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This memorandum provides an overview of statutes addressing violence against healthcare
workers in seven states (Alaska, Colorado, Idaho, Nebraska, Oklahoma, Utah, and Wisconsin) and
the penalties offenders may receive upon assaulting or harassing healthcare professionals. The
seven states surveyed in this memorandum vary in: (1) whether the criminal provision specific to
healthcare workers provides a sentence enhancement if the victim is a healthcare provider; and (2)
whether the state considers violence against healthcare workers a separate misdemeanor or felony
offense and the severity of punishment. Alaska and Colorado classify violence against medical
professionals as a misdemeanor, while Nebraska, Oklahoma, and Wisconsin consider assault of a
medical professional a felony. Nebraska provides the harshest potential penalty with a minimum
of five years in prison for an assault in the first degree, while Alaska has the least severe potential
punishment with a minimum prison sentence of 60 days if the defendant causes bodily injury. In
Utah, violence against medical professionals may be a misdemeanor or a felony, depending upon
the gravity of the offense. The text of laws for each state is provided in the appendices.

ALASKA: Alaska Statutes provide that an individual who knowingly assaults or harasses a
medical professional® or an emergency medical technician, paramedic, ambulance attendant, or
other emergency responder conducting his professional duties is guilty of an assault in the fourth
degree or harassment in the first degree,? both Class A misdemeanors.® Alaska law establishes a
minimum prison term of 30 days if the defendant placed the victim in fear of imminent physical

! Alaska Stat. §12.55.135 defines a medical professional as a person who is an advanced practice
registered nurse, anesthesiologist, chiropractor, dental hygienist, dentist, nurse, nurse aide, mental
health counselor, osteopath, physician, physician assistant, psychiatrist, psychological associate,
psychologist, radiologist, surgeon, or X-ray technician, or who holds a substantially similar
position.

2 Alaska Stat. § 12.55.135(d)(1).

3 Alaska Stat. § 11.41.230 & Alaska Stat. § 11.61.118.
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injury by words or other conduct, and a minimum sentence of 60 days if the defendant recklessly
caused physical injury or engaged in offensive physical contact.

CoLORADO: Colorado law provides both a sentence enhancement if the victim is a particular
type of medical provider and a specific assault offense where the victim is a particular type of
medical provider. If a person commits an assault in the third degree on an emergency medical
service provider® or an emergency medical care provider® performing his duties, the offender shall
be sentenced to a term of imprisonment greater than the maximum sentence for other assaults in
the third degree, but not more than twice the maximum sentence authorized for the crime. ” Under
Colorado law, assault in the third degree is a Class 1 misdemeanor, punishable by a maximum
imprisonment sentence of 364 days, not more than a $1,000 fine, or both.2 A person commits
assault in the third degree in Colorado when: (1) the offender knowingly or recklessly causes
bodily injury to another person® (the general assault offense) or (2) the offender causes a person
that the offender knows or reasonably should know is an emergency medical service provider or
emergency medical care provider to come into contact with blood or other bodily fluids with the
intent to harass, annoy, alarm, or threaten the provider.*°

IDAHO: ldaho specifies the offense of battery against healthcare workers.!! Idaho law provides
that any person who commits battery against any person licensed, certified, or registered by the
State of Idaho to provide healthcare or an employee of a hospital, medical clinic, or medical
practice while the person is engaged in performing medical duties is subject to imprisonment not
to exceed three years.'? Idaho defines battery as willful and unlawful use of force or violence upon
a person; actual, intentional, and unlawful touching or striking of another person; or unlawfully
and intentionally causing bodily harm to an individual.*®

4 Alaska Stat. § 12.55.135(d)(1)(A) & Alaska Stat. § 11.41.230(a)(1).

® While the Colorado Statutes do not provide a definition of emergency medical service providers,
Colorado Regulations defines an emergency medical service provider as an individual who holds
a valid emergency medical service provider certificate issued by the Department of Health and
includes emergency medical technicians, emergency medical technician intermediate and
paramedic. Colo Reg. § 6-1015-3.

6 C.R.S 18-3-201 defines an emergency medical care provider as a doctor, intern, nurse, nurse’s
aide, physician assistant, ambulance attendant or operator, air ambulance pilot, paramedic, or any
other member of a hospital or health care facility staff or security force who is involved in
providing emergency medical care at a hospital or health care facility, or in an air ambulance or
ambulance.

" C.R.S. 18-1.3-501(1.5) (a).

8 C.R.S. 18-1.3-501(a.5).

% C.R.S. 18-3-204(1)(a).

10 C.R.S. 18-3-204(1)(b).

1 The Idaho Code does not provide a statutory definition of healthcare workers.

12 1daho Code § 18-915C.

