






Unemployment Insurance Commission 

 Principal Statement of Reasons 

 

Chapter 2:  General Provisions 

The Unemployment Insurance Commission proposes changing Chapter 2 to update the rules to be 
consistent with the new WYUI benefits system that is scheduled to go live on June 27, 2018. This new 
system for paying unemployment insurance benefits, and appropriately charging employers, will allow 
claimants and/or employers to make changes to their contact or pay type information via the new 
online system.  A system similar to the WYUI system has been successfully implemented in other states 
such as Missouri and Mississippi.  The Commission also proposes adding the definition of “commuter” 
worker to the rules.  This definition is consistent with agreements entered into with other states under 
the auspices of the United States Department of Labor’s “Interstate Agreement.” 

 

Chapter 6: Computing Time Limits and Determining When Documents are Filed or Payments Made 

The Unemployment Insurance Commission proposes changing Chapter 6 to update the rules so they are 
consistent with the WYUI operating system to make online filing more available and convenient.  

 

Chapter 19: Waiving Interest on Contributions 

The Unemployment Insurance Commission proposes changing Chapter 19 to allow the Division the 
ability to handle a larger amount of interest waivers, bringing the amount from $250 or less up to 
$1,000 or less. 

 

Chapter 20: Claims for Benefits 

The Unemployment Insurance Commission proposes changing Chapter 20 to update the rules so they 
are consistent with the new WYUI operating system. WYUI allows claimants to file every week, while the 
current system only allows for filing every two weeks.  This change makes the Unemployment program 
more responsive to the needs of unemployed workers. 

 

Chapter 21: Mass Separations 

The Unemployment Insurance Commission proposes changing Chapter 21 to keep the rules consistent 
with the WYUI operating system, and many other states, which define mass separations as 20 or more 
workers, not 25 or more.  

 

 



Chapter 24: Registration for Work, Able Available and Actively Seeking Work 

The Unemployment Insurance Commission proposes changing Chapter 24 to update the rules so they 
are consistent with the new WYUI operating system and more adaptable to the changing needs in 
Wyoming’s workforce.  The Commission also proposes adding “commuter” work search requirements to 
the rules in this chapter.  

Chapter 27: Penalty on Fraud Overpayments 

The Unemployment Insurance Commission proposes changing the language in Chapter 27 on 
overpayment fraud penalties to make the language cleaner and easier to understand. This change will 
also be consistent with the new WYUI operating system. 

 

Chapter 30: Hearing on Employer Liability 

The Unemployment Insurance Commission proposes changing Chapter 30 to update the rule to be 
consistent with the new WYUI operating system in regards to being able to request a hearing on the 
online site rather than filing solely by a paper method.  

 

Chapter 33: Rehearings 

The Unemployment Insurance Commission proposes changing Chapter 33 to update the rule to be 
consistent with the new WYUI operating system in regards to being able to request a rehearing on the 
online site rather than filing solely by a paper method.  
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CHAPTER 2 
 

GENERAL PROVISIONS 
 

Section 1. Definitions.  Unless the context otherwise requires, terms used in 
the Wyoming Employment Security Law, these rules, interpretations, forms, or other official 
pronouncements issued by the department or commission shall have the following meanings:  

 
(a) “Address of record” means the address given when the claimant files a new or 

additional claim or clearly and unequivocally provides the Division with a change in writing, a 
change using the internet website approved by the Division, a change using the personal 
identification number (PIN), or a change obtained on the record in an appeals examiner’s 
hearing. The employer’s address of record shall be the address given when the employer 
registers as an employer with the Division or clearly and unequivocally provides the Division 
with a change in writing or a change using the internet website approved by the Division. This 
does not prohibit the Division from sending correspondence or notices to another address for the 
claimant or employer if it has reason to believe the claimant or employer may have moved 
without notifying the Division, but it does not impose a duty on the Division to do so. 

 
(b) “Backpay” is the payment of wages or compensation for lost wages to an 

employee or ex-employee for a period of time during which the employer improperly prevented 
the individual from performing services. Backpay is considered wages for purposes of W.S. 27-
3-102(a)(xviii). 

 
(c) “Calendar quarter” means a period of three consecutive months ending on March 

31, June 30, September 30, or December 31. 
 
(d) “Calendar week” means the calendar week of seven consecutive calendar days, 

beginning 12:01 a.m. Sunday, and ending 12:00 midnight the following Saturday.  
 
(e) “Claims” 
 

(i) “Additional claim” means a notice of new unemployment filed at the 
beginning of a second or subsequent series of claims within a benefit year or within a period of 
eligibility when a break of one week or more occurs in the claim series with intervening 
employment. 

 
(ii) “Continued claim” means a request for unemployment compensation for a 

week of unemployment, during a benefit year. The Sunday of the week claimed shall be 
considered the effective date of the continued claim.  
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(iii) “Initial claim” means both new and additional claims.  
 

(iv) “New claim” means the first claim filed to request a determination of 
entitlement to and eligibility for compensation. This results in a Division generated document of 
an appealable monetary determination provided to the claimant.  

 
(f)  “Claimant” means an individual who files any claim for unemployment insurance 

benefits.  
 
(g) “Claim center” means the central location where all initial unemployment claims 

and continued claims are processed, by telephone, Internet, mail, or fax.  
 
(h) “Commuter” means a person who travels regularly across a State line from home 

to work. 
 

 (i) “Deputy” means any person so designated by the appropriate Division 
administrator who is employed by the State as a permanent or probationary appointee pursuant to 
the Personnel Rules of the Executive Branch of Wyoming State Government.  
 
 (j) “Division “means the principal operating unit or units, within Wyoming state 
government, that administer(s) the Unemployment Compensation Program.  
 
 (k) “Documented,” as used in W.S. 27-3-311(a)(i)(C), means verifiable third-party 
evidence provided by the claimant that (s)he is a victim of domestic violence. Such evidence 
could include court documents (such as order of protection, restraining orders, stalking orders), 
hospital or medical records, police reports, or domestic violence center reports.  
 
 (l) “Earnings,” for the purposes of W.S. 27-3-303(c), means payment from an 
employee-employer relationship for services performed regardless of when actually paid. 
Services under this paragraph must be performed in an employer-employee relationship but are 
not required to qualify as employment under W.S. 27-3-104 through 27-3-108. 
 (m) “Employment center” means locations where claimants may register for work, 
receive other employment services and receive information on filing for unemployment 
compensation.  
 
 (n) “Full-time work,” means thirty-five or more hours worked in a particular week.  
 
 (o) “Immediate family,” as used in W.S. 27-3-507, means a person who is related and 
is a spouse, parent, stepparent, parent-in-law, child, stepchild, child-in-law, sibling, half-sibling, 
step-sibling, sibling-in-law, grandparent, or grandchild.  
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 (p) “Job attached” means a claimant meets the requirements of W.S. 27-3-
306(a)(i)(A) and (B) for not being registered for work and actively seeking work.  
 
