or his agent in the performance of his lawful duties; 
 

(iii)  Sell, offer for sale or distribute in Wyoming 
any animal remedy without complying with the requirements of 
this article; 
 

(iv)  Sell or distribute in Wyoming any animal remedy 
when the manufacturer or distributor is not registered with the 
department as required by this article; 
 

(v)  Manufacture, sell, deliver, hold or offer for 
sale any animal remedy that is adulterated or misbranded; 
 

(vi)  Give a guaranty which is false, except a person 
who relied on a guaranty to the same effect signed by, and 
containing the name and address of the person from whom he 
received the animal remedy in good faith; 
 

(vii)  Disseminate any advertisement which is false or 
misleading in any respect, but no person or medium for the 
dissemination of any advertisement, except the manufacturer, 
packer, distributor, or seller of the animal remedy to which a 
false advertisement relates, is subject to the penalties for 
violations of this article, by reason of the dissemination by 
him of the false advertisement, unless he refused, on the 
request of the director to furnish the name and address of the 



manufacturer, packer, distributor, seller or advertising agency 
which caused him to disseminate the advertisement; 
 

(viii)  Sell or offer to sell any biological product 
that has not been kept in refrigeration under conditions 
prescribed by the rules and regulations promulgated and adopted 
by the director. 
 

(b)  Any person violating any provision of W.S. 11-17-201 
through 11-17-209 or rules or regulations thereunder is guilty 
of a misdemeanor and upon conviction shall be fined not more 
than five hundred dollars ($500.00) or imprisoned in the county 
jail for not more than one (1) year, or both, for the first 
offense, and upon conviction for a subsequent offense shall be 
fined not more than one thousand dollars ($1,000.00) or 
imprisoned in the county jail for not more than one (1) year, or 
both.  Any offense committed more than three (3) years after a 
previous conviction shall be considered a first offense. 
 

(c)  In addition to the penalty provided in subsection (b) 
of this section, the distribution of any animal remedy mixed or 
adulterated with any substance injurious to animals is subject 
to seizure and condemnation as the court may direct.  The court 
may in its discretion release the animal remedy seized when the 
requirements of law have been complied with, and upon payment of 
all costs and expenses incurred by the state in any proceedings 
connected with the seizure. 
 

CHAPTER 18 - LIVESTOCK BOARD AND STATE VETERINARIAN 
 

11-18-101.  Livestock board; creation; composition; 
qualifications; appointment and term of members; removal; 
vacancies; name defined. 
 

(a)  The Wyoming livestock board is created and shall 
consist of seven (7) livestock producers. At least three (3) 
members shall be sheep producers and at least three (3) shall be 
cattle producers, provided that if a vacancy exists on the board 
and no person meeting all the qualifications of this section is 
available then any livestock producer within the appointment 
district may be appointed. Members shall be appointed by the 
governor with the advice and consent of the senate and may be 
removed by the governor  as provided in W.S. 9-1-202. The 
members shall be appointed from each of the appointment 
districts pursuant to W.S. 9-1-218 and the appointment for each 
district shall be rotated among the counties within the 
district. The members shall serve for one (1) six (6) year term 



and until their successors are appointed and qualified. In case 
of a vacancy for any reason, the governor shall appoint a 
qualified person to fill the vacancy in accordance with W.S. 
28-12-101. Each member of the Wyoming livestock board shall be a 
qualified elector of the county from which he is appointed and a 
resident of this state during his term of office. 
 

(b)  The name, "Wyoming livestock and sanitary board" 
wherever it appears in any statute, law or regulation of record 
in this state or in any other document now in force and effect 
means "Wyoming livestock board." All powers, duties and 
prerogatives having accrued by law to the former livestock and 
sanitary board is hereafter vested in the Wyoming livestock 
board. 
 

(c)  Appointments and terms under this section shall be in 
accordance with W.S. 28-12-101 through 28-12-103. 
 

11-18-102.  Livestock board; duties generally. 
 
The Wyoming livestock board shall exercise general supervision 
over and protect the livestock interests of the state from theft 
and disease, and shall recommend legislation as in its judgment 
will foster the industry. 
 

11-18-103.  Livestock board; powers generally. 
 

(a)  In addition to powers and duties hereinafter provided, 
the Wyoming livestock board shall: 
 

(i)  Appoint a state veterinarian who is a graduate of 
a veterinary college recognized by the American Veterinary 
Medical Association and the Wyoming state board of veterinary 
medicine and licensed to practice in Wyoming and who shall serve 
at the pleasure of the board; 
 

(ii)  Consult with the state veterinarian when the 
state veterinarian appoints deputy state veterinarians. Any 
deputy state veterinarians shall act under the direction of the 
Wyoming livestock board and the state veterinarian. Deputy state 
veterinarians shall be graduates of a veterinary college 
recognized by the American Veterinary Medical Association and 
the Wyoming state board of veterinary medicine. Deputy state 
veterinarians shall serve at the pleasure of the state 
veterinarian.  The state veterinarian shall supervise and 
control the action of the deputy state veterinarians and 
prescribe their duties and tenure of office; 



 
(iii)  Supervise and control the action of the state 

veterinarian and prescribe his duties and tenure of office; 
 

(iv)  Remove the state veterinarian at any time; 
 

(v)  Promulgate and enforce rules, regulations and 
orders it deems necessary for the importation of domestic 
animals, excluding those animals covered in W.S. 23-3-301(a), 
recording and inspection of livestock brands, inspection, 
testing, brucellosis vaccination or quarantining of any 
livestock including brucellosis vaccination requirements for 
resident cattle and cattle imported into Wyoming and to develop 
a livestock health and emergency disease response program, 
including prevention, surveillance and investigation of 
livestock diseases through naturally occurring events or acts of 
agroterrorism.  "Agroterrorism" for the purpose of this section 
means an intentional release of a biological or chemical agent 
that causes disease to livestock or crops or renders the food 
products of livestock or crops unsafe for human consumption; 
 

(vi)  Exercise the power and authority conferred upon 
it by this act, either directly or through its agency; 
 

(vii)  Designate an agency to act as its 
representative as provided by W.S. 11-20-201, recorded in its 
minutes, and transmit the name of the agency to the auditor and 
treasurer of Wyoming; 
 

(viii)  Develop a comprehensive livestock health and 
emergency disease response program for reportable diseases as 
identified in W.S. 11-19-102; 
 

(ix)  Promote the prevention, surveillance, 
investigation and elimination of diseases of concern and the 
protection of the overall health of Wyoming livestock by 
maintaining science based import regulations and quarantines and 
providing instruction to the ports of entry, veterinarians and 
law enforcement; 
 

(x)  Administer the livestock law enforcement account 
created by W.S. 11-18-120; 
 

(xi)  Convene when necessary for the purpose of 
considering the recommended closure of any elk feedground as 
provided under W.S. 23-1-305(a); 
 



(xii)  Establish a standard communication protocol to 
inform livestock producers, veterinarians and brand inspectors 
in the designated surveillance area within the county where a 
non-negative brucellosis test has been confirmed for any animal; 
 

(xiii)  Establish a standard notification protocol to 
inform livestock producers, veterinarians, brand inspectors and 
other agencies with jurisdiction or authority regarding anthrax 
outbreaks. [NOTE: This paragraph will be effective 1/1/2026.] 
 

11-18-104.  Livestock board; oath. 
 
Members of the Wyoming livestock board, before entering upon 
their duties, shall take the oath of office prescribed by the 
constitution, and file it in the office of the secretary of 
state. 
 

11-18-105.  Livestock board; election of president; 
meetings generally. 
 
The Wyoming livestock board shall elect one (1) of its members 
president. It shall meet at such times as called by the 
president, any three (3) members of the board, the state 
veterinarian or the director. 
 

11-18-106.  Livestock board; quorum; compensation. 
 
A majority of the board constitutes a quorum for the transaction 
of business. Members of the board shall receive compensation, 
mileage and per diem for time actually spent in the performance 
of their duties and traveling expenses while in attendance, and 
going to and from board meetings in the same manner and amount 
as members of the Wyoming legislature. 
 

11-18-107.  Livestock board; seal. 
 
The Wyoming livestock board shall have a seal upon which is 
engraved "Wyoming Livestock Board." 
 

11-18-108.  Livestock board; report to governor. 
 
The Wyoming livestock board shall report to the governor all 
proceedings and the condition of the livestock interest of 
Wyoming as required by W.S. 9-2-1014. 
 

11-18-109.  Disposition of collected fees and monies in 
general fund; payment of expenses of board. 



 
(a)  All fees and monies collected by the Wyoming livestock 

board or any of its officers, agents or employees, not 
specifically required by law to be credited to a different fund, 
shall be placed by the board in the general fund with receipt 
and acknowledgement submitted to the state treasurer. 
 

(b)  The expenses incurred in the conduct of the business 
of the Wyoming livestock board, the state veterinarian and the 
director, including the per diem of members of the board, the 
salaries or wages of the director, deputy state veterinarians 
and other necessary employees, traveling expenses, furnishing of 
offices, stationery, supplies and all other expenditures 
necessary and incident thereto, shall be paid out of the general 
fund appropriations provided by law. All expenses shall be 
itemized on the proper vouchers, approved by the director, 
covered by proper receipts, and paid by the state auditor from 
money appropriated by law. 
 

11-18-110.  Director; deputy directors; term; powers and 
duties generally; orders subject to review. 
 

(a)  The board shall appoint a director, who shall be the 
chief executive officer of the board.  The director shall serve 
at the pleasure of the board and act as the secretary of the 
Wyoming livestock board, subject to the rules and regulations of 
the board. He may act for and perform the duties imposed by law 
upon the board when the board is not in session, but an order or 
regulation made by him is subject to review, modification or 
annulment by the board at any subsequent meeting. 
 

(b)  The director may appoint deputy directors for agency 
divisions.  The deputy directors shall serve at the pleasure of 
the director and are responsible to and under the control and 
supervision of the director. 
 

(c)  The director shall supervise and control the action of 
the other employees and prescribe their duties and tenure of 
office. 
 

(d)  Unless otherwise specified in this chapter, the 
director may only remove employees in accordance with personnel 
rules of the state executive branch. 
 

11-18-111.  Deputy state veterinarians; appointment; powers 
and duties; term. 
 



With the consent of the Wyoming livestock board and approval of 
either the federal veterinarian in charge of Wyoming or the 
chief of veterinary services, United States department of 
agriculture, the state veterinarian may appoint federal 
veterinary inspectors stationed in this state as deputy state 
veterinarians, and federal lay inspectors stationed in this 
state may be appointed agents of the Wyoming livestock board. 
All federal officers appointed as deputies or agents of the 
Wyoming livestock board shall possess the powers and duties of 
deputy state veterinarians or agents of the Wyoming livestock 
board, but they shall act without compensation and hold office 
only at the pleasure of the state veterinarian. 
 

11-18-112.  Authority of federal authorities and state 
inspectors to call sheriffs for assistance; failure to comply; 
penalties. 
 
All federal authorities authorized, and the various inspectors 
of this state, may call upon any sheriff or peace officer in any 
county in this state to assist them in the discharge of their 
duties and those peace officers shall assist them when so 
requested. The federal inspector has the same power to enforce 
the laws of this state as the various inspectors of the state 
when authorized as aforesaid and engaged in the discharge of 
their official duties. Any person refusing to comply with the 
orders of such officer or federal inspector shall be punished as 
provided in W.S. 11-1-103. 
 

11-18-113.  When state veterinarian authorized to enter 
premises or vehicle to inspect livestock. 
 
In the performance of their official duties, the state 
veterinarian or any agent or officer of the Wyoming livestock 
board may enter any place or vehicle used for the treatment, 
retention or transportation of livestock, including poultry, or 
where he has reason to believe any livestock affected with or 
exposed to infectious, contagious or communicable diseases may 
be found. 
 

11-18-114.  Repealed by Laws 1978, ch. 47, § 2. 
 

11-18-115.  Repealed by Laws 1978, ch. 47, § 2. 
 

11-18-116.  Repealed by Laws 1978, ch. 47, § 2. 
 

11-18-117.  Confidentiality of livestock premises and 
identification records; penalties. 



 
(a)  Except as provided by subsection (b) of this section, 

all records, data and information collected by the state, 
recorded or otherwise, for the purposes of a livestock 
identification program shall be confidential and are not public 
records for purposes of W.S. 16-4-201 through 16-4-205.  The 
records, data and information shall be released only upon order 
of the Wyoming livestock board to appropriate governmental 
agencies for the purposes of a livestock identification program, 
disease outbreak or law enforcement investigation.  The board 
shall not release any records, data or information to a federal 
agency until the agency confirms in writing that it will 
maintain the records, data and information as confidential and 
that they are not subject to the federal Freedom of Information 
Act, 5 U.S.C. § 552, as amended. Upon release by the board of 
any information to any other governmental entity, the board 
shall notify the person to whom the information refers or 
pertains that the release has been made, the name of the entity 
to whom the information was released and shall provide a copy or 
summary of the information contained in the release.  The 
records, data and information shall not be subject to discovery 
or introduction into evidence in any civil action. 
 

(b)  The Wyoming livestock board may release any 
information related to a confirmed non-negative brucellosis test 
in the county where the animal testing non-negative is located, 
subject to W.S. 11-18-103(a)(xii), and may release information 
collected for the purposes of a livestock identification program 
related to the ownership and location of individual animals to 
the extent the information is useful in controlling or 
preventing a disease outbreak or to show particular animals or 
herds are not involved in a disease outbreak. 
 

(c)  For the purposes of animal disease traceability, 
Wyoming livestock owners may choose to identify animals using 
any methods set forth in 9 C.F.R. part 86, as adopted on January 
9, 2013, as well as any additional methods that are later 
approved by the Wyoming livestock board as "official 
identification". 
 

(d)  Nothing in this section shall be construed to limit or 
amend the brucellosis surveillance or testing program 
administered by the state. 
 

(e)  A person who knowingly provides false information to 
the Wyoming livestock board for purposes of a livestock 
identification program shall be guilty of a misdemeanor 



punishable by a fine of up to one thousand dollars ($1,000.00), 
imprisonment for up to six (6) months, or both. 
 

(f)  A person who refuses to provide to the livestock board 
information that is required under the authority of the 
livestock board for purposes of a mandatory livestock 
identification program shall be guilty of a misdemeanor 
punishable by a fine of up to one thousand dollars ($1,000.00), 
imprisonment for up to six (6) months, or both. 
 

11-18-118.  Conducting business electronically. 
 
The Wyoming livestock board may allow its business to be 
conducted electronically as provided by the Uniform Electronic 
Transactions Act, W.S. 40-21-101 through 40-21-119. 
 

11-18-119.  Veterinarian loan repayment program; rulemaking 
authority. 
 

(a)  The board is authorized to enter into agreements with 
graduate veterinarians who are licensed to practice in the state 
of Wyoming, to provide food animal health care in this state.  
For purposes of this section, "food animal" means cattle, swine, 
sheep or goats.  The agreements shall: 
 

(i)  Provide for the veterinarian to practice food 
animal veterinary medicine in a community of the state from 
among a list of communities developed by the board.  A 
veterinarian shall agree to provide food animal veterinary care 
for the period of the contract in underserved areas of the 
state; 
 

(ii)  Provide that the veterinarian shall be repaid up 
to one hundred percent (100%) of the total amount of outstanding 
educational loans the veterinarian has acquired as a direct 
result of undergraduate or postgraduate educational training 
directly related to providing food animal veterinary services, 
not to exceed thirty thousand dollars ($30,000.00) per year, 
including the matching funds specified in subsection (d) of this 
section, in exchange for practicing his profession under the 
terms of this section; 
 

(iii)  Require the veterinarian to practice food 
animal veterinary services for a minimum of three (3) years 
under the agreement; 
 



(iv)  Contain other provisions the board deems 
necessary or appropriate to accomplish the purposes of this 
section. 
 

(b)  The board, in consultation with the appropriate 
licensing board and professional association, shall promulgate 
rules and regulations necessary to carry out the purposes of 
this section.  In carrying out this section the board shall 
assess food animal veterinary care needs of the state by 
geographic areas and shall prioritize and enter into agreements 
under this section accordingly. 
 

(c)  The board may vary the terms of each agreement in 
accordance with this section based upon the community and the 
food animal veterinary needs of the state. 
 

(d)  No state money shall be expended for repayment of any 
loan under this section unless twenty-five percent (25%) of the 
money is matched with other funds in any combination from any 
county, city, veterinary clinic, animal care facility, state 
agency, university, laboratory or veterinary association. 
 

11-18-120.  Livestock law enforcement account; 
reimbursement of county sheriffs by livestock board; rules. 
 

(a)  There is created the livestock law enforcement 
account. Unexpended, unobligated funds in the account shall 
revert to the general fund at the end of a biennium. Unless 
otherwise provided by law, the balance in the account shall not 
exceed five hundred thousand dollars ($500,000.00). 
 

(b)  Funds in the livestock law enforcement account shall 
only be expended by the livestock board to: 
 

(i)  Reimburse county sheriffs for activities relating 
to in-state and out-of-state livestock investigations; 
 

(ii)  Provide training to county sheriffs regarding 
livestock enforcement. 
 

(c)  Notwithstanding any other provision of law, 
reimbursement provided under paragraph (b)(i) of this section 
shall be credited to the applicable account, fund, subaccount or 
other accounting unit within the budget of a county which is 
controlled by the county sheriff. Reimbursement provided under 
paragraph (b)(i) of this section shall not be withheld by a 



board of county commissioners from a county sheriff or deducted 
from the budget of a county sheriff. 
 

(d)  The livestock board shall adopt rules to implement 
this section, which shall include eligible expenses, rates and 
procedures for reimbursement. 
 

11-18-121.  Identification of livestock; livestock board 
responsibilities. 
 

(a)  The Wyoming livestock board shall inform livestock 
producers of all available options under W.S. 11-18-117 for 
identification regarding disease traceability. 
 

(b)  The buyers of livestock in receiving states shall be 
responsible for tagging livestock if an electronic 
identification device requirement is mandated in the receiving 
state, unless the Wyoming livestock owner has voluntarily 
utilized electronic identification devices. 
 

(c)  Nothing in this section shall prohibit a Wyoming 
licensed and accredited veterinarian from writing a certificate 
of veterinary inspection in compliance with applicable 
destination requirements. 
 
CHAPTER 19 - CONTAGIOUS AND INFECTIOUS DISEASES AMONG LIVESTOCK 
 

ARTICLE 1 - IN GENERAL 
 

11-19-101.  Duties of state veterinarian generally; failure 
to comply with provisions; penalty. 
 

(a)  The state veterinarian shall investigate all cases of 
dangerously contagious or infectious diseases among domestic 
animals in this state which are brought to his notice. In the 
absence of specific information, he shall make inspections of 
any locality where he has reason to suspect there is any 
contagious or infectious disease. He shall order that all 
animals affected with, exposed to or suspected of being affected 
with such diseases be gathered and quarantined. No animals 
pronounced affected with a dangerously contagious or infectious 
disease by the state veterinarian or his deputy or agent shall 
be turned loose, removed or permitted to escape, but shall be 
held subject to the order of the state veterinarian. All animals 
ordered gathered shall be gathered within a reasonable time 
specified by the state veterinarian. 
 



(b)  The state veterinarian may inspect, treat, test, 
vaccinate, quarantine or sell any animal imported into Wyoming 
in violation of W.S. 11-19-111 or any rules promulgated 
thereunder. 
 

(c)  Any person failing to comply with this section shall 
be punished as provided in W.S. 11-1-103. 
 

(d)  The state veterinarian may provide contagious and 
infectious reportable disease testing, containment and 
reimbursement services under this chapter to any livestock 
producer in Wyoming, including on the Wind River Indian 
Reservation who agrees to comply with the applicable program 
requirements, rules and any orders or regulations issued 
pursuant to the testing results or program requirements. 
Services on the Wind River Indian Reservation under this 
subsection may also be provided pursuant to a cooperative 
agreement entered into by the Wyoming livestock board, in 
consultation with the state veterinarian, and the Eastern 
Shoshone Tribe, the Northern Arapaho Tribe or the cooperative 
tribal governing body. The testing, containment and 
reimbursement services provided under this subsection shall not 
apply to bison designated as wildlife pursuant to W.S. 11-20-
101(a)(iv). 
 

11-19-102.  Duty of public to report diseases; list of 
reportable diseases; failure to comply or obstruction of duty; 
liability; penalties. 
 

(a)  Any person or government entity who knows or suspects 
that there is any contagious or infectious reportable disease 
among animals owned by or under their jurisdiction or any 
veterinarian who knows or suspects any reportable contagious or 
infectious disease on any premises or in any animal, shall 
immediately report the same to the state veterinarian.  The 
state veterinarian shall establish and manage a list of 
reportable diseases for any contagious or infectious disease 
deemed by the state veterinarian to be a threat to domestic 
animals. During development of this list the state veterinarian 
shall consult with the Wyoming game and fish department's 
supervisor of veterinary research services.  Information 
collected in response to the list of reportable diseases shall 
be considered confidential proprietary information. Access to 
any information collected under the list of reportable diseases 
shall be limited to the person who reported the disease and the 
state veterinarian, except that the state veterinarian may at 
his discretion notify any of the following: 



 
(i)  The Wyoming livestock board; 

 
(ii)  The state veterinary laboratory; 

 
(iii)  The Wyoming game and fish director only if the 

disease threatens wildlife; 
 

(iv)  Any state or federal inspector, public health 
official or peace officer who is actively involved in the 
investigation of an outbreak or suspected outbreak of the 
contagious or infectious disease; 
 

(v)  Owners of possible contact animals; 
 

(vi)  Adjacent landowners; or 
 

(vii)  Local area practicing veterinarians. 
 

(b)  The state veterinarian when he deems it to be in the 
best interests of animal health, or the state public health 
officer when he deems it to be in the best interests of human 
public health, may release to the public any information 
collected under subsection (a) of this section, except the 
identity of any individual who reported the disease or whose 
animals may have contracted the disease. 
 

(c)  A failure to report, or any attempt to conceal the 
existence of the disease or to willfully or maliciously obstruct 
or resist the veterinarian in the discharge of his duty is a 
misdemeanor. Any person who willfully or maliciously falsifies a 
report to the state veterinarian is guilty of a misdemeanor. Any 
person convicted of any of the above acts or omissions shall be 
punished as provided in W.S. 11-1-103. 
 

(d)  Any person who knows that they own or have in their 
possession any livestock as defined by W.S. 11-20-101(a)(iv) 
infected with any disease formally declared by the Wyoming 
livestock board, through rule and regulation, as being 
potentially economically devastating and for which there is a 
valid diagnostic test and who transfers ownership or possession 
of the livestock to another person, or who knowingly or through 
his own neglect allows the livestock to commingle with 
uninfected livestock, is liable for the economic damages caused 
by the spread of the disease to uninfected livestock.  In 
addition to the conditions for liability and recovery set in 
subsection (e) of this section, damages shall be available under 



this subsection only to a transferee who accepts the diseased 
animal directly from the liable person and to the owner of an 
animal that becomes infected as the result of direct contact 
with the diseased animal.  The burden of proving liability and 
damages under this section shall be upon the person claiming 
damages.  Any person who files a claim for recovery under this 
subsection alleging facts known to be false is liable for three 
(3) times the damages caused by the false claim and reasonable 
attorney fees. 
 

(e)  No person who has received written notice that an 
animal is infected with a disease identified in subsection (d) 
of this section prior to acquiring ownership or assuming 
possession of the infected animal shall be entitled to the 
damages provided by subsection (d) of this section.  No 
livestock sales or auction facility shall be subject to the 
liability imposed by subsection (d) of this section if: 
 

(i)  The existence of disease was not reported to the 
facility and the facility did not know of the existence of the 
disease; or 
 

(ii)  The facility provided written notice of the 
disease to the person claiming damages under subsection (d) of 
this section. 
 

(f)  Notwithstanding subsection (a) of this section, the 
state veterinarian shall provide testing information to the 
owner of an animal that has tested non-negative for brucellosis 
not later than three (3) days after receipt of the preliminary 
laboratory results. 
 

11-19-103.  Quarantine of diseased animals generally; 
treatment, testing and vaccination thereof; effect of failure to 
obey order of state veterinarian; appeal; stay of action. 
 

(a)  In all cases of infectious and contagious disease 
among domestic animals in this state, the state veterinarian may 
order the quarantine of the infected premises. If the disease 
becomes epizootic in any locality in this state, the state 
veterinarian shall immediately notify the governor who shall 
issue his proclamation forbidding transfer of any animal of the 
kind among which the epizootic disease exists from the locality 
without permission from the state veterinarian. 
 

(b)  Whenever the state veterinarian finds any infectious 
or contagious disease among domestic animals in any section of 



the state he shall take such steps as will prevent the spread of 
the disease. The state veterinarian may inspect and compel the 
treatment, testing, vaccination or quarantine of all such 
animals in Wyoming found to be infected or exposed to the 
disease or imported in violation of W.S. 11-19-111 or any rules 
promulgated thereunder, under such rules and regulations as he 
may adopt.  Any order or regulation made by the state 
veterinarian is subject to review, modification or annulment by 
the board at any subsequent meeting. 
 

(c)  Repealed By Laws 2011, Ch. 96, § 2. 
 

(d)  Repealed By Laws 2011, Ch. 96, § 2. 
 

(e)  If the owner or persons in charge of animals ordered 
treated, tested, vaccinated or quarantined after reasonable 
notice determined by the veterinarian, fail to treat, test, 
vaccinate or quarantine such animals as ordered, the 
veterinarian may seize or cause such animals to be seized and 
treated, tested, vaccinated or quarantined and may hold and sell 
the animals, or part thereof as necessary to pay all costs of 
inspection, seizing, caring for, treating, testing, vaccinating 
or quarantine together with cost of sale. The sale shall be made 
at the time and place and in the manner prescribed by the 
veterinarian. Not less than three (3) days nor more than fifteen 
(15) days notice of the time, place and purpose of the sale 
shall be given by the veterinarian to the owner or persons in 
charge of the animals, by personal service within the county in 
which the animals are being held if possible, and if not 
possible then such notice may be given either by personal 
service outside of the county or by advertisement in any paper 
selected by the veterinarian. The state veterinarian shall only 
sell the animals after all other remedies have been exhausted. 
 

(f)  The owner of animals so seized and held may at any 
time prior to sale recover possession of the same by paying to 
the state veterinarian the amount of costs incurred by order of 
the veterinarian against the animals. Any sum realized from the 
sale of the animals over the cost actually incurred against the 
animals shall be returned to the owner of the animals if known 
or can by reasonable diligence be found. Otherwise the overage 
shall be placed in the estray fund and dispensed as provided by 
law. 
 

(g)  Any order or other action under this chapter may be 
appealed by the owner, or the agent of the owner, of the animals 



affected or by any aggrieved governmental entity to the board as 
follows: 
 

(i)  The appeal shall be requested within thirty (30) 
days of the order or action, except that a quarantine may be 
appealed at any time during the quarantine; 
 

(ii)  An informal hearing may initially be requested.  
A formal hearing may subsequently be requested and shall be 
conducted as a contested case in accordance with the Wyoming 
Administrative Procedure Act.  The board shall render a final 
decision in writing within ten (10) working days of the 
conclusion of the hearing; 
 

(iii)  The board may alter, amend, annul or otherwise 
modify any order in the event the board finds: 
 

(A)  The aggrieved person was injured by the 
order or regulation; and 
 

(B)  The state veterinarian lacked legal 
authority for the order or regulation; or 
 

(C)  The order or regulation was not needed to: 
 

(I)  Protect the public health; 
 

(II)  Prevent the spread of animal disease; 
 

(III)  Preserve the ability to market 
Wyoming livestock efficiently; or 
 

(IV)  Implement a specific requirement of 
Wyoming law. 
 

(iv)  All decisions of the board are subject to 
judicial review under the Wyoming Administrative Procedure Act. 
 

(h)  In the event of a foreign animal disease outbreak, an 
act of animal agro-terrorism or other animal health emergency, 
the state veterinarian shall have all of the resources of the 
livestock board at his disposal.  When such an event occurs, the 
state veterinarian shall immediately notify the governor and 
shall advise him as to  any additional resources which may be 
needed to address the emergency. 
 



(j)  Any person failing to comply with this section shall 
be punished as provided in W.S. 11-1-103. 
 

(k)  The owner or producer of animals quarantined for 
brucellosis containment efforts may submit a claim at any time 
during the quarantine, or within thirty (30) days after release 
from quarantine, for reimbursement for actual expenses incurred 
in mitigating or attempting to mitigate the effects of the 
quarantine. The Wyoming livestock board, in consultation with 
the state veterinarian, shall promulgate rules for the 
processing of claims under this section. 
 

11-19-104.  Slaughter of diseased animals; authority of 
veterinarian; slaughtering order; when consent of owner 
required. 
 

(a)  In any case of epizootic disease where premises have 
been previously quarantined by the state veterinarian, he may 
order the slaughter of any diseased animals upon the premises 
and all animals that have been exposed to contagion or infection 
under the following restrictions: 
 

(i)  The order shall be in writing with a duplicate 
for each owner of the animals condemned; 
 

(ii)  The original of each order shall be filed by the 
veterinarian with the governor and a duplicate given to the 
owner; and 
 

(iii)  Before slaughtering any animal that has been 
exposed only and does not show disease, the veterinarian shall 
have the consent of the owner or person in charge of the animal 
to be slaughtered. 
 

11-19-105.  Repealed By Laws 2012, Ch. 90, § 2. 
 

11-19-106.  Removal of diseased animals; owner's claims. 
 

(a)  All claims against the state arising from the ordered 
disposal of animals by the state veterinarian for scrapie, 
brucellosis and tuberculosis, together with the order of the 
veterinarian, shall be submitted to the state auditor who shall 
examine them without unnecessary delay. For purposes of this 
section, "disposal" means to sell, send to slaughter or destroy 
the animal. For each claim he finds to be equitable and entitled 
to indemnity under this chapter the auditor shall issue his 
warrant on the state treasurer for the sum named in the claim. 



All claims for indemnity arising under the provisions of this 
chapter, before they are presented for payment to the auditor, 
shall be submitted to the state veterinarian who shall fully 
inform himself of the facts connected with each claim. The state 
veterinarian shall endorse on each claim his approval or 
rejection and shall express in such endorsement the reasons for 
his approval or rejection. 
 

(b)  If the state veterinarian rejects a claim it and the 
reasons for rejection shall be submitted to a board of 
arbitration consisting of three (3) members selected as follows: 
 

(i)  The state veterinarian shall select one (1) stock 
grower who is a resident of the county where the ordered 
disposed animal for which the claim is made ranged; 
 

(ii)  The claimant shall select one (1) stock grower 
who is a resident of the same county; and 
 

(iii)  These two (2) shall choose the third member 
from among the stock growers of the same county. 
 

(c)  The indemnity granted under this section shall be the 
difference between the fair market value of the livestock and 
the amount received for the sale, less any amount of 
reimbursement provided for and paid under federal law and 
regulation. Fair market value shall be determined by using 
comparable sales data from state markets at the time of removal 
or by the use of a qualified independent livestock appraiser as 
designated by the state veterinarian. If no sale is transacted, 
but an animal is removed for diagnostic purposes or disposal, 
the reimbursement provided shall be the fair market value minus 
any other reimbursement.  Unless otherwise reimbursed, the cost 
of shipping or transportation and commission charges shall be 
added to the amount provided to the producer for livestock 
indemnification. It shall be paid to the owner upon his 
application and presentation of proofs prescribed herein within 
six (6) months of the date of ordered disposal for which payment 
is claimed. The claim shall be barred if not presented within 
the time limited. 
 

(d)  Payments shall be made by the state treasurer from 
funds appropriated to the animal reimbursement program account 
under W.S. 11-19-118 and as provided by W.S. 11-19-109. The 
right to indemnity is limited to animals destroyed by reason of 
existence or suspected existence of some epizootic form of 
infectious or contagious diseases, generally fatal or incurable. 



 
(e)  There is no right to indemnity and payment in the 

following cases: 
 

(i)  For animals belonging to the United States; 
 

(ii)  For animals that are brought into the state 
contrary to the laws of this state or the governor's import 
proclamation; 
 

(iii)  For animals found to be diseased upon arrival 
or that were exposed to the disease prior to their arrival in 
the state under circumstances whereby the Wyoming owner knew or 
should have known of such conditions; 
 

(iv)  When an animal was previously affected by any 
other disease which from its nature and development was 
incurable and necessarily fatal; 
 

(v)  When the owner or person in charge has knowingly 
or negligently omitted to comply with W.S. 11-19-104 or 
11-19-105; or 
 

(vi)  When the owner or claimant at the time of coming 
in possession of the animal knew it to be diseased or received 
the notice specified in W.S. 11-19-110. 
 

(f)  The Wyoming livestock board, in consultation with the 
state veterinarian, shall promulgate rules and regulations for 
the processing of claims under this section. 
 

(g)  Renumbered as 11-19-118 by Laws 2020, ch. 94, § 2. 
 

11-19-107.  Auditor to pay claims allowed by board; effect 
of failure to submit claim to board. 
 
The state auditor shall pay no claim for indemnity which is 
rejected by the state veterinarian, unless it has been submitted 
to arbitration and the arbitration board decided it to be legal 
and just. If any claimant refuses to submit his claim rejected 
by the veterinarian to a board of arbitration, the refusal is a 
waiver of all claim for indemnity. 
 

11-19-108.  Compensation of board. 
 
Each member of a board of arbitration shall receive one hundred 
dollars ($100.00) for each day actually engaged and employed in 



the investigation of any claim, paid by the state veterinarian 
out of an appropriation for that purpose. 
 

11-19-109.  Limitations on indemnity. 
 
The liability of the state for indemnity for animals destroyed 
under this act [§§ 11-19-101 through 11-19-111] in any two (2) 
years, is limited by and shall in no case exceed the amount 
especially appropriated for that purpose and for that period. 
 

11-19-110.  Quarantine of diseased animals; authority of 
veterinarian over animals in transit. 
 

(a)  The owner or person having in charge any animal 
affected with or suspected of any contagious or infectious 
disease shall immediately confine the animal in a safe place, 
isolated from other animals, and with all necessary restrictions 
to prevent dissemination of the disease until the arrival of the 
state veterinarian. 
 

(b)  The state veterinarian or his agent may examine all 
animals passing through the state and on detection or suspicion 
of disease may take possession of and treat and dispose of 
animals in transit in the same manner as animals resident in the 
state. 
 

11-19-111.  Regulation of importation of animals; 
prohibited acts; penalties; applicability. 
 

(a)  The governor, upon recommendation of the Wyoming 
livestock board, may regulate by proclamation the importation 
into Wyoming from any other state any animal, blood, 
microorganism or biologic agent capable of causing any disease 
affecting livestock or other animals, or any other item 
suspected of being infected or contaminated with biologic agents 
capable of causing animal disease, except under such conditions 
as he deems proper for the protection of the livestock, 
livestock animals as defined in W.S. 11-29-101(a)(vi) and other 
domestic animals of Wyoming. All requirements in the governor's 
proclamation shall be enforced by the Wyoming livestock board. 
 

(b)  After a proclamation is issued by the governor it is 
unlawful for any person to import into Wyoming or receive 
imports within this state from any other state any animal, 
blood, microorganism or biologic agent capable of causing any 
diseases affecting livestock or other animals, or any product or 
item suspected of being infected or contaminated with biologic 



agents capable of causing animal disease, except under such 
conditions as may be imposed by the proclamation. Any person who 
violates this section shall be punished as provided in W.S. 
11-1-103. The violator is civilly liable for all damages and 
loss sustained by any person by reason of violation of the 
proclamation. 
 

(c)  The proclamation authorized by this section shall not 
prohibit the transportation of animals through Wyoming by 
railroad as long as the animals are not unloaded in this state. 
 

(d)  The state veterinarian may inspect, treat, test, 
vaccinate, quarantine or sell any livestock or other domestic 
animals imported into Wyoming in violation of W.S. 11-19-111 or 
any rules promulgated thereunder.  Any order or regulation made 
by the state veterinarian is subject to review, modification or 
annulment by the governor or the board at any subsequent 
meeting. 
 

(e)  An order of the state veterinarian under subsection 
(d) of this section shall be subject to appeal and due process 
as provided in W.S. 11-19-103. 
 

11-19-112.  Cooperation with animal and plant health 
inspection service. 
 
The state consents to having the animal and plant health 
inspection service (APHIS) of the United States department of 
agriculture and its employees come within Wyoming for all 
purposes connected with the importation and exportation of 
diseased livestock and for all purposes connected with the 
eradication, suppression and control of dangerously infectious 
and contagious diseases of livestock. 
 

11-19-113.  Repealed By Laws 2013, Ch 12, § 2. 
 

11-19-114.  Repealed By Laws 2013, Ch 12, § 2. 
 

11-19-115.  Repealed By Laws 2013, Ch 12, § 2. 
 

11-19-116.  Repealed By Laws 2013, Ch 12, § 2. 
 

11-19-117.  Repealed By Laws 2013, Ch 12, § 2. 
 

11-19-118.  Animal reimbursement program account. 
 



(a)  There is created the animal reimbursement program 
account into which shall be deposited revenues as provided by 
law. Interest on earnings from funds in the account shall be 
credited to the account. Deposits into the account shall only be 
expended pursuant to this section, W.S. 11-19-103, 11-19-106, 
11-19-214, 11-19-406 and Wyoming livestock board rules. 
Notwithstanding W.S. 9-2-1008 or 9-4-207, unexpended funds shall 
not revert. 
 

(b)  The state veterinarian shall report the balance of the 
account and the claims endorsed and paid each fiscal year to the 
joint appropriations committee and the joint agriculture, state 
and public lands and water resources interim committee. 
 

(c)  Before the state veterinarian endorses any payment to 
be made from this account for the ordered disposal of any 
livestock under W.S. 11-19-106, 11-19-214 or 11-19-406 or for 
brucellosis testing and containment efforts pursuant to Wyoming 
livestock board rules or under W.S. 11-19-103, the state 
veterinarian shall ascertain that sufficient funds are available 
in the account. The state veterinarian shall use available 
federal funds before using state funds to make any payment from 
this account. 
 

(d)  Not more than fifty thousand dollars ($50,000.00) 
shall be paid for any single quarantine effort under W.S. 11-19-
103(k). The reimbursement limit under this subsection does not 
include any indemnity payment for livestock disposal under W.S. 
11-19-106, 11-19-214 or 11-19-406. Payments from this account 
for quarantine efforts shall cease whenever the unexpended, 
unobligated account balance equals or is less than one hundred 
thousand dollars ($100,000.00). Payments from this account for 
quarantine efforts may resume after the unexpended, unobligated 
account balance exceeds one hundred thousand dollars 
($100,000.00).  
 

(e)  The Wyoming livestock board, in consultation with the 
state veterinarian, shall promulgate rules to carry out the 
purposes of this section. 
 

ARTICLE 2 - TUBERCULIN TEST OF DAIRY CATTLE 
 

11-19-201.  Definitions. 
 

(a)  As used in this act: 
 



(i)  "Dairy animal" means any cow, sheep or goat, the 
milk or milk products from which is sold or used for human 
consumption; 
 

(ii)  "Livestock animal" means as defined in W.S. 
11-29-101(a)(vi); 
 

(iii)  "This act" means W.S. 11-19-201 through 
11-19-215. 
 

11-19-202.  Repealed By Laws 2013, Ch 12, § 2. 
 

11-19-203.  Repealed By Laws 2013, Ch 12, § 2. 
 

11-19-204.  Repealed By Laws 2013, Ch 12, § 2. 
 

11-19-205.  Repealed By Laws 2013, Ch. 12, § 2. 
 

11-19-206.  Repealed By Laws 2013, Ch 12, § 2. 
 

11-19-207.  Repealed By Laws 2013, Ch 12, § 2. 
 

11-19-208.  Ear tags; record to be kept of livestock 
animals tested. 
 
Each livestock animal tested for tuberculosis shall have an 
official ear tag inserted in its ear. The testing veterinarian 
shall keep an official record of all livestock animals tested 
and submit a copy of the record to state and federal animal 
health officials. 
 

11-19-209.  Tests of livestock animals. 
 
Whenever the state veterinarian suspects that tuberculosis 
exists or has been introduced to livestock animals, he shall 
order the testing of the livestock animals. 
 

11-19-210.  Repealed By Laws 2013, Ch. 12, § 2. 
 

11-19-211.  Repealed By Laws 2013, Ch 12, § 2. 
 

11-19-212.  Repealed By Laws 2013, Ch 12, § 2. 
 

11-19-213.  Repealed By Laws 2013, Ch 12, § 2. 
 

11-19-214.  Disposition of diseased livestock. 
 



All livestock animals in Wyoming, including those belonging to a 
producer on the Wind River Indian Reservation who receives 
services pursuant to W.S. 11-19-101(d), found to be affected 
with or exposed to tuberculosis may be disposed on the origin 
premises or transported under the direction of the state 
veterinarian directly to an approved slaughter facility, 
rendering facility or veterinary diagnostic laboratory in 
accordance with federal regulations. Producers may be eligible 
for indemnification as provided in W.S. 11-19-106 for any 
livestock animal ordered disposed pursuant to this section. 
 

11-19-215.  Prohibited acts; penalties. 
 
Any person who intentionally interferes with, refuses to assist 
in gathering and testing his livestock animals, or hinders the 
work of the state veterinarian or his employees under this act, 
or who attempts to defeat the object of the tuberculin test by a 
previous injection of tuberculin commonly known as "plugging," 
or in any way attempts to prevent an accurate and truthful 
determination of the condition of the livestock animals tested, 
shall be punished as provided in W.S. 11-1-103. 
 

ARTICLE 3 - TUBERCULOSIS MODIFIED ACCREDITED AREAS 
 

11-19-301.  Repealed By Laws 2013, Ch 12, § 2. 
 

11-19-302.  Repealed By Laws 2013, Ch 12, § 2. 
 

11-19-303.  Appropriations by counties for control of 
diseases. 
 
The board of county commissioners may appropriate as much money 
as it deems necessary for the control and eradication of any 
infectious, contagious or communicable diseases of livestock. 
The funds shall be used in cooperation with the state 
veterinarian or the United States department of agriculture, 
animal and plant health inspection service (APHIS) in testing 
animals and disposing of diseased animals disclosed by the tests 
as provided by law. 
 

11-19-304.  Prohibition on importation of cattle or bison; 
penalties. 
 
Any person bringing cattle or bison into any tuberculosis 
accredited-free area except in compliance with the rules and 
regulations made by the state veterinarian shall upon conviction 
be punished as provided in W.S. 11-1-103. 



 
11-19-305.  Powers of state veterinarian. 

 
The state veterinarian may make and enforce rules and 
regulations necessary for the enforcement of W.S. 11-19-303 
through 11-19-306. 
 

11-19-306.  Penalties for violation of rules and 
regulations. 
 
Any person who violates any lawful rule or regulation made by 
the state veterinarian pursuant to W.S. 11-19-305 is guilty of a 
misdemeanor and upon conviction, shall be punished as provided 
in W.S. 11-1-103. 
 

ARTICLE 4 - BRUCELLOSIS TEST OF CATTLE 
 

11-19-401.  Tagging, branding and disposition of cattle 
reacting to test; penalties for failure to comply. 
 
All livestock animals in Wyoming reacting to a confirmatory test 
for brucellosis (Bang's disease) may be immediately permanently 
branded with a hot iron letter "B" on the left tailhead by or in 
the presence of an officially authorized veterinarian. All such 
reactor livestock animals shall be disposed of for slaughter or 
diagnostic purposes only, upon and according to written 
instruction from the Wyoming livestock board. Any person who 
violates any provision of this section shall be punished as 
provided in W.S. 11-1-103. As used in this section, 
"confirmatory test" means a test for brucellosis that has the 
specificity and sensitivity to verify the presence or absence of 
brucella abortus in animal serum or tissues and is used to 
confirm results from an initial brucellosis test. 
 

11-19-402.  Breeding cattle and bison entering state to 
show evidence of negative test or vaccination for brucellosis; 
exceptions. 
 
All breeding cattle and bison entering Wyoming shall be 
accompanied by a proper health certificate showing evidence of a 
negative blood test for brucellosis made within thirty (30) days 
prior to entry, or evidence of being officially vaccinated by a 
licensed veterinarian during calfhood against brucellosis. 
Breeding cattle and bison originating from brucellosis free 
areas and from certified brucellosis free herds entering Wyoming 
may be exempt from this section but must be accompanied by a 
proper health certificate. 



 
11-19-403.  When cattle or bison exempt from provisions. 

 
Breeding cattle and bison entering Wyoming for the purpose of 
feeding only may be exempt from the requirements of W.S. 
11-19-402 if they are placed under quarantine by the rules and 
regulations promulgated by the Wyoming livestock board. 
 

11-19-404.  Applicability of provisions. 
 
The Wyoming livestock board shall determine which of the 
requirements set forth in W.S. 11-19-402 through 11-19-404 apply 
to the various counties or areas within Wyoming. 
 

11-19-405.  Control of brucellosis; governor authorized to 
negotiate with federal agencies. 
 

(a)  To preserve the brucellosis-free status of this state, 
the governor shall enter into negotiations with any relevant 
parties including appropriate federal agencies and tribes of the 
regions adjacent to Wyoming on steps necessary to ensure 
brucellosis is not passed from wildlife to livestock. 
 

(b)  The governor may direct any state agency to take any 
actions needed to ensure brucellosis does not spread from 
wildlife to livestock. 
 

(c)  In the event of a confirmed outbreak of brucellosis, 
the governor may authorize the state veterinarian, with the 
approval of the Wyoming livestock board, to require brucellosis 
testing of all test eligible bovine or domestic bison at the 
farm or ranch of origin or any licensed Wyoming livestock market 
prior to a change of ownership for a period of up to eighteen 
(18) months.  At the end of the required testing period, the 
state veterinarian shall review the testing requirement and may 
reimpose brucellosis testing for one (1) or more successive 
periods under this subsection if there is deemed by the state 
veterinarian to be a threat to Wyoming's brucellosis free status 
or if the state is designated as brucellosis class A or lower 
status. 
 

(d)  The state veterinarian may direct any Wyoming brand 
inspector to withhold a brand inspection for movement or change 
of ownership to any person who has not shown evidence of any 
required brucellosis test. 
 



(e)  As part of the state brucellosis surveillance and 
prevention program, the state veterinarian may require 
brucellosis testing of any test eligible bovine or domestic 
bison at any licensed Wyoming livestock market at any time.  
Failure to comply shall result in a suspension of the livestock 
market's license. 
 

(f)  Any person who violates any provision of this section 
shall be punished as provided by W.S. 11-1-103. 
 

11-19-406.  Sale of diseased cattle or domestic bison. 
 
All cattle or domestic bison in Wyoming, including those 
belonging to a producer on the Wind River Indian Reservation who 
receives services pursuant to W.S. 11-19-101(d), lawfully found 
to be affected with brucellosis, including all sexually intact 
cattle or domestic bison that are part of a herd found to be 
affected with brucellosis, may be shipped or transported under 
the direction of the state veterinarian to livestock markets and 
sold for immediate slaughter or transferred to an approved 
slaughter facility or veterinary diagnostic laboratory in 
accordance with federal regulations. Payments under this section 
shall not be made by the state for any sexually intact female 
cattle or bison which are over twelve (12) months old and which 
are not official calfhood vaccinates as provided in board rule 
and regulation. Producers may be eligible for indemnification in 
accordance with W.S. 11-19-106 for any livestock ordered 
disposed pursuant to this section. 
 

11-19-407.  Brucellosis testing program. 
 

