




STATEMENT OF REASONS  
 

CHAPTER 44 
 

REGULATION FOR ISSUANCE OF LICENSES, PERMITS, STAMPS, TAGS, 

PREFERENCE POINTS, COMPETITIVE RAFFLE CHANCES AND COUPONS 
 

 

W.S. § 23-1-302 empowers the Wyoming Game and Fish Commission (Commission) to 

prescribe the requirements and form, including electronic licensing format, for the licenses, 

stamps and tags provided in the Game and Fish Act.   

 

W.S. § 9-4-217 (h) allows the Wyoming Game and Fish Department to assess fees for 

processing a credit card to the person tendering payment. 

 

Senate Enrolled Act No. 38 (SEA 38) of the Sixty-Fourth Legislature of the State of 

Wyoming 2018 Budget Session provides rules for license, permit and stamp expirations; and the 

reservation of unused limited quota, full price big or trophy game animal licenses. 

 

House Enrolled Act No. 11 (HEA 11) of the Sixty-Fourth Legislature of the State of 

Wyoming 2018 Budget Session empowers the Commission to set rules for a person who is 

issued a hunting license for a grizzly bear or mountain goat to be eligible to apply for or receive 

a hunting license for the same species in any future year.    

 

In Section 4, language has been added which indicates that effective January 1, 2019, the 

Commission may authorize the Department to charge an applicant a credit card processing fee 

for purchase of any license, permit, stamp, tag, preference point or competitive raffle chance 

applied for or purchased by the use of a credit card.   

 

In Section 5, edits were made in accordance with HEA 11 which allows the Commission 

to set rules for issuance of grizzly bear or mountain goat licenses.   

 

In Section 11, edits have been made to clarify the number of big game and wild bison 

licenses for holders of Governor Complimentary Licenses. 

 

In Section 23, edits have been made to conform to SEA 38 regarding reservation of full 

price licenses.   

 

Section 28, License Expiration, has been completely re-written to allow for some licenses 

to be valid for 12 months from the date of purchase, rather than valid for a calendar year, which 

conforms to SEA 38.    

 

Minor grammatical and formatting edits have been incorporated to provide additional 

clarity but do not change the intent of the rules and regulations. 
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November 15, 2018 

 

 

MEMORANDUM 

 

TO:  David Dewald, Senior Assistant Attorney General 

 

FROM: Mike Choma, Wildlife Law Enforcement Supervisor 

 

COPY TO: Brian Nesvik, Scott Edberg, Doug Brimeyer and Terri Weinhandl 

 

SUBJECT: Regulation Changes Subsequent to Public Comment: Chapter 44, Regulation for 

Issuance of Licenses, Permits, Stamps, Tags, Preference Points and Competitive 

Raffle Chances (Chapter 44) 

 

The Wyoming Game and Fish Department (Department) conducted one (1) public meeting to 

address draft regulation proposals for Chapter 44.  A draft regulation proposal was also available 

for viewing and public comment through the Department website from August 24, 2018 through 

October 8, 2018.   

 

The Department received eight (8) total comments for Chapter 44.  Three (3) comments were 

supportive of the proposed changes that would allow certain licenses to be valid for 12 months 

from the date of purchase.  One (1) comment was not supportive of the proposed changes for 

issuance of mountain goat licenses.  The remaining five (5) comments received did not address 

any specific regulation edits proposed for Chapter 44.   

 

The Department made no additional edits to Chapter 44 as a result of the public comments 

received.  
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After reading through the proposed regulation changes and the rationale for making them I would submit the 
following comments. I support making the licenses changes as proposed, to a 12 month period vs. a 
calendar year. Many other states have done the same thing on similar type licenses. As for Mountain Goat, I 
am not sure I fully understand the proposed changes. If they are to allow those who have already obtained a 
Mountain Goat license in the past, to apply for and receive another license at some point in the future, then I 
oppose the change. Demand for the license is far too high to allow those who already have had the 
opportunity to hunt goats, a second chance when others are still waiting to go for a first time. 

 

     
 Final Comment   Crooks, Robert   Cody, WY   8/27/2018 10:47:00 AM  
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 You could enjoy the full potential of a hunting or fishing license to its fullest extent. God for bid you don’t 
make as much money  

 

     
 Final Comment   Yarnell , Aaron   Pinedale , WY   8/27/2018 7:04:00 PM  
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 I would like to see the state allow a 12 month license time instead of calendar year for small game as the 
season while only 7 mos long requires two licenses. Thank you Tim Cullen  

 

     
 Final Comment   CULLEN, TIMOTHY   Gillette, WY   9/2/2018 11:30:00 AM  
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Grizzly Bear Licenses-why in the world don't you collect the license fee from residents and non-residents 
when they apply for their licenses? You do it for all other species and earn the interest from deadline dates 
to draw dates.. You could make thousands of dollars for the Game and Fish Dept. projects and 
management programs! What a "missed opportunity" to benefit Game and Fish! 

 

     
 Final Comment   Stambaugh, Janet   Cody, WY   9/11/2018 2:24:00 PM  
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I respectfully request intervention to intervene approval of regulation that would allow issuance of hunting 
licenses for grizzly bears. Thousands of wildlife watchers can photograph the same grizzly bears for years in 
the Greater Yellowstone Ecosystem, but not if they’re hunted. According to at least three studies, 
Wyoming’s local economies benefit greatly because of eco-tourism, and wildlife watchers spend nearly twice 
as much as hunters do. Yellowstone and Grand Teton national parks bring in millions of dollars each year. 
One study found that tourism in Wyoming brings the state nearly $9 million per day. But if one person kills a 
bear — just to pose with it for a portrait in order to post on social media and then display a bear-skin rug — 
that act robs us all of the enjoyment of seeing these magnificent animals, while diminishing the grizzly bear 
population, and the ecosystem. There is neither a biological nor ecological justification for hunting grizzlies. 
They aren’t overpopulated nor overcrowded. They aren’t starving, nor are they depopulating any other 
species. Nor is there a scientific basis for the argument that hunting grizzlies makes them scared of humans. 
A grizzly that has been shot by a hunter isn’t scared, it’s just dead. Or worse, it’s a wounded bear wandering 
the same woods as we do. Nor is there a scientific basis for the argument that hunting grizzlies increases 
“social tolerance” for them. As traditional food sources for grizzly bears diminish, they are forced to travel 
further to discover sufficient food for themselves and their cubs. Ranging outside of the National Parks can 
often mean traversing land that is used for grazing cattle, is home to humans, or is traversed by busy – and 
deadly – roads. In 2016, a record number of grizzlies died as a result of conflicts with humans. Of a total 58 
bears that died, nearly 70% of them were determined to be human-caused. In Jackson Hole alone, two 
young cubs were killed when they were hit by vehicles. With so many bears dying, do they really need to 
face hunters, too? 

 

     
 Final Comment   Dungan, Eveline   lexington, KY   9/24/2018 7:33:00 AM  
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Please consider making leftover elk tags bought by preference points instead of just luck of the draw. Please 
allow an increase from 16% non residents and allow more on the cap of 7,250. Love hunting your state but 
dang near impossible to draw an elk tag nowadays. Thank you for making wyoming great. 

 

     
 Final Comment   Clark, Travis   Mindenmines , MO   9/26/2018 1:44:00 PM  
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 I feel Bad about the grizzly being relisted back on the ESL. I don't understand how 1 man can tell 3 states 
what they can and can not Do.. You should do what San Francisco does, just ignore the Feds, do what you 
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want and have a right to. But in the end we will WIN. I hope it doesn't take 20 more years...Thanks Tom 
Keating 

     
 Final Comment   keating, tom   cody, WY   9/27/2018 5:39:00 PM  
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I am writing to state my opposition to any hunting of bears or wolves. I was a part of the "shoot them with a 
camera" movement. I applied for a grizzly bear tag this year in order to prevent killing of these beautiful 
animals. Animals are worth far more alive than dead. I watched thousands of people pull to the roadside in 
Yellowstone National Park to photograph animals. Tourism to your beautiful state depends on this amazing 
experience. Please ban hunting and trapping of bears and wolves. Sincerely, Heather Bartlett 

 

     
 Final Comment   Bartlett, Heather   Bonners Ferry, ID   10/5/2018 11:36:00 AM  
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CHAPTER 44 

 

REGULATION FOR ISSUANCE OF LICENSES, PERMITS, STAMPS, 

TAGS, PREFERENCE POINTS AND COMPETITIVE RAFFLE CHANCES 

 

 

 Section 1.  Authority.  This regulation is promulgated by authority of Wyoming Statutes 

§ 6-7-101, § 9-4-217(h), § 20-6-112, § 23-1-107, § 23-1-302, § 23-1-702, § 23-1-703, § 23-1-

704, § 23-1-705, § 23-2-101, § 23-2-102, § 23-2-107, § 23-2-109, § 23-2-201, § 23-2-207, § 23-

2-301, § 23-2-306, § 23-2-307, § 23-2-401 and § 23-3-403, § 23-6-301 through § 23-6-303. 

 

 Section 2.  Regulation.  The Commission authorizes the Department to issue licenses, 

permits, stamps, tags, preference points and competitive raffle chances, and to develop and 

maintain policies, processes and procedures necessary to carry out the provisions of this Chapter.  

The Commission hereby adopts the following regulation governing the issuance of licenses.  

This regulation shall remain in effect until modified or repealed by the Commission. 

 

 Section 3.  Definitions.  For the purpose of this regulation, definitions shall be as set 

forth in Title 23, Wyoming Statutes, Commission regulations and the Commission also adopts 

the following definitions: 

 

 (a)   “Application Fee” means a fee authorized by the Legislature enabling the 

Department to recover a portion of its costs associated with compensating owners or lessees of 

property damaged by game animals and game birds.  In addition, the application fee is used by 

the Department to recover costs associated with license issuance.  This fee is nonrefundable.   

 

 (b)   “Charitable Purpose” means motivated by sympathy and understanding and 

generosity and done without any remuneration. 

 

 (c)   “Commissioner Complimentary License” means an antelope, deer or elk license 

issued at the existing statutory price at the request of a Commissioner. 

 

 (d)   “Completed Application” means all required portions of the application have been 

properly completed with correct applicant information, submitted within the proper time period 

and accompanied by the proper fee.  A completed application includes the applicant’s name, 

physical address, mailing address if different than the physical address, date of birth, physical 

description (height, weight, eyes, hair and sex), telephone number or email address, years of 

residency and proof of residency for resident fee types, Social Security Number (SSN), 

Individual Tax Identification Number (ITIN) or Passport Number from non-U.S. citizens, desired 

valid hunting license specifications, and an original signature for residents submitting paper 

applications.  Completed application specifications refer to licenses sold through the Electronic 

Licensing Service (ELS) and manually issued licenses and permits.  

 

 (e)   “Disabilities” as used in this Chapter means permanent anatomical, physiological 

or mental deficiencies that prevent or restrict normal achievement. 



 

44-2 
 

 (f)   “Document” means an instrument on which information has been recorded by 

means of letters, figures, or marks and which may be used as evidence.  

 

 (g)   “Documentary Evidence” means evidence furnished by written instruments, 

inscriptions, or documents of all kinds.  

 

 (h)   “Duplicate License” means a license issued by the Department to replace an 

original license that is valid and has not expired and has been lost or destroyed.  If the original 

license was issued through the Electronic Licensing Service (ELS), a duplicate license shall only 

be required if the original license contained a carcass coupon; otherwise, a replacement license 

may be issued.  

 

 (i)   “Electronic Application” means the license or permit application form submitted 

through the Electronic Licensing Service (ELS).  

 

(j)  “Electronic Licensing Service (ELS)” means the Department’s Electronic Draw 

Application System, Internet Point of Sale System and Online Internet Sales System used by the 

Department, license selling agents and the public to apply for or purchase licenses, permits, 

stamps, tags and preference points. 

 

(k)   “Electronic Signature” means an electronic process attached to or logically 

associated with any electronic transaction including the license or permit application submitted 

to the Wyoming Game and Fish Department that requires substantiation of the identity of the 

person initiating the electronic transaction.  This process includes, but may not be limited to, use 

of personal credentials to gain access to the system, entering a keystroke at a specified prompt 

that indicates the submitter’s acceptance of an assertive statement, or the use of any other 

technology that is in compliance with the state of Wyoming’s Electronic Signature Rules as 

promulgated by the Office of the Chief Information Officer.  This process can be used to indicate 

the applicant’s acceptance of an assertion such as a residency requirement or veracity of the 

application at a specified prompt.  Ref:  W.S. § 40-21-102 (a) (viii). 

 

 (l)   “Full Price License” means a deer, antelope, elk, mountain lion or ram bighorn 

sheep license issued that is not a reduced price doe/fawn, cow/calf, ewe/lamb or mountain lion 

license. 

 

 (m)   “Full Time” means performing duties and responsibilities at the request or 

direction of an established charitable, humanitarian, or religious organization for more than thirty 

(30) hours per calendar week every week the person is absent from the state.  

 

 (n)   “General Licenses” means big or trophy game or wild turkey licenses valid in any 

hunt area in which licenses have not been totally limited in number.  General licenses shall be 

valid only under species, sex, age class and harvest limitations that are in effect for each hunt 

area. 
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 (o)   “Governor Complimentary License” means hunting or fishing license issued for 

no fee at the request of the Governor. 

 

 (p)   “Gunpowder or Buckskin Hunt” means the annual Gunpowder and Buckskin 

Hunt conducted by the Sheridan, Wyoming Rotary Club. 

 

 (q)   “Headquarters” means the Cheyenne Office of the Wyoming Game and Fish 

Department located at 5400 Bishop Blvd., Cheyenne, WY 82006. 

 

 (r)   “Humanitarian Purpose” means for the promotion of human welfare and the 

advancement of social reforms and done without remuneration. 

 

 (s)   “Immediate Family Member of the Decedent” means spouse, parent, 

grandparent, sibling or lineal descendants and their spouses. 

 

 (t)   “Initial Drawing” means a computer processed drawing held for initial offering 

of resident and nonresident licenses and permits. 

 

 (u) “Issue-After License” means licenses that are limited in number and that were not 

issued in the initial or leftover drawings; these licenses shall be issued on an as processed basis 

through the ELS. 

 

 (v)   “Landowner” means an individual, partnership, corporation, trust, limited liability 

company or combination of these, which either owns real property in fee simple title or is 

acquiring equitable interest by written contract. 

 

 (w)   “Landowner Applicant” means an individual who either owns real property solely 

or jointly with other individuals or who holds an interest in a corporation, partnership, trust or 

limited liability company, which owns real property or is a member of the “immediate family” of 

the individual. 

 

 (x)   “Landowner Applicant’s Immediate Family” means the landowner applicant’s 

spouse, landowner applicant’s parents, landowner applicant’s grandparents, landowner 

applicant’s lineal descendants and their spouses, or landowner applicant’s siblings.  

 

 (y)  “Leftover Drawing” means a computer processed random drawing to issue 

licenses remaining after the initial drawings.  

 

 (z)   “Leftover Licenses” means limited quota licenses and nonresident region general 

deer licenses issued in the leftover drawing. 

 

 (aa) “Leftover Permits” means permits that are limited in number and were not issued 

in the initial drawing and shall be issued on an as processed basis through the ELS. 
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 (bb)  “License” means a document issued by the Department, through the authority of 

the Commission, to a qualified individual that grants certain privileges to take fish or wildlife in 

accordance with statutory or regulatory provisions. 

 

 (cc)  “License Authorization” means a document approved by the Governor or by a 

member of the Commission that empowers the Department to issue a Governor complimentary 

or Commissioner complimentary license in the name of the applicant designated on the 

document.  

 

 (dd)   “License Review Board” means a three (3) member board of Department 

employees consisting of the Deputy Director of Internal Operations, the Fiscal Division Chief 

and the Chief Game Warden, or their designee, that review and determine all license reservation 

requests, license refund requests, preference point issues and other license or permit issuance 

matters. 

 

 (ee)   “Limited Quota Drawing” means the processing of an application for limited 

quota or general big game licenses, trophy game licenses, wild turkey licenses, permits, wild 

bison licenses or Super Tag and Super Tag Trifecta competitive raffles through a drawing. 

 

 (ff)   “Limited Quota Licenses” means licenses that are limited in number and valid 

only in a hunt area(s) or portion(s) of a hunt area.  Limited quota licenses shall be valid only 

under species, sex, age class, harvest, and weapon type limitations that are in effect for each hunt 

area.  

 

 (gg) “Limited Quota Reduced Price Cow or Calf (cow/calf) License” means a license 

which may be authorized in specific hunt areas allowing a person to take cow or calf elk 

independent of what may be taken on a general license or full priced limited quota license. 

 

 (hh)   “Limited Quota Reduced Price Doe or Fawn (doe/fawn) License” means a 

license which may be authorized in specific hunt areas allowing a person to take doe or fawn 

animals independent of what may be taken on a general license or full priced limited quota 

license. 

 

 (ii)   “Limited Quota Reduced Price Ewe or Lamb (ewe/lamb) License” means a 

license which may be authorized in specific hunt areas allowing a person to take a ewe or lamb 

bighorn sheep independent of what may be taken on a full priced limited quota license. 

 

 (jj)   “Minor Dependent” means an individual less than eighteen (18) years of age who 

is domiciled with parent(s) or legal guardian.  

 

 (kk)  “National Bow Hunt” means an archery-only hunt that is sponsored and 

administered by the Wyoming National Bowhunt, Inc. 
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 (ll) “Nonprofit Charitable Organization” means an organization which engages in 

activities providing the general public with benefits designed to aid in educational, moral, 

physical, conservation, or social improvement and which is not established for profit.  

 

 (mm) “Nonprofit Organization Dedicated to Providing Hunting Opportunities to 

Individuals with Disabilities” means an organization certifying they are nonprofit and that their 

primary purpose or mission as stated in their charter is to provide hunting opportunities to 

individuals with disabilities defined in this regulation.    

 

 (nn)   “Nonresident” means any person who is not domiciled in Wyoming for at least 

one (1) year immediately preceding making application for a license and who is not a resident as 

defined by W.S. § 23-1-102 (a) (ix), § 23-1-107 and § 23-2-101 (a). 

 

 (oo)  “One-Shot Antelope Hunt” means the One-Shot Antelope Hunt sponsored by the 

One-Shot Antelope Club in Lander, Wyoming. 

 

 (pp)   “Party” means a group of individuals with the same residency status who apply 

together in the initial drawing for hunting licenses for the same species, area and type, and who 

have expectations of receiving the same treatment in processing of their applications and 

receiving the same drawing results.  For purposes of this regulation, a Party does not include 

anyone else, regardless of whether or not they may accompany the party of hunters during the 

hunt.   

 

 (qq)   “Party Application” means a group of applications in which all applicants with the 

same residency status specify the same species, hunt area and type in the same order of 

preference, and all applicants expect the same processing and draw results in the initial drawing. 

 

 (rr)  “Permit” means a document that authorizes a license holder to carry out activities 

not authorized by the license itself. 

 

 (ss) “Person’s Privilege to Obtain a License Has Been Revoked or Suspended by a 

Court or the Wildlife Violator Compact” means revocation or suspension of the person’s license 

or preference point(s).   

 

  (tt)   “Pioneer Heritage Licenses” means antelope, deer, elk or wild turkey licenses 

issued to Wyoming residents who  are at least seventy (70) years of age prior to the issuance of 

the license and have continuously resided in Wyoming for at least fifty (50) years immediately 

preceding application for the license.  The fee for the Heritage License shall be established by 

the Department by multiplying the fee for resident licenses for the same species and license type 

by sixty-five percent (65%) and rounding down to the next whole dollar amount.    

 

 (uu) “Pioneer Licenses” means antelope, deer, elk or wild turkey licenses issued to 

Wyoming residents who are at least seventy-five (75) years of age prior to the issuance of the 

license, and who have continuously resided in Wyoming for at least fifty (50) years immediately 

preceding the application for a license. 
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 (vv) “Potential to Use License” means the license shall be considered to be in 

possession of the person in whose name it was issued on or after the earliest opening date for 

which the license is valid if the license is not in the possession of an authorized Department 

employee. 

 

 (ww)    “Proper Application Form” means the document prescribed by the Department, a 

photocopy of the document, or facsimile of the document.  These documents shall be the only 

documents accepted by the Department.  

 

 (xx) “Properly Completed Duplicate License Affidavit” means a Department affidavit 

document signed by the person applying for a duplicate license.   

   

 (yy)      “Proper Fee” means cash or a negotiable instrument as set forth by W.S. § 34.1-

3-104 which results in full payment to the Department, in U.S. dollars for the amount specified 

by law or regulation for the respective licenses, permits, stamps, tags, preference points or 

certificates. 

 

 (zz) “Qualified Person” means an individual who meets the statutory and regulatory 

requirements to apply for or receive a license or a preference point.  A person shall not be 

qualified if their privilege to apply for or receive a license or a preference point has been 

revoked, suspended, or restricted by a court in Wyoming or has been revoked or suspended in 

Wyoming through the Wildlife Violator Compact. 

 

 (aaa)    “Quota” means the maximum specified number of licenses to be issued for a 

given hunt area and species as provided by Commission regulation; in the case of nonresident elk 

hunt area quotas, the maximum number of specified licenses to be issued by hunt area as 

provided in writing by the Wildlife Division to the Fiscal Division. 

 

 (bbb)    “Reduced Price Mountain Lion License” means a license which may be 

authorized in specific hunt areas allowing a person to take a mountain lion in addition to what 

may be taken on a full price mountain lion license. 

 

 (ccc)     “Region General Deer Licenses” means general nonresident deer licenses that 

shall be limited in number and valid for a specified group of hunt areas in accordance with 

Commission regulations.  A license issued for a region shall only be valid in hunt areas within 

the region where limitations in Commission regulations specify general licenses.  A license 

issued for a region shall not be valid in any hunt area within that region in which licenses are 

totally limited in quota, unless specified by Commission regulations.  

 

 (ddd)    “Religious Purpose” means actions taken to advance sacred matters, religion or a 

church and done without remuneration. 

 

 (eee) “Replacement License” means the reprint of a license, permit, or stamp that does 

not contain a carcass coupon and the license was originally issued by the Department or license 

selling agent through the ELS, is currently valid and has not expired. 
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 (fff)    “Resident” means a United States citizen or legal alien who is domiciled in 

Wyoming for at least one (1) full year immediately preceding making application for any 

resident game and fish license, preference point, permit or tag, shall not have claimed residency 

in any other state, territory, or country for any other purpose during that one (1) year period, and 

meets the requirements specified in W.S. § 23-1-102, § 23-1-107 and § 23-2-101 (a). 

 

 (ggg)     “Special Nonresident Antelope, Deer or Elk Licenses” means those licenses 

having a fee greater than that of a regular nonresident antelope, deer or elk license as defined in 

Wyoming Statute and which the statutes provide for a separate nonresident drawing with specific 

percentages of nonresident quotas designated for only those applicants paying the higher license 

fees. 

 

 (hhh) “Sportsperson Identification Number” means the unique number assigned by the 

Department to each individual license applicant on the ELS.  

 

 (iii) “Super Tag License” means a species specific big game, trophy game or wild 

bison license issued to the winner of the competitive raffle and upon submission of the proper fee 

for the appropriate species license set forth by statute. 

 

 (jjj) “Super Tag Trifecta Licenses” means a combination of big game, trophy game 

and wild bison licenses, not to exceed three (3) different species of big game, trophy game and 

wild bison licenses, issued to the winner of the competitive raffle and upon submission of the 

proper fee for the appropriate species license set forth by statute. 

 

 (kkk) “Transfer” means to convey a license authorization, (from one (1) person to 

another) as set forth in Section 27 of this regulation.   

 

 (lll)     “Type” means a limitation on a license in a particular hunt area for the sex of 

animal, the species of animal, the length of the season, the type of weapon, or a portion of the 

hunt area in which the license shall be valid. 

 

 (mmm)     “Unable to Use the License For Good Cause” means an individual is unable to 

use a limited quota, full price big or trophy game license due to disabling injury or illness, 

military personnel who receive permanent change of station (PCS) orders or are assigned away 

from their home duty station on temporary orders (TDY) for the majority of the regular season, 

or when the Department has determined a majority of, or the entire hunting opportunity has been 

lost in a specific limited quota hunt area for a full price big or trophy game animal due to the 

administrative actions of the state or federal government in closing the majority of or all public 

access to a hunt area, or due to a natural disaster, including, but not necessarily limited to, 

wildland fires.   

 

 (nnn)      “Under the Care and Supervision of the Residing Facility” means the person is 

an employee of the appropriate institution or facility that issued the special limited fishing 

permit. 
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 (ooo)    “Unlimited Reduced Price Cow or Calf (cow/calf) License” means a license 

which may be authorized in specific hunt areas allowing a person to take cow or calf elk 

independent of what may be taken on a general license or full price limited quota license. 

 

 (ppp)    “Unlimited Reduced Price Doe or Fawn (doe/fawn) License” means a license 

which may be authorized in specific areas allowing a person to take doe or fawn animals 

independent of what may be taken on a general license or full price limited quota license. 

 

 (qqq)    “Wyoming Women’s Antelope Hunt” means a women’s antelope hunt sponsored 

by the Wyoming Women’s Foundation. 

 

 (rrr) “Youth License” means a big game license that may be issued to a resident or 

nonresident individual who is at least eleven (11) years of age and who has not attained eighteen 

(18) years of age at the time of application.  The license shall not be valid until the licensee 

reaches their twelfth (12th) birthday.  For all other species, excluding furbearing animals, 

requiring a license to take, youth license means a license that may be issued to a resident or 

nonresident individual who has not attained eighteen (18) years of age.  For a resident youth 

trapping license, youth license means a license that may be issued only to residents under the age 

of seventeen (17). 

 

 Section 4.  Method of License Issuance and Accounting.  The Fiscal Division shall 

maintain inventory control and account for the issuance and sale of all licenses, permits, stamps 

and tags issued under the authority of the Commission.  All licenses, permits and tags shall be 

issued on the basis of a completed application.  Applications may be in the form of a separate 

document or may be incorporated into and considered as part of the license document. 

 

 (a)   Licenses issued over-the-counter.  All licenses that are not limited in number shall 

be issued by the Department through designated Department personnel and facilities or 

designated license selling agents.  

 

 (b)   Licenses issued through competitive drawings.  Except as provided in this 

Chapter, all licenses and permits that are limited in number shall be issued through competitive 

drawings conducted by the Department’s License Section.  Entry into the drawing for a limited 

quota license or permit shall be upon submission of a completed application.  

 

 (c)   Commercial license issuance.  All commercial licenses shall be issued by the 

Department’s License Section at Headquarters, by designated Department personnel or at 

facilities in accordance with applicable statutes and regulations. 

 

 (d)   Licenses issued after initial or leftover drawings.  Licenses remaining after the 

initial or leftover drawings shall be sold through the ELS and on a first-come, first-served basis.   

 

 (e)   Depredation license issuance.  Depredation licenses may be issued at designated 

Department locations when additional harvest is needed as determined by the Wildlife Division. 
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  (f) Effective January 1, 2019, the Department shall charge an applicant a two 

point five percent (2.5%) credit card processing fee of the cost of any license, permit, stamp, tag, 

preference point or competitive raffle chance applied for or purchased by the use of a credit card.   

 

 Section 5.  License Issuance. 

 

 (a)   In circumstances where the demand for a particular type of license exceeds the 

supply, a competitive drawing shall be held when feasible to determine successful applicants.   

 

 (b)   The Department shall only issue licenses in excess of established quotas in the 

following circumstances: 

 

  (i)   To accommodate a successful party application in a limited quota 

drawing; 

 

  (ii)   To process a Commissioner or Governor license authorization;  

 

  (iii)   Upon authorization by the License Review Board to resolve a Department 

license issuance error; or,   

   

  (iv)   As provided by Commission regulation. 

 

 (c)   To establish the number of licenses available for the leftover drawing, the 

Department may continue alternately running the unsuccessful applicants of each resident and 

nonresident drawing until there are no unissued licenses or permits for which there are 

unsuccessful applications. 

 

 (d)   License selling agents shall comply with the following procedures for the sale of 

limited quota full and reduced price issue-after licenses.  

 

  (i)   License selling agents shall not sell or allocate licenses prior to the date 

and time established annually by the Fiscal Division Chief.   

 

  (ii)   All applications for resident licenses and permits shall contain the resident 

applicant’s original or electronic signature and when applicable, the parent or legal guardian’s 

signature in accordance with Wyoming statute.  Applications for youth licenses and permits may 

contain a signature from the youth’s parent or legal guardian in lieu of the youth applicant’s 

signature.  All applications for nonresident licenses and permits shall contain either the 

nonresident applicant’s signature or the signature of the person submitting the application on 

behalf of the nonresident applicant; and,   

 

   (A)   In the event the license is issued through the ELS, the resident 

licensee shall be present at the license selling agent location to purchase the license.  The parent 

or legal guardian of a resident youth applicant shall be present at the license selling agent 

location to purchase a license for the resident youth applicant. 
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  (iii)   License selling agents and the ELS shall only issue licenses to one 

customer at a time, first-come, first-served in the order the individuals are present in line.  The 

agent may issue up to the maximum number of licenses specified by Chapter 2, General Hunting 

Regulation to a single individual who provides the required information for license issuance.   

