

WYOMING LEGISLATIVE SERVICE OFFICE

# Issue Brief

#### 05 IB 011

Date: June 24, 2005

Author: Matthew Sackett, Associate Research Analyst

#### Re: Post-Dated Check Cashing (Payday Lending) and Refund Anticipatory Loans

#### PURPOSE

Summarize the effective interest rates of postdated check cashing entities and refund anticipatory loans. Identify the statutes that regulate these transactions. Provide a discussion of comparable statutes in other states.

#### **RESULTS IN BRIEF**

Post-dated check cashing is governed by the Wyoming Uniform Consumer Credit Code (W.S. 40-14-362 through W.S. 40-14-364). Statute does not limit the maximum amount for which the postdated check may be written. However, statute provides for a maximum finance charge of \$30, or 20 percent of the principal, whichever is greater. This finance charge is the total amount that can be charged on any one transaction, regardless of whether it is designated as a fee or as interest. These finance charge limits are based on a full calendar month, so any term less than one month is also limited by the actual term of the transaction.

The regulation of refund anticipatory loans (RALs) does not fall under the same statute as post-dated check cashing. RALs are considered consumer loans and are governed by the supervised loan section of the Wyoming Uniform Consumer Credit Code. The regulated interest rate and fees charged for RALs are complicated because Wyoming only has the authority to regulate the rates of businesses that are chartered in Wyoming. Most businesses that offer RALs charter their institution in a state that has no restrictions, or few restrictions, on the rates charged for supervised consumer loans. Federal law allows these entities to export their rates from their home state to consumers in Wyoming, and all other states.

#### POST-DATED CHECK CASHING/PAYDAY LENDING

Post-dated check cashing (payday loan) is a single-payment, short-term loan based on a personal check held for future deposit. Entities with a physical address in Wyoming are regulated by the Banking Commissioner under W.S. 40-14-363 and statute allows for a maximum finance charge of \$30, or 20 percent of the principal to be loaned. Again, these rates are based on a full calendar month. For example, a \$200 post-dated check with a term of one full month can be charged a maximum of \$40, which is 20 percent of the \$200 principal. If the post-dated check amount was \$100, then the most that could be charged is \$30 since \$30 is greater than \$20, which is the 20 percent fee on the \$100 principal. If a post-dated check is written for \$200 with a term of 14 days, the highest amount that could be charged is \$30 because \$30 is greater than a 20 percent fee over the actual 14 days. [14days / 31 days x 20% x \$200 = \$18.06]

Rolling over of the post-dated check amount is prohibited by W.S. 40-14-364, which states,

No post-dated check or similar arrangement shall be repaid, refinanced, or otherwise consolidated by proceeds of another post-dated check or similar arrangement accepted by the same post-dated check casher.

The consumer may be allowed to work out a repayment schedule with the post-dated check

cashing business after the term if immediate repayment is not possible, but the maximum amount that can be charged is only the original finance charge. In other words, the post-dated check cashing entity may allow the consumer to pay their original finance charges in installments, or at a later date, but may not charge them additional monies for that convenience.

A post-dated check casher license can be obtained from the Department of Audit, Division of Banking under the Wyoming Uniform Consumer Credit Code. The nine-page application summarizes the creditworthiness and general overall character of the applicant(s). Under the Wyoming Uniform Consumer Credit Code, the application fee shall not exceed \$500 (W.S. 40-14-634 (c)). For the purpose of post-dated check cashing licenses, the application fee is \$150 for each license for which an application is submitted. Each office or place of business must be licensed separately according to W.S. 40-14-634(e). If the license is approved after review, then a \$25 license fee must be paid within 20 days of approval notification, or the license will be denied. This \$25 license fee must then be paid every year, at least 30 days before the expiration date of July 1, assuming the entity desires to retain their license and continue doing business. The application requires several references specifically it must include one banking reference, and two state regulator references or two professional references. In some cases, the potential licensee must also have authority to transact business in the state of Wyoming from the Secretary of State, pursuant to W.S. 17-16-1503 of the Wyoming Business Corporation Act.