13 1daho Code § 18-903.
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NEBRASKA: Under Nebraska law, assaulting a healthcare professional may be an assault in the
first, second, or third degree.!* Nebraska Statutes establish that a person is committing an assault
in the first degree if that person intentionally or knowingly causes serious bodily injury to an
emergency care provider® or a healthcare professional'® while the victim is on duty.!” The assault
in the first degree against a healthcare provider is considered a Class ID felony, punishable by a
maximum of fifty years in prison and a mandatory minimum of three years' imprisonment.
Generally, first-degree assault is between one and fifty years' imprisonment. A person commits an
assault in the second degree against a healthcare provider if the person causes intentional or
reckless bodily injury to an emergency care provider or healthcare professional with a dangerous
instrument.!® A second-degree assault on an emergency responder or healthcare professional is
considered a Class Il felony, punishable by a maximum of fifty years in prison and a mandatory
minimum of one year imprisonment.?’ A person commits an assault in the third degree against a
healthcare provider if the person intentionally or recklessly causes bodily injury to an emergency
responder or healthcare professional.?* An assault in the third degree is considered a Class I11A
felony, punishable by a maximum of three years in prison or a $10,000 fine, or both.??> Nebraska
laws require hospitals and other medical facilities to post a sign at their facilities stating that
assaulting a medical professional is a serious crime that may be punishable as a felony.?

OKLAHOMA: The 2020 Medical Care Provider Protection Act provides that any person
committing an assault or battery upon a medical provider?* performing medical care is guilty of a
felony subject to imprisonment not to exceed two years, a fine not to exceed $1,000, or both.?®> A
person who commits aggravated assault and battery, or assault with a firearm or deadly weapon,
against a medical care provider without justification and with intent to do bodily harm is guilty of

14 R.R.S. Neb. § 28-929.01(1) defines an emergency care provider as an emergency medical
responder, an emergency medical technician, an advanced emergency medical technician, a
community paramedic, a critical care paramedic, or a paramedic.

15 R.R.S. Neb. § 28-929.01(2) defines healthcare professionals as a physician or other healthcare
practitioners who are licensed, certified, or registered to perform specified health services
consistent with state law who practice at a hospital or a health clinic.

® R.R.S. Neb. § 28-929, R.R.S. Neb. § 28-930, & R.R.S. Neb. § 28-931.

" R.R.S. Neb. § 28-929.

18 R.R.S. Neb. § 28-308 & R.R.S. Neb. § 28-105.

¥ R.R.S. Neb. § 28-930.

20 R.R.S. Neb. § 28-930 & R.R.S. Neb. § 28-105.

2! R.R.S. Neb. § 28-931.

2 R.R.S. Neb. § 28-931 & R.R.S. Neb. § 28-105.

22 R.R.S. Neb. § 28-929.02.

24 21 OKI. St. § 650.4(B) provides a list of healthcare providers, which includes doctors, residents,
interns, nurses, nurses’ aides, ambulance attendants and operators, paramedics, emergency medical
technicians, laboratory technicians, pharmacists, and nursing students.

2521 OKI. St. § 650.4(A).
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a felony punishable by a prison term of two-to-five years, a fine up to $1,000, or both.?® The Act
also requires all hospitals, clinics, and ambulance services to display signs at their facilities stating
that assaulting a medical professional on duty is a serious crime.?’ Further, the Act requires each
hospital, health clinic, and ambulance service to report all assaults against medical professionals
to the state's department of health.?®

UTAH: The Utah Criminal Code provides that a person assaulting or threatening with violence a
healthcare provider?® or emergency medical service worker is guilty of a Class A misdemeanor
if the person committing the assault or threat of violence knew the victim was a healthcare provider
or a medical service worker and the provider or worker was performing emergency or lifesaving
duties.3! A Class A misdemeanor may be punished with a jail term of up to 364 days, a fine up to
$2,500, or both.®2 But if the victim sustains substantial bodily injuries and the person committing
the assault or threat of violence acts intentionally or knowingly, the assault is considered a third-
degree felony,* punishable by a jail sentence of up to five years, a fine up to $5,000, or both.**

WIscONSIN: Recently enacted Wisconsin law provides that a person intentionally causing
bodily harm or the threatening of violence against a person working in a healthcare facility,* or a
healthcare provider®® of violence is guilty of a Class H felony if the person committing the offense
knew the victim was a healthcare provider or worked at a healthcare facility, or that the victim was
acting in his official capacity.3” Wisconsin law specifies that committing the offense against a

26 21 OKI. St. § 650.5(A).

2763 OKI. St. § 1-114.3.

28 1bid.

29 Utah Code Ann. § 78B-3-403 provides a list of healthcare providers, which includes registered
nurses, physicians, physician assistants, pharmacists, social workers, and physical therapist
assistants.

80 Utah Code Ann §26-8a-302 provides a list of emergency medical service workers, which
includes paramedics, medical directors, emergency medical service instructors, behavioral
emergency services technicians, and advanced behavioral emergency services technicians.

81 Utah Code Ann. § 76-5-102.7(1).

82 Utah Code Ann. 8§ 76-3-204 & 76-3-301.

3 Utah Code Ann. § 76-5-102.7(2).

% Utah Code Ann. §§ 76-3-203 & 76-3-301.

3 Wis. Stat. §940.204 defines a healthcare facility as a hospital, clinic, pharmacy, an adult day
care center, an adult family home, a community-based residential facility, a residential care
apartment complex, a nursing home, a mental health or substance use disorder facility, or an
ambulatory surgical center.

3 Wis. Stat. §146.81 provides a list of healthcare providers, which includes nurses, physician
assistants, social workers, psychologists, pharmacists, and physicians. Wisconsin 8940.204
specifies that healthcare providers also include a radiographer, a limited X-ray machine operator,
or a driver of an ambulance.

37 Wis. Stat. § 940.204(2) & (3).
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family member of a healthcare provider or a person who works at a healthcare facility is also a
Class H felony.®® In Wisconsin, a Class H felony is punishable by a fine not to exceed $10,000 or

imprisonment not to exceed six years, or both.3® The Wisconsin law became effective in March
2022.

