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DIVISION OF VICTIM SERVICES




Division’s Primary Responsibilities

The Division of Victim Services is a division within the Office of the Attorney General.
Determine eligibility for crime victims’ compensation
Manage state and federal funds granted to local victim service providers
Monitor local programs for compliance

Provide outreach and education regarding victims’ rights and victim services



Compensable Crimes Include:

eHomicide

*Sexual Assault

*Child Physical Abuse

*Child Sexual Abuse

*Indecent Liberties w/a minor

*Domestic Violence

*Kidnapping

*Robbery

* Assault

*DUI

eCertain Vehicular Related Crimes

* Acts of Terrorism on US Soil



Compensable Losses Include:

Mental Health Counseling and Care
Medical, Dental & Hospital Service
Articles Taken As Evidence
Out-of-pocket expenses
Funeral/Burial Expenses Including Native American Services
Loss of Earnings
Loss of Support for Dependants

Mileage Expense to/from medical appointments



Compensation Limits

*$15,000 per claim per victim per crime

*$10,000 catastrophic loss (available in some circumstances — explained in a moment)

*Per Claim/ Per Victim / Per Crime



Crime Reporting Requirements (Eligibility Requirements)

Crime must be reported to law enforcement.
Some verification that a crime occurred is necessary.

Some proof a crime was committed is required

Arrest NOT required
Prosecution is NOT required
Conviction 1s NOT required

The victim suffered physical/mental injury as a result of the criminal act.

Victim should cooperate with the investigation and prosecution.



Denial of Claims

Top 3 reasons

No crime occurred (per LE)
No innocent victim

No compensable loss



Compensation Denials SFY 21

Claims Statistics - Approved and Denied

Reason for Denial Number Denied %
No Compensable Loss 16 22.54%
Crime Did not Occur in Wyoming 4 5.63%
No Physical Injury/Property Loss 2 2.82%
Failure to Supply Information 5 7.04%
No Innocent Victim/Contribution 11 15.49%
Claim not Filed on Time 4 5.63%
Lack of Cooperation with L.E. or Commission 2 2.82%
Benefit Offender 2 2.82%
No Crime Occurred 23 32.39%
Unable to Locate Victim 1 1.41%
Mutual combatant 1 1.41%

Total Denied: 71



Compensation Statistics

During SFY 2021, 903 claims were received in our office
832 claims approved (92 % approved)
$1,138,929.80 was paid out to crime victims injured in Wyoming
Majority of claims filed by assault victims

Majority of victims were females between 18 — 29



Compensation Statistics (cont.)

Victims By Race Number Approved Number Denied
African American 8 2
Hispanic/Spanish Origin 65 6
Native American 82 1
Asian/Pacific Islander 13 0
Caucasian 552 57
Unknown 74 4
Multi-racial 38 1

TOTAL: 832 71



Where Crime Victims Compensation Comes From

Federal Money = Victims of Crime Act (VOCA) Compensation. Accounts for approximately 1/3 to ' of total
money going to victims each year — fluctuates due to the formula which was historically $0.60/ per every state
dollar spent. Raised to $0.75/ per every state dollar spent in 2021 with the “VOCA Fix Act”.

Surcharge = Money from criminal fines/fees deposited into the Crime Victims Fund by the courts. Accounts for
the largest percentage of money for Victim Services both Compensation and pass through to Assistance
programs.

Restitution = Amount court ordered to victim or the Division to be paid directly from offender for pecuniary
loss. **Typically represents less than 2 % of money collected by the state.