In the 2005 General Session, House Bill 303, Post-dated checks, was introduced but died in Committee. This legislation would have allowed licensed check cashing operators to charge for collection fees, court awarded costs, and attorneys' fees for dishonored checks in addition to the normal finance charge. (See Attachment B for a copy of House Bill 303.)

#### OTHER STATES - PAY DAY LENDING

The National Conference of State Legislatures (NCSL) provided a comprehensive list of states' (including Washington D.C.) current laws on

payday lending that can be found in Attachment A. According to NCSL, twenty-nine states have a limit on the maximum amount of a loan. The most common limit is \$500 and reported limits are as low as \$300 and as high as \$1,000. As can be seen in Attachment A, states vary greatly in the total amount of finance charges that can be assessed. Some states have adopted a flat percentage fee, while others have adopted a much more elaborate finance charge and fee schedule. According to NCSL, fifteen states do not have payday lending legislation in place for maximum loan amounts or finance charges. Nevada recently passed legislation concerning payday lending and delinquent payments. Nevada allows a maximum loan amount based on the percentage of the customer's gross monthly income and limits the interest rate that can be charged on *defaulted* loans. [Notes: The Nevada revised law does not appear in the most recent NCSL summary due to timing. Also, it is possible other states have legislation pending or recently enacted regarding payday lending that has not yet been identified in the NCSL summary.]

Many Internet companies perform the same service or function as the post-dated check cashing companies. By performing a quick search on the Internet, a vast number of companies can be found that will perform similar services. The finance charges for these Internet entities vary anywhere from 14 percent to 45 percent of the principal amount received by the consumer (as identified by a quick review by LSO Research staff). The regulation of these companies is difficult because the company can broadcast its rates to any individual via the Internet and may only comply with the regulations of the state in which the company is licensed.

According to the Wyoming Department of Audit, ther is on measure the Banking Commissioner can take to regulate these out-of-state businesses. W.S. 40-14-120(a)(ii) states that if there is continuous and systematic solicitation, either personally, or through direct mail (which may also include e-mail), and the goods or monies are delivered in this state with payment being made from this state, then these entities can be regulated through Wyoming's statutes (post-dated check cashing statutes). In practice, however, many of these payday loan transactions are initiated by a consumer searching for a payday lending service, not through direct solicitation.

#### **REFUND ANTICIPATORY LOANS (RALS)**

A refund anticipatory loan is a loan whereby the creditor arranges to be repaid directly by the IRS from the anticipated proceeds of the debtor's income tax refund. In other words, these are loans arranged by tax preparation businesses in conjunction with a financial institution after the filing of a customer's income taxes for the purpose of loaning customers money before a refund is received. This allows tax preparation businesses to give individuals their tax refund immediately for a percentage of the total, a transaction fee, or both. The fee is taken directly out of the consumer's IRS tax refund. RALs are considered consumer loans and are regulated under the supervised loan section of the Wyoming Uniform Consumer Credit Code (W.S. 40-14-341 et seq). A supervised loan is a loan in which the rate of the loan finance charge exceeds 10 percent. The rate limits for supervised loans falls under W.S. 40-14-348 which states the rate must be below 36 percent if the unpaid balance is \$1,000 or less and 21 percent if the unpaid balance is more than \$1,000.

Since the Wyoming Banking Commissioner only has the authority to regulate the loans that are made from banks chartered in Wyoming, this makes the regulation and supervision of RALs difficult because they do not fall within the Commissioner's jurisdiction, according to the Banking Commissioner's staff. In practice, these "lenders" are allowed to export their rates from their home, chartered state to any other state, so long as they are within the regulations of the state in which they are chartered. This allows these businesses to charter their company in a state that has relatively lenient laws pertaining to supervised loans, according to the Banking Commission staff.

#### **OTHER STATES - RALS**

According to NCSL, in 2004, approximately 14 states introduced legislation that would require licensing and registration for entities that offer RALs. NCSL reports that four states adopted such legislation as of summer 2004. Often

included in this legislation is a requirement for the disclosure of all fees, finance charges, interest rates, or other expenses that will be charged to the consumer for a RAL. The depth of the licensing, registration, and disclosure requirements varies among states' legislation. Nonetheless, the basic purpose is to inform the consumer that an RAL is not the consumer's tax refund, but a loan against their anticipated tax refund. These laws are also meant to set stricter guidelines and regulations as to how these businesses present and complete an RAL transaction, as well as penalties for violations.