 (q) “Liable state” means any state against which an individual files, through another 
state, a claim for benefits.  
 
 (r) “Most recent work” means:  
  

(i) In the case of an employee who was employed in only one job and in a 
bona fide employer-employee relationship, those services performed closest and prior to the filing 
date of the initial claim for which the individual performed three or more consecutive weeks of 
full-time work or earned gross wages equaling or exceeding two times the current maximum 
weekly benefit amount. For the purpose of this definition, all base period and subsequent wages 
earned from an employer shall be used to calculate gross wages regardless of interruption in the 
claimant’s work for that employer.  

 
(ii) In the case of an employee who was employed in two or more bona fide 

jobs at the same time in any part of the eight (8) weeks preceding the effective date of a new or 
additional claim, the work from which the separation caused the individual to be unemployed as 
defined in W.S. 27-3-102(a)(xv). 

 
(s) “Net earnings,” for the purposes of W.S. 27-3-313(a)(iv), means all income 

generated from services performed in self-employment in a week minus all expenses incurred in 
self-employment for that week.  

 
(t) “Normal course of business,” as used in W.S. 27-3-102(a)(xxi), includes any 

service related to the employer’s principal business and any ancillary business(es) and facility(ies) 
including maintenance of building(s), grounds and equipment used by the employer.  

 
(u) “Offset” means the withholding of the overpaid amount against benefits which 

would otherwise be payable for a compensable week of employment.  
 
(v) “Overpayment” means an improper payment of benefits, from a state or federal 

unemployment compensation fund, that has been determined recoverable under the requesting 
state’s law, and includes amounts deducted pursuant to law, such as child support and federal 
taxes.  

 
(w) “Participating state” means a state which has subscribed to the Interstate 

Reciprocal Overpayment Recovery Arrangement.  
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(x) “Paying state” means the state under whose law a claim for unemployment 
benefits has been established on the basis of combining wages and unemployment covered in more 
than one state.  

 
(y) “Pay period” means that period of time during which the wages due on any pay 

day were earned.  
 
(z) “Pay period week” means that period of time during which wages due on any 

weekly pay period were earned.  
 
(aa) “Quarterly contribution reports and quarterly reports,” for the purposes of 

Wyoming Employment Security Law, mean quarterly contribution summary reports and employee 
wage listing reports on forms provided by the Division or filed electronically in a format approved 
by the Division.  

 
(bb) “Recovering state” means the state that has received a request for assistance from 

the “requesting state.” 
 
(cc) “Repeated documented failure,” as employed by W.S. 27-3-102(a)(xxiii), in 

defining a pattern of failing, means:  
 

(i) In the case of an employer who has been sent 50 or more requests for 
separation information in the preceding 12 months, repeated documented failure means more than 
ten occurrences of the employer, or its agent, failing to respond or responding inadequately, within 
the preceding twelve 12 months.  

 
(ii) In the case of an employer who has been sent fewer than fifty 50 requests 

for separation information in the preceding twelve 12 months, repeated documented failure means 
more than six occurrences of the employer, or its agent, failing to respond or responding 
inadequately, within the preceding 12 months.  

 
(dd) “Requesting state” means the state that has issued a final determination of 

overpayment and is requesting another state to assist it in recovering the outstanding balance 
from the overpaid individual.  

 
(ee) “Salaried examiner” shall mean an examiner, appeals examiner, hearing officer or 

other qualified person who is employed by the State as a permanent or probationary appointee 
pursuant to the Personnel Rules of the Executive Branch of Wyoming State Government.  

 
(ff) “Transferring state” means a state in which a combined wage claimant had 

covered employment and wages in the base period of a paying state, and which transfers such 
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employment and wages to the paying state for its use in determining the benefit rights of such 
claimant under its law.  

 
(gg) “Wages payable” include wages earned and paid as well as wages earned and 

unpaid, for services in employment. Wages payable for employment during any “calendar 
quarter” or “quarter” shall be deemed to consist of wages payable for employment occurring in 
all pay periods ending during that quarter, except as provided by Chapter 9, Section 2 of these 
rules.  
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CHAPTER 6 
 

COMPUTING TIME LIMITS AND DETERMINING WHEN DOCUMENTS ARE 
FILED OR PAYMENTS MADE 

 
Section 1. Applicability. When the Wyoming Employment Security Law provides a 

deadline for filing appeals, paying contributions, making reports, or for any other purpose, the 
following rules apply:  

 
(a) In Person. When a person makes a payment or files an appeal, report, or other 

document in person with a representative of the Division that payment or filing is deemed to 
occur the day the person physically delivers the document or payment into the hands of the 
Division representative authorized to receive it.  

 
(b) By Mail. When a person makes a payment or files an appeal, report or other 

document with the Division by mail, that payment is deemed to be made or document is deemed 
to have been filed as of the postmark date on the envelope by which the payment or document is 
mailed. If the envelope containing the document or payment is no longer available or if the 
postmark is not legible, the document shall be presumed filed or payment made according to the 
following:  

 
(i) If it was mailed in Wyoming, there shall be a rebuttable presumption that 

it was mailed three working days prior to the date it was stamped received by the Division.  
 
(ii) If it was mailed outside of Wyoming, there shall be a rebuttable 

presumption that it was mailed five working days prior to the date it was stamped received by the 
Division.  

 
(c) By Fax. When a person files a protest, appeal, report or other document with the 

Division by fax, a rebuttable presumption shall exist that the document was filed as of the date it 
is stamped received by the Division. The fax must contain sufficient information to identify the 
party providing the information and the purpose for which it is intended. The party sending the 
fax assumes the risk of transmission errors or illegibility.  

 
(d) By Internet Transmission. When a person files a claim, protest, appeal, report or 

other document using the internet website approved by the Division, documentation is deemed to 
have been filed on the date the Division’s website application records the completed 
transmission. 

(e) Hearing. Upon timely request or appeal, the person filing or paying in an 
apparently untimely manner shall be given a hearing on the question of the timeliness of his 
filing or paying.  
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(f) By Phone. When a person files a claim by phone with a representative of this 

Division, that claim is deemed to have been filed on the date the phone call occurred.  
 