 

 (e)   Big Game Licenses.  No individual shall apply for or receive more than one (1) 

license for each big game species during any one (1) calendar year, except as otherwise provided 

in Commission regulation(s). 

 

  (i)   Antelope.  Eighty percent (80%) of the total available limited quota 

antelope licenses shall initially be offered to residents in the initial drawing.  An applicant may 

only apply for and receive the maximum number of full price antelope licenses as specified in 

Chapter 2, General Hunting Regulation.  The order of the resident antelope initial drawings 

depicted in this section shall be Resident Landowner Licenses, then Resident Regular Licenses. 

 

   (A)   Statutes provide for up to one hundred sixty (160) licenses to be 

available for up to two (2) antelope hunt events.  These licenses shall be issued above quotas 

established for the hunt area(s) and shall be allocated to residents and nonresidents as designated 

by the Wildlife Division.  These licenses are exempt from the provisions in this Chapter limiting 

the number of big game licenses an individual can obtain in one (1) calendar year. 

 

(I) Up to eighty (80) antelope licenses shall be available for 

the One-Shot Antelope Hunt sponsored by the One-Shot Antelope Club. 

 

(II) Up to eighty (80) antelope licenses shall be available for 

the Wyoming Women’s Antelope Hunt sponsored by the Wyoming Women’s Foundation. 

 

   (B)   The Commission may, upon receipt of payment of antelope license 

fees as specified in W. S. § 23-1-705, issue up to a total of fifty (50) antelope licenses each year 

for the exclusive distribution by nonprofit organizations dedicated to providing hunting 

opportunities to individuals with disabilities. 

 

    (I)   Qualifying organizations shall make application to the 

License Section of the Department on or before January 31 for the antelope licenses.  The 

application shall specify: 

 

(1.)   The total number of licenses requested; and, 

 

(2.)   The Hunt Area and Type designation of the licenses 

requested; and, 

 

     (3.)    Certification that shows the organization qualifies 

under the definition of a “Nonprofit Organization Dedicated to Providing Hunting Opportunities 

to Individuals with Disabilities”. 
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    (II)   In the event that more than one (1) qualifying organization 

requests licenses under this subsection, the Department shall allocate the licenses through a 

random drawing to the specific qualifying organization(s). 

 

    (III)   The antelope licenses issued shall be issued through the 

Department above quotas established for the hunt area(s) and shall be allocated to residents or 

nonresidents as designated by the nonprofit organization(s). 

   

   (C)   The order of the nonresident antelope initial drawing set forth in 

this section shall be Nonresident Landowner Licenses, Nonresident Special Licenses, then 

Nonresident Regular Licenses.  The allocation of remaining licenses after the Landowner 

License Drawing shall be forty percent (40%) to the Nonresident Special License Drawing and 

sixty percent (60%) to the Nonresident Regular License Drawing. 

 

   (D)   The Department shall allocate not less than seventy-five percent 

(75%) of the available Special and Regular Nonresident antelope licenses to a preference point 

drawing in the initial drawing.  The order of the nonresident antelope preference point drawing 

shall allow individual applicants with the highest number of preference points to be given a 

drawing advantage for the total number of available licenses to be issued in accordance with this 

section; then the applicants with the next highest number of preference points shall be selected, 

and so forth, until the quota has been filled for all first choice selections.  The Department shall 

allocate up to twenty-five percent (25%) of the available nonresident antelope licenses to a 

random drawing in the initial drawing in which all unsuccessful applicants from the preference 

point drawing shall be placed.  The preference point drawing advantage shall only apply to an 

applicant’s first choice selection.  All unsuccessful applicants in the preference point drawing 

shall participate in the respective random drawing for all remaining choices, giving no advantage 

to applicants with preference points. 

 

    (I) In addition to the restrictions set forth in Section 18 of this 

Chapter, party applications with a differing number of preference points among party members 

shall have preference points averaged and rounded out to four (4) decimal places.  

 

   (E)   Antelope licenses that have not been applied for and issued 

through initial drawings or leftover drawings shall be offered to residents and nonresidents as 

issue-after licenses.   

 

   (F)  Eighty percent (80%) of the total available limited quota reduced 

price doe/fawn antelope licenses shall be offered to residents in the initial drawing. An applicant 

may only apply for and receive the maximum number of reduced price doe/fawn antelope 

licenses as specified in Chapter 2, General Hunting Regulation.  Reduced price pioneer doe/fawn 

antelope licenses shall be made available through the ELS.  In addition to the statutorily 

prescribed application fees, the price of reduced price doe/fawn antelope licenses shall be 

twenty-two dollars ($22) for residents, fourteen dollars ($14) for resident youth, two dollars ($2) 

for resident pioneers, eighteen dollars ($18) for pioneer heritage, thirty-four dollars ($34) for 

nonresidents and nineteen dollars ($19) for nonresident youth.   
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  (ii)   Bighorn Sheep.  Seventy-five percent (75%) of the total available limited 

quota full price bighorn sheep licenses shall initially be offered to residents in the initial 

drawings. The Department shall allocate not less than seventy-five percent (75%) of the available 

resident full price bighorn sheep licenses and not less than seventy-five percent (75%) of the 

available nonresident full price bighorn sheep licenses to a preference point drawing in the initial 

drawing.  The order of the resident and nonresident full price bighorn sheep preference point 

drawing shall allow individual applicants with the highest number of preference points to be 

given a drawing advantage for the total number of available licenses to be issued in accordance 

with this section; then the applicants with the next highest number of preference points shall be 

selected, and so forth, until the quota has been filled.  The Department shall allocate up to 

twenty-five percent (25%) of the available resident full price bighorn sheep licenses and shall 

allocate up to twenty-five percent (25%) of the available nonresident full price bighorn sheep 

licenses to a random drawing in the initial drawing in which all unsuccessful applicants from the 

preference point drawing shall be placed.   

 

   (A)   Seventy-five percent (75%) of the total available limited quota 

reduced price ewe/lamb licenses shall be offered to residents in the initial drawing, except as 

otherwise provided by Commission regulations.  An applicant may only apply for and receive 

the maximum number of reduced price ewe/lamb licenses as specified in Chapter 2, General 

Hunting Regulation.  In addition to the statutorily prescribed application fees, the price of 

reduced price ewe/lamb licenses shall be thirty-six dollars ($36) for residents, twenty dollars 

($20) for resident youth, two hundred forty dollars ($240) for nonresidents and one hundred 

dollars ($100) for nonresident youth. 

 

  (iii)   Deer.  Eighty percent (80%) of the total available limited quota deer 

licenses shall initially be offered to residents in the initial drawing.  An applicant may only apply 

for and receive the maximum number of full price deer licenses as specified in Chapter 2, 

General Hunting Regulation.  The order of the resident deer initial drawings depicted in this 

section shall be Resident Landowner Licenses, then Resident Regular Licenses.   

 

   (A)   The Commission shall annually establish the nonresident region 

general deer license quotas in addition to license quotas for limited quota hunt areas. Nonresident 

region general deer license quotas shall not include hunt areas with limited quota licenses issued 

to nonresidents. 

 

   (B)   Statutes provide for up to seventy-five (75) nonresident special 

deer licenses to be available for a national bow hunt.  This quota shall be deducted from the 

nonresident special deer quota for the nonresident deer region in which the national bow hunt is 

held.  National bow hunt deer licenses shall only be valid during the hunt dates established by 

Wyoming National Bowhunt, Inc. and the Department.  These dates shall be within the existing 

special archery season dates as set forth in the most current Commission Regulation Chapter 6 

Deer Hunting Seasons of the Commission regulations for the specific deer hunt area(s) in which 

the hunt will occur. 
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   (C)   Statutes provide for up to twenty-five (25) licenses, which may be 

issued for a gunpowder or buckskin hunt(s).  These licenses shall be issued above quotas and 

allocated to residents and nonresidents as designated by the Wildlife Division. These licenses are 

exempt from the provisions in this Chapter limiting the number of big game licenses an 

individual can obtain in one (1) calendar year. 

 

   (D)   The order of the nonresident deer initial drawings described in this 

section shall be Nonresident Landowner Licenses, Nonresident Special Licenses, and then 

Nonresident Regular Licenses.  The allocation of remaining licenses after the nonresident 

landowner drawing shall be forty percent (40%) to the Nonresident Special License Drawing and 

sixty percent (60%) to the Nonresident Regular License Drawing. 

 

   (E)   The Department shall allocate not less than seventy-five percent 

(75%) of the available Special and Regular Nonresident deer licenses to a preference point 

drawing in the initial drawing.  The order of the nonresident deer preference point drawing shall 

allow individual applicants with the highest number of preference points to be given a drawing 

advantage for the total number of available licenses to be issued in accordance with this section; 

then the applicants with the next highest number of preference points shall be selected, and so 

forth, until the quota has been filled for all first choice selections.  The Department shall allocate 

up to twenty-five percent (25%) of the available nonresident deer licenses to a random drawing 

in the initial drawing which unsuccessful applicants from the preference point drawing shall be 

placed.  The preference point drawing advantage shall only apply to an applicant’s first choice 

selection.  Unsuccessful applicants in the preference point drawing shall participate in the 

respective random drawing for all remaining choices, giving no advantage to applicants with 

preference points. 

 

    (I)   In addition to the restrictions set forth in Section 18 of this 

Chapter, party applications with differing number of preference points among party members 

shall have preference points averaged and rounded out to four (4) decimal places. 

 

   (F)   Nonresident Region General deer licenses that have not been 

applied for and issued through the initial drawing and leftover drawing shall be offered to 

nonresidents as issue-after licenses.  

 

   (G)   Limited quota deer licenses that have not been applied for and 

issued through the initial and leftover drawings shall be offered to residents and nonresidents as 

issue-after licenses.  

 

   (H)   Eighty percent (80%) of the total available limited quota reduced 

price doe/fawn deer licenses shall be offered to residents in the initial drawing.  An applicant 

may only apply for and receive the maximum number of reduced price doe/fawn deer licenses as 

specified in Chapter 2, General Hunting Regulation.  Reduced price pioneer doe/fawn deer 

licenses shall be made available for sale through the ELS.  In addition to the statutorily 

prescribed application fees, the price of reduced price doe/fawn deer licenses shall be twenty-two 

dollars ($22) for residents, fourteen dollars ($14) for resident youth, two dollars ($2) for resident 
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pioneers, eighteen dollars ($18) for pioneer heritage, thirty-four dollars ($34) for nonresidents 

and nineteen dollars ($19) for nonresident youth.   

 

    (I)   Resident general deer licenses shall not be limited in 

number and shall be issued through the ELS.  Resident general deer licenses may also be applied 

for and issued through the initial drawings by submission of a completed application.  

 

   (iv)   Elk.  A total license limit of seven thousand two hundred-fifty (7,250) 

nonresident elk licenses shall be made available to nonresident applicants in the initial drawing 

each year.  Reduced price cow/calf elk licenses and limited quota elk licenses remaining after the 

initial drawing may be made available to nonresidents in addition to the limit of seven thousand 

two hundred fifty (7,250).  Sixteen percent (16%) of the total available limited quota full price 

and reduced price cow/calf elk licenses shall initially be offered to nonresidents in the 

nonresident elk initial drawing.  The order of the nonresident elk initial drawings described in 

this section shall be Nonresident Landowner Licenses, Nonresident Special Licenses, and then 

Nonresident Regular Licenses.  Following the Nonresident Landowner License Drawing, 

licenses available in the initial drawing from the seven thousand two hundred-fifty (7,250) limit 

shall be allocated as follows:  The allocation of remaining licenses after the nonresident 

landowner drawing shall be forty percent (40%) to the Nonresident Special License Drawing and 

sixty percent (60%) to the Nonresident Regular License Drawing.  If the seven thousand two 

hundred-fifty (7,250) license quota is not issued in the initial nonresident drawings, the 

Department may achieve the seven thousand two hundred-fifty (7,250) license quota by issuing 

general elk licenses.  Licenses remaining for limited quota areas resulting from this procedure 

may be made available in the resident elk initial drawing. 

  

   (A)   The Department shall allocate not less than seventy-five percent 

(75%) of the available Special and Regular Nonresident elk licenses to a preference point 

drawing in the initial drawing.  The order of the nonresident elk preference point drawing shall 

allow individual applicants with the highest number of preference points to be given a drawing 

advantage for the total number of available licenses to be issued in accordance with this section; 

then the applicants with the next highest number of preference points shall be selected, and so 

forth, until the quota has been filled for all first choice selections.  The Department shall allocate 

up to twenty-five percent (25%) of the available nonresident elk licenses to a random drawing in 

the initial drawing in which all unsuccessful applicants from the preference point drawing shall 

be placed.  The preference point drawing advantage shall only apply to an applicant’s first choice 

selection.  All unsuccessful applicants in the preference point drawing shall participate in the 

respective random drawing for all remaining choices, giving no advantage to applicants with 

preference points. 

    (I)   In addition to the restrictions set forth in Section 18 of this 

Chapter, party applications with differing number of preference points among party members 

shall have preference points averaged and rounded out to four (4) decimal places. 

  

   (B)   Following the nonresident elk initial drawing, quotas for resident 

limited quota full priced and reduced price cow/calf elk licenses shall be the greater of the elk 

quotas established by Commission regulation less any elk licenses currently issued to 
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nonresidents or eighty-four (84%) percent of the quota established by Commission regulation in 

the initial drawing.  The order of the resident elk initial drawings depicted in this section shall be 

Resident Landowner Licenses, then Resident Regular Licenses. 

 

   (C)   Elk licenses that have not been applied for and issued through the 

initial and leftover drawings shall be offered to residents and nonresidents as issue-after licenses. 

 

   (D)   An applicant may only apply for and receive the maximum number 

of full price antlerless and reduced price cow/calf elk licenses as specified in Chapter 2, General 

Hunting Regulation.   Reduced price pioneer cow/calf elk licenses shall be made available for 

sale through the ELS.  In addition to the statutorily prescribed application fees, the price of 

reduced price cow/calf elk licenses shall be forty-three dollars ($43) for residents, twenty dollars 

($20) for resident youth, five dollars ($5) for resident pioneers, twenty-seven dollars ($27) for 

pioneer heritage, two hundred eighty-eight dollars ($288) for nonresidents and one hundred 

dollars ($100) for nonresident youth.   

 

   (E)   Resident general elk licenses shall not be limited in number and 

shall be issued through the ELS.  General elk licenses may also be applied for and issued through 

the initial drawings by submitting a completed application. 

 

 (v)   Moose.  Eighty percent (80%) of the total available limited quota moose 

licenses shall be offered to residents in the initial drawing.  The Department shall allocate not 

less than seventy-five percent (75%) of the available resident moose licenses and not less than 

seventy-five percent (75%) of the available nonresident moose licenses to a preference point 

drawing in the initial drawing.  The order of the resident and nonresident moose preference point 

drawing shall allow individual applicants with the highest number of preference points to be 

given a drawing advantage for the total number of available licenses to be issued in accordance 

with this Section; then, the applicants with the next highest number of preference points shall be 

selected, and so forth, until the quota has been filled.  The Department shall allocate up to 

twenty-five percent (25%) of the available resident moose licenses and shall allocate up to 

twenty-five percent (25%) of the available nonresident moose licenses to a random drawing in 

the initial drawing in which all unsuccessful applicants from the preference point drawing shall 

be placed.   

 

(vi)   Mountain Goat.  Seventy-five percent (75%) of the total available limited 

quota mountain goat licenses shall be offered to residents in the initial drawing.   

 

 (A) Any person who has been issued a mountain goat type one (1) 

license shall not be eligible to apply for or receive a mountain goat type one (1) license in any 

subsequent year. 

 

 (B) Any person who has been issued a mountain goat type one (1) 

license in a previous year may apply for and receive a mountain goat Type A license in any 

subsequent year. 
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 (C) Any person who applies for and receives a mountain goat Type A  

license shall be eligible to apply for or receive a mountain goat Type A license in any future 

year. 

 

 (f)   Trophy Game.  No individual shall apply for or receive more than one (1) license 

for a specific trophy game species during any one (1) calendar year, except as otherwise 

provided in Commission regulation. 

 

  (i)   Black Bear.  Black bear licenses shall not be limited in number.  They 

shall be issued through the ELS.  

 

  (ii)   Gray Wolf.  Gray wolf licenses shall not be limited in number.  They shall 

be issued through the ELS. 

 

  (iii)   Grizzly Bear.  No licenses shall be issued for this species until such time 

as the Commission may establish an open grizzly bear hunting season. 

 

  (iv)   Mountain Lion.  Full price mountain lion licenses and reduced price 

mountain lion licenses shall not be limited in number.  They shall be issued through the ELS.  A 

person may apply for and receive a maximum of one (1) full price mountain lion license and one 

(1) reduced price mountain lion license during any one (1) calendar year.  Reduced price 

mountain lion licenses are only valid in specified hunt areas.  A person shall possess and exhibit 

a full price mountain lion license for the current calendar year in order to receive a reduced price 

mountain lion license for the same calendar year.  The price of a reduced price mountain lion 

license shall be twenty dollars ($20) for residents and ninety-two dollars ($92) for nonresidents.   

 

 (g)   Wild Bison.  Eighty (80%) percent of the wild bison recreational hunting season 

licenses shall be initially offered to residents in the initial drawing.  If the number of resident 

applicants for wild bison licenses does not meet or exceed the resident wild bison license 

allocation, the remaining resident allocation may be issued to nonresidents.  If the number of 

nonresident applicants for wild bison does not meet or exceed the nonresident wild bison 

allocation, the remaining license allocation may be issued to residents. 

    

  (i)   Completed applications for resident and nonresident wild bison 

recreational hunting season licenses shall only be accepted through the ELS.  Applicants shall 

have the choice of applying for any wild bison or any female or calf wild bison.  A computer 

random drawing shall be utilized to determine successful applicants. 

 

  (ii)   Wild bison licenses that have not been applied for and issued through 

initial and leftover drawings shall be offered to residents and nonresidents as issue-after licenses.    

 

  (iii)   Any person who is issued an any wild bison license and harvests; 
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   (A)   A bull wild bison shall not be eligible to apply for or receive an 

any wild bison license in any future year, but shall be eligible to apply for and receive a female 

or calf wild bison license in the immediately following year; 

 

   (B)   A female or calf wild bison shall not be eligible to apply for or 

receive a female or calf wild bison license in the immediately following five (5) year period, but 

shall be eligible to apply for and receive an any wild bison license in the immediately following 

year. 

 

  (iv)   Any person who is issued a female or calf wild bison license and harvests 

a female or calf wild bison shall not be eligible to apply for or receive an any wild bison license 

or a female or calf wild bison license in the immediately following five (5) year period. 

 

(h)   Bird.  

 

(i)  Falconry.   

 

(A)   Hunt with Falcon licenses shall be issued as over-the-counter 

licenses through the ELS. 

 

   (B)   General Raptor Capture licenses shall be issued as over-the-

counter licenses through the ELS at Headquarters.  Limited Quota Raptor Capture licenses shall 

be issued in accordance with Commission Regulation Chapter 25 Falconry Regulation.   

 

  (ii)   Game Bird.  Game Bird licenses shall not be limited in number.  They 

shall be issued as over-the-counter licenses through the ELS.   

 

  (iii)   Wild Turkey.  Eighty percent (80%) of the total available spring and fall 

limited quota wild turkey licenses shall be offered to residents in the initial drawing.  The order 

of the initial drawings shall be resident landowner licenses, resident regular licenses, nonresident 

landowner licenses, and then nonresident regular licenses.  

 

   (A)   Limited quota wild turkey licenses that have not been applied for 

and issued through the initial drawing shall be offered to residents and nonresidents as issue-after 

licenses. 

 

   (B)   The Commission may authorize general wild turkey licenses, 

which shall not be limited in number.  Those licenses shall be issued as over-the-counter licenses 

through the ELS.  These licenses may also be applied for and issued through the initial drawing 

process. 

 

 (i)  Small Game.  Small Game licenses shall not be limited in number.  They shall be 

issued as over-the-counter licenses through the ELS.   

 

 (j)   Furbearing Animals. 
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  (i)   Trapping.  Resident furbearing animal trapping licenses shall not be 

limited in number.  They shall be issued as over-the-counter licenses through the ELS.  

Nonresident furbearing animal trapping licenses shall not be limited in number and shall be 

issued in accordance with W.S. § 23-2-303 at Headquarters. 

 

  (ii)   Capture Furbearing Animal for Domestication.  Capture Furbearing 

Animal for Domestication licenses shall not be limited in number and shall be issued through the 

ELS at Headquarters. 

 

 (k)  Archery.  Archery licenses shall not be limited in number.  They shall be issued as 

over-the-counter licenses through the ELS. 

  

 (l)  Commercial Licenses.  Commercial licenses require written approval by 

Department personnel prior to issuance. 

 

  (i)   Commercial Fish Hatchery.  Commercial Fish Hatchery licenses shall not 

be limited in number and shall be issued through the ELS at Headquarters. 

 

  (ii)  Deal in Live Bait.  Deal in Live Bait licenses shall not be limited in 

number and shall be issued through the ELS at Department Regional Offices and Headquarters.  

 

   (iii)  Fishing Preserve.  Fishing Preserve licenses shall not be limited in number 

and shall be issued through the ELS at Headquarters. 

 

  (iv)   Fur Dealer.  Fur Dealer licenses shall not be limited in number and shall 

be issued through the ELS at Headquarters. 

 

  (v)   Game Bird Farm.  Game Bird Farm licenses shall not be limited in number 

and shall be issued through the ELS at Headquarters. 

 

  (vi)  Taxidermist.  Taxidermist licenses shall not be limited in number and shall 

be issued through the ELS at Headquarters. 

 

 (m)   Fishing.  Fishing licenses shall not be limited in number.  They shall be issued as 

over-the-counter licenses through the ELS.    

 

  (i)   Seine or Trap Fish.  Seine or Trap Fish licenses shall not be limited in 

number and shall be issued through the ELS at Department Regional Offices and Headquarters.   

No person shall apply for or receive more than one (1) seine or trap fish license during a calendar 

year. 

 

 (n)   Duplicate Licenses.   

 

  (i)  In order for a duplicate license to be issued, a duplicate license affidavit 

shall be properly completed by the licensee.   
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   (A)   For a license, permit, stamp or tag that was originally issued 

through a manual process, the customer shall be required to purchase another license, permit, 

stamp or tag, rather than a duplicate license, as authorized by Commission regulation. 

 

   (B)   For a license that was originally issued through the ELS, the 

license selling agent or sub-agent shall not be required to complete a duplicate license affidavit 

form prior to issuing a duplicate license as the affidavit is incorporated into the duplicate license 

document being issued through the ELS. 

 

  (ii)   Duplicate licenses shall be issued through the ELS.   

 

  (iii)   The Department and license selling agents shall charge a fee of seven  

dollars ($7) for issuance of a duplicate license.   

 

  (iv)   The Department shall not charge a fee for issuance of a duplicate license 

when the loss or destruction of the license is the fault of the Department or when an applicant 

does not receive a license which was mailed to the address on their application. 

 

 (o)   Replacement Licenses.  

 

 (i)   The completion of a duplicate license affidavit form shall not be required 

for the issuance of a replacement license. 

 

  (ii)   The Department and license selling agents shall charge a fee of seven 

dollars ($7) for the issuance of a replacement license issued through the ELS.   

 

 (p)   Resident Guide Licenses shall be issued for no charge through the ELS at 

Department Regional Offices and Headquarters, and shall be issued manually through designated 

Department personnel. 

 

 Section 6.  Permits. 

 

(a)       Sandhill Crane.   

 

  (i)   Limited Quota Sandhill Crane. Applicants shall be selected by random 

computer selection.  Twenty percent (20%) of the total available limited quota sandhill crane 

permits shall initially be offered to nonresidents in the initial drawing.  Limited quota sandhill 

crane permits that have not been applied for and issued through the initial drawing shall be 

issued through the ELS on an as processed basis until quotas have been reached or the permit is 

no longer valid.   

 

  (ii)   General Sandhill Crane.  Permits shall not be limited in number and shall 

only be available through the Department’s website beginning August 1. 
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 (b)   Disabled Hunter and Disabled Hunter Companion Permits.  Any person qualified 

to obtain a disabled hunter permit or purchase a disabled hunter companion permit shall apply on 

the proper application form to the Department’s License Section at Headquarters or Department 

Regional Offices. 

 

 (c)   Hunters with a Shoot from a Vehicle Permit.  Any person qualified to obtain a 

Shoot from a Vehicle Permit shall apply on the proper application form to the Department’s 

License Section at Headquarters or Department Regional Offices.  

 

 (d)   Hunting Season Extension Permit.  Any person qualified to obtain a Hunting 

Season Extension Permit shall apply on the proper application form to the Department’s License 

Section at Headquarters or Department Regional Offices. 

 

 (e)   Migratory Game Bird. 

 

  (i)   Harvest Information Permit.  Harvest Information Permits shall not be 

limited in number and shall only be available through the Department’s website.   

 

 (f)   Furbearing Animal, Limited Quota Beaver and Marten.  

 

  (i)   Applicants shall be selected by random computer drawing.  Both residents 

and nonresidents shall draw against the same quota.  Leftover permits may be issued to the first 

eligible applicant as authorized by the Fiscal Division Chief.    

 

 (g)   Pheasant. 

 

  (i)   Glendo Permit.  Eighty percent (80%) of the total available limited quota 

Glendo pheasant permits shall be offered to residents in the initial drawing. Glendo pheasant 

permits that have not been applied for and issued through the initial drawing shall be issued as 

authorized by the Fiscal Division Chief on an as processed basis until quotas have been reached 

or the permit is no longer valid.  No person shall apply for or receive more than one (1) Glendo 

Permit in the initial drawing. 

 

  (ii)   Springer Permit.  Eighty percent (80%) of the total available limited quota 

Springer pheasant permits shall be offered to residents in the initial drawing. Springer pheasant 

permits that are not applied for and issued through the initial drawing shall be issued at the 

Springer Check Station or as authorized by the Fiscal Division Chief until the quotas have been 

reached or the permit is no longer valid.  No person shall apply for or receive more than one (1) 

Springer Permit in the initial drawing. 

    

 (h)   Special Management Permit.  Any individual participating in a special 

management program shall be required to purchase a Special Management Permit.  Special 

Management Permits shall not be limited in number and shall be issued through the ELS. 

 

(i) Special Limited Fishing Permit. 
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  (i)   Any institution, facility or school designated by the Department to issue 

Special Limited Fishing Permits to any person under the care and supervision of the institution, 

residing facility, or school as authorized in W.S. § 23-2-207 may issue such permits to fish in 

accordance with Commission Regulation Chapter 46, Fishing Regulations. 

 

  (ii)   Special Limited Fishing Permits shall specify the following information: 

 

(A)   Name and date of birth of individual to whom the permit is issued;  

 

(B)   Calendar year for which the permit is valid; 

 

(C)   Name of institution, facility, or school issuing the permit; and, 

 

(D)   Name of the person employed by institution, facility, or school  

who issued the permit. 

 

  (iii)   No person shall apply for or receive any permit under this section by false 

swearing, fraud or false statement of any kind or in any form. 

 

  (iv)   Employees of institutions, facilities or schools as authorized in W.S. § 23-

2-207 are not eligible to receive special limited fishing permits. 

 

  (v)   Any institution, facility or school designated by the Department to issue 

special limited fishing permits shall submit an annual report to the Department's License Section.  

The report shall include the number of special limited fishing permits issued, the name of the 

institution, facility or school and any other required information as provided by the Department.  

Reports shall be due on or before January 31 following the reporting period year.  

 

 (j)   Hunters with a Central Visual Acuity Disability Permit.  Any person qualified to 

obtain a Central Visual Acuity Disability Permit shall apply on the proper application form to the 

Department’s License Section at Headquarters or Department Regional Offices. 

 

 Section 7.  Tags.  Wyoming Interstate Game Tag.  Wyoming Interstate Game Tags shall 

not be limited in number and shall be sold through Department Regional Offices, Headquarters, 

designated Department personnel, game tag distributors or their designees.  

 

 Section 8.  Stamps. 

 

 (a)   Conservation Stamp.  Conservation Stamps shall not be limited in number and 

shall be sold through the ELS and manually.   

 

  (i)   Hunters or anglers acquiring a manually issued conservation stamp for the 

purpose set forth in W.S. § 23-2-306 shall validate the stamp by signing their name in ink in the 

space provided on the face of the stamp.  Hunters or anglers who acquire a lifetime conservation 
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stamp or a conservation stamp authorization through the ELS shall not be required to meet the 

signature provisions of this subsection. 

 

  (ii)   The validated stamp, or the document exhibiting the stamp privilege, shall 

be in possession of any person required by W.S. § 23-2-306 to obtain a stamp if the person is 

engaged in the act of hunting or fishing and shall be immediately produced for inspection upon 

request from any Department personnel. 

 

 (b)   Wildlife Damage Management Stamp.  Wildlife Damage Management Stamps 

shall not be limited in number and shall be sold through the ELS.  The price for the stamp shall 

be established by the Wyoming Animal Damage Management Board. 

 

 (c)   Reciprocity Stamp.  Reciprocal agreements provide for licensing for fishing of 

residents of Wyoming and adjoining states upon artificial impoundment of water forming the 

boundary between Wyoming and adjoining states.  Reciprocity stamps shall not be limited in 

number and shall be sold through the ELS. 

