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STATEMENT OF REASONS 

FOR ADOPTING RULES 

In 2019 the Wyoming legislature revised the Board’s practice act.  Changes were made to clarify 
the Board’s authority to assess fees; modify the definition of attest and compilation services; and 
clarify expiration date of inactive status certificate. Also included were changes to clarify reasons 
for the Board to investigate and discipline Wyoming CPA certificate holders, Wyoming CPA 
firm permits holders, and those who are practicing in the state under practice privileges. Included 
in the new legislations was the adoption of “firm mobility,” which allows nonresident CPA firms 
that meet all licensing requirements in their home states, including enrollment in the AICPA Peer 
Review Program, to practice in the state without obtaining Wyoming CPA firm permits.   See 
2019 Wyo. Sess. Laws, Ch. 2.   

Other changes throughout all chapters of the rules reflect the Board’s attempt to streamline rules 
to the extent possible while also preserving the ease of reference and readability for the user. 

Chapter 1 

• Definitions in section 2 reflect statutory changes and attempts to streamline and reduce 
the chapter.   

• The methodology the Board will use to set its meeting calendar is clarified.  The Board 
wishes to set its meetings by resolution in order for its meetings to be “regular” meetings. 

• The Board forms committees from time-to-time to effectuate its duties.  New language is 
added to clarify appointment authority and to clarify what types of committees can be 
appointed.  This change would allow for those appointments to be made. 

• Language has been added to allow the Board to delegate the authority to approve 
applications for temporary certificates and temporary firm permits subject to Board 
ratification.  This is necessary as the Board does not meet every month and does not 
review every application.  Delegation of authority to approve applications for temporary 
certificates and temporary firm permits would allow for the licensure process to be 
streamlined and expedite the applicants’ ability to engage in their profession as quickly as 
possible.  

• Language has been added to clarify the application process with respect to when 
applications may be denied.  It also clarifies that the Board shall not process incomplete 
applications.  From time-to-time the Board office receives incomplete applications and 
there is no formal process for how to handle them. This change would address that issue.   

• Modifications to the fee schedule reflect the Board using an online licensing management 
system; updates fees related to activation of certificates and firm permits from 
surrendered status, expired status and retired status to reflect the staff time devoted to 
conducting a continuing professional education (CPE) audit.  Fees related to reactivation 
and the CPE audit required when a holder requests a 90-day extension to complete CPE 



are based upon approximately two to three hours of staff time to process reactivation 
applications and CPE audits. The Board added language to reflect the actual and staff 
costs associated with this extension.  

• A fee related to 90-day CPE extension requests is being implemented to support the staff 
time related to conducting CPE audits for all holders who request 90-day CPE extensions.   

• Removal of language related to requests for public records since the Board will process 
requests for public records in accordance with requirements set forth by the Department 
of Administration & Information.   

• Moved language pertaining to “Reporting Convictions, Judgments, and Disciplinary 
Actions” from chapter 3 that pertains to certificates to chapter 1, which covers “General 
Provisions,” that applies to certificates and firm permits. 

• Removal of language and definitions that are already defined within the Board’s Statute. 
There is no reason to restate the statute in the rule.    

Chapter 4 

• Changes to the chapter reflect changes to the statutes effective July 1, 2019 that remove 
the requirement that nonresident CPA firms must register in Wyoming.  So long as 
nonresident CPA firms are properly registered in their home states and are compliant 
with the AICPA Peer Review Program they need not register with the Board. This “firm 
mobility” provision is similar to the individual certificate mobility provisions adopted in 
statutory changes in 2009.  

• Removal of some language and definitions that are already defined within the Board’s 
Statute or other Statutes. There is no reason to restate the statute in the rule so the Board 
removed the language.   

• There are language modifications to reflect the Board using an electronic online licensing 
management system.   

• The rules clarify that CPA firms must provide ownership data as well as a list of CPA 
associates for the Board office to determine whether ownership and firm name 
requirements are met.   

• Language regarding fee refunds is included in the chapter. Fee refund processes have not 
been driven by rule in the past.  This new language provides rule language that supports 
and clarifies the processes to clear up any questions about how refunds will be processed 
and what fees can be refunded. 

Chapter 5 

• The Board is adopting the Statement on Standards for Continuing Professional Education 
that will serve to homogenize CPE requirements for all certificate holders.  This is 
important as many jurisdictions move to CPE mobility.  This has been a topic at the 
national level.   



• The rules also clarify that qualified CPE must maintain or improve the holder’s 
professional competence as a CPA.  This is important to clarify as there are certificate 
holders who work in academia, government, industry as well as public accounting. Some 
may take CPE courses as required by their employer (i.e. CPR, Defensive Driving) but it 
does not maintain or improve the holder’s professional competence as a CPA.   

• Certificate holders must use the Board’s online CPE reporting system to report and 
document CPE records.  The new CPE reporting system is designed to support improved 
compliance with CPE requirements and allows holders a single repository to store all of 
their CPE records to help them streamline the annual certificate renewal process.   

• The rules limit holders from earning CPE credits by repeating the same course during a 
renewal year. Repeating the same CPE course work typically does not enhance a holder’s 
professional competence.   

• Program standards are being replaced by the Board incorporating the Statement on 
Standards for Continuing Professional Education by reference.  The program standards 
are already included in the Statement on Standards.   

• The concept of “nano” learning is being incorporated into the rule.  “Nano” learning is 
CPE designed to be offered in ten-minute increments to meet holders’ contemporary 
continuing education needs. This has been discussed on a national level and is included in 
the Statement on Standards.   

• Holders requesting 90-day CPE extensions will be assessed a fee to cover staff time 
expenses related to the required CPE audit.  CPE audits typically take an average of two 
to three hours of staff time to process. 
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Chapter 1 
General Provisions 

 
Section 1. Authority.  The Wyoming Board of Certified Public Accountants hereby 

adopts and promulgates the following rules and regulations as authorized by Wyoming Statute 
33-3-108(a) and W.S. 16-3-103(j)(ii). 

 
Section 2. Definitions.  Unless otherwise stated or required by the context, the 

definitions set forth in this section shall apply to the construction and interpretation of any rules, 
regulation, interpretations and statements of reason adopted by the Board. 

 
(a) “Active Status” means the status required when a certificate holder performs any 

service as defined at W.S. 33-3-109(c) for an employer, another person, or an entity not wholly 
owned by the certificate holder with or without compensation. 

 
(b) “Advertise” means any written or graphic statement made in any manner that is 

used to advise, announce, apprise, command, give notice of, inform or make known that services 
are offered or available.  It may include but is not limited to statements and representations made 
in a newspaper or other publication, radio or television, or any other notice, handbill, sign, 
catalog, letter, electronic media, or printed document that indicates services are offered or 
available. 

 
(c) “Agreed-Upon Procedure” means a professional service whereby a holder is 

engaged to issue a written finding that: 

(i) Is based on specific procedures that the specified parties agree are 
sufficient for their purposes; 

(ii) Is restricted to the specified parties; and 

(iii) Does not provide an opinion or negative assurance. 

(d) “AICPA” or “Institute” means the American Institute of Certified Public 
Accountants or successor organizations. 

 
(e) “Audit” means a professional service whereby the holder is engaged to examine 

financial statements, items, accounts, or elements of a financial statement, prepared by 
management, in order for an opinion to be expressed on financial statements, items, accounts, or 
elements as to whether the financial statements are presented in conformity with generally 
accepted accounting principles or other comprehensive basis of accounting or a performance 
audit performed in compliance with the Government Auditing Standards as referenced in chapter 
6, section 3(b) of these rules. 
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(f) “Certified Public Accountant” or “CPA” is a person holding a certified public 

accountant certificate issued pursuant to W.S. 33-3-109, W.S. 33-3-115 or W.S. 33-3-116 or that 
has not been suspended, revoked, surrendered, or expired or a person who holds a certificate 
based on meeting the substantial equivalency standards and availing himself of practice 
privileges. 

 
(g) “Client” is any person or organization other than the holder’s employer that 

engages a certificate or permit holder to perform professional services. 
 
(h) “Commission” is a fee, received or paid by others, that is calculated as a 

percentage of the total sale or service. 
 
(i) “Contingent Fee” is a fee established for performing any service pursuant to an 

arrangement in which no fee will be charged unless a specified finding or result is attained, or in 
which the amount of the fee is otherwise dependent upon the finding or result of such service.   

 
(j) “Designated Certificate Holder (DCH)” is the individual certificate holder 

responsible for registering the CPA firm and providing all CPA firm and office notifications 
required under W.S. 33-3-118 and W.S. 33-3-119, as well as other notifications required by these 
rules. 

 
 (k) “Financial Statements” means statements and related footnotes that present an 
actual or anticipated financial position as of a point in time, or results of operations, cash flow, or 
changes in financial position for a period of time in conformity with generally accepted 
accounting principles or another comprehensive basis of accounting.  The term does not include 
incidental financial data included in management advisory services reports to support 
recommendations to a client, nor does it include tax returns and supporting schedules. 

 
(l) “Foreign” means any place outside the United States or its territories. 
 
(m) “Holder” is a person who has been issued a CPA certificate by the Board pursuant 

to W.S. 33-3-109, W.S. 33-3-115 or W.S. 33-3-116 and chapter 3 of these rules, a CPA firm that 
has been issued a permit pursuant to W.S. 33-3-118, W.S. 33-3-120, and chapter 4 of these rules 
or a person or firm availing himself or itself of practice privileges. 

 
(n) “Holding Out” means any action initiated by a holder which states or implies he is 

skilled in the practice of accounting, or any action that informs others of the CPA status.  Any 
action includes but is not limited to any oral or written representation to another regarding 
accounting skills or the CPA status, using a CPA designation on business cards or letterhead,  
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displaying a certificate, or reference to any of the AICPA professional standards or any of the 
standards established in chapter 6, section 3 of these rules. 

 
(o) “Inactive Status” means the status available when a holder does not perform any 

service as defined in W.S. 33-3-109(c) for an employer, another person, or an entity not wholly 
owned by the certificate holder, with or without compensation.   

 
(p) “Licensee” means “holder” whether licensed in this State or as defined in section 

2(m) of this chapter. 
 
(q) “NASBA” means National Association of State Boards of Accountancy. 
 
(r) “Office” means any location within the State of Wyoming where the practice of 

public accounting is performed by certificate holders as a CPA firm. 
 
(s) “Organization” is a corporation, partnership, limited liability company, sole 

proprietorship, association, business trust, estate, trust, two or more persons having a joint or 
common interest, or any other legal or commercial entity. 

 
(t) “Original Certificate” means the certificate issued to an individual as a result of 

passing the Uniform CPA examination and meeting the requirements as set forth in W.S. 33-3-
109(a) and chapter 3, section 2 of these rules. 

 
(u) “Peer Review” means a review under a practice monitoring program as approved 

by the Board such as the programs sponsored by the AICPA. 
 
(v) “Practice Privilege” means the ability to practice as a certificate or permit holder 

in Wyoming without obtaining a Wyoming certificate based on meeting the criteria established 
in W.S. 33-3-116(a) and chapter 10 of these rules or a permit based on W.S. 33-3-118(b)(xiv). 

 
(w) “Professional Services” are any services performed or offered to be performed by 

a holder in the practice of public accounting. 
 
(x) “Reciprocal Certificate” means a certificate issued to an individual based on a 

certificate issued in another jurisdiction. 
 
(y) “Referral Fee” is a fee paid by a holder to any person in return for recommending 

or referring any service of a holder to any person. 
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(z) “Registrant” means any certificate holder, permit holder or person or firm availing 
himself or itself of practice privileges under the provisions of the certified public accountants’ 
act and these rules. 