Section 2. Deadline on Saturday, Sunday, or Legal Holiday. When a deadline for 

making a payment of filing an appeal, report, or other document with the Division falls on 
Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday, the deadline is extended to the next working day. However, 
such days shall otherwise be counted in computing time limits.  
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CHAPTER 19 
 

WAIVING INTEREST ON CONTRIBUTIONS 
 

Section 1. By Whom. Requests to waive interest due on contributions shall be 
ruled on by the appropriate division administrator, or a duly authorized designee, if the amount 
of interest in question is $1,000.00 or less. If the amount of interest due on contributions is 
$1,000.01 or more, a request for waiving the interest shall be ruled on by the commission.   
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CHAPTER 20 
 

CLAIMS FOR BENEFITS 
 

Section 1. Filing a New or Additional Claim for Benefits. Any individual claiming 
benefits for unemployment under the Wyoming Employment Security Law shall proceed as 
follows:  

 
(a) An individual may file an initial claim for unemployment benefits by telephone to 

the division’s claim center or by Internet using the division’s approved web site claim 
application. The effective date of an initial claim shall be the Sunday of the calendar week in 
which the individual first completed an Internet claim, or completed a telephone claim through 
the claim center for the purpose of initiating an initial unemployment insurance claim, unless the 
claimant requests that the claim be effective the following Sunday or unless the claimant has 
excessive earnings during that week and is separated from employment. The effective date of the 
claim may be changed by the division for good cause.    

 
(b) An individual may file an initial claim in person or by mail. The effective date of 

an initial claim shall be the Sunday of the calendar week in which the individual reported in 
person to an employment center or another location approved by the division, to file the claim, or 
mail his request for benefit claim forms to the division’s claim center; provided that the 
individual mails the completed forms not later than the seventh day following the date on which 
the requested forms were mailed to him. If the individual fails to mail the claim as provided 
above, the individual’s claim for benefits shall be effective as of the Sunday of the calendar week 
in which the completed forms are mailed. The effective date of the claim may be changed by the 
division for good cause.  

 
(c) In order to meet the requirement of W.S. 27-3-401(a), a claimant shall provide all 

information required to establish or process a claim, including the claimant’s social security 
number and information to establish the claimant’s identity. If the claimant fails, without good 
cause, to provide information required under this section, the claimant shall not be eligible for 
benefits until the week in which the requested information is provided.  

 
Section 2. Filing Continued Claims for Benefits 
 
(a) In order to maintain continuing eligibility for benefits with respect to any weeks 

of unemployment during any continuous period of unemployment, a claimant shall continue to 
file claims in the manner and on the dates as directed by the division. No continued claim shall 
be complete until the claimant furnishes to the division, by mail, fax, or in person at a local 
employment center, a signed claim for benefits on a form approved by the division or files the 
claim by telephone to the division’s voice response system or by Internet using the division’s 
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approved web site for continued claim. A continued claim must be filed no later than Saturday, 
two weeks following the ending date covered by the claim. Failure to file continued claims 
within the time prescribed may be excused if good cause for the delay is established to the 
satisfaction of the division. On a continued claim the claimant shall set forth the following:  

 
(i) That he continues his claim for benefits. 
  
(ii) That during the period for which benefits are claimed he performed no 

work and earned no wages, except as reported thereon.  
 

(iii) That he was able to work, available for work, and actively seeking work, 
except as reported thereon.  
 

(iv) Such other information as is required by the form or telephone voice 
response system, or the division’s approved web site for continued claims.  

 
(b) Where a continuous period of unemployment is terminated or interrupted by re-

employment or any other event which prevents continuing eligibility for benefits, a claimant, in 
order to receive benefits for any week of unemployment for which he was in all respects eligible 
before such termination or interruption, may file for benefits for such weeks. The claim must be 
filed with the division by mail, fax, in person at a local employment center, by telephone to the 
division’s voice response system, or by Internet using the division’s approved web site for 
continued claims within fourteen (14) days after the end of the week for which benefits are 
claimed. Failure to file within the time prescribed may be excused if good cause for such delay is 
established to the satisfaction of the division.  

 
Section 3. Continuing of Claims When Claimant Moves to Another Locality. An 

individual moving to another locality after filing an initial claim for benefits may be permitted to 
continue his claim for unemployment by reporting to a local office in his new community, to an 
itinerant representative, by mail, or by telephone to the claim center or as directed by the 
division.  

 
Section 4. Withdrawal of Initial Claim. Initial claims may be withdrawn: 
 
(a) By the claimant, only on written request, if that request is filed within seven (7) 

days after the mailing of the first notice that the claimant is monetarily eligible, except as 
provided under the Interstate Agreement for Monetary Eligibility.  

 
(b) By the division:  
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(i) If the claimant is not unemployed during the first week after the effective 
date of the initial claim; or 
 

(ii) If, as of the effective date of the claim, the claimant has not met the 
requirements of W.S. 27-3-306(d), or W.S. 27-3-311(a) and (f) after disqualification under that 
section.  
 

Section 5. Continued Eligibility of Benefits. In order to maintain continuing 
eligibility for benefits with respect to any weeks of unemployment during any continuous period 
of unemployment the claimant shall report in the manner and on the dates and times as directed 
by the division for the Eligibility Review Program, Benefit Accuracy Measurement review, 
Profiling interviews or other interviews requested by the division. Failure to report at the 
scheduled time may be excused if good cause for such delay is established to the satisfaction of 
the division.  

 
Section 6. Requested Information. When a claimant fails to provide requested 

information that is necessary for making a determination he may not be eligible for benefits until 
the week in which the requested information is provided. The claimant may be considered 
eligible for all affected weeks if he provides the information in the protest period pursuant to 
W.S. 27-3-402(e). 

 
Section 7. Benefit Payment. 
 
(a) All benefits shall be paid through the authorized method(s) selected by the 

division.  
 
(b) When confirmation of an electronic payment is received by the division, benefits 

are considered to have been paid to the claimant.  
 
(c) When the division pays electronically, the claimant’s personal information shall 

remain confidential according to applicable statutes and commission rules.  
 

Section 8. Personal Identification Number (PIN) 
 
(a) A person identification number (PIN) is a confidential number or other electronic 

method of verification that is required to perform any transaction(s) with the division by 
electronic or telephonic means. A PIN has the same force and effect as a manual signature.  

 
(b) If a claimant knowingly allows another person to use the PIN, the claimant is 

responsible for the information provided to the division.  
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CHAPTER 21 
 

MASS SEPARATIONS 
 

Section 1. Definition of Mass Separation and Notice. 
 
(a) The term “Mass Separation” means a separations (permanently or for an 

indefinite period of time or for an expected duration of seven or more days), at or about the same 
time and for the same reason, of 20 or more workers employed in a single establishment.  

 
(b) An employer shall file with the division in writing or by using the internet website 

approved by the Division, a mass separation notice which must include the layoff date and the 
period and amount of termination, severance, sick, or earned vacation payments, where 
applicable, for each employee. Such notice should be filed as soon as the employer has reason to 
believe a mass separation will take place, but shall be filed not later than five calendar days after 
such separation.  

 
Section 2. Labor Dispute.Upon request by the division, such employer shall furnish 

to the division the names of the workers ordinarily attached to the department or establishment 
where unemployment is cause by a strike, lockout, or other labor dispute.  
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CHAPTER 24 
 

REGISTRATION FOR WORK, ABLE, AVAILABLE AND ACTIVELY SEEKING 
WORK 

 
Section 1. In General. Any individual who files for Wyoming unemployment 

insurance benefits shall register for work with a state employment agency serving their local 
labor market and keep that account active for the duration of the unemployment insurance claim. 
The claimant must register for work within 14 days from the day a claim is filed. Claimants who 
qualify under the conditions contained in Sections 2, 3, and 4 of this Chapter must register for 
work within seven (7) days of the expiration of that qualifying condition. 