Recovery from Offender = Different from “Restitution” in that it contemplates civil damages. Division has a
subrogation interest if there is a subsequent civil suit (Think OJ Simpson; Criminal = Not Guilty; Civil = $33
Million dollar award)



Surcharge Fund Balance History:

FY

2015
2016
2017
2018
2019
2020
2021
2022

Deposits
$7,018,257 45
35,565,477 15
57,050,236.15
37898, 673.06
34,856,827 .87
$2,251,036.53
$2,198,201.92
$1,797,595.35

Expenses
$5,931,289.29
$5668,175.03
36,741,459 32
$8,188,564.14
$4,552,139.51
52650824 31
32,654 67463
31,864,345 20

Balance
$5,369 295 52
35,270,594 &4
$5,139,179.35
34,845 288 27
$5,153,976.63
54 754 188.90
34,297 71619

$4,230,963.27 Through April 2022

Delta Deposits v Expenses

586,968.16
-598,700.38
$308,776.83
-$289,891.08
$304 688.36
-$395,787.73
-B456 47271
-566,752.85

Deposits,

$10,000,000.00
57.,500,000.00
$5,000,000.00
$2,500,000.00

$0.00

Expenses and Balance

== [Deposits

== Expenses

Balance

2015

2016

2017

2012

2019

2020

2021

2022
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DEPARTMENT ATTORMNEY GEMERAL
Wyoming On Line Financial Codes

DIVISION  VICTIM SERVICES DIVISION DEPT DIVISION UNIT FUND APPR
UNIT VICTIM SERVICES DIVISION, 015 0200 0eo1 022 022
SURCHARGE

SECTION 1. UNIT STATUTORY AUTHORITY

Crime Victims Compensation Act, W.S. 1-40-101 through 1-40-119
Victim and Witness Bill of Rights, W.5. 1-40-201 through 1-40-210
Compensation from Benefits of Crime, W.5. 1-40-301 through 1-40-308
Privileged Communications and Acts, W.5. 1-12-101

Confidential Communications, W.5. 1-12-116

Offenses Against the Person, W.5 Title 6, Chapter 2

Offenses Against Property, W.S. Title 6, Chapter 3

Offenses Against Morals, Decency and Family, W.S. Title 6, Chapter 4
Victim Restitution, W.5. Title 7, Chapter 9

Family Violence, W.S_ Title 7, Chapter 20

Victim Impact Statement, W.S. Title 7, Chapter 21

Victims of Delinquent Acts, W.S. 14-6-501 through 14-6-509

Domestic Violence Protection Act, W.5. 35-21-101 through 35-21-112

SECTION 2. STANDARD BUDGET REQUEST

Part A: MNarrative

Established in 1997, the Wyoming Division of Victim Services' (DWVS) mission is to improve the treatment of all victims of crime by providing them with the
assistance and services essential to their restoration. DVS has a staff of ten full ime employees; the director, deputy director, one administrative assistant, one
compensation claims analyst, four regional program managers, one Safe2Tell administrator, and one SafeZTell public relations specialist. Additionally, the
Division pays the salary and benefits of one accounting analyst. DVS administers programs dedicated to serving crime victims, and it assists victims of crime,
provides awareness, education and training to the general community, and supports legislative, judicial and social reforms beneficial to crime victims. DVS staff
is funded through a portion of the Division's Surcharge and uses administrative funds from each federal grant to support training, travel, and office supplies for
DVS. The Safe2Tell program is funded by a grant from the Wyoming Office of Homeland Security.

DVS administers the Wyoming Crime Victim Compensation Program (CVCP) which is supported through a combination of a federal grant award, and the
Division’s Surcharge Funds. The Surcharge account is supported through criminal fines and fees assessed and collected by the court pursuant to W.S.
1-40-119. The federal portion of the CVCP award amount is calculated at 60 percent of state expenditures for the fiscal year two years prior to the current
award.

DVS also administers Victims of Crime Act (VOCA) funds, Violence Against Women Act (VAWA) funds, Family Violence Prevention Services Act (FVPSA)
funds, four separate appropriations of State General Funds, and the Division's Surcharge Funds are distributed to local service providers, either by formula or
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DEPARTMENT ATTORNEY GENERAL
Wyoming On Line Financial Codes

