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P iAlabama Ala.Code  § 38-9-8 No Vulnerable adults over 18 
years old

Adult Protective Services No No N/A N/A Yes; § 38-9-9.

Alaska AS § 47.24.010 No 65 years old or vulnerable 
adult or subject to 
supervision by the 
Arkansas Adult 
Protective Services

Arkansas Adult 
Protective Services Unit 
of the Department of 
Human Services

No No N/A N/A Yes; § 47.24.120.

Arizona Arizona Rev. Stat. § 46-451 Yes, immediately Vulnerable adults over 18 
years old

Department of Adult 
Protective Services

No No §46-454 The penalty is a class 1 
misdemeanor.

Yes;  § 46-453.

Arkansas Ark. Code Ann. § 12-12-1708. Yes, within twenty-four
(24) hours or on the next 
business day, whichever 
is earlier

65 years old Department of Human 
Services, APS Unit

No No § 12-12-1720 Class B Misdemeanor for 
failure to  report; Class C 
Misdemeanor: the offense of 
failure to report reaches the 
second degree if he or she 
knowingly fails to make a 
report or cause a report to be 
made in the manner and time 
provided in this subchapter to 
the adult and long-term care 
facility resident maltreatment 
hotline.

Yes; § 12-12-1713.

Elder Financial Abuse - State Overview
High Level Overview:
- 26 states, D.C. and Guam require employees of financial institutions to report elder financial abuse to the appropriate state agency after identifying suspicious activity: AZ, AR, CO, DE, DC, FL, GA, GU, HI, ID, IN, KS, KY, LA, MD, MS, NV, NH, NM, NC, 
OH, OK, RI, SC, TN, TX, UT, WY
- 10 states have granted financial institutions the authority to temporarily hold transactions on the suspicion of elder financial abuse: DE, KY, LA, MT, ND, TN, TX, VA, WA
- 9 states require fiduciary institutions to train their employees in reporting requirements and to recognize signs of elder financial abuse: CO, CT, IL, LA, MD, NV, OH, TX, WA



California Cal. Welf. & Inst. Code § 15630.1 Yes, immediately, or as 
soon as practicably 
possible

65 years old Bureau of Medi-Cal 
Fraud and Elder Abuse; 
Criminal offenses 
reported to District 
Attorney

No No Cal. Penal Code §§ 
368(d), 368(e)

Civil penalty not exceeding 
one thousand dollars ($1,000) 
or if the failure to report is 
willful, a civil penalty not 
exceeding five thousand 
dollars ($5,000), which shall 
be paid by the financial 
institution that is the employer 
of the mandated reporter

Yes; Cal.Welf. & 
Inst.Code § 15634

Colorado Colo. Rev. Stat. § 18-6.5-108. Yes, not more than 24 
hours after making the 
observation

70 years old Department of Human or 
Social Services

No Training to detect 
circumstances of 
mistreatment or self-
neglect , is strongly 
encouraged; § 26-3.1-
106.

§ 18-6.5-108. A Class 3 misdemeanor 
punishable by at least a $50 
fine and up to Six months 
imprisonment, or seven 
hundred fifty dollars fine, or 
both

Yes; § 18-6.5-108.

Connecticut Conn. Gen. Stat. § 17a-412 No, any other person shall 
report abuse but failure is 
not deemed a 
misdemeanor

60 years old, or 
vulnerable adults over 18 
years old

Department of Social 
Services, PSE Unit

No Yes, all financial agents 
must complete such 
training within 6 months 
of hire; § 17b-463

N/A N/A Yes; § 17a-412

Delaware Del. Code Ann. 31, § 3910 Yes, upon completion of 
investigation or 5 
business days after 
identifying suspicious 
activity, whichever is 
sooner

62 years old Department of Adult 
Protective Services

Yes, a financial institution shall be 
empowered to place a hold for 10 
business days on a transaction after 
identifying the suspicious 
transaction, or 30 business days if 
the institution has not heard from 
the appropriate state agency; 31, § 
3910

No N/A N/A Yes; 31, § 3910

District of 
Columbia

D.C. Code § 7-1903 Yes, the bank or financial 
manager shall 
immediately report this 
belief

Vulnerable adults over 18 
years old

Department of Human 
Services, Adult Protective 
Services Unit

No No § 7- 1912 (a)(1) Misdemeanor and, upon 
conviction, subject to a fine 
not exceeding $300

Yes; § 7-1908.