 
(aa) “Report” when used with reference to financial statements means an opinion, 

report, or other form of language that states or implies assurance as to the reliability of a 
financial statement and that also includes or is accompanied by any statement or implication that 
the person or CPA firm issuing it has special knowledge or competence in accounting or 
auditing. Such a statement or implication of special knowledge or competence may arise from 
the use by the issuer of the report of names or titles indicating that the person or CPA firm is a 
certified public accountant or auditor, or from the use of language in the report itself.  The term 
“report” includes any form of language that disclaims an opinion when the language is 
conventionally understood to imply any positive assurance as to the reliability of the financial 
statements referred to or special competence on the part of the person or CPA firm issuing such 
language; and it includes any other language that is conventionally understood to imply an 
assurance or other special knowledge or competence. 

 
(bb) “Retired Status” means the status available when a certificate holder has reached 

the age of sixty-five (65) or is disabled and no longer performs any service for compensation as 
defined in W.S. 33-3-109(c) for an employer, another person, or an entity not wholly owned by 
the certificate holder.   

 
(cc) “Review” means a professional service as defined in the Statement on Standards 

for Accounting and Review Services as set forth in chapter 6, section 3(d) of these rules. 
 
(dd) “Sole Proprietorship” means a certificate holder performs accounting services as 

defined in W.S. 33-3-109(c) for any person or organization other than his employer, himself, or 
an entity wholly owned by himself, and the certificate holder is compensated for services 
provided. 

 
(ee) “Surrendered Status” means the certificate or affidavit of lost certificate has been 

returned to the Board’s office.  A person who surrenders a certificate is no longer a Wyoming 
CPA. 

 
(ff) “Work papers” means the holders’ records of procedures applied, the tests 

performed, the information obtained, and the conclusions reached in attest services, tax, 
consulting, special report, or other engagements.  Work papers include, but are not limited to, 
work programs used to perform professional services, analyses, memoranda, letters of 
confirmation and representation, checklists, copies or abstracts of company documents, and 
schedules of commentaries prepared or obtained by the holder.  The forms include, but are not 
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limited to, handwritten, typed, printed, word processed, photocopied, photographed, 
computerized data, or any other form of letters, words, pictures, sounds or symbols. 

Section 3. Chairman.  The chairman of the Board shall preside at all meetings and 
perform other duties as the Board may direct.  In the absence of the chairman, the Secretary shall 
perform the duties of the chairman. 

Section 4. Secretary.  In addition to duties pursuant to W.S. 33-3-104, the Board 
Secretary shall maintain, or direct the staff to maintain, a record of the transactions and business 
of the Board.  The record shall include a record of any certificates and permits issued and any 
fees received. 

Section 5.   Meetings.   

(a) The Board shall by resolution establish regular meetings at the Board’s office or 
other location as identified in public notices issued by the Board office.  Additional meetings and 
conference call meetings may be scheduled as determined by the Board.  All meetings shall be 
scheduled and conducted in compliance with W.S. 16-4-401 et seq. 

(b) The elected Board officers shall assume the duties of their respective offices at the 
conclusion of the meeting at which they were elected.  Board officers shall serve a term of one 
year and shall be eligible for reelection. 

Section 6. Appointment of Committees.  The Board may appoint committees to 
facilitate the performance of its duties.  Committee appointments may be “standing” or “ad hoc” 
as necessary to address complaint investigations, conduct peer review oversight, review rules and 
make recommendations to the Board for rules promulgation, review applications, or other 
matters as determined by the Board. 

Section 7. Delegation of Temporary Licensure Authority.  The Board may 
delegate the authority to issue temporary certificates and firm permits to Board members, 
Application Review Committees, or Board staff.  Temporary certificates and firm permits issued 
under this section shall be valid for no longer than 120 days or until formal Board action to ratify 
issuance has been taken to render final Board approval. 

Section 8. Records Retention.  The Board shall comply with records retention 
schedules set forth by the State of Wyoming. 

Section 9. Language of Record.  The Board shall provide examinations, 
applications, correspondence, and all other documents in the English language only.  Requests 
for assistance with foreign language impediments will be considered on a case-by-case basis.  If 
provided, any and all costs associated with examinations, interpreters, or other aids will be borne 
solely by the applicant. 
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Section 10. Change of Name, Address, or Employment. 

(a) All certificate holders and DCHs shall notify the Board of any changes in name, 
address, email address, telephone number, or employment within sixty (60) days of the change.   

(b) Any notification from the Board required or permitted under the certified public 
accountants’ act sent to the certificate holder, permit holder, or DCH shall be sent to the last 
known name and address or e-mail address provided to the Board by the holder and shall be 
deemed proper service on the holder. 

Section 11. Change in Form, Ownership, Scope of Practice or CPA firm Name.   

(a) The DCH shall notify the Board as follows: 

(i) Within sixty (60) days of any changes in scope of services which affect 
the scheduling or timing of peer reviews; 

(ii) Within sixty (60) days of the termination or transfer of a sole 
proprietorship, the admission or withdrawal of a partner, shareholder, member, or non-certificate 
holder from any permitted CPA firm. 

(iii) Within sixty (60) days of the admission or withdrawal of any certificate 
holder acting as a resident manager of any office or any change in the certificate holder 
designated to represent the firm; 

(iv) Within sixty (60) days of any CPA firm name change accompanied by 
amended articles of incorporation or articles of organization.   

Section 12. Applications. 

(a) All certificate and firm permit applications shall be reviewed and may be 
approved, subject to Board ratification, by the Board’s staff or an Application Review 
Committee composed of the Board’s staff and one (1) Board member pursuant to chapter 7, 
section 4 of these rules. 

 (b) The Board may deny any application for any of the following reasons: 

(i) The applicant’s failure to furnish all information required on the 
application and required application attachments; 

(ii) The applicant engages in any actions listed in W.S. 33-3-121(a)(i) through 
(xiii); 

(iii) The applicant falsifies information required by the application process; or 
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(iv) This or any other U.S. board of accountancy finds that the applicant 
committed an act of misconduct on the examination as set forth in chapter 2, section 4(e) of these 
rules. 

(c) The Board or its designee shall not consider or review incomplete applications.  
An application for a certificate, firm permit, or examination, including any application for 
certificate or firm permit renewal, shall be deemed abandoned and any fee paid shall be forfeited 
if the applicant fails to complete the application within six (6) months of its original submission.  
All abandoned applications shall be destroyed one year from the date the partial application 
materials were received.  Applicants whose documents have been destroyed in accordance with 
this subsection and who reapply shall be required to submit new applications including all 
required documentation and fees. 

Section 13. Fees.   

(a) Fees paid during the course of the current calendar year may be applied to fees 
due.  Fees paid for certificates and firm permits are not prorated.   

(b) Certificate Fees: 

(i)  Wall Document:    $ 25.00 
 

(ii)  Active Status:     $         200.00 
 

(iii) Inactive Status:    $ 90.00 
 

(iv)  Active Status Renewal:   $ 190.00 
 

(v)  Inactive Renewal:    $            80.00 
 

(vi)  Retired Status (one-time):   $            50.00 
 

(vii) Reinstate:     $        1000.00 
 

(viii) Activate From Expired Status:  $           300.00 

(ix) Activate from Surrendered Status:  $  300.00 

(x) Activate from Inactive Status:  $ 210.00 

(xi) Activate from Retired Status:   $ 300.00 

(xii) Restore Inactive Status from Expired : $ 190.00 
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(xiii) Continuing professional education extension requested pursuant to chapter 
 5, section 8 of these rules:    $ 150.00 

 (c) Permit Fees: 

  (i) Firm Permit     $            170.00 

  (ii) Firm Permit Renewal:    $            160.00 

  (iii) Activate From Expired Status:  $             270.00 

  (iv) Reinstate:     $  1000.00  

 (d) Refunds. 

  (i) All refunds shall be subject to a $25 processing fee; 

  (ii) After the $25 processing fee has been assessed, the minimum allowable 
refund shall be $5.00. 

 (e) Other Fees: 

  (i) Non-sufficient Funds Fee:  $         25.00 

  (ii) Credit Card Charge back:  $         25.00 

  (iii) Duplicate/Reprinted Certificate: $         25.00 

  (iv) Each Certified Notice Fee unrelated to investigation/disciplinary action: 
$50.00 

  (v) Board Approved Ethics Course Verification Fee: $      50.00 per hour 
review cost charged to course vendor.  A minimum fee of $200.00 shall accompany the course 
vendor’s materials submitted for review and approval by the Board.  The Board staff is not 
authorized to refund any portion of fees collected. 
 

Section 14.   Reporting Convictions, Judgments, and Disciplinary Actions.  
 
 (a) Each certificate holder and each CPA firm’s designated certificate holder, on a 
form and in the manner prescribed by the board, shall disclose information specified in 
subsections (d), (e), and (f) of this section.  Disclosure shall be required upon initial application 
for an individual certificate or CPA firm permit.  Once licensed, disclosure shall be required 
within thirty (30) days of the imposition of discipline or judgment or with the renewal of the 
certificate or permit.  Actions previously reported do not need to be re-reported upon renewal. 
 
 (b) All information or documents disclosed or provided pursuant to the requirements 
of this section shall be maintained in an investigative file pursuant to chapter 7, section 21(c)(ii).   
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 (c) Disclosure shall include but is not limited to the following: 
 
  (i) The name of the court or regulatory/administrative entity involved; 
 
  (ii) The case number;  
 
  (iii) The names of the parties involved; 
 
  (iv) The type of reportable event; and 
 
  (v) A summary of the reportable events. 
 
 (d) Any conviction or finding of guilt or plea of nolo contendre to: 
 
  (i)  A felony;  
 
  (ii) Any crime an element of which is dishonesty or fraud; or  
 
  (iii) The denial, cancellation, revocation, suspension, or refusal to renew the 
authority to practice as a certified public accountant by any state, federal agency, or foreign 
authority for any cause other than failure to pay a fee. 
 
 (e) Imposition of a censure, reprimand, sanction, probation, civil penalty, fine, 
consent decree or order by any state board of accountancy, the AICPA, the Securities Exchange 
Commission,  Public Company Accounting Oversight Board, Internal Revenue Service, or 
foreign regulatory body that regulates the practice of accountancy. 
 
 (f) Any fully adjudicated judgment or settlement in a civil suit or arbitration 
proceeding entered after July 1, 2005 totaling more than $150,000 and based upon an allegation 
of dishonesty, fraud, or gross negligence in the practice of accounting, or any action that would 
constitute a violation of the rules of professional conduct promulgated by the board.  Notification 
under this section shall apply only to actions directly involving a certificate or permit holder’s 
practice of accounting in Wyoming. 
 
 Section 15. Incorporation by Reference. 
 

(a) The Board hereby incorporates by reference the following uniform rules which 
are referred to throughout the rules: 

 (i) Chapter 2 – Uniform Procedures, Fees, Costs and Charges for Inspecting, 
Copying, and Producing Public Records adopted by the Department of Administration and 
Information and effective September 6, 2016, found at: https://State of Wyoming Admin & Info 
Public Records Rule. 

 
(b) For these rules incorporated by reference: 

https://bit.ly/2vx9zhS
https://bit.ly/2vx9zhS
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(i) The Board has determined that incorporation of the full text in these rules 
would be cumbersome or inefficient given the length or nature of the rules: 

(ii) The incorporation by reference does not include any later amendments 
editions of the incorporated matter beyond the applicable date identified in subsections (a)(i) and 
(ii) of this section; and  

(iii)     The incorporated rules are maintained at 325 West 18th Street, Ste. 4, 
Cheyenne, Wyoming, 82002 and are available for public inspection and copying at cost at the 
same location. 
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Chapter 4 
Permits 

 
 Section 1. Authority. These rules are promulgated pursuant to Wyoming Statutes 
33-3-118, W.S. 33-3-119, and W.S. 33-3-120. 
 
 Section 2. Registration of Firms.     
 
 (a) All certificate holders who perform compilation or attest services outside of a 
permitted firm from a Wyoming office shall register and obtain permits.  A firm that does not 
have an office as defined in chapter 1, section 2(r) of these rules, but performs compilations for a 
client whose home office is in Wyoming and is not required to comply with the AICPA peer 
review requirements or some state’s peer review requirements must register with the Board and 
obtain a permit.  
  