 

 Section 9.  Landowner Licenses.  Landowner licenses shall only be issued to those 

landowners who own land which provides habitat for antelope, deer, elk or wild turkeys and 

meets the requirements as set forth in this section.  Any lands purchased or subdivided for the 

primary purpose of obtaining landowner licenses shall not be eligible for landowner licenses.  

The Wyoming Game and Fish Commission authorizes the issuance of landowner licenses in 

order to provide the opportunity for a landowner applicant or member of the landowner 

applicant’s immediate family to hunt antelope, deer, elk or wild turkey on the landowner’s 

property in the case where licenses for a hunt area have been limited in number and only 

available through a competitive drawing.  

  

 (a)   In order to qualify for a license issued under this section, the deeded land 

qualifying the landowner applicant shall be located in the hunt area for which applied, shall 

consist of a minimum of one hundred sixty (160) contiguous acres and shall be utilized by the 

type of big game or wild turkeys for which the applicant applied to the extent the land provides 

food, cover and water.  The landowner applicant shall demonstrate that the species of wildlife for 

which the license application has been made utilized the described land for a minimum of two 

thousand (2,000) days of use during the twelve (12) month period immediately preceding  the 

date of application.  In no case shall more than two (2) big game licenses per species or more 

than two (2) spring wild turkey or no more than two (2) fall wild turkey licenses be issued for a 

parcel of deeded land meeting the above qualifications in a calendar year.  

 

 (b)   Resident or nonresident landowner applicants that own land in Wyoming or 

members of the landowner applicant’s immediate family may be issued licenses upon application 

and payment of the specified fee.  Licenses shall be issued to landowners without participating in 

a competitive drawing unless the number of landowner license applications exceeds the number 

of licenses authorized for the hunt area by the Commission.  In such cases, a competitive 

drawing shall be utilized to determine successful landowner license applicants.  Landowner 
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license applications shall be drawn first in each respective resident and nonresident initial 

drawing and shall be drawn against the total quota available in each respective hunt area.  

 

 (c)   As a condition of eligibility for licenses issued to landowners, landowner 

applicants shall provide on and with the application for a license issued to landowners, 

documentation that substantiates in which capacity the individual qualifies as a landowner 

applicant under the definition of a landowner applicant or landowner’s immediate family in this 

Chapter.  Documentation shall include the completion of the landowner license application form 

provided by the Department, and any attachments required by the Department to determine 

eligibility of the applicant.  The Department shall consider the eligibility of the applicant based 

on the requirements in this regulation and documentation provided by the landowner.  Applicants 

for landowner licenses shall be submitted to the game warden or the regional wildlife supervisor 

in whose geographic area of responsibility the land listed on the application occurs.   

 

 (d)   In the case of resident license availability, no full price landowner licenses shall 

be authorized if hunting with a general license is allowed at any time during the hunting season, 

unless the general license is valid for antlerless deer or antlerless elk hunting only.   

 

 (e)   In the case where a nonresident landowner qualifies for a landowner license in a 

hunt area where the current hunting season provides for both limited quota and general license 

hunting during the established hunting season for the species applied for, the nonresident 

landowner may apply as a nonresident applicant for either the limited quota license for the area 

in which the applicant is qualified, or a general license in the initial drawing.  If the nonresident 

landowner is unsuccessful in obtaining a limited quota license in the nonresident drawing, the 

nonresident landowner may subsequently apply to the Department for the issuance of a general 

license.   

 

 (f)   Landowner licenses shall be designated by the landowner and applied for by a 

landowner applicant, or a member of the landowner applicant’s immediate family.   

 

(i)       An individual landowner applicant may apply for or receive:  

 

   (A) No more than one (1) full price elk and one (1) limited quota 

reduced price elk landowner license in a calendar year.   

 

   (B) No more than one (1) full price antelope or up to two (2) limited 

quota reduced price antelope landowner licenses in a calendar year. 

 

   (C) No more than one (1) full price deer or up to two (2) limited quota 

reduced price deer landowner licenses in a calendar year. 

 

   (D) No more than one (1) spring wild turkey landowner license and 

one (1) fall wild turkey landowner license in a calendar year.   
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  (ii) A maximum of two (2) licenses for antelope, deer and elk may be allowed 

to a landowner applicant regardless of the number of landholdings in which the landowner 

applicant holds an interest.   

 

  (iii) Regardless of a change in ownership of a particular parcel of land, no 

more than two (2) landowner licenses for each big game species (antelope, deer, and elk) shall be 

issued in any calendar year on the basis of the qualification of the particular parcel.   

 

  (iv) Regardless of a change in ownership of a particular parcel of land, no 

more than two (2) spring wild turkey and two (2) fall wild turkey landowner licenses shall be 

issued in any calendar year on the basis of the qualification of the particular parcel. 

 

 (g)   Landowners shall submit applications for landowner licenses as listed in Section 

20 of this regulation. 

 

 Section 10.  Lifetime Licenses and Conservation Stamp.  Any resident qualified to 

purchase a lifetime fishing, lifetime archery or lifetime combination license pursuant to 

Wyoming statute may obtain a lifetime license from the Department’s License Section at 

Headquarters or license selling locations as designated by the Fiscal Division Chief. 

 

 (a)   Wyoming statute provides for a lifetime conservation stamp.  Any person may 

purchase a lifetime conservation stamp from the Department’s License Section at Headquarters 

or license selling locations as designated by the Fiscal Division Chief. 

 

 (b)   Receiving a lifetime license grants the recipient the privilege of utilizing the 

license for his lifetime; however, the license shall not be construed as exercising resident hunting 

or fishing privileges in Wyoming when and if the person leaves the state of Wyoming.  

 

 Section 11.  Governor Complimentary Licenses.  Wyoming statutes provide for the 

issuance of complimentary licenses to be issued at the request of the Governor.  Big game 

licenses authorized under this section shall be valid for the species for which the license has been 

issued.   

 

 (a)   These licenses shall be valid in any hunt area in accordance with Commission 

regulations, except for the following: 

 

  (i)   Complimentary moose licenses shall not be valid in any moose hunt area, 

which has a total quota of ten (10) or less antlered or any moose licenses. 

 

  (ii)   Complimentary full price bighorn sheep licenses shall not be valid in any 

bighorn sheep hunt area that has a total quota of eight (8) or less full price bighorn sheep 

licenses. 

 

  (iii) Complimentary wild bison licenses shall not be valid in any wild bison 

hunt area which has a total quota of ten (10) or less any wild bison licenses. 
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  (iv)   Governor’s Complimentary licenses shall not be valid within Grand Teton 

National Park. 

 

 (b)   Holders of Governor Complimentary licenses shall be exempt from the provisions 

in this Chapter limiting the number of big game or wild bison licenses an individual can possess 

in any one (1) calendar year or during an individual’s lifetime.   An individual is eligible to 

receive a Governor Complimentary moose license, Governor Complimentary full price bighorn 

sheep license, and a Governor Complimentary wild bison license annually.  Recipients shall be 

exempt from the five (5) year waiting period and preference points shall not be lost if an 

individual receives a Governor Complimentary moose or full price bighorn sheep license.  

Nonresident preference points shall not be lost if an individual receives a Governor 

Complimentary antelope, deer or elk license. 

 

 Section 12.  Commissioner Complimentary Licenses.   

 

 (a)   Wyoming statutes provide that each appointed Commissioner may cause, through 

the issuance of license authorizations to nonprofit charitable organizations, to be issued at full 

price, complimentary antelope, deer or elk licenses.   

 

  (i)   Once the commissioner complimentary license authorization has been 

auctioned or otherwise bid to the highest bidder or raffled to members of the public by the 

nonprofit charitable organization, the recipient of the license authorization may only transfer the 

license authorization to another person if no additional consideration above the bid or raffle price 

is paid by the transferee.   

 

  (ii)   The recipient of the license authorization may donate the license 

authorization back to the nonprofit charitable organization that originally bid the license 

authorization to be rebid to a new highest bidder.   

 

  (iii)   The Department shall issue the license in the name of the person who 

submits the authorization for license issuance.   

 

  (iv)   All big game licenses authorized under this section are valid for a specific 

region or hunt area as designated by the applicant at the time of application.  Commissioner 

Complimentary licenses shall not be valid within Grand Teton National Park.   

 

  (v)   The specific region, or hunt area, or type shall not be changed following 

the issuance of the license by the Department.   

 

  (vi)   As a condition to issuance of a Commissioner Complimentary license, the 

Department shall require an authorized officer of the recipient organization to certify under 

penalty of law that the respective organization is a nonprofit charitable organization as defined in 

this regulation and eligible to receive the Commissioner Complimentary license authorization. 
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 (b)   Holders of Commissioner Complimentary licenses shall be exempt from the 

provisions in this Chapter limiting the number of licenses an individual can possess in any one 

(1) calendar year.  Nonresident recipients shall not lose preference points for receiving a 

Commissioner Complimentary antelope, deer or elk license.   

 

 Section 13.  Commissioner Complimentary Licenses for Persons with Life 

Threatening Illnesses. 

 

 (a)   The Commission may, upon receipt of payment of the proper fee issue up to 

twenty-five (25) antelope licenses, twenty-five (25) deer licenses, twenty-five (25) elk licenses 

and twenty-five (25) turkey licenses to persons twenty (20) years of age or younger with a life-

threatening illness and who is sponsored by a nonprofit charitable organization whose mission it 

is to provide opportunities and experiences to persons with life-threatening or serious illnesses.  

Licenses issued under this subsection shall be issued above quotas established for the hunt 

area(s) by Commission regulation.  However, no more than ten (10) limited quota antelope, ten 

(10) limited quota deer, ten (10) limited quota elk or ten (10) limited quota turkey licenses shall 

be issued for any one hunt area during the same calendar year. 

 

  (i)   The sponsoring organization shall submit a request for the number of 

licenses and species requested on or before January 31 for antelope, deer, elk, spring and fall 

turkey. 

 

  (ii)   After notification that a sponsoring organization's request has been 

granted, the sponsoring organization shall submit a completed application and appropriate 

license fee for the person with a life-threatening or serious illness to the Department’s License 

Section for license issuance.  

 

  (iii)   As a condition to issuance of a license in this subsection, the Department 

shall require an authorized officer of the sponsoring organization to certify under penalty of law 

that the respective organization is a nonprofit, charitable organization as defined in this 

regulation.  

 

  (iv)   The sponsoring organization shall provide a statement from a licensed 

physician stating the license recipient is clinically diagnosed with a life-threatening or serious 

illness. 

 

  (v)   The Department shall issue licenses to individuals sponsored by qualifying 

organizations meeting the provisions under this subsection to residents and nonresidents in 

accordance with Section 5(e) (i), 5 (e) (iii), 5(e) (iv), and Section 5(h) (iii) of this Chapter.  In the 

event the number of applications exceeds the number of licenses available under this subsection, 

the Department shall allocate the licenses through a random drawing on or before February 10.  

Licenses remaining after the initial issuance shall be available on a first come, first served basis 

until the quotas for licenses in this subsection have been allocated. 
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 Section 14.  Pioneer Licenses, Pioneer Heritage Licenses, Honorably Discharged 

Pioneer Veterans Licenses, One Hundred Percent (100%) Disabled Resident Veterans 

Licenses, Resident Disabled Veterans Lifetime Fishing Licenses and Purple Heart Medal 

Recipients.   

 

 (a)  Pioneer lifetime combination game bird/small game/fishing licenses may be 

issued to qualified individuals.  The Pioneer game bird/small game/fishing licenses shall not be 

limited in number and shall be issued through the ELS at Department Regional Offices and 

Headquarters. 

 

 (b)   Pioneer heritage antelope, deer, elk or wild turkey licenses shall be issued through 

the ELS to any qualified resident.  The fee for such licenses shall be:  pioneer heritage antelope 

license, twenty dollars ($20); pioneer heritage deer license, twenty-three dollars ($23); pioneer 

heritage elk license, thirty-two dollars ($32); and, pioneer heritage wild turkey license, ten 

dollars ($10).  Effective January 1, 2019, the fee for such licenses shall be:  pioneer heritage 

antelope license, twenty-two dollars ($22); pioneer heritage deer license, twenty-six dollars 

($26); pioneer heritage elk license, thirty-five dollars ($35); and, pioneer heritage wild turkey 

license, ten dollars ($10).  Reduced price pioneer heritage doe/fawn antelope, doe/fawn deer and 

cow/calf elk licenses shall be issued through the ELS system. 

 

 (c)   Honorably discharged pioneer veteran combination game bird/small game/fishing 

licenses may be issued to qualified individuals.  Combination game bird/small game/fishing 

licenses may be issued to residents of the state who qualify as honorably discharged pioneer 

veterans.  The honorably discharged pioneer veteran game bird/small game/fishing license shall 

not be limited in number and shall be issued through the ELS at Department Regional Offices 

and Headquarters upon submission by the applicant of documentary evidence that he qualifies as 

an honorably discharged pioneer veteran. 

 

 (d)   One hundred percent (100%) disabled resident veteran combination game 

bird/small game/fishing license may be issued to qualified individuals.  Combination game 

bird/small game/fishing licenses may be issued to residents of the state who qualify as one 

hundred percent (100%) disabled resident veterans.  The one hundred percent (100%) disabled 

resident veteran game bird/small game/fishing license shall not be limited in number and shall be 

issued through the ELS at Department Regional Offices and Headquarters upon submission by 

the applicant of documentary evidence provided by the United States Department of Veterans 

Affairs that the resident veteran qualifies as one hundred percent (100%) disabled.  For the 

purpose of this subsection, one hundred percent (100%) disabled does not refer to disability 

compensation. 

 

 (e)   Wyoming statutes provide for the issuance of antelope, deer, elk or wild turkey 

pioneer licenses to individuals qualified at the time of license issuance.  For purposes of 

drawings for which the submission of a completed application shall be required, license 

applicants shall qualify by June 20 of the current calendar year.  Any resident person qualified to 

receive a limited quota pioneer big game or wild turkey license shall make application through 

the ELS.  Limited quota pioneer licenses for antelope, deer, elk and wild turkey shall be applied 



 

44-28 
 

for in accordance with Section 20 of this Chapter.  Pioneer general deer, general elk and general 

wild turkey licenses shall be issued through the ELS.  Limited quota reduced price pioneer 

doe/fawn antelope, doe/fawn deer and cow/calf elk licenses shall be issued through the ELS 

system.  

 

 (f)   Resident disabled veteran’s lifetime fishing license.  Any resident disabled 

veteran who receives fifty percent (50%) or more service connected disability compensation 

from the United States Department of Veterans Affairs may apply on the proper application form 

for a resident disabled veteran’s lifetime fishing license. The disabled veteran’s resident lifetime 

fishing license shall not be limited in number and shall be issued through the ELS at Department 

Regional Offices and Headquarters upon submission by the applicant of documentary evidence 

provided by the United States Department of Veterans Affairs that he receives fifty percent 

(50%) or more service connected disability compensation.  The license shall remain valid for the 

lifetime of the person in whose name it is issued.   

 

 (g)   Combination game bird/small game/fishing licenses may be issued to residents of 

the state who qualify as a United States Military Purple Heart Medal recipient.  These 

combination licenses shall not be limited in number and shall be issued through the ELS at 

Department Regional Offices and Headquarters upon submission by the applicant of 

documentary evidence provided by the United States Military Department that the resident 

qualifies as a purple heart recipient. 

 

 Section 15.  Donation of Big Game Licenses to a Disabled Veteran or to a 

Permanently Disabled Person Who Uses a Wheelchair. 

 

 (a)   The holder of a valid big game license may surrender a big game license to the 

Department for reissuance to a disabled veteran or to a permanently disabled person who uses a 

wheelchair.  The person surrendering the license may designate that their license be donated to a 

disabled veteran or to a permanently disabled person who uses a wheelchair, and may designate a 

qualified nonprofit charitable organization dedicated to providing hunting opportunities to 

disabled veterans or persons with permanent disabilities who use wheelchairs.  Donated licenses 

not designated to a qualified nonprofit charitable organization, or donated licenses not assigned 

to a sponsored individual within fifteen (15) days after a nonprofit charitable organization 

dedicated to providing hunting opportunities to disabled veterans or persons with permanent 

disability who use wheelchairs has been notified of license availability, shall be made available 

for reissuance on a first-come, first-served basis to a qualified nonprofit charitable organization 

dedicated to providing hunting opportunities to disabled veterans or persons with permanent 

disabilities who use wheelchairs. 

 

  (i)   The unused, unaltered license with all coupons intact shall be submitted 

along with a form provided by the Department which indicates the license holders’ desire to 

surrender the license issued in their name and donate the surrendered license under this Section.  

The person surrendering the license shall sign an affidavit verifying that the license was not used 

during any hunting season. 

 



 

44-29 
 

  (ii)   Any person surrendering a valid big game license to be reissued under this 

Section, shall not be eligible to receive a duplicate license for the same species, hunt area and 

type as the surrendered license.  

 

(iii)   A surrendered license shall count against the maximum number of licenses 

a person may otherwise apply for and receive as a condition of Commission regulation.  

 

  (iv)   Any person surrendering a valid big game license for reissuance under this 

Section, for which preference points have been accumulated, shall not have preference points 

restored. 

 

 (b)   The surrendered license shall be reissued by the Department’s License Section to 

a qualified person who has been selected and sponsored by a nonprofit charitable organization 

providing hunting opportunities to disabled veterans or persons with permanent disabilities who 

use wheelchairs.   

 

  (i)   As a condition to reissue a license in this subsection, the Department shall 

require an authorized officer of the sponsoring organization to certify under penalty of law that 

the respective organization is a nonprofit charitable organization, that provides hunting 

opportunities to disabled veterans or persons with permanent disabilities who use wheelchairs.  

 

  (ii)   The sponsoring organization shall submit a completed application form for 

the issuance of a license on forms provided by the Department.  Donated license applications, 

and any documentary evidence, shall be completed each year regardless of whether an applicant 

has received a donated license in a previous year. 

 

   (A)   For a license being reissued to a disabled veteran, documentary 

evidence provided by the United States Department of Veterans Affairs that the applicant 

currently receives at least fifty percent (50%) or more service connected disability compensation 

shall be submitted with the application form. 

 

   (B)   For a license being reissued to a permanently disabled person who 

uses a wheelchair, a statement by a licensed physician, on forms provided by the Department, 

that the applicant has a permanent disability that requires the applicant to, at all times, be 

confined to a wheelchair for mobility purposes.   

 

  (iii)   The license shall be reissued to a qualified applicant at no fee. 

 

  (iv)   The license shall be reissued for the same species, area and license type as 

the license donated.  

 

 Section 16.  Active Duty Wyoming Resident in Combat Zone Licenses.   
Complimentary resident general elk, resident general deer, resident game bird, resident small 

game and resident daily fishing licenses shall be issued to any Wyoming resident currently 

serving on active duty in the United States military deployed to a combat zone while home on 
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military leave during the applicable hunting or fishing season.  Applicants for licenses in this 

subsection shall meet the statutory requirements established in W. S. § 23-2-101 (a), and shall 

provide to the Department a valid, current military identification card, military leave orders 

indicating the resident is currently deployed to a combat zone and is returning to a combat zone 

at the end of the current leave period, a current Leave and Earnings Statement indicating the 

applicant is receiving hostile fire compensation and proof of residency at the time of application.  

Licenses shall be issued through the ELS at no fee to the applicant and shall only be issued at 

Headquarters or Department Regional Offices. 

 

 Section 17.  Depredation Licenses.  Application shall be made to Department Regional 

Offices in the region where participation is desired on application forms provided by the 

Department.  Applicants shall apply annually to be included on priority lists.  Applicants shall 

make separate application for each species.  Application dates and priority listing name 

placement on each list shall be established in accordance with Commission Regulation Chapter 

34, Depredation Prevention Hunting Seasons.  

 

 Section 18.  Party Applications – Initial Drawing.  In the initial drawing, the maximum 

allowable number of completed applications in a party shall be six (6).  Residents and 

nonresidents shall not apply together in the same party.  Completed applications from landowner 

applicants shall not be accepted as a party with non-landowner applicants.  Nonresidents 

applying in the drawing for special licenses shall not apply as a party with nonresidents applying 

in the drawing for regular licenses.  No party applications shall be accepted for moose, bighorn 

sheep, mountain goat, or wild bison recreational hunting season licenses.  Party applicants are 

required to submit their applications for the same species, hunt area, and type in the same order 

of preference.   

 

 Section 19.  Proof of Residency for Resident Licenses. 

 

 (a)   Any qualified individual may apply for or receive a resident game and fish 

license, permit, or tag if the person meets the residency requirements pursuant to W.S. § 23-1-

102 (a) (ix) (xv) and § 23-1-107.  When an individual signs an application to obtain a resident 

license or signs a resident license, the individual swears that he is a Wyoming resident as defined 

in W.S. § 23-1-102 (a) (ix) (xv), § 23-1-107 and § 23-2-101 (a).     

 

 (b)   Any person applying for or purchasing a resident license, permit, preference 

point, or tag shall provide proof of their residency.  License selling agents and the Department 

shall consider as documentary evidence of residency the applicant’s Wyoming driver’s license or 

Wyoming identification card, a copy of their school records, a completed military form DD214, 

a completed and signed proof of residency statement on a form provided by the Department or a 

completed proof of residency affidavit issued through the ELS.  Documentary evidence 

furnished by an applicant for a resident license shall not be considered conclusive proof in a 

court of law that the applicant is a resident in accordance with Wyoming statutes. 

 

 (c)  A person qualifying as a Wyoming resident in accordance with W.S. § 23-1-107 

(c) shall not gain or lose residency for the purpose of serving full time for a period not to exceed 
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four (4) years in an established volunteer service program for charitable purposes, humanitarian 

purposes, or religious purposes.  A letter, signed and notarized by the volunteer service 

program’s director, which describes the services provided (including that they were provided 

without remuneration), the duration of service, and the hours served may be used to establish 

compliance with W.S. § 23-1-107 (c). 

 

 (d)   A person qualified as a Wyoming resident as defined in W.S. § 23-1-102 (a) (ix) 

and § 23-1-107, is not considered a nonresident for the purposes of applying for or purchasing 

licenses, permits, tags or preference points.  

 

 Section 20.  Application Dates. 

 

 (a)   Completed applications for initial limited quota drawings, purchase of preference 

points only, and applications for the Department’s Super Tag Trifecta and Super Tag license 

competitive raffle, shall only be submitted through the ELS during the application periods stated 

in this section.  Electronic applications shall provide for an electronic signature process for 

residency oaths, certification to the correctness of information provided, or any other assertions 

as may be required by this regulation on the completed applications. Evidence of electronic 

signatures on drawing applications and licenses purchased may not be excluded in legal 

proceedings.  Ref: W.S. § 40-21-113.  The Department shall begin accepting completed 

applications at 8:00 a.m. on the first business day of the month or the specified date listed in 

subsections (d) and (e) of this Section. 

 

 (b)   Completed applications submitted through the ELS shall not be accepted after 

12:00 midnight Mountain Standard Time zone on the respective application deadline dates listed 

in subsection (e).  If the deadline date occurs on a day when Headquarters has been closed for 

license sales (weekends, holiday, etc.), the ELS shall be available until 12:00 midnight Mountain 

Standard Time zone on the next business day.                                                                                              

 

 (c)   If the ELS is closed or otherwise unavailable to the public during the deadline 

date listed in subsection (e), the Department shall accept completed applications through the ELS 

until 12:00 midnight Mountain Standard Time zone on the next calendar day. 

 

            (d)   Landowner License Application Dates:  Completed applications for landowner 

licenses shall be submitted to the game warden or the regional wildlife supervisor in whose 

geographic area of responsibility the land listed on the application occurs.  Completed 

applications for landowner licenses shall not be accepted after 12:00 midnight Mountain 

Standard Time zone on respective application dates listed in this subsection. 
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LICENSE 

 

METHOD OF 

SUBMISSION 

BEGINNING 

APPLICATION 

DATE 

LAST DATE TO 

ACCEPT 

APPLICATIONS 

LAST DATE 

TO MODIFY/ 

WITHDRAW 

 

ANTELOPE 

Limited Quota 

Nonresident 

Landowner 

Paper Jan.  May 15 May 31 

Limited Quota 

Nonresident 

Landowner with 

Preference Point 

Paper Jan.  May 15 May 31 

Limited Quota 

Reduced Price 

Nonresident 

Landowner 

Doe/Fawn 

Paper Jan. May 15 May 31 

Limited Quota 

Resident 

Landowner 

Paper Jan.  May 15 May 31 

Limited Quota 

Reduced Price 

Resident 

Landowner 

Doe/Fawn 

Paper Jan.  May 15 May 31 

 

DEER 

Limited Quota 

Nonresident 

Landowner 

Paper Jan.  May 15 May 31 

Limited Quota 

Nonresident 

Landowner with 

Preference Point 

Paper Jan.  May 15 May 31 

Limited Quota 

Resident 

Landowner 

Paper Jan. May 15 May 31 

Limited Quota 

Reduced Price 

Nonresident 

Landowner 

Doe/Fawn 

Paper Jan.  May 15 May 31 
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LICENSE 

METHOD OF 

SUBMISSION 

BEGINNING 

APPLICATION 

DATE 

LAST DATE TO 

ACCEPT 

APPLICATIONS 

LAST DATE 

TO MODIFY/ 

WITHDRAW 

 

DEER 

Limited Quota 

Reduced Price 

Resident 

Landowner 

Doe/Fawn 

Paper Jan.  May 15 May 31 

 

ELK 

Limited Quota 

Nonresident 

Landowner 

Paper Jan.  Jan. 20 Feb. 3 

Limited Quota 

Nonresident 

Landowner with 

Preference Point 

Paper Jan.  Jan. 20 Feb. 3 

Limited Quota 

Reduced Price 

Nonresident 

Landowner 

Cow/Calf 

Paper Jan.  Jan. 20 Feb. 3 

Limited Quota 

Reduced Price 

Resident 

Landowner 

Cow/Calf 

Paper Jan.  May 15 May 31 

Limited Quota 

Resident 

Landowner 

Paper Jan.  May 15 May 31 

 

WILD TURKEY 

Limited Quota 

Nonresident 

Landowner 

      Spring 

      Fall 

 

 

 

Paper 

Paper 

 

 

 

Jan.  

Jul. 

 

 

 

Jan. 20 

Jul. 15 

 

 

 

Feb. 3 

Jul. 31 

Limited Quota 

Resident 

Landowner 

      Spring 

      Fall 

 

 

 

Paper 

Paper 

 

 

 

Jan.  

Jul.  

 

 

 

Jan. 20 

Jul. 15 

 

 

 

Feb. 3 

Jul. 31 
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            (e)   Non-Landowner Application Dates: 

 

 

 

LICENSE 

 

METHOD OF 

SUBMISSION 

BEGINNING 

APPLICATION 

DATE 

LAST DATE TO 

ACCEPT 

APPLICATIONS 

LAST DATE 

TO MODIFY/ 

WITHDRAW 

 

ANTELOPE 

Limited Quota 

Nonresident 

Online Jan.  May 31 May 31 

Limited Quota 

Nonresident with 

Preference Point 

Option 

Online Jan.  May 31 May 31 

Limited Quota 

Reduced Price 

Nonresident 

Doe/Fawn 

Online Jan.  May 31 May 31 

Limited Quota 

Reduced Price 

Resident 

Doe/Fawn 

Online Jan.  May 31 May 31 

Limited Quota 

Resident 

Online Jan.  May 31 May 31 

 

BIGHORN SHEEP 

Limited Quota 

Nonresident 

Online Jan.  Feb. 28* Apr. 15 

Limited Quota 

Resident 

Online Jan.  Feb. 28* Apr. 15 

Nonresident 

Preference Point 

Only 

Online Jul.  Oct. 31 n/a 

Resident 

Preference Point 

Only 

Online Jul.  Oct. 31 n/a 

 

COMPETITIVE RAFFLE CHANCES 

Super Tag 

License 

Online Jul. 15 Jul. 1 n/a 

Super Tag 

Trifecta License 

Online Jul. 15 Jul. 1 n/a 
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LICENSE 

 

METHOD OF 

SUBMISSION 

BEGINNING 

APPLICATION 

DATE 

LAST DATE TO 

ACCEPT 

APPLICATIONS 

LAST DATE 

TO MODIFY/ 

WITHDRAW 

 

DEER 

General and 

Limited Quota 

Resident 

Online Jan.  May 31 May 31 

Limited Quota 

Reduced Price 

Nonresident 

Doe/Fawn 

Online Jan.  May 31 May 31 

Limited Quota 

Reduced Price 

Resident 

Doe/Fawn 

Online Jan.  May 31 May 31 

Nonresident 

Preference Point 

Only 

Online Jul.  Oct. 31 n/a 

Region and 

Limited Quota 

Nonresident 

Online Jan.  May 31 May 31 

Region and 

Limited Quota 

Nonresident with 

Preference Point 

Option 

Online Jan.  May 31 May 31 

 

ELK 

General and 

Limited Quota 

Nonresident 

Online Jan.  Jan. 31 Feb. 3 

General and 

Limited Quota 

Nonresident with 

Preference Point 

Option 

Online  Jan.  Jan. 31 Feb. 3 

General and 

Limited Quota 

Resident 

Online Jan.  May 31 May 31 
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LICENSE 

 

METHOD OF 

SUBMISSION 

BEGINNING 

APPLICATION 

DATE 

LAST DATE TO 

ACCEPT 

APPLICATIONS 

LAST DATE 

TO MODIFY/ 

WITHDRAW 

 

ELK 

Limited Quota 

Reduced Price 

Nonresident 

Cow/Calf 

Online  Jan.  Jan. 31 Feb. 3 

Limited Quota 

Reduced Price 

Resident 

Cow/Calf 

Online Jan.  May 31 May 31 

Nonresident 

Preference Point 

Only 

Online Jul.  Oct. 31 n/a 

 

FURBEARING ANIMAL 

Limited Quota 

Furbearing 

Animal Trapping 

Permit 

Online  Jul.  Sep. 1 n/a 

 

MOOSE 

Limited Quota 

Nonresident 

Online Jan.  Feb. 28* Apr. 15 

Limited Quota 

Resident 

Online Jan. Feb. 28* Apr. 15 

Nonresident 

Preference Point 

Only 

Online Jul.  Oct. 31 n/a 

Resident 

Preference Point 

Only 

Online Jul.  Oct. 31 n/a 

 

MOUNTAIN GOAT 

Limited Quota 

Nonresident 

Online Jan.  Feb. 28* Apr. 15 

Limited Quota 

Resident 

Online Jan.  Feb. 28* Apr. 15 

 

PHEASANT 

Glendo Permit Online  Jul. Sep. 15 n/a 

Springer Permit Online  Jul. Sep. 15 n/a 
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LICENSE 

 

METHOD OF 

SUBMISSION 

BEGINNING 

APPLICATION 

DATE 

LAST DATE TO 

ACCEPT 

APPLICATIONS 

LAST DATE 

TO MODIFY/ 

WITHDRAW 

 

PREFERENCE POINT ONLY 

Nonresident Online Jul.  Oct. 31 n/a 

Resident Online Jul.  Oct. 31 n/a 

 

SANDHILL CRANE 

Limited Quota Online  Jul.  Jul. 31 n/a 

 

WILD BISON 

 Online Feb.  Feb. 28* Apr. 15 

 

WILD TURKEY 

Limited Quota 

Nonresident 

     Spring 

     Fall 

 

 

Online  

 

 

 

Jan.  