(a)  The livestock board shall develop a brucellosis 
surveillance program in any designated surveillance area as 
defined by the livestock board and any temporary surveillance 
area designated by the board and approved by the governor as an 
area where risk of exposure to documented infected wildlife is 
of concern. The program may be conducted with the help of 
veterinary practitioners and livestock auction markets. This 
program shall provide for the testing of livestock for 
brucellosis, for spaying heifers and for adult vaccinations only 
to the extent that may be reasonably necessary to maintain or to 
regain the brucellosis-free status of the state of Wyoming. 
Compensation under this program for all purposes except 
mandatory testing or testing within a temporary surveillance 
area as designated by the board and approved by the governor 
shall be pursuant to the terms of a brucellosis mitigation plan 



that has been entered into between the livestock producer and 
the Wyoming state veterinarian. 
 

(b)  The compensation for brucellosis surveillance testing, 
spaying heifers and adult vaccinations shall be paid at not less 
than  one dollar and fifty cents ($1.50) per head and not more 
than eight dollars ($8.00) per head of cattle actually tested, 
spayed or adult vaccinated.  Compensation for brucellosis 
testing, spaying or adult vaccinating may include the purchase 
of brucellosis testing, spaying or adult vaccinating equipment, 
supplies and postage. 
 

(c)  Payments under subsection (b) of this section shall be 
made monthly directly to accredited veterinarians who perform 
brucellosis testing, spaying, adult vaccinating and surveillance 
planning or to livestock auction markets that use their 
facilities and veterinarians to conduct brucellosis testing, 
spaying or adult vaccinating as mandated by rule of the Wyoming 
livestock board or the United States department of agriculture 
animal and plant health inspection service. The payment shall be 
made upon receipt by the Wyoming livestock board of 
documentation in the format and manner specified by board rule. 
 

ARTICLE 5 - REGULATION AND INSPECTION OF SHEEP 
 

11-19-501.  When notice of importation to be made; 
contents; applicability of rules and regulations of board. 
 

(a)  Any person intending to bring or cause to be brought 
any sheep from any other state or territory, the District of 
Columbia or any foreign country into Wyoming in any manner 
except by shipping them through the state by railroad or truck, 
shall, ten (10) days before crossing the state line, notify the 
executive officer of the board of the proposed action. The 
notice shall set forth the number of sheep, the brands or marks 
thereon, the name of the owner and the locality from which the 
sheep came and through which they have been driven. 
 

(b)  Sheep trailed or shipped into the state from adjoining 
states for immediate interstate shipment or for show and 
exhibition purposes, sheep grazing along and across state lines, 
and sheep shipped from any part of this state to feed yards in 
any other part of the state when shipment is made by interstate 
route, are governed by the rules and regulations of the board. 
 

11-19-502.  Unloading sheep in transit prohibited; 
exception; cost of enforcement. 



 
Any sheep in transit through this state shall not be unloaded 
for any purpose except for feeding, and shall be held in the 
feed yards or in grazing grounds and not allowed to leave. All 
expenses of enforcing this section shall be paid by the owner of 
the sheep. 
 

11-19-503.  Bringing infected sheep into state prohibited. 
 
It is unlawful for any person to bring into this state any sheep 
infected with any infectious or contagious disease, or that have 
been exposed to such disease. 
 

11-19-504.  Refusal to give information deemed misdemeanor. 
 
Any herder or other person in charge of sheep who willfully 
refuses to give an inspector information as to the condition of 
sheep in his charge is guilty of a misdemeanor punishable as 
provided by W.S. 11-19-506. 
 

11-19-505.  Owners to be jointly and severally liable; when 
arrest necessary; service of summons and complaint. 
 
In any action arising under W.S. 11-19-501 through 11-19-505, 
all persons owning or having control of the sheep concerning 
which the action is had, are liable severally and jointly. In 
criminal actions, no arrest is necessary except in case of 
nonresident persons, but a summons containing notice of the time 
and place of trial, together with a copy of the complaint filed 
in a circuit court, or in the court in which the action is 
commenced, shall be served in the same manner and for the length 
of time provided by law for the service of summons in civil 
cases. 
 

11-19-506.  Penalties. 
 
Any person who violates W.S. 11-19-501 through 11-19-505 shall 
be fined not more than five thousand dollars ($5,000.00) or 
imprisoned not more than one (1) year, or both. 
 

ARTICLE 6 - WILDLIFE/LIVESTOCK DISEASE RESEARCH PARTNERSHIP 
 

11-19-601.  Findings; purposes. 
 

(a)  The interaction of livestock and wildlife may lead to 
mutual or shared diseases. Some of these diseases may have the 
potential to adversely affect Wyoming's livestock producers and 



influence the management of Wyoming's free-ranging wildlife. 
Research into these diseases may provide strategies or solutions 
that benefit Wyoming's livestock industries and wildlife 
resources. 
 

(b)  The purpose of the Wyoming wildlife/livestock disease 
research partnership is to utilize existing personnel and 
facilities of the state, to identify funding sources, to enhance 
wildlife and livestock disease research in the state, and to 
understand, manage, control and preempt potentially mutual or 
shared diseases that may impact wildlife, livestock or humans. 
 

11-19-602.  Wyoming wildlife/livestock disease research 
partnership board created; membership; duties; purposes. 
 

(a)  There is created the wildlife/livestock disease 
research partnership board within the department. The board 
shall consist of the following members or their designees: 
 

(i)  The director of the department; 
 

(ii)  The director of the Wyoming game and fish 
department; 
 

(iii)  The vice-president for research at the 
University of Wyoming; 
 

(iv)  The director of the Wyoming state veterinary 
laboratory; and 
 

(v)  The state veterinarian. 
 

(b)  The board shall: 
 

(i)  Accept funding from all sources, including 
federal, state and local governments and private donations to 
carry out the purposes of this article; 
 

(ii)  Leverage funds received to match other funds 
that may be available to the board; 
 

(iii)  Deposit funds received into the account created 
by W.S. 11-19-603. No funds may be withdrawn or otherwise 
expended without the specific consent of at least three (3) 
members of the board; 
 



(iv)  Accept, review and prioritize research proposals 
submitted to the board; 
 

(v)  Seek support for programs and projects consistent 
with the purposes of the board; 
 

(vi)  Allocate funds for research which serve the 
goals of understanding, managing, controlling or preempting 
potentially mutual or shared diseases that impact wild and 
domestic animals or humans in the state; 
 

(vii)  Allocate funds for monitoring, tracking and 
conducting disease surveillance before and following the 
introduction of bighorn sheep in the Sweetwater Rocks herd unit.  
Note: this paragraph is effective as of 1/1/2026. 
 

(c)  In approving research requests for funding, the board 
shall first consider any requests for funding from the Wyoming 
game and fish department, the University of Wyoming, the Wyoming 
department of agriculture and the Wyoming livestock board. After 
consideration of requests from those state agencies, the board 
may consider requests from other entities. 
 

(d)  All research projects requesting funding from the 
board shall be submitted to the board in a form and manner 
specified by the board. The approval of not less than three (3) 
members of the board shall be required prior to funding of a 
project with funds received under this section. 
 

11-19-603.  Account created. 
 
There is created a wildlife/livestock disease research 
partnership account. Funds from this account shall be used only 
for purposes specified in W.S. 11-19-601 through 11-19-605. Any 
interest earned on the account shall remain within the account. 
 
There is created a wildlife/livestock disease research 
partnership account. Funds from this account shall be used only 
for purposes specified in W.S. 11-19-601 through 11-19-605. Any 
interest earned on the account shall remain within the account.  
[NOTE: This section will be effective 1/1/2026.] 
 

11-19-604.  Wyoming bighorn/domestic sheep plan. 
 

(a)  The Wyoming bighorn/domestic sheep plan shall be 
developed and maintained by rule and regulation as provided in 
this section to address potential conflicts arising out of the 



interaction between bighorn sheep and domestic sheep within the 
state. The final report and recommendations from the Wyoming 
state-wide bighorn/domestic sheep interaction working group 
dated September 2004 together with appendices A through N as 
adopted by the group is adopted as the initial Wyoming 
bighorn/domestic sheep plan under this section and shall 
continue as revised or amended until repealed or nullified 
pursuant to law. 
 

(b)  Rules and regulations necessary to administer this 
article shall be promulgated jointly by the game and fish 
commission, the board of agriculture and the livestock board. 
The game and fish commission, the board of agriculture and the 
livestock board may jointly consider recommendations for changes 
to the plan and may revise or amend the plan through the 
rulemaking process pursuant to the Wyoming Administrative 
Procedure Act. 
 

(c)  The goal of the Wyoming bighorn/domestic sheep plan 
shall be to maintain the health of bighorn sheep populations 
while sustaining an economically viable domestic sheep 
population. 
 

(d)  The most current version of the Wyoming 
bighorn/domestic sheep plan shall be published on the website of 
the game and fish commission. 
 

(e)  In conformance with the Wyoming bighorn/domestic sheep 
plan the game and fish department may relocate or remove bighorn 
sheep to another area of the state if a federal judicial action 
or agency decision would require elimination of domestic sheep 
grazing in any area or herd unit designated in the Wyoming 
bighorn/domestic sheep plan as a nonemphasis herd. The game and 
fish department shall be reimbursed for the costs of relocation 
or removal of sheep under this subsection from funds available 
in the wildlife/livestock disease research partnership account. 
 

11-19-605.  Wyoming bighorn/domestic sheep relocation and 
removal; legislative findings; reimbursement; attorney general 
action.  Note: this section is effective as of 1/1/2026. 
 

(a)  The legislature finds and declares that it is the 
state's policy to vigorously defend its interests in maintaining 
and enhancing viable livestock grazing operations on public 
lands in conjunction with the conservation and maintenance of 
healthy bighorn sheep populations in the state of Wyoming. These 
two (2) policies are mutually compatible as demonstrated since 



the adoption of the collaboratively developed Wyoming 
bighorn/domestic sheep plan in 2004, which was codified into law 
under W.S. 11-19-604 in 2015. The legislature further finds and 
declares that: 
 

(i)  Reintroduction of bighorn sheep and management 
action to protect existing populations of bighorn sheep on 
federal public lands has been effectively accomplished in 
conformance with the Wyoming bighorn/domestic sheep plan; 
 

(ii)  It is the policy of the state of Wyoming to 
accept any risk of contact between bighorn sheep and livestock 
in the vicinity of any bighorn sheep transplant or relocation 
and to hold livestock producers harmless in the event such 
contact occurs; 
 

(iii)  All wildlife in the state of Wyoming is the 
property of the state, and it is the policy of the state to 
provide an adequate and flexible system for control, 
propagation, management, protection and regulation of all 
Wyoming wildlife; 
 

(iv)  Any removal of bighorn sheep from the Sweetwater 
Rocks herd unit under this act shall not be attributable to 
domestic livestock grazing on federal bureau of land management 
administered lands. Rather, the removal of bighorn sheep shall 
be directly attributable to: 
 

(A)  Onerous federal regulation that unduly 
impedes the state of Wyoming's ability to manage wildlife and 
domestic livestock grazing in conformance with the Wyoming 
bighorn/domestic sheep plan; 
 

(B)  Third-party action designed to use bighorn 
sheep as a means of eliminating domestic livestock grazing on 
bureau of land management administered lands within or in the 
vicinity of the Sweetwater Rocks herd unit. 
 

(v)  The provisions of this section shall be enforced 
by the state. 
 

(b)  In conformance with the Wyoming bighorn/domestic sheep 
plan in W.S. 11-19-604 and pursuant to W.S. 23-1-103, the game 
and fish department shall relocate or remove all bighorn sheep 
from the Sweetwater Rocks herd unit if any federal judicial 
action or federal agency action requires or indicates it may 
require the following: 



 
(i)  The elimination, reduction or suspension of 

domestic livestock grazing or trailing in the Sweetwater Rocks 
herd unit; or 
 

(ii)  Any changes to a United States bureau of land 
management resource management plan, grazing allotment plan or 
livestock grazing permit terms and conditions due to the 
presence of bighorn sheep in the Sweetwater Rocks herd unit or 
grazing allotment in that vicinity that is not in a designated 
bighorn sheep herd unit after July 1, 2024 without the consent 
of the grazing permittee. 
 

(c)  Any relocation or removal of bighorn sheep from the 
Sweetwater Rocks herd unit required by subsection (b) of this 
section shall commence as soon as practicable but not later than 
six (6) months after the Wyoming department of agriculture 
certifies to the governor that a condition specified in 
subsection (b) of this section is met. The governor shall notify 
the game and fish department that the removal of bighorn sheep 
from the Sweetwater Rocks herd unit shall commence in accordance 
with this section. 
 

(d)  The game and fish department shall be responsible for 
the expedient removal of bighorn sheep that stray outside the 
Sweetwater Rocks herd unit if that straying or foray is not into 
another designated bighorn sheep herd unit. 
 

(e)  The state and its agencies shall coordinate and assist 
the Wyoming congressional delegation in pursuing changes to 
federal law, rules and policies in order to bring them into 
conformance with the policies and findings of the Wyoming 
bighorn/domestic sheep plan created under W.S. 11-19-604. 
 

(f)  The Wyoming game and fish department shall not seek to 
change, alter or otherwise affect changes to domestic livestock 
grazing authorization on public and state lands due to the 
presence of bighorn sheep in the Sweetwater Rocks herd unit or 
grazing allotments in that vicinity that are not within an 
existing bighorn sheep herd unit. 
 

(g)  The game and fish department shall be reimbursed for 
the costs of relocation or removal of bighorn sheep pursuant to 
subsection (b) of this section from any available funds in the 
wildlife/livestock disease research partnership account created 
by W.S. 11-19-603. 
 



(h)  With the approval of the governor, the attorney 
general shall seek to intervene in any lawsuit if a federal 
action is contrary to the state's policy regarding Wyoming 
bighorn/domestic sheep set forth in subsections (a) and (b) of 
this section or that is inconsistent with the Wyoming 
bighorn/domestic sheep plan. 
 

(j)  With the approval of the governor, the attorney 
general shall file an action against any federal agency to stop 
the enforcement, administration or implementation of any federal 
agency rule, instructional memo, handbook or other action taken 
by a federal agency if the rule, instructional memo, handbook or 
other action is contrary to the Wyoming bighorn/domestic sheep 
plan or is otherwise contrary to law. 
 

CHAPTER 20 - BRANDS 
 

ARTICLE 1 - BRANDING AND RANGING 
 

11-20-101.  Definitions. 
 

(a)  As used in this act: 
 

(i)  "Agency" means the corporation, if any, 
designated by the board as its authorized representative to 
carry out the functions to be performed by the board and if 
there is no such agency, then it means the board; 
 

(ii)  "Board" means the Wyoming livestock board; 
 

(iii)  "Inspectors" means those persons appointed by 
the agency to execute the duties prescribed by law, rules, 
regulations and orders for the protection of the livestock 
industry in Wyoming; 
 

(iv)  "Livestock" means cattle, horses, mules, asses 
and sheep. The board acting in conjunction with the game and 
fish commission may designate individual bison or identifiable 
herds of bison as wildlife; 
 

(v)  "Stock drover" means any person driving livestock 
through any county in Wyoming; 
 

(vi)  "Stock owner" means any person who owns 
livestock; 
 



(vii)  "This act" means W.S. 11-19-101 through 
11-19-506, 11-20-101 through 11-24-115 and 11-30-101 through 
11-30-115; 
 

(viii)  "Brand" means a brand, mark or other board 
approved means of identification including any electronic device 
used for livestock identification. 
 

11-20-102.  Stock running at large to be branded. 
 
Every stock owner allowing his livestock over six (6) months old 
to run at large or mingle with livestock other than his own, 
shall brand his livestock with his recorded brand. 
 

11-20-103.  Brands; application; contents; recording fees; 
refund; disposition thereof. 
 

(a)  Any person desiring to adopt any brand to be used to 
brand livestock in this state, shall before using the brand make 
application to the Wyoming livestock board. The application 
shall: 
 

(i)  Contain a facsimile or a description of the 
brand; 
 

(ii)  State the species of livestock for which the 
brand is to be used; 
 

(iii)  State the place on the animal where the brand 
will be applied, and whether it is to be applied with hot iron, 
paint, tattoo or other means; 
 

(iv)  Repealed By Laws 1996, ch. 25, § 2. 
 

(b)  The application shall be accompanied by a recording 
fee of not less than one hundred fifty dollars ($150.00) for the 
first species of livestock and not less than seventy-five 
dollars ($75.00) for each additional species of livestock for 
which the brand is to be used.  In the event a brand is not 
recorded, twenty-five percent (25%) of the recording fee shall 
be retained by the Wyoming livestock board and the balance of 
the fee shall be refunded to the applicant.  A certified copy of 
the recorded brand shall be given to the owner. All fees 
collected shall be deposited into the account created by W.S. 
11-20-405. 
 

(c)  Repealed By Laws 2010, Ch. 69, § 204. 



 
11-20-104.  Brands; recording generally. 

 
Upon receipt of the application and fee the brand shall be 
recorded in the state brand record. If the brand has been 
previously recorded the executive officer of the board shall 
suggest a brand that can be recorded. The executive officer of 
the board shall not record any brand which in his opinion would 
conflict with any brand of record. 
 

11-20-105.  Brands; extension to other species. 
 
If a recorded brand is used exclusively for the identification 
of a particular species of livestock, the executive officer of 
the board may record the identical brand in the name of another 
person to identify his ownership of a species of livestock other 
than the species for which the brand is presently recorded. 
 

11-20-106.  Brands; sheep; districts created; recording 
thereof. 
 
To increase the quantity of brands which can be effectively used 
for the identification of sheep, the executive officer of the 
board may, with the advice of the executive committee of the 
Wyoming wool growers association, promulgate and enforce rules 
and regulations necessary to divide the land area of Wyoming 
into districts. The districts shall be made a part of such 
brands and recorded in the state record as further 
identification of sheep. 
 

11-20-107.  Brands; records kept by board; inspection 
thereof. 
 
The board shall keep an accurate record of all certified 
livestock brands, the names of the owners and their current 
contact information including addresses, which shall be open to 
public inspection. 
 

11-20-108.  Recorded brand; certified copy deemed prima 
facie evidence of ownership. 
 
A certified copy of any brand recorded in the office of the 
board is prima facie evidence of ownership of animals branded 
therewith for that species of livestock recorded by the board. 
The brand shall be received as evidence of ownership in all 
legal proceedings involving title to the animal. 
 



11-20-109.  Recorded brand; considered as property; subject 
to sale; written instrument required; acknowledgment and 
recording. 
 
Any brand recorded as required by law is the property of the 
person in whose name it is recorded, and is subject to sale, 
assignment, transfer, devise and descent as personal property. 
Instruments of writing evidencing sale, assignment or transfer 
shall be acknowledged and recorded in the office of the board. 
Acknowledgment and recording of such instruments have the same 
effect as to third parties as the acknowledgment and recording 
of instruments affecting real estate. 
 

11-20-110.  Recorded brand; bill of sale; when title vests. 
 
Any recorded brand may be conveyed to another by a bill of sale 
executed by the vendor, properly acknowledged, but the 
conveyance is not complete nor does title to the brand vest in 
the vendee until the bill of sale is filed for record and the 
ownership of the brand is transferred in the office of the 
board. 
 

11-20-111.  State brand book; contents. 
 
The executive officer of the board shall procure a suitable 
book, to be known as the state brand book, in which shall be 
recorded the brand and the definite place of the brand upon the 
animal, used for the branding of livestock in this state.  A 
suitable book under this section may, at the discretion of the 
board, include a printed copy, an electronic copy or both. 
 

11-20-112.  Brand book; publication; form and contents; 
distribution of copies; monthly lists and biennial supplements; 
costs; disposition of proceeds. 
 
The board shall publish a brand book containing facsimiles or 
descriptions of all brands recorded in Wyoming together with the 
owner's name and address. The names and brands shall be arranged 
in the most convenient form for reference. Copies of the brand 
book and copies of subsequent supplements shall be given to the 
agency. At the end of each month, the board shall prepare lists 
of the brands recorded during that month and shall issue 
biennial supplements to the brand book which shall supersede and 
cumulate the monthly lists issued during the biennium. The board 
may publish and sell brand books, lists and supplements. The 
proceeds from the sales shall be deposited in the account 
created by W.S. 11-20-405. 



 
11-20-113.  County clerk prohibited from recording brands. 

 
It is unlawful for any county clerk in this state to record any 
brand or bill of sale of any brand. 
 

11-20-114.  Failure to record brand deemed abandonment. 
 

(a)  Failure to record a brand is an abandonment of the 
same. No person shall claim or use any abandoned brand until 
after he has caused the same to be recorded as required by law. 
 

(b)  Any person violating subsection (a) of this section 
shall be punished as provided by W.S. 11-1-103. 
 

11-20-115.  Rerecording; when required; notice; 
abandonment. 
 

(a)  Every owner of a brand shall rerecord the brand 
according to the applicable time periods established by the 
board pursuant to subsection (c) of this section, and failure to 
do so is an abandonment of the brand as provided in this 
section. At least sixty (60) days preceding the expiration date 
of the brand, the board shall notify by mail and electronic mail 
if provided, at the address shown on the brand records, the 
owner of the brand that the brand must be rerecorded and if the 
brand has not been rerecorded within sixty (60) days from the 
expiration date of the brand, the brand will be declared 
delinquent. The board shall send a second notice by certified 
mail to the owner of the brand at the address shown on the brand 
records within thirty (30) days following the expiration date of 
the brand. A delinquent brand may be rerecorded by the brand 
owner who shall submit a rerecording application and pay a 
delinquent fee as established by rule of the board not to exceed 
one hundred fifty dollars ($150.00). If a delinquent brand is 
not rerecorded within two (2) years from the expiration date of 
the brand, the brand will be declared abandoned. Not less than 
six (6) months before declaring a brand abandoned, the board 
shall send a notice of proposed brand abandonment to the owner 
of the brand at the address shown on the brand records. The 
livestock board is authorized to promulgate rules and 
regulations necessary to implement this section including rules 
for issuing abandoned brands to other applicants. 
 

(c)  The term of the rerecording period shall be in ten 
(10) year increments, not to exceed one hundred (100) years at 
the option of the owner of the brand. The renewal schedule and 



the method of renewal shall be established by the board. Every 
owner of a brand shall rerecord the brand pursuant to the 
renewal schedule established by the board and shall pay the 
renewal fee specified by W.S. 11-20-116 which shall be prorated 
by the board for any renewal of less than ten (10) years. 
 

(d)  As part of a rerecording notice or abandonment notice 
sent under subsection (a) of this section, the board shall offer 
the option to the owner of the brand to rerecord all brands 
owned by the same person upon payment of a prorated fee, whether 
or not the brand has reached its rerecording date and provided 
that the rerecording period shall not exceed the term 
established by subsection (c) of this section. The board shall 
offer the option to the owner of the brand to extend the 
rerecording period in ten (10) year increments not to exceed one 
hundred (100) years upon payment of the appropriate fee as 
specified in W.S. 11-20-116(a). 
 

(e)  The owner of a brand declared delinquent under 
subsection (a) of this section may provide payment in full of 
the required recording fee and any delinquency fees at the time 
of brand inspection. 
 

11-20-116.  Fees for renewal, transfer of ownership or 
alteration of brand; recording bill of sale deemed renewal. 
 

(a)  For renewing any brand previously recorded and issuing 
a certificate of renewal, the board shall charge not less than 
three hundred dollars ($300.00) for each ten (10) year period, 
provided that if the renewal is for more than fifty (50) years, 
the fee shall be not less than one hundred dollars ($100.00) for 
each ten (10) year period beyond fifty (50) years. The fee shall 
cover any additional species of livestock for which the brand 
was previously recorded. 
 

(b)  For recording a bill of sale or other instrument 
transferring ownership of a recorded brand and issuing a 
certificate of transfer, not less than one hundred dollars 
($100.00) shall be charged for each recorded brand. 
 

(c)  The recording of a bill of sale or other instrument 
transferring ownership of a recorded brand during any renewal 
period shall not serve as a renewal of the brand. Transfer of 
ownership and renewal of a brand are separate transactions, for 
each of which the appropriate fee will be collected. 
 

(d)  Repealed By Laws 1996, ch. 25, § 2. 



 
(e)  The fees collected pursuant to this section shall be 

deposited in the account created by W.S. 11-20-405. 
 

(f)  Repealed By Laws 2010, Ch. 69, § 204. 
 

11-20-117.  Use of unrecorded brands prohibited; penalties. 
 

(a)  It is unlawful for any person in Wyoming to use an 
unrecorded brand for the purpose of claiming ownership of or to 
identify livestock with a brand not recorded in his name except 
as otherwise provided in W.S. 11-20-125. 
 

(b)  Anyone violating subsection (a) of this section shall 
be punished as provided in W.S. 11-1-103. 
 

11-20-118.  Drover's stock; to be kept separate. 
 
Every stock drover shall keep his livestock separate and 
distinct from other livestock, and if his livestock becomes 
mixed with other livestock the stock drover shall forthwith 
separate the same and return any comingled livestock to their 
lawful owner. 
 

11-20-119.  Drover's stock; liability for injury to 
property; exceptions. 
 
Every stock drover shall prevent his livestock from trespassing 
upon the property of another and from damaging any irrigating 
ditch or public works. No drover or other person who in good 
faith removes or attempts to remove livestock from any road, 
highway or right-of-way is liable for any civil damages for acts 
or omissions in good faith. 
 

11-20-120.  Driving cattle from home range. 
 
It is unlawful for any person to drive livestock away from its 
home range without authority from the owner of the livestock. 
 

11-20-121.  Penalties for failure to comply with certain 
provisions. 
 
Any person violating or failing to comply with the provisions of 
W.S. 11-20-102, 11-20-110 or 11-20-118 through 11-20-120 shall 
be imprisoned in the county jail not exceeding six (6) months, 
or fined not less than twenty-five dollars ($25.00) or more than 
five hundred dollars ($500.00), or both. 



 
11-20-122.  Repealed by Laws 1982, ch. 75, § 5; 1983, ch. 

171, § 3. 
 

11-20-123.  Repealed By Laws 2007, Ch. 105, § 2. 
 

11-20-124.  Repealed By Laws 2001, Ch 26, § 2. 
 

11-20-125.  Use of a seasonal brand; application for an 
annual permit to use an out-of-state brand. 
 

(a)  A person may apply to the board for permission to use 
his out-of-state brand on cattle, horses, asses or mules, 
provided the brand is legally registered in the state of origin. 
If a conflict is found with a registered Wyoming brand the 
board, notwithstanding W.S. 11-20-104 and 11-20-117 and as 
established by rule and regulation, may authorize use of the 
brand and require further identification. The permit shall be 
valid for a one hundred eighty (180) day period during the 
calendar year. The permit is not transferable. The annual fee 
for the permit shall be the same as the fee for a new brand as 
prescribed in W.S. 11-20-103. The permit may be issued and 
renewed annually if the board finds the requirements of this 
section are met: 
 

(i)  The applicant shall agree to restrict a permitted 
out-of-state brand on calves born to cattle imported for grazing 
purposes, yearling, feeder or stocker cattle imported for 
feeding or grazing or cattle consigned to a commercial feedlot.  
"Calves" for purposes of this section means calves less than six 
(6) months old and running at their mother's sides; 
 

(ii)  The applicant shall supply the brand inspector 
proof of ownership of the cattle at the time of brand inspection 
and shall show proof that the out-of-state brand is currently 
registered either by brand card or brand certificate from the 
state of issue; and 
 

(iii)  If the permit is issued, the permittee shall 
pay for all necessary brand inspections as prescribed by law. 
 

(b)  If there are written complaints to the board from 
three (3) or more affected parties, the board shall investigate 
the complaints and take appropriate action. 
 

(c)  The board may promulgate rules and regulations 
necessary to carry out the provisions of this section. 



 
11-20-126.  Repealed by Laws 2020, ch. 76, § 2. 

 
ARTICLE 2 - INSPECTION FOR BRANDS 

 
11-20-201.  Designation of contract services to implement 

brand inspection laws; bond required; bond of inspectors; 
interstate cooperative agreements. 
 

(a)  The board may designate an agency or contract for 
services subject to rules and regulations of the board, to 
exercise the rights, powers and duties provided by law with 
respect to inspection of brands and ownership of the animals 
mentioned herein. 
 

(b)  The agency, or the board may contract for inspectors 
as the board deems necessary to carry out specified duties. The 
board may contract for inspectors through an individual at-will 
contract. The board may contract to provide the inspector 
salary, mileage, per diem and other necessary reimbursable 
expenses, membership in the state employees' and officials' 
group insurance plan in accordance with W.S. 9-2-
3207(a)(xi)(F)(IV) and 9-3-207, and the state retirement system 
in accordance with W.S. 9-2-3207(a)(xi)(F)(IV), 9-3-412 and 9-3-
413.1. The board shall be authorized to establish mileage rates 
without regard to the limitations provided in W.S. 9-3-103. 
During the time that inspectors are acting within the scope of 
their duties on behalf or in service of the state in their 
official capacity, inspectors are covered by the provisions of 
the Wyoming Governmental Claims Act, W.S. 1-39-101 through 1-39-
120, and the state self-insurance program, W.S. 1-41-101 through 
1-41-111. It may assign inspectors inside or outside of this 
state as it deems appropriate. A blanket bond or individual 
bonds shall be executed to the state with good and sufficient 
surety in an amount determined by the board, conditioned for the 
full and faithful performance and discharge of the inspector's 
duties. The bond shall be approved by and filed in the office of 
the board. 
 

(c)  The board may enter into cooperative agreements 
wherever economically feasible with the proper authorities of 
other states for the enforcement and implementation of the 
Wyoming brand laws. Brand inspections performed in accordance 
with such a cooperative agreement is a Wyoming brand inspection 
within the meaning of the brand inspection laws of this state.  
For purposes of this subsection, the brand inspection need not 
be performed by a Wyoming brand inspector. 



 
11-20-202.  Duties of board; enforcement of provisions. 

 
(a)  Inspections for brands and ownership of livestock, 

wool, pelts, hides or carcasses shall be made by the board or 
its designated agency. The board shall prepare and provide all 
forms required for inspections and recording inspections for 
brands and ownership, and any substitutes or facsimiles are 
invalid. The agency of the board shall keep on file in its 
office copies of inspection certificates. The board shall make 
rules and regulations governing inspections for brands and 
ownership as necessary, consistent with the laws of Wyoming. 
 

(b)  The board shall enforce the brand inspection 
provisions of this act. No agent of the board exercising 
ordinary care and precaution in performing his duties is liable 
for any damage or loss that may be incurred thereby.  The 
immunity from liability provided by this section shall include 
liability for damages alleged to have been caused by an agent's 
efforts to repair a fence. 
 

11-20-203.  Inspection of brands at time of delivery or 
removal; certificate required; lack thereof; emergency movement 
of livestock. 
 

(a)  Except as otherwise provided in this section or except 
as provided in W.S. 11-20-211, 11-20-224 and 11-20-230, it is 
unlawful for any person, firm, partnership, corporation, or 
association to sell, change ownership or to remove or cause to 
be removed in any way from any county in Wyoming to any other 
state or country, any livestock unless each animal has been 
inspected for brands and ownership at the time of delivery or 
removal by an authorized Wyoming brand inspector and a proper 
certificate of inspection or clearance has been issued. 
 

(b)  Repealed By Laws 2013, Ch. 191, § 3. 
 

(c)  Except as otherwise provided in this section or except 
as provided in W.S. 11-20-211, 11-20-217, 11-20-224 and 
11-20-230, it is unlawful for any person, firm, partnership, 
corporation or association to remove or cause to be removed in 
any way from any county in Wyoming to any other county, any 
livestock unless each animal has been inspected for brands and 
ownership at the time of delivery or removal by an authorized 
Wyoming brand inspector and a proper certificate of inspection 
or clearance has been issued, except where the board has 
established brand inspection zones for each species of 



livestock. Brand inspection zones may encompass an area based on 
multiple contiguous counties or the entire state, as determined 
by the board. Brand inspection zones shall be reviewed and 
reauthorized annually by the board and shall be in effect for a 
calendar year. 
 

(d)  Notwithstanding any other provision of this section, a 
person, firm, partnership, corporation or association may move 
livestock to another county in this state in the case of an 
emergency situation declared or recognized by the board or 
director.  If a livestock animal is moved under this subsection, 
the person moving the animal shall notify the board or an agent 
of the board not later than forty-eight (48) hours after the 
movement has occurred. Prior to moving the livestock back to the 
original location or to any other location, the person shall 
obtain an inspection of brands and ownership and the board shall 
not charge a fee for the inspection. If livestock will be moved 
across state lines in an emergency situation declared or 
recognized by the board or director under this subsection, the 
person, firm, partnership, corporation or association shall 
immediately contact the board and follow the direction of the 
board for inspection of brands and ownership. The board or 
director may declare an emergency situation under this 
subsection at any time it is required for public safety or the 
safety of livestock. If livestock is moved prior to declaration 
of an emergency situation by the board or director, the board or 
director may recognize the situation as an emergency situation 
after the fact if it determines that any movement of livestock 
was required for public safety or for the safety of livestock. 
 

(e)  No inspection for brands and ownership is required if 
a change of ownership occurs solely due to: 
 

(i)  A legal name change of a person, firm, 
partnership, corporation or association if the ownership of the 
firm, partnership, corporation or association remains unchanged 
and the brand is transferred to the new legal name; 
 

(ii)  The transfer of a brand from an individual or 
the individual and his spouse to a business entity if the 
individual or the individual and his spouse are owners of a one 
hundred percent (100%) interest in the business entity; 
 

(iii)  A conversion of a business entity as provided 
in W.S. 17-26-101; 
 

(iv)  Marriage. 



 
11-20-204.  Inspector not to inspect his own livestock; 

penalty. 
 
It is unlawful for any inspector to issue a certificate of 
inspection covering livestock owned by him or in which he has 
any financial interest, and any violation of this provision is 
punishable as a misdemeanor. 
 

11-20-205.  Procedures generally; estrays. 
 

(a)  Except as otherwise provided, before selling, changing 
ownership or removing any livestock from any county of Wyoming, 
the person selling, changing ownership or intending to cause 
removal shall notify the inspector of the date of the intended 
removal and the time and place when and where the required 
inspection for brands and ownership can be made. The inspection 
shall be made within a reasonable time prior to shipment. The 
person in charge of the livestock shall hold the livestock at 
the place designated until the livestock have been inspected and 
an official certificate of inspection is issued. The person in 
charge shall render the inspecting officer such assistance as is 
practicable while the required inspection is being made. 
 

(b)  Upon being notified of the intention of any person to 
sell, change ownership or remove from the county any livestock 
when a prior inspection is required by law, the inspector 
notified shall go to the place designated at the time agreed 
upon, and make an inspection for brands and ownership of the 
livestock. 
 

(c)  The inspection shall only be done under conditions 
that allow the inspector, at the sole discretion of the 
inspector, to adequately view the livestock for the purpose of 
determining brands. The inspector shall list by classes the 
livestock, showing number of each class and all brands, together 
with the names of owners of the brands, if known. The inspector 
may require from the person in charge proof of ownership of the 
livestock to be removed from the county, by brand record, bill 
of sale or the affidavits of at least two (2) responsible 
citizens of the county who are not interested financially in the 
animals. If ownership of any of the livestock is not claimed by 
the person intending to remove them from the county, then 
written authorization from the owner for such removal is 
required. 
 



(d)  Estrays, the ownership of which is unknown, shall not 
be removed from the county except by order of the inspector in 
accordance with W.S. 11-24-102. 
 

(e)  No inspection for brands and ownership is required if 
a change of ownership occurs solely due to: 
 

(i)  A legal name change of a person, firm, 
partnership, corporation or association if the ownership of the 
person, firm, partnership, corporation or association remains 
unchanged; 
 

(ii)  The transfer of a brand from an individual or 
the individual and his spouse to a business entity if the 
individual or the individual and his spouse are owners of a one 
hundred percent (100%) interest in the business entity; 
 

(iii)  A conversion of a business entity as provided 
in W.S. 17-26-101; 
 

(iv)  Marriage. 
 

11-20-206.  Certificate of inspection generally; 
distribution of copies; failure to exhibit; justification to 
hold vehicle and livestock. 
 

(a)  Any inspector, upon completing an inspection of 
livestock for brands and ownership, shall record the inspection 
upon a form furnished by the Wyoming livestock board. When 
completed and signed by the inspector and the owner of the 
livestock or the owner's designee, the form is a certificate of 
inspection authorizing the removal from the county of the 
livestock listed. The inspector shall deliver a copy of the 
certificate to the person in charge of the livestock. If 
movement is to be by truck, a copy of the certificate shall be 
delivered by the person in charge of the animals to the driver 
or person in charge of the truck or trucks, and shall be kept in 
the latter's possession until the livestock are delivered at the 
final destination as shown on the certificate of inspection, and 
shall be exhibited upon request to any person authorized to 
enforce the brand inspection laws of this state. 
 

(b)  Failure or refusal by the driver of any vehicle to 
exhibit a certificate of inspection or a properly executed 
shipper's certificate and agreement or permit listing the 
livestock being transported within the state, is justification 
for any authorized person to hold the vehicle and the livestock, 



at the carrier's or the shipper's expense, until the carrier 
establishes his right to transport the livestock. If the carrier 
cannot establish his right to transport the livestock within 
twelve (12) hours, the vehicle and livestock shall be impounded 
as provided by W.S. 11-20-228, pending complete investigation 
and disposition as provided by law. 
 

11-20-207.  Repealed by Laws 1982, ch. 75 § 5; 1983, ch. 
171, § 3. 
 

11-20-208.  Proof of prior ownership; penalties for 
furnishing false proof. 
 

(a)  When the proof of ownership inspection is used, 
inspectors shall require proof of ownership of livestock upon 
change of ownership as provided by W.S. 11-20-203(a) and an 
instrument evidencing such ownership shall be delivered by the 
shipper to the inspector who shall attach it to the form and 
return it to the agency. 
 

(b)  The furnishing of false proof of prior ownership is 
probable cause for investigation of a felony offense being 
committed. All livestock involved shall be remanded to the 
custody of the Wyoming livestock board pending the outcome of 
the investigation and criminal charges, if any. Costs incurred 
for maintenance of the livestock involved shall be paid by the 
person who furnished false proof of ownership. Should the 
investigation show the only offense involved is furnishing false 
proof of ownership, the person furnishing such false proof shall 
be fined not less than two hundred dollars ($200.00) or more 
than seven hundred fifty dollars ($750.00) or imprisoned for not 
more than six (6) months, or both. 
 

11-20-209.  When inspection not required. 
 
No inspection for brands and ownership is required for livestock 
originating in another state, territory or country and being 
transported through Wyoming by common carrier or contract 
carrier in interstate commerce, without leaving the custody of 
the carrier. 
 

11-20-210.  When inspection not required; certain 
importations; compliance with health and quarantine regulations 
required. 
 
Subject to conditions set forth in this section, no inspection 
for brands and ownership is required of livestock being imported 



into Wyoming if the livestock are transported or driven directly 
from point of entry into Wyoming to a destination within Wyoming 
and the person in charge of, or having custody of the livestock 
has in his possession written authority to transport or drive 
the livestock from the state, territory or country of origin to 
a destination in Wyoming and written evidence that all health 
and quarantine regulations of Wyoming have been complied with. 
Such written evidence shall be shown upon request to any officer 
authorized to enforce the brand inspection laws. 
 

11-20-211.  When inspection not required; contiguous range. 
 
No inspection for brands and ownership is required for livestock 
being moved to their accustomed range which is on both sides of 
but contiguous to any county or state line, for the purpose of 
pasturing or feeding same. The word "contiguous" means actually 
touching, bordering or abutting upon, and this section shall not 
be construed to exempt from inspection livestock whose 
accustomed range is near or in close proximity but not 
contiguous to a state or county line. 
 

11-20-212.  In-state range movement permits. 
 

(a)  The board may issue an in-state range movement permit 
for the movement of livestock from a location in Wyoming to a 
noncontiguous location in another county provided the applicant 
and the ranch meet the requirements of this subsection and 
criteria established by rules of the board. The movement shall 
be for the purpose of pasturing, grazing, feeding the livestock, 
veterinary care, commercial lease or use or other board approved 
movement that is considered necessary for normal ranch 
management operating conditions. The movement shall not be for 
the purpose of changing ownership. A permit under this section 
may be issued only to bona fide owners or Wyoming resident 
lessees of qualified ranch lands headquartered within Wyoming or 
their authorized employees. As used in this section, a qualified 
ranch means a ranch that has been used for a period of time or 
purpose specified by the board and which use can be verified by 
brand inspection records. A permit may be denied by the board 
after a finding that the person applying for a permit has 
violated a brand inspection or animal health law, including a 
provision of this section, a board brand inspection or animal 
health rule or regulation or a board order. 
 

(b)  The fee imposed by W.S. 11-20-402 shall be collected 
at the time of the issuance of the permit under this section. If 
a change of ownership occurs before the livestock is returned to 



the county of origin pursuant to a permit issued under this 
section, the owner shall notify a brand inspector for an 
inspection of the livestock and shall pay all fees imposed under 
W.S. 11-6-210 and 11-20-401. 
 

(c)  Repealed By Laws 2010, Ch. 69, § 204. 
 

(d)  The board shall promulgate rules and regulations 
necessary to carry out the provisions of this section. 
 

(e)  Repealed By Laws 2013, Ch. 13, § 2. 
 

11-20-213.  Repealed By Laws 2007, Ch. 105, § 2. 
 

11-20-214.  Brand inspector may inspect at his discretion; 
voluntary inspections. 
 

(a)  A brand inspector may inspect livestock being 
transported, trailed, pastured or confined at his discretion, to 
determine ownership, without an inspection fee. 
 

(b)  Any person may request an inspection for brands and 
ownership of livestock in his possession at any time.  The 
inspection fee prescribed by W.S. 11-20-401 shall be collected 
by the brand inspector. 
 

11-20-215.  Repealed By Laws 2007, Ch. 105, § 2. 
 

11-20-216.  Procurement, form, contents and validity of 
truck-fleet shipment permit. 
 
When a shipment of livestock is to be made in more than one (1) 
truck and the entire shipment is listed on one (1) certificate 
of inspection, or one (1) shipper's certificate and agreement, 
or on any single permit required by law, the person in charge of 
the shipment shall obtain a truck-fleet shipment permit. The 
board shall prepare the form and contents of the permit. The 
permit is valid only for the shipment specified and on the date 
or dates shown. 
 

11-20-217.  Certificates and agreements in lieu of 
inspection; generally; shipper's demand for inspection; penalty. 
 

(a)  Subject to conditions set forth in this section, no 
prior inspection for brands and ownership is required of horses, 
mules, cattle or sheep being or about to be transported to any 



open market where Wyoming brand inspection is maintained whether 
within or outside Wyoming. 
 

(b)  In lieu of an official inspection for brands and 
ownership, the person proposing to remove livestock from any 
county of Wyoming to any such open market shall fill out and 
sign a certificate on a form approved by the board. The form 
shall include an agreement providing that the livestock listed 
on the certificate will not be diverted en route from the 
destination shown unless and until an inspection for brands and 
ownership has been made by an authorized Wyoming brand 
inspector, unless the diversion is to an open market where 
Wyoming brand inspection is maintained or where a brand 
inspection is made which substantially complies with the brand 
inspection laws of this state pursuant to an agreement entered 
into under W.S. 11-20-201(c). It shall further provide that in 
case of diversion of all or any part of the shipment the 
livestock diverted will be held at some convenient place, 
separate and apart from other livestock, until inspected, and 
the shipper will pay the necessary expenses incurred by the 
inspector and the legal inspection fees. The board shall 
establish a fee to be charged for use of the form authorized by 
this section. The fee for this form shall not exceed one dollar 
($1.00) per head.  The form authorized by this section shall not 
be issued until all fees required by W.S. 11-6-210 have been 
paid in full and may be collected at the time the form is issued 
by the issuing party. A blanket bond or individual bonds shall 
be executed to the state with good and sufficient surety in an 
amount determined by the board, conditioned for the full and 
faithful performance of any issuer of the forms and collecting 
of fees pursuant to this section. 
 

(c)  Except on demand of the shipper, the inspector is not 
required to inspect any horses, mules, cattle or sheep, 
consigned directly to any open market where Wyoming brand 
inspection is maintained. If the shipper demands a prior 
inspection, the inspection shall be made and the legal 
inspection fee charged and collected. Inspection at point of 
origin does not exempt the shipment from inspection for brands 
and ownership, nor the shipper from payment of inspection fees 
at the open market destination. 
 

(d)  The form authorized by this section may be denied, 
suspended or revoked by the board after proper hearing as 
provided by the Wyoming Administrative Procedure Act, and a 
finding that the person to whom the permit is granted has 
violated any of the brand inspection laws. 



 
11-20-218.  Repealed By Laws 2007, Ch. 105, § 2. 

 
11-20-219.  Certificates and agreements in lieu of 

inspection; filing and distribution of copies. 
 

(a)  After a certificate and agreement listing a shipment 
of horses, mules, cattle or sheep to be transported by common or 
contract carrier has been filled out, signed and witnessed, a 
copy shall accompany the shipment. 
 

(b)  A copy of the certificate and agreement listing 
horses, mules, cattle or sheep to be transported by private 
carrier shall be retained by the owner or his agent until the 
animals have been delivered at the destination shown and shall 
then be delivered by him to the Wyoming brand inspector at the 
destination. 
 

(c)  A copy of the certificate and agreement listing 
horses, mules, cattle or sheep being transported shall be shown 
upon request, to any person authorized to enforce the brand 
inspection laws. 
 

11-20-220.  Diverted shipments; notice thereof. 
 
Should any shipment or any part of a shipment of horses, mules, 
cattle or sheep listed on a certificate and agreement consigned 
to an open market be diverted en route from the destination 
shown, the railroad, trucking firm, trucker or private carrier 
transporting the shipment shall notify the Wyoming brand 
inspector at the original destination and the agency that such 
diversion has been ordered and made. The notice shall be sent 
within twenty-four (24) hours after diversion is ordered. If the 
diversion is ordered and made before the shipment leaves 
Wyoming, the required inspection for brands and ownership shall 
be made by any Wyoming brand inspector. If the shipment has left 
Wyoming, the inspection shall be made by a brand inspector 
having authority to inspect Wyoming livestock outside the state. 
 

11-20-221.  Common carriers not to receive livestock for 
transportation without certificate. 
 
Except as otherwise provided, it is unlawful for any railroad, 
trucker or other common or contract carrier, or any person to 
receive for transportation or to transport any horses, mules, 
cattle or sheep from any county in Wyoming to any other county, 
state, territory or country, until furnished with an official 



certificate of inspection, filled out and signed by an 
authorized inspector, showing the horses, mules, cattle or sheep 
to be transported have been inspected for brands and ownership. 
 

11-20-222.  Unbranded calves; inspection at request of 
stockman; fee. 
 
All calves unbranded or wearing unpealed brands shall be shown 
to the inspector at the point of origin and at their mother's 
side, upon written request of a bona fide Wyoming stockman from 
the immediate area to the district brand supervisor of that 
area, made at least five (5) days prior to shipment, or upon 
request of an authorized brand inspector. When inspection is 
requested, it shall be made immediately before loading and 
shipping the calves. The seller or shipper shall report to the 
inspector the name and address of the owner and shipper at 
destination of shipment, mode of transportation and the name and 
address of the consignee. The inspector shall record and file 
the same with the board or its agency. If shipment is to a 
market where Wyoming brand inspection is maintained, the usual 
fee shall be charged for sale ring inspection. 
 

11-20-223.  Out-of-state accustomed range permits. 
 