If you have any further questions, please do not hesitate to contact LSO Research and Evaluation
at 777-7881.

38 Wis. Stat. § 940.204(2) & (3).
39 Wis. Stat. § 939.50(3)(h).
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Alaska Stat. § 12.55.135

Current through all 2021 regular and special session legislation.

Alaska Statutes > Title 12. Code of Criminal Procedure. (Chs. 05 — 85) > Chapter 55.
Sentencing and Probation. (§§ 12.55.005 — 12.55.185)

Sec. 12.55.135. Sentences of imprisonment for misdemeanors.

(a) A defendant convicted of a class A misdemeanor may be sentenced to a definite term of imprisonment
of not more than one year.

(b) A defendant convicted of a class B misdemeanor may be sentenced to a definite term of imprisonment
of not more than 90 days unless otherwise specified in the provision of law defining the offense.

(c) A defendant convicted of assault in the fourth degree that is a crime involving domestic violence
committed in violation of the provisions of an order issued or filed under AS 12.30.027 or AS 18.66.100 —
18.66.180 and not subject to sentencing under (g) of this section shall be sentenced to a minimum term of
imprisonment of 20 days.

(d) A defendant convicted of assault in the fourth degree or harassment in the first degree who knowingly
directed the conduct constituting the offense at

(1) a uniformed or otherwise clearly identified peace officer, firefighter, correctional employee,
emergency medical technician, paramedic, ambulance attendant, or other emergency responder or
medical professional who was engaged in the performance of official duties at the time of the assault or
harassment shall be sentenced to a minimum term of imprisonment of

(A) 60 days if the defendant violated AS 17.41.230(a)(1) or (2) or AS 11.61.118;
(B) 30 days if the defendant violated AS 17.41.230(a)(3);

(2) a person who was on school grounds during school hours or during a school function or a school-
sponsored event, on a school bus, at a school-sponsored event, or in the administrative offices of a
school district, if students are educated at that office, shall be sentenced to a minimum term of
imprisonment of 60 days if the defendant violated AS 11.41.230(a)(1) or (2); in this paragraph,

(A) “school bus™ has the meaning given in AS 11.71.900;
(B) “school district” has the meaning given in AS 47.07.063,;

(C) “school grounds” has the meaning given in AS 11.71.900.
(e) If a defendant is sentenced under (c), (d), or (h) of this section,

(1) execution of sentence may not be suspended and probation or parole may not be granted until the
minimum term of imprisonment has been served;

(2) imposition of a sentence may not be suspended except upon condition that the defendant be
imprisoned for no less than the minimum term of imprisonment provided in the section; and

(3) the minimum term of imprisonment may not otherwise be reduced.

(f) A defendant convicted of vehicle theft in the second degree in violation of AS 11.46.365(a)(1) shall be
sentenced to a definite term of imprisonment of at least 72 hours but not more than one year.

(g) A defendant convicted of assault in the fourth degree that is a crime involving domestic violence shall
be sentenced to a minimum term of imprisonment of
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(1) 30 days if the defendant has been previously convicted of a crime against a person or a crime
involving domestic violence;

(2) 60 days if the defendant has been previously convicted two or more times of a crime against a
person or a crime involving domestic violence, or a combination of those crimes.

(h) A defendant convicted of failure to register as a sex offender or child kidnapper in the second degree
under AS 11.56.840 shall be sentenced to a minimum term of imprisonment of 35 days.

(i) If a defendant is sentenced under (g) of this section,

(1) execution of sentence may not be suspended and probation or parole may not be granted until the
minimum term of imprisonment has been served;

(2) imposition of sentence may not be suspended;
(3) the minimum term of imprisonment may not otherwise be reduced.

(i) [Repealed, § 179 ch. 36 SLA 2016.]

(k) In this section,

(1) “crime against a person” means a crime under AS 11.41, or a crime in this or another jurisdiction
having elements similar to those of a crime under AS 11.41;

(2) “crime involving domestic violence” has the meaning given in AS 18.66.990;

(3) “medical professional” means a person who is an advanced practice registered nurse,
anesthesiologist, chiropractor, dental hygienist, dentist, health aide, nurse, nurse aide, mental health
counselor, osteopath, physician, physician assistant, psychiatrist, psychological associate,
psychologist, radiolagist, surgeon, or x-ray technician, or who holds a substantially similar position.

(I) [Repealed, § 138 ch 4 FSSLA 2019.]
(m) [Repealed, § 138 ch 4 FSSLA 2019.]
(n) [Repealed, § 138 ch 4 FSSLA 2019.]
(0) [Repealed, § 138 ch 4 FSSLA 2019.]
(p) [Repealed, § 138 ch 4 FSSLA 2019.]