Connecticut offers one example of a state with recent legislation regulating RALs. The Connecticut Legislature enacted Senate Bill 476 in June 2004. It requires a disclosure that a loan given by a tax preparation business to a client in anticipation of an income tax refund is subject to fees, including interest. Included are relevant definitions and other similar provisions such as fee schedules and estimated total cost to the borrower. If violated, there is a penalty of \$500. The lender shall also be liable to any aggrieved borrower in a civil action in an amount equal to three times the amount of the RAL fee plus reasonable attorney's fees. (A copy of Connecticut's 2004 Senate Bill No. 476 is included as Attachment C.)

#### **CONTACTS FOR FURTHER INFORMATION**

Joe Mulberry, UCCC Supervisor, Department of Audit, (307) 777-7797.

## ATTACHMENT A

State:	Statutory Citation:	Maximum Loan Amount:	Finance Charges:
	2003 H.B. 178		
Alabama	5-18A-1 et seq.	\$500	May not to exceed 17.5 percent of the amount advanced.
Alaska	06.50.010 et seq.	\$500	
			A licensee shall not directly or indirectly charge any fee or
			other consideration for accepting a check for deferred
			presentment or deposit that is more than 15 per cent of the
		May accept a check with a face amount	face amount of the check for any initial transaction or any
Arizona	6-1251 et seg .	of at least \$50 but not more than \$500.	extension. A fee not in excess of 10 percent of the face amount of any
			personal check or money order and, an additional fee not to
	22 52 101 /	\$400	exceed \$10.
Arkansas	<u>23-52-101 et seq</u> . Civil Code 1789.30 et	5400	excect \$10,
	seq. Financial Code 23000		
	et seq.		A fee for a deferred deposit transaction shall not exceed 15
California	Operative 12/31/04	\$300	percent of the face amount of the check.
		A lender shall not lend an amount	No instrument held as a result of a deferred deposit loan
		greater than \$500 nor shall the amount	shall exceed \$575. May not exceed 20 percent of the first
		financed exceed \$500 at any time to a	\$300 loaned plus seven and one-half percent of any amount
Colorado	5-3.1-101 et seq.	consumer.	loaned in excess of \$300.
			May charge an additional fee for verification, handling, and
		The minimum face amount of a check	documentation processing totaling no more than \$5 on a
		held for deferred deposit must amount	personal check with a face amount of up to \$250; no more
		to no less than \$50. The aggregate face	than \$10 on a personal check with a face amount of \$250.01 to \$500; no more than \$15 on a personal check with a face
		amount of checks being held for	
District of	26 201	deferred deposit must not exceed \$1,000 per customer.	personal check with a face amount of \$750.01 to \$1,000.
Columbia	26-301 et seq .	per customer.	No deferred presentment provider or its affiliate shall charge
			fees in excess of 10 percent of the currency or payment
			instrument provided. However, a verification fee may be
Florida	560.401 et seg.	\$500 exclusive of the fees	charged.
Georgia	16-7-1 et seq.		
			A check casher may charge a fee for deferred deposit of a
			personal check in an amount not to exceed 15 percent of the
Hawaii	480F-1 et seq.	\$600	face amount of the check.
Idaho	28-46-401 et seq.	\$1,000	None
			Finance charges on the first \$100 of a small loan are limited
			to 15 percent of the principal. Finance charges on the amount of a small loan greater than \$100 are limited to 10 percent of
			the amount over \$100. The total amount of finance charges
	25 4 5 7 101 - +	Mana than \$50 and loss than \$401	may not exceed \$35.
Indiana	25-4.5-7-101 et seq.	More than \$50 and less than \$401	A licensee shall not charge a fee in excess of \$15 on the first
		A licensee shall not hold from any one	
		maker a check or checks in an aggregat	
		face amount of more than \$500 at any	
lowa	533D.1 et seq.	one time.	portion of \$100 face value.
10111			(i) On any amount up to and including \$50, a charge of
			\$5.50 may be added; (ii) on amounts in excess of \$50, but
			not more than \$100, a charge may be added equal to 10
			percent of the loan proceeds plus a \$5 administrative fee;
			(iii) on amounts in excess of \$100, but not more than \$250 a
			charge may be added equal to seven percent of the loan
1			proceeds with a minimum of \$10 plus a \$5 administrative
			fee; (iv) for amounts in excess of \$250 and not greater than
			the maximum defined in this section, a charge may be added
			equal to six percent of the loan proceeds with a minimum of \$17.50 plus a \$5 administrative fee. The contract rate of any
	ł		\$17.50 plus a \$5 administrative fee. The contract rate of any loan made under this section shall not be more than three
		Cash advance is equal to or loss then	percent per month of the loan proceeds after the maturity
V	16a-2-404	Cash advance is equal to or less than \$500	date.
Kansas	1 10d-2-404	<i>3500</i>	L auto.