(a)  The board may issue an out-of-state accustomed range 
permit for the movement of livestock from an accustomed range or 
ranch in Wyoming to a noncontiguous accustomed range or ranch in 
another state provided the applicant and the accustomed range 
meet the requirements of this subsection and criteria 
established by rules of the board.  The movement shall be for 
the purpose of pasturing, grazing, ranging or feeding the 
livestock or other board approved movement that is considered 
necessary for normal ranch management operating conditions.  The 
movement shall not be for the purpose of changing ownership.  A 
permit under this section may be issued only to bona fide owners 
or Wyoming resident lessees of ranch lands headquartered within 
Wyoming or their authorized employees.  As used in this section, 
an "out-of-state accustomed range or ranch" means a range or 
ranch that has been used for a period of time or purpose 
specified by the board and which use can be verified by brand 
inspection records.  A permit may be denied by the board after a 
finding that the person applying for a permit has violated a 
brand inspection law, including a provision of this section or a 
board rule or regulation. 
 

(b)  No person shall move animals pursuant to a permit 
under this section until a brand inspector has inspected the 



animals and collected the fee imposed by W.S. 11-20-402.  The 
owner of livestock moved under the permit shall attest in 
writing that it is intended that the livestock shall be returned 
to this state prior to a change in ownership.  If a change of 
ownership occurs before the livestock are returned to this 
state, the owner shall notify the brand inspector who performed 
the inspection and shall pay all fees imposed under W.S. 
11-6-210 and 11-20-401 with credit granted for any fee imposed 
by W.S. 11-20-402(a)(viii). 
 

(c)  Repealed By Laws 2010, Ch. 69, § 204. 
 

(d)  The board shall promulgate rules and regulations 
necessary to carry out the provisions of this section. 
 

(e)  Repealed By Laws 2013, Ch. 13, § 2. 
 

11-20-224.  Permanent brand inspection certificate; 
application; surrender to board. 
 
The owner of livestock used for rodeo, show, racing, pleasure or 
Wyoming farm or ranch work purposes may obtain a permanent brand 
inspection certificate authorizing movement of the livestock 
intrastate or interstate, valid for the life of the livestock or 
until a change of ownership takes place, upon approval of a 
proper application in writing by an authorized Wyoming brand 
inspector. The application shall contain, or be accompanied by, 
valid proof of ownership of the livestock by the applicant, and 
shall include a thorough physical description including all 
brands carried by the livestock and all distinguishing marks or 
markings. The possession of a valid permanent brand inspection 
certificate shall constitute prima facie evidence of  ownership.  
Upon any change in ownership the certificate is void. 
 

11-20-225.  Annual horse brand inspection certificate; 
surrender to board; fee. 
 

(a)  The owner of a horse or livestock used for rodeo, 
show, racing, pleasure or farm or ranch work in Wyoming which is 
permanently and individually identified may obtain an annual 
brand inspection certificate, authorizing movement from county 
to county within Wyoming, valid for one (1) year from date of 
issuance unless sooner terminated by a change in ownership of 
the horse described therein. Upon any change of ownership the 
certificate is void and must be immediately surrendered to the 
board. 
 



(b)  Repealed By Laws 2001, Ch. 26, § 2. 
 

(c)  For each permit issued under this section there shall 
be charged an inspection fee established by W.S. 
11-20-402(a)(vi). 
 

11-20-226.  Certificates to be signed and in possession. 
 
The inspection certificate and movement permit issued pursuant 
to W.S. 11-20-224 or 11-20-225 is not valid unless signed by an 
authorized representative of the board and by the permit holder. 
The certificate shall be in the possession of the person 
transporting the horse and shall be shown on request to any 
person authorized to enforce the brand inspection laws. 
 

11-20-227.  Fraudulent use of inspection certificate and 
movement permit; penalties. 
 
Fraudulent use of an inspection certificate and movement permit 
issued pursuant to W.S. 11-20-224, 11-20-225 or 11-20-230 is 
punishable by a fine of not more than one hundred dollars 
($100.00) or by imprisonment for not more than thirty (30) days, 
or both. The fraudulent use of an inspection certificate and 
movement permit issued pursuant to W.S. 11-20-224, 11-20-225 or 
11-20-230 is probable cause to investigate the commission of a 
felony, and the provisions of W.S. 11-20-228 may be invoked 
pending the outcome of the investigation and court proceedings, 
if any. 
 

11-20-228.  Impounding of vehicles; lien. 
 
Any vehicle used in the transportation of livestock in violation 
of this act may be impounded pending determination of the 
violation by a court. Upon conviction of the owner of the 
vehicle, or the owner of the livestock being transported, any 
expense incurred by an authorized officer for towing the vehicle 
or for feed and care of the livestock is a lien upon the vehicle 
or livestock until the expenses are paid in full. 
 

11-20-229.  Penalties for violation of certain provisions. 
 
Any violation of the provisions of W.S. 11-20-202 through 
11-20-226 and 11-20-230 for which there is no specific penalty 
prescribed is punishable as provided in W.S. 11-1-103. 
 

11-20-230.  Livestock seed stock and exhibitors permit; 
fees; transfers; reports; enforcement. 



 
(a)  Any Wyoming livestock producer who raises and markets 

livestock for the purpose of providing breeding seed stock or 
exhibition animals, as defined by the board for purposes of this 
section, may apply to the board for a livestock seed stock or 
exhibition stock permit.  The fee shall be fifty dollars 
($50.00) per permit.  The permit shall be valid for the calendar 
year issued and no transactions or shipments shall be authorized 
until a permit has been issued. 
 

(b)  After receiving a certificate of inspection from a 
Wyoming brand inspector, the livestock producer may sell or 
change ownership of the livestock provided the livestock are 
branded with the livestock producer's recorded Wyoming brand and 
the animals can be individually identified by a board approved 
method.  The livestock may then be legally shipped or removed 
from any county in Wyoming to any other county, state or 
country, provided they are accompanied by a board authorized 
bill of sale and a board issued fleet permit which references 
the prior certificate of inspection pursuant to W.S. 11-20-216. 
 

(c)  The permit holder shall report all transactions and 
movements and shall pay any applicable fees authorized pursuant 
to W.S. 11-6-210, 11-37-106 and 11-37-107 to the brand inspector 
who issued the original brand certificate, or any other 
designated agent of the board, within three (3) working days of 
the transaction. 
 

(d)  Failure to comply with this section or any other 
applicable law or board rule shall be grounds for the revocation 
of the permit and shall be punished pursuant to W.S. 11-1-103.  
Providing false proof of ownership shall be grounds for the 
revocation of the permit and shall be punished pursuant to W.S. 
11-20-208.  All livestock covered under the permit authorized 
under this section are subject to reinspection by a board 
authorized brand inspector and any applicable fees shall be 
assessed. 
 

ARTICLE 3 - KILLING ANIMALS TO ASCERTAIN OWNERSHIP 
 

11-20-301.  When authorized. 
 
If in the opinion of any authorized brand inspector or sheriff a 
mark or brand upon any livestock has been fraudulently altered, 
obliterated or defaced so the original mark or brand cannot be 
determined by external inspection, the brand inspector or 



sheriff may seize and kill the animal to ascertain the mark or 
brand altered or defaced. 
 

11-20-302.  Sale of carcass. 
 
The carcass of any animal killed except such part as is retained 
for evidence, shall be promptly sold at public or private sale 
by the stock inspector or sheriff, and the proceeds paid into 
the general fund of the county in which the animal was killed. 
 

ARTICLE 4 - INSPECTION FEES AND TAXES 
 

11-20-401.  Brand inspection fees generally. 
 

(a)  Except as otherwise provided, each livestock inspector 
shall at the time of inspecting for brands and ownership collect 
inspection fees in an amount established by the livestock board 
but not less than: 
 

(i)  One dollar and twenty-five cents ($1.25) per head 
on all cattle including unbranded animals, and including the 
hide or carcass; 
 

(ii)  Twenty-five cents ($0.25) per head on all sheep, 
including any hide or carcass; 
 

(iii)  Nine dollars ($9.00) per head for the first ten 
(10) head of horses, asses or mules inspected, including any 
hide or carcass and one dollar and twenty-five cents ($1.25) for 
each additional horse, hide or carcass inspected at the same 
time and place; and 
 

(iv)  A six dollar and twenty-five cent ($6.25) 
surcharge per inspection by the livestock inspector.  The 
livestock board shall promulgate rules and regulations to 
identify conditions under which this surcharge may be waived. 
 

(b)  Repealed By Laws 2010, Ch. 69, § 204. 
 

(c)  The board may allow the inspection, permitting, 
payment and reporting requirements of this chapter to be 
conducted electronically as provided by the Uniform Electronic 
Transactions Act, W.S. 40-21-101 through 40-21-119, and any 
applicable federal electronic requirements. 
 

11-20-402.  Miscellaneous inspection fees. 
 



(a)  Except as otherwise provided, the board shall 
establish and, through its authorized inspectors, shall collect 
fees for the following of not less than: 
 

(i)  Repealed By Laws 2007, Ch. 105, § 2. 
 

(ii)  Repealed By Laws 1996, ch. 25, § 2. 
 

(iii)  One dollar and twenty-five cents ($1.25) for 
each certificate issued to a hide buyer as required by W.S. 
11-23-204; 
 

(iv)  Repealed By Laws 1996, ch. 25, § 2. 
 

(v)  Fifteen dollars ($15.00) for each permanent brand 
inspection and movement permit issued pursuant to W.S. 
11-20-224; 
 

(vi)  Twelve dollars ($12.00) for the first ten (10) 
head of livestock inspected and one dollar and fifty cents 
($1.50) for each additional head inspected under the annual 
brand inspection and movement permit issued pursuant to W.S. 
11-20-225; 
 

(vii)  Repealed by Laws 1990, ch. 87, § 3. 
 

(viii)  For an accustomed range permit under W.S. 
11-20-223, an amount equal to twenty-five percent (25%) of the 
inspection fees as established by the board pursuant to W.S. 
11-20-401(a)(i) through (iii); 
 

(ix)  A six dollar and twenty-five cent ($6.25) 
surcharge per inspection by the livestock inspector. The 
livestock board shall promulgate rules and regulations to 
identify conditions under which this surcharge may be waived; 
 

(x)  The fee for an accustomed range permit under W.S. 
11-20-212, of not less than fifty dollars ($50.00); 
 

(xi)  Actual hourly cost plus mileage for any 
nonmandatory inspections requested by a livestock owner.  The 
hourly cost shall be as determined by the board and the mileage 
cost shall be as provided by W.S. 9-3-103. 
 

(b)  Repealed By Laws 2010, Ch. 69, § 204. 
 



(c)  The board may establish and, through its authorized 
inspectors, collect fees from the livestock owner or other 
responsible party not to exceed the actual cost of any 
additional necessary reimbursable expenses including 
transportation, supplies or equipment rental relating to 
services required by the board. "Reimbursable expenses" for the 
purposes of this subsection shall mean expenses necessary to 
provide for the immediate safety of the public and livestock for 
which the board has authority.  This subsection shall not apply 
to those services authorized under W.S. 11-20-401. 
 

11-20-403.  Repealed by Laws 1990, ch. 87, § 3. 
 

11-20-404.  Report of receipts and expenses. 
 

(a)  The board shall on or before the first Monday in 
August each year present a written report to the director of the 
state department of audit, which shall contain: 
 

(i)  A statement of funds received from inspection 
fees and other fees collected under W.S. 11-20-201 through 
11-20-230, 11-20-401 and 11-20-402; 
 

(ii)  A statement of expenses of inspection, including 
salaries and expenses of inspectors, and that part of the 
expense of the agency, if any, incurred in administering the 
brand inspection laws; 
 

(iii)  The amount by which inspection expenses have 
exceeded the revenues for the fiscal year ending June 30; 
 

(iv)  An estimate of future expenses for the 
forthcoming year, which will become due and payable prior to the 
receipt of the amounts provided for herein to pay them. 
 

(b)  Repealed by Laws 1990, ch. 87, § 3. 
 

11-20-405.  Collection and disposition. 
 

(a)  Any funds appropriated by the legislature and all fees 
collected pursuant to W.S. 11-20-101 through 11-20-124, 11-20-
201 through 11-20-230, 11-20-401 and 11-20-402 shall be remitted 
to the state treasurer for deposit in the inspection account. 
Interest earned by the account shall be retained in the account. 
Monies within the account are subject to legislative review and 
appropriation for use and expenditure by the board. Itemized 
vouchers shall be submitted to the chief executive officer of 



the board for approval. Upon approval, a warrant for the payment 
of each voucher shall be issued by the state auditor for payment 
from the inspection account.  The board shall expend monies from 
the account created by this section only for the purposes 
authorized by W.S. 11-20-201 through 11-20-230 and 11-20-101 
through 11-20-124 and to pay for investigators of the Wyoming 
livestock board who are peace officers as defined in W.S. 7-2-
101(a)(iv)(E). 
 

(b)  After March 1, 2006, all costs of operating and 
administering the brand inspection and recording programs shall 
be paid from any funds appropriated by the legislature, any 
applicable grant funds and the fees collected and deposited into 
the account created by subsection (a) of this section. 
 

(c)  Repealed By Laws 2010, Ch. 69, § 204. 
 

11-20-406.  Repealed by Laws 1990, ch. 87, § 3. 
 

11-20-407.  Repealed by Laws 1990, ch. 87, § 3. 
 

11-20-408.  Examination of agency records; report. 
 

(a)  The director of the state department of audit or his 
designee shall examine the records and accounts of any agency 
appointed by the board to administer the brand inspection laws, 
and report to the governor in the same manner as for the 
examination of records and accounts of public officers. 
 

(b)  The board shall adopt an annual fiscal year budget for 
the brand registration and inspection program.  The budget shall 
include any deficit amount from the prior year and may include 
an operating reserve not to exceed one (1) year for that portion 
of the program to be funded by user fees.  Based on the budget 
adopted under this subsection, the board shall set the user fees 
for all activities under the program at no less than the minimum 
fees provided for in this chapter.  Each fee may be adjusted not 
more than one (1) time per fiscal year and by not more than 
twenty-five percent (25%) in any one (1) fiscal year.  The board 
shall report annually by November 1 to the joint agriculture, 
state and public lands and water resources interim committee 
with respect to the budget adopted and fees set under this 
subsection. 
 

11-20-409.  Issuance of certificate. 
 



Except as otherwise provided in W.S. 11-20-401(c), all fees 
required by W.S. 11-6-210, 11-20-201 through 11-20-230, 
11-20-401 and 11-20-402 shall be due and payable upon the 
issuance of a certificate of brand inspection or clearance.  No 
fees required by W.S. 11-6-210 shall be collected on the same 
livestock more than once in any twelve (12) month period. 
 

CHAPTER 21 - TRANSPORTING ANIMALS AND POULTRY BY VEHICLE 
 

11-21-101.  Repealed By Laws 2007, Ch. 105, § 2. 
 

11-21-102.  Display of permit to peace officer; written 
statement in lieu of permit. 
 
Any operator or other person in control of any vehicle 
transporting livestock, swine or domestic fowls, or the 
carcasses thereof, upon demand of any peace officer of Wyoming, 
shall exhibit his permit to carry the animals or domestic fowls, 
or carcasses thereof. 
 

11-21-103.  Peace officer authorized to stop and inspect 
carrier; search with or without warrant; seizure of animals 
unlawfully taken. 
 

(a)  Any inspector, game warden or peace officer of the 
county or state of Wyoming may stop any vehicle carrying 
livestock, poultry, or carcasses thereof, for the purpose of 
examining the owner's permit and the contents of the vehicle. 
 

(b)  Any inspector, game warden or other peace officer of 
the county or state of Wyoming may detain any vehicle which he 
has probable cause to believe may contain stolen animals, 
poultry or carcasses thereof, for not to exceed twelve (12) 
hours or until a legal search warrant may be obtained. If the 
person in charge of the vehicle consents in writing to a search 
of the conveyance without a warrant, the search shall be made by 
the officer in the presence of the detained person as soon as 
the consent is obtained. 
 

(c)  Any inspector, game warden or peace officer of the 
county or state of Wyoming may seize and take into custody any 
animals, poultry or carcasses thereof which have been unlawfully 
taken, unlawfully transported or which are unlawfully in 
possession. 
 

11-21-104.  Prohibited acts; penalties for violations. 
 



Any person who knowingly exhibits or causes to be exhibited to 
any peace officer any false or forged permit, or who, upon 
request of any peace officer of Wyoming, refuses or neglects to 
exhibit a permit, shall be punished as provided in W.S. 
11-1-103. 
 

CHAPTER 22 - LIVESTOCK MARKETS 
 

11-22-101.  Definitions; exceptions to provisions. 
 

(a)  As used in this act: 
 

(i)  "Board" means the Wyoming livestock board; 
 

(ii)  "Livestock" means horses, mules, cattle, swine, 
sheep and goats. Bison are considered livestock unless otherwise 
designated by the board and the Wyoming game and fish 
commission; 
 

(iii)  "Livestock market" means a place operated for 
profit as a public market, consisting of pens or enclosures and 
their appurtenances, in which livestock are received, held for 
sale, sold or offered for sale at either public auction or 
private sale, except that this act does not apply to: 
 

(A)  Any place used solely for a dispersal sale 
of the livestock of a farmer, dairyman, livestock breeder or 
feeder who is discontinuing business; 
 

(B)  Repealed by Laws 2006, Chapter 27, § 4. 
 

(C)  Any place where an association of breeders 
of livestock assembles, offers for sale and sells under its own 
management registered livestock or breeding sires, if the 
association assumes all responsibility of the sale and 
guarantees title to the livestock and arranges for the proper 
inspection of all animals sold. 
 

(iv)  "Livestock dealer" means: 
 

(A)  Any person engaged in the business of buying 
or selling livestock in commerce, either for his own account or 
as an employee or agent of the seller or buyer; or 
 

(B)  Any person who engages in the regular 
business of buying or selling livestock in commerce on a 



commission basis as set forth in rules by the Wyoming livestock 
board. 
 

(v)  "Livestock dealer" does not include any person 
who buys or sells livestock as part of his own bona fide 
breeding, feeding, showing, dairy, meat or wool production 
operation; any person who takes a security interest, including 
liquidation of that interest, in livestock in the ordinary 
course of his business; or any person who buys occasionally but 
not as a part of his regular business as set forth in rules 
promulgated by the Wyoming livestock board; 
 

(vi)  "This act" means W.S. 11-22-101 through 
11-22-119. 
 

11-22-102.  Board authorized to adopt and publish rules. 
 
The board shall adopt and publish reasonable rules and 
regulations necessary for the administration of this act. 
 

11-22-103.  License; requirements therefor. 
 
Upon making a satisfactory written statement to the board of 
financial responsibility and ownership or control of adequate 
facilities for the care, sorting, feeding, loading, unloading 
and shipment of livestock for the operation of a livestock 
market, and tendering the fee prescribed, any person may procure 
a license from the board to establish and operate within Wyoming 
for one (1) year a livestock market. 
 

11-22-104.  License; requirement; fees generally; 
expiration; renewal; effect of refusal of issuance or renewal. 
 
No person shall operate a livestock market within Wyoming 
without first procuring a license from the board and paying a 
fee of one hundred dollars ($100.00). Each license issued shall 
expire on April 30 next after the issuance of the license. If a 
license is obtained on or after September 1 of any year, the 
person obtaining same shall pay a fee in proportion to the 
number of months of the year remaining until April 30. The 
license may be renewed by eligible applicants prior to May 1 
each year upon application and payment of the required fee. An 
application for a license to operate a livestock market shall be 
in writing upon a form furnished by the board, and shall be 
accompanied by the required fee. If the board does not issue a 
license or renewal, the fee shall be returned to the applicant. 
 



11-22-105.  License; disposition of fees; payment of 
expenses. 
 
All license fees collected under this act shall be deposited in 
the state general fund. Expenses incurred in the administration 
of this act shall be paid out of a general fund appropriation as 
provided by law. 
 

11-22-106.  License; cancellation. 
 

(a)  The following are grounds for fines, suspension or 
cancellation of the license to operate a livestock market if the 
board finds: 
 

(i)  The licensee has violated this act, any rule or 
regulation properly adopted hereunder, any law of Wyoming or 
official rule or regulation made pursuant thereto governing the 
interstate or intrastate movement, shipment or transportation of 
livestock or the requirements for brand or health inspection; 
 

(ii)  The licensee is guilty of fraud or 
misrepresentation as to the titles, brands or ownership of 
livestock; 
 

(iii)  The licensee is guilty of buying, receiving or 
offering for sale any livestock known by him to be diseased or 
to have been exposed to infectious or contagious disease; 
 

(iv)  The licensee has failed or refused to practice 
measures of sanitation and inspection required by this act or by 
any rule or regulation of the board concerning premises or 
vehicles used for stabling, yarding, housing, holding or 
transporting animals in the operation of a livestock market; 
 

(v)  The licensee has neglected or refused to keep 
records required by this act, or rules or regulations of the 
board, or fails or refuses to permit inspection of such records 
by any authorized agent of the board; 
 

(vi)  The licensee has failed or refused to withhold 
sale proceeds of any livestock designated by the brand inspector 
as having questionable title, or the licensee has failed or 
refused to transmit promptly to the board, after expiration of 
sixty (60) days, the proceeds of livestock to which ownership 
has not been established, in accordance with W.S. 11-22-116; 
 



(vii)  The licensee is carrying on the business of a 
livestock market without filing and maintaining a valid surety 
bond in conformity with W.S. 11-22-107; 
 

(viii)  The licensee is carrying on the business of a 
livestock market while his current liabilities exceed his 
current assets; 
 

(ix)  The licensee willfully makes or causes to be 
made any false entry or statement of facts in any application, 
financial statement or report filed with the board; or 
 

(x)  The licensee or operator of any livestock market 
has negligently remitted the proceeds of sale of any livestock 
subject to brand inspector tally, consigned and delivered to the 
licensee for sale, to any person other than the owner of the 
livestock, without the prior and express written direction and 
approval by the owner of the livestock. If a licensed market 
licensee or operator has express notice that any livestock 
consigned for sale are mortgaged or subject to other security 
agreement, all remittances of proceeds of sale shall be made in 
the name of the owner and the party holding the mortgage or 
security agreement. 
 

11-22-107.  License; bond required; approval; filing; 
statement in lieu of bond; action on bond; termination of bond; 
copies of license and bond as evidence. 
 

(a)  No license or renewal of license to operate a 
livestock market within Wyoming shall be issued until the 
applicant has executed to the state of Wyoming a bond in the 
penal sum of twenty-five thousand dollars ($25,000.00) upon a 
form prescribed by the board, with surety approved by the board, 
conditioned for the payment of all money received by the 
licensee and operator of the livestock market to the rightful 
owner of the livestock consigned for sale, or to any other 
person entitled to receive the proceeds of the sale, less 
reasonable expenses and agreed commissions, forthwith upon the 
sale of the livestock. The bond shall also be conditioned for 
full compliance with all of the terms and requirements of this 
act, shall be approved and accepted by the board and approved as 
to form by the attorney general of Wyoming. When so approved, 
the bond shall be filed with the secretary of state. 
 

(b)  In lieu of the bond required by subsection (a) of this 
section, the applicant shall file a statement in the form 
prescribed by the board evidencing that he is registered and 



maintaining a valid and effective bond of or in excess of 
twenty-five thousand dollars ($25,000.00) or its equivalent 
under the provisions of the Packers and Stockyards Act 1921 (7 
U.S.C. § 181 et seq.). The statement shall name the executive 
officer of the board as trustee, and shall include a copy of the 
bond, to be filed with the secretary of state. Actions at law 
may be brought in the name of the state upon any such bond by 
any aggrieved party, for the use and benefit of any person who 
suffers loss or damage from violations thereof. Each bond filed 
with the board shall be conditioned that the bond cannot be 
terminated except on at least thirty (30) days prior notice in 
writing to the board by the party terminating the bond. Copies 
of any such license and bond, certified by the executive officer 
of the board, may be procured upon payment of a fee of one 
dollar ($1.00) each, and shall be received as competent evidence 
in any court in Wyoming. 
 

11-22-108.  License; certified copy; fee; posting. 
 
A certified copy of a license may be procured by the holder of 
the original upon payment of one dollar ($1.00), and the 
original or certified copy of the license shall be posted during 
sale periods in a conspicuous place on the premises where the 
livestock market is conducted. 
 

11-22-109.  Investigations of sales; filing charges; 
hearing; notice thereof. 
 
The executive officer of the board may make or have an 
investigation made of the sales and transactions of any 
livestock market and the conditions under which its business is 
conducted. If he finds probable cause, he shall file charges 
against the licensee and operator with the board, and the 
charges shall be set down for hearing before the board upon ten 
(10) days notice served upon the licensee. 
 

11-22-110.  Sanitation; veterinarian supervision required. 
 
Every livestock market shall be maintained in a sanitary 
condition, and that portion which is used for handling hogs 
shall be cleaned and disinfected after each day's sales with 
disinfectant approved by the board, under the supervision of a 
veterinarian authorized by the board. 
 

11-22-111.  Scales; inspection and testing. 
 



All scales used in the operation of a livestock market must be 
inspected and tested by the state superintendent of weights and 
measures, who may make reasonable rules and regulations relative 
to the method of weighing livestock at all livestock markets. 
All livestock sold by weight must be weighed on scales. 
 

11-22-112.  Records of receipts and sales; availability for 
inspection. 
 
Operators of all livestock markets shall keep an accurate record 
of the date on which each consignment of animals was received 
and sold, the name and address of the buyer and seller, the 
number and species of the animals received and sold, and the 
marks and brands on each animal. The records, together with the 
gross selling prices, commission and other care, handling and 
sales charges on each consignment shall be available for 
inspection by the executive officer of the board, his deputy or 
authorized inspector. A copy shall be supplied to the owner of 
the livestock. All records of sales during preceding months 
shall be kept readily accessible for immediate examination. 
 

11-22-113.  Inspection of livestock; report on unbranded 
livestock. 
 

(a)  All livestock entering a livestock market shall be 
inspected for health and all livestock except swine and goats 
shall be inspected for brands before being offered for sale. The 
health inspection shall be made by a veterinarian approved by 
the board and appointed by the executive officer of the board as 
an authorized veterinarian for livestock markets. The brand 
inspection shall be made by a brand inspector. 
 

(b)  The Wyoming livestock board shall require a monthly 
report from brand inspectors employed at all Wyoming livestock 
markets of all branded and unbranded livestock inspected prior 
to sale. The report shall show for each consignment of livestock 
the date and place of sale, the county of origin, the name and 
address of consignor and the total number inspected and sold. 
 

(c)  Repealed by Laws 1990, ch. 87, § 3. 
 

11-22-114.  When removal of livestock from establishment 
permitted. 
 
It is unlawful for the operator of a livestock market to permit 
the removal of any livestock from the establishment until it has 
been treated in accordance with the rules and regulations 



prescribed by the board. In cases of livestock destined 
interstate, the health certificate shall show that the livestock 
has been inspected in accordance with the requirements of the 
state of destination. All fees for veterinary inspection, 
treatment and services shall be collected by the operator of the 
livestock market and paid to the veterinarian in the manner 
prescribed by the board. 
 

11-22-115.  Removal of veterinarian. 
 
The executive officer of the board may remove any authorized 
veterinarian whenever he finds that his work is not performed in 
conformity with this act and the rules and regulations of the 
board. 
 

11-22-116.  Warranty of title; disposition of proceeds from 
sale; receipt by board. 
 
The operator of each livestock market in this state shall 
warrant to the purchaser the title of all livestock sold through 
the market and is liable to the owner for the net proceeds in 
cash received for the livestock sold. When notified by the brand 
inspector that there is a question as to whether any designated 
livestock sold through the ring is lawfully owned by the 
consignor, the market operator shall hold the proceeds received 
from the sale of the livestock for a reasonable time, not to 
exceed sixty (60) days, to permit the consignor to establish 
ownership. If at the expiration of that time the consignor fails 
to establish his lawful ownership of the livestock to the 
satisfaction of the brand inspector, the proceeds shall be 
transmitted by the operator to the board. The board may dispose 
of the proceeds in accordance with the law relating to the 
distribution of estray money, and the board's receipt shall 
relieve the operator from further responsibility for the 
proceeds. 
 

11-22-117.  Dispersal sales. 
 
All dispersal sales made at livestock markets shall meet the 
requirements prescribed for other livestock passing through such 
markets. 
 

11-22-118.  Registration of livestock dealers; records. 
 

(a)  Livestock dealers shall be registered with the board.  
Registration shall include the livestock dealer's address, phone 



number and premise identification number of their place of 
business if available. 
 

(b)  A livestock dealer shall maintain for a period of two 
(2) years brand inspection forms, all certificates of veterinary 
health inspection, all disease test charts and bills of sale 
showing purchase and sale of all livestock.  Information showing 
purchase or sale prices may be redacted from these records.  A 
livestock dealer shall make the records available to the board 
as part of any contagious disease outbreak investigation.  The 
board may randomly audit up to ten percent (10%) of the 
livestock dealers annually to monitor for compliance. 
 

(c)  After giving due notice and opportunity for hearing in 
accordance with the Wyoming Administrative Procedure Act, the 
board shall have the authority to deny an application for 
registration or to suspend or cancel the registration of a 
livestock dealer if: 
 

(i)  There is adequate evidence to establish the 
livestock dealer had intent to violate or circumvent the record 
keeping requirements of this section or other animal health 
regulations; or 
 

(ii)  The livestock dealer has repeatedly demonstrated 
an unwillingness to keep records as required by subsection (b) 
of this section. 
 

(d)  Records obtained by the board pursuant to subsection 
(b) of this section are privileged and confidential commercial 
information for purposes of the Wyoming Public Records Act, W.S. 
16-4-201 through 16-4-205. 
 

(e)  Repealed by Laws 2016, ch. 52, § 2. 
 

11-22-119.  Penalty. 
 
Any person who violates W.S. 11-22-101 through 11-22-118 or any 
rule or regulation adopted by the board pursuant to this act 
shall be punished as provided in W.S. 11-1-103. 
 

CHAPTER 23 - HIDES AND CARCASSES 
 

ARTICLE 1 - PRODUCTION, INSPECTION 
AND STAMPING 

 
11-23-101.  Repealed by Laws 2024, ch. 55, § 2. 



 
11-23-102.  Only inspected livestock to be slaughtered; 

record of cattle slaughtered. 
 

(a)  It is unlawful for any person operating any 
slaughterhouse, packing plant or rendering plant in Wyoming to 
slaughter or cause to be slaughtered any horses, mules or cattle 
before each animal has been inspected for brands and ownership 
by an authorized Wyoming brand inspector not more than seven (7) 
days before slaughter. 
 

(b)  Every person engaged in slaughtering cattle shall keep 
a record of all cattle slaughtered, naming the person from whom 
the cattle were purchased, his place of residence and the age, 
sex and brands of the cattle slaughtered. The record shall at 
all times be open for inspection by any person. 
 

(c)  If a hide is sold to a hide buyer, the bill of sale 
shall accompany the hide and shall be available for inspection 
by an authorized Wyoming brand inspector, department inspector, 
sheriff or deputy sheriff during regular business hours for not 
less than two (2) years from the date of the sale of the hide. 
 

11-23-103.  Purchase of unstamped carcass prohibited. 
 
It is unlawful for any person to purchase from any other person 
the carcass or any part thereof of any cattle unless the carcass 
or part purchased is stamped as provided by law. The district 
court of the county wherein the sale or purchase takes place has 
jurisdiction of the offense. 
 

11-23-104.  Repealed by Laws 2024, ch. 55, § 2. 
 

11-23-105.  Penalties. 
 
Any person violating any provision of W.S. 11-23-102 and 11-23-
103 shall be fined not less than seven hundred seventy-five 
dollars ($775.00) or more than one thousand five hundred dollars 
($1,500.00), or imprisoned for not more than one (1) year, or 
both. 
 

11-23-106.  "Cold storage locker plant" defined; stamp on 
tag; certificate in lieu of stamp; filing and inspection of 
certificate; penalties. 
 

(a)  "Cold storage locker plant" means any place, premises 
or establishment where facilities for the cold storage and 



preservation of human food in separate and individual 
compartments are offered to the public upon a rental or other 
basis for private profit. 
 

(b)  No operator or employee of any cold storage locker 
plant in Wyoming shall accept from any person for processing, 
quick freeze or cold storage any beef, mutton, lamb or pork 
unless it is properly stamped or tagged showing it to have been 
lawfully slaughtered, or in the absence of a proper stamp or tag 
the person offering the meat may deposit at the time with the 
operator or his employee a signed certificate stating: 
 

(i)  The owner of the meat; 
 

(ii)  The kind of meat; 
 

(iii)  The weight of the meat; and 
 

(iv)  The name and address of the person from whom 
acquired or if slaughtered by the person offering same, the date 
and place of slaughter. 
 

(c)  The certificate shall be kept on file by the operator 
for one (1) year from its date and be made available for 
inspection upon request of any law enforcement officer or 
authorized representative of the board. 
 

(d)  Any person violating this section or making any false 
statement in the certificate shall be punished as provided in 
W.S. 11-1-103. 
 

11-23-107.  Killing of horses for meat; unmutilated hide or 
certificate of inspection to be produced; penalties. 
 

(a)  Any person who kills any horse for the purpose of 
using, selling or offering for sale the meat or carcass for 
tankage, or for the purpose of feeding the same to domestic 
stock or to fur bearing animals, must produce on demand of any 
inspector or peace officer either the unmutilated hide of the 
animal killed or a certificate of inspection of the hide, issued 
by a livestock inspector. 
 

(b)  Any person violating this section shall be fined not 
less than seven hundred seventy-five dollars ($775.00) or more 
than one thousand five hundred dollars ($1,500.00), or 
imprisoned for not more than one (1) year, or both. 
 



11-23-108.  Mutilation of hide from horse; penalties; 
allegations in prosecutions. 
 

(a)  Any person who willfully or maliciously mutilates, 
destroys or conceals any hide from any horse, mule, jack, 
jennet, bovine animal, goat, hog or sheep with the intent to 
remove evidence of ownership of the hide or the animal from 
which the hide was removed, shall be fined not less than seven 
hundred seventy-five dollars ($775.00) nor more than one 
thousand five hundred dollars ($1,500.00), or imprisoned not 
more than one (1) year, or both. 
 

(b)  In any prosecution for the violation of this section 
it is not necessary for the state to allege in the complaint or 
information the ownership of the hide or the animal from which 
the hide was removed, but it is sufficient to allege that the 
owner of the hide or the animal from which the hide was removed 
is unknown and that the hide or animal is not the property of 
the defendant. 
 

ARTICLE 2 - PURCHASES, SALES AND TRANSPORTATION; 
BRAND INSPECTION 

 
11-23-201.  Hide buyer; designation. 

 
Any person engaged in the purchase and sale of hides within this 
state shall be known and designated as a hide buyer. 
 

11-23-202.  Hide buyer; bill of sale required; contents; 
copy to seller. 
 
A hide buyer shall require every person from whom he purchases 
hides or pelts to deliver to him a bill of sale for the hides 
and pelts, executed in duplicate. One (1) copy shall be retained 
by the seller and the other copy shall be kept by the hide buyer 
and exhibited upon demand of any inspector, sheriff or deputy 
sheriff. The bill of sale shall describe by brand or mark the 
hides and pelts sold and the date of sale. 
 

11-23-203.  Hide buyer; record of purchases to be kept; 
contents; inspection by sheriff. 
 
Every hide buyer in this state shall keep a true record of all 
hides and pelts purchased by him, showing the name of the seller 
of the hides or pelts, the date of purchase and all brands and 
other identification marks on the hides and pelts for not less 
than two (2) years from the date of purchase. The record shall 



be open for inspection by the sheriff or his deputy in his 
county and any livestock inspector. 
 

11-23-204.  Hide buyer; inspection for interstate commerce; 
certificate; fee. 
 
It is unlawful for any hide buyer within this state to ship or 
haul any hides or pelts out of Wyoming unless the hides or pelts 
have been inspected by a livestock inspector and a certificate 
of inspection given therefor. The certificate shall state the 
date of inspection, the number of hides and pelts and the brands 
and other identification marks thereon. The hide buyer shall pay 
to the inspector the fee prescribed by law for each certificate 
of inspection issued to him. 
 

11-23-205.  Repealed By Laws 2007, Ch. 105, § 2. 
 

11-23-206.  Stock killed by transportation company. 
 
When any livestock is killed by a transportation company within 
this state, the company shall cause the hides from all animals 
killed to be inspected by an inspector, except where the owner 
or his agent or employee has seen and identified the animals. 
 

11-23-207.  Penalties. 
 
Any person violating any provision of W.S. 11-23-202 through 
11-23-206 shall be punished as provided in W.S. 11-1-103. 
 

ARTICLE 3 - TRANSPORTATION OF CARCASSES 
TO RENDERING PLANTS 

 
11-23-301.  Generally; exceptions. 

 
With the consent of the owner, unless removal is contrary to 
state, county or local sanitary regulations or in the opinion of 
the state veterinarian might result in spreading contagious or 
infectious disease or threaten the health of human beings, 
animals or poultry, carcasses of animals may be transported to 
any rendering plant legally operating without prior inspection 
for brands and ownership. The operator of a rendering plant 
within this state receiving the carcasses is a hide buyer and 
shall comply with W.S. 11-23-201 through 11-23-207. 
 

11-23-302.  Transportation to another state prohibited 
without inspection; proof of ownership required. 
 



Without the consent of the owner, or agent, it is unlawful to 
transport or cause to be transported carcasses of horses, mules, 
cattle or sheep from Wyoming to any other state without prior 
inspection for brands and marks and the issuance of a 
certificate attesting the inspection by an inspector, who shall 
require proof of ownership by brand record, bill of sale, or 
both. 
 

11-23-303.  Hide inspection certificate. 
 
After receiving satisfactory proof of ownership of carcasses of 
animals to be transported from the state, the inspector shall 
sign and issue a hide inspection certificate on a form approved 
by the board, listing the class and number of carcasses 
inspected, the brands or marks on each, the name of the shipper, 
name and address of the consignee, place and date of inspection, 
and make and license number of the truck. If transportation is 
by other means than truck, that shall be shown. Across the face 
of the certificate he shall write the words "Dead Animals". The 
hide inspection certificate shall be filled out in triplicate, 
the original delivered to the shipper or his agent and shall 
clear the carcasses for transportation to the destination shown. 
One (1) copy shall be mailed by the inspector to the board, and 
one (1) copy filed in the office of the brand inspection agency. 
 

11-23-304.  Inspection fee; disposition thereof. 
 
For making an inspection of carcasses the inspector shall 
collect the inspection fee prescribed by law for each horse, 
mule, cattle or sheep carcass. All fees collected shall be 
transmitted to the board. 
 

11-23-305.  Penalty. 
 
Violation of any provision of W.S. 11-23-301 through 11-23-304 
is a misdemeanor punishable by a fine of not less than 
twenty-five dollars ($25.00) nor more than one hundred dollars 
($100.00). 
 

CHAPTER 24 - ESTRAYS 
 

11-24-101.  Definitions. 
 

(a)  As used in this act: 
 

(i)  "Animal" means any bovine animal, horse, mule, 
ass or sheep; 



 
(ii)  "Estray" means any animal found running at large 

upon public or private lands, fenced or unfenced, in Wyoming 
whose owner is unknown in the territory where found or the owner 
of which cannot with reasonable diligence be found, or that is 
branded with two (2) or more brands the ownership of which is 
disputed, neither party holding a bill of sale. An estray 
includes any animal for which there is no sufficient proof of 
ownership found upon inspection; 
 

(iii)  "Range" means all unfenced lands or fenced 
allotments in Wyoming of a grazing nature. Range includes all 
highways outside of private enclosures and used by the public 
whether formally dedicated to the public or not; 
 

(iv)  "Disposal" means to sell, send to slaughter or 
destroy the animal; 
 

(v)  "Livestock" means as defined in W.S. 
11-20-101(a)(iv); 
 

(vi)  "This act" means W.S. 11-24-101 through 
11-24-115. 
 

11-24-102.  Taking up estrays; generally. 
 

(a)  No person shall take up and retain possession of an 
estray except in the county where he resides and is a 
freeholder, nor unless the animal is found on lands owned, 
leased, or controlled by him or his duly authorized agents. When 
any person takes up an estray he shall immediately notify an 
inspector who shall inspect or cause to be inspected the estray 
for brands and other evidence of ownership and make a diligent 
effort to learn or determine ownership of the animal. The 
inspector may cause any estray to be held for not more than ten 
(10) days after the inspection to enable him to complete his 
investigation of ownership. If the estray is claimed by an 
owner, the bill for feed and care incurred by the inspector must 
be paid by the claimant. If the rightful owner cannot be found, 
or when found, refuses or fails to pay the charges for feed and 
care of the estray, the inspector shall order the estray be 
disposed of. Incurred charges for feed and care by the inspector 
and reasonable shipping and disposal expense shall be paid from 
the proceeds of the disposal. The net proceeds, if any, received 
from the disposal of the estray after deduction of authorized 
expenses, shall be forwarded to the estray fund of the board or 
its agency. The board or agency shall hold the proceeds in a 



special fund known as estray fund until paid to the rightful 
owner of the estray or otherwise disposed of according to law. 
 

(b)  If the proceeds of the disposal of any estray are 
insufficient to pay all legitimate expenses, the deficiency 
shall be paid by the board or its agency. 
 

(c)  The board may enter into agreements with licensed meat 
processing plants to process meat from livestock disposed of by 
slaughter.  The processed meat shall be sold to: 
 

(i)  Wyoming state institutions or to nonprofit 
organizations for no more than the board's cost for disposal, 
processing and delivery; or 
 

(ii)  For profit entities at market cost for the 
processed meat. 
 

11-24-103.  Taking up estrays; penalties. 
 
Any person who takes up or retains possession of any estray 
without the owner's knowledge or consent, or who in any manner 
restrains from liberty for the purpose of using or making use of 
any estray without the knowledge and consent of the owner shall 
be punished as provided in W.S. 11-1-103. 
 

11-24-104.  Stallions and jacks generally. 
 
If any horse or ass not gelded, two (2) years old or upwards, is 
found running at large, it is lawful for any person to take up 
the horse or ass and give notice to the owner or keeper if 
known. If the owner or keeper does not appear within six (6) 
days thereafter and pay expenses incurred for the feed and care 
of the animal to the person possessing the animal, the person 
shall advertise the horse or ass and the same proceedings shall 
be had as provided in the case of estray animals, or the person 
possessing the animal may after the expiration of thirty (30) 
days from the time of advertising, geld or have the horse or ass 
gelded, at the risk and expense of the owner, except when the 
horse or ass is in the owner's herd, or in care of the owner's 
herder. The owner of the horse or ass shall be liable for any 
damages caused by the animal to property or other livestock. 
 

11-24-105.  Unclaimed horses; permit for gathering; 
disposal. 
 



(a)  Any person desiring to gather unclaimed horses from 
the ranges within Wyoming shall obtain a permit from the 
livestock board, except as provided in subsection (e) of this 
section. The permit applicant shall submit with the permit 
application written permission to access the range whereon the 
unclaimed horses are to be gathered from the person who has 
ownership or control of the surface rights of that range. The 
form of the permit shall be prescribed by the board. 
 

(b)  If after an inspection under subsection (c) or (e) of 
this section, the rightful owner cannot be found, or when found, 
refuses or fails to pay the charges for feed and care of the 
estray, the unclaimed horses shall be disposed of by the board 
under the laws pertaining to estrays. 
 

(c)  The permit and the unclaimed horses shall be presented 
to an inspector within the county in which they were gathered 
without unnecessary delay for determination of ownership. 
 

(d)  The permittee shall be responsible for all expenses 
associated with gathering, feed and care of the unclaimed horses 
until an inspection has occurred. 
 

(e)  A permit is not required for any person desiring to 
gather unclaimed horses located on private land on which the 
person has ownership or control of the surface rights.  A person 
who has gathered unclaimed horses on private land on which he 
has ownership or control of the surface rights shall present the 
unclaimed horses to an inspector within the county in which they 
were gathered without unnecessary delay for determination of 
ownership and shall be responsible for all expenses associated 
with the gather and feed and care of the unclaimed horses until 
an inspection has occurred. 
 

(f)  Any horse claimed by the United States bureau of land 
management as belonging to a wild horse management unit is 
excluded from this section. 
 

11-24-106.  Unclaimed horses; penalties. 
 
Any person, firm or corporation violating any provision of W.S. 
11-24-105 shall be punished as provided in W.S. 11-1-103. 
 

11-24-107.  Liability for death. 
 



If any estray dies while in the possession of the person taking 
it up, he is not liable for the loss unless its death was the 
result of mistreatment or willful neglect. 
 

11-24-108.  Stock at large or picketed on public highways; 
penalties for violations; impoundment and disposition; fees; 
proceeds from disposition thereof; removal of dead or injured 
animals. 
 

(a)  No owner or person having custody or charge of 
livestock shall permit the livestock to run at large in any 
fenced public highways in Wyoming as defined in W.S. 31-1-101. 
Livestock shall not be picketed on a public highway right-of-way 
from one (1) hour before sundown to one (1) hour after sunrise. 
If livestock are picketed on a public highway and escape, the 
owner or person having custody or charge of the livestock is 
deemed to have permitted the livestock to run at large in 
violation of this section. No livestock shall be picketed on an 
interstate or national defense highway as defined in W.S. 
31-18-801(a)(xvi). 
 

(b)  Any person or corporation violating this section shall 
be fined not less than two hundred dollars ($200.00) nor more 
than seven hundred fifty dollars ($750.00) and in addition shall 
pay all damage done by the livestock. The provisions of this 
section do not apply to livestock drifting into lanes or fenced 
roads in going to or returning from their accustomed ranges. 
 

(c)  Any sheriff, deputy sheriff, livestock brand 
inspector, or officer or trooper of the Wyoming highway patrol, 
after notification to the owner of livestock described in 
subsection (a) of this section, if known, shall within four (4) 
hours remove the livestock from the public highway, impound the 
same in the nearest convenient place where feed and water are 
available and immediately notify the owner, if known, of the 
action. If ownership is not known, the impounding officer shall 
report his action to an inspector. The inspector shall make a 
diligent effort to ascertain ownership of the impounded 
livestock, and for this purpose may hold the livestock not more 
than ten (10) days. If unable to determine ownership, the 
inspector shall dispose of the impounded livestock. Reasonable 
transportation and disposal expenses shall be paid from the 
proceeds of the disposal, if any. 
 

(d)  A removal fee of not to exceed twenty dollars ($20.00) 
per head shall be allowed for the expense incurred in removing 
livestock from any public highway and an impounding fee  for 



expenses incurred  for the feed and care of the animal shall be 
allowed the person responsible for feed and care of the 
livestock removed. The inspector is responsible for collection 
and payment to the rightful claimants of removal and impounding 
fees when impounded livestock is surrendered to the owner. Upon 
disposal, the total amount of removal and impounding fees shall 
be made known to the selling agency at the market or slaughter 
plant by the inspector and shall constitute a first claim on the 
net proceeds of the livestock after shipping and disposal 
expenses have been paid, and shall be forwarded by the selling 
agency to the claimant. 
 

(e)  Should the proceeds of the disposition of any 
impounded animal be insufficient to pay all legitimate shipping 
and disposal expenses and the removal and impounding fees 
approved by the inspector, the deficiency shall be paid by the 
board or its agency. 
 

(f)  The net proceeds, if any, from the disposition of the 
impounded livestock after deduction of removal, impounding, 
trucking and disposal expenses, shall be forwarded to the estray 
account of the board. The board shall hold the proceeds until 
paid to the rightful owner of the livestock or otherwise 
disposed of according to law. 
 