Jul.  

 

 

Jan. 31 

Jul. 31 

 

 

Feb. 3 

Jul. 31 

Nonresident 

General 

     Spring 

 

     Fall 

 

 

Online  

 

 

 

Jan.  

 

Jul.  

 

Through end of 

season 

Through end of 

season 

 

 

n/a 

 

n/a 

Limited Quota 

Resident 

     Spring 

     Fall 

 

 

Online  

 

 

 

Jan.  

Jul.  

 

 

Jan. 31 

Jul. 31 

 

 

Feb. 3 

Jul. 31 

Resident General 

     Spring 

 

     Fall 

 

Online  

 

 

Jan.  

 

Jul.  

Through end of 

season 

Through end of 

season 

 

n/a 

 

n/a 

* February 29 on leap year 

 

 Section 21.  Drawing Advantage.  The Department shall develop and maintain a license 

issue system that allows qualified persons, as prescribed below, who have either purchased a 

preference point or were unsuccessful in the preference point drawing for a full price bighorn 

sheep or moose license, or purchased a preference point for nonresident antelope, deer or elk, a 

drawing advantage in future years as prescribed in Wyoming statutes.  All applicants participate 

in the preference point drawing regardless of their preference point balance. 

 

 (a)   All preference points accumulated through methods not authorized by this 

regulation or statute shall be subject to deletion. 
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(b)   Preference points shall be assigned to persons who apply to receive preference 

points during authorized application periods.  The following provisions apply to the issuance of 

preference points.  

 

  (i)   No person shall apply for or receive a preference point during any 

calendar year in which the person’s privilege to obtain a license has been revoked or suspended 

by a court or the Wildlife Violator Compact. 

 

  (ii)   Preference points are not transferable from one person to another or from 

one species to another.  

 

  (iii)   No person may apply for more than one (1) preference point per species in 

the same calendar year. If the applicant applies for a preference point during the initial license 

drawing period and is either awarded a preference point or receives their first choice license in 

the initial drawing, they shall not apply for a preference point for the same species during the 

preference point only application period in the same calendar year.  Any preference point 

awarded in a calendar year shall not be considered for advantage in any license drawings during 

the same calendar year in which it was awarded.    

 

   (iv)   A person shall not apply for or receive a separate preference point in the 

same calendar year in which the person receives a full price bighorn sheep or moose license or a 

first choice license in the initial drawing for nonresident antelope, deer or elk.  

 

  (v)   A person eleven (11) years of age may apply for a preference point if the 

person shall become twelve (12) years of age in the same calendar year as the application for a 

preference point is made.    

 

  (vi)   For the purpose of assigning preference points in this Section, any 

unsuccessful full price bighorn sheep or moose license applicant failing to apply for a license or 

preference point during a second consecutive calendar year shall lose all accumulated preference 

points and shall be considered as a first year applicant for any subsequent calendar year in which 

the applicant submits an application for a license or a preference point for that particular species. 

 

 (vii)   For the purpose of retaining nonresident antelope, elk or deer preference 

points in this Section, any sportsperson failing to purchase a preference point within two (2) 

consecutive calendar years shall lose all accumulated preference points for that species and shall 

be considered as a first year applicant for any subsequent calendar year in which the applicant 

submits an application for a license.   

 

  (viii)   For the purpose of retaining bighorn sheep and moose preference points in 

this Section, any sportsperson whose residency status changes and who has accumulated 

preference points will retain those points as long as the sportsperson applies for a license for that 

particular species within two (2) consecutive calendar years.  Failing to apply for a license or 

preference point within two (2) consecutive calendar years, the sportsperson shall lose all 

accumulated preference points for that particular species. 
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  (ix)   A person may only request to contest their preference point values to the 

License Review Board for the five (5) year period immediately preceding their request. 

 

(c)   If a person desires to apply for a preference point only and not receive a license, 

the person shall apply for and receive a preference point by paying the proper fee and making 

application during the preference point only application period specified in Section 20 of this 

regulation.  

 

  (d)   If an applicant’s preference points have been deleted because the applicant caused 

more than one (1) customer record to be generated then those preference points shall not be 

restored.  The Fiscal Division Chief may make an exception in the case of name changes because 

of marriage, divorce, adoption, or legal name change. 

 

  (e)   The preference points associated with a sportsperson identification number 

provided on an application shall be the only preference points considered for an individual 

applicant participating in a preference point drawing. 

 

 (f)   Upon drawing a full price bighorn sheep or moose license, all accumulated 

preference points by the applicant for that species shall be deleted.  No person shall apply for or 

receive a full price bighorn sheep license or preference point for full price bighorn sheep within 

any consecutive five (5) year period of having received a full price bighorn sheep license through 

the drawing.  No person shall apply for or receive a moose license or preference point for moose 

within any consecutive five (5) year period of having received a moose license through the 

drawing. 

  

  (i)   Preference points are assigned to residents and nonresidents who are 

unsuccessful in either the full price bighorn sheep or moose drawings.  The nonresident 

preference point fee, in addition to the statutorily prescribed application fee, shall be retained 

from the license fee remitted.  The preference point fee for nonresidents shall be one hundred 

fifty dollars ($150) for full price bighorn sheep and one hundred fifty dollars ($150) for moose. 

 

  (ii)   In lieu of applying for a full price bighorn sheep or moose license, a 

person may elect to purchase a preference point for each species.  The applicant is not required to 

pay the statutorily prescribed application fee.  The preference point fee for residents shall be 

seven dollars ($7) per species and the fee for nonresidents shall be one hundred fifty dollars 

($150) for full price bighorn sheep, and one hundred fifty dollars ($150) for moose. 

 

(g)   A preference point shall only be assigned to nonresident antelope, deer or elk 

applicants who participate in the initial drawing for full price licenses and who have remitted the 

proper preference point fee and who are unsuccessful in drawing their first choice license.  The 

preference point fee, in addition to the statutorily prescribed application fee, shall be retained 

from the total amount remitted.  The preference point fee for nonresidents shall be thirty-one 

dollars ($31) for antelope, forty-one dollars ($41) for deer, fifty-two dollars ($52) for elk and ten 

dollars ($10) per species for nonresident youth. 
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  (i)   In lieu of applying for a nonresident antelope, deer or elk license and 

remitting the proper preference point fee, a nonresident applicant may elect to purchase a 

preference point for each species.  The preference point fee for nonresidents shall be thirty-one 

dollars ($31) for antelope, forty-one dollars ($41) for deer, fifty-two dollars ($52) for elk and ten 

dollars ($10) per species for nonresident youth.  The applicant, when only applying for 

preference points, is not required to pay the statutorily prescribed application fee.  Individuals 

who have drawn their first choice license in the initial draw are prohibited from purchasing or 

receiving a preference point in the same calendar year. 

 

  (ii)   Upon drawing a license for the applicant’s first choice in the initial 

drawing for nonresident antelope, deer or elk, all accumulated preference points by the applicant 

for that species shall be deleted and the applicant shall be prohibited from purchasing a 

preference point for that species in the same calendar year.  

 

 Section 22.  Leftover Drawing.  Limited quota licenses that were not issued through the 

initial drawings shall be offered in a competitive leftover drawing. 

 

(a) A leftover drawing shall be conducted for antelope, bighorn sheep, deer, elk, 

moose, wild bison and mountain goat licenses remaining after the initial drawings. 

 

(b) The application period shall be determined on an annual basis by the Fiscal 

Division Chief.  Completed applications and license fees must be submitted during the 

application period. 

 

(c) Both residents and nonresidents shall draw against the same quota. 

 

(d)   The maximum allowable number of applications in a party shall be six (6).   

Residents and nonresidents may apply together in the same party.  Party applicants are required 

to submit their applications for the same species, hunt area and type in the same order of 

preference.  All members of a party may either receive licenses or refunds on their license fees. 

 

(e) All applicants shall participate in the respective random leftover drawing, giving 

no advantage to applicants with preference points. 

 

 Section 23.  Reservation of Full Price Licenses.  Individuals who have been issued a 

Governor’s Complimentary License for a full price big game animal and who have been unable 

to use the license for good cause, may reserve a license for the same species for the immediately 

succeeding hunting season only.  Individuals who have been issued a limited quota, full price big 

or trophy game license and who have been unable to use the license for good cause may reserve 

a license for the same species, hunt area, and season type for the immediately succeeding hunting 

season only.  Conditions of this reservation are set forth in subsections (a), (b), (c) and (d) of this 

Section. 

 

(a)   To qualify for consideration of reservation of a limited quota, full price big or 

trophy game license due to a natural disaster, the licensee shall request the reservation on a form 



 

44-41 
 

provided by the Department.  The request, along with the unused and unaltered license with all 

coupons intact, shall be received by the Department before the earliest opening date of the season 

for the designated species, including the special archery season, as specified in Commission rules 

and regulations during the year for which the initial license is issued.  The licensee requesting a 

license reservation shall sign an affidavit verifying that the license was not used during any 

hunting season.  All requests for the reservation of licenses shall be reviewed and determined by 

the License Review Board.   

 

 (b)   For reasons related to being unable to use the license for good cause, other than 

natural disaster and military deployment, the licensee shall request the reservation on a form 

provided by the Department.   

 

  (i)   The licensee shall fully complete the license reservation request form.  

This form, and the unused and unaltered license with all coupons intact, shall be submitted to the 

Department by the deadline date listed on the License Reservation Information sheet.   

 

  (ii)   A Physician Certification for License Reservation Form and a written 

“Restriction from Hunting Activity” statement, written on the physician’s official prescription 

slip or physician’s letterhead, shall be submitted to the Department within thirty (30) days from 

the date an applicant’s completed License Reservation Request Form is received by the 

Department. 

 

  (iii)   For reasons related to being unable to use the license for good cause, other 

than natural disaster and disabling injury or illness, military personnel who receive permanent 

change of station (PCS) orders or are assigned away from their home duty station on temporary 

orders (TDY) for the majority of the regular season, shall provide to Headquarters a copy of 

official military orders from the Armed Forces of the United States along with the unused and 

unaltered license with all coupons intact. 

 

  (iv)   In no case shall a person be allowed to reserve any license if the person 

fails to submit the unused and unaltered license with all coupons intact to the Department before 

the earliest opening date of the season, including special archery seasons, for the designated 

species as specified in Commission rules and regulations during the year for which the license is 

issued.  The licensee requesting a license reservation shall sign an affidavit verifying that the 

license was not used during any hunting season.  

 

 (c)   Any person who has been granted a limited quota elk or limited quota deer license 

reservation from the License Review Board related to being unable to use the license for good 

cause may subsequently purchase a general license, if eligible, for the same species during the 

current hunting season. 

 

 (d)   Prior to the respective drawing, license quotas in the subsequent hunting season 

for areas where licenses have been reserved may be adjusted to reflect reservations as provided 

by Wyoming statute and this Chapter. 
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 (e)  In circumstances where related season, quota or sex limitation of the hunt area for 

the unused license changes in the subsequent hunting season, the following options shall be 

offered: 

 

  (i)  If the unused license allowed taking either sex of animal, but that type no 

longer exists, the licensee shall be given a choice of a license for an antlered (male) or antlerless 

(female) animal in the subsequent hunting season. 

 

  (ii)  If the unused license was limited to taking an antlerless or female animal, 

but that license type no longer exists, the licensee shall be given either an any or an antlered or 

male only license at the Department’s discretion in the subsequent hunting season. 

 

  (iii)  If the license was limited to taking an antlered or male animal, but that 

type no longer exists, the licensee shall be given either an any or an antlerless or female only 

license at the Department’s discretion in the subsequent hunting season. 

 

  (iv)   If in the subsequent hunting season, the entire hunt area is closed to 

hunting of the species listed on the unused license, the licensee shall be offered a license for the 

same species and sex limitations in another area of the licensee’s choice. 

 

  (v)  If in the next hunting season, the entire state has been closed to hunting of 

the species listed on the unused license, the licensee shall not be issued another license to hunt 

that species.  Under this circumstance, the licensee shall be issued a refund of the fee paid for the 

unused license. 

 

 (f)   Applicants requesting the reservation of a limited quota, full price big or trophy 

game license shall submit the administrative fee of ten dollars ($10) no later than May 15 in the 

succeeding calendar year, along with a completed Department form prior to the reissuance of the 

license. 

 

 (g)   Any limited quota, full price big or trophy game license that is reissued to a 

qualified applicant shall count toward the total number of licenses a person may apply for and 

receive during any one calendar year. 

 

 (h) Any person who has been granted a license reservation under this section, for 

which preference points have been accumulated, shall not have preference points restored and 

may not be eligible to purchase a preference point for that species during the same year the 

original license was issued. 

 

 (i)   Any person who has been granted a license reservation under this section shall not 

be eligible to participate in the initial drawing the following year for the same species and license 

type. 
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 Section 24.  Applicant Disqualification.  The applicant(s) is solely responsible for the 

veracity of information on the completed application submitted through the ELS.  Applications 

shall be disqualified from participating in drawings for the following reasons: 

 

 (a)   The applicant’s privilege to purchase or receive any hunting license or preference 

points has been suspended by a court order or the Wildlife Violator Compact; 

 

 (b)   The applicant causes more than one (1) sportsperson identification number to 

have been assigned; 

 

 (c)   Submission by an individual of more than one (1) completed application for a 

license for the same big or trophy game species,  wild turkey or wild bison unless authorized by 

Commission regulation; 

 

 (d)   Applying for a license the applicant is not eligible to receive by Rule and 

Regulation or Statute; 

 

 (e)   The applicant will not reach twelve (12) years of age by December 31 of the year 

the application is made for the purchase of a preference point.  An applicant less than twelve (12) 

years of age may apply for and receive a big or trophy game hunting license provided the 

applicant will reach twelve (12) years of age during the season for the designated species as 

specified in Commission Rules and Regulations during the year for which the license is valid.   

 

 (f)   The applicant attempts to manipulate or circumvent Department licensing security 

procedures in the ELS system in order to submit or modify an application. 

 

(g)       Any person who has an application disqualified under this section shall be in  

violation of this regulation and such violation shall be punishable as provided by Title 23, 

Wyoming Statutes, for violation of Commission regulations. 

 

 Section 25.  Suspension or Revocation of License. 

 

 (a)   Non-Payment of Child Support.  

 

  (i)   Upon receipt from the Department of Family Services of a certified copy 

of an order from a Court to withhold, suspend, or otherwise restrict a license or preference point 

issued by the Commission, the Game and Fish Department shall notify the party named in the 

court order by first-class mail of the withholding, suspension, or restriction in accordance with 

the court order.  The Game and Fish Department shall mail this notice by first-class mail to the 

party named and to the address provided by the Department of Family Services.  

 

  (ii)   Upon receipt of a notice from the Department of Family Services that the 

obligor is in compliance with the court order, the Game and Fish Department shall immediately 

reinstate the license unless the license has been suspended or revoked for other reasons.  The 

Department shall by first-class mail notify the party named and to the address provided by the 
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Department of Family Services that the individual’s license privileges have been reinstated.  The 

Department shall also mail by first-class mail to the obligor any licenses in the Game and Fish 

Department’s possession at the time of reinstatement. 

 

  (iii)   The Department shall maintain a written record indicating to whom the 

notice was mailed and the address to which the notice was mailed. 

 

 (b)   Wildlife Violator Compact.  The Department may suspend license privileges in 

accordance with Commission Regulation, Chapter 54, Home State Suspension Procedures for the 

Wildlife Violator Compact dated July 10, 2015, and which does not include any later 

amendments or editions of the incorporated matter. 

 

 Section 26.  Withdrawal or Modification of Application, Refund of License Fees and 

Reissuance of Certain Licenses.  Licenses, permits, stamps, tags, preference points or 

competitive raffle chances issued under Title 23, Wyoming Statutes or this regulation become 

the permanent property of the licensee and shall not be canceled or any fee refunded after the 

license, permit, stamp, tag, preference point or competitive raffle chance(s) has been issued, 

except as specified in this section or otherwise as set forth in Commission regulation. 

 

 (a)   A request for a voluntary withdrawal of an application before a drawing shall be 

accepted through the ELS by the date indicated in Section 20(d) and (e) for the initial drawing, 

and by the application closing date for the leftover drawing.   

 

  (i)   Applicants may not submit a voluntary withdrawal form for the purchase 

of a preference point only, Super Tag or Super Tag Trifecta competitive raffle chance. 

 

 (b)   A modification of an application must be completed through the ELS by the date 

indicated in Section 20(d) and (e) for the initial drawing, and by the application closing date for 

the leftover drawing.  

 

  (i)   An applicant may only request changes to hunt area and type or change 

their withdrawal flag indicator on their reduced price application for the initial drawing through 

the ELS.   

 

 (c)   To request a refund of a license fee in this subsection, the licensee shall submit 

the request for a refund in writing along with the license unaltered and with all coupons intact to 

the Department during the calendar year for which the license is valid.  The licensee shall also 

execute and submit at the time of a refund request a Department affidavit describing the 

reason(s) the licensee was not able to exercise the license privileges which includes a sworn 

statement that the licensee did not exercise any hunting privileges granted by the license 

including any or all seasons for the designated species as specified in Commission regulation 

during the calendar year for which the license was valid.  If the license is destroyed, lost or 

illegible, the licensee shall state on the Department affidavit to that effect and submit with the 

written request for refund in the calendar year for which the license is valid.  If the licensee is 

granted a refund for a license, the individual may apply for and receive any remaining issue-after 
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license for the same species in accordance with state statutes and Commission regulations. 

Application fees and any applicable preference point fees will not be refunded.  All license 

refund requests shall be reviewed and determined by the License Review Board.  

 

(d)   To qualify for a refund of a license fee in accordance with this section, the 

licensee shall meet one (1) of the following provisions: 

 

  (i)  In the case of the death of the licensee, a written request for a license 

refund supported by a copy of the respective death certificate shall be submitted to the 

Department.  The date of death on such certificate shall have resulted in the licensee not being 

able to participate in the majority of the regular or special archery season.  All refunds issued 

under this subsection shall be made payable to the estate of the decedent unless the license fee 

was paid by a nonprofit charitable organization.  The nonprofit charitable organization shall 

provide supporting documentation of payment of the license fee. 

 

  (ii)       In the case of the death of the licensee’s spouse, parents, grandparents, 

siblings, lineal descendants and their spouses, step-parent, step-sibling, step-children, father-in-

law, mother-in-law, brother-in-law, sister-in-law, step-son-in-law or step-daughter-in-law or the 

death of a member of a party application, the licensee shall submit a written request for a license 

refund supported by the respective death certificate.  The date of death shall have resulted in the 

licensee not being able to participate in the majority of the regular or special archery season. 

 

  (iii)   In the case of incapacitating illness or injury of the licensee, the licensee’s 

spouse, parents, grandparents, siblings, lineal descendants and their spouses, step-parent, step-

sibling, step-children, father-in-law, mother-in-law, brother-in-law, sister-in-law, step-son-in-law 

or step-daughter-in-law, or incapacitating illness or injury of a member of a party application, 

supported by a physician’s sworn statement on a Department form that the licensee is incapable 

of performing tasks necessary to exercise the privileges of the license;  

 

                       (iv)   Military personnel who receive permanent change of station (PCS) orders 

and military personnel who are assigned away from their home duty station on temporary orders 

(TDY) for the majority of the regular season, all of this being supported by a copy of official 

military orders from the Armed Forces of the United States, and such orders require the affected 

personnel to move away from their home duty station, shall accompany the written request for 

the license refund;  

 

                       (v) Individuals who are not able to participate in the majority of the regular 

season for the species specified in Commission rules and regulations during the year for which 

the license is issued as a result of a court subpoena, jury duty, Grand Jury investigation or 

attorneys required to attend criminal cases.  A certified copy of the court document shall 

accompany the written request for the license refund; 

 

                       (vi)   When the Department determines fifty percent (50%) or more of the 

hunting opportunity and access to the public land within an individual hunt area outside of 

designated wilderness has been closed due to administrative actions of the state or federal 



 

44-46 
 

government in closing of the public access to public lands, or due to a natural disaster, including 

but not necessarily limited to, wildland fires, the licensee of a limited quota antelope, full price 

bighorn sheep, limited quota deer, limited quota elk, moose, mountain goat, or wild bison license 

may request a license fee refund; 

 

   (A) When the Department determines one hundred percent (100%) of 

all the hunt areas are closed or the hunting season is prevented from occurring due to 

administrative actions of the state or federal government, a black bear, gray wolf, mountain lion 

or wild bison licensee may request a license fee refund.  The closing of hunt areas due to harvest 

quotas being met does not qualify a licensee for a license fee refund. 

 

                        (vii)   An error on the part of the Department or its authorized agent where the 

applicant has been issued a license not requested.  An applicant may request in writing to the 

License Review Board to review a decision made by a Department employee or an agent of the 

Department in the handling of the application for, or the issuance of a license, permit, or 

preference point if the decision is contrary to statute or rule and regulation promulgated by the 

Commission.  All decisions of the License Review Board shall abide by provisions of state and 

federal statutes and Commission regulations.   

 

  (viii)   Any youth licensee may be granted a license refund if the youth licensee’s 

opportunity to hunt is jeopardized as a result of any license refund granted by the Department as 

specified in sections (i), (ii), (iii), (iv), (v), (vi), (vii), or (viii) of this subsection;  

 

 (ix)   A sponsoring organization of a person with a life-threatening illness that 

has received a license under Section 13 may be granted a license refund if the licensee’s 

opportunity to hunt is jeopardized as a result of incapacitating illness or injury supported by a 

physician’s sworn statement on forms provided by the Department that the licensee is incapable 

of performing tasks necessary to exercise the privileges of the license.  

 

 (e)   Refunds shall not be allowed under the following circumstances: 

 

 (i)   The licensee illegally purchased more licenses than what was authorized 

for purchase by Commission regulation or Wyoming statute; 

 

 (ii)   For any license, permit, stamp or tag in which the privilege to use the 

license, permit, stamp or tag expires on December 31 in the year issued, the deadline to submit a 

written request for a refund shall be December 31 of that year. 

 

 (iii)   For any license in which the hunting season to use that license has been 

extended into January of the succeeding calendar year, the deadline to submit a written request 

for a refund of that license shall be January 31 of the year in which the hunting season expires.  

For all other licenses, the deadline to submit a written request for refund shall be on the last date 

the individual license is valid. 
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 (iv)   Refunds shall be denied in any circumstance where the licensee hunted on 

the license for the designated species as specified in Commission rules and regulations, including 

special archery seasons, during the year for which the license is issued.   

 

 (f)   There shall be no right of appeal to the Commission for any decision rendered by 

the License Review Board or the Department for any provision of this section.  

 

 (g)   Restoration of preference points.  In any case where a license may be obtained by 

the accumulation of preference points, or preference points may be obtained in lieu of 

application for a license and a license refund is granted by the Department, all accumulated 

preference points, including any preference point that may have been earned for the year the 

license is issued, shall be restored to the applicant.    

 

 (h)   In the case of the death of a licensee who has been issued an any wild bison 

license or a mountain goat license, a written request for the license to be surrendered to the 

Department and reissued to an immediate family member of the decedent shall be made to the 

License Review Board.  The request shall be supported by a copy of the respective death 

certificate, and the date of death on such certificate shall have resulted in the licensee not being 

able to participate in the majority of the regular or special archery hunting season. 

 

  (i)   The license shall be reissued to a qualified immediate family member of 

the decedent at no fee. 

 

  (ii)   The license shall be reissued for the same species, hunt area and license 

type as the license surrendered. 

 

  (iii)   A license reissued to an immediate family member of a decedent shall 

count against the maximum number of licenses a person may otherwise apply for and receive as 

a condition of Commission regulations. 

 

 Section 27.  Alteration or Transfer of Licenses, Permits, Stamps, Tags, Preference 

Points or Competitive Raffle Chances to Another Person Prohibited; Use by Another 

Person Prohibited; Invalidation by Improper Fees.  Department licenses, permits, stamps or 

tags shall not be altered by anyone other than authorized Department personnel. 

 

 (a)   No license, permit, stamp, tag, preference point or competitive raffle chances 

shall be transferred, or used for the purpose of taking wildlife, except by the individual to whom 

it was issued and therein named and while in that individual’s possession.  No individual shall 

take or attempt to take any wildlife using another individual’s license, permit, stamp or tag.  Any 

license, permit, stamp, tag, preference point or competitive raffle chances shall not be valid 

unless the proper fees have been received by the Department. 

 

 (b)   Licenses, excluding lifetime licenses, shall only become valid when signed by the 

person in whose name the license is issued in the space provided on the license for the owner’s 

signature, and where applicable, co-signed by a parent or legal guardian. 
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 (c)   Any Department enforcement officer may seize as evidence any license, permit, 

stamp or tag that was obtained in violation of Commission regulations or Wyoming statute. 

 

 Section 28.  License and Conservation Stamp Expiration Effective January 1, 2019. 

 

 (a) All licenses, excluding annual fishing, annual small game, annual game bird, 

combination annual small game/game bird, annual furbearer hunting or trapping licenses, and 

licenses to operate game bird farms shall expire on the last day of the calendar year in which 

issued.   

 

  (i) Annual fishing licenses, annual small game licenses, annual game bird 

licenses, combination annual small game/game bird licenses and annual furbearer hunting or 

trapping licenses shall be valid for twelve (12) months from the date of purchase or for twelve 

(12) months from the previous license expiration date as indicated on the individual license. 

 

(b)       The Commission by regulation provides that big game animal and wild bison  

licenses issued in one (1) calendar year are valid through the closing date established in January 

of the next succeeding calendar year when the Commission establishes a hunting season for big 

game animals or wild bison for which the licenses are valid for hunting seasons that open during 

one (1) calendar year and close in January of the next succeeding calendar year. 

 

 (c) All daily hunting or fishing licenses shall only be valid for the calendar day(s) 

delineated on the license.  A nonresident five (5) day fishing license is only valid for five (5) 

consecutive calendar days. 

 

 (d) Conservation Stamps. 

 

  (i) Printed Conservation Stamps shall expire on the last day of the calendar 

year printed on the stamp. 

 

  (ii) Conservation Stamps issued through the ELS shall expire twelve (12) 

months from the date of purchase or twelve (12) months from the previous Conservation Stamp 

expiration date as indicated on the stamp. 

 

  Section 29.  Super Tag Licenses and Super Tag Trifecta Licenses.  Wyoming 

statutes provide for the issuance of big game, trophy game and wild bison licenses to be issued 

through a competitive raffle process.  Big game, trophy game and wild bison licenses authorized 

under this section shall be valid for the species for which the license has been issued.   

 

 (a) These licenses shall be valid in any hunt area in accordance with Commission 

regulations, except for the following: 

 

  (i)   A Super Tag License or a Super Tag Trifecta License for moose shall not 

be valid in any moose hunt area which has a total quota of ten (10) or less antlered or any moose 

licenses. 
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  (ii)   A Super Tag License or a Super Tag Trifecta License for full price 

bighorn sheep shall not be valid in any bighorn sheep hunt area which has a total quota of eight 

(8) or less full price bighorn sheep licenses. 

 

  (iii)  A Super Tag License or a Super Tag Trifecta License shall not be valid 

within Grand Teton National Park. 

 

  (iv)   A Super Tag License or a Super Tag Trifecta License for wild bison shall 

not be valid in any wild bison hunt area which has a total quota of ten (10) or less any wild bison 

licenses. 