T			A licensee shall not charge a service fee in excess of \$15 per
			\$100 on the face amount of the deferred deposit check. A
			licensee shall prorate any fee, based upon the maximum fee
V	2(9.010	<b>\$500</b>	
Kentucky	368.010 et seq.	\$500	of \$15.
<i>.</i>			A licensee may charge a fee not to exceed 16 and 75/100
Louisiana	RS 9:3578:1 et seq .	\$350	percent of the face amount of the check issued.
			(i) On any amount up to and including \$50, a charge of
ł			\$5.50 may be added; (ii) on amounts in excess of \$50, but
l			not more than \$100, a charge may be added equal to ten
			percent of the loan proceeds plus a \$5 administrative fee;
l			(iii) on amounts in excess of \$100, but not more than \$250, a
			charge may be added equal to seven percent of the loan
			proceeds with a minimum of \$10 plus a \$5 administrative
			fee; (iv) for amounts in excess of \$250 and not greater than
			\$350, a charge may be added equal to six percent of the loan
			proceeds with a minimum of \$17.50 plus a \$5 administrative
			fee. After maturity, the contract rate must not exceed 2.75
			percent per month of the remaining loan proceeds after the
			maturity date calculated at a rate of 1/30 of the monthly rate
			in the contract for each calendar day the balance is
Minnesota	47.6	\$350	outstanding.
			A licensee shall not directly or indirectly charge any fee or
			other consideration for cashing a delayed deposit check in
Mississippi	75-67-507 et seq.	\$400	excess of 18 percent of the face amount of the check.
			andeistinisteisten heise en meeringen ander er maar en ander er meeringen ander er meeringen ander er meeringen
			Any person, firm, or corporation may charge, contract for
			and receive interest on the unpaid principal balance at rates
			agreed to by the parties. No borrower shall be required to
			pay a total amount of accumulated interest and fees in excess
Missouri	408.500 to 408.506	\$500 or less	of 75 percent of the initial loan amount on any single loan.
Wissouri	408.000 10 408.000	5500 01 less	or 75 percent of the minar foan amount on any single foan.
			A licensee may not charge a fee for each deferred deposit
		The minimum amount of a deferred	loan entered into with a consumer that exceeds 25 percent of
		deposit loan is \$50 and the amount,	the principal amount of the deferred deposit loan that is
		exclusive of fees allowed, may not	advanced or, in the case of an electronic transaction, 25
Montana	31-1-701 et seq .	exceed \$300.	percent of the principal amount of the deferred deposit loan.
		No licensee shall at any one time hold	
		from any one maker a check or checks	No licensee shall charge as a fee a total amount in excess of
		in an aggregate face amount of more	\$15 per \$100 or pro rata for any part thereof on the face
Nebraska	45-901 et seq.	than \$500.	amount of a check for services provided by licensee.
Nevada	604.010 et seq.	None	None
			Payday loans shall incur interest only. No other charges or
New Hampshire	399A:1 et seq.	\$500	fees shall apply to or be collected on payday loans.
New Mexico	58-15-1 et seq .	None	None
			A licensee may charge a fee for the deferred presentment
			A licensee may charge a fee for the deferred presentment
			service, not to exceed 20 percent of the amount paid to the
	12 00 01	6760	service, not to exceed 20 percent of the amount paid to the maker of the check by the licensee. This fee may not be
North Dakota	13-08-01 et seq .	\$500	service, not to exceed 20 percent of the amount paid to the maker of the check by the licensee. This fee may not be deemed interest for any purpose of law.
North Dakota	13-08-01 et seq .	\$500	<ul> <li>service, not to exceed 20 percent of the amount paid to the maker of the check by the licensee. This fee may not be deemed interest for any purpose of law.</li> <li>A check-cashing business may contract for and receive</li> </ul>
North Dakota	13-08-01 et seq .	\$500	<ul> <li>service, not to exceed 20 percent of the amount paid to the maker of the check by the licensee. This fee may not be deemed interest for any purpose of law.</li> <li>A check-cashing business may contract for and receive interest at a rate of five percent per month or fraction of a</li> </ul>
North Dakota	13-08-01 et seq .	\$500	<ul> <li>service, not to exceed 20 percent of the amount paid to the maker of the check by the licensee. This fee may not be deemed interest for any purpose of law.</li> <li>A check-cashing business may contract for and receive interest at a rate of five percent per month or fraction of a month on the unpaid principal. Loan origination fees not</li> </ul>
	13-08-01 et seq .		<ul> <li>service, not to exceed 20 percent of the amount paid to the maker of the check by the licensee. This fee may not be deemed interest for any purpose of law.</li> <li>A check-cashing business may contract for and receive interest at a rate of five percent per month or fraction of a month on the unpaid principal. Loan origination fees not exceeding an amount equal to five dollars per \$50 of the</li> </ul>
North Dakota Ohio	13-08-01 et seq . 1315.35 et seq .	\$500	<ul> <li>service, not to exceed 20 percent of the amount paid to the maker of the check by the licensee. This fee may not be deemed interest for any purpose of law.</li> <li>A check-cashing business may contract for and receive interest at a rate of five percent per month or fraction of a month on the unpaid principal. Loan origination fees not exceeding an amount equal to five dollars per \$50 of the amount of the loan.</li> </ul>