(g)  A peace officer may remove, destroy or otherwise 
dispose of an animal injured on a state highway after a 
reasonable attempt to locate the owner of a salvageable animal 
or a game warden in the case of a wild animal. If reasonably 
possible, the peace officer shall contact the brand inspector 
before removing, destroying or disposing of livestock. The 
carcass of an animal killed on a state highway shall be disposed 
of by highway maintenance crews. If the owner desires, he may 
claim the carcass from the maintenance crew. The crews shall 
report to the inspector brands, marks, tags or other 
identification. The inspector shall endeavor to establish 
ownership of the animal and notify the owner in writing or 
notify the local game warden as may be appropriate.  
Notwithstanding W.S. 24-1-112 and as part of their duties, any 
peace officer, inspector or other person acting under this 
section may, but is not obligated to, attempt to repair any 
fencing through which an animal has gained improper access to 
the area in which the animal is found. 
 

11-24-109.  Record to be kept of estrays found in shipments 
in transit of cattle or horses. 
 



All inspectors shall keep a record of all estrays found in any 
shipment of cattle or horses in transit from this state, and 
shall take a receipt for the estrays from the shipper, or in 
default of a receipt, shall take the estray from the shipment, 
giving the shipper a receipt for the estrays on behalf of the 
livestock board. 
 

11-24-110.  Monthly report of inspector; board to keep 
public record. 
 
The inspector shall make a report every thirty (30) days of all 
estrays to the livestock board, giving a description of the 
estrays, stating any brands or other marks by which the estrays 
may be identified. The board shall keep a record of all estrays 
reported, which shall at all times be open to the public for 
inspection. 
 

11-24-111.  Disposition of proceeds; remission to board. 
 
All persons shipping estrays shall immediately remit to the 
livestock board the proceeds received for each and every estray 
disposed of, a receipt for which was given to an inspector. If 
any inspector sells an estray from this state, he shall 
immediately remit the proceeds to the livestock board. 
 

11-24-112.  Disposition of proceeds; payment to owner on 
proof of ownership; unclaimed proceeds generally. 
 
If the lawful owner of any estray disposed of is found within 
one (1) year after the end of the calendar year in which 
disposal of the estray occurred, the net amount received from 
the disposal shall be paid to the owner upon his proving 
ownership to the satisfaction of the board or agency. If at the 
end of one (1) year after the end of the calendar year in which 
disposal of the estray occurred, the proceeds from the disposal 
of any estray remains unclaimed, the proceeds shall be disposed 
of as provided by law. 
 

11-24-113.  When shipping prohibited. 
 
It is unlawful for any person to drive or ship, or cause to be 
driven or shipped, or to consign or cause to be consigned, 
without authority from the owner, any estray from any place 
within this state, except through or to a point or place where 
an inspector or inspectors are located by the livestock board. 
 

11-24-114.  Publication of list of unclaimed estrays. 



 
(a)  The executive officer of the livestock board shall 

annually, during the last week of December, send two (2) lists 
of unclaimed estrays for which he has received payments, to the 
county clerk of each county, who shall post one (1) copy in a 
conspicuous place in the courthouse and place one (1) copy on 
file in his office. The executive officer shall also cause to be 
published in a newspaper of general circulation in each county 
from which any estray included in the list was shipped, a notice 
to the public that the list of estrays is available for 
examination. 
 

(b)  In addition to the notice under subsection (a) of this 
section, not less than once each month the livestock board shall 
ensure that if a new estray is taken up notice is posted at the 
courthouse in the county in which the estray was taken and at 
each livestock market.  The notice under this subsection shall 
include the location recovered from and the name of the 
inspector. 
 

11-24-115.  Disposition of unclaimed proceeds to state 
treasurer to credit of inspection account. 
 
On the first Monday in January of each year, all estray monies 
remaining unclaimed for more than one (1) year after the 
publication of the notices of posting of lists of unclaimed 
estrays, shall be paid to the treasurer of the state, and be 
placed to the credit of the inspection account. 
 

CHAPTER 25 - WYOMING GAMING COMMISSION 
 

ARTICLE 1 - IN GENERAL 
 

11-25-101.  Wyoming gaming commission created; composition; 
qualifications. 
 
The Wyoming gaming commission is created to be composed of nine 
(9) persons who have resided in the state for four (4) years and 
are qualified electors of Wyoming. 
 

11-25-102.  Definitions. 
 

(a)  As used in this act: 
 

(i)  "Breeder award" means monies collected pursuant 
to W.S. 11-25-201(j) and distributed by the commission to 
promote the improved breeding and development of the horse 



industry in Wyoming.  Breeder awards may include purse 
enhancement of Wyoming bred races; 
 

(ii)  "Commission" means the Wyoming gaming 
commission; 
 

(iii)  "Drug" means any substance foreign to a horse's 
body as prescribed by the commission; 
 

(iv)  "Event" means a pari-mutuel event; 
 

(v)  "Pari-mutuel event" means the events which are 
authorized by the commission for the conduct of horse racing (to 
include quarter horse, thoroughbred or other approved races), 
harness racing, cutter racing, chariot racing, chuckwagon 
racing, professional roping and rodeo events and simulcasting of 
dog racing and the events described in this paragraph as 
prescribed by the commission.  Notwithstanding W.S. 6-7-
101(a)(iv) and 11-25-203, the commission may authorize and 
promulgate rules providing for pari-mutuel wagering on events 
that have previously occurred, utilizing an electronic system or 
device that affords an opportunity for the exercise of skill or 
judgment where the outcome is not completely controlled by 
chance alone; 
 

(vi)  "Pari-mutuel wagering" means wagering on the 
outcome of pari-mutuel events in which those who wager purchase 
tickets of various denominations on entrants in the events and 
all wagers for each event are pooled and held by the permittee 
for distribution, and when the outcome of the event has been 
decided, the permittee distributes the total wagers comprising 
the pool, less an amount not greater than twenty-five and nine-
tenths percent (25.90%) for live racing and in the event of 
simulcasting an amount not to exceed the percentage allowed at 
the host track or thirty-five percent (35%), whichever is less 
and less the amount for breakage to holders of tickets on the 
winning entries; 
 

(vii)  "Simulcasting" means the sale of pari-mutuel 
pools electronically transmitted live or historic on interstate 
or intrastate pari-mutuel events as prescribed by the 
commission. The commission shall authorize simulcasting subject 
to the following conditions: 
 

(A)  Simulcasting may be conducted only by a 
holder of a permit to simulcast issued under this act.  The 
permit shall be authorized by the commission for a period not to 



exceed three (3) years from the date of issuance.  The 
commissioners shall issue a simulcast permit only to an 
applicant authorized under this act to conduct a pari-mutuel 
event other than simulcasting; 
 

(B)  Simulcasting may be conducted off the 
permitted premises only if the board of county commissioners of 
the county in which such simulcasting will be conducted grant 
[grants] its approval; 
 

(C)  No simulcasting may be conducted within one 
hundred (100) miles of any premises permitted under this act, 
except that the commission may waive the one hundred (100) mile 
limitation if the simulcast permit application includes written 
approval from the permittee whose permitted premises is within 
the one hundred (100) mile limitation; 
 

(D)  The commission shall promulgate rules for 
conducting simulcasting as are reasonably necessary to protect 
the public interest. 
 

(viii)  "This act" means W.S. 11-25-101 through 11-25-
306; 
 

(ix)  "Multiple wagering" means wagers which consist 
of a single betting interest on two (2) entries; 
 

(x)  "Exotic wagering" means wagers which consist of a 
single betting interest on three (3) or more entries; 
 

(xi)  "Advance deposit pari-mutuel wager" means a 
wager in which a person who has opened an account in advance 
with a licensee can place wagers from this account in person, by 
telephone or other electronic means; 
 

(xii)  "Horsemen's association" means the association 
that represents the majority of the owners and trainers licensed 
by the commission to race horses at an event; 
 

(xiii)  "Out-of-state simulcast facility" means a 
track or other facility, located within a jurisdiction other 
than Wyoming, at which pari-mutuel wagers are placed, accepted 
or distributed, either in person or electronically, on simulcast 
races pursuant to proper authorization under the laws of that 
jurisdiction; 
 



(xiv)  "Source market fee" means a license fee, 
assessed by the commission pursuant to W.S. 11-25-201(m), 
payable by out-of-state simulcast facilities that conduct pari-
mutuel wagering on simulcast races and that accept wagers from 
Wyoming residents by telephone or other electronic means at 
those facilities; 
 

(xv)  "Net proceeds" means all revenue less the 
payment to the player; 
 

(xvi)  "Establishment" means a single physical place 
of business that operates as a truck stop, smoke shop or that is 
licensed or permitted to sell alcoholic liquor or malt beverages 
under W.S. 12-2-203(g), 12-4-201, 12-4-301, 12-4-401, 12-4-407, 
12-4-413, 12-4-414 or 12-4-415; 
 

(xvii)  "Operator" means a person who possesses and 
operates an establishment where skill based amusement games may 
be played for profit; 
 

(xviii)  "Skill" means a player's knowledge, dexterity 
or any other ability or expertise relevant to game play; 
 

(xix)  "Skill based amusement game" means a game 
played in exchange for consideration of cash, credit or other 
thing of value on a fixed, commercial electrical gaming device 
in which the bona fide skill of the player, determined by an 
individual's level of strategy and skill, rather than any 
inherent element of chance, is the primary factor in determining 
the outcome and for which the player may be awarded a prize or 
other thing of value for a successful outcome. "Skill based 
amusement game" shall not include any game played for prizes of 
nominal value as provided by rule of the commission; 
 

(xx)  "Vendor" means a person who owns and distributes 
a skill based amusement game to an operator for profit; 
 

(xxi)  "Truck stop" means a business premises that is: 
 

(A)  Equipped with diesel islands used for 
fueling commercial motor vehicles and that sells on average one 
hundred twenty-five thousand (125,000) gallons of diesel or 
biodiesel fuel each month based on the previous twelve (12) 
months of sales; and 
 

(B)  Located on a parcel of land of not less than 
two (2) acres that is either owned or leased by the business and 



which includes a convenience store with parking spaces dedicated 
to commercial motor vehicle use. 
 

(xxii)  "Smoke shop" means a retailer as defined in 
W.S. 14-3-301(a)(iii) that derives fifty percent (50%) or more 
of its gross annual revenue from nicotine products as defined by 
W.S. 14-3-301(a)(vi). 
 

11-25-103.  Gaming commission; appointment, terms of office 
and political affiliation of members; vacancies; appointment 
districts. 
 
The governor with the consent of the senate shall appoint the 
nine (9) members of the commission in accordance with W.S. 28-
12-101 through 28-12-103. Seven (7) of the nine (9) members 
shall be appointed from each appointment district under W.S. 9-
1-218. One (1) of the remaining members shall be, at the time of 
appointment and during the term of appointment, an active county 
or municipal law enforcement officer certified under title 9, 
chapter 1, article 7 of the Wyoming statutes. One (1) of the 
remaining members shall be an enrolled member of the Northern 
Arapaho or Eastern Shoshone Indian tribe with not less than five 
(5) years of regulatory gaming experience. Members shall be 
appointed for terms of four (4) years and until their successor 
is appointed and qualified. Any vacancy shall be filled by 
appointment by the governor as provided in W.S. 28-12-101. A 
member of the commission may succeed himself for one (1) full 
four (4) year term. The governor may remove any member as 
provided in W.S. 9-1-202. Additionally, one (1) senator 
appointed by the president of the senate, one (1) representative 
appointed by the speaker of the house and one (1) gubernatorial 
representative shall serve as liaisons to the commission.  
Legislative liaisons shall be paid salary, per diem and mileage 
as provided in W.S. 28-5-101 when attending meetings of the 
commission. 
 

11-25-104.  Gaming commission; officers; director; 
meetings; quorum; records; licenses generally; effect of 
financial interest in events. 
 

(a)  The commission shall annually elect from its 
membership a president and vice-president, and may employ a 
director who has a working knowledge of pari-mutuel betting, 
horse racing and other forms of gaming regulated by the 
commission or an executive secretary, or both. The director may 
be retained on a yearly basis or for the racing season only as 
determined by the commission. Salary for the director or 



executive secretary shall be determined by the commission with 
the consent of the personnel division. The commission may also 
employ other personnel required to carry out this act. 
 

(b)  The commission shall hold an annual fall meeting in 
Wyoming and shall hold special meetings at such times and places 
within Wyoming as the majority of the members determine. A 
majority of the commission constitutes a quorum and a majority 
vote of a quorum may act for the commission. The secretary of 
the commission shall keep a record of the proceedings of the 
commission which is open at all times for public inspection. 
Legislative liaisons shall be considered members of the 
governing body of the commission for purposes of attending 
executive sessions held pursuant to W.S. 16-4-405(a) only. 
 

(c)  Any member of the commission who has a personal or 
private interest in any matter proposed or pending before the 
commission shall publicly disclose this fact to the commission 
and shall not vote on the matter. 
 

(d)  Any member of the commission who owns or has any 
interest, or whose spouse or member of his immediate family has 
any interest, in any activity regulated by the commission or in 
an animal participating in a pari-mutuel event shall disclose 
that interest and shall not participate in any commission 
decision involving a protest regarding that activity or 
occurring at that pari-mutuel event. 
 

(e)  The commission may authorize by license or permit and 
supervise all the conduct of all events provided for and 
regulated by this act. The commission may make reasonable rules 
for the control, supervision and direction of applicants, 
permittees and licensees. The rules shall include procedures for 
resolving scheduling conflicts and settling disputes between 
permittees, for the supervising, disciplining, suspending, 
fining and barring from pari-mutuel events of all persons 
required to be licensed or permitted by this act, and for the 
holding, conducting and operating of all pari-mutuel events 
pursuant to this act. The rules shall include requirements for 
internal controls for all aspects of pari-mutuel wagering, 
including procedures for system integrity, system security, 
operations and accounting. The commission may require that 
license applicants be fingerprinted for identification purposes 
as a condition of licensing. The commission shall announce the 
place, time and duration of pari-mutuel events for which license 
or permit fees shall be required and establish reasonable fees 
for all licenses and permits provided for by this act. The fees 



shall be established to ensure that the costs of administering 
this act are recovered through the total revenues received under 
this act. The commission shall establish security access 
safeguards for licensees to use for advance deposit pari-mutuel 
wagering. The commission shall prohibit advance deposit pari-
mutuel advertising that it determines to be deceptive to the 
public. 
 

(f)  Each permittee, licensee, any current and prospective 
employee, volunteer and contract employee of a permittee or 
licensee and each person who has access to restricted areas or 
animals housed on permitted event grounds for horse racing or 
for pari-mutuel activities shall be licensed by the commission 
and shall comply with all rules and regulations and all orders 
issued by the commission. No person shall hold any event with 
pari-mutuel wagering without obtaining a permit. The commission 
may require that all permittees, licensees, current and 
prospective employees, volunteers and contract employees of a 
permittee or licensee and each person who has access to 
restricted areas or animals housed on permitted event grounds 
for horse racing or for pari-mutuel activities submit 
fingerprints to the Wyoming division of criminal investigation 
to perform a criminal history background check pursuant to W.S. 
7-19-201 in order to obtain state and national criminal history 
record information. The division may share the results of the 
criminal history background check with the commission pursuant 
to W.S. 7-19-106(a)(xxxv). For purposes of this subsection, 
permittees, licensees, current and prospective employees, 
volunteers and contract employees of a permittee or licensee, 
shall include the following as defined: 
 

(i)  "Assistant starter" means a person who handles a 
horse in the starting gate on race day and during training; 
 

(ii)  "Assistant trainer" means a person who is 
designated by the trainer to make decisions on behalf of the 
trainer during the trainer’s absence; 
 

(iii)  "Clerk of scales" means a person whose primary 
responsibility is to weigh the riders before and after a race to 
ensure proper weight is carried; 
 

(iv)  "Commission or permittee employee" means a 
person who is an employee that by virtue of their required 
duties has access to restricted areas of the permitted event 
grounds or has access to information that is limited by law or 



confidential in nature and could effectuate or manipulate 
wagering activity or wagering information; 
 

(v)  "Commission safety officer" means a person who is 
employed by the commission to monitor activities and practices 
in the stable area, barn area and on the racetrack for 
compliance with this act and rules of the commission; 
 

(vi)  "Commission veterinarian" means a Wyoming 
licensed veterinarian hired directly by the commission; 
 

(vii)  "Exercise rider" means a person who exercises a 
horse during a training session; 
 

(viii)  "Farrier" means a person who provides hoof 
care, including the trimming and balancing of horses hooves and 
placing of shoes on hooves, if necessary; 
 

(ix)  "Groom" means a person who cleans stalls, 
bathes, brushes and provides general care to a race horse; 
 

(x)  "Horseman's bookkeeper" means a person whose 
primary responsibility is to keep and preserve books which will 
reflect the deposits or other credits and withdrawals or other 
charges that may be made by an owner or other licensee; 
 

(xi)  "Host facility" means a person who leases their 
property to a permitholder to operate or host pari-mutuel 
wagering; 
 

(xii)  "Identifier" means a person who verifies the 
identity of each race horse prior to the race; 
 

(xiii)  "Jockey" means a person who is a race rider of 
a horse, including a licensed jockey or an apprentice jockey; 
 

(xiv)  "Jockey agent" means a person who handles the 
daily business of a jockey or apprentice; 
 

(xv)  "Mutuel employee" means a person who acts under 
the direction of the mutuel managers and sells betting tickets; 
 

(xvi)  "Mutuel manager" means a person who is an 
employee of the permittee who manages the mutuel department 
overseeing all wagering activity; 
 



(xvii)  "Owner" means a person who is the owner, part 
owner or lessee of a horse; 
 

(xviii)  "Paddock judge" means a person who is 
responsible for the paddock area and saddling routine of the 
race horses; 
 

(xix)  "Pari-mutuel service provider" means any 
business or person providing goods or services to a pari-mutuel 
permitholder who is required to have access to designated and 
secured areas of the pari-mutuel event or provides direct 
services for the support of players or wagering terminals; 
 

(xx)  "Patrol judge" means a person who observes the 
progress of a race from various vantage points around the track; 
 

(xxi)  "Permitholder" means a person or entity holding 
a permit issued by the Wyoming gaming commission to operate a 
pari-mutuel facility; 
 

(xxii)  "Permittee official" means any mutuel manager, 
steward, events judge, placing judge, patrol judge, paddock 
judge, clerk of scale, identifier, starter, horsemen bookkeeper, 
track safety officer, racing secretary and track superintendent 
who by virtue of their position has unrestricted access to the 
pari-mutuel event grounds and animals participating; 
 

(xxiii)  "Placing judge" means a person who posts the 
order of finish in a race; 
 

(xxiv)  "Pony rider" means a person that rides a horse 
while leading another race horse, either during a training 
session or escorting the race horse to the post on race days; 
 

(xxv)  "Private practice veterinarian" means a Wyoming 
licensed veterinarian hired to provide services to owners and 
trainers; 
 

(xxvi)  "Racing secretary" means a person who drafts 
conditions of races and assigns weights for handicap events; 
 

(xxvii)  "Security employee" means a person who is 
responsible for the protection of property, people, acting in 
accordance with the permittee's guidelines; 
 



(xxviii)  "Service provider employee" means a person 
who is an employee of the pari-mutuel service providers who 
provide additional support to the vendor; 
 

(xxix)  "Starter" means a person who is  responsible 
for the official dispatching of horses for a race; 
 

(xxx)  "Steward or event judge" means a person who is 
the head event official, or their designee, charged with the 
duty of making sure the events comply with this act and the 
rules of the commission; 
 

(xxxi)  "Track safety officer" means a person who 
monitors the paddock and racetrack areas during all training and 
racing hours for safety related issues; 
 

(xxxii)  "Track superintendent" means a person who is 
responsible for all track maintenance, ensuring that the track 
surface is properly groomed and prepared for training and racing 
hours; 
 

(xxxiii)  "Trainer" means a person who is engaged in 
the training of race horses; 
 

(xxxiv)  "Valet" means a person who assists in the 
saddling of horses for the jockeys in a pari-mutuel event; 
 

(xxxv)  "Veterinarian assistant" means a person who is 
hired by a commission veterinarian or a private practice 
veterinarian to assist in providing veterinarian services under 
the direct supervision of a licensed veterinarian. 
 

(g)  The commission may delegate authority to enforce rules 
of the commission and this act to three (3) stewards at each 
pari-mutuel event, at least one (1) of whom shall be an employee 
of and selected by the commission. The commission shall require 
at least  one (1) steward to supervise each simulcast location 
that is approved by the commission.  Stewards shall exercise 
such reasonable and necessary authority as is designated by 
rules of the commission including the following: 
 

(i)  Enforce rules of the commission and this act; 
 

(ii)  Rule on the outcome of events; 
 

(iii)  Levy fines not to exceed one thousand dollars 
($1,000.00) for violations of rules of the commission. 



Violations shall be reported daily and fines paid to the 
commission within forty-eight (48) hours of imposition and 
notice; 
 

(iv)  Suspend licenses not to exceed thirty (30) 
calendar days for violations of rules of the commission. 
Suspensions shall be reported to the commission daily; 
 

(v)  Recommend the commission impose fines or 
suspensions greater than permitted by paragraphs (iii) and (iv) 
of this subsection. 
 

(h)  Only a licensed steward of the permitted event may 
impose fines or license suspensions except that a starter may 
impose fines when horses arrive at the gate until off time in an 
amount not exceeding two hundred dollars ($200.00). 
 

(j)  Any fine or license suspension imposed by a steward or 
fine imposed by a starter may be appealed in writing to the 
commission within five (5) days after its imposition.  The 
commission may affirm or reverse the decision of a steward or 
starter or may increase or decrease any fine or suspension.  A 
fine imposed by the commission shall not exceed ten thousand 
dollars ($10,000.00). Suspensions of a license may be for any 
period of time, but shall be commensurate with the seriousness 
of the offense. 
 

(k)  The commission shall access criminal history record 
information for all operators and vendors under article 3 of 
this chapter and all licensees, permittees and employees of the 
commission under W.S. 9-1-627(d) for the purposes of this act. 
Every applicant for a permit or license under this act shall 
provide the commission fingerprints and other information 
necessary for a criminal history record background check as 
provided under W.S. 7-19-201. 
 

(m)  The commission shall establish the number of actual 
live horse racing or pari-mutuel event days required to qualify 
for a simulcasting permit.  The commission shall adopt rules 
governing establishment of live horse racing or pari-mutuel 
event days required for a simulcasting permit in a manner that 
ensures fair and equitable involvement of all affected parties, 
including consideration of the economic viability of those days 
to permit applicants. 
 

(n)  Commencing July 1, 2020, any person conducting an 
activity as specified by W.S. 6-7-101(a)(iii)(D) or (F) shall 



first obtain a license from the commission. Under this 
subsection, the commission shall not charge license applicants 
any fee and shall not require any fee for any license issued. 
Any person required to be licensed under this subsection shall 
file an annual report with the commission as specified by rule. 
 

(o)  In addition to all other duties, the commission, in 
the reasonable exercise of its discretion, shall: 
 

(i)  Enforce W.S. 6-7-101 through 6-7-104; 
 

(ii)  Regulate online sports wagering and sports 
wagering operators and vendors under W.S. 9-24-101 through 9-24-
106. 
 

11-25-105.  Renumbered by Laws 2021, ch. 109, § 5 as W.S. 
11-25-201. 
 

11-25-106.  Renumbered by Laws 2021, ch. 109, § 5 as W.S. 
11-25-202. 
 

11-25-107.  Renumbered by Laws 2021, ch. 109, § 5 as W.S. 
11-25-203. 
 

11-25-108.  Renumbered by Laws 2021, ch. 109, § 5 as W.S. 
11-25-204. 
 

11-25-109.  Renumbered by Laws 2021, ch. 109, § 5 as W.S. 
11-25-205. 
 

11-25-110.  Renumbered by Laws 2021, ch. 109, § 5 as W.S. 
11-25-206. 
 

11-25-111.  Renumbered by Laws 2021, ch. 109, § 5 as W.S. 
11-25-207. 
 

11-25-112.  Renumbered by Laws 2021, ch. 109, § 5 as W.S. 
11-25-208. 
 

11-25-113.  Renumbered by Laws 2021, ch. 109, § 5 as W.S. 
11-25-209. 
 

ARTICLE 2 - PARI-MUTUEL WAGERING 
 

11-25-201.  Pari-mutuel permits; fees and reports; 
disposition of funds; enforcement of provisions. 
 



(a)  The commission may issue pari-mutuel permits for a 
specified period not to exceed three (3) years from the date of 
issuance to any Wyoming county, city, incorporated town, county 
fair board or any corporation or association which has been 
approved by the board of county commissioners and provides a 
bond acceptable to the commission. No permit shall be granted to 
any city, town, county, county fair board or any corporation or 
association except upon the express condition that it shall not, 
by any lease, contract, understanding or arrangement of whatever 
kind or nature, grant, assign or turn over to any person, 
corporation or association the operation or management of the 
pari-mutuel event permitted under this act or of the pari-mutuel 
system of wagering or in any manner permit any person, 
corporation or association to retain any of the money received 
for admission to the race meeting or from the operations of the 
pari-mutuel system. The commission shall revoke the permit of 
any permittee for any violation of the foregoing condition and 
such acts are a violation of this act. The permit is effective 
only for the times and at the places for which issued. In 
addition to all other fees and charges, there shall be charged 
before issuance of a permit a daily fee established by the 
commission to defray expenses of enforcing this act. 
 

(b)  Every Wednesday following any pari-mutuel event, the 
permittee shall: 
 

(i)  File a report with the commission showing the 
total amount of money wagered during the period; 
 

(ii)  Pay an amount equal to one-quarter percent 
(1/4%) of the total amount wagered attributable to historic 
pari-mutuel events and one and one-half percent (1 1/2%) of the 
total amount wagered attributable to live pari-mutuel events, 
shown by the report to the commission, to be credited by the 
state treasurer to a separate account, in the manner indicated 
in subsection (d) of this section; 
 

(iii)  Pay an amount equal to one percent (1%) of the 
total amount wagered attributable to historic pari-mutuel 
events, shown by the report to the commission, to be transferred 
by the commission to the county and the city or town in which 
the permittee is located, in equal shares, or to the county 
alone if the permittee is not located within the boundaries of a 
city or town. The county, city or town receiving an amount under 
this paragraph may credit that amount to the state fair account 
upon a majority vote of the county's, city's or town's governing 
body; and 



 
(iv)  Pay an amount equal to one-quarter percent 

(1/4%) of the total amount wagered attributable to historic 
pari-mutuel events, shown by the report to the commission, to be 
credited to the legislative stabilization reserve account. 
 

(c)  The permittee may retain an amount equal to nineteen 
and four-tenths percent (19.40%) of the total amount wagered 
shown by the report and may retain up to an additional five 
percent (5%) of the amount wagered on multiple or exotic wagers. 
The permittee shall retain the breakage on not more than ten 
cents ($.10) and retain unclaimed tickets not claimed within one 
(1) year following the event for the expenses of the race meet 
and purses and for the promotion of the racing industry. 
 

(d)  All sums paid to the commission under this act except 
contributions from permittees to the breeder award fund, amounts 
paid under paragraphs (b)(iii) and (iv) of this section, fines 
and penalties shall be credited to the pari-mutuel account which 
shall be used by the commission for the payment of all expenses 
incurred in enforcing this act. On a quarterly basis, the 
commission shall transfer amounts within the account in excess 
of one million five hundred thousand dollars ($1,500,000.00) to 
the state treasurer for credit to the legislative stabilization 
reserve account. All fines and penalties collected under this 
act shall be paid to the state treasurer and credited as 
provided in W.S. 8-1-109. The state treasurer shall pay out of 
the account all warrants drawn by the state auditor, upon 
vouchers issued and signed by the president, vice-president or 
executive secretary of the commission. The commission shall keep 
an accurate and true account of all funds received and all 
vouchers issued by the commission. All funds received and all 
vouchers issued by the commission shall be audited at least 
biennially by the director of the state department of audit or 
his designee and a copy of the audit shall be delivered within 
thirty (30) days after completion to the governor and the 
commission. The costs of the audit shall be borne by the 
commission.  The members of the commission shall receive per 
diem and mileage as provided in W.S. 33-1-302(a)(vii), and 
compensation of fifty dollars ($50.00) for each day during which 
they are actually engaged in the discharge of their duties. The 
total expenses incurred by the commission shall not exceed the 
total amount in the pari-mutuel account. 
 

(e)  Applications for permits shall be made to the 
commission and shall fully identify the applicant, include a 
proper financial statement showing the financial responsibility 



of the applicant, show the purpose and use of the permit and 
describe the events to be conducted and the arrangements 
therefor, the manner of wagering and the names and 
identification of those to supervise the manner of wagering and 
the controls and supervision by the permittee. 
 

(f)  The commission may issue, amend or refuse to issue 
permits in its discretion. 
 

(g)  The rules of racing set forth by the commission shall 
be made available to all participants of each event, and 
violations shall be misdemeanors punishable as provided herein. 
 

(h)  The commission shall observe and supervise the conduct 
of pari-mutuel wagering under permits issued by the commission 
and shall appoint one (1) of its members or employ one (1) or 
more persons to represent the commission in the administration 
and enforcement of this act and in the supervision of the 
conduct of pari-mutuel wagering and the events in connection 
therewith under each permit issued. Representatives of the 
commission shall have access to the events and to the pari-
mutuel booths and records and shall be paid an amount determined 
by the commission plus expenses and mileage as fixed by law for 
state officers, payment therefor to be made by the state 
auditor. 
 

(j)  As a condition of receiving a pari-mutuel permit, the 
permittee shall agree to and shall contribute to the breeder 
award fund administered by the commission an amount equal to 
four-tenths of one percent (0.40%) of the total handle wagered 
during the pari-mutuel event and an additional sum equal to 
twenty percent (20%) of the additional amount retained pursuant 
to subsection (c) of this section on multiple or exotic wagers. 
The contribution shall be derived from the  net proceeds of the 
race meet revenues, other than the permittee's share of the 
pari-mutuel wagering handle. Contributions shall be used only 
for breeder awards. 
 

(k)  The commission may authorize advance deposit pari-
mutuel wagering at any premise where a pari-mutuel event is 
authorized, provided that the licensee shall: 
 

(i)  Only accept an advance deposit pari-mutuel wager 
made by the person owning the account; 
 

(ii)  Ensure the identification of the account owner 
by using methods and technologies approved by the commission; 



 
(iii)  Provide a full accounting and verification of 

the sources of wagers at the request of, and in the form 
provided by, the commission; 
 

(iv)  Allow the commission and agents of the 
commission access to its premises to determine that the rules 
and regulations are being followed; 
 

(v)  Not allow minors to open, own or have access to 
advance deposit pari-mutuel wagering accounts; 
 

(vi)  Include a statement in all forms of advertising 
for advance deposit pari-mutuel wagering accounts that "minors 
are not allowed to open or have access to advance deposit pari-
mutuel wagering accounts." 
 

(m)  The commission may license, regulate and charge a 
source market fee to persons outside of Wyoming who conduct 
pari-mutuel wagering on simulcast races and who accept wagers 
from Wyoming residents at out-of-state simulcast facilities, and 
shall require out-of-state simulcast facilities licensed under 
this section to be maintained and operated in accordance with 
the laws of this state and rules of the commission.  Source 
market fees imposed on persons licensed under this subsection 
shall not exceed ten percent (10%) of the gross receipts of all 
pari-mutuel wagering by Wyoming residents conducted by such 
persons at out-of-state simulcast facilities.  Source market 
fees collected annually under this subsection shall be 
distributed as follows: 
 

(i)  Seventy-five percent (75%) to the live flat track 
permittees in this state on a number of live days basis, to be 
used to enhance purses at those tracks; 
 

(ii)  Ten percent (10%) to in-state Wyoming simulcast 
permittees, weighted by the annual simulcast handle other than 
the advanced deposit wagering handle; 
 

(iii)  Ten percent (10%) to the breeder award fund 
created under subsection (j) of this section; and 
 

(iv)  Five percent (5%) to the commission for 
administrative expenses. 
 

11-25-202.  Qualifications as to horses; preference to 
Wyoming bred horses. 



 
(a)  Every horse entered in any race authorized by a permit 

issued under this act shall be a thoroughbred horse which means 
any horse (including mare, gelding, colt and filly) that meets 
the requirements of and is registered by the Jockey Club of New 
York, including racing permits issued to foreign thoroughbred 
horses, or registered as an American quarter horse in the 
official stud book and registry of the American Quarter Horse 
Association, or registered as one (1) of another breed which 
maintains a recognized national stud book and registry. 
 

(b)  Every permittee conducting a pari-mutuel event shall 
provide each day for the running of at least one (1) race 
preferred to Wyoming bred horses if Wyoming bred horses are 
available. 
 

11-25-203.  Horses to race under true name; substitution of 
horses, concealment of identification, prohibited. 
 
Every horse participating in any event authorized by a permit 
issued under this act shall participate under its true and 
registered name, shall be fully and truly identified and shall 
not participate under any other name or identification. There 
shall be no substitution of horses nor shall any device 
whatsoever be used to conceal or confuse the name and 
identification of any horse. 
 

11-25-204.  Stimulation or retardation of animals 
prohibited; tests. 
 
It is unlawful for any person to use or permit to be used any 
mechanical or electrical device, or drug of any kind, to 
stimulate or retard any animal in any event authorized by this 
act except as prescribed by the commission.  A commission 
member, a roping judge or race steward may cause such tests to 
be made as they deem proper to determine whether any animal has 
been stimulated or retarded. Tests performed in furtherance of 
this section shall be conducted by or under the supervision of a 
qualified Wyoming veterinarian. 
 

11-25-205.  Bribery, touting and betting by minors 
prohibited. 
 

(a)  It is unlawful for any person to give or promise to 
give or attempt to give or for any person to receive or agree to 
receive or attempt to receive, any money, bribe or thing of 
value with intent to influence any person to dishonestly umpire, 



manage, direct, judge, preside, officiate at or participate in 
any event conducted under this act with the intention or purpose 
that the result of the event will be affected or influenced 
thereby. Violation of this subsection is a felony punishable by 
imprisonment for not more than five (5) years, a fine of not 
more than five thousand dollars ($5,000.00), or both. 
 

(b)  Any person who knowingly and designedly persuades, 
procures or causes, or attempts to persuade, procure or cause 
another person to wager on an animal or roper in any event 
authorized by this act and asks or demands compensation as a 
reward for information or purported information given in such 
case is guilty of unlawful touting. The representative of the 
commission may exclude from attendance at or near any event 
authorized by this act any person who has been convicted of 
touting and any person who refuses to leave when ordered to do 
so by the representative is guilty of a misdemeanor. 
 

(c)  No person under the age of eighteen (18) years shall 
place or be allowed to place a bet. 
 

(d)  Any person who has been convicted of bookmaking, 
bribery, touting or drugging animals may be evicted from a pari-
mutuel event by a steward or roping judge. 
 

11-25-206.  County elections as to pari-mutuel events. 
 
No pari-mutuel event shall be held in any county until the 
question has been put to the people of the county to accept or 
reject pari-mutuel wagering. If the election fails no other 
election shall be held for two (2) years. 
 

11-25-207.  Bond of permittees; required; conditions; 
prosecution of actions. 
 

(a)  The commission may require any permittee other than a 
political subdivision licensed to conduct an event to provide 
and deliver to the commission a bond signed by a surety company 
authorized to do business in this state in such form and amount 
as specified by the commission, or certificate of deposit, or 
irrevocable letter of credit, but not less than five thousand 
dollars ($5,000.00), conditioned that the permittee will pay to 
the state of Wyoming all monies due it under this act and will 
perform such other obligations as may be imposed by the 
commission. 
 



(b)  The county attorney of the county in which an event is 
held shall prosecute all action on the bonds on behalf of the 
state against any permittee for any reason whatever except a 
cause of action covered by public liability insurance. 
 

11-25-208.  Penalties. 
 

(a)  Any person holding or conducting any pari-mutuel event 
in connection with the pari-mutuel system of wagering without a 
permit issued in accordance with this act, or any person who 
violates any other provision of this act is guilty of a 
misdemeanor and shall be fined not more than ten thousand 
dollars ($10,000.00), imprisoned for not more than six (6) 
months, or both. 
 

(b)  The attorney general may, at the request of the 
commission, act on behalf of the commission to prosecute 
criminal actions under this chapter or title 6, chapter 7, 
article 1 of the Wyoming statutes if after a thorough 
investigation the action is deemed advisable by the attorney 
general. 
 

11-25-209.  Removal of livestock from quarters at county or 
state fairs. 
 
At no time and under no conditions shall any livestock at any 
county or state fair that are there to be shown be removed from 
quarters provided for them in order to place pari-mutuel horses 
in the stalls or quarters. Removal shall be cause for rescinding 
the permit for the pari-mutuel event. 
 

ARTICLE 3 - SKILL BASED AMUSEMENT GAMES 
 

11-25-301.  Skill based amusement games authorization; 
commission authority; applicability. 
 

(a)  Skill based amusement games operating in the state in 
accordance with the provisions of 2020 Wyoming Session Laws, 
Chapter 114 shall be allowed to continue operation in accordance 
with the requirements of this article and rules of the 
commission. 
 

(b)  A skill based amusement game that meets the 
requirements of this article shall be approved by the commission 
to operate in the state or it shall be removed from the state by 
the vendor. 
 



(c)  The commission shall promulgate any necessary rules to 
administer and enforce this article. The rules may include 
provisions for the control, supervision, direction, discipline, 
suspension or fining of any person for violation of this article 
or rules adopted in accordance with this article. 
 

11-25-302.  Laboratory report required. 
 

(a)  Each vendor shall provide for a nationally recognized, 
independent gaming laboratory approved by the commission to 
submit to the commission a general functional evaluation 
laboratory report regarding the software installed on each skill 
based amusement game indicating whether the skill based 
amusement game is in compliance with this article. Any skill 
based amusement game that does not meet the requirements of this 
article shall immediately be removed from the state by the 
vendor. 
 

(b)  Any alterations, modifications or updates to the 
software or hardware of any skill based amusement game shall 
require the vendor to submit to the commission a new laboratory 
report as required under subsection (a) of this section before 
the game may be used for play at an establishment. 
 

11-25-303.  Restrictions on operation of skill based 
amusement games. 
 

(a)  No skill based amusement game shall allow a game play 
of more than three dollars ($3.00) per play. 
 

(b)  No skill based amusement game shall allow a payout of 
more than three thousand dollars ($3,000.00) per play. 
 

(c)  No establishment shall have more than four (4) skill 
based amusement games operating for play at any one (1) time. 
 

(d)  Skill based amusement games shall only be located for 
play at an establishment, except as provided in subsection (e) 
of this section. An operator shall not locate a skill based 
amusement game in an area of the establishment into which a 
person under the age of twenty-one (21) years may enter. An 
operator shall conspicuously mark each area of the establishment 
containing a skill based amusement game as an age restricted 
area. The operator shall not allow a person under the age of 
twenty-one (21) years to play a skill based amusement game. 
 



(e)  Any operator who, before September 14, 2022 had a 
skill based amusement game located at a place of business that 
does not meet the definition of "establishment" in W.S. 11-25-
102(a)(xvi) on April 1, 2023 shall be authorized to continue 
operating skill based amusement games if the operator otherwise 
meets the requirements to operate a skill based amusement game. 
 

11-25-304.  Required permits and licenses; applicable fees; 
tax imposition; taxation rate; distribution. 
 

(a)  Any person seeking to obtain or renew any license, 
permit or decal as required under this section shall submit an 
application to the commission on a form prescribed by the 
commission. Upon approval of an application by the commission: 
 

(i)  An operator shall be issued a permit and required 
to pay an annual fee of two hundred fifty dollars ($250.00) to 
have skill based amusement games operating for play in the 
operator's establishment; 
 

(ii)  A vendor shall be issued a license and required 
to pay an annual fee of two thousand five hundred dollars 
($2,500.00) to possess and distribute skill based amusement 
games. 
 

(b)  Skill based amusement games that meet the requirements 
of this article shall bear a commission issued decal that 
identifies the vendor of the game. Each decal shall be valid for 
one (1) year. No skill based amusement game shall be operational 
unless it bears a current commission issued decal. The 
commission shall charge the vendor a fee of fifty dollars 
($50.00) for a decal. Each decal shall include the bucking horse 
and rider emblem. 
 

(c)  The fees required under subsections (a) and (b) of 
this section shall be paid on or before July 1 of each year and 
shall be deposited in the commission gaming account created 
under 2020 Wyoming Session Laws, Chapter 114 and hereby 
continued under this subsection. Funds within the account are 
continuously appropriated to the commission to pay for 
reasonable expenses incurred to administer this article. 
 

(d)  Taxes shall be calculated and paid on a weekly basis 
based on the net proceeds earned during the prior week on skill 
based amusement games. On a weekly basis, the vendor shall remit 
to the commission an amount equivalent to twenty percent (20%) 
of the net proceeds earned during the prior week on the vendor's 



skill based amusement games. The taxes imposed under this 
subsection may be prepaid as provided by rule of the commission. 
The commission shall remit these monies to the state treasurer 
for deposit in the commission gaming account and for 
distribution of the tax as follows: 
 

(i)  Forty-five percent (45%) to the county and the 
city or town in which the skill based amusement game is located, 
in equal shares, or to the county alone if the skill based 
amusement game is not located within the boundaries of a city or 
town; 
 

(ii)  Forty-five percent (45%) to the public school 
foundation program account; 
 

(iii)  Ten percent (10%) to the commission gaming 
account. 
 

11-25-305.  Operator permit, vendor license and skill based 
amusement game decal approval; criteria; review. 
 

(a)  The commission shall, not more than sixty (60) days 
after the date of receipt of an application or application for 
renewal for an operator permit, vendor license or skill based 
amusement game decal under W.S. 11-25-304 either: 
 

(i)  Issue the permit, license or decal; or 
 

(ii)  Deny the application based on the grounds that 
the applicant failed to qualify as provided by subsection (b) of 
this section. 
 

(b)  The commission shall deny any application under this 
article upon finding any of the following: 
 

(i)  The applicant has been convicted of, forfeited 
bail on or pleaded guilty within ten (10) years before the date 
of filing the application to: 
 

(A)  A crime involving theft, dishonesty or 
fraud; 
 

(B)  Bribery or unlawfully influencing a public 
official; 
 

(C)  A felony involving physical harm to an 
individual; or 



 
(D)  Any other crime identified by commission 

rules that negatively impacts the applicant's credibility or the 
security, integrity or fairness of play of skill based amusement 
games operated by the applicant. 
 

(ii)  The applicant tampered with submitted 
documentation or concealed, failed to disclose or otherwise 
attempted to mislead the commission with respect to any material 
fact contained in the application or contained in any other 
information required of or submitted by an applicant to the 
commission; 
 

(iii)  The applicant failed or refused to cooperate in 
the investigation of a crime relating to gambling, corruption of 
a public official or any organized criminal activity; 
 

(iv)  The applicant failed to otherwise meet the 
requirements imposed under this article. 
 

(c)  Operators shall have a continuing duty to disclose in 
writing any material change in the information provided in the 
application to the commission, including: 
 

(i)  Changes to names and contact information; 
 

(ii)  Arrests, convictions, guilty pleas, disciplinary 
actions or license denials in Wyoming and any other 
jurisdiction; 
 

(iii)  Any civil action brought against the operator 
or establishment; and 
 

(iv)  Any other information required by commission 
rules. 
 

(d)  If the commission denies an application or intends to 
revoke or suspend a license or permit issued under this article,  
it shall notify the applicant, licensee or permittee in writing, 
stating the grounds for denial, revocation or suspension and 
informing the person of a right to submit, before not more than 
thirty (30) days, any additional documentation relating to the 
grounds of denial, revocation or suspension. Upon receiving any 
additional documentation, the commission shall reconsider its 
decision and inform the applicant before not more than twenty 
(20) days of the result of the reconsideration. A denial of an 



application under this article shall be subject to the contested 
case procedures of the Wyoming Administrative Procedure Act. 
 

11-25-306.  Penalties. 
 
Any person who violates any provision of this article is guilty 
of a misdemeanor and shall be fined not more than ten thousand 
dollars ($10,000.00), imprisoned for not more than six (6) 
months, or both. Each violation of this section shall constitute 
a separate offense. 
 

CHAPTER 26 - SWINE, GOATS OR ELK RUNNING AT LARGE 
 

11-26-101.  Prohibited generally; liability of owner; 
penalty. 
 

(a)  It is unlawful for the owner of any swine, goats, 
domestic elk or exotic livestock to allow such animals to run at 
large within Wyoming. As used in this section, "exotic 
livestock" means any nontraditional livestock animal including, 
without limitation, llama, alpaca and other camelids, ostrich 
and other ratites, bison hybrids and yaks. Any owner who permits 
or causes such animals to run at large within Wyoming, is liable 
for damages incurred by any person by reason thereof in a civil 
action. 
 

(b)  Any person violating subsection (a) of this section, 
after twenty-four (24) hours written notice by a proper officer, 
shall be  punished as provided in W.S. 11-1-103. 
 

CHAPTER 27 - FEEDING OF UNTREATED GARBAGE TO SWINE 
 

11-27-101.  Definitions. 
 

(a)  As used in this act: 
 

(i)  "Board" means the Wyoming livestock board; 
 

(ii)  "Garbage" means putrescible animal and vegetable 
wastes resulting from the handling, preparation, cooking and 
consumption of foods including animal carcasses or parts 
thereof; 
 

(iii)  "This act" means W.S. 11-27-101 through 
11-27-107. 
 

11-27-102.  Authority of livestock board generally. 



 
(a)  Any authorized representative of the board may enter 

at reasonable times upon any private or public property to 
inspect or investigate conditions relating to the treating of 
garbage to be fed to swine. 
 

(b)  Any authorized representative of the board may examine 
any records or memoranda pertaining to the feeding of garbage to 
swine. The board may require maintenance of records relating to 
the operation of equipment for and procedure of treating garbage 
to be fed to swine. Copies of the records shall be submitted to 
the board on request. 
 

(c)  The board is charged with administration and 
enforcement of this act. 
 

11-27-103.  Feeding permit; application. 
 
Any person desiring to obtain a permit to feed garbage to swine 
shall make written application to the board in accordance with 
the requirements of the board. 
 

11-27-104.  Feeding permit; requirement; renewal; annual 
fee; exception. 
 

(a)  No person shall feed garbage to swine, without first 
securing a permit from the board. Permits shall be renewed on 
April 1 each year. The board shall charge one dollar ($1.00) for 
each annual permit. 
 

(b)  This act does not apply to any person who feeds his 
own swine the garbage obtained only from his own household. 
 

11-27-105.  Feeding permit; revocation and refusal to 
issue. 
 
Upon determination that any person having a permit issued under 
this act, or who has applied for a permit, has violated or 
failed to comply with any of the provisions of this act or any 
of the rules or regulations promulgated thereunder, the board 
may revoke the permit or refuse to issue a permit to an 
applicant. 
 

11-27-106.  Treatment of garbage before feeding. 
 
All garbage, regardless of previous processing, before being fed 
to swine shall be thoroughly heated to the boiling point for at 



least thirty (30) minutes, unless treated in some other manner 
approved in writing by the board as being equally effective for 
the protection of public health. 
 

11-27-107.  Penalties; injunctions; indemnity prohibited. 
 
Any person who violates or who fails to perform any duty imposed 
by this act, or who violates any rule or regulation promulgated 
under this act shall be fined not less than twenty-five dollars 
($25.00) or more than two hundred fifty dollars ($250.00), or 
imprisoned for not more than six (6) months, or both. In 
addition, the person may be enjoined from continuing the 
violation. Each day upon which the violation occurs constitutes 
a separate violation. No indemnity shall be paid by the state to 
any person feeding garbage to swine in violation of this act. 
 

CHAPTER 28 - FENCES AND CATTLE GUARDS 
 

11-28-101.  Who considered owner. 
 