 

 (b)   Recipients of a Super Tag License and Super Tag Trifecta License shall be 

exempt from the provisions in this Chapter limiting the number of big game, trophy game or 

wild bison licenses an individual may possess in any one (1) calendar year.  An individual is 

eligible to receive a Super Tag License or Super Tag Trifecta License for big game, trophy game 

or wild bison annually.  Recipients shall be exempt from the five (5) year waiting period and 

preference points shall not be lost if an individual receives a Super Tag License or Super Tag 

Trifecta License for moose or a full price bighorn sheep and shall be exempt from the once in a 

lifetime license restriction for mountain goat and wild bison licenses.  Preference points shall not 

be lost if an individual receives a Super Tag License or Super Tag Trifecta License for antelope, 

deer or elk. 

 

 (c)   There shall be up to eleven (11) successful recipients of licenses from all the 

individuals that purchased a Super Tag License or Super Tag Trifecta License competitive raffle 

chance.  Up to ten (10) individual recipients shall be issued one Super Tag License as follows:  

one (1) antelope license, or one (1) bighorn sheep license, or one (1) black bear license, or one 

(1) deer license, or one (1) elk license, or one (1) gray wolf license, or one (1) moose license, or 

one (1) mountain goat license, or one (1) mountain lion license or one (1) wild bison license.  

The successful recipient of a Super Tag License shall be based on what species of big game, 

trophy game or wild bison license was randomly drawn for the participating recipient.  One (1) 

successful applicant shall be issued Super Tag Trifecta Licenses, allowing that individual to 

choose, at their discretion, no more than three (3) different species of big game, trophy game and 

wild bison licenses. 

 

 (d)   Super Tag License and Super Tag Trifecta License competitive raffle chances 

shall be sold annually beginning on July 15 and ending on July 1 each succeeding year. 

 

  (i)   The price for a single Super Tag License competitive raffle chance shall 

be ten dollars ($10) for both residents and nonresidents.  The price for a single Super Tag 

Trifecta License competitive raffle chance shall be thirty dollars ($30) for both residents and 

nonresidents.  The number of competitive raffle chances that any one person may purchase is not 

limited in number. 

 

  (ii)   For an individual species Super Tag License competitive raffle chance, a 

person shall choose which species of big game or trophy game or wild bison they purchase a 
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competitive raffle chance for.  An applicant may choose to purchase a competitive raffle 

chance(s) for multiple species. 

 

  (iii)    For a Super Tag Trifecta License competitive raffle chance, a person does 

not need to select the individual species of big game or trophy game or wild bison at the time 

they purchase a raffle chance. 

 

  (iv)    A person purchasing a Super Tag License or Super Tag Trifecta License 

competitive raffle chance shall not be eligible to submit a voluntary withdrawal form or be 

eligible for a refund for competitive raffle chances purchased. 

 

 (e)   A competitive drawing shall be conducted to determine the winners of the 

individual species Super Tag Licenses and Super Tag Trifecta License.   

 

  (i)  There shall be no preference given to residents or nonresidents in the 

drawing or issuance of a Super Tag License or Super Tag Trifecta License. 

 

 (f)   License fees for successful Super Tag License and Super Tag Trifecta License 

holders shall be as set forth in Wyoming Statute or Commission regulation. 

 

 (g)  No person shall purchase a competitive raffle chance for a Super Tag License or 

Super Tag Trifecta License during any calendar year in which the person’s privilege to obtain a 

license or preference point has been revoked or suspended by a court or the Wildlife Violator 

Compact. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 



 

44-51 
 

      WYOMING GAME AND FISH COMMISSION  

       

      Mark Anselmi, President 

 

Dated:   November 13, 2018 



 

44-1 
 

CHAPTER 44 

 

REGULATION FOR ISSUANCE OF LICENSES, PERMITS, STAMPS, 

TAGS, PREFERENCE POINTS AND COMPETITIVE RAFFLE CHANCES 

 

 

 Section 1.  Authority.  This regulation is promulgated by authority of Wyoming Statutes 

§ 6-7-101, § 9-4-217(h), § 20-6-112, § 23-1-107, § 23-1-302, § 23-1-702, § 23-1-703, § 23-1-

704, § 23-1-705, § 23-2-101, § 23-2-102, § 23-2-107, § 23-2-109, § 23-2-201, § 23-2-207, § 23-

2-301, § 23-2-306, § 23-2-307, § 23-2-401 and § 23-3-403, § 23-6-301 through § 23-6-303. 

 

 Section 2.  Regulation.  The Commission authorizes the Department to issue licenses, 

permits, stamps, tags, preference points and competitive raffle chances, and to develop and 

maintain policies, processes and procedures necessary to carry out the provisions of this Chapter.  

The Commission hereby adopts the following regulation governing the issuance of licenses.  

This regulation shall remain in effect until modified or repealed by the Commission. 

 

 Section 3.  Definitions.  For the purpose of this regulation, definitions shall be as set 

forth in Title 23, Wyoming Statutes, Commission regulations and the Commission also adopts 

the following definitions: 

 

 (a)   “Application Fee” means a fee authorized by the Legislature enabling the 

Department to recover a portion of its costs associated with compensating owners or lessees of 

property damaged by game animals and game birds.  In addition, the application fee is used by 

the Department to recover costs associated with license issuance.  This fee is nonrefundable.   

 

 (b)   “Charitable Purpose” means motivated by sympathy and understanding and 

generosity and done without any remuneration. 

 

 (c)   “Commissioner Complimentary License” means an antelope, deer or elk license 

issued at the existing statutory price at the request of a Commissioner. 

 

 (d)   “Completed Application” means all required portions of the application have been 

properly completed with correct applicant information, submitted within the proper time period 

and accompanied by the proper fee.  A completed application includes the applicant’s name, 

physical address, mailing address if different than the physical address, date of birth, physical 

description (height, weight, eyes, hair and sex), telephone number or email address, years of 

residency and proof of residency for resident fee types, Social Security Number (SSN), 

Individual Tax Identification Number (ITIN) or Passport Number from non-U.S. citizens, desired 

valid hunting license specifications, and an original signature for residents submitting paper 

applications.  Completed application specifications refer to licenses sold through the Electronic 

Licensing Service (ELS) and manually issued licenses and permits.  

 

 (e)   “Disabilities” as used in this Chapter means permanent anatomical, physiological 

or mental deficiencies that prevent or restrict normal achievement. 
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 (f)   “Document” means an instrument on which information has been recorded by 

means of letters, figures, or marks and which may be used as evidence.  

 

 (g)   “Documentary Evidence” means evidence furnished by written instruments, 

inscriptions, or documents of all kinds.  

 

 (h)   “Duplicate License” means a license issued by the Department to replace an 

original license that is valid and has not expired and has been lost or destroyed.  If the original 

license was issued through the Electronic Licensing Service (ELS), a duplicate license shall only 

be required if the original license contained a carcass coupon; otherwise, a replacement license 

may be issued.  

 

 (i)   “Electronic Application” means the license or permit application form submitted 

through the Electronic Licensing Service (ELS).  

 

(j)   “Electronic Licensing Service (ELS)” means the Department’s Electronic Draw 

Application System, Internet Point of Sale System and Online Internet Sales System used by the 

Department, license selling agents and the public to apply for or purchase licenses, permits, 

stamps, tags and preference points. 

 

(k)   “Electronic Signature” means an electronic process attached to or logically 

associated with any electronic transaction including the license or permit application submitted 

to the Wyoming Game and Fish Department that requires substantiation of the identity of the 

person initiating the electronic transaction.  This process includes, but may not be limited to, use 

of personal credentials to gain access to the system, entering a keystroke at a specified prompt 

that indicates the submitter’s acceptance of an assertive statement, or the use of any other 

technology that is in compliance with the state of Wyoming’s Electronic Signature Rules as 

promulgated by the Office of the Chief Information Officer.  This process can be used to indicate 

the applicant’s acceptance of an assertion such as a residency requirement or veracity of the 

application at a specified prompt.  Ref:  W.S. § 40-21-102 (a) (viii). 

 

 (l)   “Full Price License” means a deer, antelope, elk, mountain lion or ram bighorn 

sheep license issued that is not a reduced price doe/fawn, cow/calf, ewe/lamb or mountain lion 

license. 

 

 (m)   “Full Time” means performing duties and responsibilities at the request or 

direction of an established charitable, humanitarian, or religious organization for more than thirty 

(30) hours per calendar week every week the person is absent from the state.  

 

 (n)   “General Licenses” means big or trophy game or wild turkey licenses valid in any 

hunt area in which licenses have not been totally limited in number.  General licenses shall be 

valid only under species, sex, age class and harvest limitations that are in effect for each hunt 

area. 
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 (o)   “Governor Complimentary License” means hunting or fishing license issued for 

no fee at the request of the Governor. 

 

 (p)   “Gunpowder or Buckskin Hunt” means the annual Gunpowder and Buckskin 

Hunt conducted by the Sheridan, Wyoming Rotary Club. 

 

 (q)   “Headquarters” means the Cheyenne Office of the Wyoming Game and Fish 

Department located at 5400 Bishop Blvd., Cheyenne, WY 82006. 

 

 (r)   “Humanitarian Purpose” means for the promotion of human welfare and the 

advancement of social reforms and done without remuneration. 

 

 (s)   “Immediate Family Member of the Decedent” means spouse, parent, 

grandparent, sibling or lineal descendants and their spouses. 

 

 (t)   “Initial Drawing” means a computer processed drawing held for initial offering 

of resident and nonresident licenses and permits. 

 

 (u) “Issue-After License” means licenses that are limited in number and that were not 

issued in the initial or leftover drawings; these licenses shall be issued on an as processed basis 

through the ELS. 

 

 (v)   “Landowner” means an individual, partnership, corporation, trust, limited liability 

company or combination of these, which either owns real property in fee simple title or is 

acquiring equitable interest by written contract. 

 

 (w)   “Landowner Applicant” means an individual who either owns real property solely 

or jointly with other individuals or who holds an interest in a corporation, partnership, trust or 

limited liability company, which owns real property or is a member of the “immediate family” of 

the individual. 

 

 (x)   “Landowner Applicant’s Immediate Family” means the landowner applicant’s 

spouse, landowner applicant’s parents, landowner applicant’s grandparents, landowner 

applicant’s lineal descendants and their spouses, or landowner applicant’s siblings.  

 

 (y)  “Leftover Drawing” means a computer processed random drawing to issue 

licenses remaining after the initial drawings.  

 

 (z)   “Leftover Licenses” means limited quota licenses and nonresident region general 

deer licenses issued in the leftover drawing. 

 

 (aa) “Leftover Permits” means permits that are limited in number and were not issued 

in the initial drawing and shall be issued on an as processed basis through the ELS. 
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 (bb)  “License” means a document issued by the Department, through the authority of 

the Commission, to a qualified individual that grants certain privileges to take fish or wildlife in 

accordance with statutory or regulatory provisions. 

 

 (cc)  “License Authorization” means a document approved by the Governor or by a 

member of the Commission that empowers the Department to issue a Governor complimentary 

or Commissioner complimentary license in the name of the applicant designated on the 

document.  

 

 (dd)   “License Review Board” means a three (3) member board of Department 

employees consisting of the Deputy Director of Internal Operations, the Fiscal Division Chief 

and the Chief Game Warden, or their designee, that review and determine all license reservation 

requests, license refund requests, preference point issues and other license or permit issuance 

matters. 

 

 (ee)   “Limited Quota Drawing” means the processing of an application for limited 

quota or general big game licenses, trophy game licenses, wild turkey licenses, permits, wild 

bison licenses or Super Tag and Super Tag Trifecta competitive raffles through a drawing. 

 

 (ff)   “Limited Quota Licenses” means licenses that are limited in number and valid 

only in a hunt area(s) or portion(s) of a hunt area.  Limited quota licenses shall be valid only 

under species, sex, age class, harvest, and weapon type limitations that are in effect for each hunt 

area.  

 

 (gg) “Limited Quota Reduced Price Cow or Calf (cow/calf) License” means a license 

which may be authorized in specific hunt areas allowing a person to take cow or calf elk 

independent of what may be taken on a general license or full priced limited quota license. 

 

 (hh)   “Limited Quota Reduced Price Doe or Fawn (doe/fawn) License” means a 

license which may be authorized in specific hunt areas allowing a person to take doe or fawn 

animals independent of what may be taken on a general license or full priced limited quota 

license. 

 

 (ii)   “Limited Quota Reduced Price Ewe or Lamb (ewe/lamb) License” means a 

license which may be authorized in specific hunt areas allowing a person to take a ewe or lamb 

bighorn sheep independent of what may be taken on a full priced limited quota license. 

 

 (jj)   “Minor Dependent” means an individual less than eighteen (18) years of age who 

is domiciled with parent(s) or legal guardian.  

 

 (kk)   “National Bow Hunt” means an archery-only hunt that is sponsored and 

administered by the Wyoming National Bowhunt, Inc. 
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 (ll) “Nonprofit Charitable Organization” means an organization which engages in 

activities providing the general public with benefits designed to aid in educational, moral, 

physical, conservation, or social improvement and which is not established for profit.  

 

 (mm) “Nonprofit Organization Dedicated to Providing Hunting Opportunities to 

Individuals with Disabilities” means an organization certifying they are nonprofit and that their 

primary purpose or mission as stated in their charter is to provide hunting opportunities to 

individuals with disabilities defined in this regulation.    

 

 (nn)   “Nonresident” means any person who is not domiciled in Wyoming for at least 

one (1) year immediately preceding making application for a license and who is not a resident as 

defined by W.S. § 23-1-102 (a) (ix), § 23-1-107 and § 23-2-101 (a). 

 

 (oo)  “One-Shot Antelope Hunt” means the One-Shot Antelope Hunt sponsored by the 

One-Shot Antelope Club in Lander, Wyoming. 

 

 (pp)   “Party” means a group of individuals with the same residency status who apply 

together in the initial drawing for hunting licenses for the same species, area and type, and who 

have expectations of receiving the same treatment in processing of their applications and 

receiving the same drawing results.  For purposes of this regulation, a Party does not include 

anyone else, regardless of whether or not they may accompany the party of hunters during the 

hunt.   

 

 (qq)   “Party Application” means a group of applications in which all applicants with the 

same residency status specify the same species, hunt area and type in the same order of 

preference, and all applicants expect the same processing and draw results in the initial drawing. 

 

 (rr)  “Permit” means a document that authorizes a license holder to carry out activities 

not authorized by the license itself. 

 

 (ss) “Person’s Privilege to Obtain a License Has Been Revoked or Suspended by a 

Court or the Wildlife Violator Compact” means revocation or suspension of the person’s license 

or preference point(s).   

 

  (tt)   “Pioneer Heritage Licenses” means antelope, deer, elk or wild turkey licenses 

issued to Wyoming residents who  are at least seventy (70) years of age prior to the issuance of 

the license and have continuously resided in Wyoming for at least fifty (50) years immediately 

preceding application for the license.  The fee for the Heritage License shall be established by 

the Department by multiplying the fee for resident licenses for the same species and license type 

by sixty-five percent (65%) and rounding down to the next whole dollar amount.    

 

 (uu) “Pioneer Licenses” means antelope, deer, elk or wild turkey licenses issued to 

Wyoming residents who are at least seventy-five (75) years of age prior to the issuance of the 

license, and who have continuously resided in Wyoming for at least fifty (50) years immediately 

preceding the application for a license. 
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 (vv) “Potential to Use License” means the license shall be considered to be in 

possession of the person in whose name it was issued on or after the earliest opening date for 

which the license is valid if the license is not in the possession of an authorized Department 

employee. 

 

 (ww) “Processing Fee” means a fee established by the Department to cover extra costs 

associated with withdrawing an application from a drawing. 

 

 (xxww)“Proper Application Form” means the document prescribed by the Department, a 

photocopy of the document, or facsimile of the document.  These documents shall be the only 

documents accepted by the Department.  

 

 (yyxx)  “Properly Completed Duplicate License Affidavit” means a Department affidavit 

document signed by the person applying for a duplicate license.   

 

 (zzyy)  “Proper Fee” means cash or a negotiable instrument as set forth by W.S. § 34.1-3-

104 which results in full payment to the Department, in U.S. dollars for the amount specified by 

law or regulation for the respective licenses, permits, stamps, tags, preference points or 

certificates. 

 

 (aaazz) “Qualified Person” means an individual who meets the statutory and regulatory 

requirements to apply for or receive a license or a preference point.  A person shall not be 

qualified if their privilege to apply for or receive a license or a preference point has been 

revoked, suspended, or restricted by a court in Wyoming or has been revoked or suspended in 

Wyoming through the Wildlife Violator Compact. 

 

 (bbbaaa)“Quota” means the maximum specified number of licenses to be issued for a 

given hunt area and species as provided by Commission regulation; in the case of nonresident elk 

hunt area quotas, the maximum number of specified licenses to be issued by hunt area as 

provided in writing by the Wildlife Division to the Fiscal Division. 

 

 (cccbbb)“Reduced Price Mountain Lion License” means a license which may be 

authorized in specific hunt areas allowing a person to take a mountain lion in addition to what 

may be taken on a full price mountain lion license. 

 

 (dddccc)“Region General Deer Licenses” means general nonresident deer licenses that 

shall be limited in number and valid for a specified group of hunt areas in accordance with 

Commission regulations.  A license issued for a region shall only be valid in hunt areas within 

the region where limitations in Commission regulations specify general licenses.  A license 

issued for a region shall not be valid in any hunt area within that region in which licenses are 

totally limited in quota, unless specified by Commission regulations.  

 

 (eeeddd)“Religious Purpose” means actions taken to advance sacred matters, religion or a 

church and done without remuneration. 
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 (fffeee)“Replacement License” means the reprint of a license, permit, or stamp that does 

not contain a carcass coupon and the license was originally issued by the Department or license 

selling agent through the ELS, is currently valid and has not expired. 

 

 (gggfff)“Resident” means a United States citizen or legal alien who is domiciled in 

Wyoming for at least one (1) full year immediately preceding making application for any 

resident game and fish license, preference point, permit or tag, shall not have claimed residency 

in any other state, territory, or country for any other purpose during that one (1) year period, and 

meets the requirements specified in W.S. § 23-1-102, § 23-1-107 and § 23-2-101 (a). 

 

 (hhhggg)“Special Nonresident Antelope, Deer or Elk Licenses” means those licenses 

having a fee greater than that of a regular nonresident antelope, deer or elk license as defined in 

Wyoming Statute and which the statutes provide for a separate nonresident drawing with specific 

percentages of nonresident quotas designated for only those applicants paying the higher license 

fees. 

 

 (iiihhh)“Sportsperson Identification Number” means the unique number assigned by the 

Department to each individual license applicant on the ELS.  

 

 (jjjiii) “Super Tag License” means a species specific big game, trophy game or wild 

bison license issued to the winner of the competitive raffle and upon submission of the proper fee 

for the appropriate species license set forth by statute. 

 

 (kkkjjj)“Super Tag Trifecta Licenses” means a combination of big game, trophy game 

and wild bison licenses, not to exceed three (3) different species of big game, trophy game and 

wild bison licenses, issued to the winner of the competitive raffle and upon submission of the 

proper fee for the appropriate species license set forth by statute. 

 

 (lllkkk)“Transfer” means to convey a license authorization, (from one (1) person to 

another) as set forth in Section 27 of this regulation.   

 

 (mmmlll)“Type” means a limitation on a license in a particular hunt area for the sex of 

animal, the species of animal, the length of the season, the type of weapon, or a portion of the 

hunt area in which the license shall be valid. 

 

 (nnnmmm)“Unable to Use the License For Good Cause” means an individual is unable to 

use a limited quota, full price big or trophy game license due to disabling injury or illness, 

military personnel who receive permanent change of station (PCS) orders or are assigned away 

from their home duty station on temporary orders (TDY) for the majority of the regular season, 

or when the Department has determined a majority of, or the entire hunting opportunity has been 

lost in a specific limited quota hunt area for a full price big or trophy game animal due to the 

administrative actions of the state or federal government in closing the majority of or all public 

access to a hunt area, or due to a natural disaster, including, but not necessarily limited to, 

wildland fires.   

 



 

44-8 
 

 (ooonnn)“Under the Care and Supervision of the Residing Facility” means the person is 

an employee of the appropriate institution or facility that issued the special limited fishing 

permit. 

 

 (pppooo)“Unlimited Reduced Price Cow or Calf (cow/calf) License” means a license 

which may be authorized in specific hunt areas allowing a person to take cow or calf elk 

independent of what may be taken on a general license or full price limited quota license. 

 

 (qqqppp)“Unlimited Reduced Price Doe or Fawn (doe/fawn) License” means a license 

which may be authorized in specific areas allowing a person to take doe or fawn animals 

independent of what may be taken on a general license or full price limited quota license. 

 

 (rrrqqq)“Wyoming Women’s Antelope Hunt” means a women’s antelope hunt sponsored 

by the Wyoming Women’s Foundation. 

 

 (sssrrr) “Youth License” means a big game license that may be issued to a resident or 

nonresident individual who is at least eleven (11) years of age and who has not attained eighteen 

(18) years of age at the time of application.  The license shall not be valid until the licensee 

reaches their twelfth (12th) birthday.  For all other species, excluding furbearing animals, 

requiring a license to take, youth license means a license that may be issued to a resident or 

nonresident individual who has not attained eighteen (18) years of age.  For a resident youth 

trapping license, youth license means a license that may be issued only to residents under the age 

of seventeen (17). 

 

 Section 4.  Method of License Issuance and Accounting.  The Fiscal Division shall 

maintain inventory control and account for the issuance and sale of all licenses, permits, stamps 

and tags issued under the authority of the Commission.  All licenses, permits and tags shall be 

issued on the basis of a completed application.  Applications may be in the form of a separate 

document or may be incorporated into and considered as part of the license document. 

 

 (a)   Licenses issued over-the-counter.  All licenses that are not limited in number shall 

be issued by the Department through designated Department personnel and facilities or 

designated license selling agents.  

 

 (b)   Licenses issued through competitive drawings.  Except as provided in this 

Chapter, all licenses and permits that are limited in number shall be issued through competitive 

drawings conducted by the Department’s License Section.  Entry into the drawing for a limited 

quota license or permit shall be upon submission of a completed application.  

 

 (c)   Commercial license issuance.  All commercial licenses shall be issued by the 

Department’s License Section at Headquarters, by designated Department personnel or at 

facilities in accordance with applicable statutes and regulations. 

 

 (d)   Licenses issued after initial or leftover drawings.  Licenses remaining after the 

initial or leftover drawings shall be sold through the ELS and on a first-come, first-served basis.   
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 (e)   Depredation license issuance.  Depredation licenses may be issued at designated 

Department locations when additional harvest is needed as determined by the Wildlife Division. 

 

 (f) Effective January 1, 2019, the Department shall charge an applicant a two point 

five percent (2.5%) credit card processing fee of the cost of any license, permit, stamp, tag, 

preference point or competitive raffle chance applied for or purchased by the use of a credit card.   

 

 Section 5.  License Issuance. 

 

 (a)   In circumstances where the demand for a particular type of license exceeds the 

supply, a competitive drawing shall be held when feasible to determine successful applicants.   

 

 (b)   The Department shall only issue licenses in excess of established quotas in the 

following circumstances: 

 

  (i)   To accommodate a successful party application in a limited quota 

drawing; 

 

  (ii)   To process a Commissioner or Governor license authorization;  

 

  (iii)   Upon authorization by the License Review Board to resolve a Department 

license issuance error; or,   

   

  (iv)   As provided by Commission regulation. 

 

 (c)   To establish the number of licenses available for the leftover drawing, the 

Department may continue alternately running the unsuccessful applicants of each resident and 

nonresident drawing until there are no unissued licenses or permits for which there are 

unsuccessful applications. 

 

 (d)   License selling agents shall comply with the following procedures for the sale of 

limited quota full and reduced price issue-after licenses.  

 

  (i)   License selling agents shall not sell or allocate licenses prior to the date 

and time established annually by the Fiscal Division Chief.   

 

  (ii)   All applications for resident licenses and permits shall contain the resident 

applicant’s original or electronic signature and when applicable, the parent or legal guardian’s 

signature in accordance with Wyoming statute.  Applications for youth licenses and permits may 

contain a signature from the youth’s parent or legal guardian in lieu of the youth applicant’s 

signature.  All applications for nonresident licenses and permits shall contain either the 

nonresident applicant’s signature or the signature of the person submitting the application on 

behalf of the nonresident applicant; and,   
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   (A)   In the event the license is issued through the ELS, the resident 

licensee shall be present at the license selling agent location to purchase the license.  The parent 

or legal guardian of a resident youth applicant shall be present at the license selling agent 

location to purchase a license for the resident youth applicant. 

 

  (iii)   License selling agents and the ELS shall only issue licenses to one 

customer at a time, first-come, first-served in the order the individuals are present in line.  The 

agent may issue up to the maximum number of licenses specified by Chapter 2, General Hunting 

Regulation to a single individual who provides the required information for license issuance.   

 

 (e)   Big Game Licenses.  No individual shall apply for or receive more than one (1) 

license for each big game species during any one (1) calendar year, except as otherwise provided 

in Commission regulation(s). 

 

  (i)   Antelope.  Eighty percent (80%) of the total available limited quota 

antelope licenses shall initially be offered to residents in the initial drawing.  An applicant may 

only apply for and receive the maximum number of full price antelope licenses as specified in 

Chapter 2, General Hunting Regulation.  The order of the resident antelope initial drawings 

depicted in this section shall be Resident Landowner Licenses, then Resident Regular Licenses. 

 

   (A)   Statutes provide for up to one hundred sixty (160) licenses to be 

available for up to two (2) antelope hunt events.  These licenses shall be issued above quotas 

established for the hunt area(s) and shall be allocated to residents and nonresidents as designated 

by the Wildlife Division.  These licenses are exempt from the provisions in this Chapter limiting 

the number of big game licenses an individual can obtain in one (1) calendar year. 

 

(I) Up to eighty (80) antelope licenses shall be available for 

the One-Shot Antelope Hunt sponsored by the One-Shot Antelope Club. 

 

(II) Up to eighty (80) antelope licenses shall be available for 

the Wyoming Women’s Antelope Hunt sponsored by the Wyoming Women’s Foundation. 

 

   (B)   The Commission may, upon receipt of payment of antelope license 

fees as specified in W. S. § 23-1-705, issue up to a total of fifty (50) antelope licenses each year 

for the exclusive distribution by nonprofit organizations dedicated to providing hunting 

opportunities to individuals with disabilities. 

 

    (I)   Qualifying organizations shall make application to the 

License Section of the Department on or before January 31 for the antelope licenses.  The 

application shall specify: 

 

(1.)   The total number of licenses requested; and, 

(2.)   The Hunt Area and Type designation of the licenses 

requested; and, 
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     (3.)    Certification that shows the organization qualifies 

under the definition of a “Nonprofit Organization Dedicated to Providing Hunting Opportunities 

to Individuals with Disabilities”. 

 

    (II)   In the event that more than one (1) qualifying organization 

requests licenses under this subsection, the Department shall allocate the licenses through a 

random drawing to the specific qualifying organization(s). 

 

    (III)   The antelope licenses issued shall be issued through the 

Department above quotas established for the hunt area(s) and shall be allocated to residents or 

nonresidents as designated by the nonprofit organization(s). 

   

   (C)   The order of the nonresident antelope initial drawing set forth in 

this section shall be Nonresident Landowner Licenses, Nonresident Special Licenses, then 

Nonresident Regular Licenses.  The allocation of remaining licenses after the Landowner 

License Drawing shall be forty percent (40%) to the Nonresident Special License Drawing and 

sixty percent (60%) to the Nonresident Regular License Drawing. 

 

   (D)   The Department shall allocate not less than seventy-five percent 

(75%) of the available Special and Regular Nonresident antelope licenses to a preference point 

drawing in the initial drawing.  The order of the nonresident antelope preference point drawing 

shall allow individual applicants with the highest number of preference points to be given a 

drawing advantage for the total number of available licenses to be issued in accordance with this 

section; then the applicants with the next highest number of preference points shall be selected, 

and so forth, until the quota has been filled for all first choice selections.  The Department shall 

allocate up to twenty-five percent (25%) of the available nonresident antelope licenses to a 

random drawing in the initial drawing in which all unsuccessful applicants from the preference 

point drawing shall be placed.  The preference point drawing advantage shall only apply to an 

applicant’s first choice selection.  All unsuccessful applicants in the preference point drawing 

shall participate in the respective random drawing for all remaining choices, giving no advantage 

to applicants with preference points. 

 

    (I) In addition to the restrictions set forth in Section 18 of this 

Chapter, party applications with a differing number of preference points among party members 

shall have preference points averaged and rounded out to four (4) decimal places.  

 

   (E)   Antelope licenses that have not been applied for and issued 

through initial drawings or leftover drawings shall be offered to residents and nonresidents as 

issue-after licenses.   