DIVISION  VICTIM SERVICES DIVISION DEPT DIVISION UNIT FUND APPR
UNIT VICTIM SERVICES DIVISION, 015 0800 090 022 022
SURCHARGE

non-formula distribution. These funds support victim/witness advocates primarily located in prosecutor's offices or law enforcement agencies, family violence/
sexual assault shelter service providers, Child Advocacy Centers, Sexual Assault Nurse Examiner (SANE) programs and Court Appointed Special Advocate
(CASA) programs located in every county in the state providing victim services to their communities. The State General funds are distributed through formula
to 23 domestic violence/sexual assault shelter service providers; 26 Victim/Witness programs located in government agencies servicing all victims of crime; 5
dual program offering services to all victims of crime, including domestic violence, sexual assault, and stalking; 8 special project programs including Sexual
Assault Nurse Examiners (SANE) programs; Court Appointed Special Advocates (CASA) programs and 3 Child Advocacy Programs; and 1 Family Justice
Center, and are used to provide shelter services, crisis intervention, social service advocacy, medical advocacy, legal advocacy, court accompaniment,
transportation to court, peer support groups, forensic interviews, referral services and follow up services to name a few to women, men and children who have
been victims of crime.

Part B: Revenue

$3,832,536 RSRC 5706, Crime Victim Surcharge.
$400,000 RSRC 5708, Crime Victims Restitution

$4,232 536_Total Revenue

RSRC 5706: Crime Victim Surcharge
RSRC 5708: Crime Victims Restitution.
Part C: Grant Requirements

This unit pays the states share of VOCA Compensation payments. While there is no required match, federal grant funding is based on 60% of the states
expenditures from two fiscal years prior, i.e. FY21 grant funding will be 60% of FY2019 state expenditures from this unit.

GOVERNOR'S RECOMMENDATION

| recommend approval of the standard budget as submitted.
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DIVISION VICTIM SERVICES DIVISION DEPT DIVISION UNIT FUND APPR
unit YICTIM SERVICES DIVISION, 015 0300 0901 022 022
SURCHARGE
Statutory Authority W.S.

Crime Victims Compensation Act, W.S. 1-4-101 through 1-4-119
Victim and Witness Bill of Rights, W.5. 1-40-201 through 1-40-210
Compensation from Benefits of Crime, W.5. 1-40-301 through 1-40-308
Privileged Communications and Acts, W.S. 1-12-101

Confidential Communications, W.S. 1-12-116

Offenses Against the Person, W.S Title 6, Chapter 2

Offenses Against Property, W_.S._ Title 6, Chapter 3

Offenses Against Morals, Decency and Family, W.5_ Title 6, Chapter 4
Victim Restitution, W.5_ Title 7, Chapter 9

Family Violence, W.5_ Title 7, Chapter 20

Victim Impact Statement, W.S_ Title 7, Chapter 21

Victims of Delinquent Acts, W.5. 14-6-501 through 14-6-509

Domestic Violence Protection Act, W.5. 35-21-101 through 35-21-112

Fund Description and Restrictions - Fund 022 is a dedicated fund used to collect surcharge and victim restitution payments from the courts. The Division of
Victim Services manages payment to both those providing services to victims of crime and to the victims of crime themselves. Additionally, they provide pass
through grants from a number of federal grants combined with state funding that contributes to supporting a network of victim assistance programs throughout
the state. These programs range from victim services provided by local law enforcement agencies to shelters for abused women and children. The funding for
these grants and programs are managed within Fund 022. In BFY2019 we began migrating our federal grants from this fund into the FED fund.

Revenue Sources Codes & Descriptions:

5706 Cnme Victim Surcharge
5708 Crme Victims Restitution

5906 Registration Fees
6239 Other private sources



2023 - 2024 BIENNIUM

UNIT BUDGET REQUEST

143

DEPARTMENT ATTORENEY GENERAL Wyoming On Line Financial Codes

DIVISION YICTIM SERVICES DIVISION DEPT DIVISION UNIT FUND APPR

UMNIT VICTIM SERVICES DIVISION, SURCHARGE 015 0900 0901 022 022

1 2 3 4 5 6 7
Description Code Base Budget Standard ]I;?::ae!pntfol:: Total Budget EE;EFTSOOL Governor
2023-2024 Budget R Request Recommendation
equest Changes