Any person occupying, using, enjoying, maintaining or having the 
charge of any enclosure shall be considered the owner thereof, 
in any action commenced under the provisions of W.S. 11-28-101 
through 11-28-108. 
 

11-28-102.  Lawful fences generally. 
 

(a)  The following are lawful fences in this state: 
 

(i)  A fence made of steel, concrete or sound wooden 
posts and three (3) spans of barbed wire not more than fifteen 
(15) inches or less than ten (10) inches apart, or two (2) spans 
of barbed wire with a wooden rail on top. Wooden posts shall be 
at least four (4) inches in diameter. Posts shall be set firmly 
in the ground at least twenty (20) inches deep, at no greater 
distance apart than twenty-two (22) feet between the posts or 
thirty-three (33) feet with at least two (2) iron or wooden 
stays between the posts. Stays shall be placed equal distance 
apart from themselves and the post on either side; 
 

(ii)  A post and board fence made of sound posts not 
less than four (4) inches in diameter set substantially in the 
ground not more than ten (10) feet apart, with three (3) boards 
sold as one (1) inch lumber eight (8) inches wide, and not more 
than ten (10) inches apart, or four (4) boards sold as one (1) 
inch lumber six (6) inches wide, not more than eight (8) inches 
apart, securely fastened with nails or otherwise; 



 
(iii)  A four (4) pole fence with round poles not less 

than two (2) inches in diameter at the small end, with either 
upright or leaning posts not more than sixteen (16) feet apart, 
and securely fastened with nails, wires or otherwise. 
 

(b)  All other fences made and constructed of boards, 
rails, poles, stones, hedge plants or other material which upon 
evidence is declared to be as strong and well calculated to 
protect enclosures, and is as effective for resisting breaching 
stock as those described in subsection (a) of this section, 
shall be considered a lawful fence. 
 

(c)  Any fence enclosing any hay corral situated outside of 
any field or pasture enclosed by a lawful fence, shall be at 
least six (6) feet high, constructed of boards, poles or wire. 
The posts shall not be more than eight (8) feet apart and set 
twenty-four (24) inches in the ground. If the fence is 
constructed of barbed wire there shall be at least seven (7) 
spans of wire, and all wires shall be kept properly stretched. 
Any fence better than the above described fence is a lawful 
fence. 
 

11-28-103.  Constructing of unlawful wire fence; liability 
and penalty; reconstruction required; penalty for failure. 
 

(a)  Any person who constructs or maintains any unlawful 
wire fence contrary to this chapter, is liable in a civil action 
for all damages to animals that may occur by reason of the 
unlawful enclosure. The owner of any unlawful wire fence is 
guilty of a misdemeanor and shall be fined not less than five 
dollars ($5.00) nor more than twenty-five dollars ($25.00), and 
for each subsequent offense the fine shall not be less than 
twenty-five dollars ($25.00) nor more than one hundred dollars 
($100.00). 
 

(b)  The owner of any unlawful wire fence shall, within 
thirty (30) days after conviction, reconstruct the wire fence 
into a lawful wire fence. If he fails or refuses to do so, the 
owner is guilty of a separate offense and on conviction thereof, 
shall be punished as provided in subsection (a) of this section. 
Each period of thirty (30) days thereafter that the owner 
refuses or neglects to reconstruct the unlawful fence is a 
separate offense and the owner is subject to like punishment. 
 

11-28-104.  Fences across roads generally. 
 



All fences constructed across a road leading to a watering 
place, or constructed across any road used as a public road, 
shall at the point where the fence intersects or crosses the 
road be constructed of boards or poles extending not less than 
eight (8) feet on each side of the middle of the road. The owner 
of any fence that violates this section is guilty of a 
misdemeanor and shall be punished as provided in W.S. 
11-28-103(a). 
 

11-28-105.  Board of county commissioners to authorize 
lawful fences upon right-of-way. 
 
The board of county commissioners may authorize the erection of 
a lawful fence upon the right-of-way of any public road at the 
expense of the petitioners for the establishment of the roads, 
or as may be agreed upon between petitioners and the board of 
county commissioners, or at the expense of the owners of lands 
to be benefited by the fencing or at the expense of the county, 
as the board of county commissioners may determine. The board 
shall locate and cause to be constructed gates and cattle guards 
at such intervals as it deems necessary for the convenience of 
the public. Cattle guards shall be constructed according to 
specification prescribed by the state highway department, under 
the supervision of the county surveyor or county commissioners 
at the expense of the petitioners, the land owners who may be 
benefited, or the county as the board of county commissioners 
may determine. 
 

11-28-106.  Construction and maintenance of partition 
fences; fencing of state lands. 
 

(a)  Except as otherwise provided, the owner of any lawful 
fence which is or becomes a partition fence separating the 
owner's land from that belonging to some other person may 
require the person to pay for one-half (1/2) of what it would or 
does actually cost to construct the partition fence. In case of 
refusal, the owner may maintain a civil action against the 
person refusing and is entitled to recover one-half (1/2) of 
what it would or did actually cost to construct that portion of 
the partition fence used by the person and costs of suit. The 
joint users of a partition fence shall contribute to the cost of 
maintenance in proportion to their respective interests and if 
either refuses to pay his share of the cost of maintenance, the 
other may recover maintenance costs in the manner provided for 
recovering the cost of construction. 
 

(b)  Repealed by Laws 2023, ch. 173, § 3. 



 
(c)  Private landowners whose property adjoins state lands 

on which the private landowner does not hold a lease may 
construct a lawful partition fence along state lands and the 
office of state lands and investments or, if the state lands are 
currently leased, the lessee of the state lands shall pay for 
one-half (1/2) of the actual cost of the construction of the 
lawful partition fence. Private landowners and the office of 
state lands and investments, or the lessee at all times that the 
state lands are leased, shall contribute to the cost of 
maintenance of the lawful partition fence in proportion to their 
respective interests in the fence. 
 

11-28-107.  Prohibited acts; penalties. 
 
Any person who willfully or negligently leaves open, breaks down 
or destroys any bars or gate provided for the use and 
convenience of the public, or willfully tears down, throws down 
or destroys in any manner any lawful fence, is guilty of a 
misdemeanor and shall be fined not more than one hundred dollars 
($100.00), or imprisoned not more than three (3) months, or 
both. 
 

11-28-108.  Liability for breach into lawful enclosure by 
animal; civil action or arbitration. 
 

(a)  Any person owning or having in his possession or 
charge any livestock or domesticated buffalo which breaches into 
any lawful enclosure belonging to someone other than the owner 
of the animal, is liable to the party sustaining the injury for 
all damages sustained by reason of such breaching. Damages may 
be recovered in a civil action before any court having 
jurisdiction, or by arbitration, each party to select a property 
holder and the two (2) arbitrators to select a third. The 
arbitrators shall be sworn before a judge of a circuit court 
before entering upon their duties. The arbitrators shall 
carefully examine the fence and assess the damage done, examine 
witnesses under oath, one (1) of them to administer the oath to 
the witnesses, and make a written report signed by at least two 
(2) of the arbitrators, to the circuit court in the county in 
which the damage is sustained. The finding of the arbitration, 
as provided for in this section, shall within three (3) days 
after rendered, be filed with a judge of a circuit court in the 
county where the trespass was committed, who shall enter the 
cost upon his docket and proceed to issue execution therein as 
in other cases originally commenced before him. 
 



(b)  The party sustaining the damage shall notify the owner 
or person having in charge the offending animals, of the damage 
and the probable amount if he knows to whom the animals belong 
and if the owner or keeper resides within the county where the 
damage was committed. 
 

(c)  The person suffering damage  may restrain and keep in 
custody as many of the offending animals as are equal in value 
to the damage done, until the finding of the court or 
arbitration is ascertained, unless before suit the amount of his 
claim and expense of keeping the animals is tendered to him. 
 

(d)  If, upon trial of any action under subsection (a) of 
this section,  it appears the plaintiff's enclosure is a lawful 
fence,  he shall be allowed to prove the amount of damage 
sustained and if he has retained in custody the animals 
committing the damage, the amount of expense incurred for 
keeping the animals. Any judgment rendered for damages, costs 
and expenses against the defendant shall be a lien upon the 
animals committing the damage. If it appears upon trial that the 
plaintiff's enclosure is not a lawful fence or that no damage 
was sustained, judgment shall be rendered against the plaintiff 
for costs of suit and damages sustained by defendant. 
 

(e)  If upon trial it appears the defendant is not the 
owner or person in charge of the offending animals, he shall be 
discharged from the action with his costs, and the suit may 
proceed against a defendant whose name is unknown. If, at the 
commencement of the action, the plaintiff does not know the name 
of the owner or keeper of the offending animals, he may bring 
suit against a defendant unknown. 
 

CHAPTER 29 - PROTECTION OF LIVESTOCK ANIMALS 
 

11-29-101.  Definitions. 
 

(a)  As used in this act: 
 

(i)  Repealed By Laws 2011, Ch. 100, § 3. 
 

(ii)  "Owner" or "person" means any individual 
including the agents and employees of corporations; 
 

(iii)  "Torture" or "cruelty" means every act, 
omission or neglect whereby the willful and malicious infliction 
of pain or suffering is caused, permitted or allowed to continue 
when there is a reasonable remedy or relief; 



 
(iv)  "Disposal" means as defined in W.S. 

11-24-101(a)(iv); 
 

(v)  "Livestock" means as defined in W.S. 
23-1-102(a)(xvi); 
 

(vi)  "Livestock animal" means: 
 

(A)  Any bovine, including domestic bison, 
equine, swine, sheep, goat, domesticated camelid animal, ratite 
bird, rabbit or poultry; or 
 

(B)  Any animal used or harvested for any good 
and proper purpose including but not limited to food, fiber, 
fur, leather, medical research and byproducts; or 
 

(C)  Any animal used or trained for work, sport, 
exhibit or entertainment. 
 

(vii)  A "person with authority to enforce this 
chapter" means a peace officer, agent or officer of the board; 
 

(viii)  "Reasonable costs of impoundment" means all 
costs incurred by the impounding entity in providing necessary 
food and water, veterinary attention and treatment for any 
animal which is impounded under this act; 
 

(ix)  "This act" means W.S. 11-29-101 through 11-29-
115. 
 

11-29-102.  Repealed by Laws 1982, ch. 75, § 5; 1983, ch. 
171, § 3. 
 

11-29-103.  Livestock animals to be fed while confined; 
ownership; penalties. 
 

(a)  Every person who confines or causes to be confined any 
livestock animal under the laws of this state, shall supply to 
the livestock animal during confinement a sufficient quantity of 
wholesome food and water. 
 

(b)  A livestock animal is the private property of its 
owner. 
 

(c)  A violation of this section is a misdemeanor 
punishable by imprisonment for not more than six (6) months, a 



fine of not less than one hundred dollars ($100.00) nor more 
than seven hundred fifty dollars ($750.00), or both except that 
a subsequent offense is a high misdemeanor punishable by not 
more than one (1) year imprisonment, a fine of not more than 
five thousand dollars ($5,000.00), or both. 
 

11-29-104.  Repealed By Laws 2011, Ch. 100, § 3. 
 

11-29-105.  Livestock board; certificates or badges to be 
provided. 
 
Officers and agents of the Wyoming livestock board shall be 
provided with a certificate by the board that they are officers 
and agents of the board, in such form as the board may choose, 
or with a badge bearing the name or seal of the board, and if 
requested, shall show the certificate or badge when acting 
officially. 
 

11-29-106.  Livestock board; authority to prevent cruelty; 
penalty for interference with officer. 
 
Any peace officer, agent or officer of the board may lawfully 
interfere to prevent the perpetration of any act of cruelty upon 
any livestock animal in his presence. Any person who interferes 
with, obstructs or resists any peace officer or officer or agent 
of the board in the discharge of his duty shall be fined not 
less than two hundred dollars ($200.00) nor more than one 
thousand five hundred dollars ($1,500.00), or imprisoned not 
more than one (1) year, or both. 
 

11-29-107.  Repealed by Laws 2006, Chapter 88, § 3. 
 

11-29-108.  Livestock board; seized livestock animals and 
vehicles; lien on seized chattels; civil action for unpaid 
expenses. 
 
When any person arrested under this act is in charge of any 
vehicle drawn by or containing any livestock animal cruelly 
treated in violation of W.S. 6-3-1002 or this chapter at the 
time of arrest, any peace officer, agent or officer of the board 
may take charge of the livestock animal and vehicle and its 
contents, and give notice thereof to the owner, if known, and 
shall provide for them until their owner takes possession of 
them. The board or local government shall have a lien on the 
livestock animals, the vehicle and its contents for the 
reasonable costs of impoundment. The expense or any part 



remaining unpaid may be recovered by the board or local 
government in a civil action. 
 

11-29-109.  Livestock board; care of abandoned livestock 
animals; civil action for expenses; lien. 
 
Any peace officer, agent or officer of the board may take charge 
of any livestock animal found abandoned, neglected or treated 
with cruelty in violation of W.S. 6-3-1002 or this chapter. He 
shall give notice to the owner, if known, and may care and 
provide for the livestock animal until the livestock animal is 
disposed of. The reasonable costs of impoundment are a charge 
against the owner of the livestock animal and collectible from 
the owner by the board or by the local government employing the 
peace officer taking charge of the livestock animal in a civil 
action. The board or local government may detain the livestock 
animals until the reasonable costs of impoundment are paid and 
shall have a lien upon the livestock animals therefor.  This 
lien shall be filed as provided pursuant to W.S. 29-7-101 
through 29-7-106. 
 

11-29-110.  Livestock board; enforcement of liens; notice 
to owner. 
 
Any person entitled to a lien under this act may enforce the 
lien by disposing of the livestock animals and other personal 
property upon which the lien is given, at public auction, upon 
giving written notice to the owner, if he is known, of the time 
and place of the disposal, at least five (5) days previous 
thereto, and by posting three (3) notices of the time and place 
of the disposal in three (3) public places within the county at 
least five (5) days previous thereto. If the owner is not known, 
the notice shall be posted at least ten (10) days previous to 
the disposal. 
 

11-29-111.  Livestock board; destruction of diseased or 
injured livestock animals. 
 
Any peace officer, agent or officer of the board may destroy or 
cause to be destroyed any livestock animal in his charge when in 
his judgment and the judgment of a Wyoming licensed veterinarian 
or the judgment of the livestock animal owner, the livestock 
animal appears to be severely injured, severely disabled, 
diseased past recovery or unfit for any useful purpose.  There 
shall be no right for any future indemnity or payment to the 
owner for the destruction of any livestock animal destroyed and 



the peace officer, agent or officer of the board shall be held 
harmless while acting in accordance with this section. 
 

11-29-112.  Repealed by Laws 1982, ch. 75, § 5; 1983, ch. 
171, § 3. 
 

11-29-113.  Repealed By Laws 2011, Ch. 100, § 3. 
 

11-29-114.  Impoundment of livestock animals; cost of care 
for livestock animals; providing for bond, forfeiture hearing. 
 

(a)  Any person with authority to enforce this chapter who 
has probable cause to believe there has been a violation of this 
chapter may, in consultation with an agent or officer of the 
board, impound any livestock animal treated cruelly as 
determined by a Wyoming licensed veterinarian or veterinarian 
employed by the board. 
 

(b)  If any livestock animal is impounded under subsection 
(a) of this section, the following shall apply: 
 

(i)  Within the earlier of seventy-two (72) hours of 
impoundment or charges being filed, the circuit court shall hold 
a hearing to set a bond in an amount the circuit court 
determines is sufficient to provide for the livestock animal's 
reasonable costs of impoundment for at least ninety (90) days 
including the day on which the livestock animal was impounded. 
At the request of the owner of the livestock animal, the court 
may make a determination on the disposition of the livestock 
animal at a hearing pursuant to this paragraph; 
 

(ii)  The bond shall be posted by the owner of the 
livestock animal with the circuit court in the county where the 
livestock animal was impounded within ten (10) days after the 
hearing required by this paragraph. 
 

(c)  When the bond required by subsection (b) of this 
section expires, if the owner of the livestock animal desires to 
prevent disposition of the livestock animal by the person with 
authority to enforce this chapter, the owner shall post a new 
bond with the court as described in subsection (b) of this 
section. The court may correct, alter or otherwise adjust the 
new bond before the expiration date of the previous bond. 
 

(d)  If a bond is not posted under subsection (b) or (c) of 
this section, the person with authority to enforce this chapter 
shall dispose of the livestock animal. As used in this section, 



"dispose" means as defined in W.S. 11-24-101(a)(iv), and shall 
also mean to place for adoption or return to the owner. The 
owner of the livestock animal shall be liable for all costs 
associated with the final disposition of the livestock animal 
under this subsection. Posting of a bond shall not prevent the 
person with authority to enforce this chapter from disposing of 
the impounded livestock animal before the expiration of the 
period covered by the bond if during a disposition hearing 
pursuant to subsection (g) of this section the court orders the 
forfeiture of the livestock animal to a person with authority to 
enforce this chapter or the owner voluntarily forfeits the 
livestock animal.  No animal shall be forfeited without a 
hearing pursuant to subsections (g) through (j) of this section, 
regardless of whether a bond is posted, if the animal is 
connected to the livelihood or ability to make a living of the 
owner. 
 

(e)  If a bond has been posted in accordance with 
subsection (b) or (c) of this section, the person with authority 
to enforce this chapter, may draw from the bond the actual costs 
as described in subsection (b) of this section, from the date of 
initial impoundment to the date of final disposition of the 
livestock animal. 
 

(f)  Upon the final disposition of the livestock animal, 
any bond amount remaining that has not been expended in the 
impoundment and disposition of the livestock animal shall be 
remitted to the owner of the livestock animal. 
 

(g)  A person with authority to enforce this chapter or 
other participant in the criminal action, may file a petition in 
the criminal action requesting that the court issue an order 
providing for the final disposition of the livestock animal if: 
 

(i)  The livestock animal is in the possession of and 
being held by a person with authority to enforce this chapter; 
 

(ii)  The outcome of the criminal action charging a 
violation of this chapter is pending; and 
 

(iii)  The final disposition of the livestock animal 
has not occurred. 
 

(h)  Upon receipt of a petition pursuant to subsection (g) 
of this section, the court shall set a hearing on the petition 
for disposition of the livestock animal. The hearing shall be 
conducted within seven (7) days after the filing of the petition 



or as soon as practicable thereafter. The hearing shall be 
limited to the question of the disposition of the livestock 
animal. 
 

(j)  At a hearing conducted pursuant to subsection (h) of 
this section, the prosecutor shall have the burden of proving by 
a preponderance of the evidence that the livestock animal was 
subjected to a violation of this chapter. After the hearing, if 
the court finds by a preponderance of the evidence that the 
livestock animal was subjected to a violation of this chapter, 
the court may order immediate forfeiture of the livestock animal 
to the person with authority to enforce this chapter. If, after 
the hearing, the court finds by a preponderance of the evidence 
that the livestock animal was not subjected to a violation of 
this chapter, the livestock animal shall be returned to the 
owner of the livestock animal and the owner shall not be 
responsible for any reasonable costs of the impoundment incurred 
after a finding that the livestock animal was not subjected to a 
violation of this chapter unless the person later pleads guilty 
to or is found guilty of a violation of this chapter. 
 

11-29-115.  Use of agricultural and livestock management 
practices. 
 

(a)  Nothing in this chapter prohibits: 
 

(i)  The use of Wyoming industry accepted agricultural 
or livestock management practices or any other commonly 
practiced animal husbandry procedure used on livestock animals, 
as defined by W.S. 11-29-101(a)(vi); 
 

(ii)  A Wyoming licensed veterinarian from treating a 
livestock animal as authorized by the Wyoming Veterinary Medical 
Practice Act; 
 

(iii)  Any rodeo event employing animal care practices 
generally accepted within the rodeo industry, whether the event 
is performed in a rodeo, jackpot or similar arena; 
 

(iv)  A person from humanely destroying a livestock 
animal. 
 

CHAPTER 30 - OFFENSES CONCERNING LIVESTOCK AND OTHER ANIMALS 
 

11-30-101.  Repealed by Laws 1982, ch. 75, § 5; 1983, ch. 
171, § 3. 
 



11-30-102.  Repealed by Laws 1982, ch. 75, § 5; 1983, ch. 
171, § 3. 
 

11-30-103.  Repealed by Laws 1982, ch. 75, § 5; 1983, ch. 
171, § 3. 
 

11-30-104.  Misbranding or altering brand of livestock. 
 
Whoever brands, or alters or defaces the brand of any horse, 
mule, sheep or cattle of another with intent to steal or to 
prevent the identification of the animal shall be imprisoned in 
the penitentiary not less than three (3) nor more than ten (10) 
years. 
 

11-30-105.  Repealed by Laws 1982, ch. 75, § 5; 1983, ch. 
171, § 3. 
 

11-30-106.  Removing skins from carcasses without 
permission prohibited; exception as to railroads. 
 

(a)  Any person who skins or removes from a carcass any 
part of the skin, hide or pelt of any cattle, sheep, horses, 
mules or goats found dead, without permission from the owner, is 
guilty of a misdemeanor and shall be fined not less than fifty 
dollars ($50.00) nor more than five hundred dollars ($500.00), 
or imprisoned not more than six (6) months, or both. 
 

(b)  This section does not prevent the skinning of animals 
killed by railroad companies by employees of the railroad 
company which killed the stock, but the hide, hides or pelts 
must be preserved for inspection according to law. 
 

11-30-107.  Transportation of beef unlawfully obtained or 
killed. 
 
Transportation in Wyoming, without authority, of unlawfully 
obtained or killed beef, mutton, pork or poultry is unlawful, 
punishable as by law provided. Whenever any law enforcement 
officer of this state discovers any person unlawfully 
transporting any unlawfully obtained or killed beef, mutton, 
pork or poultry in any conveyance or vehicle, he shall seize the 
beef, mutton, pork or poultry and the conveyance or vehicle. The 
officer shall also arrest the person in possession thereof. The 
officer shall promptly prosecute proper charges against each 
person arrested in the proper court of the county in which the 
seizure is made. Upon conviction of the person charged with 
unlawful possession and transportation, the court shall order 



the forfeit of all personal property seized, and unless 
satisfactory cause to the contrary is shown by the owner, the 
court shall order prompt sale at public auction of the seized 
property. The resulting proceeds, after deducting expenses and 
costs of sale, shall be paid to the treasurer of the county in 
which the conviction is had to the credit of its public school 
funds. 
 

11-30-108.  Desertion and abandonment of sheep by herders. 
 
It is unlawful for any person having charge as herder of any 
sheep to willfully desert and abandon the sheep upon the open 
range and leave them without care or attention. The herder shall 
in all cases give the owner or his employer not less than five 
(5) days notice prior to the time at which he intends to abandon 
the sheep. Any person who violates this section shall be fined 
not less than two hundred dollars ($200.00) nor more than seven 
hundred fifty dollars ($750.00), imprisoned not more than six 
(6) months, or both. 
 

11-30-109.  Taking horses and equipment without consent of 
owner. 
 
Any person who unlawfully takes without consent of the owner any 
horse, ass or mule, or any buggy or other vehicle from the 
stable, lot, premises or pasture of another, or from a hitching 
post or rack or any other place, having been lawfully placed 
there, with intent to set at large, injure or wrongfully use the 
animal or vehicle taken, is guilty of criminal trespass and 
shall be fined not less than fifty dollars ($50.00), or more 
than seven hundred fifty dollars ($750.00), or imprisoned for 
not more than six (6) months, or both, and is also liable to the 
party injured in double the amount of damage sustained. 
 

11-30-110.  Appropriation of horse or mule on open range 
without permission. 
 

(a)  It is unlawful for any person without the consent of 
the owner, to take possession of any horse or mule found running 
at large upon the open range for the purpose or with the intent 
of working, riding or driving the horse or mule, where there is 
no intent on the part of the person to steal the horse or mule. 
It is unlawful for any person to drive any horses or mules not 
his own, off or away from any range where the horses or mules 
are found, except to the nearest corral for the purpose of 
separating them from horses or mules belonging to the person. 
Any person driving horses or mules not his own from any range 



for the purpose of separating them from horses or mules 
belonging to him, shall drive the horses or mules back to the 
locality where they were found immediately after separating them 
whenever the animals have been driven for more than five (5) 
miles. 
 

(b)  Any person violating this section shall be fined not 
less than fifty dollars ($50.00) or more than seven hundred 
fifty dollars ($750.00), or imprisoned not more than six (6) 
months, or both. 
 

11-30-111.  Ranch or stable keeper not to use horses 
without consent of owner. 
 
If any person keeping a public ranch or stable uses or allows to 
be used without consent of the owner any horse, ox, mule or ass 
that is left with him to be ranched or fed, he shall forfeit to 
the owner all ranch or stable fees that may be due upon the 
animal used and an additional forty dollars ($40.00) for each 
day the animal is used. 
 

11-30-112.  Abuse or negligent treatment by bailee. 
 
Any person who takes into his possession, or hires or loans any 
property of any livery stable keeper, or any other person, and 
while the property is in his custody shall willfully, or with 
gross neglect or culpable carelessness damage or destroy the 
property, or permit the property to be damaged or destroyed, or 
shall by willful or gross neglect cause the sickness, injury or 
death of any animal received into his possession, shall be fined 
not less than one hundred dollars ($100.00) or more than five 
hundred dollars ($500.00), or imprisoned not more than sixty 
(60) days, or both. 
 

11-30-113.  Unlawful cutting of ears of sheep. 
 

(a)  It is unlawful for any person willfully to cut, sever, 
detach or mutilate more than one-half (1/2) of either ear of any 
sheep or to unlawfully have in his possession or under his 
control any sheep which have more than one-half (1/2) of either 
ear removed or mutilated unless the same are so described in a 
bill of sale or other certificate of title covering the sheep. 
Sheep afflicted by bighead are exempt from the provisions of 
this section. 
 



(b)  Any person who violates the provisions of subsection 
(a) of this section is guilty of a felony punishable by 
imprisonment for not more than five (5) years. 
 

11-30-114.  Tampering with or drugging of livestock 
prohibited; definitions; penalty. 
 

(a)  No person shall tamper with or sabotage any livestock 
which has been registered, entered or exhibited in any 
exhibition in this state. 
 

(b)  No person shall administer, dispense, distribute, 
manufacture, sell or use any drug to or for livestock which has 
been registered, entered or exhibited in any exhibition in this 
state unless the drug is approved for such use by the United 
States Food and Drug Administration or the United States 
Department of Agriculture.  However, nothing shall prevent any 
person from using a drug on livestock owned by him if either 
federal agency has approved an application submitted for 
investigational use in accordance with the federal Food, Drug 
and Cosmetic Act. 
 

(c)  Any person who violates this section shall be punished 
as provided by W.S. 11-1-103. 
 

(d)  As used in this section: 
 

(i)  "Drug" means as defined by W.S. 35-7-110(a)(x); 
 

(ii)  "Exhibition" means a show or sale of livestock 
at a fair or elsewhere in this state that is sponsored by or 
under the authority of the state or any political subdivision, 
local government, or any agricultural, horticultural or 
livestock society, association or corporation; 
 

(iii)  "Livestock" means any animal generally used for 
food or in the production of food, including, but not limited 
to, horses, mules and asses, cattle, sheep, goats, poultry, 
swine, rabbits or llamas; 
 

(iv)  "Sabotage" means to intentionally tamper with 
any livestock belonging to or owned by another person that has 
been registered, entered or exhibited in any exhibition or 
raised for the apparent purpose of being entered in an 
exhibition; 
 



(v)  "Tamper" shall not include any action taken or 
activity performed or administered by a licensed veterinarian or 
in accordance with instructions of a licensed veterinarian if 
the action or activity was undertaken for accepted medical 
purposes or any action taken as part of accepted grooming, 
commercial or medical practices, but shall include any of the 
following: 
 

(A)  Treatment of livestock in such a manner that 
food derived from the livestock would be considered adulterated 
under the Wyoming Food, Drug and Cosmetic Act, W.S. 35-7-109 et 
seq.; 
 

(B)  The injection, use or administration of any 
drug that is prohibited by any federal, state or local law or 
any drug that is used in a manner prohibited by any federal, 
state or local law; 
 

(C)  The injection or other internal 
administration of any product or material, whether gas, solid or 
liquid, to any livestock for the purposes of deception including 
concealing, enhancing or transforming the true conformation, 
configuration, color, breed, condition or age of the livestock 
or making the livestock appear more sound than the livestock 
would otherwise appear; 
 

(D)  The use or administration for cosmetic 
purposes of steroids, illegal growth stimulants or internal 
artificial filling, including paraffin, silicone injection, or 
any other substance; 
 

(E)  The use or application of any drug or feed 
additive affecting the central nervous system of the livestock; 
 

(F)  The use or administration of diuretics for 
cosmetic purposes; 
 

(G)  The manipulation or removal of tissue, by 
surgery or otherwise, so as to change, transform or enhance the 
true conformation or configuration of the livestock.  Nothing in 
this subparagraph shall prohibit generally accepted management 
practices including but not limited to the dehorning, castration 
or spaying, corrective shoeing or trimming of any livestock; 
 

(H)  Subjecting the livestock to inhumane 
conditions or procedures for the purpose of concealing, 
enhancing or transforming the true conformation, configuration, 



condition or age of the livestock or making the livestock appear 
more sound than the livestock would otherwise appear; 
 

(J)  Substituting any different livestock for the 
livestock registered or entered in the exhibition without the 
permission of a responsible official of the exhibition. 
 

11-30-115.  Unlawful killing of wild horses and burros; 
federal management and invoicing; enforcement by writ of 
mandamus; state management with other agencies and tribes. 
 

(a)  For purposes of this section: 
 

(i)  "Affected nonfederal lands" means state, 
municipal or county lands upon which the landowner has proof 
that wild horses have regularly grazed; 
 

(ii)  "Appropriate management level" or "AML" means 
the number of wild horses that the United States bureau of land 
management or United States forest service determines can exist 
in balance with other public land resources and uses. The AML is 
a range of low to maximum levels at which wild horse herd 
populations are consistent with the land's capacity to support 
them; 
 

(iii)  "Herd management area" means lands under the 
supervision of the United States bureau of land management or 
United States forest service upon which populations of wild 
horses are managed according to the 1971 Wild Free-Roaming 
Horses and Burros Act, as amended, 16 U.S.C. § 1331 et seq.; 
 

(iv)  "Wild horse" means any unbranded and unclaimed 
horse or burro on public lands. 
 

(b)  Any person, without legal justification, who willfully 
and maliciously kills a wild horse is guilty of a misdemeanor 
punishable by a fine of not more than seven hundred fifty 
dollars ($750.00), imprisonment for not more than six (6), 
months or both. 
 

(c)  Upon the failure or refusal, as determined by the 
governor, of the United States bureau of land management or 
United States forest service to remove any wild horses claimed 
by the United States bureau of land management or United States 
forest service as belonging to a herd management area, which 
regularly stray from federal lands, the office of state lands 
and investments shall provide the United States secretary of the 



interior or United States secretary of agriculture, as 
applicable, with annual notice identifying the grazing cost for 
those wild horses and a request for reimbursement of those 
costs. To facilitate calculation of costs under this subsection 
the office of state lands and investments shall: 
 

(i)  Determine the total area of the herd management 
area plus adjacent affected nonfederal lands, and determine the 
percentage of the total area consisting of affected nonfederal 
lands; 
 

(ii)  Using annual wild horse data from the bureau of 
land management or forest service, as applicable, calculate the 
annual animal unit month amount of forage consumed by the wild 
horses in the applicable area; 
 

(iii)  Multiply the forage consumed as calculated 
under paragraph (ii) of this subsection by the percentage of 
affected nonfederal lands determined under paragraph (i) of this 
subsection and apply the rate for services rendered for each 
acre of affected nonfederal lands: 
 

(A)  For wild horse numbers up to the high 
appropriate management levels, an amount equal to the land lease 
rate per animal unit month for Wyoming trust land grazing 
leases; 
 

(B)  For wild horse numbers in excess of the high 
appropriate management levels, an amount equal to three (3) 
times the land lease rate per animal unit month for Wyoming 
trust land grazing leases. 
 

(d)  Any reimbursement monies received from a federal land 
management agency in response to a notice of costs of wild horse 
grazing on affected nonfederal lands and request for 
reimbursement sent pursuant to subsection (c) of this section 
shall be deposited with the state treasurer and shall first be 
credited to the municipality or county in the proportionate 
share applicable in the notice of costs to municipal or county 
lands included in the total area of affected nonfederal lands 
pursuant to paragraph (c)(i) of this section and then the 
balance shall be deposited in the applicable permanent land 
income fund. A notice of costs sent pursuant to subsection (c) 
of this section shall not be construed to impose any collections 
responsibility or liability on the part of the state to a 
municipality or county. 
 



(e)  The attorney general may seek a writ of mandamus or 
take other appropriate action to compel the United States bureau 
of land management or United States forest service, as 
applicable, to take action to remove excess wild horses as 
required under federal law from nonfederal lands. Recognizing 
that wild horses roam without regard to political boundaries, 
the nonfederal lands for which a writ of mandamus is sought 
under this subsection may include private land. 
 

(f)  To manage wild horses in the state, including on the 
Wind River Indian Reservation, the governor is authorized to 
enter into cooperative agreements among state and local agencies 
and with the United States bureau of land management, the United 
States forest service, the Eastern Shoshone Tribe, the Northern 
Arapaho Tribe, an official cooperative tribal governing body, 
adjacent states, nongovernmental organizations or other private 
entities. A cooperative agreement under this subsection may 
provide for any cooperative undertaking to manage wild horses, 
including population reduction tactics, permanent and temporary 
fertility control techniques, expanding or increasing the number 
of wild horse training and adoption programs and other removal 
activities. Cooperative agreements shall address the long term 
management of wild horse populations that are in excess of high 
appropriate management levels. Any revenue generated as a result 
of general fund expenditures shall be remitted to the state as 
allowed by law. As used in this subsection: 
 

(i)  "Cooperative undertaking" includes an existing 
program, or a program created pursuant to this subsection, 
administered by a state agency or any party to the cooperative 
agreement; 
 

(ii)  "Wild horse training and adoption programs" 
includes programs with any state correctional facility under 
W.S. 25-13-104. 
 

CHAPTER 31 - DOGS AND CATS 
 

ARTICLE 1 - IN GENERAL 
 

11-31-101.  Repealed by Laws 1991, ch. 4, § 2. 
 

11-31-102.  Deemed personalty. 
 
Dogs are personal property and the subject of theft the same as 
other personal property. The value in any criminal prosecution 
shall be determined as in other cases. 



 
11-31-103.  Repealed by Laws 1991, ch. 4, § 2. 

 
11-31-104.  Penalties for poisoning or killing with ground 

glass. 
 
Whoever within the limits of any incorporated city or town 
willfully poisons or kills any dog by means of ground glass is 
guilty of a misdemeanor and shall be fined not less than one 
hundred dollars ($100.00) nor more than one thousand dollars 
($1,000.00), or imprisoned not less than one (1) month nor more 
than one (1) year, or both. 
 

11-31-105.  Killing sheep or other domestic animals; 
liability of owner. 
 
The owner of any dog is liable for all damages that accrue to 
any person, firm or corporation by reason of the dog killing, 
wounding, worrying or chasing any sheep or other domestic 
animals belonging to the person, firm or corporation. If two (2) 
or more dogs owned by different persons kill, wound, chase or 
worry any sheep or other domestic animals, the persons are 
jointly and severally liable for all damage done by the dogs. 
Any person who harbors about his premises a dog for twenty (20) 
days shall be taken and held as the owner and is liable for all 
damages that the dog commits. 
 

11-31-106.  Killing sheep or other domestic animals; 
destruction. 
 
Every person, firm, copartnership, corporation or company owning 
any dog, which to his knowledge has killed sheep or other 
livestock, shall exterminate and destroy the dog. 
 

11-31-107.  Running livestock; when killing authorized; 
liability to owner; exception. 
 
Dogs running livestock against the wish of the owner of the 
livestock may be killed at once in cases where the livestock has 
been injured or is threatened with injury. The person killing 
any dog running livestock is not liable to the owner where the 
vicious character of the dog or the damage or danger of damage 
is shown. When livestock is trespassing upon property the 
property owner may use dogs to drive and keep off livestock from 
the property. 
 

11-31-108.  Running livestock; penalty for permitting. 



 
Any person who permits or directs any dog owned by him or in his 
possession or in the possession of his employee to chase or run 
any cattle or other livestock of which he is not the owner and 
of which he is not in control, farther than one hundred (100) 
yards from his land, upon government lands, or away from any 
watering place upon the open range, shall be fined not less than 
fifty dollars ($50.00) or more than seven hundred fifty dollars 
($750.00), or imprisoned not more than six (6) months, or both. 
 

ARTICLE 2 - LICENSING; RABIES CONTROL DISTRICTS 
 

11-31-201.  Repealed by Laws 1979, ch. 124, § 2. 
 

11-31-202.  Repealed by Laws 1979, ch. 124, § 2. 
 

11-31-203.  Repealed by Laws 1979, ch. 124, § 2. 
 

11-31-204.  Repealed by Laws 1979, ch. 124, § 2. 
 

11-31-205.  Repealed by Laws 1979, ch. 124, § 2. 
 

11-31-206.  Repealed by Laws 1979, ch. 124, § 2. 
 

11-31-207.  Repealed by Laws 1979, ch. 124, § 2. 
 

11-31-208.  Repealed by Laws 1979, ch. 124, § 2. 
 

11-31-209.  Repealed by Laws 1979, ch. 124, § 2. 
 

11-31-210.  Repealed by Laws 1979, ch. 124, § 2. 
 

11-31-211.  Property rights in unlicensed dog or cat; no 
right of action for destruction. 
 
The owner of a dog or cat has no property right in an unlicensed 
dog or cat, nor does he have any right of action against any 
person for the destruction of the dog or cat. 
 

11-31-212.  Rabies control districts; establishment; 
notice. 
 

(a)  The board of county commissioners of any county may 
establish a rabies control district by resolution when in the 
judgment of the board and the county health officer a district 
is necessary. The resolution shall designate the boundaries of 



the district, which may include any incorporated city or town, 
and shall identify the district by name. 
 

(b)  The resolution creating the rabies control district 
shall be published at least once a week for two (2) successive 
weeks in a newspaper of general circulation in the county 
wherein the district is located. 
 

11-31-213.  Registration; vaccination certificate required. 
 
The board of county commissioners may require the registration 
of all dogs and cats within a rabies control district and may 
require the owner or person having the right to possession of 
any dog or cat in the district three (3) months of age or older, 
to present a valid rabies vaccination certificate showing the 
dog or cat has been vaccinated for immunization against rabies 
by a licensed veterinarian as a condition for registration. The 
vaccination certificate shall indicate the date of vaccination, 
the type of vaccine used and the period of immunization. 
 

11-31-214.  Board authorized to adopt rules and 
regulations. 
 
The board of county commissioners, with the advice of the county 
health officer, state veterinarian and department of health, may 
adopt such rules and regulations as necessary to implement the 
program for registration and immunization of dogs and cats in 
the rabies control district, including the requirement that 
registered dogs and cats be tagged or marked in such manner as 
to make them readily identifiable. 
 

ARTICLE 3 - ANIMALS RUNNING AT LARGE 
 

11-31-301.  Public nuisance; notice; penalties; rules and 
regulations; animal control districts and officers. 
 

(a)  A board of county commissioners may declare the 
running at large of any specified animals in unincorporated 
areas within the county limits a public nuisance. 
 

(b)  Notice of such a declaration shall be published in a 
newspaper of general circulation within the county and notices 
may be placed in appropriate locations. The notice shall specify 
any regulations necessary and convenient for animal control and 
shall state that: 
 



(i)  It is a public nuisance for one (1) or more 
specified animals to be running at large in unincorporated 
areas; 
 

(ii)  A fine shall be imposed on the owner of such 
animal and restitution for any damages to person or property 
caused by the animal shall be made by the owner; 
 

(iii)  Dogs or other animals, whose ownership cannot 
be determined, may be destroyed. 
 

(c)  Upon the filing of any complaint, the county sheriff 
may arrest or issue a summons to the owner of any animal which 
is running at large or has attacked a person. A first conviction 
is punishable by a fine of not more than fifty dollars ($50.00). 
Each subsequent conviction is punishable by a fine of not more 
than one hundred dollars ($100.00). 
 

(d)  A dog injuring or killing livestock may be killed by 
the owner of the livestock or his agent or any peace officer. 
 

(e)  Any animal attacking any person in a vicious manner or 
that bites any person may be impounded by the county sheriff or 
animal control officer and held in quarantine for at least ten 
(10) days or as long as necessary as determined by the Wyoming 
state health officer after the attack to determine whether the 
animal has any disease which may be communicated to humans. Home 
quarantine may be allowed as determined by the animal control 
officer or the county sheriff if the animal's owner or custodian 
presents a valid rabies vaccination certificate showing the 
animal has been vaccinated against rabies by a licensed 
veterinarian. The costs of impoundment, quarantine and testing 
shall be paid by the owner or custodian of the animal.  Any 
animal which attacks any person in a vicious manner may be 
destroyed or the owner or custodian of the animal may be fined 
not more than two hundred dollars ($200.00), or both.  Proof of 
the fact that the animal has bitten or attacked any person at 
any place where a person is legally entitled to be is evidence 
that the animal is vicious within the meaning of this section.  
A copy of any animal control officer report regarding the animal 
bite shall be submitted to the state health officer. 
 

(f)  Upon the declaration of a public nuisance, the county 
sheriff may dispose of any unlicensed animals, the ownership of 
which cannot be determined. 
 



(g)  A board of county commissioners may enact regulations 
relative to dogs running at large, vicious dogs, dogs running 
wild game or livestock or acts by other animals which shall 
carry out the purposes of this section. The county sheriff shall 
and a county animal control officer or any other peace officer 
may enforce these regulations to protect persons and property. 
 

(h)  A board of county commissioners may require an annual 
county license or tag for animals within their jurisdiction upon 
payment of a fee of not more than ten dollars ($10.00). Funds 
collected pursuant to this subsection may be used for animal 
control or for the maintenance of animal control centers for 
either purpose. 
 

(j)  A board of county commissioners may establish and 
provide for the operation of animal control districts which may 
encompass all or parts of the unincorporated area of the county 
and may cooperate with municipalities in a joint animal control 
program.  Joint animal control programs may employ joint animal 
control officers who have the authority to enforce the animal 
control regulations and ordinances of each of the participating 
entities. 
 

(k)  As used in W.S. 11-31-301 "animal" means a dog or cat. 
 

(m)  Except as provided in subsection (e) of this section 
regarding impounding an animal to determine disease status, 
nothing in this section shall apply to any livestock guarding 
animal which is actively engaged in protecting livestock. Except 
in the case of gross or willful negligence, no liability shall 
accrue to the owner, or his agent, of any livestock guarding 
animal for any injury to any person or animal received from any 
livestock guarding animal which was actively engaged in 
protecting livestock. 
 

CHAPTER 32 - POULTRY 
 

11-32-101.  Definitions. 
 

(a)  As used in this act: 
 

(i)  "Baby poultry" means poultry under ten (10) weeks 
of age; 
 

(ii)  "Board" means the Wyoming livestock board; 
 



(iii)  "Breeding stock" means poultry used for 
reproduction; 
 

(iv)  "Poultry" means live chickens, turkeys, ducks, 
geese and game birds as defined by W.S. 23-1-101(a)(iv); 
 

(v)  "This act" means W.S. 11-32-101 through 
11-32-104. 
 

11-32-102.  Rules and regulations. 
 
The board may adopt rules and regulations to carry out this act 
and to prevent the spread of disease among poultry. 
 

11-32-103.  Labeling of shipments. 
 

(a)  Each container of poultry, baby poultry, hatching eggs 
or breeding stock sold within or imported into this state, 
except those containing poultry for immediate slaughter, shall 
bear the name and address of the shipper and an official label 
or certificate showing: 
 

(i)  The number, breed and variety, sex and date of 
hatch for baby poultry; 
 

(ii)  The name of the hatchery or person producing 
poultry in the case of baby poultry; 
 

(iii)  The agency under the supervision of which the 
testing for pullorum disease was done, the pullorum 
classification; and 
 

(iv)  In the case of breeding stock, the pullorum 
classification and date of last test. 
 

(b)  No person shall import into Wyoming any poultry, baby 
poultry, hatching eggs or breeding stock which is not labelled 
as provided by subsection (a) of this section except for 
immediate slaughter. 
 

11-32-104.  Penalty; seizure of property. 
 
Any person who violates W.S. 11-32-101 through 11-32-103 or any 
rule or regulation promulgated hereunder shall be fined not more 
than five hundred dollars ($500.00). Any container of poultry, 
baby poultry, hatching eggs or breeding stock which is not 
labeled in accordance with the provisions of this act or rules 



and regulations may be seized and its contents destroyed or 
returned to the shipper at the shipper's expense, as the board 
determines. 
 

CHAPTER 33 - LIVESTOCK DISTRICTS 
 

11-33-101.  Creation; generally; applicable provisions. 
 
The board of county commissioners of each county in the state 
may create livestock districts within any irrigation district 
organized under the irrigation district laws of this state as 
hereinafter provided. When a district is created, W.S. 11-33-101 
through 11-33-109 apply and are enforceable therein. 
 

11-33-102.  Creation; landowners' petition; contents. 
 
At least seventy-five percent (75%) of the landowners owning at 
least seventy-five percent (75%) of the land in any irrigation 
district organized under the irrigation district laws of Wyoming 
and who are resident in and qualified electors of Wyoming, may 
petition the board of county commissioners in writing to create 
a livestock district. The petition shall describe the boundaries 
of the proposed livestock district and shall designate what 
animals are to be prohibited from running at large or from being 
grazed upon the public highways in the district and may 
designate the period of the year during which it is desired to 
prohibit animals from running at large or being grazed on the 
highways. 
 

11-33-103.  Creation; landowners' petition; notice of 
hearing. 
 
Within twenty (20) days after a petition has been filed, the 
board of county commissioners shall set a date for hearing the 
petition. Notice of the hearing shall be given by posting 
notices in three (3) conspicuous places in the proposed 
livestock district and by publication for two (2) weeks previous 
to the hearing in a newspaper published in the county nearest 
the proposed livestock district. 
 

11-33-104.  Creation; order; contents and force. 
 
At the hearing, if satisfied that at least seventy-five percent 
(75%) of the landowners owning at least seventy-five percent 
(75%) of the land in the proposed livestock district who are 
resident in and qualified electors of Wyoming are in favor of 
the enforcement of the livestock law and that it would be 



beneficial to the district, the board of county commissioners 
shall make an order creating the livestock district in 
accordance with the prayer of the petition or with such 
modifications as it may choose to make. The order shall specify 
a certain time at which it takes effect which shall be at least 
thirty (30) days after the making of the order. The order shall 
continue in force until vacated or modified by the board of 
county commissioners upon the petition of seventy-five percent 
(75%) of the landowners owning seventy-five percent (75%) of the 
land in the district who are resident in and qualified electors 
of Wyoming. 
 

11-33-105.  Creation; order; mandatory condition of fences. 
 
The board of county commissioners shall provide as a condition 
in any order creating a livestock district that the livestock 
district shall be enclosed by a lawful fence and that any road 
extending from the livestock district shall contain cattle 
guards or gates at such places and of such nature as the board 
prescribes. The board of county commissioners shall make its 
livestock district orders inapplicable to cattle, horses, sheep 
or mules straying into the livestock district until the district 
is enclosed by lawful fence and cattle guards or gates are 
installed. 
 

11-33-106.  Extent of jurisdiction. 
 
W.S. 11-33-101 and 11-33-105 do not confer upon the board of 
county commissioners any jurisdiction over animals otherwise 
prohibited from running at large under existing laws. 
 