 

   (F)  Eighty percent (80%) of the total available limited quota reduced 

price doe/fawn antelope licenses shall be offered to residents in the initial drawing. An applicant 

may only apply for and receive the maximum number of reduced price doe/fawn antelope 

licenses as specified in Chapter 2, General Hunting Regulation.  Reduced price pioneer doe/fawn 

antelope licenses shall be made available through the ELS.  In addition to the statutorily 
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prescribed application fees, the price of reduced price doe/fawn antelope licenses shall be 

twenty-two dollars ($22) for residents, fourteen dollars ($14) for resident youth, two dollars ($2) 

for resident pioneers, eighteen dollars ($18) for pioneer heritage, thirty-four dollars ($34) for 

nonresidents and nineteen dollars ($19) for nonresident youth.   

 

  (ii)   Bighorn Sheep.  Seventy-five percent (75%) of the total available limited 

quota full price bighorn sheep licenses shall initially be offered to residents in the initial 

drawings. The Department shall allocate not less than seventy-five percent (75%) of the available 

resident full price bighorn sheep licenses and not less than seventy-five percent (75%) of the 

available nonresident full price bighorn sheep licenses to a preference point drawing in the initial 

drawing.  The order of the resident and nonresident full price bighorn sheep preference point 

drawing shall allow individual applicants with the highest number of preference points to be 

given a drawing advantage for the total number of available licenses to be issued in accordance 

with this section; then the applicants with the next highest number of preference points shall be 

selected, and so forth, until the quota has been filled.  The Department shall allocate up to 

twenty-five percent (25%) of the available resident full price bighorn sheep licenses and shall 

allocate up to twenty-five percent (25%) of the available nonresident full price bighorn sheep 

licenses to a random drawing in the initial drawing in which all unsuccessful applicants from the 

preference point drawing shall be placed.   

 

   (A)   Seventy-five percent (75%) of the total available limited quota 

reduced price ewe/lamb licenses shall be offered to residents in the initial drawing, except as 

otherwise provided by Commission regulations.  An applicant may only apply for and receive 

the maximum number of reduced price ewe/lamb licenses as specified in Chapter 2, General 

Hunting Regulation.  In addition to the statutorily prescribed application fees, the price of 

reduced price ewe/lamb licenses shall be thirty-six dollars ($36) for residents, twenty dollars 

($20) for resident youth, two hundred forty dollars ($240) for nonresidents and one hundred 

dollars ($100) for nonresident youth. 

 

  (iii)   Deer.  Eighty percent (80%) of the total available limited quota deer 

licenses shall initially be offered to residents in the initial drawing.  An applicant may only apply 

for and receive the maximum number of full price deer licenses as specified in Chapter 2, 

General Hunting Regulation.  The order of the resident deer initial drawings depicted in this 

section shall be Resident Landowner Licenses, then Resident Regular Licenses.   

 

   (A)   The Commission shall annually establish the nonresident region 

general deer license quotas in addition to license quotas for limited quota hunt areas. Nonresident 

region general deer license quotas shall not include hunt areas with limited quota licenses issued 

to nonresidents. 

 

   (B)   Statutes provide for up to seventy-five (75) nonresident special 

deer licenses to be available for a national bow hunt.  This quota shall be deducted from the 

nonresident special deer quota for the nonresident deer region in which the national bow hunt is 

held.  National bow hunt deer licenses shall only be valid during the hunt dates established by 

Wyoming National Bowhunt, Inc. and the Department.  These dates shall be within the existing 
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special archery season dates as set forth in the most current Commission Regulation Chapter 6 

Deer Hunting Seasons of the Commission regulations for the specific deer hunt area(s) in which 

the hunt will occur. 

 

   (C)   Statutes provide for up to twenty-five (25) licenses, which may be 

issued for a gunpowder or buckskin hunt(s).  These licenses shall be issued above quotas and 

allocated to residents and nonresidents as designated by the Wildlife Division. These licenses are 

exempt from the provisions in this Chapter limiting the number of big game licenses an 

individual can obtain in one (1) calendar year. 

 

   (D)   The order of the nonresident deer initial drawings described in this 

section shall be Nonresident Landowner Licenses, Nonresident Special Licenses, and then 

Nonresident Regular Licenses.  The allocation of remaining licenses after the nonresident 

landowner drawing shall be forty percent (40%) to the Nonresident Special License Drawing and 

sixty percent (60%) to the Nonresident Regular License Drawing. 

 

   (E)   The Department shall allocate not less than seventy-five percent 

(75%) of the available Special and Regular Nonresident deer licenses to a preference point 

drawing in the initial drawing.  The order of the nonresident deer preference point drawing shall 

allow individual applicants with the highest number of preference points to be given a drawing 

advantage for the total number of available licenses to be issued in accordance with this section; 

then the applicants with the next highest number of preference points shall be selected, and so 

forth, until the quota has been filled for all first choice selections.  The Department shall allocate 

up to twenty-five percent (25%) of the available nonresident deer licenses to a random drawing 

in the initial drawing which unsuccessful applicants from the preference point drawing shall be 

placed.  The preference point drawing advantage shall only apply to an applicant’s first choice 

selection.  Unsuccessful applicants in the preference point drawing shall participate in the 

respective random drawing for all remaining choices, giving no advantage to applicants with 

preference points. 

 

    (I)   In addition to the restrictions set forth in Section 18 of this 

Chapter, party applications with differing number of preference points among party members 

shall have preference points averaged and rounded out to four (4) decimal places. 

 

   (F)   Nonresident Region General deer licenses that have not been 

applied for and issued through the initial drawing and leftover drawing shall be offered to 

nonresidents as issue-after licenses.  

 

   (G)   Limited quota deer licenses that have not been applied for and 

issued through the initial and leftover drawings shall be offered to residents and nonresidents as 

issue-after licenses.  

 

   (H)   Eighty percent (80%) of the total available limited quota reduced 

price doe/fawn deer licenses shall be offered to residents in the initial drawing.  An applicant 

may only apply for and receive the maximum number of reduced price doe/fawn deer licenses as 
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specified in Chapter 2, General Hunting Regulation.  Reduced price pioneer doe/fawn deer 

licenses shall be made available for sale through the ELS.  In addition to the statutorily 

prescribed application fees, the price of reduced price doe/fawn deer licenses shall be twenty-two 

dollars ($22) for residents, fourteen dollars ($14) for resident youth, two dollars ($2) for resident 

pioneers, eighteen dollars ($18) for pioneer heritage, thirty-four dollars ($34) for nonresidents 

and nineteen dollars ($19) for nonresident youth.   

 

    (I)   Resident general deer licenses shall not be limited in 

number and shall be issued through the ELS.  Resident general deer licenses may also be applied 

for and issued through the initial drawings by submission of a completed application.  

 

   (iv)   Elk.  A total license limit of seven thousand two hundred-fifty (7,250) 

nonresident elk licenses shall be made available to nonresident applicants in the initial drawing 

each year.  Reduced price cow/calf elk licenses and limited quota elk licenses remaining after the 

initial drawing may be made available to nonresidents in addition to the limit of seven thousand 

two hundred fifty (7,250).  Sixteen percent (16%) of the total available limited quota full price 

and reduced price cow/calf elk licenses shall initially be offered to nonresidents in the 

nonresident elk initial drawing.  The order of the nonresident elk initial drawings described in 

this section shall be Nonresident Landowner Licenses, Nonresident Special Licenses, and then 

Nonresident Regular Licenses.  Following the Nonresident Landowner License Drawing, 

licenses available in the initial drawing from the seven thousand two hundred-fifty (7,250) limit 

shall be allocated as follows:  The allocation of remaining licenses after the nonresident 

landowner drawing shall be forty percent (40%) to the Nonresident Special License Drawing and 

sixty percent (60%) to the Nonresident Regular License Drawing.  If the seven thousand two 

hundred-fifty (7,250) license quota is not issued in the initial nonresident drawings, the 

Department may achieve the seven thousand two hundred-fifty (7,250) license quota by issuing 

general elk licenses.  Licenses remaining for limited quota areas resulting from this procedure 

may be made available in the resident elk initial drawing. 

  

   (A)   The Department shall allocate not less than seventy-five percent 

(75%) of the available Special and Regular Nonresident elk licenses to a preference point 

drawing in the initial drawing.  The order of the nonresident elk preference point drawing shall 

allow individual applicants with the highest number of preference points to be given a drawing 

advantage for the total number of available licenses to be issued in accordance with this section; 

then the applicants with the next highest number of preference points shall be selected, and so 

forth, until the quota has been filled for all first choice selections.  The Department shall allocate 

up to twenty-five percent (25%) of the available nonresident elk licenses to a random drawing in 

the initial drawing in which all unsuccessful applicants from the preference point drawing shall 

be placed.  The preference point drawing advantage shall only apply to an applicant’s first choice 

selection.  All unsuccessful applicants in the preference point drawing shall participate in the 

respective random drawing for all remaining choices, giving no advantage to applicants with 

preference points. 

    (I)   In addition to the restrictions set forth in Section 18 of this 

Chapter, party applications with differing number of preference points among party members 

shall have preference points averaged and rounded out to four (4) decimal places. 
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   (B)   Following the nonresident elk initial drawing, quotas for resident 

limited quota full priced and reduced price cow/calf elk licenses shall be the greater of the elk 

quotas established by Commission regulation less any elk licenses currently issued to 

nonresidents or eighty-four (84%) percent of the quota established by Commission regulation in 

the initial drawing.  The order of the resident elk initial drawings depicted in this section shall be 

Resident Landowner Licenses, then Resident Regular Licenses. 

 

   (C)   Elk licenses that have not been applied for and issued through the 

initial and leftover drawings shall be offered to residents and nonresidents as issue-after licenses. 

 

   (D)   An applicant may only apply for and receive the maximum number 

of full price antlerless and reduced price cow/calf elk licenses as specified in Chapter 2, General 

Hunting Regulation.   Reduced price pioneer cow/calf elk licenses shall be made available for 

sale through the ELS.  In addition to the statutorily prescribed application fees, the price of 

reduced price cow/calf elk licenses shall be forty-three dollars ($43) for residents, twenty dollars 

($20) for resident youth, five dollars ($5) for resident pioneers, twenty-seven dollars ($27) for 

pioneer heritage, two hundred eighty-eight dollars ($288) for nonresidents and one hundred 

dollars ($100) for nonresident youth.   

 

   (E)   Resident general elk licenses shall not be limited in number and 

shall be issued through the ELS.  General elk licenses may also be applied for and issued through 

the initial drawings by submitting a completed application. 

 

 (v)   Moose.  Eighty percent (80%) of the total available limited quota moose 

licenses shall be offered to residents in the initial drawing.  The Department shall allocate not 

less than seventy-five percent (75%) of the available resident moose licenses and not less than 

seventy-five percent (75%) of the available nonresident moose licenses to a preference point 

drawing in the initial drawing.  The order of the resident and nonresident moose preference point 

drawing shall allow individual applicants with the highest number of preference points to be 

given a drawing advantage for the total number of available licenses to be issued in accordance 

with this Section; then, the applicants with the next highest number of preference points shall be 

selected, and so forth, until the quota has been filled.  The Department shall allocate up to 

twenty-five percent (25%) of the available resident moose licenses and shall allocate up to 

twenty-five percent (25%) of the available nonresident moose licenses to a random drawing in 

the initial drawing in which all unsuccessful applicants from the preference point drawing shall 

be placed.   

 

(vi)   Mountain Goat.  Seventy-five percent (75%) of the total available limited 

quota mountain goat licenses shall be offered to residents in the initial drawing.   

 

 (A) Any person who has been issued a mountain goat type one (1) 

license shall not be eligible to apply for or receive a mountain goat type one (1) license in any 

subsequent year. 
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 (B) Any person who has been issued a mountain goat type one (1) 

license in a previous year may apply for and receive a mountain goat Type A license in any 

subsequent year. 

 

 (C) Any person who applies for and receives a mountain goat Type A  

license shall be eligible to apply for or receive a mountain goat Type A license in any future 

year. 

 

 (f)   Trophy Game.  No individual shall apply for or receive more than one (1) license 

for a specific trophy game species during any one (1) calendar year, except as otherwise 

provided in Commission regulation. 

 

  (i)   Black Bear.  Black bear licenses shall not be limited in number.  They 

shall be issued through the ELS.  

 

  (ii)   Gray Wolf.  Gray wolf licenses shall not be limited in number.  They shall 

be issued through the ELS. 

 

  (iii)   Grizzly Bear.  No licenses shall be issued for this species until such time 

as the Commission may establish an open grizzly bear hunting season. 

 

  (iv)   Mountain Lion.  Full price mountain lion licenses and reduced price 

mountain lion licenses shall not be limited in number.  They shall be issued through the ELS.  A 

person may apply for and receive a maximum of one (1) full price mountain lion license and one 

(1) reduced price mountain lion license during any one (1) calendar year.  Reduced price 

mountain lion licenses are only valid in specified hunt areas.  A person shall possess and exhibit 

a full price mountain lion license for the current calendar year in order to receive a reduced price 

mountain lion license for the same calendar year.  The price of a reduced price mountain lion 

license shall be twenty dollars ($20) for residents and ninety-two dollars ($92) for nonresidents.   

 

 (g)   Wild Bison.  Eighty (80%) percent of the wild bison recreational hunting season 

licenses shall be initially offered to residents in the initial drawing.  If the number of resident 

applicants for wild bison licenses does not meet or exceed the resident wild bison license 

allocation, the remaining resident allocation may be issued to nonresidents.  If the number of 

nonresident applicants for wild bison does not meet or exceed the nonresident wild bison 

allocation, the remaining license allocation may be issued to residents. 

    

  (i)   Completed applications for resident and nonresident wild bison 

recreational hunting season licenses shall only be accepted through the ELS.  Applicants shall 

have the choice of applying for any wild bison or any female or calf wild bison.  A computer 

random drawing shall be utilized to determine successful applicants. 

  (ii)   Wild bison licenses that have not been applied for and issued through 

initial and leftover drawings shall be offered to residents and nonresidents as issue-after licenses.    

 

  (iii)   Any person who is issued an any wild bison license and harvests; 
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   (A)   A bull wild bison shall not be eligible to apply for or receive an 

any wild bison license in any future year, but shall be eligible to apply for and receive a female 

or calf wild bison license in the immediately following year; 

 

   (B)   A female or calf wild bison shall not be eligible to apply for or 

receive a female or calf wild bison license in the immediately following five (5) year period, but 

shall be eligible to apply for and receive an any wild bison license in the immediately following 

year. 

 

  (iv)   Any person who is issued a female or calf wild bison license and harvests 

a female or calf wild bison shall not be eligible to apply for or receive an any wild bison license 

or a female or calf wild bison license in the immediately following five (5) year period. 

 

(h)   Bird.  

 

(i)  Falconry.   

 

(A)   Hunt with Falcon licenses shall be issued as over-the-counter 

licenses through the ELS. 

 

   (B)   General Raptor Capture licenses shall be issued as over-the-

counter licenses through the ELS at Headquarters.  Limited Quota Raptor Capture licenses shall 

be issued in accordance with Commission Regulation Chapter 25 Falconry Regulation.   

 

  (ii)   Game Bird.  Game Bird licenses shall not be limited in number.  They 

shall be issued as over-the-counter licenses through the ELS.   

 

  (iii)   Wild Turkey.  Eighty percent (80%) of the total available spring and fall 

limited quota wild turkey licenses shall be offered to residents in the initial drawing.  The order 

of the initial drawings shall be resident landowner licenses, resident regular licenses, nonresident 

landowner licenses, and then nonresident regular licenses.  

 

   (A)   Limited quota wild turkey licenses that have not been applied for 

and issued through the initial drawing shall be offered to residents and nonresidents as issue-after 

licenses. 

 

   (B)   The Commission may authorize general wild turkey licenses, 

which shall not be limited in number.  Those licenses shall be issued as over-the-counter licenses 

through the ELS.  These licenses may also be applied for and issued through the initial drawing 

process. 

 (i)  Small Game.  Small Game licenses shall not be limited in number.  They shall be 

issued as over-the-counter licenses through the ELS.   

 

 (j)   Furbearing Animals. 
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  (i)   Trapping.  Resident furbearing animal trapping licenses shall not be 

limited in number.  They shall be issued as over-the-counter licenses through the ELS.  

Nonresident furbearing animal trapping licenses shall not be limited in number and shall be 

issued in accordance with W.S. § 23-2-303 at Headquarters. 

 

  (ii)   Capture Furbearing Animal for Domestication.  Capture Furbearing 

Animal for Domestication licenses shall not be limited in number and shall be issued through the 

ELS at Headquarters. 

 

 (k)   Archery.  Archery licenses shall not be limited in number.  They shall be issued 

as over-the-counter licenses through the ELS. 

  

 (l)   Commercial Licenses.  Commercial licenses require written approval by 

Department personnel prior to issuance. 

 

  (i)   Commercial Fish Hatchery.  Commercial Fish Hatchery licenses shall not 

be limited in number and shall be issued through the ELS at Headquarters. 

 

  (ii)  Deal in Live Bait.  Deal in Live Bait licenses shall not be limited in 

number and shall be issued through the ELS at Department Regional Offices and Headquarters.  

 

   (iii)  Fishing Preserve.  Fishing Preserve licenses shall not be limited in number 

and shall be issued through the ELS at Headquarters. 

 

  (iv)   Fur Dealer.  Fur Dealer licenses shall not be limited in number and shall 

be issued through the ELS at Headquarters. 

 

  (v)   Game Bird Farm.  Game Bird Farm licenses shall not be limited in number 

and shall be issued through the ELS at Headquarters. 

 

  (vi)  Taxidermist.  Taxidermist licenses shall not be limited in number and shall 

be issued through the ELS at Headquarters. 

 

 (m)   Fishing.  Fishing licenses shall not be limited in number.  They shall be issued as 

over-the-counter licenses through the ELS.    

 

  (i)   Seine or Trap Fish.  Seine or Trap Fish licenses shall not be limited in 

number and shall be issued through the ELS at Department Regional Offices and Headquarters.   

No person shall apply for or receive more than one (1) seine or trap fish license during a calendar 

year. 

 (n)   Duplicate Licenses.   

 

  (i)  In order for a duplicate license to be issued, a duplicate license affidavit 

shall be properly completed by the licensee.   
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   (A)   For a license, permit, stamp or tag that was originally issued 

through a manual process, the customer shall be required to purchase another license, permit, 

stamp or tag, rather than a duplicate license, as authorized by Commission regulation. 

 

   (B)   For a license that was originally issued through the ELS, the 

license selling agent or sub-agent shall not be required to complete a duplicate license affidavit 

form prior to issuing a duplicate license as the affidavit is incorporated into the duplicate license 

document being issued through the ELS. 

 

  (ii)   Duplicate licenses shall be issued through the ELS.   

 

  (iii)   The Department and license selling agents shall charge a fee of seven  

dollars ($7) for issuance of a duplicate license.   

 

  (iv)   The Department shall not charge a fee for issuance of a duplicate license 

when the loss or destruction of the license is the fault of the Department or when an applicant 

does not receive a license which was mailed to the address on their application. 

 

 (o)   Replacement Licenses.  

 

 (i)   The completion of a duplicate license affidavit form shall not be required 

for the issuance of a replacement license. 

 

  (ii)   The Department and license selling agents shall charge a fee of seven 

dollars ($7) for the issuance of a replacement license issued through the ELS.   

 

 (p)   Resident Guide Licenses shall be issued for no charge through the ELS at 

Department Regional Offices and Headquarters, and shall be issued manually through designated 

Department personnel. 

 

 Section 6.  Permits. 

 

(a)       Sandhill Crane.   

 

  (i)   Limited Quota Sandhill Crane. Applicants shall be selected by random 

computer selection.  Twenty percent (20%) of the total available limited quota sandhill crane 

permits shall initially be offered to nonresidents in the initial drawing.  Limited quota sandhill 

crane permits that have not been applied for and issued through the initial drawing shall be 

issued through the ELS on an as processed basis until quotas have been reached or the permit is 

no longer valid.   

  (ii)   General Sandhill Crane.  Permits shall not be limited in number and shall 

only be available through the Department’s website beginning August 1. 
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 (b)   Disabled Hunter and Disabled Hunter Companion Permits.  Any person qualified 

to obtain a disabled hunter permit or purchase a disabled hunter companion permit shall apply on 

the proper application form to the Department’s License Section at Headquarters or Department 

Regional Offices. 

 

 (c)   Hunters with a Shoot from a Vehicle Permit.  Any person qualified to obtain a 

Shoot from a Vehicle Permit shall apply on the proper application form to the Department’s 

License Section at Headquarters or Department Regional Offices.  

 

 (d)   Hunting Season Extension Permit.  Any person qualified to obtain a Hunting 

Season Extension Permit shall apply on the proper application form to the Department’s License 

Section at Headquarters or Department Regional Offices. 

 

 (e)   Migratory Game Bird. 

 

  (i)   Harvest Information Permit.  Harvest Information Permits shall not be 

limited in number and shall only be available through the Department’s website.   

 

 (f)   Furbearing Animal, Limited Quota Beaver and Marten.  

 

  (i)   Applicants shall be selected by random computer drawing.  Both residents 

and nonresidents shall draw against the same quota.  Leftover permits may be issued to the first 

eligible applicant as authorized by the Fiscal Division Chief.    

 

 (g)   Pheasant. 

 

  (i)   Glendo Permit.  Eighty percent (80%) of the total available limited quota 

Glendo pheasant permits shall be offered to residents in the initial drawing. Glendo pheasant 

permits that have not been applied for and issued through the initial drawing shall be issued as 

authorized by the Fiscal Division Chief on an as processed basis until quotas have been reached 

or the permit is no longer valid.  No person shall apply for or receive more than one (1) Glendo 

Permit in the initial drawing. 

 

  (ii)   Springer Permit.  Eighty percent (80%) of the total available limited quota 

Springer pheasant permits shall be offered to residents in the initial drawing. Springer pheasant 

permits that are not applied for and issued through the initial drawing shall be issued at the 

Springer Check Station or as authorized by the Fiscal Division Chief until the quotas have been 

reached or the permit is no longer valid.  No person shall apply for or receive more than one (1) 

Springer Permit in the initial drawing. 

    

 (h)   Special Management Permit.  Any individual participating in a special 

management program shall be required to purchase a Special Management Permit.  Special 

Management Permits shall not be limited in number and shall be issued through the ELS. 

 

(i) Special Limited Fishing Permit. 
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  (i)   Any institution, facility or school designated by the Department to issue 

Special Limited Fishing Permits to any person under the care and supervision of the institution, 

residing facility, or school as authorized in W.S. § 23-2-207 may issue such permits to fish in 

accordance with Commission Regulation Chapter 46, Fishing Regulations. 

 

  (ii)   Special Limited Fishing Permits shall specify the following information: 

 

(A)   Name and date of birth of individual to whom the permit is issued;  

 

(B)   Calendar year for which the permit is valid; 

 

(C)   Name of institution, facility, or school issuing the permit; and, 

 

(D)   Name of the person employed by institution, facility, or school  

who issued the permit. 

 

  (iii)   No person shall apply for or receive any permit under this section by false 

swearing, fraud or false statement of any kind or in any form. 

 

  (iv)   Employees of institutions, facilities or schools as authorized in W.S. § 23-

2-207 are not eligible to receive special limited fishing permits. 

 

  (v)   Any institution, facility or school designated by the Department to issue 

special limited fishing permits shall submit an annual report to the Department's License Section.  

The report shall include the number of special limited fishing permits issued, the name of the 

institution, facility or school and any other required information as provided by the Department.  

Reports shall be due on or before January 31 following the reporting period year.  

 

 (j)   Hunters with a Central Visual Acuity Disability Permit.  Any person qualified to 

obtain a Central Visual Acuity Disability Permit shall apply on the proper application form to the 

Department’s License Section at Headquarters or Department Regional Offices. 

 

 Section 7.  Tags.  Wyoming Interstate Game Tag.  Wyoming Interstate Game Tags shall 

not be limited in number and shall be sold through Department Regional Offices, Headquarters, 

designated Department personnel, game tag distributors or their designees.  

 

 

 

 

 Section 8.  Stamps. 

 

 (a)   Conservation Stamp.  Conservation Stamps shall not be limited in number and 

shall be sold through the ELS and manually.   
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  (i)   Hunters or anglers acquiring a manually issued conservation stamp for the 

purpose set forth in W.S. § 23-2-306 shall validate the stamp by signing their name in ink in the 

space provided on the face of the stamp.  Hunters or anglers who acquire a lifetime conservation 

stamp or a conservation stamp authorization through the ELS shall not be required to meet the 

signature provisions of this subsection. 

 

  (ii)   The validated stamp, or the document exhibiting the stamp privilege, shall 

be in possession of any person required by W.S. § 23-2-306 to obtain a stamp if the person is 

engaged in the act of hunting or fishing and shall be immediately produced for inspection upon 

request from any Department personnel. 

 

 (b)   Wildlife Damage Management Stamp.  Wildlife Damage Management Stamps 

shall not be limited in number and shall be sold through the ELS.  The price for the stamp shall 

be established by the Wyoming Animal Damage Management Board. 

 

 (c)   Reciprocity Stamp.  Reciprocal agreements provide for licensing for fishing of 

residents of Wyoming and adjoining states upon artificial impoundment of water forming the 

boundary between Wyoming and adjoining states.  Reciprocity stamps shall not be limited in 

number and shall be sold through the ELS. 

 

 Section 9.  Landowner Licenses.  Landowner licenses shall only be issued to those 

landowners who own land which provides habitat for antelope, deer, elk or wild turkeys and 

meets the requirements as set forth in this section.  Any lands purchased or subdivided for the 

primary purpose of obtaining landowner licenses shall not be eligible for landowner licenses.  

The Wyoming Game and Fish Commission authorizes the issuance of landowner licenses in 

order to provide the opportunity for a landowner applicant or member of the landowner 

applicant’s immediate family to hunt antelope, deer, elk or wild turkey on the landowner’s 

property in the case where licenses for a hunt area have been limited in number and only 

available through a competitive drawing.  

  

 (a)   In order to qualify for a license issued under this section, the deeded land 

qualifying the landowner applicant shall be located in the hunt area for which applied, shall 

consist of a minimum of one hundred sixty (160) contiguous acres and shall be utilized by the 

type of big game or wild turkeys for which the applicant applied to the extent the land provides 

food, cover and water.  The landowner applicant shall demonstrate that the species of wildlife for 

which the license application has been made utilized the described land for a minimum of two 

thousand (2,000) days of use during the twelve (12) month period immediately preceding  the 

date of application.  In no case shall more than two (2) big game licenses per species or more 

than two (2) spring wild turkey or no more than two (2) fall wild turkey licenses be issued for a 

parcel of deeded land meeting the above qualifications in a calendar year.  

 (b)   Resident or nonresident landowner applicants that own land in Wyoming or 

members of the landowner applicant’s immediate family may be issued licenses upon application 

and payment of the specified fee.  Licenses shall be issued to landowners without participating in 

a competitive drawing unless the number of landowner license applications exceeds the number 

of licenses authorized for the hunt area by the Commission.  In such cases, a competitive 
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drawing shall be utilized to determine successful landowner license applicants.  Landowner 

license applications shall be drawn first in each respective resident and nonresident initial 

drawing and shall be drawn against the total quota available in each respective hunt area.  

 

 (c)   As a condition of eligibility for licenses issued to landowners, landowner 

applicants shall provide on and with the application for a license issued to landowners, 

documentation that substantiates in which capacity the individual qualifies as a landowner 

applicant under the definition of a landowner applicant or landowner’s immediate family in this 

Chapter.  Documentation shall include the completion of the landowner license application form 

provided by the Department, and any attachments required by the Department to determine 

eligibility of the applicant.  The Department shall consider the eligibility of the applicant based 

on the requirements in this regulation and documentation provided by the landowner.  Applicants 

for landowner licenses shall be submitted to the game warden or the regional wildlife supervisor 

in whose geographic area of responsibility the land listed on the application occurs.   

 

 (d)   In the case of resident license availability, no full price landowner licenses shall 

be authorized if hunting with a general license is allowed at any time during the hunting season, 

unless the general license is valid for antlerless deer or antlerless elk hunting only.   

 

 (e)   In the case where a nonresident landowner qualifies for a landowner license in a 

hunt area where the current hunting season provides for both limited quota and general license 

hunting during the established hunting season for the species applied for, the nonresident 

landowner may apply as a nonresident applicant for either the limited quota license for the area 

in which the applicant is qualified, or a general license in the initial drawing.  If the nonresident 

landowner is unsuccessful in obtaining a limited quota license in the nonresident drawing, the 

nonresident landowner may subsequently apply to the Department for the issuance of a general 

license.   

 

 (f)   Landowner licenses shall be designated by the landowner and applied for by a 

landowner applicant, or a member of the landowner applicant’s immediate family.   

 

(i)       An individual landowner applicant may apply for or receive:  

 

   (A) No more than one (1) full price elk and one (1) limited quota 

reduced price elk landowner license in a calendar year.   

 

   (B) No more than one (1) full price antelope or up to two (2) limited 

quota reduced price antelope landowner licenses in a calendar year. 

 

   (C) No more than one (1) full price deer or up to two (2) limited quota 

reduced price deer landowner licenses in a calendar year. 

 

   (D) No more than one (1) spring wild turkey landowner license and 

one (1) fall wild turkey landowner license in a calendar year.   
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  (ii) A maximum of two (2) licenses for antelope, deer and elk may be allowed 

to a landowner applicant regardless of the number of landholdings in which the landowner 

applicant holds an interest.   