EXPENDITURES
SALARIES CLASSIFIED 0103 1,107,485 1,102,623 0 1,102,523 0 1,102,623
EMPLOYER PD BENEFITS 0105 304,906 296,957 0 296,957 0 296 957
EMPLOYER HEALTH INS BENEFITS 0196 264,066 255,335 0 255 335 0 255 335
RETIREES INSURANCE 0197 6,762 6,664 0 6,664 0 6,664
PERSONNEL 0100 1,683,219 1,661,479 0 1,661,479 0 1,661,479
MAINTENANCE AGREEMENTS 0292 320,000 320,000 0 320,000 0 320,000
SUPPORTIVE SERVICES 0200 320,000 320,000 0 320,000 0 320,000
CENTRAL-SER DATA-SER 0410 13,884 34,722 0 34,722 0 34,722
TELECOMMUNICATIONS 0420 11,864 14,473 0 14,473 0 14,473
CENT. SERV./DATA SERV. 0400 25,748 49,195 0 49,195 0 49,195
AIDS (TO/BEHALF OF) 0608 0 0 0 0 0 0
GRANT PAYMENTS 0626 600,980 600,930 0 600,980 0 600,980
CLIENT/RECIPIENT BENEFITS PAID 0630 1,685,622 1,685,622 0 1,685,622 0 1,685,622
CLIENT/RECIPIENT BENEFITS PAID RE30 0 0 0 0 0 0
GRAMNTS & AID PAYMENT 0600 2,286,602 2,286,602 0 2,286,602 0 2,286,602
EXPENDITURE TOTALS 4,315,669 4 317,276 0 4 317,276 0 4317 276
SOURCE OF FUNDING

GEMERAL FUND 1001 0 0 0 0 0 0
GEMERAL FUND/BRA G 0 0 0 0 0 0
INVESTMENT INCOME 4601R 0 0 0 0 0 0
CRIME VICTIM SURCHARGE 5706 3,915,569 3,917,276 0 3,917,276 0 3,917,276
CRIME VICTIMS RESTITUION 5708 400,000 400,000 0 400,000 0 400,000
REGISTRATION FEES 5906 0 0 0 0 0 0
GIFTS & DONATIONS 6204 0 0 0 0 0 0
MITIGATION SETTLEMENT 6228 0 0 0 0 0 0
RESTITUTION OTHER 6314 0 0 0 0 0 0
SPECIAL REVENUE SR 4,315,569 4 317,276 0 4 317,276 0 4317276
TOTAL FUNDING 4,315,669 4 317,276 0 4 317,276 0 4,317,276
AUTHORIZED EMFLOYEES

FULL TIME EMPLOYEE COUNT 8.50 8.50 0.00 8.50 0.00 8.50
TOTAL AUTHORIZED EMPLOYEES 8.50 8.50 0.00 850 0.00 8.50




1-40-119. Surcharge to be assessed in certain criminal cases; paid to account.

(a) In addition to any fine or other penalty prescribed by law, a defendant who pleads guilty or nolo contendere to,
or is convicted of, the following criminal offenses shall be assessed a surcharge of not less than one hundred dollars
($100.00) nor more than three hundred dollars ($300.00) for the offenses specified in paragraph (v) of this subsection, not
less than one hundred fifty dollars ($150.00) nor more than three hundred fifty dollars ($350.00) for the first plea to or
conviction of offenses specified in paragraphs (i) through (iv) of this subsection, and not less than two hundred dollars
($200.00) nor more than four hundred dollars ($400.00) for each subsequent plea to or conviction of offenses specified in
paragraphs (i) through (iv) of this subsection:

(i) Any violation of W.S. 6-1-101 through 6-2-313 and 6-2-319 through 6-10-203;
(ii) Any violation of W.S. 31-5-225, 31-5-229, 31-5-233 or 41-13-220(a);

(iii) Any violation of W.S. 35-7-1001 through 35-7-1057;

(iv) Any violation of W.S. 6-2-314 through 6-2-318;

(v) Any violation of a municipal ordinance which has substantially similar elements to the criminal offenses
specified in paragraphs (ii) through (iv) of this subsection or any other violation of a municipal ordinance which causes
actual damage to persons or property.