 (b) CPA firms required to register shall meet the application requirements as follows: 
 
  (i) A corporation must file a copy of the filed articles of incorporation at the 
time of initial application and any subsequent amendments thereto in accordance with chapter 1 
of these rules.  
 
  (ii) A limited liability company must file a copy of the articles of organization 
with the secretary of state or other appropriate authority of the state at the time of initial 
application and any subsequent amendments thereto in accordance with chapter 1 of these rules. 
   
 (c) An application to register a firm shall be made on forms provided by the Board 
and upon the sworn statement of a designated certificate holder who holds an active Wyoming 
certificate or qualifies for practice privileges and is responsible for the CPA firm in the State of 
Wyoming.  All notifications required under this act and these rules shall be the responsibility of 
this designated certificate holder.  
 
 (d) Designated certificate holders shall register Wyoming office locations with the 
CPA firm registration and provide the following information:  
 
  (i) Office address, both physical and mailing, if different;  
 
  (ii) Phone number;     
 
  (iii) Name of certificate holder providing attest or compilation services at each 
location; and 
 
  (iv) A list of all office locations within Wyoming.   
 

(e) After issuance of a CPA firm permit, the firm shall practice under the name 
registered with the Board.   
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 Section 3.  Renewal/Activation. 
 
 (a) All CPA firm permits expire December 31st of each calendar year.  Renewal 
notifications shall be e-mailed to designated certificate holders no later than October 1st each 
calendar year. 
 
 (b) The designated certificate holder shall submit an application for renewal which 
shall be processed in the Board’s electronic licensing system no later than December 31st of each 
calendar year and be accompanied by the following:  
 
  (i)  A complete individual certificate renewal unless authorized to use practice 
privileges; 
 
  (ii) Copies of applicable amended articles of incorporation or articles of 
organization;  
 
  (iii) Applicable fees, to include outstanding certified notice fees as outlined in 
chapter 1, section 13(c)(ii) of these rules;  
 
  (iv) A list of all firm ownership, including certificate status and percentage 
ownership; and  
 
  (v) A list of all certificate holders associated with the firm.    
  
 (c) Firms eligible for practice privileges may activate an expired firm permit at any 
time and are subject to activation fees as set forth in chapter 1, section 13(c)(iii) of these rules. 
 
 Section 4. Non-certificate Holders. CPA firms whose ownership includes non-
certificate holders shall provide a list of the names of all certificate and non-certificate holder 
owners at initial registration and at the time of annual permit renewal.  This list shall document 
compliance with subsection (ii) of this section. 
 
  (i) Subsequent changes must be reported within sixty (60) days;  
 
  (ii) If the withdrawal of a certificate holder results in the CPA firm’s 
ownership being controlled by more than 49% of non-certificate holders, the CPA firm shall take 
corrective action within sixty (60) days to ensure the CPA firm complies with W.S. 33-3-
118(b)(xvi)and (xvii). 
 
 Section 5. Non-Resident Firms.  CPA firms that qualify for practice privileges but 
elect to obtain/maintain a permit in Wyoming shall comply with all provisions and requirements 
set forth in W.S. 33-3-118(b)(xiv) and (xv), W.S. 33-3-120, W.S. 33-3-132, and these rules.  
  
 Section 6. Refunds.  Refunds of firm permit fees paid may be processed at the 
discretion of the Board.  All requests for refunds must be submitted in writing to the Board office 
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within thirty (30) days of payment of the fee.  All refunds are subject to requirements in chapter 
1, section 13(d) of these rules.   
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Chapter 5 
Continuing Professional Education 

 
 Section 1. Authority.  These rules are promulgated pursuant to Wyoming Statute 33-
3-108(a)(iii) and W.S. 33-3-109(e). 

 
 Section 2. Definitions. 
 

(a) “Renewal Year” means the calendar year following any year in which a registrant 
holds an active certificate.   
 
 (b) “Third Party” means a person associated with or duly authorized by a CPE vendor 
or sponsor to represent that vendor or sponsor. 

 
Section 3. General Requirements. 
 
(a) A Continuing Professional Education (CPE) program qualifies as acceptable 

continuing education if it is a formal program of learning that contributes directly to the 
professional competence of a certificate holder in the practice of accounting as a CPA regardless 
of whether the holder practices in a public firm, in industry, in government, or in academia and 
verification of attendance or completion can be provided by a third party.  Selection of the 
appropriate courses will be at the discretion of the certificate holder and may be selected from 
any of the Fields of Study issued by NASBA’s Registry of CPE Sponsors. Holders may not 
report credits earned through completion of multiple identical courses completed within the same 
calendar year, whether the courses are offered by the same vendor or a closely related vendor.  
Holders shall be required to provide evidence that courses are different if the Board requires it.   
 
  (i) At least sixty-six (66%) (80 of the 120 credit requirement or 40 of the 60 
credit requirement found in subsection (c) of this section) of the credits shall be earned in fields 
of study that directly relate to a holder’s field of business as a CPA in the technical learning 
categories found in the Fields of Study That Qualify For Continuing Professional Education 
document incorporated by reference: 
 
   (A) Accounting; 
 
   (B) Accounting (Governmental); 
 
   (C) Auditing; 
 
   (D) Business Law; 
 
   (E) Economics; 
 
   (F) Finance; 
 
   (G) Information Technology; 
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   (H) Management Services; 
 
   (I) Regulatory Ethics; 
 
   (J) Specialized Knowledge; 
 
   (K) Statistics; or 
 
   (L) Taxes. 
   
  (ii) The balance of credits may be earned in non-technical learning activities 
that contribute to the professional competence of a CPA in fields of study that indirectly relate to 
the CPA’s field of business in categories found in the Fields of Study That Qualify For 
Continuing Professional Education document incorporated by reference:  
 
   (A) Behavioral Ethics; 
 
   (B) Business Management & Organization; 
 
   (C) Communications and Marketing; 
 
   (D) Computer Software & Applications; 
 

  (E) Personal Development; 
 

  (F) Personnel/Human Resources; or 
 

  (G) Production. 
 
 (b) Programs must be developed and conducted in compliance with the Statement on 
Standards for Continuing Professional Education (CPE) Programs incorporated by reference.   If 
called upon to do so by the Board, certificate holders must be prepared to demonstrate that 
providers/sponsors have complied with the Statement on Standards for Continuing Professional 
Education (CPE) Programs. 
 
 (c) Certificate holders are required to comply with the CPE requirements in the three 
(3) full calendar years immediately preceding the renewal year as set forth below: 
   

Rolling CPE Reporting Requirements  

Renewal Year First Calendar Year 
  

Second Calendar 
Year 

Third Calendar Year 
 

First Renewal 
Reporting 
Requirement 

0 credits to be 
reported for this first 

certificate year 
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Rolling CPE Reporting Requirements  

Second Renewal 
Reporting 
Requirement 

60 credits completed during this two calendar 
year period  

 

Thereafter 120 credits in this rolling three year period 
 

(i)  With the exception of the requirement stipulated in sub-section (iv)(A) 
below, certificate holders renewing an active certificate for the first time are excepted from the 
continuing professional education reporting requirements; 

 
(ii)  To renew an active certificate for the second time, a holder shall complete 

60 credits in the two calendar years immediately preceding the renewal year as reported and 
evidenced by the holder using the Board’s online CPE reporting tool; 

 
(iii) To renew an active certificate thereafter, a holder shall complete 120 

credits in the three calendar years immediately preceding the renewal year as reported and 
evidenced by the holder using the Board’s online CPE reporting tool.  

 
(iv)  All certificate holders who maintain their principal place of business in 

Wyoming are required to complete, as scheduled by the Board, and at least once every three-year 
continuing education period, four credits of continuing education in regulatory/professional 
ethics as approved by the Board.  Credits may be earned at separate courses but all four credits 
must be completed in the same calendar year.  To qualify for credit, the course must include a 
Wyoming statutes and rules element and other topics such as ethical reasoning or standards of 
professional conduct including those of other applicable regulatory bodies with a passing score 
of 80% unless satisfaction of the requirement is through participation in a group program. 
Holders who obtain initial certificates shall complete an approved regulatory/professional ethics 
course as set forth in section 3(d)(iv) of this chapter within six (6) months (month-end of date of 
initial certificate) of obtaining the initial certificate and every three year renewal period 
thereafter. 

 
(v)  If a reported/planned course as of the date of processing an online 

certificate renewal application is not completed by December 31st, an amended program 
attendance record must be submitted in the Board’s online licensing renewal/CPE reporting 
system reflecting the change.  If reported/planned courses are not completed by December 31st 
and are required to meet minimum CPE requirements, holders may request an extension of the 
CPE deadline in accordance with section 8 of this chapter and shall pay required fees at the time 
of the request.  
 
 (d) The continuing professional education requirement of a non-resident certificate 
holder not using practice privileges is met if the individual meets the continuing education 
requirement for renewal of a certificate, permit, or license in the state in which the individual’s 
principal office is located.  These individuals must, during the applicable renewal period 
imposed by the state where the principal office is located, complete four credits of continuing 
education in regulatory/professional ethics covering state specific statutes and rules and such 
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topics as ethical reasoning or standards of professional conduct including those of other 
applicable regulatory bodies.  The non-resident must certify that the continuing professional 
education requirement has been met in another state.  If there is no continuing education 
requirement in the non-resident’s principal place of business or the individual is not licensed in 
his principal place of business, the individual must comply with the requirements as though he 
was a resident of Wyoming.  Non-resident certificate holders are subject to the audit provisions 
of this chapter to verify the continuing professional education status of a non-resident. 
 
 (e) Courses offered by a single course sponsor or multiple course sponsors repeated 
during a renewal year are ineligible to be counted towards meeting minimum requirements.  
Holders are responsible for providing evidence that courses are different if the Board requires it. 
 
 (f) Inactive and Retired certificate holders are excepted from the continuing 
education requirements until such a time as they enter or re-enter practice under the provisions of 
the Act and the rules. 
 
 (g) The Board may suspend, relax, or grant exceptions to the continuing education 
requirements for instances of individual hardship or other good cause shown. 
 
 Section 4. Credit.   
 
 (a) Continuing Professional Education will be measured by program length with one 
fifty (50) minute period constituting one (1) credit unless the course is offered as a nano learning 
course.  Total credits will be determined based on the sum of segments with credits rounded 
down to the nearest half credit when the total is not divisible by 50 (180 minutes = 3.5 credits).  
Credit is granted in the calendar year in which the course is attended or completed unless the 
Board determines otherwise.  Credits reported in one certificate of completion or other evidence 
of completion may not be split between multiple calendar years.  Credit granted through the 
extension process will be granted in one year only to satisfy minimum CPE requirements and 
cannot be carried forward to meet future requirements.  
 
 (b) A nano learning program is a formal tutorial program designed to permit a 
participant to learn a given subject in 10-minute increments through the use of electronic media 
(including technology applications and processes and computer-based or web-based technology) 
and without interaction with a real-time instructor.  A holder shall not claim more than ten (10) 
full CPE credits (maximum of fifty (50) ten (10) minute nano learning programs) earned through 
nano learning programs within one (1) calendar year and all nano learning credits shall be 
offered through course sponsors listed on NASBA’s Learning Registry.  This subsection is 
effective January 1, 2020. 
 
 (c) Instructors, lecturers, discussion leaders, and speakers earn credit for the actual 
presentation period plus an additional two credits for each period for preparation (three (3) 
credits for each presentation credit). The maximum credit allowed in this category will be 50% 
of the total renewal requirement (no more than 60 credits in any three-year period).  Repetitious 
presentations will not qualify unless substantive changes requiring significant additional research 
and study have been made to the course.  
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 (d) Published articles, books, etc. authored by the certificate holder: Credit may be 
awarded for published articles or books for up to 25% of the renewal requirement (no more than 
30 credits).  Copies of articles or books must be provided at the holder’s expense.  
 
 (e) University or college courses: Each semester hour credit will equal fifteen (15) 
credits towards the requirement.  A quarter hour will equal ten (10) credits.  Credit earned for 
courses taken to obtain an initial baccalaureate degree that qualifies an individual to sit for the 
examination do not qualify under this section.  
 