 

  (iii) Regardless of a change in ownership of a particular parcel of land, no 

more than two (2) landowner licenses for each big game species (antelope, deer, and elk) shall be 

issued in any calendar year on the basis of the qualification of the particular parcel.   

 

  (iv) Regardless of a change in ownership of a particular parcel of land, no 

more than two (2) spring wild turkey and two (2) fall wild turkey landowner licenses shall be 

issued in any calendar year on the basis of the qualification of the particular parcel. 

 

 (g)   Landowners shall submit applications for landowner licenses as listed in Section 

20 of this regulation. 

 

 Section 10.  Lifetime Licenses and Conservation Stamp.  Any resident qualified to 

purchase a lifetime fishing, lifetime archery or lifetime combination license pursuant to 

Wyoming statute may obtain a lifetime license from the Department’s License Section at 

Headquarters or license selling locations as designated by the Fiscal Division Chief. 

 

 (a)   Wyoming statute provides for a lifetime conservation stamp.  Any person may 

purchase a lifetime conservation stamp from the Department’s License Section at Headquarters 

or license selling locations as designated by the Fiscal Division Chief. 

 

 (b)   Receiving a lifetime license grants the recipient the privilege of utilizing the 

license for his lifetime; however, the license shall not be construed as exercising resident hunting 

or fishing privileges in Wyoming when and if the person leaves the state of Wyoming.  

 

 Section 11.  Governor Complimentary Licenses.  Wyoming statutes provide for the 

issuance of complimentary licenses to be issued at the request of the Governor.  Big game 

licenses authorized under this section shall be valid for the species for which the license has been 

issued.   

 

 (a)   These licenses shall be valid in any hunt area in accordance with Commission 

regulations, except for the following: 

 

  (i)   Complimentary moose licenses shall not be valid in any moose hunt area, 

which has a total quota of ten (10) or less antlered or any moose licenses. 

 

  (ii)   Complimentary full price bighorn sheep licenses shall not be valid in any 

bighorn sheep hunt area that has a total quota of eight (8) or less full price bighorn sheep 

licenses. 

 

  (iii) Complimentary wild bison licenses shall not be valid in any wild bison 

hunt area which has a total quota of ten (10) or less any wild bison licenses. 
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  (iv)   Governor’s Complimentary licenses shall not be valid within Grand Teton 

National Park. 

 

 (b)   Holders of Governor Complimentary licenses shall be exempt from the provisions 

in this Chapter limiting the number of big game or wild bison licenses an individual can possess 

in any one (1) calendar year or during an individual’s lifetime.   An individual is eligible to 

receive a Governor Complimentary moose license, Governor Complimentary full price bighorn 

sheep license, and a Governor Complimentary wild bison license annually.  Recipients shall be 

exempt from the five (5) year waiting period and preference points shall not be lost if an 

individual receives a Governor Complimentary moose or full price bighorn sheep license.  

Recipients shall be exempt from any restrictions related to wild bison licenses if an individual 

receives a Governor Complimentary wild bison license.  Nonresident preference points shall not 

be lost if an individual receives a Governor Complimentary antelope, deer or elk license. 

 

 Section 12.  Commissioner Complimentary Licenses.   

 

 (a)   Wyoming statutes provide that each appointed Commissioner may cause, through 

the issuance of license authorizations to nonprofit charitable organizations, to be issued at full 

price, complimentary antelope, deer or elk licenses.   

 

  (i)   Once the commissioner complimentary license authorization has been 

auctioned or otherwise bid to the highest bidder or raffled to members of the public by the 

nonprofit charitable organization, the recipient of the license authorization may only transfer the 

license authorization to another person if no additional consideration above the bid or raffle price 

is paid by the transferee.   

 

  (ii)   The recipient of the license authorization may donate the license 

authorization back to the nonprofit charitable organization that originally bid the license 

authorization to be rebid to a new highest bidder.   

 

  (iii)   The Department shall issue the license in the name of the person who 

submits the authorization for license issuance.   

 

  (iv)   All big game licenses authorized under this section are valid for a specific 

region or hunt area as designated by the applicant at the time of application.  Commissioner 

Complimentary licenses shall not be valid within Grand Teton National Park.   

 

  (v)   The specific region, or hunt area, or type shall not be changed following 

the issuance of the license by the Department.   

 

  (vi)   As a condition to issuance of a Commissioner Complimentary license, the 

Department shall require an authorized officer of the recipient organization to certify under 

penalty of law that the respective organization is a nonprofit charitable organization as defined in 

this regulation and eligible to receive the Commissioner Complimentary license authorization. 



 

44-26 
 

 

 (b)   Holders of Commissioner Complimentary licenses shall be exempt from the 

provisions in this Chapter limiting the number of licenses an individual can possess in any one 

(1) calendar year.  Nonresident recipients shall not lose preference points for receiving a 

Commissioner Complimentary antelope, deer or elk license.   

 

 Section 13.  Commissioner Complimentary Licenses for Persons with Life 

Threatening Illnesses. 

 

 (a)   The Commission may, upon receipt of payment of the proper fee issue up to 

twenty-five (25) antelope licenses, twenty-five (25) deer licenses, twenty-five (25) elk licenses 

and twenty-five (25) turkey licenses to persons twenty (20) years of age or younger with a life-

threatening illness and who is sponsored by a nonprofit charitable organization whose mission it 

is to provide opportunities and experiences to persons with life-threatening or serious illnesses.  

Licenses issued under this subsection shall be issued above quotas established for the hunt 

area(s) by Commission regulation.  However, no more than ten (10) limited quota antelope, ten 

(10) limited quota deer, ten (10) limited quota elk or ten (10) limited quota turkey licenses shall 

be issued for any one hunt area during the same calendar year. 

 

  (i)   The sponsoring organization shall submit a request for the number of 

licenses and species requested on or before January 31 for antelope, deer, elk, spring and fall 

turkey. 

 

  (ii)   After notification that a sponsoring organization's request has been 

granted, the sponsoring organization shall submit a completed application and appropriate 

license fee for the person with a life-threatening or serious illness to the Department’s License 

Section for license issuance.  

 

  (iii)   As a condition to issuance of a license in this subsection, the Department 

shall require an authorized officer of the sponsoring organization to certify under penalty of law 

that the respective organization is a nonprofit, charitable organization as defined in this 

regulation.  

 

  (iv)   The sponsoring organization shall provide a statement from a licensed 

physician stating the license recipient is clinically diagnosed with a life-threatening or serious 

illness. 

 

  (v)   The Department shall issue licenses to individuals sponsored by qualifying 

organizations meeting the provisions under this subsection to residents and nonresidents in 

accordance with Section 5(e) (i), 5 (e) (iii), 5(e) (iv), and Section 5(h) (iii) of this Chapter.  In the 

event the number of applications exceeds the number of licenses available under this subsection, 

the Department shall allocate the licenses through a random drawing on or before February 10.  

Licenses remaining after the initial issuance shall be available on a first come, first served basis 

until the quotas for licenses in this subsection have been allocated. 
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 Section 14.  Pioneer Licenses, Pioneer Heritage Licenses, Honorably Discharged 

Pioneer Veterans Licenses, One Hundred Percent (100%) Disabled Resident Veterans 

Licenses, Resident Disabled Veterans Lifetime Fishing Licenses and Purple Heart Medal 

Recipients.   

 

 (a)   Pioneer lifetime combination game bird/small game/fishing licenses may be 

issued to qualified individuals.  The Pioneer game bird/small game/fishing licenses shall not be 

limited in number and shall be issued through the ELS at Department Regional Offices and 

Headquarters. 

 

 (b)   Pioneer heritage antelope, deer, elk or wild turkey licenses shall be issued through 

the ELS to any qualified resident.  The fee for such licenses shall be:  pioneer heritage antelope 

license, twenty dollars ($20); pioneer heritage deer license, twenty-three dollars ($23); pioneer 

heritage elk license, thirty-two dollars ($32); and, pioneer heritage wild turkey license, ten 

dollars ($10).  Effective January 1, 2019, the fee for such licenses shall be:  pioneer heritage 

antelope license, twenty-two dollars ($22); pioneer heritage deer license, twenty-six dollars 

($26); pioneer heritage elk license, thirty-five dollars ($35); and, pioneer heritage wild turkey 

license, ten dollars ($10).  Reduced price pioneer heritage doe/fawn antelope, doe/fawn deer and 

cow/calf elk licenses shall be issued through the ELS system. 

 

 (c)   Honorably discharged pioneer veteran combination game bird/small game/fishing 

licenses may be issued to qualified individuals.  Combination game bird/small game/fishing 

licenses may be issued to residents of the state who qualify as honorably discharged pioneer 

veterans.  The honorably discharged pioneer veteran game bird/small game/fishing license shall 

not be limited in number and shall be issued through the ELS at Department Regional Offices 

and Headquarters upon submission by the applicant of documentary evidence that he qualifies as 

an honorably discharged pioneer veteran. 

 

 (d)   One hundred percent (100%) disabled resident veteran combination game 

bird/small game/fishing license may be issued to qualified individuals.  Combination game 

bird/small game/fishing licenses may be issued to residents of the state who qualify as one 

hundred percent (100%) disabled resident veterans.  The one hundred percent (100%) disabled 

resident veteran game bird/small game/fishing license shall not be limited in number and shall be 

issued through the ELS at Department Regional Offices and Headquarters upon submission by 

the applicant of documentary evidence provided by the United States Department of Veterans 

Affairs that the resident veteran qualifies as one hundred percent (100%) disabled.  For the 

purpose of this subsection, one hundred percent (100%) disabled does not refer to disability 

compensation. 

 

 (e)   Wyoming statutes provide for the issuance of antelope, deer, elk or wild turkey 

pioneer licenses to individuals qualified at the time of license issuance.  For purposes of 

drawings for which the submission of a completed application shall be required, license 

applicants shall qualify by June 20 of the current calendar year.  Any resident person qualified to 

receive a limited quota pioneer big game or wild turkey license shall make application through 

the ELS.  Limited quota pioneer licenses for antelope, deer, elk and wild turkey shall be applied 
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for in accordance with Section 20 of this Chapter.  Pioneer general deer, general elk and general 

wild turkey licenses shall be issued through the ELS.  Limited quota reduced price pioneer 

doe/fawn antelope, doe/fawn deer and cow/calf elk licenses shall be issued through the ELS 

system.  

 

 (f)   Resident disabled veteran’s lifetime fishing license.  Any resident disabled 

veteran who receives fifty percent (50%) or more service connected disability compensation 

from the United States Department of Veterans Affairs may apply on the proper application form 

for a resident disabled veteran’s lifetime fishing license. The disabled veteran’s resident lifetime 

fishing license shall not be limited in number and shall be issued through the ELS at Department 

Regional Offices and Headquarters upon submission by the applicant of documentary evidence 

provided by the United States Department of Veterans Affairs that he receives fifty percent 

(50%) or more service connected disability compensation.  The license shall remain valid for the 

lifetime of the person in whose name it is issued.   

 

 (g)   Combination game bird/small game/fishing licenses may be issued to residents of 

the state who qualify as a United States Military Purple Heart Medal recipient.  These 

combination licenses shall not be limited in number and shall be issued through the ELS at 

Department Regional Offices and Headquarters upon submission by the applicant of 

documentary evidence provided by the United States Military Department that the resident 

qualifies as a purple heart recipient. 

 

 Section 15.  Donation of Big Game Licenses to a Disabled Veteran or to a 

Permanently Disabled Person Who Uses a Wheelchair. 

 

 (a)   The holder of a valid big game license may surrender a big game license to the 

Department for reissuance to a disabled veteran or to a permanently disabled person who uses a 

wheelchair.  The person surrendering the license may designate that their license be donated to a 

disabled veteran or to a permanently disabled person who uses a wheelchair, and may designate a 

qualified nonprofit charitable organization dedicated to providing hunting opportunities to 

disabled veterans or persons with permanent disabilities who use wheelchairs.  Donated licenses 

not designated to a qualified nonprofit charitable organization, or donated licenses not assigned 

to a sponsored individual within fifteen (15) days after a nonprofit charitable organization 

dedicated to providing hunting opportunities to disabled veterans or persons with permanent 

disability who use wheelchairs has been notified of license availability, shall be made available 

for reissuance on a first-come, first-served basis to a qualified nonprofit charitable organization 

dedicated to providing hunting opportunities to disabled veterans or persons with permanent 

disabilities who use wheelchairs. 

 

  (i)   The unused, unaltered license with all coupons intact shall be submitted 

along with a form provided by the Department which indicates the license holders’ desire to 

surrender the license issued in their name and donate the surrendered license under this Section.  

The person surrendering the license shall sign an affidavit verifying that the license was not used 

during any hunting season. 
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  (ii)   Any person surrendering a valid big game license to be reissued under this 

Section, shall not be eligible to receive a duplicate license for the same species, hunt area and 

type as the surrendered license.  

 

(iii)   A surrendered license shall count against the maximum number of licenses 

a person may otherwise apply for and receive as a condition of Commission regulation.  

 

  (iv)   Any person surrendering a valid big game license for reissuance under this 

Section, for which preference points have been accumulated, shall not have preference points 

restored. 

 

 (b)   The surrendered license shall be reissued by the Department’s License Section to 

a qualified person who has been selected and sponsored by a nonprofit charitable organization 

providing hunting opportunities to disabled veterans or persons with permanent disabilities who 

use wheelchairs.   

  (i)   As a condition to reissue a license in this subsection, the Department shall 

require an authorized officer of the sponsoring organization to certify under penalty of law that 

the respective organization is a nonprofit charitable organization, that provides hunting 

opportunities to disabled veterans or persons with permanent disabilities who use wheelchairs.  

 

  (ii)   The sponsoring organization shall submit a completed application form for 

the issuance of a license on forms provided by the Department.  Donated license applications, 

and any documentary evidence, shall be completed each year regardless of whether an applicant 

has received a donated license in a previous year. 

 

   (A)   For a license being reissued to a disabled veteran, documentary 

evidence provided by the United States Department of Veterans Affairs that the applicant 

currently receives at least fifty percent (50%) or more service connected disability compensation 

shall be submitted with the application form. 

 

   (B)   For a license being reissued to a permanently disabled person who 

uses a wheelchair, a statement by a licensed physician, on forms provided by the Department, 

that the applicant has a permanent disability that requires the applicant to, at all times, be 

confined to a wheelchair for mobility purposes.   

 

  (iii)   The license shall be reissued to a qualified applicant at no fee. 

  (iv)   The license shall be reissued for the same species, area and license type as 

the license donated.  

 

 Section 16.  Active Duty Wyoming Resident in Combat Zone Licenses.   
Complimentary resident general elk, resident general deer, resident game bird, resident small 

game and resident daily fishing licenses shall be issued to any Wyoming resident currently 

serving on active duty in the United States military deployed to a combat zone while home on 

military leave during the applicable hunting or fishing season.  Applicants for licenses in this 

subsection shall meet the statutory requirements established in W. S. § 23-2-101 (a), and shall 
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provide to the Department a valid, current military identification card, military leave orders 

indicating the resident is currently deployed to a combat zone and is returning to a combat zone 

at the end of the current leave period, a current Leave and Earnings Statement indicating the 

applicant is receiving hostile fire compensation and proof of residency at the time of application.  

Licenses shall be issued through the ELS at no fee to the applicant and shall only be issued at 

Headquarters or Department Regional Offices. 

 

 Section 17.  Depredation Licenses.  Application shall be made to Department Regional 

Offices in the region where participation is desired on application forms provided by the 

Department.  Applicants shall apply annually to be included on priority lists.  Applicants shall 

make separate application for each species.  Application dates and priority listing name 

placement on each list shall be established in accordance with Commission Regulation Chapter 

34, Depredation Prevention Hunting Seasons.  

 

 Section 18.  Party Applications – Initial Drawing.  In the initial drawing, the maximum 

allowable number of completed applications in a party shall be six (6).  Residents and 

nonresidents shall not apply together in the same party.  Completed applications from landowner 

applicants shall not be accepted as a party with non-landowner applicants.  Nonresidents 

applying in the drawing for special licenses shall not apply as a party with nonresidents applying 

in the drawing for regular licenses.  No party applications shall be accepted for moose, bighorn 

sheep, mountain goat, or wild bison recreational hunting season licenses.  Party applicants are 

required to submit their applications for the same species, hunt area, and type in the same order 

of preference.   

 

 Section 19.  Proof of Residency for Resident Licenses. 

 

 (a)   Any qualified individual may apply for or receive a resident game and fish 

license, permit, or tag if the person meets the residency requirements pursuant to W.S. § 23-1-

102 (a) (ix) (xv) and § 23-1-107.  When an individual signs an application to obtain a resident 

license or signs a resident license, the individual swears that he is a Wyoming resident as defined 

in W.S. § 23-1-102 (a) (ix) (xv), § 23-1-107 and § 23-2-101 (a).     

 

 (b)   Any person applying for or purchasing a resident license, permit, preference 

point, or tag shall provide proof of their residency.  License selling agents and the Department 

shall consider as documentary evidence of residency the applicant’s Wyoming driver’s license or 

Wyoming identification card, a copy of their school records, a completed military form DD214, 

a completed and signed proof of residency statement on a form provided by the Department or a 

completed proof of residency affidavit issued through the ELS.  Documentary evidence 

furnished by an applicant for a resident license shall not be considered conclusive proof in a 

court of law that the applicant is a resident in accordance with Wyoming statutes. 

 

 (c)   A person qualifying as a Wyoming resident in accordance with W.S. § 23-1-107 

(c) shall not gain or lose residency for the purpose of serving full time for a period not to exceed 

four (4) years in an established volunteer service program for charitable purposes, humanitarian 

purposes, or religious purposes.  A letter, signed and notarized by the volunteer service 
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program’s director, which describes the services provided (including that they were provided 

without remuneration), the duration of service, and the hours served may be used to establish 

compliance with W.S. § 23-1-107 (c). 

 

 (d)   A person qualified as a Wyoming resident as defined in W.S. § 23-1-102 (a) (ix) 

and § 23-1-107, is not considered a nonresident for the purposes of applying for or purchasing 

licenses, permits, tags or preference points.  

 

 Section 20.  Application Dates. 

 

 (a)   Completed applications for initial limited quota drawings, purchase of preference 

points only, and applications for the Department’s Super Tag Trifecta and Super Tag license 

competitive raffle, shall only be submitted through the ELS during the application periods stated 

in this section.  Electronic applications shall provide for an electronic signature process for 

residency oaths, certification to the correctness of information provided, or any other assertions 

as may be required by this regulation on the completed applications. Evidence of electronic 

signatures on drawing applications and licenses purchased may not be excluded in legal 

proceedings.  Ref: W.S. § 40-21-113.  The Department shall begin accepting completed 

applications at 8:00 a.m. on the first business day of the month or the specified date listed in 

subsections (d) and (e) of this Section. 

 

 (b)   Completed applications submitted through the ELS shall not be accepted after 

12:00 midnight Mountain Standard Time zone on the respective application deadline dates listed 

in subsection (e).  If the deadline date occurs on a day when Headquarters has been closed for 

license sales (weekends, holiday, etc.), the ELS shall be available until 12:00 midnight Mountain 

Standard Time zone on the next business day.                                                                                              

 

 (c)   If the ELS is closed or otherwise unavailable to the public during the deadline 

date listed in subsection (e), the Department shall accept completed applications through the ELS 

until 12:00 midnight Mountain Standard Time zone on the next calendar day. 

 

            (d)   Landowner License Application Dates:  Completed applications for landowner 

licenses shall be submitted to the game warden or the regional wildlife supervisor in whose 

geographic area of responsibility the land listed on the application occurs.  Completed 

applications for landowner licenses shall not be accepted after 12:00 midnight Mountain 

Standard Time zone on respective application dates listed in this subsection. 

 

 

 

LICENSE 

 

METHOD OF 

SUBMISSION 

BEGINNING 

APPLICATION 

DATE 

LAST DATE TO 

ACCEPT 

APPLICATIONS 

LAST DATE 

TO MODIFY/ 

WITHDRAW 

 

ANTELOPE 

Limited Quota 

Nonresident 

Landowner 

Paper Jan.  May 15 May 31 
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Limited Quota 

Nonresident 

Landowner with 

Preference Point 

Paper Jan.  May 15 May 31 

Limited Quota 

Reduced Price 

Nonresident 

Landowner 

Doe/Fawn 

Paper Jan. May 15 May 31 

Limited Quota 

Resident 

Landowner 

Paper Jan.  May 15 May 31 

Limited Quota 

Reduced Price 

Resident 

Landowner 

Doe/Fawn 

Paper Jan.  May 15 May 31 

 

DEER 

Limited Quota 

Nonresident 

Landowner 

Paper Jan.  May 15 May 31 

Limited Quota 

Nonresident 

Landowner with 

Preference Point 

Paper Jan.  May 15 May 31 

Limited Quota 

Resident 

Landowner 

Paper Jan. May 15 May 31 

Limited Quota 

Reduced Price 

Nonresident 

Landowner 

Doe/Fawn 

Paper Jan.  May 15 May 31 
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LICENSE 

 

METHOD OF 

SUBMISSION 

BEGINNING 

APPLICATION 

DATE 

LAST DATE TO 

ACCEPT 

APPLICATIONS 

LAST DATE 

TO MODIFY/ 

WITHDRAW 

 

DEER 

Limited Quota 

Reduced Price 

Resident 

Landowner 

Doe/Fawn 

Paper Jan.  May 15 May 31 

 

ELK 

Limited Quota 

Nonresident 

Landowner 

Paper Jan.  Jan. 20 Feb. 3 

Limited Quota 

Nonresident 

Landowner with 

Preference Point 

Paper Jan.  Jan. 20 Feb. 3 

Limited Quota 

Reduced Price 

Nonresident 

Landowner 

Cow/Calf 

Paper Jan.  Jan. 20 Feb. 3 

Limited Quota 

Reduced Price 

Resident 

Landowner 

Cow/Calf 

Paper Jan.  May 15 May 31 

Limited Quota 

Resident 

Landowner 

Paper Jan.  May 15 May 31 

 

WILD TURKEY 

Limited Quota 

Nonresident 

Landowner 

      Spring 

      Fall 

 

 

 

Paper 

Paper 

 

 

 

Jan.  

Jul. 

 

 

 

Jan. 20 

Jul. 15 

 

 

 

Feb. 3 

Jul. 31 

Limited Quota 

Resident 

Landowner 

      Spring 

      Fall 

 

 

 

Paper 

Paper 

 

 

 

Jan.  

Jul.  

 

 

 

Jan. 20 

Jul. 15 

 

 

 

Feb. 3 

Jul. 31 
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            (e)   Non-Landowner Application Dates: 

 

 

 

LICENSE 

 

METHOD OF 

SUBMISSION 

BEGINNING 

APPLICATION 

DATE 

LAST DATE TO 

ACCEPT 

APPLICATIONS 

LAST DATE 

TO MODIFY/ 

WITHDRAW 

 

ANTELOPE 

Limited Quota 

Nonresident 

Online Jan.  May 31 May 31 

Limited Quota 

Nonresident with 

Preference Point 

Option 

Online Jan.  May 31 May 31 

Limited Quota 

Reduced Price 

Nonresident 

Doe/Fawn 

Online Jan.  May 31 May 31 

Limited Quota 

Reduced Price 

Resident 

Doe/Fawn 

Online Jan.  May 31 May 31 

Limited Quota 

Resident 

Online Jan.  May 31 May 31 

 

BIGHORN SHEEP 

Limited Quota 

Nonresident 

Online Jan.  Feb. 28* Apr. 15 

Limited Quota 

Resident 

Online Jan.  Feb. 28* Apr. 15 

Nonresident 

Preference Point 

Only 

Online Jul.  Oct. 31 n/a 

Resident 

Preference Point 

Only 

Online Jul.  Oct. 31 n/a 

 

COMPETITIVE RAFFLE CHANCES 

Super Tag 

License 

Online Jul. 15 Jul. 1 n/a 

Super Tag 

Trifecta License 

Online Jul. 15 Jul. 1 n/a 
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LICENSE 

 

METHOD OF 

SUBMISSION 

BEGINNING 

APPLICATION 

DATE 

LAST DATE TO 

ACCEPT 

APPLICATIONS 

LAST DATE 

TO MODIFY/ 

WITHDRAW 

 

DEER 

General and 

Limited Quota 

Resident 

Online Jan.  May 31 May 31 

Limited Quota 

Reduced Price 

Nonresident 

Doe/Fawn 

Online Jan.  May 31 May 31 

Limited Quota 

Reduced Price 

Resident 

Doe/Fawn 

Online Jan.  May 31 May 31 

Nonresident 

Preference Point 

Only 

Online Jul.  Oct. 31 n/a 

Region and 

Limited Quota 

Nonresident 

Online Jan.  May 31 May 31 

Region and 

Limited Quota 

Nonresident with 

Preference Point 

Option 

Online Jan.  May 31 May 31 

 

ELK 

General and 

Limited Quota 

Nonresident 

Online Jan.  Jan. 31 Feb. 3 

General and 

Limited Quota 

Nonresident with 

Preference Point 

Option 

Online  Jan.  Jan. 31 Feb. 3 

General and 

Limited Quota 

Resident 

Online Jan.  May 31 May 31 
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LICENSE 

 

METHOD OF 

SUBMISSION 

BEGINNING 

APPLICATION 

DATE 

LAST DATE TO 

ACCEPT 

APPLICATIONS 

LAST DATE 

TO MODIFY/ 

WITHDRAW 

 

ELK 

Limited Quota 

Reduced Price 

Nonresident 

Cow/Calf 

Online  Jan.  Jan. 31 Feb. 3 

Limited Quota 

Reduced Price 

Resident 

Cow/Calf 

Online Jan.  May 31 May 31 

Nonresident 

Preference Point 

Only 

Online Jul.  Oct. 31 n/a 

 

FURBEARING ANIMAL 

Limited Quota 

Furbearing 

Animal Trapping 

Permit 

Online  Jul.  Sep. 1 n/a 

 

MOOSE 

Limited Quota 

Nonresident 

Online Jan.  Feb. 28* Apr. 15 

Limited Quota 

Resident 

Online Jan. Feb. 28* Apr. 15 

Nonresident 

Preference Point 

Only 

Online Jul.  Oct. 31 n/a 

Resident 

Preference Point 

Only 

Online Jul.  Oct. 31 n/a 

 

MOUNTAIN GOAT 

Limited Quota 

Nonresident 

Online Jan.  Feb. 28* Apr. 15 

Limited Quota 

Resident 

Online Jan.  Feb. 28* Apr. 15 

 

PHEASANT 

Glendo Permit Online  Jul. Sep. 15 n/a 

Springer Permit Online  Jul. Sep. 15 n/a 
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LICENSE 

 

METHOD OF 

SUBMISSION 

BEGINNING 

APPLICATION 

DATE 

LAST DATE TO 

ACCEPT 

APPLICATIONS 

LAST DATE 

TO MODIFY/ 

WITHDRAW 

 

PREFERENCE POINT ONLY 

Nonresident Online Jul.  Oct. 31 n/a 

Resident Online Jul.  Oct. 31 n/a 

 

SANDHILL CRANE 

Limited Quota Online  Jul.  Jul. 31 n/a 

 

WILD BISON 

 Online Feb.  Feb. 28* Apr. 15 

 

WILD TURKEY 

Limited Quota 

Nonresident 

     Spring 

     Fall 

 

 

Online  

 

 

 

Jan.  

Jul.  

 

 

Jan. 31 

Jul. 31 

 

 

Feb. 3 

Jul. 31 

Nonresident 

General 

     Spring 

 

     Fall 

 

 

Online  

 

 

 

Jan.  

 

Jul.  

 

Through end of 

season 

Through end of 

season 

 

 

n/a 

 

n/a 

Limited Quota 

Resident 

     Spring 

     Fall 

 

 

Online  

 

 

 

Jan.  

Jul.  

 

 

Jan. 31 

Jul. 31 

 

 

Feb. 3 

Jul. 31 

Resident General 

     Spring 

 

     Fall 

 

Online  

 

 

Jan.  

 

Jul.  

Through end of 

season 

Through end of 

season 

 

n/a 

 

n/a 

* February 29 on leap year 

 

 Section 21.  Drawing Advantage.  The Department shall develop and maintain a license 

issue system that allows qualified persons, as prescribed below, who have either purchased a 

preference point or were unsuccessful in the preference point drawing for a full price bighorn 

sheep or moose license, or purchased a preference point for nonresident antelope, deer or elk, a 

drawing advantage in future years as prescribed in Wyoming statutes.  All applicants participate 

in the preference point drawing regardless of their preference point balance. 

 

 (a)   All preference points accumulated through methods not authorized by this 

regulation or statute shall be subject to deletion. 
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(b)   Preference points shall be assigned to persons who apply to receive preference 

points during authorized application periods.  The following provisions apply to the issuance of 

preference points.  

 

  (i)   No person shall apply for or receive a preference point during any 

calendar year in which the person’s privilege to obtain a license has been revoked or suspended 

by a court or the Wildlife Violator Compact. 

 

  (ii)   Preference points are not transferable from one person to another or from 

one species to another.  

 

  (iii)   No person may apply for more than one (1) preference point per species in 

the same calendar year. If the applicant applies for a preference point during the initial license 

drawing period and is either awarded a preference point or receives their first choice license in 

the initial drawing, they shall not apply for a preference point for the same species during the 

preference point only application period in the same calendar year.  Any preference point 

awarded in a calendar year shall not be considered for advantage in any license drawings during 

the same calendar year in which it was awarded.    