 
(a) For individuals living in Wyoming, “register for work” is defined as using the 

internet website approved by the Division to:  
 

(i) create a new or updated resume; and 
 
(ii) complete at least one activity on the individual’s state employment agency 

account every 90 days to keep the account active for the duration of the unemployment insurance 
claim. 
 

(b) For individuals living outside of Wyoming, “register for work” is defined as:  
 

(i) follow the registration requirements of the state the individual lives in; and  
 

(ii) supply proof of the registration to the Wyoming Division of 
Unemployment Insurance; or 

 
(iii) supply proof of why the individual is exempt from registering to the 

Wyoming Division of Unemployment Insurance.  
 
(c)  For individuals whom the Wyoming Division of Unemployment Insurance 

determines to be a commuter, “register for work” is defined as:  
 

(i) register for work in the state in which the individual is seeking 
employment; or 

 
(ii) refer to Section 1(a) if the individual is registering for work in Wyoming; 

or 
 
(iii) refer to Section 1(b) if the individual is registering for work outside of 

Wyoming. 
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Section 2.  Union Membership. During the first twelve weeks of unemployment 

following the effective date of a claimant’s new or additional claim for benefits, an individual is 
considered to have met the requirements of W.S. 27-3-306(a)(i) if he is a member of a labor 
union with dues paid in full and is registered for work with his union local. After this twelve-
week period, the individual must register for work as provided in Section 1, supra.  

 
Section 3. Job Attached. As used in W.S. 27-3-306(a)(i), within twelve weeks means 

within twelve weeks of the effective date of the new or additional claim for benefits. If the 
claimant normally worked less than thirty-five hours per week while earning qualifying wage 
credits, the claimant shall be considered returning to full-time work if returning to the same 
number of hours normally worked for the employer during the base period. The division shall 
notify the employer the claimant has stated he is job attached. The claimant is not job attached if 
the employer notifies the division, in writing, within fifteen (15) days of the mailing of the 
division’s notice, that the claimant will not be recalled within twelve (12) weeks. Claimants who 
are deemed not to be job attached, under this section, have seven (7) days from the date of notice 
to register for and actively seek work.  

 
Section 4. Approved Training. An individual enrolled in approved training under 

W.S. 27-3-307 is considered registered for work. Upon completion of the training, the individual 
must register for work as provided in Section 1, supra.  

 
Section 5. Students. When a claimant is attending school or participating in 

other types of course work during his normal working hours and is not enrolled in Approved 
Training, he is not available for work unless:  

 
(a) He has earned base period wages while attending school and is seeking work and 

attending school on a similar basis; or 
 
(b) He attends no more than eight (8) class time hours per week and verifies in 

writing he will drop the class(es) or change the class hours if the class schedule conflicts with an 
offer of suitable work; or 
 

(c) He participates in no more than eight (8) hours in other types of course work, 
including but not limited to Internet and self-study courses, during his normal working hours.  

 
Section 6. Work Search. To be eligible for benefits for any week, a claimant must 

contact two (2) or more employers per week. A claimant filing for benefits will actively seek 
full-time employment. The claimant may seek part-time employment if the majority of his base 
period wages were earned on the basis of part-time work, or he has a documented bona fide 
medical reason preventing him from working full-time. If the claimant does not provide work 
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search information to the division upon request, the division may presume he did not actively 
seek work.  

 
Section 7. Apprenticeship Training.  If a claimant applies for 

apprenticeship training, notice will be mailed to the most recent employer. The most recent 
employer is presumed to have approved the training, unless the employer notifies the division, in 
writing, within fifteen (15) days of the mailing of the division’s notice that the employer does not 
approve the training.  
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CHAPTER 27 
 

PENALTY ON FRAUD OVERPAYMENTS 
 

Section 1. In General. In order to meet the requirements of W.S. 27-3-409(d), a 
five percent (5%) penalty is first assessed from the date of the Overpayment Notice. On the last 
day of the month of every six (6) month period following the first penalty, an additional five 
percent (5%) shall be assessed on any remaining unpaid balance. The remaining unpaid balance 
only includes the unpaid balance of the overpayment.  
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CHAPTER 30 
 

HEARING ON EMPLOYER LIABILITY 
 

Section 1. Request for Hearing.  
 
(a) Any employer not satisfied with the determination of his liability for 

contributions, subjectivity to provisions of W.S. 27-3-516, or liability resulting from an audit 
must file, within twenty-eight (28) days after mailing, or personal delivery of the final audit 
determination, a request for a hearing and reconsideration of his the employer’s contribution 
liability. Such request must be made in writing or by using the internet website approved by the 
Division and state the grounds for the request.  

 
(b) Such hearing shall be conducted by an appeals examiner.  

 
(c) If an employer fails to object to a determination of liability in the manner herein 

provided, that determination is final.  
 
(d) Successor. An employer not satisfied with the determination of successor under 

W.S. 27-3-507 must file a request for a hearing within thirty (30) days after mailing of such 
notice thereof. Otherwise, the decision is binding on the employer.  

 
Section 2. Examiner’s Decision. After the close of the hearing, the examiner will 

issue a decision with findings of fact and conclusions of law. That decision shall be mailed to the 
alleged employer’s address of record. The division staff and the alleged employer will have 
twenty-eight (28) days from the day the decision is sent to the employer to file an appeal. If an 
appeal is not filed within that time period, the examiner’s decision is final.  

 
Section 3. Commission Decision. If an appeal of the examiner’s decision is 

filed within the twenty-eight day time period provided in Section 2, the commission will 
consider the case at one of its monthly meetings. The commission will review the record and the 
evidence and may affirm, reverse, or modify the examiner’s decision, remand the case to the 
examiner, or take such other action as it deems appropriate. The commission will send a copy of 
its decision to the alleged employer by certified mail. A petition for judicial review then may be 
filed pursuant to the Wyoming Administrative Procedure Act. 

 
 



33-1 
 

CHAPTER 33 
 

REHEARINGS 
 

Section 1. Proceedings Covered. A party to a contested case and the division staff 
may apply to the examiner for rehearing of a case before the appeals examiner or to the 
commission for rehearing of a case before the commission in accordance with the following 
rules.  

 
Section 2. Appeals Examiner Hearing. 
 
(a) A party desiring rehearing or reopening of a case before the appeals examiner 

must file a written application or use the internet website approved by the Division with the 
examiner no later than twenty-eight (28) days after the mailing of the examiner decision to the 
party’s address of record. If good cause is shown for failing to appear at the examiner hearing, 
the examiner may rehear or reopen the matter. The rehearing may be held solely for the purpose 
of taking the absent party’s evidence without granting him the right to cross-examine opposing 
witnesses who testified at the first hearing.  