			<ul> <li>service, not to exceed 20 percent of the amount paid to the maker of the check by the licensee. This fee may not be deemed interest for any purpose of law.</li> <li>A check-cashing business may contract for and receive interest at a rate of five percent per month or fraction of a month on the unpaid principal. Loan origination fees not exceeding an amount equal to five dollars per \$50 of the</li> </ul>
			<ul> <li>service, not to exceed 20 percent of the amount paid to the maker of the check by the licensee. This fee may not be deemed interest for any purpose of law.</li> <li>A check-cashing business may contract for and receive interest at a rate of five percent per month or fraction of a month on the unpaid principal. Loan origination fees not exceeding an amount equal to five dollars per \$50 of the amount of the loan.</li> <li>A deferred deposit lender may charge a finance charge for</li> </ul>
			<ul> <li>service, not to exceed 20 percent of the amount paid to the maker of the check by the licensee. This fee may not be deemed interest for any purpose of law.</li> <li>A check-cashing business may contract for and receive interest at a rate of five percent per month or fraction of a month on the unpaid principal. Loan origination fees not exceeding an amount equal to five dollars per \$50 of the amount of the loan.</li> <li>A deferred deposit lender may charge a finance charge for each deferred deposit loan that does not exceed \$15 for every</li> </ul>
			<ul> <li>service, not to exceed 20 percent of the amount paid to the maker of the check by the licensee. This fee may not be deemed interest for any purpose of law.</li> <li>A check-cashing business may contract for and receive interest at a rate of five percent per month or fraction of a month on the unpaid principal. Loan origination fees not exceeding an amount equal to five dollars per \$50 of the amount of the loan.</li> <li>A deferred deposit lender may charge a finance charge for each deferred deposit loan that does not exceed \$15 for every \$100 advanced up to the first 300 of the amount advanced;</li> </ul>
			<ul> <li>service, not to exceed 20 percent of the amount paid to the maker of the check by the licensee. This fee may not be deemed interest for any purpose of law.</li> <li>A check-cashing business may contract for and receive interest at a rate of five percent per month or fraction of a month on the unpaid principal. Loan origination fees not exceeding an amount equal to five dollars per \$50 of the amount of the loan.</li> <li>A deferred deposit lender may charge a finance charge for each deferred deposit loan that does not exceed \$15 for every \$100 advanced up to the first 300 of the amount advanced; for the advance amounts in excess of \$300, the lender may</li> </ul>
Ohio	1315.35 et seq .	\$500	<ul> <li>service, not to exceed 20 percent of the amount paid to the maker of the check by the licensee. This fee may not be deemed interest for any purpose of law.</li> <li>A check-cashing business may contract for and receive interest at a rate of five percent per month or fraction of a month on the unpaid principal. Loan origination fees not exceeding an amount equal to five dollars per \$50 of the amount of the loan.</li> <li>A deferred deposit lender may charge a finance charge for each deferred deposit loan that does not exceed \$15 for every \$100 advanced up to the first 300 of the amount advanced; for the advance amounts in excess of \$300, the lender may charge an additional finance charge of \$10 for every \$100</li> </ul>
	1315.35 et seg . 59-3101 et seg .		<ul> <li>service, not to exceed 20 percent of the amount paid to the maker of the check by the licensee. This fee may not be deemed interest for any purpose of law.</li> <li>A check-cashing business may contract for and receive interest at a rate of five percent per month or fraction of a month on the unpaid principal. Loan origination fees not exceeding an amount equal to five dollars per \$50 of the amount of the loan.</li> <li>A deferred deposit lender may charge a finance charge for each deferred deposit loan that does not exceed \$15 for every \$100 advanced up to the first 300 of the amount advanced; for the advance amounts in excess of \$300, the lender may charge an additional finance charge of \$10 for every \$100 advanced in excess of \$300.</li> </ul>
Ohio	1315.35 et seq .	\$500	<ul> <li>service, not to exceed 20 percent of the amount paid to the maker of the check by the licensee. This fee may not be deemed interest for any purpose of law.</li> <li>A check-cashing business may contract for and receive interest at a rate of five percent per month or fraction of a month on the unpaid principal. Loan origination fees not exceeding an amount equal to five dollars per \$50 of the amount of the loan.</li> <li>A deferred deposit lender may charge a finance charge for each deferred deposit loan that does not exceed \$15 for every \$100 advanced up to the first 300 of the amount advanced; for the advance amounts in excess of \$300, the lender may charge an additional finance charge of \$10 for every \$100</li> </ul>