 

   (iv)   A person shall not apply for or receive a separate preference point in the 

same calendar year in which the person receives a full price bighorn sheep or moose license or a 

first choice license in the initial drawing for nonresident antelope, deer or elk.  

 

  (v)   A person eleven (11) years of age may apply for a preference point if the 

person shall become twelve (12) years of age in the same calendar year as the application for a 

preference point is made.    

 

  (vi)   For the purpose of assigning preference points in this Section, any 

unsuccessful full price bighorn sheep or moose license applicant failing to apply for a license or 

preference point during a second consecutive calendar year shall lose all accumulated preference 

points and shall be considered as a first year applicant for any subsequent calendar year in which 

the applicant submits an application for a license or a preference point for that particular species. 

 

 (vii)   For the purpose of retaining nonresident antelope, elk or deer preference 

points in this Section, any sportsperson failing to purchase a preference point within two (2) 

consecutive calendar years shall lose all accumulated preference points for that species and shall 

be considered as a first year applicant for any subsequent calendar year in which the applicant 

submits an application for a license.   

 

  (viii)   For the purpose of retaining bighorn sheep and moose preference points in 

this Section, any sportsperson whose residency status changes and who has accumulated 

preference points will retain those points as long as the sportsperson applies for a license for that 

particular species within two (2) consecutive calendar years.  Failing to apply for a license or 

preference point within two (2) consecutive calendar years, the sportsperson shall lose all 

accumulated preference points for that particular species. 
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  (ix)   A person may only request to contest their preference point values to the 

License Review Board for the five (5) year period immediately preceding their request. 

 

(c)   If a person desires to apply for a preference point only and not receive a license, 

the person shall apply for and receive a preference point by paying the proper fee and making 

application during the preference point only application period specified in Section 20 of this 

regulation.  

 

  (d)   If an applicant’s preference points have been deleted because the applicant caused 

more than one (1) customer record to be generated then those preference points shall not be 

restored.  The Fiscal Division Chief may make an exception in the case of name changes because 

of marriage, divorce, adoption, or legal name change. 

 

  (e)   The preference points associated with a sportsperson identification number 

provided on an application shall be the only preference points considered for an individual 

applicant participating in a preference point drawing. 

 

 (f)   Upon drawing a full price bighorn sheep or moose license, all accumulated 

preference points by the applicant for that species shall be deleted.  No person shall apply for or 

receive a full price bighorn sheep license or preference point for full price bighorn sheep within 

any consecutive five (5) year period of having received a full price bighorn sheep license through 

the drawing.  No person shall apply for or receive a moose license or preference point for moose 

within any consecutive five (5) year period of having received a moose license through the 

drawing. 

  

  (i)   Preference points are assigned to residents and nonresidents who are 

unsuccessful in either the full price bighorn sheep or moose drawings.  The nonresident 

preference point fee, in addition to the statutorily prescribed application fee, shall be retained 

from the license fee remitted.  The preference point fee for nonresidents shall be one hundred 

fifty dollars ($150) for full price bighorn sheep and one hundred fifty dollars ($150) for moose. 

 

  (ii)   In lieu of applying for a full price bighorn sheep or moose license, a 

person may elect to purchase a preference point for each species.  The applicant is not required to 

pay the statutorily prescribed application fee.  The preference point fee for residents shall be 

seven dollars ($7) per species and the fee for nonresidents shall be one hundred fifty dollars 

($150) for full price bighorn sheep, and one hundred fifty dollars ($150) for moose. 

 

(g)   A preference point shall only be assigned to nonresident antelope, deer or elk 

applicants who participate in the initial drawing for full price licenses and who have remitted the 

proper preference point fee and who are unsuccessful in drawing their first choice license.  The 

preference point fee, in addition to the statutorily prescribed application fee, shall be retained 

from the total amount remitted.  The preference point fee for nonresidents shall be thirty-one 

dollars ($31) for antelope, forty-one dollars ($41) for deer, fifty-two dollars ($52) for elk and ten 

dollars ($10) per species for nonresident youth. 
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  (i)   In lieu of applying for a nonresident antelope, deer or elk license and 

remitting the proper preference point fee, a nonresident applicant may elect to purchase a 

preference point for each species.  The preference point fee for nonresidents shall be thirty-one 

dollars ($31) for antelope, forty-one dollars ($41) for deer, fifty-two dollars ($52) for elk and ten 

dollars ($10) per species for nonresident youth.  The applicant, when only applying for 

preference points, is not required to pay the statutorily prescribed application fee.  Individuals 

who have drawn their first choice license in the initial draw are prohibited from purchasing or 

receiving a preference point in the same calendar year. 

 

  (ii)   Upon drawing a license for the applicant’s first choice in the initial 

drawing for nonresident antelope, deer or elk, all accumulated preference points by the applicant 

for that species shall be deleted and the applicant shall be prohibited from purchasing a 

preference point for that species in the same calendar year.  

 

 Section 22.  Leftover Drawing.  Limited quota licenses that were not issued through the 

initial drawings shall be offered in a competitive leftover drawing. 

 

(a)  A leftover drawing shall be conducted for antelope, bighorn sheep, deer, elk, 

moose, wild bison and mountain goat licenses remaining after the initial drawings. 

 

(b)  The application period shall be determined on an annual basis by the Fiscal 

Division Chief.  Completed applications and license fees must be submitted during the 

application period. 

 

(c) Both residents and nonresidents shall draw against the same quota. 

 

(d)   The maximum allowable number of applications in a party shall be six (6).   

Residents and nonresidents may apply together in the same party.  Party applicants are required 

to submit their applications for the same species, hunt area and type in the same order of 

preference.  All members of a party may either receive licenses or refunds on their license fees. 

 

(e)  All applicants shall participate in the respective random leftover drawing, giving 

no advantage to applicants with preference points. 

 

 Section 23.  Reservation of Full Price Licenses.  Individuals who have been issued a 

Governor’s Complimentary License for a full price big game animal and who have been unable 

to use the license for good cause, may reserve a license for the same species for the immediately 

succeeding calendar yearhunting season only.  Individuals who have been issued a limited quota, 

full price big or trophy game license and who have been unable to use the license for good cause 

may reserve a license for the same species, hunt area, and season type for the immediately 

succeeding calendar yearhunting season only.  Conditions of this reservation are set forth in 

subsections (a), (b), (c) and (d) of this Section. 

 

(a)   To qualify for consideration of reservation of a limited quota, full price big or 

trophy game license due to a natural disaster, the licensee shall request the reservation on a form 
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provided by the Department.  The request, along with the unused and unaltered license with all 

coupons intact, shall be received by the Department before the earliest opening date of the season 

for the designated species, including the special archery season, as specified in Commission rules 

and regulations during the year for which the initial license is issued.  The licensee requesting a 

license reservation shall sign an affidavit verifying that the license was not used during any 

hunting season.  All requests for the reservation of licenses shall be reviewed and determined by 

the License Review Board.   

 

 (b)   For reasons related to being unable to use the license for good cause, other than 

natural disaster and military deployment, the licensee shall request the reservation on a form 

provided by the Department.   

 

  (i)   The licensee shall fully complete the license reservation request form.  

This form, and the unused and unaltered license with all coupons intact, shall be submitted to the 

Department by the deadline date listed on the License Reservation Information sheet.   

 

  (ii)   A Physician Certification for License Reservation Form and a written 

“Restriction from Hunting Activity” statement, written on the physician’s official prescription 

slip or physician’s letterhead, shall be submitted to the Department within thirty (30) days from 

the date an applicant’s completed License Reservation Request Form is received by the 

Department. 

 

  (iii)   For reasons related to being unable to use the license for good cause, other 

than natural disaster and disabling injury or illness, military personnel who receive permanent 

change of station (PCS) orders or are assigned away from their home duty station on temporary 

orders (TDY) for the majority of the regular season, shall provide to Headquarters a copy of 

official military orders from the Armed Forces of the United States along with the unused and 

unaltered license with all coupons intact. 

 

  (iv)   In no case shall a person be allowed to reserve any license if the person 

fails to submit the unused and unaltered license with all coupons intact to the Department before 

the earliest opening date of the season, including special archery seasons, for the designated 

species as specified in Commission rules and regulations during the year for which the license is 

issued.  The licensee requesting a license reservation shall sign an affidavit verifying that the 

license was not used during any hunting season.  

 

 (c)   Any person who has been granted a limited quota elk or limited quota deer license 

reservation from the License Review Board related to being unable to use the license for good 

cause may subsequently purchase a general license, if eligible, for the same species during the 

current calendar yearhunting season. 

 

 (d)   Prior to the respective drawing, license quotas in the subsequent yearhunting 

season for areas where licenses have been reserved may be adjusted to reflect reservations as 

provided by Wyoming statute and this Chapter. 
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 (e)   In circumstances where related season, quota or sex limitation of the hunt area 

for the unused license changes in the subsequent yearhunting season, the following options shall 

be offered: 

 

  (i)   If the unused license allowed taking either sex of animal, but that type no 

longer exists, the licensee shall be given a choice of a license for an antlered (male) or antlerless 

(female) animal in the subsequent yearhunting season. 

 

  (ii)   If the unused license was limited to taking an antlerless or female animal, 

but that license type no longer exists, the licensee shall be given either an any or an antlered or 

male only license at the Department’s discretion in the subsequent yearhunting season. 

 

  (iii)   If the license was limited to taking an antlered or male animal, but that 

type no longer exists, the licensee shall be given either an any or an antlerless or female only 

license at the Department’s discretion in the subsequent yearhunting season. 

 

  (iv)   If in the subsequent yearhunting season, the entire hunt area is closed to 

hunting of the species listed on the unused license, the licensee shall be offered a license for the 

same species and sex limitations in another area of the licensee’s choice. 

 

  (v)   If in the next yearhunting season, the entire state has been closed to 

hunting of the species listed on the unused license, the licensee shall not be issued another 

license to hunt that species.  Under this circumstance, the licensee shall be issued a refund of the 

fee paid for the unused license. 

 

 (f)   Applicants requesting the reservation of a limited quota, full price big or trophy 

game license shall submit the administrative fee of ten dollars ($10) no later than May 15 in the 

succeeding calendar year, along with a completed Department form prior to the reissuance of the 

license. 

 

 (g)   Any limited quota, full price big or trophy game license that is reissued to a 

qualified applicant shall count toward the total number of licenses a person may apply for and 

receive during any one calendar year. 

 

 (h) Any person who has been granted a license reservation under this section, for 

which preference points have been accumulated, shall not have preference points restored and 

may not be eligible to purchase a preference point for that species during the same year the 

original license was issued. 

 

 (i)   Any person who has been granted a license reservation under this section shall not 

be eligible to participate in the initial drawing the following year for the same species and license 

type. 
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 Section 24.  Applicant Disqualification.  The applicant(s) is solely responsible for the 

veracity of information on the completed application submitted through the ELS.  Applications 

shall be disqualified from participating in drawings for the following reasons: 

 

 (a)   The applicant’s privilege to purchase or receive any hunting license or preference 

points has been suspended by a court order or the Wildlife Violator Compact; 

 

 (b)   The applicant causes more than one (1) sportsperson identification number to 

have been assigned; 

 

 (c)   Submission by an individual of more than one (1) completed application for a 

license for the same big or trophy game species,  wild turkey or wild bison unless authorized by 

Commission regulation; 

 

 (d)   Applying for a license the applicant is not eligible to receive by Rule and 

Regulation or Statute; 

 

 (e)   The applicant will not reach twelve (12) years of age by December 31 of the year 

the application is made for the purchase of a preference point.  An applicant less than twelve (12) 

years of age may apply for and receive a big or trophy game hunting license provided the 

applicant will reach twelve (12) years of age during the season for the designated species as 

specified in Commission Rules and Regulations during the year for which the license is valid.   

 

 (f)   The applicant attempts to manipulate or circumvent Department licensing security 

procedures in the ELS system in order to submit or modify an application. 

 

(g)       Any person who has an application disqualified under this section shall be in  

violation of this regulation and such violation shall be punishable as provided by Title 23, 

Wyoming Statutes, for violation of Commission regulations. 

 

 Section 25.  Suspension or Revocation of License. 

 

 (a)   Non-Payment of Child Support.  

 

  (i)   Upon receipt from the Department of Family Services of a certified copy 

of an order from a Court to withhold, suspend, or otherwise restrict a license or preference point 

issued by the Commission, the Game and Fish Department shall notify the party named in the 

court order by first-class mail of the withholding, suspension, or restriction in accordance with 

the court order.  The Game and Fish Department shall mail this notice by first-class mail to the 

party named and to the address provided by the Department of Family Services.  

 

  (ii)   Upon receipt of a notice from the Department of Family Services that the 

obligor is in compliance with the court order, the Game and Fish Department shall immediately 

reinstate the license unless the license has been suspended or revoked for other reasons.  The 

Department shall by first-class mail notify the party named and to the address provided by the 
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Department of Family Services that the individual’s license privileges have been reinstated.  The 

Department shall also mail by first-class mail to the obligor any licenses in the Game and Fish 

Department’s possession at the time of reinstatement. 

 

  (iii)   The Department shall maintain a written record indicating to whom the 

notice was mailed and the address to which the notice was mailed. 

 

 (b)   Wildlife Violator Compact.  The Department may suspend license privileges in 

accordance with Commission Regulation, Chapter 54, Home State Suspension Procedures for the 

Wildlife Violator Compact dated July 10, 2015, and which does not include any later 

amendments or editions of the incorporated matter. 

 

 Section 26.  Withdrawal or Modification of Application, Refund of License Fees and 

Reissuance of Certain Licenses.  Licenses, permits, stamps, tags, preference points or 

competitive raffle chances issued under Title 23, Wyoming Statutes or this regulation become 

the permanent property of the licensee and shall not be canceled or any fee refunded after the 

license, permit, stamp, tag, preference point or competitive raffle chance(s) has been issued, 

except as specified in this section or otherwise as set forth in Commission regulation. 

 

 (a)   A request for a voluntary withdrawal of an application before a drawing shall be 

accepted through the ELS by the date indicated in Section 20(d) and (e) for the initial drawing, 

and by the application closing date for the leftover drawing.   

 

  (i)   Applicants may not submit a voluntary withdrawal form for the purchase 

of a preference point only, Super Tag or Super Tag Trifecta competitive raffle chance. 

 

 (b)   A modification of an application must be completed through the ELS by the date 

indicated in Section 20(d) and (e) for the initial drawing, and by the application closing date for 

the leftover drawing.  

 

  (i)   An applicant may only request changes to hunt area and type or change 

their withdrawal flag indicator on their reduced price application for the initial drawing through 

the ELS.   

 

 (c)   To request a refund of a license fee in this subsection, the licensee shall submit 

the request for a refund in writing along with the license unaltered and with all coupons intact to 

the Department during the calendar year for which the license is valid.  The licensee shall also 

execute and submit at the time of a refund request a Department affidavit describing the 

reason(s) the licensee was not able to exercise the license privileges which includes a sworn 

statement that the licensee did not exercise any hunting privileges granted by the license 

including any or all seasons for the designated species as specified in Commission regulation 

during the calendar year for which the license was valid.  If the license is destroyed, lost or 

illegible, the licensee shall state on the Department affidavit to that effect and submit with the 

written request for refund in the calendar year for which the license is valid.  If the licensee is 

granted a refund for a license, the individual may apply for and receive any remaining issue-after 
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license for the same species in accordance with state statutes and Commission regulations. 

Application fees and any applicable preference point fees will not be refunded.  All license 

refund requests shall be reviewed and determined by the License Review Board.  

 

(d)   To qualify for a refund of a license fee in accordance with this section, the 

licensee shall meet one (1) of the following provisions: 

 

  (i)   In the case of the death of the licensee, a written request for a license 

refund supported by a copy of the respective death certificate shall be submitted to the 

Department.  The date of death on such certificate shall have resulted in the licensee not being 

able to participate in the majority of the regular or special archery season.  All refunds issued 

under this subsection shall be made payable to the estate of the decedent unless the license fee 

was paid by a nonprofit charitable organization.  The nonprofit charitable organization shall 

provide supporting documentation of payment of the license fee. 

 

  (ii)       In the case of the death of the licensee’s spouse, parents, grandparents, 

siblings, lineal descendants and their spouses, step-parent, step-sibling, step-children, father-in-

law, mother-in-law, brother-in-law, sister-in-law, step-son-in-law or step-daughter-in-law or the 

death of a member of a party application, the licensee shall submit a written request for a license 

refund supported by the respective death certificate.  The date of death shall have resulted in the 

licensee not being able to participate in the majority of the regular or special archery season. 

 

  (iii)   In the case of incapacitating illness or injury of the licensee, the licensee’s 

spouse, parents, grandparents, siblings, lineal descendants and their spouses, step-parent, step-

sibling, step-children, father-in-law, mother-in-law, brother-in-law, sister-in-law, step-son-in-law 

or step-daughter-in-law, or incapacitating illness or injury of a member of a party application, 

supported by a physician’s sworn statement on a Department form that the licensee is incapable 

of performing tasks necessary to exercise the privileges of the license;  

 

                       (iv)   Military personnel who receive permanent change of station (PCS) orders 

and military personnel who are assigned away from their home duty station on temporary orders 

(TDY) for the majority of the regular season, all of this being supported by a copy of official 

military orders from the Armed Forces of the United States, and such orders require the affected 

personnel to move away from their home duty station, shall accompany the written request for 

the license refund;  

 

                       (v) Individuals who are not able to participate in the majority of the regular 

season for the species specified in Commission rules and regulations during the year for which 

the license is issued as a result of a court subpoena, jury duty, Grand Jury investigation or 

attorneys required to attend criminal cases.  A certified copy of the court document shall 

accompany the written request for the license refund; 

 

                       (vi)   When the Department determines fifty percent (50%) or more of the 

hunting opportunity and access to the public land within an individual hunt area outside of 

designated wilderness has been closed due to administrative actions of the state or federal 
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government in closing of the public access to public lands, or due to a natural disaster, including 

but not necessarily limited to, wildland fires, the licensee of a limited quota antelope, full price 

bighorn sheep, limited quota deer, limited quota elk, moose, mountain goat, or wild bison license 

may request a license fee refund; 

 

   (A) When the Department determines one hundred percent (100%) of 

all the hunt areas are closed or the hunting season is prevented from occurring due to 

administrative actions of the state or federal government, a black bear, gray wolf, mountain lion 

or wild bison licensee may request a license fee refund.  The closing of hunt areas due to harvest 

quotas being met does not qualify a licensee for a license fee refund. 

 

                        (vii)   An error on the part of the Department or its authorized agent where the 

applicant has been issued a license not requested.  An applicant may request in writing to the 

License Review Board to review a decision made by a Department employee or an agent of the 

Department in the handling of the application for, or the issuance of a license, permit, or 

preference point if the decision is contrary to statute or rule and regulation promulgated by the 

Commission.  All decisions of the License Review Board shall abide by provisions of state and 

federal statutes and Commission regulations.   

 

  (viii)   Any youth licensee may be granted a license refund if the youth licensee’s 

opportunity to hunt is jeopardized as a result of any license refund granted by the Department as 

specified in sections (i), (ii), (iii), (iv), (v), (vi), (vii), or (viii) of this subsection;  

 

 (ix)   A sponsoring organization of a person with a life-threatening illness that 

has received a license under Section 13 may be granted a license refund if the licensee’s 

opportunity to hunt is jeopardized as a result of incapacitating illness or injury supported by a 

physician’s sworn statement on forms provided by the Department that the licensee is incapable 

of performing tasks necessary to exercise the privileges of the license.  

 

 (e)   Refunds shall not be allowed under the following circumstances: 

 

 (i)   The licensee illegally purchased more licenses than what was authorized 

for purchase by Commission regulation or Wyoming statute; 

 

 (ii)   For any license, permit, stamp or tag in which the privilege to use the 

license, permit, stamp or tag expires on December 31 in the year issued, the deadline to submit a 

written request for a refund shall be December 31 of that year. 

 

 (iii)   For any license in which the hunting season to use that license has been 

extended into January of the succeeding calendar year, the deadline to submit a written request 

for a refund of that license shall be January 31 of the year in which the hunting season expires.  

For all other licenses, the deadline to submit a written request for refund shall be on the last date 

the individual license is valid. 
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 (iv)   Refunds shall be denied in any circumstance where the licensee hunted on 

the license for the designated species as specified in Commission rules and regulations, including 

special archery seasons, during the year for which the license is issued.   

 

 (f)   There shall be no right of appeal to the Commission for any decision rendered by 

the License Review Board or the Department for any provision of this section.  

 

 (g)   Restoration of preference points.  In any case where a license may be obtained by 

the accumulation of preference points, or preference points may be obtained in lieu of 

application for a license and a license refund is granted by the Department, all accumulated 

preference points, including any preference point that may have been earned for the year the 

license is issued, shall be restored to the applicant.    

 

 (h)   In the case of the death of a licensee who has been issued an any wild bison 

license or a mountain goat license, a written request for the license to be surrendered to the 

Department and reissued to an immediate family member of the decedent shall be made to the 

License Review Board.  The request shall be supported by a copy of the respective death 

certificate, and the date of death on such certificate shall have resulted in the licensee not being 

able to participate in the majority of the regular or special archery hunting season. 

 

  (i)   The license shall be reissued to a qualified immediate family member of 

the decedent at no fee. 

 

  (ii)   The license shall be reissued for the same species, hunt area and license 

type as the license surrendered. 

 

  (iii)   A license reissued to an immediate family member of a decedent shall 

count against the maximum number of licenses a person may otherwise apply for and receive as 

a condition of Commission regulations. 

 

 Section 27.  Alteration or Transfer of Licenses, Permits, Stamps, Tags, Preference 

Points or Competitive Raffle Chances to Another Person Prohibited; Use by Another 

Person Prohibited; Invalidation by Improper Fees.  Department licenses, permits, stamps or 

tags shall not be altered by anyone other than authorized Department personnel. 

 

 (a)   No license, permit, stamp, tag, preference point or competitive raffle chances 

shall be transferred, or used for the purpose of taking wildlife, except by the individual to whom 

it was issued and therein named and while in that individual’s possession.  No individual shall 

take or attempt to take any wildlife using another individual’s license, permit, stamp or tag.  Any 

license, permit, stamp, tag, preference point or competitive raffle chances shall not be valid 

unless the proper fees have been received by the Department. 

 

 (b)   Licenses, excluding lifetime licenses, shall only become valid when signed by the 

person in whose name the license is issued in the space provided on the license for the owner’s 

signature, and where applicable, co-signed by a parent or legal guardian. 
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 (c)   Any Department enforcement officer may seize as evidence any license, permit, 

stamp or tag that was obtained in violation of Commission regulations or Wyoming statute. 

 

 Section 28.  License Expiration.  All licenses, excluding licenses to operate game bird 

farms, shall expire on the last day of the calendar year in which issued except, the Commission 

by regulation provides that big game licenses and wild bison licenses issued in one (1) calendar 

year are valid through the closing date established in January of the next succeeding calendar 

year when the Commission establishes a hunting season for big game animals or wild bison for 

which the licenses are valid that opens in one (1) calendar year and closes in January of the next 

succeeding calendar year.  All daily hunting and fishing licenses shall only be valid for the 

calendar day(s) delineated on the license.  A nonresident five (5) day fishing license is valid for 

five (5) consecutive days.   

 

 Section 28.  License and Conservation Stamp Expiration Effective January 1, 2019. 

 

 (a) All licenses, excluding annual fishing, annual small game, annual game bird, 

combination annual small game/game bird, annual furbearer hunting or trapping licenses, and 

licenses to operate game bird farms shall expire on the last day of the calendar year in which 

issued.   

 

  (i) Annual fishing licenses, annual small game licenses, annual game bird 

licenses, combination annual small game/game bird licenses, and annual furbearer hunting or 

trapping licenses shall be valid for twelve (12) months from the date of purchase or for twelve 

(12) months from the previous license expiration date as indicated on the individual license. 

 

(b)        The Commission by regulation provides that big game animal and wild bison  

licenses issued in one (1) calendar year are valid through the closing date established in January 

of the next succeeding calendar year when the Commission establishes a hunting season for big 

game animals or wild bison for which the licenses are valid for hunting seasons that open during 

one (1) calendar year and close in January of the next succeeding calendar year. 

 

 (c) All daily hunting or fishing licenses shall only be valid for the calendar day(s) 

delineated on the license.  A nonresident five (5) day fishing license is only valid for five (5) 

consecutive calendar days. 

 

 (d) Conservation Stamps. 

 

  (i) Printed Conservation Stamps shall expire on the last day of the calendar 

year printed on the stamp. 

 

  (ii) Conservation Stamps issued through the ELS shall expire twelve (12) 

months from the date of purchase or twelve (12) months from the previous Conservation Stamp 

expiration date as indicated on the stamp. 
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  Section 29.  Super Tag Licenses and Super Tag Trifecta Licenses.  Wyoming 

statutes provide for the issuance of big game, trophy game and wild bison licenses to be issued 

through a competitive raffle process.  Big game, trophy game and wild bison licenses authorized 

under this section shall be valid for the species for which the license has been issued.   

 

 (a) These licenses shall be valid in any hunt area in accordance with Commission 

regulations, except for the following: 

 

  (i)   A Super Tag License or a Super Tag Trifecta License for moose shall not 

be valid in any moose hunt area which has a total quota of ten (10) or less antlered or any moose 

licenses. 

 

  (ii)   A Super Tag License or a Super Tag Trifecta License for full price 

bighorn sheep shall not be valid in any bighorn sheep hunt area which has a total quota of eight 

(8) or less full price bighorn sheep licenses. 

 

  (iii)   A Super Tag License or a Super Tag Trifecta License shall not be valid 

within Grand Teton National Park. 

 

  (iv)   A Super Tag License or a Super Tag Trifecta License for wild bison shall 

not be valid in any wild bison hunt area which has a total quota of ten (10) or less any wild bison 

licenses. 

 

 (b)   Recipients of a Super Tag License and Super Tag Trifecta License shall be 

exempt from the provisions in this Chapter limiting the number of big game, trophy game or 

wild bison licenses an individual may possess in any one (1) calendar year.  An individual is 

eligible to receive a Super Tag License or Super Tag Trifecta License for big game, trophy game 

or wild bison annually.  Recipients shall be exempt from the five (5) year waiting period and 

preference points shall not be lost if an individual receives a Super Tag License or Super Tag 

Trifecta License for moose or a full price bighorn sheep and shall be exempt from the once in a 

lifetime license restriction for mountain goat and wild bison licenses.  Preference points shall not 

be lost if an individual receives a Super Tag License or Super Tag Trifecta License for antelope, 

deer or elk. 

 

 (c)   There shall be up to eleven (11) successful recipients of licenses from all the 

individuals that purchased a Super Tag License or Super Tag Trifecta License competitive raffle 

chance.  Up to ten (10) individual recipients shall be issued one Super Tag License as follows:  

one (1) antelope license, or one (1) bighorn sheep license, or one (1) black bear license, or one 

(1) deer license, or one (1) elk license, or one (1) gray wolf license, or one (1) moose license, or 

one (1) mountain goat license, or one (1) mountain lion license or one (1) wild bison license.  

The successful recipient of a Super Tag License shall be based on what species of big game, 

trophy game or wild bison license was randomly drawn for the participating recipient.  One (1) 

successful applicant shall be issued Super Tag Trifecta Licenses, allowing that individual to 

choose, at their discretion, no more than three (3) different species of big game, trophy game and 

wild bison licenses. 
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 (d)   Super Tag License and Super Tag Trifecta License competitive raffle chances 

shall be sold annually beginning on July 15 and ending on July 1 each succeeding year. 

 

  (i)   The price for a single Super Tag License competitive raffle chance shall 

be ten dollars ($10) for both residents and nonresidents.  The price for a single Super Tag 

Trifecta License competitive raffle chance shall be thirty dollars ($30) for both residents and 

nonresidents.  The number of competitive raffle chances that any one person may purchase is not 

limited in number. 

 

  (ii)   For an individual species Super Tag License competitive raffle chance, a 

person shall choose which species of big game or trophy game or wild bison they purchase a 

competitive raffle chance for.  An applicant may choose to purchase a competitive raffle 

chance(s) for multiple species. 

 

  (iii)    For a Super Tag Trifecta License competitive raffle chance, a person does 

not need to select the individual species of big game or trophy game or wild bison at the time 

they purchase a raffle chance. 

 

  (iv)    A person purchasing a Super Tag License or Super Tag Trifecta License 

competitive raffle chance shall not be eligible to submit a voluntary withdrawal form or be 

eligible for a refund for competitive raffle chances purchased. 

 

 (e)   A competitive drawing shall be conducted to determine the winners of the 

individual species Super Tag Licenses and Super Tag Trifecta License.   

 

  (i)  There shall be no preference given to residents or nonresidents in the 

drawing or issuance of a Super Tag License or Super Tag Trifecta License. 

 

 (f)   License fees for successful Super Tag License and Super Tag Trifecta License 

holders shall be as set forth in Wyoming Statute or Commission regulation. 

 

 (g)   No person shall purchase a competitive raffle chance for a Super Tag License or 

Super Tag Trifecta License during any calendar year in which the person’s privilege to obtain a 

license or preference point has been revoked or suspended by a court or the Wildlife Violator 

Compact. 
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