History

(§ 12 ch 166 SLA 1978; am § 2 ch 139 SLA 1980; am § 22 ch 59 SLA 1982; am § 13 ch 61 SLA 1982; am § 31 ch
143 SLA 1982; am §§ 4, 5 ch 92 SLA 1983; am §§ 5, 6 ch 53 SLA 1991; am § 3 ch 6 SLA 1996; am § 14 ch 64
SLA 1996; am §§ 5,6 ch 71 SLA 1996; am §§ 8, 9 ch 86 SLA 1998; am §§ 3, 4 ch 106 SLA 1998; am § 16 ch 53
SLA 2006; am § 1 ch 86 SLA 2006; am §§ 4, 5 ch 87 SLA 2006; am § 27 ch 33 SLA 2016; am §§ 91 — 93,179 ch
36 SLA 2016; am §§ 35— 37 ch 1 4SSLA 2017, am §§ 75, 76, 138 ch 4 FSSLA 2019)

Annotations

Notes

Revisor's notes. —

Subsection (h) was enacted as (g). Relettered in 1998, at which time the cross-reference in subsection (e) was
conformed.
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C.R.S. 18-3-204

Statutes current through Chapter 121 of the 2022 Regular Session and effective on or before April 22, 2022. The
inclusion of the 2022 legislation is not final. It will be final later in 2022 after reconciliation with the official statutes,
produced by the Colorado Office of Legislative Legal Services.

Colorado Revised Statutes Annotated > Title 18. Criminal Code (Arts. 1— 26) > Article 3.
Offenses Against the Person (Pts. 1— 6) > Part 2. Assaults (§§ 18-3-201 — 18-3-209)

18-3-204. Assault in the third degree.

(1) A person commits the crime of assault in the third degree if:

(a) The person knowingly or recklessly causes bodily injury to another person or with criminal
negligence the person causes baodily injury to another person by means of a deadly weapon; or

(b) The person, with intent to harass, annoy, threaten, or alarm another person whom the actor knows
or reasonably should know to be a peace officer, a firefighter, an emergency medical care provider, or
an emergency medical service provider, causes the other person to come into contact with blood,
seminal fluid, urine, feces, saliva, mucus, vomit, or toxic, caustic, or hazardous material by any means,
including throwing, tossing, or expelling the fluid or material.

(2) Repealed.
(3) Assault in the third degree is a class 1 misdemeanor.

(4) Repealed.

History

SOURCE:

Source: L. 71:R&RE, p. 421, § 1.C.R.S. 1963:§ 40-3-204. L. 77:Entire section amended, p. 961, § 10, effective
July 1. L. 2004:Entire section amended, p. 635, § 4, effective August 4. L. 2009:Entire section amended,(HB 09-
1120), ch. 305, p. 1649, § 1, effective July 1. L. 2011:(1)(b) amended and (4) added,(HB 11-1105), ch. 250, p.
1088, § 2, effective August 10. L. 2012:(1)(b) amended,(HB 12-1059), ch. 271, p. 1435, § 13, effective July 1.

L. 2015:(2) R&RE and (4) repealed,(SB 15-126), ch. 109, p. 317, § 2, effective July 1; (1)(b) amended and (4)
repealed,(SB 15-067), ch. 337, p. 1367, § 3, effective September 1. L. 2016:(2) repealed,(HB 16-1393), ch. 304, p.
1226, § 5, effective July 1.; L. 2022: (HB1229), ch. 68, § 20, effective March 1, 2022.

Annotations

Research References & Practice Aids

Hierarchy Notes:
C.R.S. Title 18

C.R.S. Title 18, Art. 3
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5/6/22, 4:57 PM Section 18-915C — Idaho State Legislature

e Idaho Statutes

TITLE 18
CRIMES AND PUNISHMENTS
CHAPTER 9
ASSAULT AND BATTERY
18-915C. BATTERY AGAINST HEALTH CARE WORKERS. Any person who commits
battery as defined in section 18-903, Idaho Code, against or upon any
person licensed, certified or registered by the state of Idaho to provide
health care, or an employee of a hospital, medical clinic or medical
practice, when the victim is in the course of performing his or her duties
or because of the victim’s professional or employment status under this
statute, shall be subject to imprisonment in the state prison not to exceed
three (3) vyears.
History:
[18-915C, added 2014, ch. 288, sec. 1, p. 729.]

How current is this law?

Search the Idaho Statutes and Constitution

https://legislature.idaho.gov/statutesrules/idstat/title 18/t18ch9/sect18-915c/


https://legislature.idaho.gov/statutesrules/idstat/Title18/T18CH9/SECT18-903
https://legislature.idaho.gov/statutesrules/howcurrentisthislaw
https://legislature.idaho.gov/search-results/
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5/6/22, 4:59 PM https://nebraskalegislature.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=28-929&print=true

28-929. Assault on an officer, an emergency responder, certain employees, or a
health care professional in the first degree; penalty.

(1) A person commits the offense of assault on an officer, an emergency
responder, a state correctional employee, a Department of Health and Human
Services employee, or a health care professional in the first degree if:

(a) He or she intentionally or knowingly causes serious bodily injury:

(1) To a peace officer, a probation officer, a firefighter, an emergency care
provider, or an employee of the Department of Correctional Services;

(i1) To an employee of the Department of Health and Human Services if the
person committing the offense is committed as a dangerous sex offender under the
Sex Offender Commitment Act; or

(111) To a health care professional; and

(b) The offense is committed while such officer, firefighter, emergency care
provider, or employee is engaged in the performance of his or her official duties or
while the health care professional is on duty at a hospital or a health clinic.

(2) Assault on an officer, an emergency responder, a state correctional
employee, a Department of Health and Human Services employee, or a health care
professional in the first degree shall be a Class ID felony.