11-33-107.  Violation of order deemed misdemeanor; 
subsequent violations. 
 
Any person who in violation of any order made pursuant to W.S. 
11-33-104, permits or allows any of the animals designated in 
the order, owned by him or under his control, to run at large in 
the district or to be grazed on the highway, is guilty of a 
misdemeanor. The pendency of any action shall not prevent nor 
prejudice the bringing of another action against the same party 
for a violation of the order committed after the commencement of 
the pending action. 
 

11-33-108.  Liability of animal owners; lien on and custody 
of animals. 
 



The owner of animals permitted or allowed to run at large, or 
herded in violation of any order made in accordance with W.S. 
11-33-104 is liable to any person who suffers damage from the 
depredations or trespasses of the animals, without regard to the 
condition of his fence. The person damaged shall have a lien 
upon the animals for the amount of damage done and the cost of 
the proceedings to recover damages, and may take the animals 
into custody until all damages are paid. The person taking the 
animals into custody may not retain the animals for more than 
five (5) days without commencing an action against the owner for 
damages. 
 

11-33-109.  Duty of person taking custody of animals. 
 
Any person may take into custody any of the animals specified in 
the order of the board of county commissioners that may be about 
to commit a trespass upon the premises owned, occupied or in 
charge of the person and retain the animals until all reasonable 
charges for keeping the animals are paid. The person taking the 
animals into custody shall notify the owner or person in charge 
of the animals within five (5) days thereafter. If the owner or 
person in charge of the animals is not known to the person 
taking the animals into custody, and cannot be found after 
diligent inquiry, he may proceed in the manner provided for the 
taking up and disposal of estrays. 
 

CHAPTER 34 - STATE LOAN AND INVESTMENT BOARD 
 

ARTICLE 1 - IN GENERAL 
 

11-34-101.  Definitions. 
 

(a)  As used in this act: 
 

(i)  "First mortgage" means first and superior liens 
on farm lands except as hereinafter provided, the fee simple 
title to which is in the proposed borrower; 
 

(ii)  "Farm land," "farm" and "farms" includes: 
 

(A)  Lands used principally for raising 
agricultural products; 
 

(B)  Lands used principally for dairying 
purposes; and 
 



(C)  Lands or ranches used principally for 
livestock purposes. 
 

(iii)  "Board" means the state loan and investment 
board; 
 

(iv)  "This act" means W.S. 11-34-101 through 11-34-
203. 
 

11-34-102.  Rural credits; establishment and 
administration; composition of board; power to sue and be sued; 
officers. 
 

(a)  For the purpose of fostering and encouraging 
agriculture, dairying and livestock raising in Wyoming and the 
development and improvement of farm lands, there is hereby 
created and established a system of rural credits to be 
administered by the state loan and investment board. 
 

(b)  The board of land commissioners is hereby constituted 
the state loan and investment board. The board may sue and be 
sued in the name of the state loan and investment board in the 
courts of this state and in no other jurisdiction on any 
mortgage, contract of sale or lease issued by the board. The 
governor is president of the board but in his absence from any 
meeting one (1) of the members may act as president pro tempore 
and preside at meetings. The director of the office of state 
lands and investments is the chief executive officer of the 
board, and the deputy director of the office of state lands and 
investments is deputy chief executive officer. 
 

11-34-103.  Powers and duties generally; employees and 
financial matters; reports to governor. 
 

(a)  The board shall establish a system of farm loans, and 
foreclose or renew any installment payment of the loans as 
provided by this act. The board may provide for its office, 
necessary furniture, fixtures, stationery and supplies, adopt 
rules and regulations proper and necessary for the conduct of 
its business and receive and approve applications for farm 
loans. All monies received shall be delivered to the state 
treasurer to be credited to the funds from which originally 
drawn. The board may acquire and dispose of property, real and 
personal, as necessary or convenient for the transaction of its 
business and accept assignments of interests in any real or 
personal property which are taken as additional security or 
collateral to preexistent debts or approved loans. 



 
(b)  The board shall employ assistants, clerks, appraisers 

and other employees as necessary to conduct its business, fix 
the fees, costs and charges which shall be credited to the 
general fund to cover the expenses of the board in making loans 
and define the duties of the officers, agents and employees of 
the board. All officers and employees shall be under the 
direction and authority of the board in all matters not 
inconsistent with this act. The board shall, as required by W.S. 
9-2-1014, report to the governor such general information and 
recommendations as to the board seem proper. The board shall 
exercise all incidental power as necessary to carry out this 
act. 
 

11-34-104.  Seal; design. 
 
The board shall obtain and keep a seal. The design of the seal 
shall be a circle within which appears in the center the word 
"Seal." Between the lower and upper edges of the circle, 
properly divided, shall appear the words "Wyoming State Loan and 
Investment Board," "State of Wyoming." 
 

11-34-105.  Chief executive officer; powers and duties. 
 

(a)  The director of the office of state lands and 
investments is the chief executive officer under the direction 
of the board and has general supervision of the business and 
employees of the board. 
 

(b)  The director of the office of state lands and 
investments shall: 
 

(i)  Keep all books of account of the board; 
 

(ii)  Receive, collect and promptly pay over to the 
state treasurer all monies that come into his possession; 
 

(iii)  Keep in his care and custody copies of all 
promissory notes, mortgages and other securities or evidences of 
indebtedness and muniments of title acquired or received by the 
board for monies loaned on real estate; 
 

(iv)  Transmit to the state treasurer the original 
notes and mortgages at the time of the disbursements of monies 
by the state treasurer. The security shall be kept by the state 
treasurer as a record and evidence of monies disbursed by the 
treasurer by virtue of this act; 



 
(v)  Render monthly statements to the board of the 

transactions of his office; 
 

(vi)  Keep the seal of the board and affix the seal 
with his attestation to all instruments or papers whenever 
required; 
 

(vii)  Keep a record of the proceedings of the board 
and such books and records as are necessary for the conduct of 
the business of his office including a written record of all 
votes taken to decide the board's final action on any matter; 
 

(viii)  Submit regular reports to the board setting 
forth in detail the status of all farm and water development 
project loans which are delinquent as to the payment of any 
installment of principal or interest due; and 
 

(ix)  Do and perform such other acts as required by 
the board. 
 

11-34-106.  Legal advisor. 
 
The attorney general is the legal advisor of the board and its 
officers. 
 

11-34-107.  Quorum; loan; votes required; record. 
 
A majority of the board constitutes a quorum. No loan shall be 
made except upon the affirmative vote of not less than three (3) 
of the members, and the records of the meeting shall show which 
members voted to approve the loan. 
 

11-34-108.  Loans on lands subject to preexisting liens; 
effect. 
 
The board may loan money on and take as security farm lands 
subject to liens, charges or assessments for drainage, 
reclamation or irrigation purposes, payable in installments, not 
due at the time of making the loan, and the mortgage taken to 
secure the loan shall, notwithstanding the liens, charges or 
assessments, be deemed a first mortgage within the meaning of 
this act. The amount of the liens, charges or assessments shall 
be considered by the board in determining the amount to be 
loaned on the farm lands. 
 

11-34-109.  Purposes for which loans authorized. 



 
(a)  Loans may be made for the following agriculture 

related purposes and no other: 
 

(i)  To provide for the purchase of farm lands; 
 

(ii)  To provide for the purchase of equipment as 
defined by the board, fertilizers and livestock necessary for 
the proper and reasonable operation of the mortgaged farm lands; 
 

(iii)  To provide for buildings and other 
improvements, as defined by the board, of farm lands; 
 

(iv)  To liquidate indebtedness of the owner of the 
land to be mortgaged; 
 

(v)  Repealed By Laws 2008, Ch. 42, § 2. 
 

11-34-110.  Limitations on borrowers; due on sale clause; 
sale of mortgaged land. 
 

(a)  No loan shall be made to any person who is not at the 
time or shortly to become engaged in the cultivation and 
development of the farm land mortgaged. 
 

(b)  Loans shall be made only to qualified Wyoming electors 
or to a corporation if a majority of the corporation's 
outstanding shares are owned beneficially or of record by 
qualified Wyoming electors. 
 

(c)  Every mortgage shall contain a due on sale clause 
which may be exercised at the option of the board. The board may 
permit a mortgage to be assumed by a purchaser who is otherwise 
qualified to receive a loan under this act, or by the heirs of a 
deceased mortgagor. 
 

11-34-111.  Application for loan; form; contents; priority 
of applications. 
 

(a)  Every applicant for a loan under this act shall apply 
on a form prescribed by the board. The applicant shall state the 
object to which the proceeds of the loan will be applied and 
shall furnish such other information as required by the board. 
 

(b)  The state loan and investment board is authorized to 
promulgate rules and regulations to establish criteria for 
determining the priority in which farm loan applications will be 



considered. The criteria for establishing priority will include, 
but are not limited to, an applicant's need, financial net 
worth, earning capacity and the ability to repay the loan. 
 

11-34-112.  Application for loan; filing; appraisal of 
land; consideration of written report. 
 
Before any mortgage loan is made by the board, the loan 
application shall be filed with the director of the office  of 
state lands and investments who shall make, or cause to be made, 
an appraisal and written report upon the land offered as 
security for the loan. No loan shall be made unless the written 
report is filed with the director of the office of state lands 
and investments and considered, approved and authorized by the 
unanimous consent of all members of the board present at the 
meeting at which the loan is considered. 
 

11-34-113.  Terms and conditions of loans. 
 

(a)  The board shall make loans only upon the following 
terms and conditions: 
 

(i)  The loan shall be secured by a duly recorded 
first or second mortgage as approved by the board on the farm 
lands within this state; 
 

(ii)  Every mortgage shall contain an agreement 
providing for repayment of the entire amount of the loan and 
interest upon a certain date or in several specified payments, 
or on an amortization plan of annual or semiannual installments 
so computed as to pay the interest on the loan according to 
terms of the mortgage and such amounts to be applied on the 
principal as will terminate the debt within an agreed period of 
not less than five (5) years nor more than thirty (30) years. 
The method of repayment is at the option of the board. 
 

(b)  After five (5) years from date of the mortgage, 
additional payments for part or all of the principal may be made 
on the annual or semiannual payment date under such rules and 
regulations as the board may prescribe. On the application of 
the borrower the board may provide in the mortgage for the 
payment of interest only during the first five (5) years and 
thereafter for the payment of both interest and principal on the 
amortization plan. Any loan may be paid in full before the 
expiration of five (5) years upon payment of a ten dollar 
($10.00) fee to be paid into the general fund. Any loan paid in 



full after five (5) years from the date thereof, the ten dollars 
($10.00) fee shall not be collected. 
 

(c)  Repealed by Laws 1987, ch. 242, § 2. 
 

(d)  Notwithstanding the loan term limitation specified in 
paragraph (a)(ii) of this section, the board may reamortize farm 
loan payments over an additional number of years which together 
with the years remaining on the original term shall create a new 
term not to exceed thirty (30) years, at the same interest rate 
as that in effect at the time of reamortization for loans being 
made under W.S. 11-34-101 through 11-34-130, when in the 
judgment of the board the reduced payments resulting from 
reamortization of the loan will provide adequate financial 
benefit to assure with reasonable certainty the ultimate 
repayment of the loan. Any borrower requesting reamortization 
shall have the burden of showing that reamortization will 
significantly improve the financial viability of the 
agricultural operation.  No loan shall be reamortized if, in the 
sole judgment of the board, the borrower is in sound financial 
condition and reamortization is not necessary to secure 
repayment of the loan, or if reamortization will not provide 
sufficient financial benefit to avoid the imminent failure of 
the borrower's operation.  Nothing in this section shall be 
construed as authorizing the reamortization of water development 
project loans. 
 

(e)  Repealed by Laws 1987, ch. 242, § 2. 
 

(f)  Repealed by Laws 1987, ch. 242, § 2. 
 

(g)  Repealed by Laws 1987, ch. 242, § 2. 
 

(h)  Repealed By Laws 2008, Ch. 42, § 2. 
 

(j)  Repealed by Laws 2019, ch. 35, § 2. 
 

11-34-114.  Limitation on loans; percentages of appraised 
value. 
 

(a)  No loan secured by a first mortgage shall exceed 
seventy percent (70%) of the appraised value of the land with 
the necessary existing improvements, as ascertained and fixed by 
the board except as provided by W.S. 11-34-117. If a loan is 
secured by a second mortgage, the sum of the first and second 
mortgages shall not exceed eighty percent (80%) of the appraised 
value of the land and improvements and the balance due on the 



loans secured by the first or second mortgage shall not exceed 
eight hundred thousand dollars ($800,000.00). The appraisal 
shall be made by the state loan and investment board, with the 
advice of two (2) residents of the immediate locality in which 
the loan is being considered. 
 

(b)  Repealed By Laws 2008, Ch. 42, § 2. 
 

(c)  Repealed by Laws 2019, ch. 35, § 2. 
 

11-34-115.  Minimum and maximum amount of loans. 
 
The amount of loans to any one (1) borrower shall not be less 
than ten thousand dollars ($10,000.00) nor more than one million 
dollars ($1,000,000.00) if all loans to the borrower are made 
for the purposes of purchasing farm lands or other purposes as 
defined by W.S. 11-34-109(a)(i) through (iv). 
 

11-34-116.  Agreement to use loans for purposes specified; 
reappraisement and additional loan. 
 

(a)  Every borrower who is granted a loan under this act 
shall enter into an agreement with the board that if the whole 
or any portion of his loan is expended for purposes other than 
those specified in his original application, or if the borrower 
is in default in respect to any condition or covenant of the 
mortgage, or in case the mortgagor, his heirs or assigns abandon 
the land for one (1) year, or if the board at any time believes 
that the loan is not adequately secured by reason of any 
mismanagement, waste or neglect of the land, the loan at the 
option of the board shall become due and payable forthwith. The 
board may permit the loan to be used for any purpose specified 
in W.S. 11-34-109. 
 

(b)  A reappraisement may be permitted at any time by the 
board and an additional loan may be granted as the reappraisal 
may warrant. 
 

11-34-117.  Rates of interest; length of loan; amount. 
 

(a)  The rates of interest on all farm loans shall be equal 
to the yield on a United States treasury security of the same 
duration of the loan, whether the money is loaned upon the 
amortization plan or otherwise. The board may add an additional 
percentage not to exceed two percent (2%) as a risk premium to 
the interest rate established under this subsection. The rate of 



interest for all farm loans shall not be less than three percent 
(3%). 
 

(b)  A farm loan to a beginning agriculture producer shall 
be equal to the yield on a United States treasury security of 
the same duration of the loan. This loan rate shall be fixed for 
a period of ten (10) years. At the end of the ten (10) year 
period the interest rate shall be the current rate for loans as 
established under subsection (a) of this section. The board may 
add an additional percentage not to exceed two percent (2%) as a 
risk premium to the interest rate established under this 
subsection. The rate of interest for all farm loans to beginning 
agricultural producers shall not be less than three percent 
(3%). 
 

(c)  Repealed by Laws 2023, ch. 135, § 2. 
 

(d)  Repealed by Laws 2019, ch. 35, § 2. 
 

11-34-118.  Refinancing delinquent loans; payment of costs; 
additional fee. 
 
The board, whenever it deems necessary for the better protection 
of permanent funds of the state invested in farm loans, may 
refinance any delinquent farm mortgage loan and reamortize the 
loan over not more than thirty (30) years from the date of 
refinancing. All costs of refinancing the loan, including the 
cost of having the abstract brought down to date, shall be paid 
by the mortgagor and no loan shall be refinanced where it 
appears refinancing will jeopardize the collection of the loan.  
An additional fee of one percent (1%) of the amount of the 
reamortized loan shall be paid by each mortgagor to the board to 
be credited to the loss reserve account as provided by W.S. 
11-34-202(e). 
 

11-34-119.  Ultra vires acts of agent. 
 
No loan or mortgage securing the loan shall be impaired or 
invalidated by any act of any agent of the board in excess of 
his powers. 
 

11-34-120.  Mortgages taken by board; control and 
disposition of property. 
 

(a)  All mortgages and accompanying promissory note or 
notes taken by the board for monies loaned shall run to state 
loan and investment board as mortgagee or payee, and all titles 



to property taken by the board shall run to the board as 
grantee. The board may control, manage, lease and dispose of the 
property, subject to the following: 
 

(i)  The board may lease any or all property for oil 
and gas for a primary term up to ten (10) years and as long 
thereafter as oil or gas is produced in paying quantities and 
extend the term of existing oil and gas leases in good standing 
for as long as oil or gas is produced in paying quantities and 
for coal and other mineral purposes for terms not exceeding ten 
(10) years, with the preferential right in each coal or other 
mineral lessee to renew the lease for successive periods of ten 
(10) years each; 
 

(ii)  The board may make and establish rules and 
regulations governing the issuance of mineral leases and 
covering the conduct of development and mining operations to be 
carried on thereunder; 
 

(iii)  Mineral leases may be issued upon monthly or 
annual minimum rental payment basis as fixed by the board, with 
payments annually applied against any royalty as shall accrue 
for the same lease year by the terms of the lease, which 
royalty, as to lands leased for oil or gas shall not be less 
than five percent (5%) of all oil and gas produced and saved 
from and not used in operations on the lands under the lease, 
and royalty of not less than five cents ($.05) per ton on coal 
produced from the lands under any lease for coal purposes, the 
royalty to be paid on mine run of coal. 
 

(b)  No mineral lease is assignable or transferable except 
with written consent of the board. It shall require the lessee's 
full compliance with all rules and regulations adopted by the 
board and compliance with all terms of the lease. All mineral 
leases shall be separate and distinct from each lease of the 
land for grazing or agricultural purposes. Rules and regulations 
adopted by the board shall provide for joint use of the lands 
for grazing and agricultural or mineral purposes without undue 
interference by the lessees under any class of leases with 
lessees under any other class. The board, on behalf of the state 
and its lessee in any mineral lease may join in the interest of 
conservation and greater ultimate recovery of oil and gas, in 
fair and equitable cooperative or unit plans of development or 
operation of oil and gas pools, with the United States 
government and its lessees or permittees, or others, and the 
board may modify and change any terms and conditions of any oil 
and gas lease as mutually agreed by the lessor and lessee to 



conform to the terms of any lease to the cooperative or unit 
plan and to effectuate proper operations thereunder. The changes 
may include extension of the term of years applicable to any 
lease for the full period of time during which the cooperative 
or unit plan may remain in effect. 
 

(c)  When a cooperative or unit agreement is terminated or 
ceases to be effective as to lands upon which there is no 
production of oil or gas, the lease covering the lands shall 
remain in effect for two (2) years from the date the lands 
ceased to be subject to the agreement, or for the remaining 
length of the term of the original lease, whichever is greater, 
and so long thereafter as oil or gas is produced from the lands 
in accordance with the requirements of the original lease. 
 

(d)  The terms of any lease issued under this section for 
land on which actual drilling operations were commenced prior to 
the end of its primary term and are being diligently prosecuted 
at that time shall be extended for one (1) year and so long 
thereafter as oil or gas is produced in paying quantities. 
 

(e)  If land acquired by the board and upon which 
improvements for mineral operations and other improvements have 
been made, are sold as to both surface and mineral rights, or if 
the lands are leased for minerals to other than the owner of the 
mineral improvements, the purchaser or new lessee shall pay the 
owner of the improvements the fair value thereof at a mutually 
agreed price. If agreement cannot be promptly reached the price 
shall be fixed by appraisement under the direction of the board. 
As used in this subsection "improvements" means improvements 
which are used or useful and necessary for subsequent operation 
of the land for mineral purposes and the price shall include the 
fair value of the work previously done in the development of the 
property if it is of practical use in future mineral operation. 
No well drilled on the land for oil or gas which does not 
produce either in commercial quantities, and no shaft, tunnel or 
drift from which coal or other minerals have been substantially 
exhausted shall be considered improvements for the purposes of 
this subsection. 
 

(f)  The board may sell or otherwise dispose of property at 
a price not less than seventy-five percent (75%) of the 
appraised value and upon terms determined by the board which 
shall adopt rules and regulations governing such sales. When 
land is sold which was acquired by the board through the 
foreclosure of any farm loan mortgage provided for by this act, 
the board shall not reserve any part of, or interest in, the 



mineral estate.  When land otherwise acquired by the board is 
sold, the board may reserve all or any part of the mineral 
content of the land and the right to use so much of the surface 
of the land as it considers convenient or necessary in 
connection with mineral operations thereon, together with all 
needed rights of ingress and egress, but the board in each case 
shall appropriately provide for indemnification of the surface 
owner against all surface damages caused by mineral operations 
on the land. 
 

(g)  The board may lease for agricultural and grazing 
purposes any lands acquired by it on such terms and conditions 
as it prescribes and adopt rules and regulations it considers 
necessary in facilitating the leases. 
 

(h)  Revenue received by the board under this section from 
agricultural, grazing and mineral leases of lands acquired by 
foreclosure shall be credited to the loss reserve account as 
provided by W.S. 11-34-202(e). 
 

11-34-121.  Mortgagor to pay for recording loan papers; 
title insurance or abstract required; deposit; additional fee. 
 
The mortgagor shall pay for the recording of his mortgage and 
other papers connected with the loan which may be required. He 
shall furnish to the board at his own expense a mortgagee's 
title insurance policy in the full amount of the mortgage, 
issued by a title insurance company authorized to do business in 
Wyoming in a form acceptable to the board, reflecting 
merchantable fee title in mortgagor, or in lieu thereof an 
abstract of title certified by a bonded abstracter qualified to 
prepare abstracts under the laws of Wyoming, under such rules as 
the board may prescribe. The mortgagor shall deposit with the 
board before his application is considered, one hundred dollars 
($100.00), the unused portion of which, if his loan is not 
granted, shall be returned to him, but if his loan is granted, 
the amount shall be paid into the loss reserve account as 
provided by W.S. 11-34-202(e). An additional fee of one percent 
(1%) of the loan closed shall be paid by each mortgagor to the 
board. The revenues produced by this fee shall be credited to 
the loss reserve account as provided by W.S. 11-34-202(e). 
 

11-34-122.  Release of mortgage. 
 
When the mortgagor or his successor in interest has fully paid 
any mortgage, the board shall furnish him with a proper release 
of the mortgage executed by the president of the board and 



attested by the director of the office of state lands and 
investments with the seal of the board thereon, and the mortgage 
papers belonging to the loan including abstract of title and 
insurance policies assigned, shall be returned to the mortgagor 
or successor in interest. 
 

11-34-123.  Foreclosure proceedings; duty of attorney 
general; deed in lieu of foreclosure. 
 

(a)  Any foreclosure of any mortgage provided for by this 
act shall be made in the usual manner, either by civil action or 
by advertisement as the board may direct. In cases of 
foreclosure the attorney general shall render all services 
needed in connection with the foreclosure proceedings, and the 
costs, fees and expenses may be taxed in like manner and to the 
same effect as if the state of Wyoming were a natural person.  
Payment of proceeds upon foreclosure shall be made in accordance 
with W.S. 34-4-113.  All monies received by the state from sale 
of the land acquired by foreclosure or by redemption of land 
sold on foreclosure, in excess of the amount owing to the 
appropriate permanent fund account and the interest due thereon, 
shall be credited to the loss reserve account as provided by 
W.S. 11-34-202(e). The board may extend the time of payment of 
any interest or installment payment due on any farm loan for as 
long as the board deems proper, and distribute the defaulted 
payments including interest, over undue payments in a manner and 
under terms  the board deems just, each loan to be judged on its 
own merits without regard to any general rule. It is the 
intention of this section to authorize the board to consider and 
determine whether any mortgages executed by virtue of this act 
shall be foreclosed or renewed, with or without penalty, but no 
renewal shall extend beyond the due date of the original loan or 
any extension of the term by reamortization authorized by W.S. 
11-34-113(d). 
 

(b)  Repealed By Laws 2010, Ch. 69, § 204. 
 

(c)  Notwithstanding other provisions of this section the 
state loan and investment board by unanimous vote may accept a 
deed in lieu of foreclosure, provided: 
 

(i)  The board determines any remaining liability is 
not collectible; and 
 

(ii)  Any loss to any permanent fund resulting from 
the acceptance of the deed in lieu of foreclosure is restored as 
provided by W.S. 11-34-202(f). 



 
11-34-124.  Interest on defaulted payments and unpaid 

taxes; agreement to pay; insurance required; use of proceeds; 
foreclosure permitted. 
 
Every borrower shall pay interest on defaulted payments at a 
rate to be determined by the board not to exceed a ten percent 
(10%) annual percentage rate. By express covenant in his 
mortgage deed the borrower shall agree to pay when due all 
interest, taxes, liens, judgments, assessments and insurance 
lawfully assessed against the mortgaged land. Taxes, liens, 
judgments, assessments or insurance not paid when due and paid 
by the mortgagee become a part of the mortgage debt and shall 
bear interest at a rate to be determined by the board not to 
exceed a ten percent (10%) annual percentage rate. Every 
borrower shall insure buildings on the lands mortgaged to the 
satisfaction of the board. Insurance shall be made payable to 
the mortgagee as its interest may appear at the time of loss, 
and at the option of the mortgagee subject to the general 
regulations of the board. Insurance proceeds received may be 
used to pay for reconstruction of the buildings destroyed. 
Nothing in this section shall prevent the commencement of 
foreclosure proceedings at any time upon the default of 
principal or interest or failure to pay any taxes, judgments, 
assessments, liens or insurance. 
 

11-34-125.  Repealed by Laws 1980, ch. 49, § 3. 
 

11-34-126.  Exemption of property of board from taxation; 
exceptions. 
 

(a)  Except as otherwise provided by subsection (b) of this 
section, all mortgages, real estate and other property owned by 
the board is exempt from all general taxes, state, county and 
municipal. For the purpose of this act the board is deemed to be 
the owner of any property from the date it is bid in by the 
board at a foreclosure sale. 
 

(b)  If the board becomes the owner of the real estate and 
other property before the fourth Monday in June of the current 
year, it shall be liable for any property taxes lawfully 
assessed against the property, except for any taxes imposed 
under W.S. 21-13-102, 21-13-201 and 21-13-303.  The county 
assessor shall list and assess the property for taxation 
purposes, and the state loan and investment board shall pay any 
tax due for the year in its entirety prior to December 31 of 
that year and any other year in which the board owns the 



property.  If redemption is made of the property at any time 
during the year in which the state loan and investment board has 
paid the property taxes due, the person redeeming the property 
shall be liable to the state loan and investment board for any 
taxes paid.  There is appropriated from the loss reserve account 
as provided by W.S. 11-34-202 to the state loan and investment 
board a sum sufficient to pay the property taxes authorized by 
this section. 
 

11-34-127.  Surety bonds; generally. 
 
Whenever a bond or undertaking is required by this act or by the 
board to be given, it shall be held to mean a surety bond 
furnished by a surety company authorized and qualified to do 
business in this state. Such bonds shall run to the state loan 
and investment board and the form thereof shall be approved by 
the attorney general. 
 

11-34-128.  Surety bonds; payment of cost. 
 
The cost of surety bonds provided by this act, furnished by the 
officers or employees of said board, shall be a part of the 
general expense of the administration and paid by the board. 
 

11-34-129.  Investment of permanent funds. 
 
The state treasurer, with the approval of the board, is 
authorized to invest and keep invested in farm loans a sum not 
to exceed fifty million dollars ($50,000,000.00) of any state 
permanent funds available for investment, including loans 
already made and outstanding, as the funds become available in 
the treasurer's office for investment in loans approved by the 
board. 
 

11-34-130.  Trespass upon lands owned by board prohibited; 
penalties. 
 
Whoever knowingly and willfully commits a trespass upon lands 
owned by the board or upon lands mortgaged to the board, either 
by cutting down or destroying or carrying away any timber or 
wood standing or growing thereon or by grazing, mowing, cutting 
or removing any hay, grass or growing or matured crops thereon 
or who, without right, injures or removes any building, fence, 
improvements or other property belonging or appertaining to the 
lands, or unlawfully occupies, plows or cultivates any of the 
land, or aids or abets any trespass or injury, is guilty of a 
misdemeanor and shall be fined not less than twenty-five dollars 



($25.00) or more than five hundred dollars ($500.00), imprisoned 
not less than thirty (30) days or more than six (6) months, or 
both. 
 

11-34-131.  Wyoming transportation enterprise account; use 
thereof. 
 

(a)  The transportation enterprise account is established 
to be used by the state loan and investment board to finance 
transportation projects of benefit to the general public as 
defined in this section. The transportation enterprise account 
shall be administered by the state loan and investment board, 
subject to recommendation and appropriation by the legislature, 
for the purpose of fostering transportation investments in 
projects of benefit to the general public within the state.  The 
state loan and investment board shall: 
 

(i)  Adopt rules and regulations to implement the 
purposes of this section, considering other funds available 
including department of transportation funds; and 
 

(ii)  Distribute funds to eligible grantees only, 
pursuant to appropriation of funds from the transportation 
enterprise fund by the legislature, subsection (c) of this 
section, federal requirements and rules and regulations of the 
state loan and investment board. 
 

(b)  The transportation enterprise account shall receive 
monies from mineral royalty payments as provided in W.S. 
9-4-607(a). All repayments of principal and interest to the 
state in connection with loans made under this section shall be 
deposited into the transportation enterprise account. 
 

(c)  The board may make grants or loans to public entities 
for the purpose of enhancing transportation in this state. 
Eligible uses of the monies in the fund shall include capital 
investments for public transportation and improvement and 
maintenance of airline service and facilities. 
 

(d)  In adopting rules and regulations under paragraph 
(a)(i) of this section, the board shall provide for the 
allocation of funds for capital investments for public 
transportation and for purposes eligible under subsection (c) of 
this section, with investment income received under W.S. 
9-4-607(b) being allocated to purposes eligible under subsection 
(c) of this section. 
 



(e)  The state loan and investment board shall annually 
audit the transportation trust fund created under W.S. 
9-4-607(a) to determine the effects of inflation on investment 
earnings. 
 

ARTICLE 2 - ISSUANCE OF BONDS AND DISPOSITION OF REVENUES 
 

11-34-201.  Authority to issue nonnegotiable debentures; 
acceptance by treasurer; number; amount; interest; security; 
terms. 
 

(a)  The board may issue its nonnegotiable debenture bonds 
in such numbers and amounts as necessary to be deposited with 
the state treasurer. The state treasurer shall accept the bonds 
in lieu of the promissory notes and mortgages held by the board 
as security for the investment of permanent funds of Wyoming in 
mortgages upon real estate. 
 

(b)  One (1) bond shall be issued for each note, in the 
amount of the balance due upon the principal of each note to be 
deposited with the state treasurer. The bond shall bear interest 
at  the same rate as the underlying note and be secured by the 
original security pledged for the payment to the state of the 
note for which the bond is issued or substituted, or by any 
security or property taken by the board in addition to or in 
lieu of the original security. Each bond is due and payable on 
the date when the note for which the bond was issued or 
substituted is due and payable. 
 

11-34-202.  Revenue to be credited to an account; use 
thereof; disposition of excess. 
 

(a)  Except as provided by subsection (e) of this section 
or as otherwise provided by law, the state loan and investment 
board shall transmit any revenue received to the state treasurer 
to be credited to a separate account for the purposes specified 
in W.S. 21-15-106(a). 
 

(b)  Repealed by Laws 1981, ch. 44, § 2. 
 

(c)  Repealed by Laws 1981, ch. 44, § 2. 
 

(d)  Following a general fund appropriation by the 
legislature for administrative expenses, amounts expended 
pursuant to the appropriation shall be transferred monthly from 
the account provided by subsection (a) of this section to the 
general fund as provided by W.S. 9-4-205(b) for the highway fund 



and the special revenue fund in certain instances. Revenue 
currently in the account formerly provided for by W.S. 
11-34-202(a), (b) and (c), as those subsections existed prior to 
the creation of this subsection, may be expended for purposes 
formerly authorized until July 1, 1982 at which time the revenue 
within the account shall be credited to the account provided by 
subsection (a) of this section. 
 

(e)  Revenue and proceeds received by the board for deposit 
in the loss reserve account pursuant to W.S. 11-34-118, 11-34-
120(h), 11-34-121 and 11-34-123(a) shall be transmitted to the 
state treasurer for deposit to the credit of the loss reserve 
account. These funds shall be used for the purposes specified in 
subsection (f) of this section and W.S. 11-34-126 and to pay the 
administrative and legal expenses of the board in making 
collections and foreclosing mortgages.  If at the end of any 
fiscal year the amount accumulated in the loss reserve account 
exceeds five percent (5%) of the total amount of permanent funds 
of the state invested in farm or water development project 
loans, the amount in excess of the five percent (5%) shall be 
transferred and credited to the general fund. 
 

(f)  If, as a result of default in the payment of any farm 
or water development project loan, there occurs a nonrecoverable 
loss either to the corpus of, or interest due to, any permanent 
fund of the state, the board shall restore the loss to the 
permanent fund account entitled thereto using any funds 
available in the loss reserve account created by subsection (e) 
of this section. If the funds in the loss reserve account are 
insufficient to restore the full amount of the loss, the board 
shall submit a detailed report of the loss to the legislature 
and shall request an appropriation to restore the balance of the 
loss to the permanent fund account entitled thereto. 
 

11-34-203.  Report to governor; separate statement 
required. 
 
The state loan and investment board shall report to the governor 
as required by W.S. 9-2-1014, and include a separate statement 
of all loans obtained from the state treasurer by the issuance 
of bonds as herein provided, and showing the disposition of the 
funds. 
 

ARTICLE 3 - LOANS 
 

11-34-301.  Repealed by Laws 2019, ch. 35, § 2. 
 



11-34-302.  Repealed by Laws 2019, ch. 35, § 2. 
 

11-34-303.  Repealed by Laws 2016, ch. 110, § 3. 
 

11-34-304.  Repealed by Laws 2016, ch. 110, § 3. 
 

11-34-305.  Repealed by Laws 2016, ch. 110, § 3. 
 

11-34-306.  Repealed by Laws 2019, ch. 35, § 2. 
 

CHAPTER 35 - AGRICULTURAL MARKETING 
 

11-35-101.  Short title; purpose of provisions. 
 

(a)  This act may be known and cited as "The Wyoming 
Agricultural Marketing Act of 1961." 
 

(b)  It is hereby declared to be the purpose of this act to 
aid agricultural producers in preventing economic waste in the 
marketing of their agricultural commodities, to develop more 
efficient and equitable methods of marketing of agricultural 
commodities and to aid agricultural producers in restoring and 
maintaining their purchasing power at a more adequate, equitable 
and reasonable level. 
 

11-35-102.  Definitions. 
 

(a)  As used in this act: 
 

(i)  "Agricultural commodity" means any horticultural, 
viticultural and vegetable product, bees or honey, poultry or 
poultry product, sheep or wool product, either in its natural 
state or as a processed commodity but does not mean livestock or 
livestock products other than sheep or wool products; 
 

(ii)  "Board" means the state board of agriculture; 
 

(iii)  "Director" means the director of the department 
of agriculture or his duly authorized representative; 
 

(iv)  "Control committee" means the appointed officers 
charged with administering a marketing order; 
 

(v)  "Handler" means any person engaged in the 
operation of packing, grading, selling, offering for sale or 
marketing any marketable agricultural commodity or who as owner, 



agent or otherwise ships or causes an agricultural commodity to 
be shipped; 
 

(vi)  "Marketing order" means an order issued pursuant 
to this act; 
 

(vii)  "Processor" means any person engaged in the 
operation of receiving, grading, packing, canning, extracting, 
preserving, grinding, crushing or changing the form of an 
agricultural commodity for the purpose of marketing the 
commodity; 
 

(viii)  "Producer" means any person engaged in the 
business of producing or causing to be produced for marketing, 
any agricultural commodity; 
 

(ix)  "This act" means W.S. 11-35-101 through 
11-35-116. 
 

11-35-103.  Marketing orders; authority to issue. 
 
Subject to the provisions of this act, the board of agriculture 
may issue marketing orders within this state pertaining to the 
production, processing, distributing, pricing or handling of 
agricultural commodities. 
 

11-35-104.  Marketing orders; notice and hearing; marketing 
agreement regulating preparation of commodities. 
 

(a)  Whenever there is reason to believe that the issuance 
of a marketing order will tend to effectuate the purpose of this 
act with respect to any agricultural commodity and upon 
application of any producer or handler of such commodity, notice 
shall be given for a public hearing upon a proposed marketing 
order. 
 

(b)  Due notice of any hearing called shall be given to all 
persons who may be directly affected by any action pursuant to 
this act. The hearing shall be open to the public. All testimony 
shall be received under oath and a complete record of all 
proceedings at any hearing shall be made and filed by the 
director at his office. 
 

(c)  In order to effectuate the declared purpose of this 
act, the board may, after due notice and opportunity for 
hearing, enter into a marketing agreement with processors, 
distributors and others engaged in the handling of the 



agricultural commodity, regulating the preparation, sale and 
handling of the agricultural commodity which is binding upon the 
signatories exclusively. 
 

11-35-105.  Marketing orders; when issued; contents; 
economic factors to be considered. 
 

(a)  After notice and hearing, the board shall issue a 
marketing order if it finds and states in the marketing order 
that the order will tend to: 
 

(i)  Reestablish or maintain prices received by 
producers for the agricultural commodity at a level which will 
give to the commodity power, with respect to the articles and 
services which farmers commonly buy, equivalent to the 
purchasing power of such commodity, provided that in 
establishing prices the board shall as nearly as possible apply 
the methods and procedures presently prescribed by the United 
States department of agriculture in making similar 
determinations; 
 

(ii)  Approach such equality of purchasing power at as 
rapid a rate as is feasible in view of the demand for the 
commodity; 
 

(iii)  Prevent the unreasonable or unnecessary waste 
of agricultural wealth because of improper preparation of the 
agricultural commodity for market, lack of uniform grading and 
inspection, or excessive shipments to markets; 
 

(iv)  Protect the interest of consumers of the 
commodity. 
 

(b)  In making the findings set forth in this section, the 
board shall take into consideration all facts available with 
respect to the following economic factors: 
 

(i)  The quantity of the agricultural commodity 
available for distribution; 
 

(ii)  The quantity of the agricultural commodity 
normally required for distribution; 
 

(iii)  The cost of producing the agricultural 
commodity as determined by available statistics and surveys; 
 

(iv)  The purchasing power of consumers; 



 
(v)  The level of prices of commodities, services and 

articles which farmers buy; 
 

(vi)  The level of prices of other commodities which 
compete with or are utilized as substitutes for the agricultural 
commodity. 
 

11-35-106.  Marketing orders; establishment of control 
committee; composition, appointment and term; reimbursement for 
expenses; employees; duties. 
 

(a)  Any marketing order pursuant to this act shall provide 
for the establishment of a control committee not to exceed seven 
(7) members to administer the order in accordance with its 
terms. Members of the control committee shall be appointed by 
the board from nominations submitted by the authorized industry 
groups and shall hold office until the expiration of term or 
until the appointment is withdrawn by the board for cause. If 
the marketing order affects directly only producers of a 
particular commodity, members of the control committee shall be 
producers. If the marketing order affects directly only handlers 
of a particular commodity, members of the control committee 
shall be handlers. If the marketing order affects directly both 
producers and handlers of a particular commodity, the control 
committee shall be composed of both producers and handlers. The 
number of producers or handlers upon any control committee shall 
be designated in the marketing order. 
 

(b)  No member of any control committee shall receive a 
salary but each is entitled to his actual expenses incurred 
while performing his authorized duties. 
 

(c)  The board, with the approval of the control committee, 
shall employ necessary personnel to carry out the duties 
authorized herein. The duties of the control committee shall be 
administrative only. 
 

(d)  The director shall serve as an ex officio member of 
any control committee in addition to the seven (7) appointed 
members. 
 

11-35-107.  Marketing orders; referendum for approval or 
amendment. 
 
No marketing order or amendment directly affecting producers is 
effective until the board determines the issuance of the order 



is approved and favored by at least two-thirds (2/3) of the 
producers eligible to participate in a referendum on the 
question of its approval, and who during the representative 
period, have produced for market the commodities specified in 
the order or amendment in commercial quantities within the 
production area specified in the marketing order, and who during 
the respective period have produced at least fifty-one percent 
(51%) of the volume of the commodity produced for sale. 
 

11-35-108.  Marketing orders; hearing to terminate. 
 
If the board finds that the termination of any marketing order 
is requested in writing by more than fifty percent (50%) of the 
producers engaged within the designated production area in the 
production for market of the commodity specified in the 
marketing order, and who produce for market more than fifty 
percent (50%) of the volume of the commodity produced within the 
designated production area, the board may call a hearing to 
consider whether or not the order shall be terminated, suspended 
or amended. 
 

11-35-109.  Marketing orders; notice of issuance or 
suspension; when effective. 
 
Upon the issuance of any marketing order or any suspension, 
amendment or termination thereof, a copy of the notice shall be 
published in the official newspaper of general circulation 
published in each county of the state. No order of suspension, 
amendment or termination is effective until thirty (30) days 
after the date of posting and publication. The director shall 
mail a copy of the notice to all persons affected by the terms 
of the order, suspension, amendment or termination who files in 
the office of the director a written request for notice. 
 

11-35-110.  Marketing orders; geographic limitations; total 
class to be included. 
 
Marketing orders may be limited in their application by 
prescribing the marketing areas or portions of the state in 
which a particular order is effective. No marketing order shall 
be issued unless it embraces all persons of a like class in a 
given area who are engaged in a specific and distinctive 
agricultural industry or trade within this state. 
 

11-35-111.  Budget to cover costs; approval; part of 
marketing orders; liability for assessment. 
 



For the purpose of providing funds to defray the necessary 
expenses incurred in the administration of this act, the board 
shall prepare a budget covering the costs, including advertising 
and sales promotion when they are requested in any marketing 
agreement or order. The budget shall be approved by the control 
committee. The budget with the collection of necessary fees, the 
time and conditions of payment and in no case to exceed five 
percent (5%) of the gross dollar volume of sales or dollar 
volume of purchase or amounts handled, shall become a part of 
any marketing order upon adoption. Every person engaged in the 
production, processing, distribution or handling of any 
marketable agricultural product directly affected by any 
marketing order for the commodity shall pay to the board at the 
time and in the manner prescribed by the order as assessment for 
the budget the percentage of the gross dollar volume of sales or 
dollar volume of purchase or amounts handled, or distribution of 
any commodity affected by the marketing order, as necessary to 
defray the expenses of the enforcement of this act, but in no 
case to exceed five percent (5%) of the gross dollar volume. 
 

11-35-112.  Deposit and disbursement of collected monies; 
biennial audit required. 
 
Any monies collected by the board pursuant to this act shall be 
deposited in a bank or other depository approved by the state 
treasurer allocated to each marketing order under which they are 
collected, and disbursed by the director only for necessary 
expenses incurred by the control committee and the board with 
respect to each separate marketing order. Funds collected shall 
be deposited and disbursed in conformity with appropriate rules 
and regulations prescribed by the board, and approved by the 
control committee. All expenditures by the director shall be 
audited at least biennially by the director of the state 
department of audit or his designee, concurrently with the audit 
of the department of agriculture, and a copy of the audit shall 
be delivered within thirty (30) days after completion to the 
governor, the board and the control committee. 
 

11-35-113.  Assessment deemed personal debt; failure to 
pay. 
 
Any assessment levied in a specified amount determined by the 
market order pursuant to W.S. 11-35-111 constitutes a personal 
debt of the person assessed and is due and payable when payment 
is called for. If the person fails to pay any assessment upon 
date due, a complaint may be filed against the person in a court 



of competent jurisdiction for the collection thereof, as 
provided in W.S. 11-35-116. 
 

11-35-114.  Books and records to be kept; information and 
inspection authorized; confidentiality; exceptions. 
 

(a)  All processors or handlers subject to any marketing 
order or agreement issued pursuant to this act shall maintain 
books and records reflecting their operations under the 
marketing order, furnish the control committee or its authorized 
representatives such information as requested relating to 
operations under the marketing order, and permit inspection by 
the control committee or its authorized representatives of such 
portions of the books and records as relate to operations under 
the marketing order. 
 

(b)  Information obtained by any person under this act is 
confidential and shall not be disclosed by him to any other 
person except a person with like right to obtain the 
information, or an attorney employed to give legal advice 
thereupon, or by court order. 
 

11-35-115.  Authority to issue order with terms similar to 
federal order; duplication of personnel; uniformity in 
administration. 
 

(a)  If the board finds that it tends to effectuate the 
declared purpose of this act within the standards prescribed in 
this act, the board may issue a marketing order applicable to 
the marketing of any agricultural commodity containing like 
terms, provisions, methods and procedures as any license or 
order regulating the marketing of such commodity issued by the 
secretary of agriculture of the United States pursuant to the 
provisions of any law or laws of the United States. In selecting 
the members of any control committee or other advisory agency 
under the marketing order, the board shall utilize, insofar as 
practicable, the same persons as those serving in a similar 
capacity under the federal license or order, so as to avoid 
duplicating or conflicting personnel. 
 

(b)  The director may confer with and cooperate with the 
legally constituted authorities of states and of the United 
States to obtain uniformity in the administration of federal and 
state marketing regulations, licenses or orders. The director 
may conduct joint hearings or issue joint or concurrent 
marketing orders for the purpose and standards set forth in this 
act. 



 
11-35-116.  Administration and enforcement; penalty for 

violation; hearing upon complaint; disposition thereof; 
subsequent prosecution; injunctions. 
 

(a)  The board is responsible for the administration and 
enforcement of this act. 
 

(b)  Every person who violates this act or any provisions 
of any marketing order or agreement issued by the board, is 
guilty of a misdemeanor and shall be fined not less than 
twenty-five dollars ($25.00) nor more than one hundred dollars 
($100.00). 
 

(c)  Upon the filing of a verified complaint charging 
violation of any provision of this act or of any marketing order 
or agreement issued by the board, and prior to the institution 
of any court proceeding authorized in this section, the director 
may call a hearing to consider the charges set forth. The 
director may take testimony, administer oaths, subpoena 
witnesses and issue subpoenas for the production of books, 
records or documents of any kind. 
 

(d)  If the director finds that no violation has occurred, 
he shall forthwith dismiss the complaint and notify the parties 
to the complaint. 
 

(e)  If the director finds that a violation has occurred, 
he shall enter his findings and notify the parties to the 
complaint. Should the respondents thereafter fail, neglect or 
refuse to desist from the violation within the time specified by 
the director, the director may file a complaint against the 
respondent with the district attorney for the county in which 
the violation occurred, and the district attorney shall 
prosecute in the name of the state. 
 

(f)  Violations of this act or any provisions of any 
marketing order or agreement duly issued by the board may also 
be enjoined by proceedings brought by the district attorney for 
the proper county, or by the attorney general, regardless of 
whether criminal proceedings have been instituted, if the 
director has entered a finding pursuant to subsection (e) of 
this section that a violation of this act or any provision of 
any marketing order or agreement issued by the board exists. 
 

CHAPTER 36 - DAIRY MARKETING 
 



11-36-101.  Repealed by Laws 2024, ch. 26, § 1. 
 

11-36-102.  Repealed by Laws 2024, ch. 26, § 1. 
 

11-36-103.  Repealed by Laws 2024, ch. 26, § 1. 
 

11-36-104.  Repealed by Laws 2024, ch. 26, § 1. 
 

11-36-105.  Repealed by Laws 2024, ch. 26, § 1. 
 

11-36-106.  Repealed by Laws 2024, ch. 26, § 1. 
 

11-36-107.  Repealed by Laws 2024, ch. 26, § 1. 
 

11-36-108.  Repealed by Laws 2024, ch. 26, § 1. 
 

11-36-109.  Repealed by Laws 2024, ch. 26, § 1. 
 