 
(b) If the examiner denies the request to reopen or rehear, he shall issue a written 

decision to that effect. The aggrieved party shall have twenty-eight (28) days from the date that 
decision was mailed to his address of record to file an appeal to the commission pursuant to W.S. 
27-3-404. 
 

(c) The examiner may also reopen a case before him on his own motion any time 
before the decision becomes final under W.S. 27-3-403. 

 
Section 3. Commission Decisions. If the division staff or another party to a case 

decided by the commission desires to have the commission reconsider or rehear the matter, the 
party must file a petition for rehearing or reconsideration within thirty days of the mailing of the 
commission decision to him. Said petition shall be in writing and state the grounds for 
reconsideration. The petition for reconsideration shall be considered first by the appropriate 
administrator without a hearing. If he decides that reconsideration is appropriate, he shall have 
the matter set for reconsideration at a commission meeting. If he decides that reconsideration is 
not appropriate, he shall notify the parties of that decision, and this will be the final agency 
decision on the matter.  
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CHAPTER 2 
 

GENERAL PROVISIONS 
 

Section 1. Definitions.  Unless the context otherwise requires, terms used in 
the Wyoming Employment Security Law, these rules, interpretations, forms, or other official 
pronouncements issued by the department or commission shall have the following meanings:  

 
(a) “Address of record” means the address given when the claimant files a new or 

additional claim or clearly and unequivocally provides the Division with a change in writing, a 
change using the internet website approved by the Division, a change using the personal 
identification number (PIN), or a change obtained on the record in an appeals examiner’s 
hearing. The employer’s address of record shall be the address given when the employer 
registers as an employer with the Division or clearly and unequivocally provides the Division 
with a change in writing or a change using the internet website approved by the Division.  This 
does not prohibit the Division from sending correspondence or notices to another address for the 
claimant or employer if it has reason to believe the claimant or employer may have moved 
without notifying the Division, but it does not impose a duty on the Division to do so. 

 
(b) “Backpay” is the payment of wages or compensation for lost wages to an 

employee or ex-employee for a period of time during which the employer improperly prevented 
the individual from performing services. Backpay is considered wages for purposes of W.S. 27-
3-102(a)(xviii). 

 
(c) “Calendar quarter” means a period of three consecutive months ending on March 

31, June 30, September 30, or December 31. 
 
(d) “Calendar week” means the calendar week of seven consecutive calendar days, 

beginning 12:01 a.m. Sunday, and ending 12:00 midnight the following Saturday.  
 
(e) “Claims” 
 

(i) “Additional claim” means a notice of new unemployment filed at the 
beginning of a second or subsequent series of claims within a benefit year or within a period of 
eligibility when a break of one week or more occurs in the claim series with intervening 
employment. 

 
(ii) “Continued claim” means a request for unemployment compensation for a 

week of unemployment, during a benefit year. The Sunday of the week claimed shall be 
considered the effective date of the continued claim.  
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(iii) “Initial claim” means both new and additional claims.  
 

(iv) “New claim” means the first claim filed to request a determination of 
entitlement to and eligibility for compensation. This results in a Division generated document of 
an appealable monetary determination provided to the claimant.  

 
(f)  “Claimant” means an individual who files any claim for unemployment insurance 

benefits.  
 
(g) “Claim center” means the central location where all initial unemployment claims 

and continued claims are processed, by telephone, Internet, mail, or fax.  
 
(h) “Commuter” means a person who travels regularly across a State line from home 

to work. 
 

 (h)(i) “Deputy” means any person so designated by the appropriate Division 
administrator who is employed by the State as a permanent or probationary appointee pursuant to 
the Personnel Rules of the Executive Branch of Wyoming State Government.  
 
 (i)(j) “Division “means the principal operating unit or units, within Wyoming state 
government, that administer(s) the Unemployment Compensation Program.  
 
 (j)(k) “Documented,” as used in W.S. 27-3-311(a)(i)(C), means verifiable third-party 
evidence provided by the claimant that (s)he is a victim of domestic violence. Such evidence 
could include court documents (such as order of protection, restraining orders, stalking orders), 
hospital or medical records, police reports, or domestic violence center reports.  
 
 (k)(l) “Earnings,” for the purposes of W.S. 27-3-303(c), means payment from an 
employee-employer relationship for services performed regardless of when actually paid. 
Services under this paragraph must be performed in an employer-employee relationship but are 
not required to qualify as employment under W.S. 27-3-104 through 27-3-108. 
 (l)(m) “Employment center” means locations where claimants may register for work, 
receive other employment services and receive information on filing for unemployment 
compensation.  
 
 (m)(n) “Full-time work,” means thirty-five or more hours worked in a particular week.  
 
 (n)(o) “Immediate family,” as used in W.S. 27-3-507, means a person who is related and 
is a spouse, parent, stepparent, parent-in-law, child, stepchild, child-in-law, sibling, half-sibling, 
step-sibling, sibling-in-law, grandparent, or grandchild.  
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 (o)(p) “Job attached” means a claimant meets the requirements of W.S. 27-3-
306(a)(i)(A) and (B) for not being registered for work and actively seeking work.  
 
 (p)(q) “Liable state” means any state against which an individual files, through another 
state, a claim for benefits.  
 
 (q)(r) “Most recent work” means:  
  

(i) In the case of an employee who was employed in only one job and in a 
bona fide employer-employee relationship, those services performed closest and prior to the filing 
date of the initial claim for which the individual performed three or more consecutive weeks of 
full-time work or earned gross wages equaling or exceeding two times the current maximum 
weekly benefit amount. For the purpose of this definition, all base period and subsequent wages 
earned from an employer shall be used to calculate gross wages regardless of interruption in the 
claimant’s work for that employer.  

 
(ii) In the case of an employee who was employed in two or more bona fide 

jobs at the same time in any part of the eight (8) weeks preceding the effective date of a new or 
additional claim, the work from which the separation caused the individual to be unemployed as 
defined in W.S. 27-3-102(a)(xv). 

 
(r)(s) “Net earnings,” for the purposes of W.S. 27-3-313(a)(iv), means all income 

generated from services performed in self-employment in a week minus all expenses incurred in 
self-employment for that week.  

 
(s)(t) “Normal course of business,” as used in W.S. 27-3-102(a)(xxi), includes any 

service related to the employer’s principal business and any ancillary business(es) and facility(ies) 
including maintenance of building(s), grounds and equipment used by the employer.  

 
(t)(u) “Offset” means the withholding of the overpaid amount against benefits which 

would otherwise be payable for a compensable week of employment.  
 
(u)(v) “Overpayment” means an improper payment of benefits, from a state or federal 

unemployment compensation fund, that has been determined recoverable under the requesting 
state’s law, and includes amounts deducted pursuant to law, such as child support and federal 
taxes.  