Source: Laws 1982, LB 465, § 3; Laws 2005, LB 538, § 1; Laws 2009, LB63, §

7; Laws 2010, LB771, § 4; Laws 2012, LB677, § 1; Laws 2014, LB8I11, § 17;
Laws 2020, LB1002, § 5.

Cross References

Sex Offender Commitment Act, see section 71-1201.

https://nebraskalegislature.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=28-929&print=true



5/6/22, 4:59 PM https://nebraskalegislature.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=28-930&print=true

28-930. Assault on an officer, an emergency responder, certain employees, or a
health care professional in the second degree; penalty.

(1) A person commits the offense of assault on an officer, an emergency
responder, a state correctional employee, a Department of Health and Human
Services employee, or a health care professional in the second degree if:

(a) He or she:

(1) Intentionally or knowingly causes bodily injury with a dangerous
instrument:

(A) To a peace officer, a probation officer, a firefighter, an emergency care
provider, or an employee of the Department of Correctional Services;

(B) To an employee of the Department of Health and Human Services if the
person committing the offense is committed as a dangerous sex offender under the
Sex Offender Commitment Act; or

(C) To a health care professional; or
(i1) Recklessly causes bodily injury with a dangerous instrument:

(A) To a peace officer, a probation officer, a firefighter, an emergency care
provider, or an employee of the Department of Correctional Services;

(B) To an employee of the Department of Health and Human Services if the
person committing the offense is committed as a dangerous sex offender under the
Sex Offender Commitment Act; or

(C) To a health care professional; and

(b) The offense is committed while such officer, firefighter, emergency care
provider, or employee is engaged in the performance of his or her official duties or
while the health care professional is on duty at a hospital or a health clinic.

(2) Assault on an officer, an emergency responder, a state correctional
employee, a Department of Health and Human Services employee, or a health care
professional in the second degree shall be a Class II felony.

Source: Laws 1982, LB 465, § 4; Laws 2005, LB 538, § 2; Laws 2009, LB63, §
8; Laws 2010, LB771, § 5; Laws 2012, LB677, § 2; Laws 2014, LBS811, § 19;
Laws 2020, LB1002, § 7.

Cross References

Sex Offender Commitment Act, see section 71-1201.

https://nebraskalegislature.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=28-930&print=true 1/2



5/6/22, 4:59 PM https://nebraskalegislature.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=28-930&print=true
Annotations

Pepper spray is a dangerous instrument, as it is an object which, because of its
nature and the manner and intention of its use, is capable of inflicting bodily injury.
State v. Simmons, 23 Neb. App. 462, 872 N.W.2d 293 (2015).

In determining whether an off-duty officer working in a secondary employment
capacity is performing official duties within the meaning of this section, one should
examine the nature of the acts the officer is performing at the time of the incident
as well as the circumstances surrounding those acts and the secondary employment.
State v. Wilen, 4 Neb. App. 132, 539 N.W.2d 650 (1995).

There is no crime in this state for attempted reckless assault on a peace officer in
the second degree. State v. Hemmer, 3 Neb. App. 769, 531 N.W.2d 559 (1995).

https://nebraskalegislature.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=28-930&print=true 2/2



5/6/22, 5:00 PM https://nebraskalegislature.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=28-931&print=true

28-931. Assault on an officer, an emergency responder, certain employees, or a
health care professional in the third degree; penalty.

(1) A person commits the offense of assault on an officer, an emergency
responder, a state correctional employee, a Department of Health and Human
Services employee, or a health care professional in the third degree if:

(a) He or she intentionally, knowingly, or recklessly causes bodily injury:

(1) To a peace officer, a probation officer, a firefighter, an emergency care
provider, or an employee of the Department of Correctional Services;

(i1) To an employee of the Department of Health and Human Services if the
person committing the offense is committed as a dangerous sex offender under the
Sex Offender Commitment Act; or

(111) To a health care professional; and

(b) The offense is committed while such officer, firefighter, emergency care
provider, or employee is engaged in the performance of his or her official duties or
while the health care professional is on duty at a hospital or a health clinic.

(2) Assault on an officer, an emergency responder, a state correctional
employee, a Department of Health and Human Services employee, or a health care
professional in the third degree shall be a Class IITA felony.

Source: Laws 1982, LB 465, § 5; Laws 1997, LB 364, § 11; Laws 2005, LB 538,
§ 3; Laws 2010, LB771, § 6; Laws 2012, LB677, § 3; Laws 2014, LB811, § 20;
Laws 2020, LB1002, § 8.

Cross References
Sex Offender Commitment Act, see section 71-1201.
Annotations

The status of the victim under this section is an element of the crime and is not a
subsequent offense penalty enhancement. State v. Taylor, 262 Neb. 639, 634
N.W.2d 744 (2001).

In prosecutions for assaulting a peace officer, obstructing a peace officer, or
resisting arrest, a trial court must instruct the jury on the issue of self-defense when
there is any evidence adduced which raises a legally cognizable claim that the
peace officer used unreasonable force in making the arrest. State v. Yeutter, 252

Neb. 857, 566 N.W.2d 387 (1997).

For purposes of this section, the State must prove that the victim assaulted was a
peace officer engaged in the performance of his or her official duties, but is not
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required to prove that the defendant was so aware. State v. Cebuhar, 252 Neb. 796,
567 N.W.2d 129 (1997).

