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To:  Honorable Mark Gordon, Governor 
   
 
From:               State Veterinarian, Dr. Jim Logan 
 
 
Subject:  Proposed Emergency Rules for Brucellosis Quarantine Mitigation Expense     
                          Reimbursement – Chapter 25 
 
 
Date:                 July 20, 2020 
 
 
Priority:  HIGH – Deadline for response is August 3, 2020 
 
Summary:  2020 Session Laws Chapter 94 (W.S. § 11-19-103(k)) requires the Wyoming Livestock 
Board to promulgate rules for reimbursing producers for extraordinary expenses incurred while a cattle or 
domestic bison herd is under quarantine for Brucellosis. The proposed rules explain the claim process for 
producers to request reimbursement from the state and identifies qualifying expenses. The Board 
respectfully requests that you approve these rules as emergency rules because the Board might receive 
claims for reimbursement for herds quarantined for Brucellosis before the regular rule promulgation 
process can be completed. The Board has also submitted a regular rulemaking packet with the exact same 
rules asking for your permission to proceed to public comment. 
 
 
Agency Contact Name: Jim Logan 
Agency Contact Phone: 307-857-4140 
Agency Contact Email: jim.logan@wyo.gov 
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Chapter 25 

Brucellosis Quarantine Mitigation Expense Reimbursement 
 
 

Emergency rules are in effect no longer than 120 days after filing with the Registrar of 
Rules. 

 Section 1. Authority to Create Rules. The following rules are promulgated pursuant 
to Wyoming Statutes 11-19-103(k) and 11-19-118(e). 
 

Section 2. Definitions Used in Rules. 
 
(a)  “Affected Herd Management Plan” means a herd management and testing plan 

that is: 
 

(i)  Designed by the State Veterinarian, the herd owner, the herd owner's 
veterinarian if requested by the herd owner, and the United States Department of Agriculture, 
Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service (APHIS) Veterinary Services (VS) representative; 

 
(ii)  Used to determine the disease status of animals in the herd; 
 
(iii)  Used to control and eradicate Brucellosis within the herd; and  
 
(iv)  Jointly approved by the State Veterinarian and the APHIS Area 

Veterinarian in Charge. 
 
(b)  “Brucellosis” means an infectious disease of animals and humans caused by 

Brucella abortus. 
 
(c)  “Mitigation Efforts” means the management efforts a herd owner must take to 

minimize the risk of Brucellosis spreading from an affected herd while that herd is under state 
Quarantine and an Affected Herd Management Plan. 

 
(d)  “Qualified Expenses” means expenses that a herd owner incurs while the herd 

owner’s herd is under Quarantine and an Affected Herd Management Plan and that would not 
otherwise be incurred during the course of normal herd management.  

 
(e)  “Quarantine” means an official document issued by the State Veterinarian or his 

authorized representative that restricts the movement of specific Bovinae affected with or 
exposed to Brucellosis and that sets forth the requirements for Quarantine release. 

 
Section 3. Claim Process. 
 
(a)  To make a claim for reimbursement of Qualified Expenses, the owner of the 

Quarantined herd must complete and submit the Board’s application form to one of the Board’s 
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offices at any time during the Quarantine or within 30 days after release from Quarantine for 
reimbursement of Qualified Expenses. 

 
(b)  A herd owner may file only one claim per Quarantine. 

 
(c)  The application must be accompanied by all necessary supporting documentation, 

including: 
 

(i)  Receipts for Qualified Expenses for Mitigation Efforts; 
 
(ii)  A description of actual Mitigation Efforts conducted; 
 
(iii)  Receipts for the costs of shipping or transportation specifically required to 

comply with the Quarantine;   
 
(iv)  Receipts for mileage expenses charged to the herd owner by an accredited 

veterinarian for tests conducted as part of the Affected Herd Management Plan; 
 
(v)  Verification of loss due to injury of cattle during required testing;  
 
(vi)  Receipts for extra labor and food provision for testing crews; and 
 
(vii)  Documentation of previous management history.  

 
(d)  The State Veterinarian will consider claims on a first-filed, first-served basis. 

 
(e)  The State Veterinarian will verify that the applicant is in compliance with all state 

and federal animal health and brand inspection rules and conditions outlined in the Quarantine 
and the Affected Herd Management Plan. Only herd owners who are in compliance are qualified 
to receive reimbursement. 

 
(f)  The State Veterinarian and the Board’s Director will determine whether each 

expense listed on the application form is a Qualified Expense and whether each expense is 
supported by the required documentation. If they cannot agree, the State Veterinarian will ask the 
Board to make a determination on the disputed expense(s). 

 
(g)  The State Veterinarian will approve, partially approve, or reject a claim within 30 

days of receiving all of the required documentation and will provide written reasons for his 
decision. However, if the State Veterinarian asks the Board to make a determination on disputed 
expense(s), he shall approve, partially approve, or reject the claim within 30 days of the Board’s 
determination. A copy of the application form and all documentation and the State Veterinarian’s 
decision will be presented to the State Auditor’s Office and the claimant and kept on file in the 
Board’s Cheyenne office in accordance with the Board’s retention schedule. 

 
(h)  A herd owner may appeal the State Veterinarian’s decision on his claim to the 

Board in accordance with W.S. 11-19-103(g). 
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