 
(v)(w) “Participating state” means a state which has subscribed to the Interstate 

Reciprocal Overpayment Recovery Arrangement.  
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(w)(x) “Paying state” means the state under whose law a claim for unemployment 
benefits has been established on the basis of combining wages and unemployment covered in more 
than one state.  

 
(x)(y) “Pay period” means that period of time during which the wages due on any pay 

day were earned.  
 
(y)(z) “Pay period week” means that period of time during which wages due on any 

weekly pay period were earned.  
 
(z)(aa)  “Quarterly contribution reports and quarterly reports,” for the purposes of 

Wyoming Employment Security Law, mean quarterly contribution summary reports and employee 
wage listing reports on forms provided by the Division or filed electronically in a format approved 
by the Division.  

 
(aa)(bb) “Recovering state” means the state that has received a request for 

assistance from the “requesting state.” 
 
(bb)(cc) “Repeated documented failure,” as employed by W.S. 27-3-102(a)(xxiii), 

in defining a pattern of failing, means:  
 

(i) In the case of an employer who has been sent 50 or more requests for 
separation information in the preceding 12 months, repeated documented failure means more than 
ten occurrences of the employer, or its agent, failing to respond or responding inadequately, within 
the preceding twelve 12 months.  

 
(ii) In the case of an employer who has been sent fewer than fifty 50 requests 

for separation information in the preceding twelve 12 months, repeated documented failure means 
more than six occurrences of the employer, or its agent, failing to respond or responding 
inadequately, within the preceding 12 months.  

 
(cc)(dd) “Requesting state” means the state that has issued a final determination of 

overpayment and is requesting another state to assist it in recovering the outstanding balance 
from the overpaid individual.  

 
(dd)(ee) “Salaried examiner” shall mean an examiner, appeals examiner, hearing 

officer or other qualified person who is employed by the State as a permanent or probationary 
appointee pursuant to the Personnel Rules of the Executive Branch of Wyoming State 
Government.  
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(ee)(ff)  “Transferring state” means a state in which a combined wage claimant had 
covered employment and wages in the base period of a paying state, and which transfers such 
employment and wages to the paying state for its use in determining the benefit rights of such 
claimant under its law.  

 
(ff)(gg)“Wages payable” include wages earned and paid as well as wages earned and 

unpaid, for services in employment. Wages payable for employment during any “calendar 
quarter” or “quarter” shall be deemed to consist of wages payable for employment occurring in 
all pay periods ending during that quarter, except as provided by Chapter 9, Section 2 of these 
rules.  
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CHAPTER 6 
 

COMPUTING TIME LIMITS AND DETERMINING WHEN DOCUMENTS ARE 
FILED OR PAYMENTS MADE 

 
Section 1. Applicability. When the Wyoming Employment Security Law provides a 

deadline for filing appeals, paying contributions, making reports, or for any other purpose, the 
following rules apply:  

 
(a) In Person. When a person makes a payment or files an appeal, report, or other 

document in person with a representative of the Division that payment or filing is deemed to 
occur the day the person physically delivers the document or payment into the hands of the 
Division representative authorized to receive it.  

 
(b) By Mail. When a person makes a payment or files an appeal, report or other 

document with the Division by mail, that payment is deemed to be made or document is deemed 
to have been filed as of the postmark date on the envelope by which the payment or document is 
mailed. If the envelope containing the document or payment is no longer available or if the 
postmark is not legible, the document shall be presumed filed or payment made according to the 
following:  

 
(i) If it was mailed in Wyoming, there shall be a rebuttable presumption that 

it was mailed three working days prior to the date it was stamped received by the Division.  
 
(ii) If it was mailed outside of Wyoming, there shall be a rebuttable 

presumption that it was mailed five working days prior to the date it was stamped received by the 
Division.  

 
(c) By Fax. When a person files a protest, appeal, report or other document with the 

Division by fax, a rebuttable presumption shall exist that the document was filed as of the date it 
is stamped received by the Division. The fax must contain sufficient information to identify the 
party providing the information and the purpose for which it is intended. The party sending the 
fax assumes the risk of transmission errors or illegibility.  

 
(d) By Internet Transmission. When a person files a claim, using an protest, appeal, 

report or other document using the internet website approved by the Division,  for that purpose, 
that claim documentation  is deemed to have been filed on the date the Division’s website 
application records the completed claim was transmitted by the claimant transmission. 

(e) Hearing. Upon timely request or appeal, the person filing or paying in an 
apparently untimely manner shall be given a hearing on the question of the timeliness of his 
filing or paying.  
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(f) By Phone. When a person files a claim by phone with a representative of this 

Division, that claim is deemed to have been filed on the date the phone call occurred.  
 
Section 2. Deadline on Saturday, Sunday, or Legal Holiday. When a deadline for 

making a payment of filing an appeal, report, or other document with the Division falls on 
Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday, the deadline is extended to the next working day. However, 
such days shall otherwise be counted in computing time limits.  
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CHAPTER 19 
 

WAIVING INTEREST ON CONTRIBUTIONS 
 

Section 1. By Whom. Requests to waive interest due on contributions shall be 
ruled on by the appropriate division administrator, or a duly authorized designee, if the amount 
of interest in question is $250.00 $1,000.00 or less. If the amount of interest due on contributions 
is $250.01 $1,000.01 or more, a request for waiving the interest shall be ruled on by the 
commission.   
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CHAPTER 20 
 

CLAIMS FOR BENEFITS 
 

Section 1. Filing a New or Additional Claim for Benefits.  Any individual claiming 
benefits for unemployment under the Wyoming Employment Security Law shall proceed as 
follows:  

 
(a) An individual may file an initial claim for unemployment benefits by telephone to 

the division’s claim center or by Internet using the division’s approved web site claim 
application. The effective date of an initial claim shall be the Sunday of the calendar week in 
which the individual first completed an Internet claim, or completed a telephone claim through 
the claim center for the purpose of initiating an initial unemployment insurance claim, unless the 
claimant requests that the claim be effective the following Sunday or unless the claimant has 
excessive earnings during that week and is separated from employment. The effective date of the 
claim may be changed by the division for good cause.    

 
(b) An individual may file an initial claim in person or by mail. The effective date of 

an initial claim shall be the Sunday of the calendar week in which the individual reported in 
person to an employment center or another location approved by the division, to file the claim, or 
mail his request for benefit claim forms to the division’s claim center; provided that the 
individual mails the completed forms not later than the seventh day following the date on which 
the requested forms were mailed to him. If the individual fails to mail the claim as provided 
above, the individual’s claim for benefits shall be effective as of the Sunday of the calendar week 
in which the completed forms are mailed. The effective date of the claim may be changed by the 
division for good cause.  