Evidence that defendant hit a police officer with his right forearm and poked the
officer in the eye when the officer attempted to prevent defendant from leaving an
interviewing room while under arrest was sufficient to sustain the jury's guilty
verdicts. Proof that the officer sustained bruises or other visible injuries is not
required to prove third degree assault on an officer under this section. State v.
Green, 240 Neb. 639, 483 N.W.2d 748 (1992).

A deputy sheriff is a peace officer. Assault on a peace officer in the third degree
is committed when an on-duty deputy sheriff is slapped, and the deputy sheriff
suffers physical pain. State v. Melton, 239 Neb. 576, 477 N.W.2d 154 (1991).

A police officer is a peace officer for purposes of this section. State v. Fly, 236
Neb. 408, 461 N.W.2d 421 (1990).

Jury properly advised that only reasonably necessary force may be used when
making an arrest and that a person attacked so as to cause fear of bodily injury may
use reasonable necessary force in defense. State v. Wallace, 223 Neb. 465, 390
N.W.2d 530 (1986).

An employee of the Douglas County Board of Corrections is considered a jailer
and, therefore, a peace officer for the purposes of this section. State v. Parks, 8
Neb. App. 491, 596 N.W.2d 712 (1999).

https://nebraskalegislature.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=28-931&print=true
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An Act

BILL NO. 1290 By: Weaver, Pemberton, Hall,
Coleman, Sharp, McCortney,
Bergstrom, Stanley and Bice
of the Senate

and

Roe and Taylor of the House

An Act relating to medical care providers; providing
for the Medical Care Provider Protection Act;
amending 21 0.S. 2011, Section 650.4, which relates
to assault and battery upon medical care providers;
modifying penalty; modifying definition; amending 21
0.S. 2011, Section 650.5, which relates to aggravated
assault and battery upon medical care providers;
modifying penalty; providing for certain signage;
providing for certain reporting; providing for
noncodification; providing for codification; and
providing an effective date.

SUBJECT: Medical care providers
BE IT ENACTED BY THE PEOPLE OF THE STATE OF OKLAHOMA:

SECTION 1. NEW LAW A new section of law not to be
codified in the Oklahoma Statutes reads as follows:

This act shall be known and may be cited as the “Medical Care
Provider Protection Act”.

SECTION 2. AMENDATORY 21 0.S. 2011, Section 650.4, is
amended to read as follows:



Section 650.4. A. Every person who, without justifiable or
excusable cause and with intent to do bodily harm, commits any
assault, battery or assault and battery upon the person of an
emergeney a medical care provider who 1is performing medical care
duties, upon conviction, is guilty of a felony punishable by
imprisonment in the custody of the Department of Corrections for a
term not exceeding two (2) years, or by a fine not exceeding One
Thousand Dollars ($1,000.00), or by both such fine and imprisonment.

B. As used in this section, “emergeney medical care provider”
means doctors, residents, interns, nurses, nurses’ aides, ambulance
attendants and operators, paramedics, emergency medical technicians,
laboratory technicians, radiologic technologists, physical
therapists, physician assistants, chaplains, volunteers,
pharmacists, nursing students, medical students and members of a
hospital security force.

SECTION 3. AMENDATORY 21 0.S. 2011, Section 650.5, 1is
amended to read as follows:

Section 650.5. A. Every person who, without justifiable or
excusable cause and with intent to do bodily harm, commits any
aggravated assault and battery or any assault with a firearm or

other deadly weapon upon the person of amp—emergeneymediecat
technician—or—other—emergeney a medical care provider, upon

conviction, is guilty of a felony punishable by imprisonment in =
state—correctional—dnstitutien the custody of the Department of
Corrections for a term not less than two (2) years nor more than ene
++)—yeaxr five (5) years, or by a fine not to exceed One Thousand
Dollars ($1,000.00), or by both such fine and imprisonment.

B. As used in this section, “medical care provider” means
doctors, residents, interns, nurses, nurses’ aides, ambulance
attendants and operators, paramedics, emergency medical technicians,
laboratory technicians, radiologic technologists, physical
therapists, physician assistants, chaplains, volunteers,
pharmacists, nursing students, medical students and members of a
hospital security force.

SECTION 4. NEW LAW A new section of law to be codified
in the Oklahoma Statutes as Section 1-114.3 of Title 63, unless
there is created a duplication in numbering, reads as follows:
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A. Every hospital, health clinic and ambulance service shall
display at all times in a prominent place a printed sign with a
minimum height of twenty (20) inches and a minimum width of fourteen
(14) inches, with each letter to be a minimum of one-fourth (1/4)
inch in height, which shall read as follows:

WARNING: ASSAULTING A MEDICAL PROFESSIONAL WHO IS ENGAGED IN THE
PERFORMANCE OF HIS OR HER OFFICIAL DUTIES IS A SERIOUS CRIME.
Section 650.4 of Title 21 of the Oklahoma Statutes.

B. Every hospital, health clinic and ambulance service shall
report all assaults on medical care providers to the State
Department of Health on an annual basis. The State Department of
Health shall have rulemaking authority to implement the provisions
of this section.

C. The Department of Health shall not make public any
identifiable information in regard to facility, individual or

location of assaults.

SECTION 5. This act shall become effective November 1, 2020.
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Passed the Senate the 5th day of March, 2020.

Presiding Officer of the Senate

Passed the House of Representatives the 13th day of May, 2020.