 (f) Independent Study:  Credit in this area is limited to twelve (12) credits in any 
renewal period.   
 
 (g) Non-degree certificate programs: Accredited colleges and universities that offer 
certificate programs but do not post credit for the program on the official transcript must either 
provide a completion certificate to the participant or maintain an attendance log of participants, 
prepare and preserve an outline of the course, and ensure the course is led by a qualified 
instructor.  One (1) CPE credit shall be awarded for every 50 minutes of class time.     
 
 (h) When credits are limited by section 4(b), (c), (d) or (e), no future adjustments may 
be made to use credits previously limited.  
 
 Section 5. Evidence of Completion - Retention.  Primary responsibility for 
documenting that requirements have been met rests with the certificate holder.  Evidence to 
support fulfillment of those requirements shall be retained for a period of four (4) years after the 
completion of the course.  Certificate holders shall retain an outline or program for each course 
and evidence of attendance.  Holders shall report coursework and upload certificates of 
completion and other documentation as required into the online system provided by the Board.  
All documents uploaded to the online CPE reporting system shall be associated only with the 
course to which it pertains.  Documentation shall include the holder’s name; sponsor/provider 
name; course title, date and timeframe of the course; and the amount of credit granted as 
applicable calculated based upon a 50-minute hour. Satisfaction of completion of the 
requirements may be accomplished as follows:  
 
 (a) College or university courses: transcripts verifying completion or other verified 
documentation from an institution.  
 
 (b) Individual or independent study: Certificates of completion, signed statements 
from vendors or sponsors, copies of the applicable independent study contracts, or other 
acceptable documentation as determined by the Board.  
 
 (c) Group study: Sign in sheets, certificates of attendance, firm rosters signed by 
participants and attested to by the appropriate firm officials, other third party verification, or 
other acceptable documentation as determined by the Board.  
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 (d) Instructor/lecturer: a signed statement from the course provider or other 
appropriate official verifying the services were provided shall be obtained.  
 
 (e) Board approved regulatory/professional ethics course: Upon request all certificate 
holders shall submit a certificate of completion or certificate of attendance to the Board office 
using the online CPE reporting system. 
 
 Section 6. Activation. 
 
 (a) Before providing accounting services, an individual who has been excepted from 
the requirements or has otherwise not provided evidence of compliance with the CPE 
requirements shall make appropriate application and show compliance with the continuing 
education requirements.   
 
 (b) The Board may waive the requirement to complete requirements in a given 
calendar year period and consider a combination of 120 hours completed within a three (3) year 
period other than calendar years.   
 
 (c) The Board may allow a certificate holder to re-enter active practice without 
providing compliance with the continuing education requirements upon the condition that the 
applicant follow a particular future program or schedule of continuing education.    
 
 (d) The applicant shall document that an approved ethics course as set forth in section 
3 of this chapter has been completed within the three (3) years prior to re-entry. 
 
 Section 7. Controls and Reporting.  To renew an active certificate, on the online 
licensing renewal system and CPE reporting tool provided by the Board, each holder or each 
non-resident who does not report CPE to another state shall provide the following by reporting 
course details and uploading certificates of completion to the Board’s online licensing system:  
 
 (a) The number of CPE credits completed as requested;  
 
 (b) A list of the individual courses completed or to be completed prior to December 
31st of the calendar year subject to renewal including the following information:  
 
  (i) Sponsoring organization/provider/contractor; 
 
  (ii)  Title of program or description of content; 
 
  (iii) Course type (individual, group, lecture, etc.); 
 
  (iv)  Dates attended or completed; and 
 
  (v)  Credit claimed. 
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 Section 8.         Extensions.  The Board may, upon written request, extend the time 
within which certificate holders must comply with the requirements of this chapter for good 
cause.   
 
 (a) An applicant may request a ninety (90) day extension at the time of renewal upon 
payment of the required $150.00 CPE Extension Processing Fee in addition to the certificate 
renewal fee. All requests for 90-day extensions are subject to the $150.00 CPE Extension 
Processing Fee regardless of whether the request was intended or not. There shall be no refunds 
of the CPE Extension Processing Fee. 
 
 (b)       Any request for an additional extension in excess of ninety (90) days shall be 
submitted to the Board in writing no later than March 1st and outline good cause for granting the 
extension.  
 
 (c) Any applicant who requests or is granted an extension of time under this section 
shall submit documentation of completing the applicable course work no later two weeks after 
the expiration of the extension deadline and shall be audited under section 9 of this chapter.  
 
 (d) Any applicant who fails to complete the CPE requirement by the extended 
deadline shall be required to complete additional CPE credits equal to either the lesser of the 
shortage of credits or no more than sixteen (16) additional CPE credits.   The additional credits 
shall be completed no later than thirty (30) days from the extended deadline and shall not qualify 
for purposes of meeting any future CPE renewal requirement.  Failure to submit documentation 
of completion of the additional credits by the deadline shall result in the initiation of an 
investigation and possible disciplinary action in accordance with chapter 7 of the rules.  
 
 Section 9. Verification.  The Board shall verify compliance with the CPE 
requirements on a test basis (to a maximum of 20% audit) or as otherwise necessary. Board staff 
or Board members shall determine whether CPE credits claimed meet the requirements set forth 
in this chapter.  Upon a finding that CPE credits or the documentation provided to evidence CPE 
credits do not meet the requirements set forth in this chapter, the Board staff or Board members 
may disqualify course credits claimed and shall notify the holder of the findings. 
 
 (a) In the form requested by the Board, holders shall submit evidence of compliance 
with the CPE requirements. 
 
 (b) Non-resident certificate holders not using practice privileges shall comply by 
providing evidence and reporting of continuing professional education in a form required by the 
Board and by submitting a copy of the applicable renewal application in the state of residence 
and evidence of completion of all courses required by the residency state, to include the 
completion of the ethics course required in section 3(e) of this chapter for the applicable renewal 
period or through another Board approved CPE audit process. All CPE documentation required 
must be recorded in the Board’s CPE reporting system.  If no documents were submitted to the 
state of residence, the holder shall comply with subsection (a) above. 
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 (c) A holder shall remedy any deficiency discovered within ninety (90) days of 
formal notification by the Board.  Deficiency credits shall qualify for credit in the initial 
reporting period and cannot be duplicated for purposes of determining the applicable requirement 
in any other reporting period.  
 
 (d) Any certificate holder found deficient shall be required to complete additional 
CPE credits equal to the lesser of the shortage of credits but not more than sixteen (16) additional 
CPE credits.   The additional credits shall be completed within thirty (30) days of the date 
advised of the deficiency.   Deficiency credits shall not qualify for purposes of meeting any 
future CPE renewal requirement.  Failure to submit documentation of completion by the deadline 
shall result in the initiation of disciplinary action.  
 
 (e) Programs found to be out of compliance with the general standards may be 
disqualified and result in the requirement that the holder remedy any deficiency caused pursuant 
to subsections (c) and (d) of this section.   
 
 (f) Certificate holders found deficient shall be included in the CPE audit for two 
renewal cycles following the deficiency. 
 

Section 10. Incorporation by Reference. 
 

(a) The Statement on Standards for Continuing Professional Education (CPE) 
Programs adopted by the National Association of State Boards of Accountancy and the 
American Institute of Certified Public Accountants and last revised August 4, 2016, found at: 
https://www.nasbaregistry.org/__media/Documents/Others/Statement_on_Standards_for_CPE_P
rograms-2016.pdf. 

 
(b) Fields of Study That Qualify For Continuing Professional Education adopted by 

the National Association of State Boards of Accountancy and last revised July 1, 2016, found at: 
https://www.nasbaregistry.org/__media/Documents/RegistryPolicies/FieldsOfStudy2016.pdf. 

 
(c) For these rules incorporated by reference: 
 

(i) The Board has determined that incorporation of the full text in these rules 
would be cumbersome or inefficient given the length or nature of the rules: 

(ii) The incorporation by reference does not include any later amendments 
editions of the incorporated matter beyond the applicable date identified in subsections (a)(i) and 
(ii) of this section; and  

(iii)     The incorporated rules are maintained at 325 West 18th Street, Ste. 4, 
Cheyenne, Wyoming, 82002 and are available for public inspection and copying at cost at the 
same location. 

 

https://www.nasbaregistry.org/__media/Documents/Others/Statement_on_Standards_for_CPE_Programs-2016.pdf
https://www.nasbaregistry.org/__media/Documents/Others/Statement_on_Standards_for_CPE_Programs-2016.pdf
https://www.nasbaregistry.org/__media/Documents/RegistryPolicies/FieldsOfStudy2016.pdf
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CHAPTER 1Chapter 1 
GENERAL PROVISIONSGeneral Provisions 

 
Section 1. Authority.  The Wyoming Board of Certified Public Accountants hereby 

adopts and promulgates the following rules and regulations as authorized by Wyoming Statute 
33-3-108(a) the Act and the Wyoming Administrative Procedure Act, and W.S. 16-3-101 et 
seq103(j)(ii). 

 
Section 2. Definitions.  Unless otherwise stated or required by the context, the 

definitions set forth in this section shall apply to the construction and interpretation of any rules, 
regulation, interpretations and statements of reason adopted by the WyomingBoardof Certified 
Public Accountants. 

 
(a) “Active Status” means the status required when a certificate holder performs any 

service as defined inat W.S. 33-3-109(c)and Section 2(dd) of this chapter for an employer, 
another person, or an entity not wholly owned by the certificate holder with or without 
compensation. 

 
(b) “Advertise” means the use ofany written or graphic statement made in any 

manner whichthat is used to advise, announce, apprise, command, give notice of, inform or make 
known that services are offered or available.  It may include but is not limited to statements and 
representations made in a newspaper or other publication, radio or televisionads, or the use of 
any other notice, handbill, sign, catalog, letter, electronic media, or printed document whichthat 
indicates services are offered or available. 

 
(c) “Agreed-Upon Procedure” means a professional service whereby a holder is 

engaged to issue a written finding that: 

(i) Iis based on specific procedures that the specified parties agree are 
sufficient for their purposes; 

(ii) Iis restricted to the specified parties; and 

(iii) Ddoes not provide an opinion or negative assurance. 

(d) “AICPA” or “Institute” means the American Institute of Certified Public 
Accountants or successor organizations. 

 
(e) “Audit” means a professional service whereby the holder is engaged to examine 

financial statements, items, accounts, or elements of a financial statement, prepared by 
management, in order for an opinion to be expressed on financial statements, items, accounts, or 
elements as to whether the financial statements are presented in conformity with generally 
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accepted accounting principles or other comprehensive basis of accounting or a performance 
audit performed in compliance with the Government Auditing Standards as referenced in 
Cchapter 6, Ssection 3(b) of these rules. 

 
(f) “Certified Public Accountant” or “CPA” is a person holding a certified public 

accountant certificate issued pursuant to W.S. 33-3-109, W.S. 33-3-115 or W.S. 33-3-116 or 
whichthat has not been suspended, revoked, surrendered, or expired or a person who holds a 
certificate based on meeting the substantial equivalency standards and availing himself of 
practice privileges. 

 
(g) “Client” is any person or organization other than the holder’s employer that 

engages a certificate or permit holder to perform professional services. 
 
(h) “Commission” is a fee, received or paid by others, whichthat is calculated as a 

percentage of the total sale or service. 
 
(i) “Compilation” means a professional service as defined in the Statements on 

Standards for Accounting and Review Services as set forth in Chapter 6, Section 3(d). 
 
(ji) “Contingent Fee” is a fee established for the performance ofperforming any 

service pursuant to an arrangement in which no fee will be charged unless a specified finding or 
result is attained, or in which the amount of the fee is otherwise dependent upon the finding or 
result of such service.  A fee may vary depending, for example, on the complexity of the services 
rendered. 

 
(k) “CPA Firm” is a partnership, limited liability partnership, limited liability 

company, flexible limited liability company, sole proprietorship, or any type of corporation 
engaged in the practice of public accounting. 