South Carolina	34-39-110 et seq.	\$300 exclusive of fees	A licensee shall not charge, directly or indirectly, a fee or other consideration in excess of 15 percent of the face amount of the check.
South Dakota	54-4-36 et seq .	\$500	None
Tennessee	45-17-101 et seq.	None	None
Utah	7-23-101 et seq.	None	None
Virginia	6.1-444 et seg .	\$500	A licensee may charge, as a fee for each loan, an amount not to exceed 15 percent of the amount of the loan proceeds advanced to the borrower.
Washington	31.45.010 et seq.	None	A licensee may charge interest or fees for small loans not to exceed in the aggregate 15 percent of the first \$500 of principal. If the principal exceeds \$500, a licensee may charge interest or fees not to exceed in the aggregate 10 percent of that portion of the principal in excess of \$500.
Wisconsin	138.09	None	None
Wyoming	40-14-362 et seq.	None	No post-dated check finance charge shall exceed the greater of \$30 or 20 percent per month on the principal balance of the post-dated check or similar arrangement.

The following states do not have specific payday lending legislation or require lenders to comply with interest rate caps: Connecticut, Delaware, Illinois,

Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Texas, Vermont and West Virgini

Source: National Conference of State Legislators (NCSL); May 6, 2005 Note: The accuracy of this information has not been verified by LSO staff

### ATTACHMENT B

2005

STATE OF WYOMING

05LSO-0626

HOUSE BILL NO. HB0303

Post-dated checks.