11-36-110.  Repealed by Laws 2024, ch. 26, § 1. 
 

CHAPTER 37 - BEEF COUNCIL 
 

11-37-101.  Legislative intent. 
 
The legislature intends by this act to provide the cattle 
industry with authority to establish a self-financed program to 
help market, develop, maintain and expand in the state, national 
and foreign markets for beef and beef products produced, 
processed or manufactured in this state, and the use and 
consumption of such beef and beef products. 
 

11-37-102.  Definitions. 
 

(a)  As used in this act: 
 

(i)  "Beef" includes veal; 
 

(ii)  "Beef products" include veal products; 
 

(iii)  "Board" means the Wyoming livestock board; 
 

(iv)  "Council" means the Wyoming beef council; 
 

(v)  Repealed By Laws 2009, Ch. 90, § 3. 
 



(vi)  "Producer" means any person who owns or acquires 
ownership of cattle, provided a person shall not be deemed a 
producer if: 
 

(A)  The person's only share in the proceeds of a 
sale of cattle or beef is a sales commission, handling fee or 
other service fee; or 
 

(B)  The person: 
 

(I)  Acquired ownership of cattle to 
facilitate the transfer of ownership of the cattle from the 
seller to a third party; 
 

(II)  Resold the cattle no later than ten 
(10) days from the date on which the person acquired ownership; 
and 
 

(III)  Certified, as required by the 
council, that the requirements of this subdivision have been 
satisfied. 
 

(vii)  "This act" means W.S. 11-37-101 through 
11-37-110. 
 

11-37-103.  Establishment; composition; appointment; term; 
removal; vacancies; reimbursement for expenses. 
 

(a)  There is created the Wyoming beef council.  For 
administrative purposes the council shall be within the 
department of agriculture.  The council shall be composed of 
five (5) producers appointed by the governor. The director of 
the department of agriculture or his designated representative 
shall serve ex officio without vote. With advice of the council, 
the governor may designate one (1) or more additional 
representatives of the beef industry to serve ex officio without 
vote.  The appointed council members shall consist of three (3) 
producers of range cattle, one (1) cattle feeder and one (1) 
dairyman. The governor may remove any member he appoints as 
provided in W.S. 9-1-202. 
 

(b)  Upon the expiration of the term of an appointed 
member, a successor shall be appointed by the governor for a 
term of three (3) years. If a vacancy occurs, the governor shall 
appoint a person for the unexpired term. 
 



(c)  The governor shall declare the office of any appointed 
member of the council vacant when he finds that: 
 

(i)  The member is no longer a producer; 
 

(ii)  The member is unable to perform his duties; or 
 

(iii)  The member has become a resident of another 
state. 
 

(d)  Members of the council shall serve without 
compensation but shall receive mileage and per diem as provided 
by law for state employees. 
 

11-37-104.  Powers and duties; employment of manager; 
duties of manager. 
 

(a)  The council shall: 
 

(i)  Receive and disburse funds under the provisions 
of this act to be used in administering the provisions of this 
act; 
 

(ii)  Annually elect a chairman from among its 
members. No chairman shall succeed himself more than once; 
 

(iii)  Appoint a secretary-treasurer who may be from 
among its members; 
 

(iv)  Meet regularly every four (4) months and at such 
other times as called by the chairman or when requested by three 
(3) or more members of the council; 
 

(v)  Keep a permanent record of its proceedings and 
report to the governor respecting its activities as required by 
W.S. 9-2-1014; 
 

(vi)  Establish and maintain promotion, information, 
education and research programs to market, develop, maintain and 
expand state, national and foreign markets for beef and beef 
products produced, processed or manufactured in Wyoming. 
 

(b)  The council may: 
 

(i)  Conduct or contract for scientific research to 
discover and develop improved marketing methods for beef and 



beef products, including programs of consumer education and 
protection; 
 

(ii)  Disseminate reliable information, founded upon 
research, showing uses or probable uses of beef and beef 
products; 
 

(iii)  Study state and federal legislation with 
respect to tariffs, duties, reciprocal trade agreements, import 
quotas and other matters concerning the beef industry; 
 

(iv)  Sue and be sued as a council, without individual 
liability, for acts of the council within the scope of the 
powers and duties conferred upon it by this act; 
 

(v)  Enter into contracts to carry out the purpose of 
the council as provided in this act, including contracts for 
promotion of beef and beef products and development of new 
markets through such promotion; 
 

(vi)  Appoint advisory groups composed of 
representatives from organizations, institutions or business 
related to or interested in the welfare of the beef industry; 
 

(vii)  Make grants to research agencies for financing 
special or emergency studies, or for purchase or acquisition of 
facilities necessary to carry out the purposes of the council; 
 

(viii)  Employ and remove for cause employees to 
assist in the discharge of the duties authorized by this act; 
 

(ix)  Cooperate with any local, state or nationwide 
organization or agency engaged in work or activities similar to 
or related to those of the council, and enter into contracts 
with such organizations or agencies for carrying on joint 
programs; 
 

(x)  Act jointly and in cooperation with the state or 
federal government, or both, or any agency thereof in the 
administration of any program of the government or of a 
governmental agency deemed by the council as beneficial to the 
beef industry of this state and expend funds in connection 
therewith; 
 

(xi)  Adopt rules and regulations necessary to carry 
out the provisions of this act; 
 



(xii)  Adopt, rescind, modify or amend all proper 
regulations, orders and resolutions for the exercise of its 
powers and duties. 
 

11-37-105.  Authority to accept grants. 
 
The council may accept grants, donations, contributions or gifts 
from any source for expenditures for any purpose consistent with 
the powers and duties conferred on the council. 
 

11-37-106.  Contributions allowed. 
 
From the funds it receives, the council may pay or contribute to 
organizations such as, but not limited to, the national 
livestock and meat board, to carry out work and programs 
approved by the council. 
 

11-37-107.  Creation of account; collection of additional 
brand inspection fee; disposition of proceeds. 
 

(a)  All monies received by the council shall be deposited 
in the state treasury.  The state treasurer shall deposit the 
monies to the credit of the beef council account. Interest 
earned on monies in the account shall be deposited to the credit 
of the account. All monies in the account including earned 
interest shall be expended only for the purposes authorized by 
this act. 
 

(b)  In addition to the brand inspection fee provided in 
W.S. 11-20-401 the board shall collect an additional amount not 
to exceed  one dollar ($1.00) per head on cattle and calves 
under the same authority and at the same time, place and manner 
as brand inspections are made excluding cattle and calves being 
inspected when no change in ownership is involved. Fees 
collected by the board shall be deposited with the state 
treasurer to the credit of the account created by subsection (a) 
of this section. Monies received by the council under this 
subsection shall be used to administer this act. 
 

(c)  The council shall at the end of each month reimburse 
the livestock board for collection and administrative costs 
incurred by the board in collecting the fee under subsection (b) 
of this section. The amount reimbursed shall equal three percent 
(3%) of the fees collected during the month and shall be 
deposited with the state treasurer to the credit of the board's 
inspection account created by subsection (a) of this section. 
 



11-37-108.  Failure to pay or remit monies due or 
collected; penalty. 
 
Any person who fails to pay or remit any monies, due or 
collected, as provided in this act, is guilty of a misdemeanor 
and upon conviction may be fined not to exceed seven hundred 
fifty dollars ($750.00). 
 

11-37-109.  Repealed by Laws 1989, ch. 112, § 2. 
 

11-37-110.  Surety bond required to receive or disburse 
funds. 
 
Any person authorized by the council to receive or disburse 
funds, as provided by this act, shall post with the council a 
surety bond in an amount the council determines sufficient, for 
which the cost or premium shall be paid by the council. 
 

CHAPTER 38 - WHEAT MARKETING COMMISSION 
 

11-38-101.  Definitions. 
 

(a)  As used in this act: 
 

(i)  "Board" means the state board of agriculture; 
 

(ii)  "Director" means the director of the department 
of agriculture for the state of Wyoming or his designated 
representative; 
 

(iii)  "Department" means the Wyoming department of 
agriculture; 
 

(iv)  Repealed By Laws 2009, Ch. 90, § 3. 
 

(v)  "Grower" means anyone engaged in growing, or 
causing to be grown, wheat, on ten (10) acres or more in Wyoming 
including the owner and tenant jointly, a person, a partnership, 
association, corporation, cooperative, trust, sharecropper and 
any and all other business units, devices and arrangements; 
 

(vi)  "Handler" means any person engaged in the 
operation of buying, selling, shipping or distributing wheat 
grown in Wyoming which he has purchased or acquired from a 
grower or which he is shipping in behalf of a grower, whether 
the handler is located within or without Wyoming; 
 



(vii)  "Sell or sold" means a transaction wherein the 
title to wheat is transferred from the grower to the purchaser 
for a consideration, and includes any pledge or mortgage of 
wheat to any person or any agreement to acquire such property 
for a consideration; 
 

(viii)  "Ship" means to sell, transport, offer for 
transportation or ship wheat by any means whatsoever; 
 

(ix)  "Variety" means a type of wheat having similar 
characteristics, as, for example: Cheyenne, Marquis, Defiance, 
etc.; 
 

(x)  "Wheat" means and includes all varieties of wheat 
grown in Wyoming; 
 

(xi)  "Wheat marketing commission" means the control 
committee established pursuant to W.S. 11-38-102; 
 

(xii)  "This act" means W.S. 11-38-101 through 
11-38-110. 
 

11-38-102.  Establishment; composition; appointment; 
removal; officers; consultation permitted; area distribution of 
nominations. 
 

(a)  The wheat marketing commission is established 
consisting of five (5) members appointed by the governor from 
nominations made by the Wyoming wheat growers association or any 
other duly organized and incorporated state organization within 
the state of Wyoming having a commodity division working with 
wheat. The director of the department of agriculture or his 
designated representative shall serve ex officio. The governor 
may remove any member he appoints as provided in W.S. 9-1-202. 
 

(b)  The commission shall elect a chairman and vice 
chairman from its appointed members and appoint an 
administrator. The commission may call upon other interested 
organizations for consultation. 
 

(c)  All appointed members shall derive substantial income 
from the growing of wheat. Geographic representation of 
membership on the commission shall be provided for based on 
historical wheat production records. Each nomination shall 
include a resume of the nominee's qualifications for serving on 
the commission. 
 



11-38-103.  Terms of office. 
 

(a)  The terms of office for the initial wheat commission 
members shall be three (3) terms of one (1) year each, two (2) 
terms of two (2) years each and two (2) terms of three (3) years 
each. Subsequent appointments will be for terms of three (3) 
years. 
 

(b)  To reduce the commission from seven (7) members to 
five (5) members, the commission shall be reduced by the two (2) 
positions that are vacant as of March 15, 2007. 
 

11-38-104.  Powers and duties. 
 

(a)  The commission shall: 
 

(i)  Receive and disburse funds under the provisions 
of this act to be used in administering the provisions of this 
act; 
 

(ii)  Annually elect a chairman from among its members 
and no chairman shall succeed himself more than once; 
 

(iii)  Elect a vice chairman from among its members; 
 

(iv)  Repealed By Laws 1999, ch. 173, § 2. 
 

(v)  Meet every four (4) months and at such other 
times as called by the chairman or when requested by three (3) 
or more members of the commission; 
 

(vi)  Keep a permanent record of its proceedings and 
prepare for the governor an annual report of its activities, 
receipts and expenditures. 
 

(b)  The commission may: 
 

(i)  Conduct or contract for scientific research to 
discover and develop improved marketing methods for wheat and 
wheat products, including programs of consumer education and 
protection; 
 

(ii)  Disseminate reliable information, founded upon 
research, showing uses and probable uses of wheat and wheat 
products; 
 



(iii)  Study state and federal legislation with 
respect to tariffs, duties, reciprocal trade agreements, import 
quotas and other matters concerning the wheat industry; 
 

(iv)  Sue and be sued as a commission, without 
individual liability, for the acts of the commission within the 
scope of the powers and duties conferred upon it by this act; 
 

(v)  Enter into contracts to carry out the purpose of 
this act, including contracts for promotion of wheat and wheat 
products and development of new markets through such promotion; 
 

(vi)  Appoint advisory groups composed of 
representatives from organizations, institutions or businesses 
related to or interested in the welfare of the wheat industry; 
 

(vii)  Make grants to research agencies for financing 
special or emergency studies, or for purchase or acquisition of 
facilities necessary to carry out the purposes of the 
commission; 
 

(viii)  Appoint subordinate officers and employees of 
the commission and prescribe their duties and fix their 
compensation; 
 

(ix)  Cooperate with any local, state or national 
organization or agency engaged in work or activities similar to 
or related to those of the commission, and enter into contracts 
with such organizations or agencies for carrying out joint 
programs; 
 

(x)  Act jointly and in cooperation with the state or 
federal government, or any agency thereof in the administration 
of any program of the government or of a governmental agency 
deemed by the commission as beneficial to the wheat industry of 
this state and expend funds in connection therewith; 
 

(xi)  Adopt rules and regulations necessary to carry 
out the provisions of this act under procedures set forth in the 
Wyoming Administrative Procedure Act [§§ 16-3-101 through 
16-3-115]. 
 

11-38-105.  Authority to accept grants. 
 
The commission may accept grants, donations, contributions or 
gifts from any source for expenditure for any purpose consistent 
with the powers and duties conferred on the commission. 



 
11-38-106.  Contributions allowed. 

 
From the funds it receives, the commission may pay or contribute 
to organizations such as, but not limited to, the national wheat 
board, to carry out work and programs approved by the 
commission. 
 

11-38-107.  Administration of programs. 
 
The director shall administer any marketing, utilization or 
promotion program in such manner as to best effectuate the 
purpose hereof, with the advice of the commission and board. 
 

11-38-108.  Assessments generally; refund of contributions; 
penalty for failure to pay or remit monies due or collected. 
 

(a)  The rate of assessment may be adjusted from time to 
time by the wheat marketing commission in order to cover any 
later findings by the wheat marketing commission of the 
estimated expenses or actual expenses that may be incurred in 
connection with any research, marketing, utilization and 
promotion program. The assessment shall not exceed two and one-
half cents ($.025) per bushel. 
 

(b)  All assessments made and levied pursuant to the 
provisions of this act shall be paid by the respective grower 
who is primarily liable therefor. An assessment shall be 
collected from the grower by the first handler thereof, 
warehouse, or elevator operator, and the handler shall remit to 
the director all assessments so collected not later than the 
fifteenth day of the month next succeeding the quarter in which 
the wheat is sold or contracted in commercial channels. Any 
handler within or without the state of Wyoming who fails or 
neglects to collect an assessment from any grower and to remit 
the collection to the director is guilty of a violation of this 
act. 
 

(c)  In case of a pledge or mortgage of wheat as security 
for a loan made from a governmental agency the assessment shall 
be deducted from the proceeds of the loan at the time of the 
disbursement of the loan. In case of an overage of wheat at the 
time of settlement of the loan, the assessment shall be paid on 
the overage. In case of a shortage at the time of settlement of 
the loan, the over payment will be credited to the grower's 
account. In case of purchase agreements under the federal price 
support program, the assessment shall be made at the time of 



final settlement. Wheat stored in private or public storage 
within the state shall not be liable for assessment until sale 
is made or loan secured. 
 

(d)  Any grower who by virtue of his activities or 
circumstances is within the meaning of the term "handler" as 
herein defined, or who shall sell, ship or otherwise dispose of 
wheat to a handler or other person or store wheat outside the 
jurisdiction of this act, shall forthwith remit to the director 
the full amount of the assessment due.  Wheat originating from 
any state that collects a similar levy upon wheat, but bases 
assessment upon the location of the first sale taking place 
within its jurisdiction shall be treated as if the wheat were 
grown within the state of Wyoming, being first handled by a 
Wyoming handler.  At the first commission meeting following July 
1 of each year, the commission shall determine which states 
collect a similar levy and shall then notify all domestic 
handlers of those states. 
 

(e)  A person who has paid any monies as provided in this 
act is entitled to a prompt refund of the contribution from the 
commission. A claim for refund shall be made to the commission 
not less than thirty (30) nor more than ninety (90) days from 
the date of sale, on a form prescribed and furnished by the 
commission. The claim refund form shall be duly acknowledged by 
the person submitting the claim. 
 

(f)  The commission, before processing and making refund, 
may require any additional information or affirmation under 
penalty of perjury it deems necessary to determine the validity 
of the claim for refund. 
 

(g)  Any person who fails to pay or remit any monies due or 
collected as provided in this act is guilty of a misdemeanor. 
Failure to so remit on each sale for which such monies are 
payable constitutes a separate offense and is not affected by 
any refund either pending at the time of the offense or made at 
a later date. Upon conviction any person guilty of such 
misdemeanor shall be subject to a fine of not more than fifty 
dollars ($50.00). 
 

11-38-109.  Deposit and disbursement of collected monies; 
surety bond required. 
 

(a)  Monies collected pursuant to this act shall be 
deposited with the state treasurer's office and disbursed in 
accordance with the act. 



 
(b)  Any person authorized by the commission to receive or 

disburse funds, shall post with the commission a surety bond in 
the amount the commission determines sufficient, for which the 
cost or premium shall be paid by the commission. 
 

11-38-110.  Research programs to improve marketing or 
utilization; contents; budget of expenses. 
 
Whenever the wheat commission deems it advisable to implement a 
research, promotion or market program for the improvement of the 
marketing or utilization of wheat in both foreign and domestic 
trade, the plan may include, but shall not be limited to, the 
opening of new markets for wheat; developing new ideas and uses 
for wheat both at home and abroad; exploring the possibility of 
developing new agricultural and industrial uses for wheat; and 
engaging in sales promotion and education programs. The wheat 
commission shall prepare and submit therewith a proposed program 
to the board of agriculture together with a budget. 
 

CHAPTER 39 - LIVESTOCK FEEDLOT OPERATIONS 
 

11-39-101.  Definitions. 
 

(a)  As used in this act: 
 

(i)  "City" means any incorporated municipality 
including a town; 
 

(ii)  "Department" means the department of 
environmental quality and includes any officer or agency within 
that department; 
 

(iii)  "Established date of operation" means the date 
on which a feedlot commenced operating with not more livestock 
than reasonably could be maintained by the physical facilities 
existing as of that date. If the physical facilities of the 
feedlot are subsequently expanded, the established date of 
operation for each expansion is deemed to be a separate and 
independent "established date of operation" established as of 
the date of commencement of the expanded operations, and the 
commencement of expanded operations shall not divest the feedlot 
of a previously established date of operation; 
 

(iv)  "Established date of ownership" means the date 
of the recording of an appropriate muniment of title 
establishing the ownership of realty; 



 
(v)  "Feedlot" means a lot, yard, corral or other area 

in which livestock are confined, primarily for the purposes of 
feeding and growth prior to slaughter. The term does not include 
areas which are used for the raising of crops or other 
vegetation and upon which livestock are allowed to graze or 
feed; 
 

(vi)  "Livestock" means cattle, sheep, swine, poultry 
and other animals or fowl which are being produced primarily for 
use as food or food products for human consumption; 
 

(vii)  "Materially affects" means prohibits or 
regulates with respect to the location or the emission of noise, 
effluent, odors, sewage, waste or similar products resulting 
from the operation or the location or use of buildings, 
machinery, vehicles, equipment or other real or personal 
property used in the operation of a livestock feedlot; 
 

(viii)  "Nuisance" means and includes public or 
private nuisance as defined either by statute or by the common 
law; 
 

(ix)  "Nuisance action or proceeding" means and 
includes every action, claim or proceeding, whether brought at 
law, in equity, or as an administrative proceeding, which is 
based on nuisance; 
 

(x)  "Owner" means the person holding record title to 
real estate, including both legal and equitable interests under 
recorded real estate contracts; 
 

(xi)  "Rule of the department" means a rule adopted by 
the department and as defined in W.S. 35-11-112(a)(i); 
 

(xii)  "Zoning requirement" means a regulation or 
ordinance which has been adopted by a city, county or any 
special purpose district or authority, and which materially 
affects the operation of a feedlot. Nothing in this act shall be 
deemed to empower any agency described in this subsection to 
make any regulation or ordinance; 
 

(xiii)  "This act" means W.S. 11-39-101 through 
11-39-104. 
 

11-39-102.  When defense to nuisance action available. 
 



In any nuisance action or proceeding against a feedlot brought 
by or on behalf of a person whose date of ownership of realty is 
subsequent to the established date of operation of that feedlot, 
proof of compliance with W.S. 11-39-103 is an absolute defense, 
if the conditions or circumstances alleged to constitute a 
nuisance are subject to regulatory jurisdiction by political 
subdivisions or related to the activities of the department of 
environmental quality. 
 

11-39-103.  Compliance with rules; applicability thereof; 
compliance schedule; exception. 
 

(a)  A person who operates a feedlot shall comply with 
applicable rules of the department in accordance with the 
provisions of this section. A person complies with this section 
as a matter of law where no rule of the department exists. 
 

(b)  A rule of the department in effect on June 1, 1977 
applies to a feedlot with an established date of operation prior 
to June 1, 1977. 
 

(c)  A rule of the department applies to a feedlot with an 
established date of operation subsequent to the effective date 
of the rule. 
 

(d)  A rule of the department adopted after June 1, 1977 
does not apply to a feedlot holding any department of 
environmental quality permit and having an established date of 
operation prior to the effective date of the rule until either 
the expiration of the term of the permit in effect on the 
effective date of the rule, or twenty (20) years from the 
established date of operation of the feedlot, whichever time 
period is greater. 
 

(e)  A rule of the department adopted after June 1, 1977 
does not apply to a feedlot not previously required to hold a 
department of environmental quality permit and having an 
established date of operation prior to the effective date of the 
rule for either a period of twenty (20) years from the 
established date of operation of the feedlot or five (5) years 
from the effective date of the rule, whichever time period is 
greater. 
 

(f)  To achieve compliance with applicable rules the 
department shall issue an appropriate compliance schedule, and 
no other provision in this act shall be deemed to empower the 
department to make any rule. 



 
(g)  This section does not apply to limit rules required 

for delegation of the national pollutant discharge elimination 
system permit program pursuant to the Federal Water Pollution 
Control Act [Clean Water Act], title 33, United States Code, 
chapter 26, as amended, and 40 Code of Federal Regulations, part 
124. 
 

11-39-104.  Compliance with zoning requirements mandatory; 
applicability thereof. 
 

(a)  A person who operates a feedlot shall comply with 
applicable zoning requirements in accordance with the provisions 
of this section. A person complies with this section as a matter 
of law where no zoning requirement exists. 
 

(b)  A zoning requirement applies to a feedlot with an 
established date of operation subsequent to the effective date 
of the zoning requirement. 
 

(c)  A zoning requirement which is in effect on June 1, 
1977 applies to a feedlot with an established date of operation 
prior to June 1, 1977. 
 

(d)  A zoning requirement other than one adopted by a city 
does not apply to a feedlot with an established date of 
operation prior to the effective date of the zoning requirement 
for a period of twenty (20) years from the effective date of 
that zoning requirement. 
 

(e)  A feedlot located within an incorporated area subject 
to regulation by that city on June 1, 1977 is subject to zoning 
requirements adopted by the city regardless of the established 
date of operation of the feedlot. 
 

(f)  A zoning requirement adopted by a city does not apply 
to a feedlot which becomes located within an area subject to 
regulation by that city by virtue of an incorporation or 
annexation which takes effect after June 1, 1977 for a period of 
twenty (20) years from the effective date of the incorporation 
or annexation. 
 

CHAPTER 40 - MARKETING OF WYOMING LEAN BEEF 
 

11-40-101.  Definitions. 
 

(a)  As used in this chapter: 



 
(i)  "Committee" means the Wyoming lean beef committee 

created by W.S. 11-40-102; 
 

(ii)  "Geographically exclusive license" means a 
license which gives the licensee the sole right to market 
Wyoming lean beef at retail, or at wholesale for resale at 
retail, within the geographic market specified by the committee. 
 

11-40-102.  Creation of committee; composition; 
administrative support; compensation; officers; conflict of 
interest. 
 

(a)  There is created the Wyoming lean beef committee. The 
initial membership of the committee shall consist of eleven (11) 
members of whom five (5) shall be members of the faculty of the 
University of Wyoming, one (1) shall be a person with 
professional training and experience related to human health and 
diet, designated by the president of the University of Wyoming, 
five (5) shall be appointed by the governor of whom three (3) 
shall be producers of beef cattle, one (1) shall be a person 
with training and experience in finance, one (1) shall be a 
person with training and experience in marketing and one (1) 
shall be the director of the department of agriculture or his 
designee serving ex officio.  The members appointed by the 
governor shall serve three (3) year terms.  The members 
designated by the president of the university shall serve at his 
pleasure. 
 

(b)  Administrative support for the committee shall be 
provided by and budgeted for by the University of Wyoming and 
thereafter it shall be the responsibility of the department of 
agriculture. 
 

(c)  State employees serving on the committee shall receive 
their normal compensation from their agency. Other members of 
the committee shall receive no compensation until the calendar 
year commencing after the calendar year in which the state first 
receives one thousand dollars ($1,000.00) in royalty for the use 
of the Wyoming lean beef trademark at which time they shall 
begin receiving mileage and per diem at the same rate as state 
legislators. 
 

(d)  Every person or organization who pays royalty for more 
than five hundred (500) head of cattle for the use of the 
Wyoming lean beef trademark or trade name shall be entitled to 
designate one (1) nonvoting member of the Wyoming lean beef 



committee.  This right shall be extended for the balance of the 
year in which necessary royalty is first paid and for the year 
following any year in which the necessary royalty is paid.  
Committee members designated under this subsection shall receive 
no compensation from the state for their services. 
 

(e)  The committee shall annually select from among its 
members a chairman and other officers deemed necessary. 
 

(f)  If any member of the committee has applied for or 
received a license to market Wyoming lean beef or has a 
financial interest in any organization which has applied for or 
received a license to market Wyoming lean beef he shall disclose 
that interest at this first appropriate time during an open 
meeting of the committee and shall not vote on the issuance of 
that license, on the issuance of any license for a 
geographically exclusive area for which he or his organization 
is also seeking a geographically exclusive license, or any other 
matter uniquely affecting his license. 
 

11-40-103.  Powers and duties of the committee. 
 

(a)  The committee shall: 
 

(i)  Promulgate regulations establishing quality 
standards as provided by W.S. 11-40-104 and modify these 
standards from time to time as necessary; 
 

(ii)  Establish regulations and procedures for 
licensing persons to use the trademark or trade name "Wyoming 
lean beef"; 
 

(iii)  Enforce the quality standards for Wyoming lean 
beef; 
 

(iv)  As soon as possible register in the name of the 
state of Wyoming a trademark or trade name using the words 
"Wyoming lean beef" with the United States government and with 
any state where such registration appears prudent; 
 

(v)  Take any actions necessary to collect the 
royalties due the state of Wyoming for the use of the "Wyoming 
lean beef" trademark or trade name; and 
 

(vi)  Register labels to be used on Wyoming lean beef 
with appropriate agencies of the United States government and 
any state or foreign country. 



 
(b)  The committee may: 

 
(i)  Make recommendations to the University of Wyoming 

for further research concerning Wyoming lean beef; 
 

(ii)  Conduct and coordinate advertising and promotion 
campaigns as provided by W.S. 11-40-107; 
 

(iii)  Take any action necessary to prevent 
infringement of the trademark or trade name by others; 
 

(iv)  Authorize the use of public claims that 
adherence to the quality standards for Wyoming lean beef is 
certified to by the state of Wyoming and authorize the use of 
symbols associated with the state of Wyoming including the great 
seal of the state of Wyoming in connection with the claims; 
 

(v)  Receive and disburse funds for advertising, 
promotion and product development as provided by this chapter 
and accept voluntary contributions and grants for these 
purposes; 
 

(vi)  Contract with other state agencies, agencies of 
the United States government and private parties to carry out 
the purposes of this chapter; and 
 

(vii)  Sue and be sued as a committee without 
individual liability for acts relating to the powers and duties 
of the committee. 
 

11-40-104.  Standards for Wyoming lean beef. 
 

(a)  The committee shall establish quality standards for 
Wyoming lean beef in accordance with the following: 
 

(i)  Cattle qualifying shall graze the summer before 
slaughter in Wyoming. The committee may increase the proportion 
of time the cattle must live in Wyoming, specifying that 
particular portions of their lives must be spent in Wyoming and 
may impose altitude requirements and geographic restrictions in 
whole or in part on any time spent outside Wyoming.  The 
committee shall not impose any altitude requirement on cattle 
within Wyoming. For the purposes of these standards, cattle 
shall be deemed to be living within Wyoming even though the 
pasture where the cattle are grazing is outside Wyoming if those 
cattle: 



 
(A)  Have free access to land within Wyoming; or 

 
(B)  Are in a pasture located not more than 

twenty-five (25) miles from the Wyoming border and the owner of 
the cattle is a Wyoming resident who physically resides within 
Wyoming and has his principal place of business in Wyoming. 
 

(ii)  Cattle qualifying shall be primarily grass fed 
cattle; 
 

(iii)  Cattle shall not be held in close confinement 
except for short periods in connection with operations necessary 
in the management of the cattle, including but not limited to 
calving, branding, vaccinating, weaning, transportation and 
slaughter; 
 

(iv)  Cattle qualifying shall have a hot carcass 
weight of at least four hundred (400) pounds.  The committee may 
set a lighter minimum weight; 
 

(v)  Cattle qualifying shall have an untrimmed fat 
depth over the rib eye muscle at the twelfth (12th) rib of less 
than or equal to three tenths (0.3) of one inch.  The committee 
may decrease the amount of fat permitted under this standard and 
may establish additional standards for fat.  Except for ground 
beef, the committee shall not establish any fat standard that 
would permit more than three tenths (0.3) of one inch of 
untrimmed fat over the rib eye muscle of the twelfth (12th) rib; 
 

(vi)  Carcasses shall be electrically stimulated 
within one (1) hour after stunning.  The committee may permit 
other treatments with similar effect in lieu of electrical 
stimulation and may eliminate this requirement if it no longer 
appears necessary to ensure adequate consumer acceptance; 
 

(vii)  Cattle shall not exceed thirty-two (32) months 
in age.  The committee may vary this standard or prescribe in 
its place a maturity level that is to be judged from the 
characteristics of the carcass. The committee may also establish 
a minimum age; 
 

(viii)  Cattle shall not be given any growth promoting 
hormone; 
 

(ix)  Cattle shall not be given subtherapeutic levels 
of any antibiotic. This standard shall not be construed as 



prohibiting the use of therapeutic levels of any antibiotic for 
therapeutic purposes. 
 

(b)  For ground beef the committee shall establish separate 
standards which shall: 
 

(i)  Provide for a fat content of twenty percent (20%) 
or less.  The committee may establish a lower fat content 
standard; 
 

(ii)  Include the same standards as are established 
pursuant to paragraphs (a)(i) through (iii), (viii) and (ix) of 
this section, but need not be consistent with the standards 
established pursuant to the balance of subsection (a) of this 
section; 
 

(iii)  Provide any other standards that may be 
necessary for ground beef. 
 

(c)  The committee may establish any additional quality 
standard which may be useful in: 
 

(i)  Improving the quality of the product; 
 

(ii)  Gaining consumer acceptance of the product; 
 

(iii)  Assisting in the enforcement of the remaining 
standards; and 
 

(iv)  Promoting human health and welfare through 
improvements in Wyoming lean beef. 
 

11-40-105.  Licensing; use of trademark; royalty. 
 

(a)  The committee may license any person to market Wyoming 
lean beef and use the label, trademark or trade name "Wyoming 
lean beef" who: 
 

(i)  Pays an annual licensing fee of one hundred 
dollars ($100.00); 
 

(ii)  Pays an additional annual licensing fee of one 
thousand dollars ($1,000.00) for each state or fraction thereof 
for which the licensee has obtained a geographically exclusive 
license; 
 



(iii)  Agrees to pay the royalty required by 
subsection (h) of this section; 
 

(iv)  Agrees to pay any additional royalty that may be 
established to support advertising and promotion programs; 
 

(v)  Agrees to abide by the standards established for 
Wyoming lean beef and to market no beef as Wyoming lean beef 
that fails to meet the standards; 
 

(vi)  Agrees to abide by applicable state and federal 
standards relating to public health and the slaughtering and 
preparation of meat for sale; 
 

(vii)  Agrees to abide by any other terms of the 
license the committee deems appropriate provided that the 
committee may make no term for the purpose of creating a 
monopoly in the marketing of Wyoming lean beef. 
 

(b)  The committee may give geographically exclusive 
licenses for markets outside Wyoming provided that the market 
shall not exceed the area the licensee can reasonably be 
expected to serve within a reasonable period of time and may be 
revoked in whole or in part for failure of the licensee to 
adequately supply the market with Wyoming lean beef.  The 
committee may set specific volume of sales targets for the 
license to meet in order to retain a geographically exclusive 
license.  If more than one (1) person applies for a 
geographically exclusive license for the same area the committee 
may divide the area or choose between the persons based on the 
criteria set forth in subsection (d) of this section. 
 

(c)  The issuance of a geographically exclusive license for 
a particular geographic area shall not prohibit other licensees 
from selling Wyoming lean beef directly to residents of the 
geographic area if the sales are for consumption and not for 
resale and are made within Wyoming or in response to mail or 
telephone solicitation originating within Wyoming or in response 
to an advertisement in a publication of national circulation. No 
geographically exclusive license shall include any of the state 
of Wyoming.  No geographically exclusive license shall include 
more than twenty (20) of the states of the United States until 
the licensee has actually served the market within the states 
for which he is licensed. 
 



(d)  The committee may reject, restrict, accept, or accept 
in part an application for a license to market Wyoming lean 
beef, or may choose between competing applicants based upon: 
 

(i)  The financial strength of the applicant; 
 

(ii)  The marketing expertise of the applicant and his 
specific marketing plans; 
 

(iii)  The access of the applicant to a supply of 
Wyoming lean beef; 
 

(iv)  The prior experience of the applicant in 
relevant businesses; and 
 

(v)  Any other standards or criteria the committee 
deems appropriate. 
 

(e)  The committee may deny, revoke, suspend or limit the 
license of anyone who: 
 

(i)  Fails to abide by the provisions of subsection 
(a) of this section or any terms of the license; 
 

(ii)  Is convicted of violating the public health laws 
of the United States or any state; 
 

(iii)  Is convicted or has been convicted of any 
felony; 
 

(iv)  Willfully or unintentionally but repeatedly 
markets beef as Wyoming lean beef which does not meet the 
quality standards for Wyoming lean beef. 
 

(f)  Any retailer who is selling Wyoming lean beef 
furnished by any person licensed to sell Wyoming lean beef may 
use the "Wyoming lean beef" trademark or trade name in 
connection with any advertising or promotion of that beef. The 
committee may forbid licensees to furnish any Wyoming lean beef 
to any retailer who labels any other beef as Wyoming lean beef. 
 

(g)  The committee may seek through legal action monetary 
damages from any person labeling or selling as Wyoming lean beef 
any beef which does not meet the quality standards for Wyoming 
lean beef. Damages recovered may be used to reimburse the state 
for any expenses it may have incurred in connection with the 



case and may be used for advertising and promotion to overcome 
any damage to the public image of Wyoming lean beef. 
 

(h)  The committee shall annually set the royalty to be 
paid by licensees which shall be not less than fifty cents 
($.50) per head and not more than five dollars ($5.00) per head 
and shall be designed to defray the expenses of the committee, 
the expenses of the inspection and enforcement program and give 
the state of Wyoming a return of eight percent (8%) per annum on 
the monies appropriated for the marketing of Wyoming lean beef 
by Chapter 199, Wyoming Session Laws 1985 and by any other 
legislative appropriation and spent by the University of Wyoming 
on the 1985 San Francisco simulated market test. The royalties 
shall be deposited in the general fund of the state except that 
fifty percent (50%) of any royalties in excess of the amount 
budgeted for the expenses of the committee, the inspection and 
enforcement program and repayment to the state shall be 
deposited in the University of Wyoming fund to the credit of the 
agricultural experiment station account. 
 

11-40-106.  Enforcement of standards. 
 

(a)  The committee may promulgate rules or regulations 
necessary in the management of a program to enforce the 
standards for Wyoming lean beef. 
 

(b)  The committee may require licenses to conduct any 
inspections of ranching or slaughter operations necessary to 
insure compliance with Wyoming lean beef standards.  The 
committee may require that this inspection program complies with 
any requirements imposed by the federal government to insure 
that the quality standards are met or that claims made on any 
label for, or advertising concerning, Wyoming lean beef are 
valid.  Nothing in this subsection shall prevent the committee 
from having necessary inspections performed by employees of the 
department of agriculture or committee members or other 
appropriate persons. 
 

11-40-107.  Cooperative advertising and promotion. 
 

(a)  The committee may provide for the collection of 
additional royalties on the sale of Wyoming lean beef to pay for 
advertising and promotion programs.  Such royalties may be 
levied on all Wyoming lean beef sold to pay for national 
advertising and promotion programs or only on Wyoming lean beef 
sold in particular markets or through particular channels of 
distribution to pay for advertising aimed at those markets, or 



both. If the volume of sales on which royalty is paid in a 
market in the previous year is fifty thousand dollars 
($50,000.00) or more, the additional royalties may be imposed on 
that market only with the consent of the persons paying 
two-thirds (2/3) of the royalties paid in that previous year.  
The committee shall define as necessary the markets and may 
classify sales as being in more than one (1) market.  Any other 
assessment method may be used in whole or in part with the 
consent of all persons liable for the assessment. The royalties 
or assessment shall be deposited in a separate account and shall 
be expended for advertising, promotion, product development and 
the expenses connected therewith in the market for which the 
royalty or assessment is collected.  The committee may authorize 
the expenditure of funds in the account or may delegate that 
authority to the subcommittees provided by subsection (b) of 
this section. 
 

(b)  To administer the advertising and promotion campaigns, 
the committee shall appoint a subcommittee for each market for 
which funds are separately collected.  The subcommittee shall 
consist of at least one (1) voting member of the committee and 
any nonvoting members of the committee representing persons who 
pay additional royalties or assessments for that market and who 
shall be entitled to vote within the subcommittee.  The full 
committee may give the subcommittee guidelines and directions it 
shall follow and may choose to reserve to itself the right to 
veto all subcommittee actions or particular classes of 
subcommittee actions.  When considering actions or information 
the knowledge of which could give competitors a commercial 
advantage, the subcommittee may hold executive sessions. 
 

11-40-108.  Wyoming supreme beef. 
 

(a)  The committee may register in the name of the state of 
Wyoming a trademark or trade name for "Wyoming supreme beef", 
"Wyoming premium beef" or some similar name containing the name 
of the state of "Wyoming". This trademark or trade name for beef 
shall be used to designate a product which may be produced with 
some period in a conventional feed lot.  For this brand of beef 
the committee may: 
 

(i)  Establish standards as necessary which shall be 
the same as the standards established for Wyoming lean beef 
pursuant to W.S. 11-40-104(a)(i), (viii) and (ix), but need not 
be consistent with other standards established for Wyoming lean 
beef; 
 



(ii)  Provide for a program for inspection and 
enforcement of the standards; 
 

(iii)  Provide for licensing of persons to market the 
beef in the same  manner as licensing is provided for Wyoming 
lean beef; 
 

(iv)  Provide for royalty collection, enforcement of 
license terms, protection of trademark and trade name from 
infringement and cooperative advertising in the same manner as 
provided for Wyoming lean beef. 
 

11-40-109.  Termination of existence of committee. 
 

(a)  Repealed By Laws 2010, Ch. 69, § 204. 
 

(b)  If the sales volume falls below one million dollars 
($1,000,000.00) for three (3) successive years, the existence of 
the committee shall terminate on July 1 of the fourth year. 
 

CHAPTER 41 - AGRICULTURE MEDIATION SERVICE 
 

11-41-101.  Short title. 
 
This chapter is known and may be cited as the "Agriculture 
Mediation Service Act of 1987". 
 

11-41-102.  Definitions. 
 

(a)  As used in this chapter: 
 

(i)  "Action" means a court action by a creditor 
against a farmer for payment of a debt, to enforce or foreclose 
a security interest, lien or mortgage, or to repossess or 
declare a creditor's interest in real property.  "Action" also 
includes any matter filed in a court of law or before an agency 
by a party to resolve a dispute; 
 

(ii)  "Agricultural property" means real property that 
is used principally for farming or ranching, real property that 
is a farmer's principal residence and any land contiguous to the 
residence, personal property that is used as security to finance 
farming or personal property that is used for farming; 
 

(iii)  "Board" means the agriculture and natural 
resource mediation board; 
 



(iv)  "Creditor" means any person who holds a mortgage 
on or is a vendor of a land contract for agricultural property, 
who has a lien on or security interest in agricultural property  
or who is a judgment creditor with a judgment against a farmer 
affecting the farmer's agricultural property; 
 

(v)  "Farmer or rancher" means a person engaged in 
farming or ranching who owns or leases a total of sixty (60) 
acres or more of land that is agricultural property and whose 
gross sales of farm products for the preceding year equaled 
twenty thousand dollars ($20,000.00) or more; 
 

(vi)  "Farming or ranching" means the employment and 
operation of real property for the production of agricultural 
products, including but not limited to: 
 

(A)  Raising, harvesting and selling crops, hay 
and other products of the soil; 
 

(B)  Feeding, breeding, management and sale of 
livestock, poultry, fur bearing animals or honeybees, or the 
produce thereof; or 
 

(C)  Dairying and the sale of dairy products. 
 

(vii)  "Mediation" means the act of a neutral person 
in intermediating between or among contending parties with a 
view to assisting them to adjust or settle their dispute by 
mutual agreement; 
 

(viii)  "Parties" means the primary decision makers 
engaged in the mediation process; 
 

(ix)  "Standing" means a person that is given the 
authority to enter into a mediation process by the board. 
 

11-41-103.  Agriculture mediation board created; 
membership. 
 

(a)  There is created in the governor's office the 
agriculture mediation board which consists of six (6) members, 
five (5) of whom shall be appointed by the governor with the 
advice and consent of the senate in accordance with W.S. 
28-12-101 through 28-12-103.  The director of the department of 
agriculture or his designee shall be a member of the board.  The 
board shall elect a chairman from its members. 
 



(b)  Each appointed member shall serve a four (4) year 
term.  If a vacancy occurs on the board, the governor with the 
advice and consent of the senate shall appoint a person to serve 
the unexpired term.  Initial appointments or any vacancy 
occurring between sessions of the legislature may be filled by 
the governor in accordance with W.S. 28-12-101(b). 
 

(c)  Each appointed member of the board shall serve without 
compensation. 
 

11-41-104.  Powers and duties of the board. 
 

(a)  The board shall: 
 

(i)  Prepare all forms necessary for the 
administration of this chapter and shall ensure that forms are 
disseminated and that the availability of mediation under this 
chapter is publicized; 
 

(ii)  Promulgate rules and regulations necessary to 
implement this chapter.  The rules may define owners and 
creditors of agriculturally related businesses and permit owners 
and creditors of such businesses to participate in mediation 
subject to the same terms and conditions applicable to farmers 
and creditors under this chapter. The rules may also define, for 
purposes of this chapter, persons who have standing to seek 
mediation, proper procedures for initiating and conducting 
mediation processes and issues and subjects to which mediation 
may be made which shall include wetlands determination, 
compliance with farm programs, agricultural credit, rural water 
loan programs, grazing on public lands or other issues and 
subjects which the board considers appropriate. 
 

(b)  The board may employ and remove for cause 
administrative, technical and other personnel.  The board may 
provide training programs for prospective mediators and obtain 
technical information when needed. 
 

11-41-105.  Selection of mediators; duties; compensation; 
immunity. 
 

(a)  The board shall select mediators and shall establish 
training standards for mediators which shall include training in 
mediation processes and conflict resolution. 
 

(b)  Mediators shall: 
 



(i)  Listen to the parties desiring to be heard; 
 

(ii)  Endeavor to create a climate conducive to the 
resolution of differences between the parties; 
 

(iii)  Inform the parties as to the existence of 
available assistance programs; 
 

(iv)  Repealed by Laws 1988, ch. 48, § 2. 
 

(v)  Assist the parties in attempting to arrive at an 
agreement; 
 

(vi)  Assist in the preparation of a written 
agreement. 
 

(c)  Mediators shall be compensated in an amount approved 
by the board. The parties in the mediation process shall share 
the costs of the mediation equally.  The board may establish a 
fee schedule to recover, to the extent possible, the board's 
administrative costs from the parties upon the execution of a 
mediation agreement. 
 

(d)  Mediators, and University of Wyoming financial 
analysts and extension personnel to the extent they participate 
in mediations under this chapter, are immune from civil 
liability for any good faith act or omission within the scope of 
the performance of their powers and duties under this chapter. 
 

(e)  After receiving a mediation request involving an 
agricultural debt, the board may refer the borrower to the 
University of Wyoming college of agriculture through the 
extension service or other financial analysts skilled in 
assisting with farm debt matters.  The financial analyst shall 
assist the borrower in the preparation of information relative 
to the finances of the borrower for the initial mediation 
meeting. 
 

(f)  Mediators may not compel a settlement. 
 

11-41-106.  Confidentiality of records. 
 

(a)  Upon acceptance and initiation of a mediation 
procedure, all documents and discussions, recorded or otherwise, 
shall be confidential and are not public records under W.S. 16-
4-201 through 16-4-205. 
 



(b)  All data regarding the finances of individual 
borrowers and creditors which is created, collected and 
maintained by agricultural mediators and which are not already 
matters of public record are confidential and are not public 
records under W.S. 16-4-201 through 16-4-205. 
 

11-41-107.  Suspension of court or agency action to allow 
for voluntary mediation. 
 

(a)  During the pendency of any action brought by parties 
to the mediation process, the court, or agency if filed before 
an agency, may, upon the written stipulation of all parties to 
the action that they wish to engage in mediation under this 
chapter, enter an order suspending the action. 
 

(b)  A suspension order under subsection (a) of this 
section suspends all orders and proceedings in the action for 
the time period specified in the suspension order.  In 
specifying the time period, the court or agency shall exercise 
its discretion for the purpose of permitting the parties to 
engage in mediation without prejudice to the rights of any 
person.  The suspension order may include other terms and 
conditions as the court or agency may deem appropriate.  The 
suspension order may be revoked upon motion of any party or upon 
motion of the court or agency. 
 

(c)  If all parties to the action agree, by written 
stipulation, that all issues before the court or agency are 
resolved by mediation under this chapter, the court or agency 
shall dismiss the action.  If the parties do not agree that the 
issues are resolved or if the court or agency revokes the 
suspension order under subsection (b) of this section, the 
action shall proceed as if no mediation had been attempted. 
 

11-41-108.  Mediation process. 
 

(a)  Any conflict between two (2) parties which involves 
agriculture or natural resources may be subject to mediation.  
This may include, but not be limited to, conflicts between 
federal, state and local agencies, individuals and 
organizations.  No creditor shall institute an action as defined 
in this chapter without first notifying the borrower of the 
availability of mediation services under W.S. 11-41-101 through 
11-41-110. 
 

(b)  A farmer or creditor wishing to resolve a dispute 
between them involving the farmer's agricultural property and 



the creditor's interest in a mortgage, land contract, lien, 
security interest or judgment affecting the agricultural 
property, either before an action has been initiated to which 
they are parties or after entry of a suspension order in an 
action to which they are parties under W.S. 11-41-107, may 
participate in mediation in accordance with this chapter. 
 

(c)  To participate in mediation, the parties shall submit 
a request for mediation, together with an agreement to mediate, 
to the board on forms prepared by the board. 
 

(d)  If no action has been initiated to which the farmer 
and creditor are parties, the board shall identify the parties 
to any mediation under this chapter and shall require all 
parties to enter into an agreement to refrain from initiating 
any action among the parties affecting the subject matter of the 
mediation for a sixty (60) day period. 
 