 
(c) In order to meet the requirement of W.S. 27-3-401(a), a claimant shall provide all 

information required to establish or process a claim, including the claimant’s social security 
number and information to establish the claimant’s identity. If the claimant fails, without good 
cause, to provide information required under this section, the claimant shall not be eligible for 
benefits until the week in which the requested information is provided.  

 
Section 2. Filing Continued Claims for Benefits 
 
(a) In order to maintain continuing eligibility for benefits with respect to any weeks 

of unemployment during any continuous period of unemployment, a claimant shall continue to 
file claims in the manner and on the dates as directed by the division. No continued claim shall 
be complete until the claimant furnishes to the division, by mail, fax, or in person at a local 
employment center, a signed claim for benefits on a form approved by the division or files the 
claim by telephone to the division’s voice response system or by Internet using the division’s 
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approved web site for continued claim. A continued claim must be filed no later 
than Friday Saturday, two weeks following the ending date covered by the claim. Failure to file 
continued claims within the time prescribed may be excused if good cause for the delay is 
established to the satisfaction of the division. On a continued claim the claimant shall set forth 
the following:  

 
(i) That he continues his claim for benefits.  
 
(ii) That during the period for which benefits are claimed he performed no 

work and earned no wages, except as reported thereon.  
 

(iii) That he was able to work, available for work, and actively seeking work, 
except as reported thereon.  
 

(iv) Such other information as is required by the form or telephone voice 
response system, or the division’s approved web site for continued claims.  

 
(b) Where a continuous period of unemployment is terminated or interrupted by re-

employment or any other event which prevents continuing eligibility for benefits, a claimant, in 
order to receive benefits for any week of unemployment for which he was in all respects eligible 
before such termination or interruption, may file for benefits for such weeks. The claim must be 
filed with the division by mail, fax, in person at a local employment center, by telephone to the 
division’s voice response system, or by Internet using the division’s approved web site for 
continued claims within fourteen (14) days after the end of the week for which benefits are 
claimed. Failure to file within the time prescribed may be excused if good cause for such delay is 
established to the satisfaction of the division.  

 
Section 3. Continuing of Claims When Claimant Moves to Another Locality. An 

individual moving to another locality after filing an initial claim for benefits may be permitted to 
continue his claim for unemployment by reporting to a local office in his new community, to an 
itinerant representative, by mail, or by telephone to the claim center or as directed by the 
division.  

 
Section 4. Withdrawal of Initial Claim. Initial claims may be withdrawn: 
 
(a) By the claimant, only on written request, if that request is filed within seven (7) 

days after the mailing of the first notice that the claimant is monetarily eligible, except as 
provided under the Interstate Agreement for Monetary Eligibility.  

 
(b) By the division:  
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(i) If the claimant is not unemployed during the first week after the effective 
date of the initial claim; or 

 
(ii) If, as of the effective date of the claim, the claimant has not met the 

requirements of W.S. 27-3-306(d), or W.S. 27-3-311(a) and (f) after disqualification under that 
section.  
 

Section 5. Continued Eligibility of Benefits. In order to maintain continuing 
eligibility for benefits with respect to any weeks of unemployment during any continuous period 
of unemployment the claimant shall report in the manner and on the dates and times as directed 
by the division for the Eligibility Review Program, Benefit Accuracy Measurement review, 
Profiling interviews or other interviews requested by the division. Failure to report at the 
scheduled time may be excused if good cause for such delay is established to the satisfaction of 
the division.  

 
Section 6. Requested Information. When a claimant fails to provide requested 

information that is necessary for making a determination he may not be eligible for benefits until 
the week in which the requested information is provided. The claimant may be considered 
eligible for all affected weeks if he provides the information in the protest period pursuant to 
W.S. 27-3-402(e). 

 
Section 7. Benefit Payment. 
 
(a) All benefits shall be paid through the authorized method(s) selected by the 

division.  
 
(b) When confirmation of an electronic payment is received by the division, benefits 

are considered to have been paid to the claimant.  
 
(c) When the division pays electronically, the claimant’s personal information shall 

remain confidential according to applicable statutes and commission rules.  
 

Section 8. Personal Identification Number (PIN) 
 
(a) A person identification number (PIN) is a confidential number or other electronic 

method of verification that is required to perform any transaction(s) with the division by 
electronic or telephonic means. A PIN has the same force and effect as a manual signature.  

 
(b) If a claimant knowingly allows another person to use the PIN, the claimant is 

responsible for the information provided to the division.  
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CHAPTER 21 
 

MASS SEPARATIONS 
 

Section 1. Definition of Mass Separation and Notice. 
 
(a) The term “Mass Separation” means a separations (permanently or for an 

indefinite period of time or for an expected duration of seven or more days), at or about the same 
time and for the same reason, of 25 20 or more workers employed in a single establishment.  

 
(b) An employer shall file with the division in writing or by using the internet website 

approved by the Division, a mass separation notice which must include the layoff date and the 
period and amount of termination, severance, sick, or earned vacation payments, where 
applicable, for each employee. Such notice should be filed as soon as the employer has reason to 
believe a mass separation will take place, but shall be filed not later than five calendar days after 
such separation.  

 
Section 2. Labor Dispute.Upon request by the division, such employer shall furnish 

to the division the names of the workers ordinarily attached to the department or establishment 
where unemployment is cause by a strike, lockout, or other labor dispute.  
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CHAPTER 24 
 

REGISTRATION FOR WORK, ABLE, AVAILABLE AND ACTIVELY SEEKING 
WORK 

 
Section 1. In General. Any individual who files for Wyoming unemployment 

insurance benefits shall register for work with a state employment agency serving their local 
labor market and keep that account active for the duration of the unemployment insurance claim. 
The claimant must register for work within 14 days from the day a claim is filed. Claimants who 
qualify under the conditions contained in Sections 2, 3, and 4 of this Chapter must register for 
work within seven (7) days of the expiration of that qualifying condition. 

 
(a) For individuals living in Wyoming, “register for work” is defined as using the 

internet website approved by the Division to:  
 

(i) create a new or updated resume; and 
(ii) create a new job alert on Virtual Recruiter; and  
(iii)(ii) complete at least one of the following activities activity on the 

individual’s  state employment agency account every 90 days to keep the account active 
for the duration of the unemployment insurance claim. 

 
(A) search and/or apply for job openings; or 
 
(B) access labor market information.  

 
(b) For individuals living outside of Wyoming, “register for work” is defined as:  

 
(i) follow the registration requirements of the state the individual lives in; and  

 
(ii) supply proof of the registration to the Wyoming Division of 

Unemployment Insurance; or 
 
(iii) supply proof of why the individual is exempt from registering to the 

Wyoming Division of Unemployment Insurance.  
 
(c)       For individuals who the Wyoming Division of Unemployment Insurance 

determines to be a commuter, “register for work” is defined as: 
 

(i) register for work in the state in which the individual is seeking 
employment; or 

 



24-2 
 

(ii) refer to Section 1(a) if the individual is registering for work in Wyoming; 
or 

 
(iii) refer to Section 1(b) if the individual is registering for work outside of 

Wyoming. 
 