 
(lj) “Designated Certificate Holder (DCH)” is the individual certificate holder 

responsible for registering the CPA firm and providing all CPA firm and office notifications 
required under W.S. 33-3-118, and W.S. 33-3-119, as well as other notifications required by 
these Rrulesand Regulations. 

 
 (m) “Enterprise” is any person or entity, whether or not organized for profit, for which 
a certificate holder provides public accounting services. 

 
(nk) “Financial Statements” means statements and related footnotesrelated thereto that 

undertake to present an actual or anticipated financial position as of a point in time, or results of 
operations, cash flow, or changes in financial position for a period of time, in conformity with 



1-3 
 

generally accepted accounting principles or another comprehensive basis of accounting.  The 
term does not include incidental financial data included in management advisory services reports 
to support recommendations to a client, nor does it include tax returns and supporting schedules. 

 
(ol) “Foreign” means any placesituated outside of the fifty fiveUnited Sstates or its 

territoriesjurisdictions which includes all fifty states and the Commonwealth of the Northern 
Mariana Islands, Guam, Puerto Rico, the District of Columbia and the Virgin Islands as 
recognized by the United States of America. 

 
(pm) “Holder” is a person who has been awardedissued a CPA certificate by the Board 

under pursuant to W.S. 33-3-109;, under W.S. 33-3-115; or W.S. 33-3-116 and chapter 3 of these 
rules, or a CPA firm that has been issued a permit under pursuant to W.S. 33-3-118, W.S. 33-3-
120, and Cchapter 4 of these Rrules and Regulations or a person or firm availing it or himself or 
itself of practice privileges. 

 
(qn) “Holding Out” means any action initiated by a holder which states or implies he is 

skilled in the practice of accounting, or any action that informs others of the CPA status.  Any 
action includes but is not limited to any oral or written representation to another regarding 
accounting skills or the CPA status, the use of theusing a CPA designation on business cards or 
letterhead, the displaying a of thecertificate, a listing as a CPA in the local telephone directories, 
or reference to any of the AICPA professional standards or any of the standards established in 
Cchapter 6, Ssection 3 of these Rrulesand Regulations. 

 
(ro) “Inactive Status” means the status requiredavailable when acertificate holder does 

not perform any service as defined in W.S. 33-3-109(c)and Section 2(dd) of this chapter for an 
employer, another person, or an entity not wholly owned by the certificate holder, with or 
without compensation.   

 
(s) “License” is used synonymously with the term “certificate” or “permit” as 

appropriate in the context of the rules. 
 
(tp) “Licensee” is used synonymously with the term means “holder” whether licensed 

in this State or availing himself of practice privilegesas defined in section 2(m) of this chapter. 
 
(u) Masculine/singular terms when used in these provision shall also include the 

feminine/plural. 
 
(vq) “NASBA” means National Association of State Boards of Accountancy. 
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(wr) “Office” means any location within the State of Wyoming where the practice of 
public accounting is performed by certificate holders as a CPA firm. 

 
(xs) “Organization” is a corporation, partnership, limited liability company, sole 

proprietorship, association, business trust, estate, trust, two or more persons having a joint or 
common interest, or any other legal or commercial entity. 

 
(yt) “Original Certificate” means the certificate issued to an individual as a result of 

passing the Uniform CPA examinationas a Wyoming candidate and meeting the requirements as 
set forth in W.S. 33-3-109(a) and chapter 3, section 2 of these rules. 

 
(z) “PCAOB” means Public Company Accounting Oversight Board. 
 
(aau) “Peer Review” means a review under a practice monitoring program as approved 

by the Board such as the programs sponsored by the American Institute of Certified Public 
Accountants (AICPA). 

 
(bb) “Permit” or “Permit-to-Practice” is a permit to engage in the practice of public 

accounting as a certified public accounting firm issued by the Board under W.S. 33-3-118, W.S. 
33-3-120, Chapter 4 of the Rules and Regulations which is in good standing. 

 
(cc) “Permit Holder” is a CPA firm pursuant to W.S. 33-3-118, W.S. 33-3-120, and 

Chapter 4 of the Rules and Regulations which is in good standing. 
 
(dd) “Practice of Public Accounting”, “Practice of Certified Public Accounting”, or 

“practicing” means a holder providing any type of service listed in Chapter 3, Section 1(b)(i-xxi) 
or providing advice involving the use of accounting skills; any auditing, review, or compilation 
service; any management advisory service; or any tax or consulting service; or any litigation 
support service, including but not limited to expert witness testimony. 

 
(eev) “Practice Privilege” means the ability to practice as a certificate or permit holder 

in Wyoming without obtaining a Wyoming certificate based on meeting the criteria established 
in W.S. 33-3-116(a) and Cchapter 10 of these rules or a permit based on W.S. 33-3-118(b)(xiv) 
and (xv). 

(ffw) “Professional Services” are any services performed or offered to be performed by 
a holder in the practice of public accounting. 

 
(ggx) “Reciprocal Certificate” means a certificate issued to an individual based on a 

certificate issued in another jurisdiction. 
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(hhy) “Referral Fee” is a fee paid by a holder to any person in return for recommending 
or referring any service of a holder to any personin exchange for producing a purchase of goods 
or services. 

 
(iiz) “Registrant” means any certificate holder, permit holder or person or firm availing 

himself or itself of practice privileges under the provisions of the certified public accountants’ 
Aact and theseRrulesand Regulations. 

 
(jjaa) “Report” when used with reference to financial statements means an opinion, 

report, or other form of language that states or implies assurance as to the reliability of any 
financial statement and that also includes or is accompanied by any statement or implication that 
the person or CPA firm issuing it has special knowledge or competence in accounting or 
auditing. Such a statement or implication of special knowledge or competence may arise from 
the use by the issuer of the report of names or titles indicating that the person or CPA firm is a 
certified public accountant or auditor, or from the use of language in the report itself.  The term 
“report” includes any form of language whichthat disclaims an opinion when such form ofthe 
language is conventionally understood to imply any positive assurance as to the reliability of the 
financial statements referred to and/or special competence on the part of the person or CPA firm 
issuing such language; and it includes any otherform of language that is conventionally 
understood to imply suchan assurance and/or other special knowledge or competence. 

 
(kkbb) “Retired Status” means the status available when a certificate holder has reached 

the age of sixty-five (65) or is disabled and does not no longer performs any service for 
compensation as defined in W.S. 33-3-109(c)and Section 2(dd) of this chapter for an employer, 
another person, or an entity not wholly owned by the certificate holder,with or without 
compensation, and has reached the age of fifty-five (55) or is disabled.   

 
(llcc) “Review” means a professional service as defined in the Statement on Standards 

for Accounting and Review Services as set forth in Cchapter 6, Ssection 3(d) of these rules. 
 
(mmdd)“Sole Proprietorship” exists whenmeans a certificate holder performs accounting 

services as defined in W.S. 33-3-109(c) and section 2(dd) of this Chapterfor any person or 
organization other than his employer, himself, or an entity wholly owned by himself, is not 
organized as any other formal entity, and the certificate holder is compensated for services 
provided. 

 
(nnee) “Surrendered Status” means the certificate or affidavit of lost certificate has been 

returned to the Board’s office.  A person who surrenders a certificate is no longerconsidered a 
Wyoming CPA. 
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(ooff) “Work papers” means the holders’ records of procedures applied, the tests 
performed, the information obtained, and the conclusions reached in attest services, tax, 
consulting, special report, or other engagements.  Work papers include, but are not limited to, 
work programs used to perform professional services, analyses, memoranda, letters of 
confirmation and representation, checklists, copies or abstracts of company documents, and 
scheduleds of commentaries prepared or obtained by the holder.  The forms include, but are not 
limited to, handwritten, typed, printed, word processed, photocopied, photographed, 
computerized data, or any other form of letters, words, pictures, sounds or symbols. 

 
(pp) “W.S.” means the Wyoming Statutes in their most recently published form, 

including all amendments. 

Section 3. Chairman.  The Cchairman of the Board shall preside at all meetings and 
shallperformsuch other duties as the Board may direct.  In the absence of the Cchairman, the 
Secretary shall perform the duties of the Cchairman. 

Section 4. Secretary.  In addition to thosedutiesimposed under pursuant to W.S. 33-
3-104, the Board Ssecretaryof the Board shall maintain, or direct the staff to maintain, a record 
of the transactions and business of the Board.  The record shall include a record of any 
certificates and permits issued and of any fees paidreceived. 

Section 5.   Meetings.   

(a) The Board shall meet at least three times a year by resolution establish regular 
meetings at the Board’s office or other location as identified in public notices issued by the 
Board office.  Additional meetings and conference call meetings may be scheduled as 
determined by the Board.  All meetings shall be scheduled and conducted in compliance with 
W.S. 16-4-401 et seq. 

(b) The Board shall elect annually from among its members a chair and a secretary.  
The elected Board officers shall assume the duties of their respective offices at the conclusion of 
the meeting at which they were elected.  TheyBoard officers  shall serve a term of one year, but 
and shall be eligible for reelection. 

Section 6. Interpretations.  The Board will periodically issue interpretations 
necessary for the implementation of the Act. Appointment of Committees.  The Board may 
appoint committees to facilitate the performance of its duties.  Committee appointments may be 
“standing” or “ad hoc” as necessary to address complaint investigations, conduct peer review 
oversight, review rules and make recommendations to the Board for rules promulgation, review 
applications, or other matters as determined by the Board. 

Section 7. Delegation of Temporary Licensure Authority.  The Board may 
delegate the authority to issue temporary certificates and firm permits to Board members, 



1-7 
 

Application Review Committees, or Board staff.  Temporary certificates and firm permits issued 
under this section shall be valid for no longer than 120 days or until formal Board action to ratify 
issuance has been taken to render final Board approval. 

Section 78. Records Retention.  The Board shall comply with records retention 
schedules which were formally adopted by the Board on May 11, 2009 set forth by the State of 
Wyoming. 

Section 89. Language of Record.  The Board shall provide Eexaminations, 
applications, correspondence, and all other documents will be provided in the English language 
only.  Requests for assistance with foreign language impediments will be considered on a case-
by-case basis.  If provided, any and all costs associated with usage examinations, interpreters, or 
other aids will be borne solely by the applicant. 

Section 910. Change of Name, Address, or Employment. 

(a) All certificate holders and DCH’s shall notify the Board of any changes in name, 
address, email address, telephone number, or employment within sixty (60) days of the change.   

(b) Any notification from the Board required or permitted under the Ccertified 
Ppublic Aaccountants’ Aact sent to the certificate holder, permit holder, or DCH shall be sent to 
the last known name and address, or e-mail address provided to the Board by the holder, and 
shall be deemed proper service on saidthe holder. 

Section 1011. Change in Form, Ownership, Scope of Practice or CPA firm Name.   

(a) The DCH shall notify the Board as may be applicable as follows: 

(ai) Wwithin sixty (60) days of any changes in scope of services which affect 
the scheduling or timing of peer reviews; 

(bii) Wwithin sixty (60) days of the termination or transfer of a sole 
proprietorship, the admission or withdrawal of a partner, shareholder, member, or non-certificate 
holder from any permitted CPA firm. 

(ciii) Wwithin sixty (60) days of the admission or withdrawal of any certificate 
holder acting in the capacity of as a resident manager of any office or any change in the 
certificate holder designated to represent the firm; 

(div) Wwithin sixty (60) days of any CPA firm name change accompanied by 
applicable amended articles of incorporation or articles of organization.   
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Section 1112. Applications. 

(a) All certificate and firm permit applications shall be reviewed and may be 
approved, subject to Board ratification, by the Bboard’s staff or an Application Review 
Ccommittee comprisedcomposed of the Bboard’s staff and one (1) Bboard member pursuant to 
chapter 7, section 4 of these rules. 

(b) If an application is denied, the reasons for denial shall be communicated to the 
applicant in writing.  The applicant shall have the right of reconsideration based on submission 
of new information and/or an appearance before the Board with the opportunity to demonstrate 
to the Board that the applicable requirements are met.  Any request for reconsideration shall be 
submitted within thirty (30) days of the denial decision. 