Presiding Officer of the House
of Representatives

OFFICE OF THE GOVERNOR

Received by the Office of the Governor this

day of , 20 , at o'clock M.

By:

Approved by the Governor of the State of Oklahoma this

day of , 20 , at o'clock M.

Governor of the State of Oklahoma

OFFICE OF THE SECRETARY OF STATE

Received by the Office of the Secretary of State this

day of , 20 , at o'clock M.

By:
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Utah Code

Effective 5/4/2022
76-5-102.7 Assault or threat of violence against health care provider, emergency medical
service worker, or health facility employee, owner, or contractor -- Penalty.
1)
(a) As used in this section:
(i) "Assault" means an offense under Section 76-5-102.
(i) "Emergency medical service worker" means an individual licensed under Section 26-8a-302.
(iif) "Health care provider" means the same as that term is defined in Section 78B-3-403.
(iv) "Health facility" means:
(A) a health care facility as defined in Section 26-21-2; and
(B) the office of a private health care provider, whether for individual or group practice.
(v) "Health facility employee™ means an employee, owner, or contractor of a health facility.
(vi) "Threat of violence" means an offense under Section 76-5-107.
(b) Terms defined in Section 76-1-101.5 apply to this section.
2)
(a) An actor commits assault or threat of violence against a health care provider or emergency
medical service worker if:
() the actor is not a prisoner or a detained individual,
(i) the actor commits an assault or threat of violence;
(i) the actor knew that the victim was a health care provider or emergency medical service
worker; and
(iv) the health care provider or emergency medical service worker was performing emergency
or life saving duties within the scope of his or her authority at the time of the assault or
threat of violence.
(b) An actor commits assault or threat of violence against a health facility employee if:
() the actor is not a prisoner or a detained individual,
(i) the actor commits an assault or threat of violence;
(iif) the actor knew that the victim was a health facility employee; and
(iv) the health facility employee was acting within the scope of the health facility employee's
duties for the health facility.
3)
(a) A violation of Subsection (2) is a class A misdemeanor.
(b) Notwithstanding Subsection (3)(a), a violation of Subsection (2) is a third degree felony if the
actor:
(i) causes substantial bodily injury; and
(i) acts intentionally or knowingly.

Amended by Chapter 117, 2022 General Session
Amended by Chapter 181, 2022 General Session
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State of Wisconsin

2021 Assembly Bill 960

Date of enactment: March 23, 2022
Date of publication*: March 24, 2022

2021 WISCONSIN ACT 209

AN ACT to repeal 940.20 (2r) and 940.20 (7); to amend 48.685 (2) (bb), 48.685 (5) (bm) 4., 48.686 (1) (c) 9., 48.686

(1) (c) 12.,48.686 (2) (bb), 50.065 (2) (bb), 103.88 (1) (d), 165.84 (7) (ab) 2., 301.048 (2) (bm) 1. a., 767.461 (4),
940.03, 941.29 (1g) (a), 941.291 (1) (b), 949.03 (2), 968.26 (1b) (a) 2. a., 969.08 (10) (b) and 973.123 (1); and to
create 103.88 (1) (bd) and 940.204 of the statutes; relating to: battery or threat to a health care provider or staff mem-

ber of a health care facility and providing a penalty.

The people of the state of Wisconsin, represented in
senate and assembly, do enact as follows:

SECTION 1. 48.685 (2) (bb) of the statutes is amended
to read:

48.685 (2) (bb) If information obtained under par.
(am), (b), or (ba) indicates a charge of a serious crime, but
does not completely and clearly indicate the final disposi-
tion of the charge, the department, county department,
child welfare agency, or entity shall make every reason-
able effort to contact the clerk of courts to determine the
final disposition of the charge. If a background informa-
tion form under sub. (6) (a) or (am) indicates a charge or
a conviction of a serious crime, but information obtained
under par. (am), (b), or (ba) does not indicate such a
charge or conviction, the department, county department,
child welfare agency, or entity shall make every reason-
able effort to contact the clerk of courts to obtain a copy
of the criminal complaint and the final disposition of the
complaint. If information obtained under par. (am), (b),
or (ba), a background information form under sub. (6) (a)
or (am), or any other information indicates a conviction
of a violation of s. 940.19 (1), 940.195, 940.20, 940.204,
941.30, 942.08, 947.01 (1), or 947.013 obtained not more
than 5 years before the date on which that information

was obtained, the department, county department, child
welfare agency, or entity shall make every reasonable
effort to contact the clerk of courts to obtain a copy of the
criminal complaint and judgment of conviction relating
to that violation.

SECTION 2. 48.685 (5) (bm) 4. of the statutes is
amended to read:

48.685 (5) (bm) 4. A violation of s. 940.19 (3), 1999
stats., or of s. 125.075 (1), 125.085 (3) (a) 2., 125.105 (2)
(b), 125.66 (3), 125.68 (12), 940.09, 940.19 (2), (4), (5),
or (6), 940.20, 940.203, 940.204, 940.205, 940.207, or
940.25, a violation of s. 346.63 (1), (2), (5), or (6) that is
a felony under s. 346.65 (2) (am) 4. to 7., or (), (2j) (d),
or (3m), or an offense under ch. 961 that is a felony, if
committed not more than 5 years before the date of the
investigation under sub. (2) (am).