Florida Fla. Stat. § 415.1034 Yes, immediately 60 years old, or 
vulnerable adults over 18

Department of Adult 
Protective Services

No Not mandatory, but the 
department shall 
cooperate with agencies 
to provide training 
programs for mandatory 
reporters;§ 415.1105

§ 415.111 Second degree misdemeanor Yes; § 415.1036

Georgia Ga. Code Ann. § 30-5-4 Yes, and shall notify the 
person in charge of the 
facility to make a report

65 years old Department of Human 
Services, Division of 
Aging Services

No No § 30-5-8(b)(1) Misdemeanor Yes; § 30-5-4

Guam 10 Guam Code Ann. § 2952 Yes, within 48 hours 60 years old Bureau of Adult 
Protective Services

No No § 21005 A fine of not more than 
$500.00, except that for a 
second or subsequent offense, 
such person shall be guilty of a 
misdemeanor

Yes; § 21004

Hawaii Haw. Rev. Stat. § 412:3-114.5 Yes, immediately or as 
soon as practicably 
possible

60 years old Department of Adult 
Protective Services

No No § 412:3-114.5 Petty Misdemeanor Yes; §346-224

Idaho Idaho Code § 39-5303 No Vulnerable adults  over 
18 years old

Department of Health and 
Welfare

No Yes;  § 39-5303 § 39-5303 N/A Yes; § 39-5303



Illinois 320 Ill. Comp. Stat. 20/2 No 60 years old, or 
vulnerable adults over 18

Department of Adult 
Protective Services

No Yes, for current and new 
employees with direct 
customer contact; the 
Department of Financial 
and professional 
Regulation shall provide 
bi-annual reports on 
statistics of the training 
program 320 ILCS 20/3.5

320 ILCS 20/4 N/A Yes; 320 ILCS 20/4

Indiana Ind. Code § 12-10-3-9 Yes, a member of the 
staff shall immediately 
notify the individual in 
charge

65 years old, or 
vulnerable adults over 18

Department on Aging, 
Adult Protective Services 
Unit

No No § 35-46-1-13 Class B misdemeanor Yes; § 12-10-3-11

Iowa Iowa Code § 235B.3 No Vulnerable adults over 18 
years old

Department of Human 
Services

No No; § 235B.16 § 235B.3 N/A Yes; § 235B.3

Kansas Kan. Stat. Ann. § 39-1431 Yes, immediately Vulnerable adults over 18 
years old

Department for Children 
and Families

No No § 39-1431 Class B Misdemeanor Yes; § 39-1432.

Kentucky Ky. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 365.245 Yes, immediately 65 years old, or 
vulnerable adults over 18

Cabinet for Health and 
Family Services

Yes, a qualified person may place a 
temporary hold on a transaction on 
or a disbursement from an account 
of a specified adult. The qualified 
person may notify any third party 
reasonably associated with the 
adult. The hold may not last longer 
than 15 business days;  may be 
extended for no longer than 25 
business days; §365.245

No § 209.990 Class B misdemeanor, each 
violation constitutes a separate 
offense

Yes § 365.245



Louisiana La. Stat. Ann. § 15:1504 Yes 60 years old Office of Elderly Affairs 
(Governor’s Office)

Yes, any delay will expire when the 
earliest of circumstances occur: 1) 
determination that the transaction 
will not result in exploitation 2) 15 
business days pass.
The delay may be extended upon 
receiving a request from any 
covered agency, up to 25 business 
days; 6:1374; May notify any third 
party associated with the eligible 
adult; 6:1373

A covered financial 
institution shall make an 
effort, at least annually, to 
notify all employees of 
their ability to report 
potential financial 
exploitation of an eligible 
adult to personnel within 
the institution; § 1373.

14:403.2 Misdemeanor and a fine of not 
more than five hundred dollars 
or imprisonment for not more 
than six months, or both.

Yes; § 1504. Also a 
covered financial 
institution is 
immune from 
liability for choosing
/not choosing to 
withhold 
transactions ; 
6:1376

Maine 22 Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 3477 No 60 years old Department of Health and 
Human Services

No No N/A N/A Yes; 22 M.R.S.A. § 
3479-A

Maryland Md. Fin. Inst. Code § 1-306 Yes, by telephone within 
24 hours, or by writing 
within 3 business days

65 years old Department of Human 
Resources

No Yes, a fiduciary 
institution is required to 
train their employees in 
reporting requirements 
and recognizing signs of 
potential financial abuse; 
Md. Fin. Inst. Code § 1- 
306

§ 1-305. A fiduciary institution that 
fails to report is subject to (i) A 
civil penalty not exceeding
$1,000; or
(ii) If the failure to report is 
willful, a civil penalty not 
exceeding $5,000.