(b) The surcharge enumerated in subsection (a) of this section shall be imposed upon any defendant for whom
prosecution, trial or sentence is deferred under W.S. 7-13-301 and 7-13-302 or who participates in any other diversion
agreement.

(c) Under no circumstances shall a court fail to impose the surcharge required by subsections (a) and (b) of this
section if the court determines the defendant has an ability to pay or that a reasonable probability exists that the
defendant will have an ability to pay.

(d) The surcharge shall be paid within ten (10) days of imposition unless the court determines that it shall be paid
in installments over a reasonable period of time. Failure to comply with the provisions for payment of the surcharge is
punishable as contempt of court. Contempt proceedings or other proceedings to collect the surcharge may be initiated by the
prosecuting attorney, by the court on its own motion or by the division.

(e) Monies paid to the court by a defendant shall be applied to the surcharge before being applied to any fine,
penalty, cost or assessment imposed upon the defendant. The proceeds from the surcharge imposed by this section shall be
remitted promptly by the clerk of the court to the division for deposit in the account.



Surcharge Fee Schedule:

1-40-119. Surcharge to be assessed in certain criminal cases; paid to account.

(a) In addition to any fine or other penalty prescribed by law, a defendant who pleads guilty or nolo
contendere to, or 1s convicted of, the following criminal offenses shall be assessed a surcharge of not
less than one hundred dollars ($100.00) nor more than three hundred dollars ($300.00) for the offenses
specified in paragraph (v) of this subsection, not less than one hundred fifty dollars ($150.00) nor
more than three hundred fifty dollars ($350.00) for the first plea to or conviction of offenses specified
in paragraphs (i) through (iv) of this subsection, and not less than two hundred dollars ($200.00) nor
more than four hundred dollars ($400.00) for each subsequent plea to or conviction of offenses
specified in paragraphs (i) through (iv) of this subsection.



Surcharge Fee Schedule (cont.)

$100- 300 for Municipal Code Violations that would be a criminal offense and causes actual damage
to persons or property

$150 — 350 for first count of a misdemeanor or felony (includes traffic violation and eluding LE -
statute specifically includes child SA)

$200 — 400 for every additional count.



Surcharge VS. Restitution

7-9-101. Victim Restitution -Definitions.
(a) As used in this chapter:

(i) "Criminal activity' means any crime for which there is a plea of guilty, nolo contendere or verdict of
guilty upon which a judgment of conviction may be rendered and includes any other crime which is
admitted by the defendant, whether or not prosecuted. In the case of restitution ordered under W.S. 7-13-
301, "criminal activity" also includes a crime charged against the defendant;

(ii) "Long-term physical health care restitution order' means an order entered pursuant to W.S. 7-9-
113 through 7-9-115;

(iii) "Pecuniary damage' means all damages which a victim could recover against the defendant in a
civil action arising out of the same facts or event, including damages for wrongful death. It does not include
punitive damages and damages for pain, suffering, mental anguish and loss of consortium;

iv) "Restitution' means full or partial payment of pecuniary damage to a victim;
p pay p ry g

(v) "Victim" means a person who has suffered pecuniary damage as a result of a defendant's criminal
activities. An insurer which paid any part of a victim's pecuniary damages shall be regarded as the victim
only if the insurer has no right of subrogation and the insured has no duty to pay the proceeds of restitution
to the insurer.



7-9-102. Order to pay upon conviction.

In addition to any other punishment prescribed by law the court shall, upon conviction for any misdemeanor or
felony, order a defendant to pay restitution to each victim as determined under W.S. 7-9-103 and 7-9-114 unless
the court specifically finds that the defendant has no ability to pay and that no reasonable probability exists that
the defendant will have an ability to pay.



7-9-103. Determination of amount owed; execution.

