

WYOMING LEGISLATIVE SERVICE OFFICE

Fact Sheet

FISHING LICENSE FEES IN OTHER STATES

July 2023

Kelly Lower, Associate Research Analyst

Below are tables outlining the various fishing license types and fees for Wyoming and each of Wyoming's surrounding states and North Dakota. Colorado has set the highest fee for an adult annual fishing license at \$51.21, which includes the fees of an annual habitat stamp, and the annual adult fishing license. North Dakota has the lowest fee for an annual adult fishing license at \$19.00, including the fees for a fishing, hunting, furbearer certificate, and an annual adult fishing license.

Wyoming 2023-2024 Fishing License Fees

Wyoming 2025-2024 I ishing Electise Fees		
License Type	Resident	Non-Resident
Annual Conservation Stamp	\$21.50	\$21.50
Lifetime Conservation Stamp	\$185.50	\$185.50
Annual Fishing License (18+)	\$27.00	\$102.00
Annual Fishing License (14-17)	\$3.00	\$15.00
Daily Fishing License	\$6.00	\$14.00
Lifetime Fishing License	311.00	N/A
Lifetime Fishing License and Conservation Stamp	496.50	N/A
Five-Day Consecutive Fishing License	N/A	\$56.00

Source: LSO compilation of information from W.S. 23-2-201(d); W.S. 23-1-701(b)(i) and Wyoming Game and Fish.

Fishing license fees in Wyoming are set by statute¹ with an additional fee of two dollars applied to most license types, as described below:

- (b) ... The fee charged under this subsection shall be in addition to the amount otherwise established by this act for the license, permit or stamp and shall be as follows:
 - (i) Two dollars (\$2.00) for each license, except that this additional fee shall not be charged for licenses under W.S. 23-1-705(e) or (k), 23-2-101(j)(xi), (xvi), (xvii), (xxi), (xxxii), (xxxiii), (xliv) or (xlv), 23-2-201(d)(iii) or (iv) or (f) or 23-2-301(c)(xiii)²

Therefore, each fishing license fee outlined in the table above is two dollars more than the fee amount established in statute, except the resident and nonresident youth fishing license fees.

_

PAGE 1

¹ W.S. § 23-2-201(d).

² W.S. § 23-1-701(b)(i), emphasis added.

Colorado 2023-2024 Fishing License Fees

License Type	Resident	Non-Resident
Annual Habitat Stamp ³	\$11.50	\$11.50
Lifetime Habitat Stamp	\$345.36	\$345.36
Annual Aquatic Nuisance Species (ANS) Stamp ⁴	\$25.00	\$50.00
Annual Fishing License (18-64)	\$39.71	\$111.03
Senior Annual Fishing License (65+)	\$10.95	N/A
Youth Fishing License (16-17) ⁵	\$10.95	\$111.03
Small Game & Fishing Combination	\$56.97	N/A
Senior Small Game & Fishing Combination (65+)	\$33.54	N/A
Centennial Senior Lifetime Fishing (64+) ⁶	\$10.71	N/A
Five-day Fishing License	N/A	\$36.26
One-Day Fishing License ⁷	\$15.55	\$19.01
Additional-Day	\$7.50	\$7.50
Second-rod Stamp ⁸	\$12.10	\$12.10

Source: LSO compilation of information from Colorado Parks and Wildlife.

Colorado fishing license fees are set by statute⁹, however, the Colorado Parks and Wildlife Commission may adjust the fee "by an amount up to the total amount reflected by the annual percentage change in the United States department of labor's bureau of labor statistics consumer price index for Denver-Aurora-Lakewood for all items and all urban consumers, or its applicable predecessor or successor index." The Commission has acted on this authority to raise the fees from the amount set in statute to the amounts listed above. ¹¹

Idaho 2023-2024 Fishing License Fees

License Type	Resident	Non-Resident
Combination License Hunting and Fishing License	\$38.75	\$264.00
Adult Fishing License (18-64)	\$30.50	\$108.00
Senior Annual Combination License (65+)	\$11.75	N/A
Junior Fishing License (14-17)	\$16.00	\$23.75
Daily Fishing License (first day)	\$11.50	\$22.75
Additional-day	\$6.00	\$7.00
Two-pole permit	\$15.00	\$17.00

Source: LSO compilation of information from Idaho Game and Fish.

³ Only one required per person, ages 18-64, per year buying or applying for a license.

⁴ Required for Motorboat and sailboats.

⁵ Second-rod charge still applies. For youth under 16, see the **Fishing Brochure**.

⁶ Income-eligible Colorado residents only.

⁷ Customers buying a one-day or additional day license are exempt from the Habitat Stamp fee with the first two of these licenses. The Habitat Stamp fee is required when a third license of this type is purchased.

⁸ Available to anyone who has purchases a fishing license and to any youth under 16.

⁹ Colo. Rev. Stat. § 33-4-102 (1.4).

¹⁰ Colo. Rev. Stat. § 33-4-102 (1.6)(b).

¹¹ Personal communication, Colorado Parks and Wildlife, Customer Service Department.

Idaho fishing license fees are established by statute.¹² A vendor fee of \$1.75 is charged per license issued, as established by statute.¹³ This fee is included in the prices described above.

Montana 2023-2024 Fishing License Fees

License Type	Resident	Non-Resident
Conservation License ¹⁴		
Adult	\$8.00	\$10.00
Youth	\$4.00	\$10.00
Senior	\$4.00	\$10.00
Angler Aquatic Invasive Species Prevention Pass (AISPP) ¹⁵	\$2.00	\$7.50
Adult Fishing License (18-64)	\$21.00	\$100.00
Senior Fishing License (62+)	\$10.50	\$100.00
Youth Fishing License (12-17)	\$10.50	\$100.00
Short-Term Fishing License Two Consecutive Days	\$5.00	N/A
Single-Day Fishing	N/A	\$14.00
Short-term Fishing License Five Consecutive Days	N/A	\$56.00

Source: LSO compilation of information from Montana Fish, Wildlife, and Parks.