Yes; Md. Fin. Inst. 
Code § 1- 306

Massachusetts Mass. Gen. Laws Ch.19A § 15 No 60 years old Department of
Elder Affairs

No No 19A § 15 Fine of not more than $1000 Yes; 19A § 15

Michigan Mich. Comp. Laws § 400.11a No Vulnerable adults Department of Social 
Services

No No N/A N/A Yes; 400.11c.



Minnesota Minn. Stat. § 626.557 No, but financial 
institutions are required 
to cooperate with 
authority that is 
investigating 
maltreatment of a 
vulnerable adult

Vulnerable adults Department of Human 
Services

No No N/A N/A Yes;  § 626.557

Mississippi Miss. Code Ann. § 43-47-7 Yes, immediately 60 years old Department of Human 
Services

No No § 43-47-7 Misdemeanor punishable by a 
fine not exceeding $5,000.00, 
or by imprisonment in county 
jail fro not more than 6 
months, or both.  The court 
shall notify the appropriate 
licensing entity if the person 
convicted is a licensed 
professional.

Yes; § 43-47-7

Missouri Mo. Rev. Stat. § 192.2405 No 60 years old Department of Health and 
Senior Services

No No N/A N/A Yes; 192.2430

Montana Mont. Code Ann. § 52-3-811 No 60 years old Department of Public 
Health and Human 
Services

Yes, any delay of a transaction 
expires when the earliest of 
circumstances occur: (a) the covered 
financial institution determines that 
the transaction will not result in 
financial exploitation; or 15 
business days pass; A bank may 
choose not to notify any third party; 
32-1-2

No, but a covered 
financial institution shall 
make a reasonable effort, 
at least annually, to notify 
the appropriate 
employees of their ability 
to report financial 
exploitation; 32-1-2

N/A N/A Yes; 52-3-814. Also 
a financial 
institution and its 
staff and 
representatives are 
immune from any 
liability from 
choosing/choosing 
not to hold 
transactions; 32-1-4

Nebraska Neb.Rev.St. § 28-372 No 65 years old Department of Health and 
Human Services

No No N/A N/A Yes; 28-375.



Nevada Nev. Rev. Stat. § 657.290 Yes, by "designated 
person" from the financial 
institution as soon as 
reasonably possible

60 years old Department of Health and 
Human Services, Aging 
Division

No Yes, banks are required to 
implement training not 
later than 6 months of 
employment; 657.280

§ 200.5093 Misdemeanor Yes; 657.290

New 
Hampshire

N.H. Rev. Stat. § 161-F:46 Yes, immediately 60 years old Department of Health and 
Human Services

No No § 161-F:50 Misdemeanor Yes;  § 161-F:47

New Jersey N.J. Rev. Stat. § 52:27D-409 No Vulnerable adults over 18 
years old

Department of Human 
Services; ounty Adult 
Protective Services 
Provider

No No N/A N/A Yes; 52:27D-409.

New Mexico N.M. Stat. Ann. § 27-7-30 Yes, immediately 65 years old Department of Aging and 
Long- Term Services

N/A No § 27-7-30 Misdemeanor, and may be 
fined no more than $10,00 per 
violation

Yes; § 27-7-31

New York N.Y. Soc. Serv. § 473 No 65 years old Department of
Social Services

No No N/A N/A Yes; § 473-b

North Carolina N.C. Gen. Stat. § 108A-115 Yes 65 years old Department of
Social Services

N/A No N/A N/A Yes; § 108A-115



North Dakota N.D. Cent. Code § 6-08.5-03 No, the financial service 
staff may report the 
information but do not 
have a duty to make a 
report

65 years old Department of Human 
Services

Yes; a financial service provider 
also has the discretion of contacting 
a third party including contacts the 
eligible adult has provided; § 6-08.5-
04

No N/A N/A Yes; § 6-08.5-03; A 
financial service 
provider is also 
immune from 
liability in regards to 
holding transactions 
of an eligible adult; 
6-08.5-02

Ohio Ohio Rev. Code Ann. § 5101.63 Yes, immediately 60 years old Department of Job and 
Family Services

No Banks are required to 
ensure that the 
individuals required to 
report have access to 
educational materials ; § 
5101.632

N/A N/A Yes; § 5101.63

Oklahoma Okla. Stat. tit. 43A, § 10-104 Yes, as soon as the person 
is aware of the situation

Vulnerable adults  over 
18 years old

Department of Human 
Services

No No 43A, § 10-104. Imprisonment in the county 
jail for a term not exceeding 
one (1) year or by a fine of not 
more than ($1,000.00), or by 
both

Yes; 43A, § 10-104.