(a) As part of the sentencing process including deferred prosecutions under W.S. 7-13-301, in any misdemeanor
or felony case, the prosecuting attorney shall present to the court any claim for restitution submitted by any
victim.

(b) In every case in which a claim for restitution is submitted, the court shall fix a reasonable amount

as restitution owed to each victim for actual pecuniary damage resulting from the defendant's criminal activity,
and shall include its determination of the pecuniary damage as a special finding in the judgment of conviction or
in the order placing the defendant on probation under W.S. 7-13-301. In determining the amount of restitution,
the court shall consider and include as a special finding, each victim's reasonably foreseeable actual pecuniary
damage that will result in the future as a result of the defendant's criminal activity. A long-term physical health
care restitution order shall be entered as provided in W.S. 7-9-113 through 7-9-115.



7-9-102. Order to pay upon conviction. (CONT)

(¢) The court shall order the defendant to pay all or part of the restitution claimed or shall state on the record
specific reasons why an order for restitution was not entered. If the court determines that the defendant has no
ability to pay and that no reasonable probability exists that the defendant will have an ability to pay in the future,
the court shall enter specific findings in the record supporting its determination.

(d) Any order for restitution under this chapter constitutes a judgment by operation of law on the date it is
entered. To satisfy the judgment, the clerk, upon request of the victim, the division of victim services or the
district attorney, shall issue execution in the same manner as in a civil action.

(e) The court's determination of the amount of restitution owed under this section is not admissible as evidence
in any civil action.

(f) The defendant shall be given credit against his restitution obligation for payments made to the victim by the
defendant's insurer for injuries arising out of the same facts or event.



Restitution Enforcement
A Judicial Perspective R
A Judicial Constitutional =

Duty to Assure Prompt
Restitution
L
Judge Roland Steinle (ret.) il -f|,'? AR '_\E i i

Maricopa County Superior Court



Judge Steinle’s Philosophy:

RESTITUTION ENFORCEMENT

® Promising restitution through court orders without
Collecting and disbursing the funds leads to dissatisfaction of

victims.

® The study found that closer monitoring of offenders’
payments increased their compliance with restitution orders.
Further, regular updates to victims about the status of their
restitution accounts helps them feel better informed (Davis &

Smith, 1993).



1-40-112. Recovery from offender; restitution.

(a) If an order for the payment of compensation for personal injury or death 1s made under this act, the state, upon
payment of the amount of the order, shall be subrogated to any right of action the victim or dependent of the victim has
against the person or persons responsible for the injury or death, and the state may bring an action against the responsible
person for the amount of the damages the applicant sustained.

(b) The applicant or other recipient shall give written notice to the division of the making of a claim or demand or the
filing of a suit for the damages specified in subsection (a) of this section.

(c) Restitution by an offender under W.S. 7-9-101 through 7-9-115 shall:

(1) To the extent compensation is paid under this act, be paid to the division, deposited in the account and be set
off against a judgment in favor of the state in a civil action arising out of the same facts or event;

(i1) Reduce by like amount any compensation subsequently paid under this act arising out of the same facts or
event.



1-40-112. Recovery from offender; restitution.

(g) Any payment of benefits to, or on behalf of, a victim or other claimant under this act creates a debt due and owing
to the state by any person found, in a criminal court proceeding in which he is a party, to have committed the criminal
act. Payment of the debt shall be a condition of probation or parole:

(1) In making payment of the debt a condition of probation or parole, the court or state board of parole shall set the
schedule or amounts of payments, subject to modification based on change of circumstances;

(i1) If the court or board does not order payment of the debt, or orders only partial payment, it shall state on the
record the reasons therefor.



CONTACT INFORMATION

Cara Boyle Chambers

Director, Division of Victim Services
Office of the Attorney General

320 W. 25t Street

Capitol Hill Building, 2™ Floor
Cheyenne, WY

307-777-7200 phone

307-777-6683 fax

http://victimservices.wyoming.gov



http://victimservices.wyoming.gov/
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