Montana fishing license fees are established in statute.¹⁶

Nebraska 2023-2024 Fishing License Fees

License Type	Resident	Non-Resident
Boating, Nonresident Aquatic Invasive Species Stamp	N/A	\$18.00
Annual Fishing License (16-68)	\$38.00	\$84.00
Annual Fish/Hunt License	\$52.00	\$177.00
Senior Annual Fish/Hunt License (69+)	\$5.00	N/A
Veteran Annual Fish/Hunt License (64+)	\$5.00	N/A
One-Day Fishing License	\$10.00	\$14.50
Three-Day Fishing License	\$31.00	\$37.00

Source: LSO compilation of information from Nebraska Game and Parks Commission.

Nebraska sets fishing license fees by statute.¹⁷ The fees outlined in the table above include the price of an annual aquatic habitat stamp (fifteen dollars) and a three-dollar issue fee.¹⁸

¹² Idaho Code § 36-416 (a).

¹³ Idaho Code § 36-306.

¹⁴ Required for all individuals who fish in Montana.

¹⁵ Required for all individuals who fish in Montana.

¹⁶ Mont. Code Ann. §§ 87-2-301- 87-2-311.

¹⁷ Neb. Rev. Stat. Ann § 37-407.

¹⁸ Permit Information, Nebraska Game and Parks Commission, https://outdoornebraska.gov/guides-maps/fishing-guides-reports/fishing-guide/ (last accessed July 28, 2023).

North Dakota 2023-2024 Fishing License Fees

License Type	Resident	Non-Resident
Fishing, Hunting, Furbearer Certificate ¹⁹	\$1.00	\$2.00
Combination Hunting and Fishing License (16+) ²⁰	\$52.00	N/A
Fishing License (16-64)	\$18.00	\$48.00
Married Couple Fishing License	\$24.00	\$63.00
Senior Annual Fishing and Hunting License (65+)	\$5.00	N/A
Veteran 50% Service-Related Disability	\$5.00	N/A
Totally/Permanent Disabled Fishing License	\$5.00	N/A
Three-Day Fishing License	N/A	\$28.00
Ten-Day Fishing License	N/A	\$38.00

Source: LSO compilation of information from North Dakota Game and Fish.

Fishing license fees in North Dakota are established by statute.²¹ A surcharge of two dollars is added to each fee as set in statute, except for licenses issued to persons 65 or older, or permanently or totally disabled license holders, or disabled veteran license holders.²² The surcharge is included in the license fees outlined above.

South Dakota 2023-2024 Fishing License Fees

License Type	Resident	Non-Resident
Combination (Small Game and Fishing) License (18-64)	\$55.00	N/A
Combination (Small Game and Fishing) License (65+)	\$40.00	N/A
Annual Fishing License (18-64)	\$28.00	\$67.00
Senior Annual Fishing License (65+)	\$12.00	N/A
One-Day Fishing License	\$8.00	\$16.00
Three-Day Fishing License	N/A	\$37.00
Setline License	\$5.00	N/A
Hoop Net License	\$10.00	N/A

Source: LSO compilation of information from South Dakota Game, Fish, and Parks.

Fishing license fees are set by the South Dakota Game and Parks Commission.²³ The Commission has rulemaking authority to set fees for fishing licenses in South Dakota according to statute.²⁴

¹⁹ Only need to purchase one per year.

²⁰ Includes fishing, general game and habitat, small game and furbearer licenses.

²¹ N.D. Cent. Code § 20.1-03-12.

²² N.D. Cent. Code § 20.1-03-12.3.

²³ S.D. Admin. Rules § 41:07:01:12.

²⁴ S.D. Codified Laws § 41-6-10.

Utah 2023-2024 Fishing License Fees

License Type	Resident	Non-Resident
365-Day Fishing License (12-13)	\$5.00	\$10.00
365-Day Fishing License (14-17)	\$16.00	\$34.00
365-Day Fishing License (18-64)	\$40.00	\$94.00
365-Day Fishing License (65+)	\$31.00	N/A
365-Day Fishing License (Disabled Veteran)	\$12.00	N/A
Multi-Year Fishing License (18+)	\$39.00 ²⁵	\$93.00 ²⁶
365-Day Combination License ²⁷ (14-17)	\$20.00	\$38.00
365-Day Combination License (18-64)	\$44.00	\$150.00
365-Day Combination License (65+)	\$35.00	\$150.00
Multi-Year Combination License (18+)	\$43.00 ²⁸	\$149.00 ²⁹
Three-Day Fishing License (All Ages)	\$19.00	\$31.00
Seven-Day Fishing License (All Ages)	\$30.00	\$51.00

Source: LSO compilation of information from Utah Division of Wildlife Services.

In Utah, the Wildlife Board is charged by statute to prescribe the form and fee for fishing licenses.³⁰ The Board voted to approve increases to most fishing licenses in August 2022, which went into effect on July 1st, 2023.³¹

²⁵ Per year, up to five years.

²⁶ Per year, up to five years.

²⁷ A combination license allows you to hunt or fish in Utah and allows you to fish with a second pole.

²⁸ Per year, up to five years.

²⁹ Per year, up to five years.

³⁰ Utah Code Ann. § 23A-4-202.

³¹ DWR proposes increases in license and permit fees due to rising costs, Utah Division of Wildlife Resources, https://wildlife.utah.gov/news/utah-wildlife-news/1466-dwr-proposes-license-and-permit-fee-increases-due-to-inflation.html (last accessed July 28, 2023).