Section 2.  Union Membership. During the first twelve weeks of unemployment 
following the effective date of a claimant’s new or additional claim for benefits, an individual is 
considered to have met the requirements of W.S. 27-3-306(a)(i) if he is a member of a labor 
union with dues paid in full and is registered for work with his union local. After this twelve-
week period, the individual must register for work as provided in Section 1, supra.  

 
Section 3. Job Attached. As used in W.S. 27-3-306(a)(i), within twelve weeks means 

within twelve weeks of the effective date of the new or additional claim for benefits. If the 
claimant normally worked less than thirty-five hours per week while earning qualifying wage 
credits, the claimant shall be considered returning to full-time work if returning to the same 
number of hours normally worked for the employer during the base period. The division shall 
notify the employer the claimant has stated he is job attached. The claimant is not job attached if 
the employer notifies the division, in writing, within fifteen (15) days of the mailing of the 
division’s notice, that the claimant will not be recalled within twelve (12) weeks. Claimants who 
are deemed not to be job attached, under this section, have seven (7) days from the date of notice 
to register for and actively seek work.  

 
Section 4. Approved Training. An individual enrolled in approved training under 

W.S. 27-3-307 is considered registered for work. Upon completion of the training, the individual 
must register for work as provided in Section 1, supra.  

 
Section 5. Students. When a claimant is attending school or participating in 

other types of course work during his normal working hours and is not enrolled in Approved 
Training, he is not available for work unless:  

 
(a) He has earned base period wages while attending school and is seeking work and 

attending school on a similar basis; or 
 
(b) He attends no more than eight (8) class time hours per week and verifies in 

writing he will drop the class(es) or change the class hours if the class schedule conflicts with an 
offer of suitable work; or 
 

(c) He participates in no more than eight (8) hours in other types of course work, 
including but not limited to Internet and self-study courses, during his normal working hours.  
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Section 6. Work Search. To be eligible for benefits for any week, a claimant must 
contact two (2) or more employers per week. A claimant filing for benefits will actively seek 
full-time employment. The claimant may seek part-time employment if the majority of his base 
period wages were earned on the basis of part-time work, or he has a documented bona fide 
medical reason preventing him from working full-time. If the claimant does not provide work 
search information to the division upon request, the division may presume he did not actively 
seek work.  

 
Section 7. Apprenticeship Training.  If a claimant applies for 

apprenticeship training, notice will be mailed to the most recent employer. The most recent 
employer is presumed to have approved the training, unless the employer notifies the division, in 
writing, within fifteen (15) days of the mailing of the division’s notice that the employer does not 
approve the training.  
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CHAPTER 27 
 

PENALTY ON FRAUD OVERPAYMENTS 
 

Section 1. In General. In order to meet the requirements of W.S. 27-3-409(d), a 
five percent (5%) penalty is first assessed from the date of the Overpayment Notice. On the last 
day of the month of every six (6) month period following the first penalty, an additional five 
percent (5%) shall be assessed on any remaining unpaid balance. The remaining unpaid balance 
includes the unpaid balance of the overpayment plus the remaining unpaid balance of prior 
penalty assessments. The remaining unpaid balance only includes the unpaid balance of the 
overpayment.  
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CHAPTER 30 
 

HEARING ON EMPLOYER LIABILITY 
 

Section 1. Request for Hearing.  
 
(a) Any employer not satisfied with the determination of his liability for 

contributions, subjectivity to provisions of W.S. 27-3-516, or liability resulting from an audit 
must file, within twenty-eight (28) days after mailing, or personal delivery of the final audit 
determination, a request for a hearing and reconsideration of his the employer’s contribution 
liability. Such request must be made in writing or by using the internet website approved by the 
Division and state the grounds for the request.  

 
(b) Such hearing shall be conducted by an appeals examiner.  

 
(c) If an employer fails to object to a determination of liability in the manner herein 

provided, that determination is final.  
 
(d) Successor. An employer not satisfied with the determination of successor under 

W.S. 27-3-507 must file a request for a hearing within thirty (30) days after mailing of such 
notice thereof. Otherwise, the decision is binding on the employer.  

 
Section 2. Examiner’s Decision. After the close of the hearing, the examiner will 

issue a decision with findings of fact and conclusions of law. That decision shall be mailed to the 
alleged employer’s address of record. The division staff and the alleged employer will have 
twenty-eight (28) days from the day the decision is sent to the employer to file an appeal. If an 
appeal is not filed within that time period, the examiner’s decision is final.  

 
Section 3. Commission Decision. If an appeal of the examiner’s decision is 

filed within the twenty-eight day time period provided in Section 2, the commission will 
consider the case at one of its monthly meetings. The commission will review the record and the 
evidence and may affirm, reverse, or modify the examiner’s decision, remand the case to the 
examiner, or take such other action as it deems appropriate. The commission will send a copy of 
its decision to the alleged employer by certified mail. A petition for judicial review then may be 
filed pursuant to the Wyoming Administrative Procedure Act. 
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CHAPTER 33 
 

REHEARINGS 
 

Section 1. Proceedings Covered. A party to a contested case and the division staff 
may apply to the examiner for rehearing of a case before the appeals examiner or to the 
commission for rehearing of a case before the commission in accordance with the following 
rules.  

 
Section 2. Appeals Examiner Hearing. 
 
(a) A party desiring rehearing or reopening of a case before the appeals examiner 

must file a written application to do so or use the internet website approved by the Division with 
the examiner no later than twenty-eight (28) days after the mailing of the examiner decision to 
the party’s address of record. If good cause is shown for failing to appear at the examiner 
hearing, the examiner may rehear or reopen the matter. The rehearing may be held solely for the 
purpose of taking the absent party’s evidence without granting him the right to cross-examine 
opposing witnesses who testified at the first hearing.  

 
(b) If the examiner denies the request to reopen or rehear, he shall issue a written 

decision to that effect. The aggrieved party shall have twenty-eight (28) days from the date that 
decision was mailed to his address of record to file an appeal to the commission pursuant to W.S. 
27-3-404. 
 

(c) The examiner may also reopen a case before him on his own motion any time 
before the decision becomes final under W.S. 27-3-403. 

 
Section 3. Commission Decisions. If the division staff or another party to a case 

decided by the commission desires to have the commission reconsider or rehear the matter, the 
party must file a petition for rehearing or reconsideration within thirty days of the mailing of the 
commission decision to him. Said petition shall be in writing and state the grounds for 
reconsideration. The petition for reconsideration shall be considered first by the appropriate 
administrator without a hearing. If he decides that reconsideration is appropriate, he shall have 
the matter set for reconsideration at a commission meeting. If he decides that reconsideration is 
not appropriate, he shall notify the parties of that decision, and this will be the final agency 
decision on the matter.  
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