Oregon Or. Rev. Stat. § 124.060 No 65 years old Department of Consumer 
and Business Services

No No N/A N/A Yes; § 124.075.

Puerto Rico 35 Penn.Stat. § 10225.302 No 60 years old The Department of Aging 
of the Commonwealth

No No N/A N/A Yes; 35 P.S. § 
10225.302

Rhode Island 42 R.I. Gen. Laws § 42-66-8 Yes, immediately 60 years old Department of Elderly 
Affairs

No No § 42-66-8 A fine of not more than $1000 Yes; § 42-66-11



South Carolina S.C. Code Ann. § 43-35-25 Yes, within 24 hours of 
discovery

Vulnerable adults over 18 
years old

Department of
Social Services, APS 
Program

No No § 43-35-85 A misdemeanor, and a fine of 
no more than
$2,500 or imprisonment of not 
more than one year

Yes; 43-35-5

South Dakota S.D. Code Laws § 22-46-9 No 65 years old Department of Human 
Services

No No N/A N/A Yes; § 22-46-9

Tennessee Tenn. Code Ann. §  71-6-103. Yes, immediately 65 years old Department of Human 
Services

Yes, freeze permitted within five 
business days of discovery, with 
written notification, expires upon 
the earlier of: 1) 5 business days 2) 
10 business days when involving 
securities 3)The time when the 
provider believes financial 
exploitation will not occur., or the 
account holder has been notified 
and requests to continue with the 
transaction;
§ 45-2-1203

No § 71-6-110 Class A misdemeanor Yes; § 71-6-105; 
Immunity from 
holding 
transactions; § 45-2-
1203

Texas Tex. Fin. Code Ann. § 48.051 Yes, within five days of 
discovery; § 281.002

65 years old Department of Family 
and Protective Services

Yes, freeze permitted within ten 
business days of discovery, with 
written notification; § 281.002

Yes, banks are expected 
to train their employees in 
reporting requirements; § 
281.002

§ 48.052. Class A misdemeanor; the 
offense is a state jail felony if 
the person suffers from an 
intellectual disability who 
resided in a state supported 
living center, the ICF-IID 
component of the Rio Grande 
State Center, or a facility 

Yes; § 48.054

Utah Utah Code Ann. § 62A-3-305 Yes 65 years old Department of Adult 
Protective Services

No No . § 76-5-111.1 (2015) class B misdemeanor Yes; § 76-5-111.1.



Vermont Verm. Stat. Ann. § 6903 No Vulnerable adults  over 
18 years old

Department of 
Disabilities, Aging, and 
Independent Living

No No N/A N/A Yes; § 6908.

Virginia Va. Code Ann. § 63.2-1606 No 60 years old Department of Adult 
Protective Services

Yes; a financial institution staff may 
continue to refuse or execute a 
transaction for no longer than 30 
business days; § 63.2-1606(L)

No N/A N/A Yes; § 63.2-1606

Washington Wash. Rev. Code § 74.34.220 No, the financial service 
staff may report the 
information in 
accordance to company 
protocol

60 years old Department of Social and 
Health Services

The financial institution may refuse 
a transaction but must make a 
reasonable effort to notify all parties 
authorized to transact business on 
the account; expires upon the earlier 
of:
1) 10 business days when involving 
the sale of a security 2) 5 business 

A financial institution 
shall provide training 
concerning the financial 
exploitation of vulnerable 
adults to its employees 
and must provide training 
to new hires within three 
months of employment; 

N/A N/A Yes; § 74.34.220.

West Virginia W. Va. Code § 9-6-9 No Does not specify age, 
defines "incapacitated 
adult: as any person who 
cannot independently 
carry on daily activities

The Department of Health 
and Human Resources

No No N/A N/A Yes; § 9-6-12.

Wisconsin Wis. Stat. § 46.90 No 60 years old Department of Health 
Services: Adult Protective 
Services Unit

No No N/A N/A Yes; § 
55.043(1m)(d).

Wyoming Wyo. Stat. Ann. § 35-20-103 Yes, immediately 60 years old Department of Family 
Services

No No § 35-20-111(b) A misdemeanor punishable by 
imprisonment for not more 
than one year, a fine of not 
more than $1,000.00, or both

Yes; § 35-20-103
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