(cb) The Board reserves the right tomay deny any application for any of the following 
reasons: 

(i) The applicant’s failure to furnish all information required on the 
application and required application attachments; 

(ii) The applicant engages in any actions listed in W.S. 33-3-121(a)(i) through 
(xixiii); 

(iii) The applicant falsifiescation of information required by the application 
process; or 

(iv) This or any other U.S. board of accountancy finds that the applicant a 
finding of cheating committed an act of misconduct on the CPA examination as set forth in 
chapter 2, Ssection 4(e) of Chapter 2 these rules or as issued by any United States Board of 
Accountancy. 

(c) The Board or its designee shall not consider or review incomplete applications.  
An application for a certificate, firm permit, or examination, including any application for 
certificate or firm permit renewal, shall be deemed abandoned and any fee paid shall be forfeited 
if the applicant fails to complete the application within six (6) months of its original submission.  
All abandoned applications shall be destroyed one year from the date the partial application 
materials were received.  Applicants whose documents have been destroyed in accordance with 
this subsection and who reapply shall be required to submit new applications including all 
required documentation and fees. 

Section 1213. Fees.   

(a) Fees paid during the course of the current calendar year may be applied to fees 
due.  Fees paid for certificates and firm permits are not prorated.  Filing dates and assessment of 
related fees shall be established pursuant to W.S. 16-4-303. 
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(ab) Certificate Fees: 

(i)  Wall Document:    $ 25.00 
 

(ii)  Active Status:     $         200.00 
 

(iii) Inactive Status:    $ 90.00 
 

(iv)  Paper Active Renewal    $         200.00 
 

(viv) Electronic Active Status Renewal:  $ 190.00 
 

(iv)  Paper Inactive Renewal:   $    90.00 
 

(viiv)  Electronic Inactive Status Renewal:  $            80.00 
 

(viivi) Retired Status (one-time):   $            50.00 
 

(ixvii) Reinstate:     $        1000.00 
 

(xviii) Activate From Expired Status:  $           300.00 

(ix) Activate from Surrendered Status:  $  300.00 

(x) Activate from Inactive Status:  $ 210.00 

(xi) Activate from Retired Status:   $ 300.00 

(xii) Restore Inactive Status from Expired: $ 190.00 

(xiii) Continuing professional education extension requested pursuant to chapter 
 5, section 8 of these rules:   $ 150.00 
 
(xi)  Active Paper Late Fee (11-1):   $            50.00 

 
(xii) Expired Late Fee (12-31):   $          100.00 

 
(xiii) Inactive Late Fee (12-31):   $        25.00 

 (bc) Permit Fees: 

  (i) Firm Permit:     $            170.00 
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  (ii) Paper Renewal:    $            170.00 

  (iiiii) Electronic Firm Permit Renewal:  $            160.00 

  (iv) Late Paper Renewal (11/1):   $              50.00 

  (v) Expired Late Fee (12/31):   $    100.00 

  (viiii) Activate From Expired Status:  $             270.00 

(iv) Reinstate:     $  1000.00 

 (c) The following fees may be assessed for the costs and services required to provide 
copies or printouts of public records: 

  (i) name and address rosters (printed or electronic; annual register) - $50; 

  (ii) photocopies - $.10 each; 

  (iii) applicable postage charges; 

  (iv) applicable hourly pay rate for staff time involved to produce printouts or 
copies; and 

  (v) costs of computer disks, document mailers, envelopes and other supplies 
as applicable. 

 (d) Refunds. 

  (i) All refunds shall be subject to a $25 processing fee; 

  (ii) After the $25 processing fee has been assessed, the minimum allowable 
refund shall be $5.00. 

 (e) Other Fees: 

  (i) NSFNon-sufficient Funds Fee: $         25.00 

  (ii) Credit Card Charge back:  $         25.00 

  (iii) Duplicate/Reprinted Certificate: $         15.0025.00 

  (iv) Each Certified Notice Fee unrelated to investigation/disciplinary action: 
$50.00 

  (v) Board Approved Ethics Course Verification Fee: $       100.00**50.00 
per hour review cost charged to course vendor.  A minimum fee of $200.00 shall accompany the 



1-11 
 

course vendor’s materials submitted for review and approval by the Board.  The Board staff is 
not authorized to refund any portion of fees collected. 
 
**No fee for initial review and minor revisions; fee may apply in the event of multiple reviews 
and/or major revisions. 
 

Section 14.   Reporting Convictions, Judgments, and Disciplinary Actions.  
 
 (a) Each certificate holder and each CPA firm’s designated certificate holder, on a 
form and in the manner prescribed by the board, shall disclose information specified in 
subsections (d), (e), and (f) of this section.  Disclosure shall be required upon initial application 
for an individual certificate or CPA firm permit.  Once licensed, disclosure shall be required 
within thirty (30) days of the imposition of discipline or judgment or with the renewal of the 
certificate or permit.  Actions previously reported do not need to be re-reported upon renewal. 
 
 (b) All information or documents disclosed or provided pursuant to the requirements 
of this section shall be maintained in an investigative file pursuant to chapter 7, section 21(c)(ii).   
 
 (c) Disclosure shall include but is not limited to the following: 
 
  (i) The name of the court or regulatory/administrative entity involved; 
 
  (ii) The case number;  
 
  (iii) The names of the parties involved; 
 
  (iv) The type of reportable event; and 
 
  (v) A summary of the reportable events. 
 
 (d) Any conviction or finding of guilt or plea of nolo contendre to: 
 
  (i)  A felony;  
 
  (ii) Any crime an element of which is dishonesty or fraud; or  
 
  (iii) The denial, cancellation, revocation, suspension, or refusal to renew the 
authority to practice as a certified public accountant by any state, federal agency, or foreign 
authority for any cause other than failure to pay a fee. 
 
 (e) Imposition of a censure, reprimand, sanction, probation, civil penalty, fine, 
consent decree or order by any state board of accountancy, the AICPA, the Securities Exchange 
Commission,  Public Company Accounting Oversight Board, Internal Revenue Service, or 
foreign regulatory body that regulates the practice of accountancy. 
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 (f) Any fully adjudicated judgment or settlement in a civil suit or arbitration 
proceeding entered after July 1, 2005 totaling more than $150,000 and based upon an allegation 
of dishonesty, fraud, or gross negligence in the practice of accounting, or any action that would 
constitute a violation of the rules of professional conduct promulgated by the board.  Notification 
under this section shall apply only to actions directly involving a certificate or permit holder’s 
practice of accounting in Wyoming. 
 
 Section 15. Incorporation by Reference. 
 

(a) The Board hereby incorporates by reference the following uniform rules which 
are referred to throughout the rules: 

 (i) Chapter 2 – Uniform Procedures, Fees, Costs and Charges for Inspecting, 
Copying, and Producing Public Records adopted by the Department of Administration and 
Information and effective September 6, 2016, found at: https://State of Wyoming Admin & Info 
Public Records Rule. 

 
(b) For these rules incorporated by reference: 

(i) The Board has determined that incorporation of the full text in these rules 
would be cumbersome or inefficient given the length or nature of the rules: 

(ii) The incorporation by reference does not include any later amendments 
editions of the incorporated matter beyond the applicable date identified in subsections (a)(i) and 
(ii) of this section; and  

(iii)     The incorporated rules are maintained at 325 West 18th Street, Ste. 4, 
Cheyenne, Wyoming, 82002 and are available for public inspection and copying at cost at the 
same location. 

 

https://bit.ly/2vx9zhS
https://bit.ly/2vx9zhS
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CHAPTER 4Chapter 4 
PERMITS Permits 

 
 Section 1. Authority. These rules are promulgated pursuant to Wyoming Statutes 
33-3-118, W.S. 33-3-119, and W.S. 33-3-120. 
 
 Section 12. Registration of Firms.     
 
 (a)  Partnerships, corporations, limited liability companies, or sole proprietorships 
shall register the entity and obtain a permit prior to rendering professional services when:  
 
  (i)  an office as defined in Chapter 1, Section 2(w) exists and attest services as 
defined in W. S. 33-3-102(a)(vi) and in subsection (b) of this section are provided; 
 
  (ii)  an office as defined in Chapter 1, Section 2(w) exists and the entity or 
individuals associated with it hold out as CPA(s) in any manner; 
 
  (iii)  an office as defined in Chapter 1, Section 2(w) exists, a majority interest 
in the entity is owned by CPAs, and services as defined in W. S. 33-3-109(c) and Chapter 1, 
Section 2(dd) and Section 2(e) are provided; 
 
  (iv)  the firm does not have an office as defined in Chapter 1, Section 2(w) but 
performs any audit in accordance with the Statements on Auditing Standards, any examination of 
prospective financial information in accordance with the Statements on Standards for Attestation 
Engagements, or any engagement in accordance with the PCAOB auditing standards when these 
services are performed for a client whose home office is in Wyoming; or   
 
  (v)  the firm does not have an office as defined in Chapter 1, Section 2(w), 
performs any attest services as defined in W. S. 33-3-102 (a)(vi)(B) for a client whose home 
office is in Wyoming and is not required to comply with the AICPA peer review requirements or 
some state’s peer review requirements. 
        
 (ba) All certificate holders who perform compilation or attest services outside of a 
permitted firm from a Wyoming office shall register and obtain permits. (i)  Aa firm that does 
not have an office as defined in Cchapter 1, Ssection 2(r) of these rules, but performs 
compilations or attest services for a client whose home office is in Wyoming and is not required 
to comply with the AICPA peer review requirements or some state’s peer review requirements 
must register with the Board and obtain a permit.  
  
 (cb) CPA firms required to register shall meet the application requirements as follows: 
 
  (i) A corporation must file a copy of the filed articles of incorporation at the 
time of initial application and any subsequent amendments thereto in accordance with Cchapter 1 
of these Rrulesand Regulations.  
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(A) The practice of public accounting in Wyoming is permitted in the 
professional corporation form in compliance with the additional requirements of W.S. 17-3-101 
through 104 specifically but not limited to the requirement of W.S. 17-3-101 that all owners of 
capital stock be licensed or permitted under Wyoming law and the requirements of W.S. 17-3-
103 with respect to corporate name. 
 
  (ii) A limited liability company must file a filed copy of the articles of 
organization with the secretary of state or other appropriate authority of the state at the time of 
initial application and any subsequent amendments thereto in accordance with Cchapter 1 of 
these Rrulesand Regulations. 
   
 (dc) An application to register a firm shall be made on forms provided by the Board 
and upon the affidavitsworn statement of a designated certificate holder who holds an active 
Wyoming certificate or qualifies for practice privileges and is responsible for the CPA firm in 
the State of Wyoming.  All notifications required under this act and these Rrulesand Regulations 
shall be the responsibility of this designated certificate holder.  
 
 (ed) Designated certificate holders shall register all Wyoming office locations with the 
CPA firm registration and provide the following information:  
 
  (i) Office address, both physical and mailing, if different;  
 
  (ii) Phone number;     
 
  (iii) Name of certificate holder providing attest or compilation services at each 
location; and 
 
  (iv) A list of all office locations within Wyoming. 
 

(e) After issuance of a CPA firm permit, the firm shall practice under the name 
registered with the Board.   
  
 Section 23.  Renewal/Activation. 
 
 (a) All CPA firm permits expire December 31st of each calendar year.  Renewal 
notifications shall bemailed or e-mailed to designated certificate holders no later than October 1st  
ofeach calendar year. 
 
 (b) The designated certificate holder shall submit an application for renewal which 
shall be postmarked or receivedprocessed in the Board’s electronic licensing systemoffice no 
later than November 1December 31st of each calendar year and be accompanied by the 
following:  
 
  (i)  his A complete individual certificate renewal unless authorized to use 
practice privileges; 
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  (ii) Ccopies of applicable amended articles of incorporation or articles of 
organization; and  
 
  (iii) Aapplicable fees, to include late andoutstanding certified notice fees as 
outlined in Cchapter 1, Ssection 1213(c)(ii) of these rules;  
 
  (iv) A list of all firm ownership, including certificate status and percentage 
ownership; and  
 
  (v) A list of all certificate holders associated with the firm.    
  