Sponsored by: Representative(s) Lubnau

#### A BILL

for

1 AN ACT relating to the uniform consumer credit code; 2 providing for charges for dishonored post-dated checks; and providing for an effective date. 3 4 5 Be It Enacted by the Legislature of the State of Wyoming: 6 7 Section 1. W.S. 40-14-363(a) is amended to read: 8 9 40-14-363. License required; post-dated check finance 10 charge; limits on amount financed and terms; minimum finance charge. 11 12 13 (a) No person shall engage in business as a postdated check casher in this state unless licensed in 14 accordance with W.S. 40-14-634. No post-dated check casher 15 16 may contract for, charge or receive any amount as a charge 17 in connection with a post-dated check or similar

1

HB0303

1	arrangement other than a post-dated check finance charge as
2	stated in this subsection and collection fees, court
3	awarded costs and attorneys fees for dishonored checks
4	provided pursuant to W.S. 1-1-115. No post-dated check
5	finance charge shall exceed the greater of thirty dollars
6	(\$30.00) or twenty percent (20%) per month on the principal
7	balance of the post-dated check or similar arrangement.
8	
9	Section 2. This act is effective July 1, 2005.
10	
11	(END)

2

AN ACT CONCERNING INCOME TAX REFUND ANTICIPATION LOAN DISCL... Page 1 of 2

## ATTACHMENT C



#### Substitute Senate Bill No. 476

#### Public Act No. 04-170

#### AN ACT CONCERNING INCOME TAX REFUND ANTICIPATION LOAN DISCLOSURES.

Be it enacted by the Senate and House of Representatives in General Assembly convened:

Section 1. (NEW) (Effective October 1, 2004) (a) As used in this section:

(1) "Borrower" means a person who receives the proceeds of a refund anticipation loan;

(2) "Facilitator" means a person who, individually, or in conjunction or cooperation with another person, makes a refund anticipation loan, processes, receives or accepts for delivery an application for a refund anticipation loan, issues a check in payment of refund anticipation loan proceeds, or in any other manner acts to allow the making of a refund anticipation loan. The term does not include a bank, savings and loan association, credit union or person issued a license under the provisions of sections 36a-555 to 36a-573, inclusive, of the general statutes, operating under the laws of the United States or this state, or any person who acts solely as an intermediary and does not deal with the public in the making of a refund anticipation loan;

(3) "Refund anticipation loan" means a loan arranged to be paid directly from the proceeds of a borrower's income tax refund; and

(4) "Refund anticipation loan fee" means any charges, fees or other consideration charged or imposed for the making of a refund anticipation loan. The term does not include any charges, fees or other consideration charged or imposed in the ordinary course of business by a facilitator for services that do not result in the making of a loan including, but not limited to, fees for tax return preparation services or for the electronic filing of income tax returns.

(b) At the time a borrower applies for a refund anticipation loan, a facilitator shall disclose to such borrower on a document that is separate from the loan application:

(1) The estimated fee for preparing and electronically filing an income tax return;

(2) The refund anticipation loan fee schedule;

(3) The annual percentage rate utilizing the guidelines established by the official staff interpretations of federal Regulation Z to the Truth in Lending Act, 12 CFR, Part 226;

http://www.cga.state.ct.us/2004/act/Pa/2004PA-00170-R00SB-00476-PA.htm

8/16/2004

(4) The estimated total cost to the borrower for utilizing a refund anticipation loan;

(5) The estimated number of days within which the loan proceeds shall be paid to the borrower if the loan is approved;

(6) The borrower is responsible for repayment of the loan and related fees in the event the income tax refund is not paid or not paid in full; and

(7) The availability of electronic filing of the income tax return of the borrower and the average time announced by the Internal Revenue Service within which the borrower can expect to receive a refund if the borrower's return is electronically filed and the borrower does not obtain a refund anticipation loan.

(c) Any facilitator who violates any provision of subsection (b) of this section shall be fined five hundred dollars for each such violation. Any facilitator who violates any provision of said subsection shall be liable to any aggrieved borrower in an amount equal to three times the amount of the refund anticipation loan fee, plus reasonable attorney's fees, in a civil action brought by the aggrieved borrower or by the Attorney General on behalf of the aggrieved borrower.

Approved June 1, 2004