(e)  After the board has obtained the agreement or 
agreements under subsections (c) and (d) of this section, the 
board shall provide the parties with the names, mailing 
addresses and qualifications of mediators located in the 
geographical area in which the agricultural property or farmer 
is located.  The parties shall select a mediator or, upon 
request of the parties, the board shall designate a mediator for 
the parties. 
 

11-41-109.  Effect of mediation. 
 
The parties may at any time withdraw from mediation. The parties 
have full responsibility for reaching and enforcing any 
agreement among them.  After the expiration of the sixty (60) 
day period under W.S. 11-41-108(d) or the time period specified 
in the suspension order under W.S. 11-41-107, the mediation 
process shall terminate unless extended by unanimous mutual 
assent of the parties. 
 

11-41-110.  Effect on other creditors; no delay. 
 
With respect to mediation between parties before an action has 
been initiated to which they are parties, no agreement to 
mediate, or the fact that mediation is currently occurring, 
shall have the effect of delaying, postponing or extending any 
time limits in any legal proceeding commenced to enforce a 
mortgage, land contract, lien, security interest or judgment 
commenced by a creditor other than the creditor or creditors 
participating in the mediation. 



 
CHAPTER 42 - AGRICULTURAL GRAIN MARKETING 

 
11-42-101.  Repealed By Laws 1997, ch. 55, § 1. 

 
11-42-102.  Repealed By Laws 1998, ch. 34, § 2. 

 
CHAPTER 43 - COMMODITY CERTIFICATION PROGRAM 

 
11-43-101.  Commodity certification programs; rules and 

regulations; fee collection. 
 

(a)  Upon request of a producer or processor, the director 
of the department of agriculture may develop standards of 
certification for any commodities produced or processed in 
Wyoming whether raw or value-added in order to promote special 
attributes of a particular commodity.  The use of certification 
standards by any producer or processor will be on a voluntary 
basis. Development of standards shall be done in compliance with 
the Wyoming Administrative Procedure Act.  Standards of 
certification shall be in harmony with and not supersede 
existing laws and regulations.  Fees, not exceeding the cost of 
administering the program, may be collected from participating 
producers and processors on an annual basis and shall be 
deposited in the general fund. 
 

(b)  The director may suspend or revoke a certification 
granted under this act [§§ 11-43-101 and 11-43-102] if the 
recipient of the certification fails to meet all of the 
requirements adopted by rules and regulations. 
 

11-43-102.  Unauthorized use of certification prohibited; 
penalty. 
 
The use of any labeling, advertising or promotional material 
which falsely claims that a commodity or any product is 
certified or approved by the Wyoming department of agriculture 
is prohibited.  Any person who violates this section is guilty 
of a misdemeanor. 
 

CHAPTER 44 - FARM AND RANCH OPERATIONS 
 

11-44-101.  Short title. 
 
This chapter is known and may be cited as the "Wyoming Right to 
Farm and Ranch Act". 
 



11-44-102.  Definitions. 
 

(a)  As used in this act: 
 

(i)  "Farm and ranch" means the land, buildings, 
livestock and machinery used in the commercial production and 
sale of farm and ranch products; 
 

(ii)  "Farm or ranch operation" means the science and 
art of production of plants and animals useful to man except 
those listed under W.S. 23-1-101, including, but not limited to, 
the preparation of these products for man's use and their 
disposal by marketing or otherwise, and includes horticulture, 
floriculture, viticulture, silviculture, dairy, livestock, 
poultry, bee and any and all forms of farm and ranch products 
and farm and ranch production; 
 

(iii)  "This act" means W.S. 11-44-101 through 
11-44-104. 
 

11-44-103.  Farm or ranch operations not considered a 
nuisance; conditions. 
 

(a)  Notwithstanding any other provision of law, a farm or 
ranch operation shall not be found to be a public or private 
nuisance by reason of that operation if that farm or ranch 
operation: 
 

(i)  Conforms to generally accepted agricultural 
management practices; and 
 

(ii)  Existed before a change in the land use adjacent 
to the farm or ranch land and the farm or ranch operation would 
not have been a nuisance before the change in land use or 
occupancy occurred. 
 

11-44-104.  Right to farm. 
 

(a)  To protect agriculture as a vital part of the economy 
of Wyoming, the rights of farmers and ranchers to engage in farm 
or ranch operations shall be forever guaranteed in this state. 
 

(b)  Nothing in this section shall be construed to modify 
any provision of common law or statutes relating to trespass, 
eminent domain, existing or previously enacted laws or rules or 
any other property rights. 
 



(c)  As used in this section "farm and ranch operations" 
includes any farm or ranch practice recognized as generally 
accepted under the provisions of W.S. 11-44-103 and any 
agricultural or livestock management practice recognized as 
generally accepted under the provisions of W.S. 11-29-115. 
 

CHAPTER 45 - WYOMING MAIN STREET PROGRAM 
 

ARTICLE 1 - GENERAL PROVISIONS 
 

11-45-101.  Amended and Renumbered as 9-12-1101 By Laws 
2007, Ch. 101, § 2. 
 

11-45-102.  Renumbered as 9-12-1102 By Laws 2007, Ch. 101, 
§ 3. 
 

11-45-103.  Amended and Renumbered as 9-12-1103 By Laws 
2007, Ch. 101, § 2. 
 

11-45-104.  Amended and Renumbered as 9-12-1104 By Laws 
2007, Ch. 101, § 2. 
 

11-45-105.  Repealed By Laws 2007, Ch. 101, § 4. 
 

CHAPTER 46 - PEST CONTROL COMPACT 
 

11-46-101.  Repealed By Laws 2014, Ch. 16, § 1. 
 

11-46-102.  Repealed By Laws 2014, Ch. 16, § 1. 
 

11-46-103.  Repealed By Laws 2014, Ch. 16, § 1. 
 

11-46-104.  Repealed By Laws 2014, Ch. 16, § 1. 
 

11-46-105.  Repealed By Laws 2014, Ch. 16, § 1. 
 

11-46-106.  Repealed By Laws 2014, Ch. 16, § 1. 
 

11-46-107.  Repealed By Laws 2014, Ch. 16, § 1. 
 

CHAPTER 47 - COMMONSENSE CONSUMPTION ACT 
 

11-47-101.  Short title. 
 
This chapter is known and may be cited as the "Wyoming 
Commonsense Consumption Act". 
 



11-47-102.  Definitions. 
 

(a)  As used in this act: 
 

(i)  "Livestock" means as defined in W.S. 
11-39-101(a)(vi); 
 

(ii)  "Agricultural producer" means any producer of 
livestock, crops for food or fiber, dairy products and any other 
product for human consumption from an agricultural operation; 
 

(iii)  "Long term consumption" means the cumulative 
effect of the consumption of any qualified product and not the 
effect of a single instance of consumption; 
 

(iv)  "Qualified product" means any food or drink as 
defined in section 201(f) of the Federal Food Drug and Cosmetic 
Act (21 U.S.C. § 321(f)), and specifically includes meat and 
meat products from livestock, food, fiber, dairy products and 
any other product for human consumption from an agricultural 
operation; 
 

(v)  "Seller" means any person or entity lawfully 
engaged in the business of marketing, distributing, advertising 
or selling a qualified product; 
 

(vi)  "Trade association" means any association or 
business organization that is not operated for profit, if two 
(2) or more members are manufacturers, marketers, distributors, 
agricultural producers, advertisers or sellers of a qualified 
product; 
 

(vii)  "This act" means W.S. 11-47-101 through 
11-47-103. 
 

11-47-103.  Limitation on liability for long term 
consumption. 
 

(a)  No manufacturer, seller, trade association, 
agricultural producer, wholesaler, broker or retailer of a 
qualified product is subject to civil liability for injury or 
death in any case in which liability is based on the 
individual's weight gain, obesity or a health condition related 
to weight gain or obesity, and the weight gain, obesity or 
health condition results from the individual's long term 
consumption of a qualified product. 
 



(b)  Subsection (a) of this section shall not preclude 
civil liability if: 
 

(i)  The claim of injury or death is based on a 
material violation of a composition, branding or labeling 
standard prescribed by state or federal law; and 
 

(A)  The claimed injury or death was actually and 
proximately caused by that violation; and 
 

(B)  The violation was committed with intent to 
deceive or injure consumers or with actual knowledge that the 
violation was injurious to consumers. 
 

CHAPTER 48 - FERAL LIVESTOCK 
 

11-48-101.  Definitions. 
 

(a)  As used in this chapter: 
 

(i)  "Board" means the Wyoming livestock board; 
 

(ii)  "Director" means the director of the Wyoming 
livestock board; 
 

(iii)  "Feral" means a domestic animal that is not 
under the control of nor cared for by a person and which has 
returned to a wild or semi-wild state.  A feral animal may or 
may not be owned by a person; 
 

(iv)  Repealed By Laws 2011, Ch. 21, § 2. 
 

(v)  "Disposal" means as defined in W.S. 
11-24-101(a)(iv); 
 

(vi)  "Livestock" means as defined in W.S. 
23-1-102(a)(xvi). 
 

11-48-102.  Disposition of feral livestock; penalty. 
 

(a)  Before any livestock can be declared feral, a 
reasonable attempt shall be made by the director or the state 
veterinarian to locate and identify the owner of the livestock 
and to notify the owner to take possession of the livestock. If 
the owner repeatedly refuses to take possession of the 
livestock, he shall be subject to the provisions of subsection 
(g) of this section. 



 
(b)  If the state veterinarian or the director are unable 

to identify and notify the owner of the livestock or the owner 
refused to take possession for the livestock within five (5) 
days after receiving notice, the livestock may be declared to be 
feral livestock. 
 

(c)  If the director or the state veterinarian determines 
that any feral livestock are damaging private or public 
property, including grass, cultivated crops or stored crops, or 
determines the feral livestock is on private or public property 
where the feral livestock are not authorized to be and that 
capturing the feral livestock is not feasible or is cost 
prohibitive, the director or the state veterinarian may order 
the disposal of the feral livestock. 
 

(d)  If the state veterinarian determines or suspects any 
feral livestock are likely to be infected with or able to spread 
any infectious or contagious disease, the state veterinarian may 
order the destruction of the feral livestock. 
 

(e)  There shall be no right for any future indemnity or 
payment to the owner for the disposition of any feral livestock 
disposed of in accordance with this section.  Should the owner 
of any feral livestock disposed of in accordance with this 
section be subsequently identified, the board may seek 
reimbursement from the owner for all costs associated with the 
disposal and removal of the feral livestock. 
 

(f)  The Wyoming livestock board shall promulgate rules 
necessary for the administration of this section. 
 

(g)  The owner of feral livestock shall be: 
 

(i)  Responsible for all damages caused by the feral 
livestock; and 
 

(ii)  Responsible for the costs of gathering, feeding, 
veterinary services, transportation and other incidental 
expenses relating to the feral livestock incurred by the Wyoming 
livestock board. 
 

(h)  Any person failing to comply with this section shall 
be punished as provided in W.S. 11-1-103. 
 

CHAPTER 49 - MARKETING HOMEMADE FOODS 
 



11-49-101.  Short title. 
 
This act is known and may be cited as the "Wyoming Food Freedom 
Act." 
 

11-49-102.  Definitions. 
 

(a)  As used in this act: 
 

(i)  "Delivery" means the transfer of a product 
resulting from a transaction between a producer and an informed 
end consumer.  The delivery may occur by the producer's 
designated agent at a farm, ranch, farmers market, home, office 
or any location agreed to between the producer and the informed 
end consumer; 
 

(ii)  "Farmers market" means as defined in W.S. 
35-7-110(a)(xxviii); 
 

(iii)  "Home consumption" means consumed within a 
private home, or food from a private home that is only consumed 
by family members, employees or nonpaying guests; 
 

(iv)  "Homemade" means food that is prepared or 
processed in a private home kitchen, that is not licensed, 
inspected or regulated; 
 

(v)  "Informed end consumer" means a person who is the 
last person to purchase any product, who does not resell the 
product and who has been informed that the product is not 
licensed, regulated or inspected; 
 

(vi)  "Producer" means any person who grows, harvests, 
prepares or processes any  food or drink products on the 
person's owned or leased property, does not produce more than 
two hundred fifty thousand (250,000) individual food or drink 
products annually and does not exceed two hundred fifty thousand 
dollars ($250,000.00) in gross revenue annually from the food 
and drink products; 
 

(vii)  "Transaction" means the exchange of buying and 
selling; 
 

(viii)  "Process" means operations a producer performs 
in the making or treatment of the producer's food or drink 
products; 
 



(ix)  "Animal share" means an ownership interest in an 
animal or herd of animals created by a written contract between 
an informed end consumer and a farmer or rancher that includes a 
bill of sale to the consumer for an ownership interest in the 
animal or herd and a boarding provision under which the consumer 
boards the animal or herd with the farmer or rancher for care 
and processing and the consumer is entitled to receive a share 
of meat from the animal or herd; 
 

(x)  "Non-potentially hazardous food" means food that 
does not require time or temperature control for safety 
including limiting pathogenic microorganism growth or toxin 
formation. "Non-potentially hazardous food" includes, but is not 
limited to, jams, uncut fruits and vegetables, pickled 
vegetables, hard candies, fudge, nut mixes, granola, dry soup 
mixes excluding meat based soup mixes, coffee beans, popcorn and 
baked goods that do not include dairy or meat frosting or 
filling or other potentially hazardous frosting or filling; 
 

(xi)  "Potentially hazardous food" means food that 
requires time or temperature control for safety including 
limiting pathogenic microorganism growth or toxin formation. 
"Potentially hazardous food" includes, but is not limited to, 
foods requiring refrigeration, dairy products, quiches, pizzas, 
frozen doughs, meat and cooked vegetables and beans; 
 

(xii)  "Designated agent" means a person or 
consignment model market or food freedom store designated by the 
producer to facilitate producer to consumer transactions 
including marketing, transport, storage and delivery of food or 
drink products. A designated agent shall be named in writing by 
the producer and shall not take ownership of any food or drink 
product; 
 

(xiii)  "Custom slaughter facility" means a slaughter 
facility that does not have a state or federal inspector on duty 
and where any meat produced from the facility is not considered 
to be state or federally inspected meat products; 
 

(xiv)  "This act" means W.S. 11-49-101 through 11-49-
104.   
 

11-49-103.  Wyoming Food Freedom Act; purpose; exemptions; 
assumption of risk. 
 

(a)  The purpose of the Wyoming Food Freedom Act is to 
allow for a producer's production and sale of homemade food or 



drink products for an informed end consumer and to encourage the 
expansion of agricultural sales at farmers markets, ranches, 
farms and producers' homes by: 
 

(i)  Facilitating the purchase and consumption of 
fresh and local agricultural products; 
 

(ii)  Enhancing the agricultural economy; 
 

(iii)  Providing Wyoming citizens with unimpeded 
access to healthy food from known sources. 
 

(b)  Unless otherwise provided in this section, homemade 
food products produced, sold and consumed in compliance with the 
Wyoming Food Freedom Act shall be exempt from state licensure, 
permitting, inspection, packaging and labeling requirements. 
 

(c)  Transactions under this act shall: 
 

(i)  Be directly between the producer and the informed 
end consumer, except as otherwise provided by this act. A 
producer may utilize a designated agent to facilitate a 
transaction. The seller of eggs, dairy products or a homemade 
food product consisting of non-potentially hazardous food may be 
the producer of the item, a designated agent of the producer or 
a third party vendor including a retail shop or grocery store as 
long as the sale is made in compliance with this act. The seller 
of a homemade food item consisting of potentially hazardous 
food, except eggs and dairy products, shall be the producer of 
the item or a designated agent of the producer; 
 

(ii)  Repealed by Laws 2020, ch. 69, § 2. 
 

(iii)  Occur only in Wyoming; 
 

(iv)  Not involve interstate commerce; 
 

(v)  Not involve the sale of meat products, with the 
following exceptions: 
 

(A)  The sale of poultry and poultry products 
provided: 
 

(I)  The producer slaughters not more than 
one thousand (1,000) poultry of his own raising during any one 
(1) calendar year; 
 



(II)  The producer does not engage in buying 
or selling poultry products other than those produced from 
poultry of his own raising; and 
 

(III)  The poultry product is not 
adulterated or misbranded. 
 

(B)  The sale of live animals; 
 

(C)  The sale of portions of live animals before 
slaughter for future delivery; 
 

(D)  The sale of domestic rabbit meat; 
 

(E)  The sale of farm raised fish provided: 
 

(I)  The fish is raised in accordance with 
title 23 of the Wyoming statutes; and 
 

(II)  The fish is not catfish. 
 

(F)  The sale of meat pursuant to an animal share 
under W.S. 11-49-104; 
 

(G)  The sale of meat products under subsection 
(n) of this section, subject to subsection (o) of this section. 
 

(vi)  Only occur at farmers markets, farms, ranches, 
producer's homes or offices, the retail location of the third 
party seller of non-potentially hazardous foods, eggs and dairy 
products or any location the producer and the informed end 
consumer agree to. 
 

(d)  Except for raw, unprocessed fruits and vegetables, 
food shall not be sold or used in any commercial food 
establishment unless the food has been labeled, licensed, 
packaged, regulated or inspected as required by law. Homemade or 
uninspected food shall not be served or utilized as an 
ingredient in a commercial food establishment. Nothing in this 
section shall prohibit the sale of homemade food from a retail 
space located at the ranch, farm or home where the food is 
produced or at the retail location of a third party seller for 
non-potentially hazardous food, eggs and dairy products. A 
retail space selling homemade food under this section shall 
inform the end consumer that the homemade food has not been 
inspected and shall display a sign indicating that the homemade 
food has not been inspected. If a retail space selling 



potentially hazardous food, except eggs and dairy products, is 
in any way associated with a commercial food establishment or 
offers for sale any inspected product, the retail space selling 
potentially hazardous homemade food shall comply with rules 
adopted by the department of agriculture which shall require: 
 

(i)  That the retail space be physically separated 
from the commercial food establishment with a separate door and 
separate cash register or point of sale; 
 

(ii)  That each separate space shall include signs or 
other markings clearly indicating which spaces are offering 
inspected items for sale and which spaces are uninspected; 
 

(iii)  Separation of coolers, freezers and warehouse 
or other storage areas to prohibit the intermingling of 
inspected and uninspected products; 
 

(iv)  Any other requirements specified by the 
department of agriculture to ensure the sale of homemade foods 
is made to an informed end consumer. 
 

(e)  The producer shall inform the end consumer that any 
food product or food sold at a farmers market or through ranch, 
farm or home based sales pursuant to this act is not certified, 
labeled, licensed, packaged, regulated or inspected. A third 
party seller offering non-potentially hazardous food, eggs or 
dairy products for sale pursuant to this act shall inform the 
end consumer that the homemade food is not certified, labeled, 
licensed, packaged, regulated or inspected. 
 

(f)  Repealed by Laws 2017, ch. 111, § 2. 
 

(g)  Nothing in this act shall be construed to impede the 
Wyoming department of health in any investigation of food borne 
illness. 
 

(h)  Nothing in this act shall be construed to change the 
requirements for brand inspection or animal health inspections. 
 

(j)  Nothing in this act shall preclude an agency from 
providing assistance, consultation or inspection, at the request 
of the producer. 
 

(k)  In addition to the requirements of this section, for 
sales of non-potentially hazardous food and dairy products at a 
retail location or grocery store the food shall not be displayed 



or offered for sale on the same shelf or display as food 
produced in a licensed establishment and shall be clearly and 
prominently labeled with "this food was made in a home kitchen, 
is not regulated or inspected and may contain allergens". 
 

(m)  In addition to the transactions permitted under this 
act, homemade food producers may sell homemade food and drink 
products, eggs or dairy products to the maximum extent permitted 
by federal law. The department of agriculture shall not 
promulgate any standard for food and health inspection that is 
applicable to this act that is more stringent than a standard 
established by the United States department of agriculture and 
nothing in this article shall be construed to be more 
restrictive than applicable federal requirements. 
 

(n)  Except as prohibited by federal law and subject to 
subsection (o) of this section, a producer may sell meat 
products from cattle, sheep, swine or goats raised by the 
producer that were slaughtered on the premises of the producer 
or at a custom slaughter facility, if all of the following 
conditions are met: 
 

(i)  The meat products are produced from animals that 
are raised, slaughtered, processed and sold in Wyoming; 
 

(ii)  The meat products are sold directly to an 
informed end consumer in Wyoming, whether for consumption on or 
off the premises of the producer; 
 

(iii)  A prominent written warning statement is 
delivered to the informed end consumer at the time of sale, or 
the warning is displayed on a label affixed to the meat product 
packaging. The warning required by this paragraph shall state: 
 

(A)  The meat product has not been inspected and 
is not regulated; 
 

(B)  An informed end consumer who obtains meat 
products under this act agrees not to sell, donate or 
commercially redistribute the meat; 
 

(C)  Information describing the standards used by 
the producer with respect to animal health and in the processing 
of meat from the animal. 
 

(iv)  The producer shall not publish any statement 
associated with the meat that implies or states the Wyoming 



department of agriculture's approval or endorsement of meat 
delivered under this subsection. 
 

(o)  Subsection (n) of this section shall be effective on 
the date that the governor, on advice of the attorney general, 
certifies to the secretary of state that the sale of meat 
products from cattle, sheep, swine or goats raised by the 
producer that were slaughtered on the premises of the producer 
or at a custom slaughter facility is legalized under federal 
law. Legalization under federal law shall constitute either the 
passage of a federal law that allows direct-to-consumer sales of 
uninspected meat products or the issuance of a final decision by 
a federal court with jurisdiction over this state that declares 
that the federal prohibition on direct-to-consumer sales is 
unconstitutional or otherwise invalid. Sales of meat products 
under subsection (n) of this section shall be allowed upon the 
governor's certification to the secretary of state that sales of 
uninspected meat products have been legalized under federal law. 
 

11-49-104.  Animal shares. 
 

(a)  The acquisition of meat from animals by an informed 
end consumer shall not constitute the sale of meat products in 
contravention of this act and shall not be prohibited if all of 
the following conditions are met: 
 

(i)  The meat is delivered pursuant to an animal share 
and is: 
 

(A)  Received from the farm or ranch where an 
animal or herd subject to the animal share is located; 
 

(B)  Received by or on behalf of an owner of an 
animal share; 
 

(C)  Obtained from the particular animal or herd 
subject to the animal share. 
 

(ii)  Ownership of each animal is established prior to 
slaughter and the slaughter is conducted pursuant to W.S. 11-23-
102(a), if applicable; 
 

(iii)  A prominent warning statement that the meat has 
not been inspected is delivered to the informed end consumer 
with the meat or is displayed on a label affixed to the meat 
packaging; 
 



(iv)  Information describing the standards used by the 
farm or ranch with respect to herd health, and in the processing 
of meat from the herd, is provided to the informed end consumer 
by the farmer or rancher. 
 

(b)  No person who obtains meat in accordance with this 
section shall sell, donate or commercially redistribute the 
meat. 
 

(c)  No farmer or rancher shall publish any statement that 
implies the department of agriculture's approval or endorsement 
of meat delivered pursuant to an animal share. 
 

CHAPTER 50 - BEAN RESEARCH 
 

11-50-101.  Definitions. 
 

(a)  As used in this act: 
 

(i)  "Commission" means the bean commission 
established under W.S. 11-50-102; 
 

(ii)  "Department" means the state department of 
agriculture; 
 

(iii)  "Director" means the director of the state 
department of agriculture or his designee; 
 

(iv)  "Dry edible beans" includes all market classes 
and varieties of dry edible beans produced in Wyoming including 
beans intended for use as seed; 
 

(v)  "Grower" means any person engaged in growing, or 
causing to be grown, dry edible beans on one (1) acre or more in 
Wyoming. "Grower" may include an owner and tenant jointly or a 
partnership, association, corporation, cooperative, trust, 
sharecropper or any other business unit, device or arrangement; 
 

(vi)  "Handler" means any person, no matter where the 
person is located, who is engaged in the operation of buying, 
selling, shipping or distributing dry beans grown in Wyoming 
which he has purchased or acquired from a grower or which he is 
shipping on behalf of a grower; 
 

(vii)  "This act" means W.S. 11-50-101 through 
11-50-108. 
 



11-50-102.  Dry bean commission established; composition; 
appointment; term; removal; vacancies; reimbursement for 
expenses. 
 

(a)  There is created the Wyoming bean commission.  For 
administrative purposes the commission shall be within the 
department of agriculture.  The commission shall be composed of 
six (6) members initially appointed by the governor. The 
director or his designated representative shall serve ex officio 
without vote. The appointed commission members shall consist of 
four (4) growers residing in Wyoming with at least one (1) of 
the members residing in Laramie, Platte or Goshen County, 
Wyoming. Two (2) members shall be handlers with dry bean 
processing facilities located in Wyoming. The governor may 
remove any member he appoints as provided in W.S. 9-1-202. 
 

(b)  The terms of office for the initial appointments to 
the commission shall be two (2) terms of four (4) years and two 
(2) terms of two (2) years for the grower members. The initial 
terms of office for the handler members shall be one (1) term of 
four (4) years and one (1) term of two (2) years. Upon the 
expiration of each of these terms, the commission shall conduct 
by mail an election to fill the open membership. After initial 
terms, elected members shall serve for a term of four (4) years. 
Only growers and handlers who paid dry bean assessments in the 
previous two (2) calendar years shall be eligible to vote in or 
stand for election, which shall be conducted in March of each 
odd-numbered year.  If a vacancy occurs, the governor shall 
appoint a person for the unexpired term. 
 

(c)  The governor shall declare the office of any appointed 
or elected member of the commission vacant when he finds that 
the member: 
 

(i)  Is no longer a grower or handler; 
 

(ii)  Is unable to perform his duties; or 
 

(iii)  Has become a resident of another state. 
 

(d)  Members of the commission shall serve without 
compensation but shall receive mileage and per diem as provided 
by law for state employees. 
 

11-50-103.  Powers and duties of the commission. 
 

(a)  The commission shall: 



 
(i)  Receive and disburse funds under the provisions 

of this act to be used in administering the provisions of this 
act; 
 

(ii)  Annually elect a chairman and vice chairman from 
among its members. No chairman shall succeed himself more than 
once; 
 

(iii)  Meet not less than two (2) times each year in 
conjunction with the crop research foundation of Wyoming and at 
such other times as called by the chairman or when requested by 
three (3) or more members of the commission; 
 

(iv)  Keep a permanent record of its proceedings and 
report annually to the governor and the joint agriculture, state 
and public lands and water resources interim committee 
respecting its activities as provided in W.S. 9-2-1014; 
 

(v)  If the commission determines that it is advisable 
to implement a research, promotion or market program, prepare 
and submit a proposed program to the director together with a 
budget and cash flow statement. Funds shall only be dispersed to 
the crop research foundation in accordance with the submitted 
budget and cash flow statement. 
 

(b)  The commission may: 
 

(i)  Conduct or contract for scientific research to 
discover and develop improved varieties, production techniques 
and end-use products; 
 

(ii)  Conduct or contract for programs of consumer 
education and market development; 
 

(iii)  Disseminate information on dry edible beans 
based on scientific research; 
 

(iv)  Study state and federal legislation with respect 
to matters concerning the dry edible bean industry; 
 

(v)  Sue and be sued as a commission, without 
individual liability, for acts of the commission within the 
scope of the powers and duties conferred upon it by this act; 
 

(vi)  Enter into contracts to carry out the purpose of 
the commission as provided in this act; 



 
(vii)  Appoint advisory groups composed of 

representatives from organizations, institutions or business 
related to or interested in the welfare of the dry edible bean 
industry; 
 

(viii)  Make grants to research agencies for financing 
special or emergency studies, or for purchase or acquisition of 
facilities necessary to carry out the purposes of the 
commission; 
 

(ix)  Appoint subordinate officers and employees of 
the commission, prescribe their duties and fix their 
compensation; 
 

(x)  Cooperate with any local, state or nationwide 
organization or agency engaged in work or activities similar to 
or related to those of the commission, and enter into contracts 
with those organizations or agencies for carrying on joint 
programs; 
 

(xi)  Adopt rules and regulations necessary to carry 
out the provisions of this act; 
 

(xii)  Adopt, rescind, modify or amend all proper 
regulations, orders and resolutions for the exercise of its 
powers and duties. 
 

11-50-104.  Authority to accept grants. 
 
The commission may accept grants, donations, contributions or 
gifts from any source for expenditures for any purpose 
consistent with the powers and duties conferred on the 
commission. 
 

11-50-105.  Contributions allowed. 
 
From the funds it receives, the commission may pay or contribute 
to outside organizations to carry out work and programs approved 
by the commission. 
 

11-50-106.  Dry bean commission account; assessment rate; 
collection and payment of assessment. 
 

(a)  All monies received by the commission shall be 
deposited in the state treasury.  The state treasurer shall 
deposit the monies to the credit of the dry bean commission 



account which is hereby created. Interest earned on monies in 
the account shall be deposited to the credit of the account. All 
monies in the account including earned interest shall be 
expended only for the purposes authorized by this act. 
 

(b)  Assessments collected by   department under this 
section shall be deposited with the state treasurer to the 
credit of the account created by subsection (a) of this section. 
Monies received by the commission under this subsection shall be 
used to administer this act. 
 

(c)  The commission shall at the end of each quarter 
reimburse the department for collection and administrative costs 
incurred by the department in collecting the assessment under 
subsection (b) of this section. The amount reimbursed shall 
equal one percent (1%) of the assessments collected during the 
quarter and shall be deposited with the state treasurer. 
 

(d)  The amount of the assessment collected under this 
section shall be as follows: 
 

(i)  For growers, thirty-four hundredths percent 
(0.34%) of the value of the settlement to the grower; 
 

(ii)  For handlers, seventeen hundredths percent 
(0.17%) of the value of the settlement to the grower; 
 

(iii)  After July 1, 2017, the commission by rule may 
change the assessment levied under this section provided that 
the proportion shall be two-thirds (2/3) on the grower and 
one-third (1/3) on the handler and the total levy shall not 
exceed one percent (1%) of the value of the settlement to the 
grower. 
 

(e)  The assessment rate as determined under subsection (d) 
of this section shall be paid by the respective grower and 
handler who are primarily liable. The first handler of beans 
sold or contracted in a commercial channel shall collect the 
required assessment from the grower and shall remit the 
assessment from the grower and the handler to the department not 
later than the fifteenth day of the month immediately following 
the quarter in which the beans were sold or contracted. The 
first time each year that a handler submits assessments under 
this section, the handler shall also submit a list of the name 
and address of all growers that the handler collected 
assessments from in the immediately preceding year. 
 



(f)  If dry beans are mortgaged or pledged as security for 
a loan from a governmental agency, the assessment under this 
section shall be deducted from the proceeds of the loan at the 
time of the disbursement of the loan. If there is an overage of 
dry beans at the time of settlement of the loan, the over 
payment shall be credited to the account of the grower. 
 

(g)  Dry beans stored in private or public storage within 
the state shall not be liable for an assessment under this 
section until a sale of the beans is made. 
 

(h)  A grower who through his activities also qualifies as 
a handler under this act or a grower who ships, sells or 
otherwise disposes of beans to a handler or for storage outside 
of the jurisdiction of this act shall remit to the department 
the full amount of the assessment due under this section. Dry 
beans which originate from any other state that collects a 
similar assessment and the state bases the assessment on the 
location of the first sale shall be treated as if they were 
grown within Wyoming if the beans are handled first by a Wyoming 
handler. Not later than November 1 each year, the commission 
shall determine any states that collect a similar assessment as 
provided under this section and shall notify all handlers of 
those states. 
 

11-50-107.  Refund. 
 

(a)  Any person who has paid any assessment as provided in 
this act is entitled to a prompt refund of the contribution from 
the commission upon request. A claim for a refund shall be made 
to the commission not less than thirty (30) nor more than ninety 
(90) days from the date of the sale upon which the assessment 
was based. The claim shall be made on a form prescribed and 
furnished by the commission. No assessment paid by a handler is 
refundable under this section unless the grower has also claimed 
a refund under this section for the matching portion of the 
assessment. 
 

(b)  Before processing any claim for refund under this 
section, the commission may require any additional information 
or affirmation under penalty of perjury it deems necessary to 
determine the validity of the claim. 
 

11-50-108.  Surety bond required to receive or disburse 
funds. 
 



Any person authorized by the commission to receive or disburse 
funds, as provided by this act, shall post with the commission a 
surety bond in an amount the commission determines sufficient, 
for which the cost or premium shall be paid by the commission. 
 

CHAPTER 51 - HEMP PRODUCTION 
 

11-51-101.  Definitions. 
 

(a)  As used in this chapter: 
 

(i)  "Corrective action plan" means a plan the 
department develops in consultation with a licensee to correct 
any violation of this chapter; 
 

(ii)  "Disposal" means activities to alter or treat 
hemp or hemp products that contain an amount of THC in excess of 
the amount authorized in this chapter to ensure that the THC is 
reduced to bring the hemp or hemp product into compliance with 
this chapter or, if compliance is not attainable, that the THC 
is rendered inaccessible; 
 

(iii)  "Hemp" or "hemp product" means all parts, seeds 
and varieties of the plant cannabis sativa l., whether growing 
or not, or a product, derivative, extract, cannabinoid, isomer, 
acid, salt or salt of isomer made from that plant with no 
synthetic substance and with a THC concentration of not more 
than three-tenths of one percent (0.3%) on a dry weight basis 
when using post-decarboxylation or another similarly reliable 
testing method; 
 

(iv)  "Licensee" means a person licensed under this 
chapter to produce, process or test hemp; 
 

(v)  "Produce" means all acts necessary to produce and 
market hemp including, without limitation, planting, 
cultivating, harvesting, cloning, producing seeds, handling, 
transporting and selling; 
 

(vi)  "Process" means converting hemp into another 
product that contains no synthetic substance and that contains 
no more than three-tenths of one percent (0.3%) THC on a dry 
weight basis when using post-decarboxylation or another 
similarly reliable testing method; 
 

(vii)  "THC" means: 
 



(A)  Tetrahydrocannabinol, the psychoactive 
component of the cannabis plant, with the scientific name trans-
delta 9-tetrahydrocannabinol; 
 

(B)  Psychoactive analogs of tetrahydrocannabinol 
as defined by W.S. 14-3-301(a)(xi); 
 

(C)  Any psychoactive structural, optical or 
geometric isomers of tetrahydrocannabinol. 
 

(viii)  "Synthetic substance" means any synthetic THC, 
synthetic cannabinoid or any other drug or psychoactive 
substance. 
 

11-51-102.  Hemp as agricultural crop; use of hemp. 
 

(a)  Hemp is an agricultural crop in this state. Upon 
meeting the requirements of this chapter, a person may produce 
or process hemp. 
 

(b)  Notwithstanding the requirements of this chapter, the 
possession, purchase, sale, transportation and use of hemp and 
hemp products by any person is allowable except as provided in 
W.S. 11-51-103(f) and 14-3-310. 
 

11-51-103.  Licensing; prohibited activities. 
 

(a)  No person shall produce or process hemp unless the 
person has obtained a license from the department on a form 
provided by the department. 
 

(b)  The application for a license under this section shall 
include: 
 

(i)  The name and address of the applicant; 
 

(ii)  The physical address and legal description of 
all land and property where the production or processing will 
occur; 
 

(iii)  A statement that the applicant has not been 
convicted of or pled nolo contendre to a controlled substance 
felony within the past ten (10) years, or in the event the 
applicant is not an individual, a statement that no member, 
principal, officer or director of the applicant has been 
convicted of or pled nolo contendre to a controlled substance 
felony; 



 
(iv)  Authorization for reasonable access by the 

department for inspections and verifications related to 
production or processing activities for which a licensee shall 
be assessed fees under W.S. 11-51-104(a); and 
 

(v)  Verification that the applicant is a business 
entity organized under the laws of Wyoming or a Wyoming 
resident, as defined by rule of the department. 
 

(c)  The department shall issue a license, or renewal 
thereof, which is valid for one (1) year if: 
 

(i)  The requirements of subsection (b) of this 
section are met including that the applicant has not been 
convicted of or pled nolo contendre to a controlled substance 
felony within the past ten (10) years; and 
 

(ii)  Seven hundred fifty dollars ($750.00) is 
received for each annual license or renewal application.  This 
fee shall be reduced to five hundred dollars ($500.00) for a 
nonprofit or educational organization. 
 

(d)  Licenses under this section may authorize producing 
hemp and processing hemp products at more than one (1) location 
for the same licensee. 
 

(e)  Any person possessing hemp or hemp products only for 
the purpose of testing THC levels may, but shall not be required 
to, obtain a license under this chapter. 
 

(f)  No person or licensee shall: 
 

(i)  Produce, process or sell hemp or hemp products 
containing more than three-tenths of one percent (0.3%) THC on a 
dry weight basis when using post-decarboxylation or another 
similarly reliable testing method; 
 

(ii)  Add, alter, insert or otherwise include any 
synthetic substance into hemp or hemp products produced, 
processed or sold in accordance with this chapter. 
 

11-51-104.  Enforcement; fees; penalties. 
 

(a)  The department shall perform inspections and provide 
chemical sampling and analysis of production or processing 
activities by licensees to determine compliance with this 



chapter.  The department may require verification of effective 
disposal by licensees of hemp or hemp products that contain 
synthetic substances or that contain in excess of three-tenths 
of one percent (0.3%) THC on a dry weight basis.  For any 
sample, analysis or verification conducted under this 
subsection, the department shall assess the licensee fees as 
established by rule of the department, not to exceed the 
following: 
 

(i)  Two hundred dollars ($200.00) per sample 
conducted by the department; 
 

(ii)  Two hundred dollars ($200.00) per analysis 
conducted by the department; 
 

(iii)  Two hundred fifty dollars ($250.00) for 
verification of effective disposal of hemp or hemp products that 
contain synthetic substances or that contain in excess of three-
tenths of one percent (0.3%) THC on a dry weight basis. 
 

(b)  Except as provided in subsection (e) of this section, 
any licensee who violates any provision of this chapter or any 
regulation promulgated pursuant to this chapter shall be subject 
to a corrective action plan. The corrective action plan may 
include reporting requirements, additional inspections, 
suspension of a license, steps necessary to restore a license, 
requirements related to disposal of hemp or hemp products that 
contain in excess of three-tenths of one percent (0.3%) THC on a 
dry weight basis or providing notice of the violation to the 
licensee's known creditors. The plan may require rendering THC 
inaccessible by using hemp or hemp products as a soil amendment 
material or by destruction of the hemp or hemp product as 
authorized by rule of the department. 
 

(c)  Any person who intentionally violates this chapter is 
guilty of a misdemeanor punishable by a fine of not more than 
seven hundred fifty dollars ($750.00), imprisonment for not more 
than six (6) months, or both. 
 

(d)  If any person has three (3) or more violations of this 
chapter or any regulation promulgated pursuant to this chapter 
within five (5) years, the department shall revoke the license 
and the person shall be ineligible for licensure under this 
chapter for five (5) years. 
 

(e)  Any person who violates this chapter by producing, 
processing or selling hemp or hemp products containing any 



synthetic substance shall be ineligible for licensure under this 
chapter. 
 

11-51-105.  Rules; agreements; research activities. 
 

(a)  The department shall adopt rules necessary to 
implement the provisions of this chapter. 
 

(b)  The department may enter into agreements with tribal 
governments related to hemp production and the processing of 
hemp products. 
 

(c)  The department, the University of Wyoming and Wyoming 
community colleges may produce or process hemp for research 
purposes. 
 

11-51-106.  Disposition of fees. 
 
All fees collected under this chapter shall be deposited with 
the state treasurer in a separate account which is continuously 
appropriated to the department for the administration of this 
chapter. 
 

11-51-107.  Exception if this chapter is not implemented. 
 
Nothing in this chapter shall preclude any person from applying 
for and receiving authorization to produce and process hemp from 
another authorized entity if the department does not receive 
authority to do so or is otherwise not implementing this 
chapter. 
 

CHAPTER 52 - SMALL BUSINESS EMERGENCY BRIDGE LOAN PROGRAM 
 

11-52-101.  Definitions. 
 

(a)  As used in this chapter: 
 

(i)  "Office" means the office of state lands and 
investments; 
 

(ii)  "Financial institution" means a bank or credit 
union having a place of business within this state and that is 
chartered under state or federal law; 
 

(iii)  "Program" means the small business emergency 
bridge loan program created in this chapter; 
 



(iv)  "Director" means the director of the office of 
state lands and investments. 
 

11-52-102.  Small business emergency bridge loan program; 
eligibility; requirements; account. 
 

(a)  The small business emergency bridge loan program is 
hereby created to provide short-term bridge loans to Wyoming 
businesses after declared natural disasters. 
 

(b)  The office of state lands and investments shall 
administer the program. The state loan and investment board 
shall: 
 

(i)  Promulgate any rules necessary to implement the 
program; 
 

(ii)  Establish a process by which financial 
institutions may register to administer and process emergency 
bridge loans issued under the program; 
 

(iii)  Develop an application for emergency bridge 
loans, including specifying the documentation required to apply, 
and provide applications to participating financial institutions 
for distribution; 
 

(iv)  Review all applications and recommendations from 
financial institutions to ensure that emergency bridge loans are 
approved and made in accordance with this chapter; 
 

(v)  Oversee the disbursement and repayment of funds 
from emergency bridge loans. 
 

(c)  Subject to available funding, small business emergency 
bridge loans shall be made and disbursed in accordance with all 
of the following: 
 

(i)  Before bridge loans shall be available under this 
chapter, the governor shall declare that a natural disaster has 
occurred and shall designate the counties in which the natural 
disaster has occurred. For purposes of this paragraph, the 
governor may declare a natural disaster for purposes of making 
loans available under this section upon the failure of 
infrastructure, including but not limited to roads, bridges, 
dams and irrigation infrastructure. Upon this declaration, 
businesses located in the designated counties in which the 



natural disaster has been declared may apply for emergency 
bridge loans under this chapter; 
 

(ii)  Emergency bridge loans shall be made only to 
businesses that: 
 

(A)  Are physically located and doing business in 
Wyoming and are physically located within the area in which the 
governor has declared that a natural disaster has occurred; 
 

(B)  Were established and in operation before the 
declared natural disaster occurred; 
 

(C)  Have one (1) or more persons who own not 
less than fifty percent (50%) of the business, who can apply for 
the loan and who shall serve as guarantor for the loan. Any 
person or persons applying for a loan under this chapter for a 
business shall have a credit score of not less than five hundred 
fifty (550) and shall not be on probation or parole at the time 
of application; 
 

(D)  Not be engaged in the business of loan 
packaging, offering or providing short-term rentals, 
speculation, multi-sales distribution, gaming, investment or 
lending or any activity that violates state or federal law. 
 

(iii)  Applications for emergency bridge loans shall 
be filed with a financial institution registered with the office 
to participate in the program. Upon receipt of a complete 
application and all required documentation, the financial 
institution shall review the application and documentation to 
determine whether the business qualifies for an emergency bridge 
loan under this chapter and shall forward a recommendation to 
the office whether to approve or reject the loan and any terms 
or conditions that should be included for the loan; 
 

(iv)  Upon receipt of a recommendation from a 
financial institution, the office shall, not later than five (5) 
business days after receiving the recommendation, review the 
recommendation and ensure that the applicant qualifies for a 
loan. Upon determining that an applicant qualifies under this 
chapter, the director may approve the application and, if 
approved, shall disburse funds from the account created in 
subsection (f) of this section to the financial institution for 
disbursement to the loan applicant or, if requested by the loan 
applicant or if the financial institution is unable to accept 
the funds, for disbursement directly to the loan applicant, and 



specify any terms and conditions that shall be included as part 
of the loan agreement. Loans approved by the director shall not 
require subsequent approval by the state loan and investment 
board. 
 

(d)  Emergency bridge loans issued under this chapter 
shall: 
 

(i)  Require an origination fee of two percent (2%) of 
the loan amount, to be distributed to the financial institution 
for processing the loan. The office shall pay one percent (1%) 
of the origination fee from funds available in the account 
created in subsection (f) of this section. The loan applicant 
shall pay the remaining one percent (1%) of the origination fee 
from loan proceeds. For purposes of this paragraph, the office 
may require an additional origination fee to be paid by the 
applicant for deposit in the account created by subsection (f) 
of this section if the additional fee is necessary to account 
for a decreased amount of investment earnings as a result of the 
emergency bridge loan program; 
 

(ii)  Not exceed seven hundred fifty thousand dollars 
($750,000.00) for each business applying under this chapter; 
 

(iii)  Be secured by insurance proceeds or other 
anticipated funds that the business will receive as a result of 
the natural disaster or other land, equipment or assets owned by 
the business; 
 

(iv)  Be expended only for any business purposes, 
which may include, but not limited to, fencing repair, the 
replacement of livestock, the replacement of buildings or 
shelters, business vehicles, inventory replacement, equipment 
damaged or destroyed in the natural disaster, the leasing of 
land for business purposes, necessary trucking and 
transportation expenses and temporary facilities for the 
business to operate; 
 

(v)  Not be expended to expand the business's 
operations or to purchase additional property or equipment that 
the business did not have before the natural disaster; 
 

(vi)  Contain repayment terms, provided that: 
 

(A)  Full repayment shall occur not later than 
three (3) years after the issuance of the loan; 
 



(B)  Interest shall be charged on the loan at a 
rate not to exceed zero percent (0%) plus the interest rate 
earned on pooled fund investments in the previous fiscal year. 
The interest rate specified in this subparagraph shall be 
reduced to account for investment earnings and the rate of 
return on investments of the small business emergency bridge 
loan account created in subsection (f) of this section. 
 

(e)  Each business receiving a loan under this chapter 
shall make repayments to the office. Upon receiving payments, 
the office shall deposit the funds received, including interest, 
in the small business emergency bridge loan account created in 
subsection (f) of this section. 
 

(f)  There is created the small business emergency bridge 
loan account. Funds within the account shall be used only to 
provide emergency bridge loans under this chapter, origination 
fees specified in this chapter and any administrative costs 
associated with operating the program. The state treasurer shall 
invest funds within the account in accordance with law, and all 
earnings from the account shall be deposited in the account. The 
office may accept grants, gifts or other funds for deposit in 
the account. Any grants, gifts or other funds accepted under 
this subsection shall first be expended to reduce, on a pro rata 
basis, the interest that applicants are required to pay under 
this section. Funds in the account are continuously appropriated 
to the office to be expended only in accordance with this 
chapter. 
 

(g)  Not later than October 1 of each year, the office 
shall annually review the program and report to the joint 
appropriations committee, the joint agriculture, state and 
public lands and water resources interim committee and the state 
loan and investment board on the loans made under the program, 
all outstanding loan commitments, repayments received and the 
balance of the account created in subsection (f) of this 
section. 
 

(h)  The director of the office of state lands and 
investments, with approval from the governor, is authorized to 
borrow from the legislative stabilization reserve account up to 
twenty-five million dollars ($25,000,000.00) as necessary to 
meet funding requirements for qualifying loans under this 
section. Any loan proceeds shall be deposited into the small 
business emergency bridge loan account. Interest charged on the 
amounts borrowed shall be zero percent (0%). The director of the 
office of state lands and investments shall report to the joint 



appropriations committee, the president of the senate and the 
speaker of the house of representatives immediately upon 
exercise of this loan authority. The director of the office of 
state lands and investments, after consultation with the state 
auditor, shall include an appropriation request in each biennial 
budget and supplemental budget request in an amount equal to the 
lesser of twenty-five million dollars ($25,000,000.00) or the 
outstanding loan balance until all loans from the legislative 
stabilization reserve account to the emergency bridge loan 
account are repaid in full. 
 