 (c) Firms eligible for practice privileges may activate an expired firm permit at any 
time and are subject to activation fees as set forth in Cchapter 1, Ssection 1213(c)(iii) of these 
rules. 
 
 Section 34. Non-certificate Holders. CPA firms whose ownership includes non-
certificate holders shall provide a listing of the names of all certificate and non-certificate holder 
owners at initial registration and at the time of annual permit renewal.  This listing shall 
document compliance with subsection (ii) of this section. 
 
  (i) sSubsequent changes must be reported within sixty (60) days;  
 
  (ii) iIf the withdrawal of a certificate holder results in the CPA firm’s 
ownership being controlled by more than 49% of non-certificate holders, the CPA firm shall take 
corrective action within sixty (60) days to ensure the CPA firm complies with W.S. 33-3-
118(b)(xvi)and (xvii). 
 
 Section 45. Non-Resident Firms.  CPA firms that qualify for practice privileges but 
elect to obtain/maintain a permit in Wyoming shall comply with all provisions and requirements 
set forth in W.S. 33-3-118(b)(xiv) and (xv), W.S. 33-3-120, W.S. 33-3-132, and these Rrulesand 
Regulations.  
  
 Section 6. Refunds.  Refunds of firm permit fees paid may be processed at the 
discretion of the Board.  All requests for refunds must be submitted in writing to the Board office 
within thirty (30) days of payment of the fee.  All refunds are subject to requirements in chapter 
1, section 13(d) of these rules.   
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CHAPTER 5Chapter 5 
CONTINUING PROFESSIONAL EDUCATION Continuing Professional Education 

 
 Section 1. General Requirements Authority.  These rules are promulgated pursuant 
to Wyoming Statute 33-3-108(a)(iii) and W.S. 33-3-109(e). 

(a) A program qualifies as acceptable continuing education if it is a 
formal program of learning which contributes directly to the professional competence of 
a certificate holder in the practice of accounting or is directly related to the holder’s field 
of business and verification of attendance or completion can be provided by a third party.  

 
(b) A program contributes to professional competence if it maintains or 

improves the certificate holder’s current professional knowledge.  Selection of the 
appropriate courses will be at the discretion of the certificate holder and may be selected 
from any of the following fields of study: 

 
 Section 2. Definitions. 
 

(a) “Renewal Year” means the calendar year following any year in which a registrant 
holds an active certificate.   
 
 (b) “Third Party” means a person associated with or duly authorized by a CPE vendor 
or sponsor to represent that vendor or sponsor. 

 
Section 23. General Requirements. 
 
(a) A Continuing Professional Education (CPE) program qualifies as acceptable 

continuing education if it is a formal program of learning that contributes directly to the 
professional competence of a certificate holder in the practice of accounting as a CPA regardless 
of whether the holder practices in a public firm, in industry, in government, or in academia and 
verification of attendance or completion can be provided by a third party.  Selection of the 
appropriate courses will be at the discretion of the certificate holder and may be selected from 
any of the Fields of Study issued by NASBA’s Registry of CPE Sponsors. Holders may not 
report credits earned through completion of multiple identical courses completed within the same 
calendar year, whether the courses are offered by the same vendor or a closely related vendor.  
Holders shall be required to provide evidence that courses are different if the Board requires it.   
 
  (i) aAt least sixty-six (66%) (80 of the 120 credit requirement or 40 of the 60 
credit requirement found in subsection (c) of this section) of the credits shall be earned in fields 
of study that directly relate to a holder’s field of business as a CPA in the technical learning 
categories found in the Fields of Study That Qualify For Continuing Professional Education 
document incorporated by reference:following Code A areas:  
   (A) Accounting & Auditing; 
   (B) Business Law; 
   (C) Administrative Practice;  
   (D) Regulatory Ethics; 
   (E) Business Management & Organization; 
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   (F) Finance (Financial Planning); 
   (G) Management Advisory Services ; 
   (H) Marketing; 
   (I) Economics; 
   (J) Specialized knowledge and application; 
   (K) Statistics; 
   (L) Taxes; or 
   (M) Computer Science or software applications. 
 
   (A) Accounting; 
 
   (B) Accounting (Governmental); 
 
   (C) Auditing; 
 
   (D) Business Law; 
 
   (E) Economics; 
 
   (F) Finance; 
 
   (G) Information Technology; 
 
   (H) Management Services; 
 
   (I) Regulatory Ethics; 
 
   (J) Specialized Knowledge; 
 
   (K) Statistics; or 
 
   (L) Taxes. 
 
   
  (ii) The balance of credits may be earned in non-technical learning activities 
that contribute to the professional competence of a CPA in fields of study that indirectly relate to 
the CPA’s field of business in categories found in the Fields of Study That Qualify For 
Continuing Professional Education document incorporated by referencethe following Code B 
fields of study:  
 
   (A) Behavioral Ethics; 
 
   (B) Communications; 
 
   (C) Personal Development; 
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   (D) Personnel/Human Resources; or 
 
   (E) Other fields of study may be acceptable if the licensee can 
demonstrate the course does not qualify under an identified field but does contribute to 
professional competence. 
 
   (A) Behavioral Ethics; 
 
   (B) Business Management & Organization; 
 
   (C) Communications and Marketing; 
 
   (D) Computer Software & Applications; 
 

  (E) Personal Development; 
 

  (F) Personnel/Human Resources; or 
 

  (G) Production. 
 
 (cb) Programs must be developed and conducted in compliance with the Program 
Requirements and Program Standards as outlined in Section 3 of this Chapter the Statement on 
Standards for Continuing Professional Education (CPE) Programs incorporated by reference.   If 
called upon to do so by the Board, certificate holders must be prepared to demonstrate that 
providers/sponsors have complied with the Program Standards Chapter the Statement on 
Standards for Continuing Professional Education (CPE) Programs. 
 
 (dc) Certificate holders are required to comply with the CPE requirements in the three 
(3) full calendar years immediately preceding the renewal year as set forth below: 
   

Rolling CPE Reporting Requirements  

Renewal Year First Calendar Year 
  

Second Calendar 
Year 

Third Calendar Year 
 

First Renewal 
Reporting 
Requirement 

0 credits to be 
reported for this first 

certificate year 

  

Second Renewal 
Reporting 
Requirement 

60 credits completed during in this two 
calendar year period  

 

Thereafter 120 credits in this rolling three year period 
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(i)  With the exception of the requirement stipulated in sub-section (iv)(A) 
below, certificate holders renewing the initial an active certificate for the first time are excepted 
from the continuing professional education reporting requirements; 

 
(ii)  To renew an active certificate for the second time, one a holder must shall 

complete 60 credits in the two calendar years immediately preceding the renewal year as 
reported and evidenced by the holder using the Board’s online CPE reporting tool; 

 
(iii) To renew an active certificate thereafter, one musta holder shall complete 

120 credits in the three calendar years immediately preceding the renewal year as reported and 
evidenced by the holder using the Board’s online CPE reporting tool.  

 
(iv)  All certificate holders who maintain their principal place of business in 

Wyoming are required to complete, as scheduled by the Board, and at least once every three-year 
continuing education period, four credits of continuing education in regulatory/professional 
ethics as approved by the Board.  Credits may be earned at separate courses but all four credits 
must be completed in the same calendar year.  To qualify for credit, the course must include a 
Wyoming statutes and rules element and other topics such as ethical reasoning or standards of 
professional conduct including those of other applicable regulatory bodies with a passing score 
of 80% unless satisfaction of the requirement is through participation in a group program. 
(A)Holders who obtain initial certificates shall complete an approved regulatory/professional 
ethics course as set forth in Ssection 13(d)(iv) of this chapter within six (6) months (month-end 
of date of initial certificate) of obtaining the initial certificate and every three year renewal 
period thereafter. 

 
(v)  If a reported/planned course as of the date of processing an online 

certificate renewal application is not completed by December 31st, an amended program 
attendance record must be submitted toin the Board’s office online licensing renewal/CPE 
reporting system reflecting the change.  If reported/planned courses are not completed by 
December 31st and are required to meet minimum CPE requirements, holders may request an 
extension of the CPE deadline in accordance with section 8 of this chapter and shall pay required 
fees at the time of the request.  
 
 (ed) The continuing professional education requirement of a non-resident certificate 
holder not using practice privileges is considered to be met if the individual meets the continuing 
education requirement for renewal of a certificate, permit, or license in the state in which the 
individual’s principal office is located.  These individuals must, during the applicable renewal 
period imposed by the state where the principal office is located, complete four credits of 
continuing education in regulatory/professional ethics covering state specific statutes and rules 
and such topics as ethical reasoning or standards of professional conduct including those of other 
applicable regulatory bodies.  The non-resident must certify that the continuing professional 
education requirement has been met in another state.  If there is no continuing education 
requirement in the non-resident’s principal place of business or the individual is not licensed in 
his principal place of business, the individual must comply with the requirements as though he 
was a resident of Wyoming.  Non-residents certificate holders are subject to the audit provisions 
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of this Cchapter.  The Board may to verify the continuing professional education status of a non-
resident. 
 
 (fe) Certificate holders should obtain an appropriate mix of group and individual 
courses that meet their individual needs. Courses offered by a single course sponsor or multiple 
course sponsors repeated during a renewal year are ineligible to be counted towards meeting 
minimum requirements.  Holders are responsible for providing evidence that courses are 
different if the Board requires it. 
 
 (gf) Inactive and Retired certificate holders are excepted from the continuing 
education requirements until such a time as they enter or re-enter practice under the provisions of 
the Act and the Rrules and Regulations. 
 
 (hg) The Board may suspend, relax, or grant exceptions to the continuing education 
requirements for instances of individual hardship or other good cause shown. 
 
 Section 2. Definitions. 
 
 (a) Program Sponsor/Provider: The organization or individual responsible for setting 
learning objectives, creating the program materials to achieve such objectives, offering a 
program to participants and maintaining the documentation which demonstrates compliance with 
the Program Standards.  
 
 (b) Group Course: An educational program designed to permit a participant to learn a 
given subject through interaction with an instructor and other participants.  
 
 (c) Individual Course: An educational program designed to permit an individual to 
learn a given subject without interaction with others.  
 
 (d) Independent Study: An educational program designed to permit an individual to 
learn a given subject under a unique, one-time learning contract with a qualified 
provider/sponsor.   The learning contract must set forth the anticipated inputs and outcomes as 
well as the number of credits to be recommended at the conclusion of the program.  
 
 (e) Renewal Year: The calendar year following any year in which a registrant holds 
an active certificate.   
 
 (f) “Third Party” means a person associated with or duly authorized by a CPE vendor 
or sponsor to represent that vendor or sponsor. 
 
 Section 3. Program Requirements   
 
 (a) Group Programs: Group programs qualify as acceptable continuing education if 
they meet the general requirements of this Chapter, if an outline of the program is prepared in 
advance, if evidence of satisfactory completion is retained, and the program is at least one full 
credit period in length. 
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  (i) The following are acceptable group programs: professional development 
programs of recognized national, state, and local accounting organizations; technical sessions at 
meetings of recognized national, state, and local accounting organizations and their chapters; 
university or college courses; formal organized in-house, in-firm and inter-firm education 
programs; and programs given by other organizations devoted to accounting or  professional 
improvement.   
 
 (b) Individual Programs: these programs qualify as acceptable continuing education if 
they meet the general requirements of this Chapter, if evidence of satisfactory completion is 
retained, if the program is at least one full credit period in length, and include the following: 
  
  (i) Individual self-study courses which require registration;  
 
  (ii) Service as an instructor, lecturer, or discussion leader; 
 
  (iii) Published articles or books authored by the certificate holder if they 
contribute to the professional competence of the individual; or 
 
  (iv) Independent study that is under the direction of a qualified 
sponsor/provider who has met the applicable program standards.  
 
 (c) Program Standards:  
 
  (i) Standard #1: Learning activities must be based on clearly defined, relevant 
learning objectives and outcomes that clearly articulate the knowledge, skills, and abilities that 
can be achieved by participants.  
 
  (ii) Standard #2: Learning activities must be developed in a manner consistent 
with the prerequisite education, experience, and/or advanced preparation of the participants.  
 
  (iii) Standard #3: Activities, materials and delivery systems must be current, 
technically accurate, and effectively designed.  Providers, sponsors, or contractors must be 
competent in the subject matter.   Competence may be demonstrated through practical experience 
or education.  
  (iv) Standard #4: Learning programs must be reviewed by qualified persons 
other than those who develop the program to assure the program is technically accurate, current, 
and addresses the stated learning objectives.  This requirement is waived for single presentations 
such as lectures that are given once.   
  
 Section 4. Credit.   
 
 (a) Continuing Professional Education will be measured by program length with one 
fifty (50) minute period constituting one (1) credit unless the course is offered as a nano learning 
course.  One-half credits (25 minute periods) are permitted after the first credit has been earned.   
Total credits will be determined based on the sum of segments with credits rounded down to the 
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nearest half credit when the total is not divisible by 50 (180 minutes = 3.5 credits).  Credit is 
granted in the calendar year in which the course is attended or completed unless the Board 
determines otherwise.  Credits reported in one certificate of completion or other evidence of 
completion may not be split between multiple calendar years.  Credit granted through the 
extension process will be granted in one year only to satisfy minimum CPE requirements and 
cannot be carried forward to meet future requirements.  
 
 (b) A nano learning program is a formal tutorial program designed to permit a 
participant to learn a given subject in 10-minute increments through the use of electronic media 
(including technology applications and processes and computer-based or web-based technology) 
and without interaction with a real-time instructor.  A holder shall not claim more than ten (10) 
full CPE credits (maximum of fifty (50) ten (10) minute nano learning programs) earned through 
nano learning programs within one (1) calendar year and all nano learning credits shall be 
offered through course sponsors listed on NASBA’s Learning Registry.  This subsection is 
effective January 1, 2020. 
 
 (bc) Instructors, Llecturers, Ddiscussion Lleaders,orand Sspeakers will earn credit for 
the actual presentation period plus an additional two credits for each period for preparation (three 
(3) credits for each presentation credit). The maximum credit allowed in this category will be 
50% of the total renewal requirement (no more than 60 credits in any three-year period).  
Repetitious presentations will not qualify unless substantive changes which requiringe significant 
additional research and study have been made to the course.  
 
 (cd) Published Aarticles, Bbooks, Eetc. Aauthored by the Ccertificate Hholder: Credit 
may be awarded for published articles or books for up to 25% of the renewal requirement (no 
more than 30 credits).  Copies of articles or books must be provided at the holder’s expense.  
 
 (de) University or college courses: Each semester hour credit will equal fifteen (15) 
credits towards the requirement.  A quarter hour will equal ten (10) credits.  Credit earned for 
courses taken to obtain an initial baccalaureate degree that qualifies an individual to sit for the 
examination willdo not qualify under this section.  
 
 (ef) Independent Study:  Credit in this area is limited to twelve (12) credits in any 
renewal period.   
 
 (fg) Non-degree certificate programs: Accredited colleges and universities that offer 
certificate programs but do not post credit for the program on the official transcript must either 
provide a completion certificate to the participant or maintain an attendance log of participants, 
prepare and preserve an outline of the course, and ensure the course is led by a qualified 
instructor.  One (1) CPE credit shall be awarded for every 50 minutes of class time.     
 
 (gh) When credits are limited by section 4(b), (c), (d) or (e), no future adjustments may 
be made to utilizeuse credits previously limited.  
 
 Section 5. Evidence of Completion - Retention.  Primary responsibility for 
documenting thethat requirements have been met rests with the certificate holder.  Evidence to 
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support fulfillment of those requirements must shall be retained for a period of four (4) years 
after the completion of the course.  Certificate holders must shall retain an outline or program for 
each course and evidence of attendance.  Holders shall report coursework and upload certificates 
of completion and other documentation as required into the online system provided by the Board.  
All documents uploaded to the online CPE reporting system shall be associated only with the 
course to which it pertains.  Documentation shall include the holder’s name,; sponsor/provider 
name; course title, date and timeframe of the course; and the amount of credit granted as 
applicable calculated based upon a 50-minute hour. Satisfaction of completion of the 
requirements may be accomplished as follows:  
 
 (a) College or university courses: official transcripts verifying completion or other 
verified documentation from an institution.  
 
 (b) Individual or Iindependent Sstudy: Certificates of completion, signed statements 
from vendors or sponsors, copies of the applicable Iindependent Sstudy contracts, or other 
acceptable documentation as determined by the Board.  
 
 (c) Group Sstudy: Sign in sheets, certificates of attendance, firm rosters signed by 
participants or and attested to by the appropriate firm officials, other third party verification, or 
other acceptable documentation as determined by the Board.  
 
 (d) Instructor/Llecturer: a signed statement from the course provider or other 
appropriate official verifying the services were provided mustshall be obtained.  
 
 (e) Board Aapproved Rregulatory/Pprofessional Eethics Ccourse: Upon request all 
certificate holders mustshall submit a certificate of completion or certificate of attendance to the 
Board office using the online CPE reporting system. 
 
 Section 6. Activation. 
 
 (a) Prior to beginning to Before provideing accounting services, an individual who 
has been excepted from the requirements or has otherwise not provided evidence of compliance 
with the CPE requirements, mustshall make appropriate application and show compliance with 
the continuing education requirements.   
 
 (ib) The Board may waive the requirement to complete requirements in a given 
calendar year period and consider a combination of 120 hours completed within a three (3) year 
period other than calendar years.   
 
 (iic) The Board may allow a certificate holder to re-enter active practice without 
providing compliance with the continuing education requirements upon the condition that the 
applicant follow a particular future program or schedule of continuing education.    
 
 (iiid) The applicant shall document that an approved ethics course as set forth in 
Ssection 13 of this chapter has been completed within the three (3) years prior to re-entry. 
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 Section 7. Controls & and Reporting. (a)  To renew an active certificate, on 
formsthe online licensing renewal system and CPE reporting tool provided by the Board, each 
holder who does not renew on-line or each non-resident who does not report CPE to another state 
shall provide the following by reporting course details and uploading certificates of completion 
to the Board’s online licensing system:  
 

(ia) The number of CPE credits completed as requested; and 
 
 (iib) A listing of the individual courses completed or to be completed prior to 
December 31st  of the calendar year subject to renewal including the following information:  
 
  (Ai) Ssponsoring organization/provider/contractor; 
 
  (Bii)  Ttitle of program or description of content; 
 
  (Ciii) Ccourse type (individual, group, lecture, etc.); 
 
  (Div)  Ddates attended or completed; and 
 
  (Ev)  Ccredit claimed.and. 
 
 (b) Holders who renew on-line shall provide the total number of credits completed 
and shall certify compliance with CPE requirements.  
          
 Section 8.         Extensions.  The Board may, upon written request, extend the time 
within which certificate holders must comply with the requirements of this Cchapter for 
reasonable and justgood cause.   
 
 (a) An applicant may request an automatic a ninety (90) day extension at the time of 
renewal upon payment of the required $150.00 CPE Extension Processing Fee in addition to the 
certificate renewal fee. All requests for 90-day extensions are subject to the $150.00 CPE 
Extension Processing Fee regardless of whether the request was intended or not. There shall be 
no refunds of the CPE Extension Processing Fee. 
 
 (b)       Any request for an additional extension in excess of ninety (90) days must shall be 
submitted to the Board in writing no later than March 1st and outline good cause for granting the 
extension.  
 
 (c) Any applicant who requests or is granted an extension of time under this section 
shall submit documentation of completingon of the applicable course work no later two weeks 
after the expiration of the extension deadline and shall be audited under Ssection 9 of this 
Cchapter.  
 
 (d) Any applicant who fails to complete the CPE requirement by the extensioned 
deadline shall be required to complete additional CPE credits equal to either the lesser of the 
shortage of credits or no more than sixteen (16) additional CPE credits.   The additional credits 
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mustshall be completed no later than thirty (30) days from the extensioned deadline and shall not 
qualify for purposes of meeting any future CPE renewal requirement.  Failure to submit 
documentation of completion of the additional credits by the deadline shall result in the initiation 
of an investigation and possible of disciplinary action in accordance with chapter 7 of the rules.  
 
 Section 9. Verification.  The Board willshall verify compliance with the CPE 
requirements on a test basis (to a maximum of 20% audit) or as otherwise necessary. Board staff 
or Board members shall determine whether CPE credits claimed meet the requirements set forth 
in this chapter.  Upon a finding that CPE credits or the documentation provided to evidence CPE 
credits do not meet the requirements set forth in this chapter, the Board staff or Board members 
may disqualify course credits claimed and shall notify the holder of the findings. 
 
 (a) In the form requested by the Board, Certificate holders shall submit evidence of 
compliance with the CPE requirements. 
 
 (b) Non-resident certificate holders not using practice privileges shall comply by 
providing evidence and reporting of continuing professional education in a form required by the 
Board andeither by submitting a copy of the applicable renewal application in the state of 
residence and evidence of completion of all courses required by the residency state, to include 
the completion of the ethics course required in Ssection 13(e) of this chapter for the applicable 
renewal period or through another Board approved CPE audit process. All CPE documentation 
required must be recorded in the Board’s CPE reporting system.   If no documents were 
submitted to the state of residence, the holder shall comply with subsection (a) above. 
 
 (c) A certificate holder must shall remedy any deficiency discovered within ninety 
(90) days of formal notification by the Board.  Deficiency credits shall qualify for credit in the 
initial reporting period and cannot be duplicated for purposes of determining the applicable 
requirement in any other reporting period.  
 
 (d) Any certificate holder found deficient shall be required to complete additional 
CPE credits equal to the lesser of the shortage of credits but not more than sixteen (16) additional 
CPE credits.   The additional credits mustshall be completed within thirty (30) days of the date 
advised of the deficiency.   Deficiency credits shall not qualify for purposes of meeting any 
future CPE renewal requirement.  Failure to submit documentation of completion by the deadline 
shall result in the initiation of disciplinary action.  
 
 (e) Programs found to be out of compliance with the general standards may be 
disqualified and result in the requirement that the holder remedy any deficiency caused pursuant 
to subsections (c) and (d) of this section.   
 
 (f) Certificate holders found deficient shall be included in the CPE audit for two 
renewal cycles following the deficiency.  
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Section 10. Incorporation by Reference. 
 

(a) The Statement on Standards for Continuing Professional Education (CPE) 
Programs adopted by the National Association of State Boards of Accountancy and the 
American Institute of Certified Public Accountants and last revised August 4, 2016, found at: 
https://www.nasbaregistry.org/__media/Documents/Others/Statement_on_Standards_for_CPE_P
rograms-2016.pdf. 

 
(b) Fields of Study That Qualify For Continuing Professional Education adopted by 

the National Association of State Boards of Accountancy and last revised July 1, 2016, found at: 
https://www.nasbaregistry.org/__media/Documents/RegistryPolicies/FieldsOfStudy2016.pdf. 

 
(c) For these rules incorporated by reference: 
 

(i) The Board has determined that incorporation of the full text in these rules 
would be cumbersome or inefficient given the length or nature of the rules: 

(ii) The incorporation by reference does not include any later amendments 
editions of the incorporated matter beyond the applicable date identified in subsections (a)(i) and 
(ii) of this section; and  

(iii)     The incorporated rules are maintained at 325 West 18th Street, Ste. 4, 
Cheyenne, Wyoming, 82002 and are available for public inspection and copying at cost at the 
same location. 

 
 

https://www.nasbaregistry.org/__media/Documents/Others/Statement_on_Standards_for_CPE_Programs-2016.pdf
https://www.nasbaregistry.org/__media/Documents/Others/Statement_on_Standards_for_CPE_Programs-2016.pdf
https://www.nasbaregistry.org/__media/Documents/RegistryPolicies/FieldsOfStudy2016.pdf
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