SECTION 3. 48.686 (1) (c) 9. of the statutes is
amended to read:

48.686 (1) (c¢) 9. A violation of s. 125.075 (1),
125.085 (3) (a) 2., 125.105 (2) (b), 125.66 (3), 125.68
(12), 940.09, 940.19 (2), (4), (5), or (6), 940.20, 940.203,
940.204, 940.205, 940.207, 940.25, or 943.23 (1g), a vio-
lation of s. 346.63 (1), (2), (5), or (6) that is a felony under
s. 346.65 (2) (am) 4., 5., 6., or 7. or (f), (2j) (d), or (3m),
or an offense under ch. 961 that is a felony.

* Section 991.11, WISCONSIN STATUTES: Effective date of acts. “Every act and every portion of an act enacted by the legislature over the governor’s
partial veto which does not expressly prescribe the time when it takes effect shall take effect on the day after its date of publication.”
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SECTION 4. 48.686 (1) (c) 12. of the statutes is
amended to read:

48.686 (1) (c) 12. A violation of the laws of another
state or United States jurisdiction that if committed in this
state would constitute felony battery under s. 940.19 (2),
4), (5), or (6) or, 940.20, or 940.204, a felony offense of
domestic abuse, as defined in s. 813.12 (1) (am), a sex
offense or a violent crime under ch. 948, or a violation of
s. 940.225 if the victim was a child.

SECTION 5. 48.686 (2) (bb) of the statutes is amended
to read:

48.686 (2) (bb) If information obtained under par.
(am) indicates a charge of a serious crime, but does not
completely and clearly indicate the final disposition of
the charge, the department shall make every reasonable
effort to contact the clerk of courts to determine the final
disposition of the charge. If information submitted to the
department under par. (ag) indicates a charge or a convic-
tion of a serious crime, but information obtained under
par. (am) does not indicate such a charge or conviction,
the department shall make every reasonable effort to con-
tact the clerk of courts to obtain a copy of the criminal
complaint and the final disposition of the complaint. If
information obtained under par. (am), information sub-
mitted under par. (ag), or any other information indicates
a conviction of a violation of s. 940.19 (1), 940.195,
940.20, 940.204. 941.30, 942.08, 947.01 (1), or 947.013
obtained not more than 5 years before the date on which
that information was obtained, the department shall make
every reasonable effort to contact the clerk of courts to
obtain a copy of the criminal complaint and judgment of
conviction relating to that violation.

SECTION 6. 50.065 (2) (bb) of the statutes is amended
to read:

50.065 (2) (bb) If information obtained under par.
(am) or (b) indicates a charge of a serious crime, but does
not completely and clearly indicate the final disposition
of the charge, the department or entity shall make every
reasonable effort to contact the clerk of courts to deter-
mine the final disposition of the charge. If a background
information form under sub. (6) (a) or (am), or any dis-
closure made pursuant to a disclosure policy described
under sub. (6) (am), indicates a charge or a conviction of
a serious crime, but information obtained under par. (am)
or (b) does not indicate such a charge or conviction, the
department or entity shall make every reasonable effort
to contact the clerk of courts to obtain a copy of the crimi-
nal complaint and the final disposition of the complaint.
If information obtained under par. (am) or (b), a back-
ground information form under sub. (6) (a) or (am), any
disclosure made pursuant to a disclosure policy described
under sub. (6) (am), or any other information indicates a
conviction of a violation of s. 940.19 (1), 940.195,
940.20, 940.204. 941.30, 942.08, 947.01 (1), or 947.013
obtained not more than 5 years before the date on which
that information was obtained, the department or entity
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shall make every reasonable effort to contact the clerk of
courts to obtain a copy of the criminal complaint and
judgment of conviction relating to that violation.

SECTION 7. 103.88 (1) (bd) of the statutes is created
to read:

103.88 (1) (bd) “Emergency department” means a
room or area in a hospital that is primarily used to provide
emergency care, diagnosis, or radiological treatment.

SEcTION 8. 103.88 (1) (d) of the statutes is amended
to read:

103.88 (1) (d) “Employee” means an individual
employed in this state by an employer, but does not
include an individual employed to provide direct patient
care at a hospital intensive care unit or emergency depart-
ment;-as-defined-in-s-940.20(1)(a) lg.

SECTION 9. 165.84 (7) (ab) 2. of the statutes is
amended to read:

165.84 (7) (ab) 2. A felony violation of s. 940.02,
940.03, 940.06, 940.07, 940.08, 940.09 (1c), 940.10,
940.19 (2), (4), (5), or (6), 940.195 (2), (4), (5), or (6),
940.20, 940.201 (2), 940.203 (2), 940.204, 940.205 (2),
940.207 (2), 940.208, 940.23, 941.30, or 948.03 (3) or (5)
(a) 4.

SECTION 10. 301.048 (2) (bm) 1. a. of the statutes, as
affected by 2021 Wisconsin Act 76, is amended to read:

301.048 (2) (bm) 1. a. A crime specified in s. 940.19
(3), 1999 stats., s. 940.195 (3), 1999 stats., s. 943.23
(Im), 1999 stats., or s. 943.23 (1r), 1999 stats., or s.
940.01, 940.02, 940.03, 940.05, 940.06, 940.08, 940.09,
940.10, 940.19 (4) or (5), 940.195 (4) or (5), 940.198 (2),
940.20, 940.201, 940.203, 940.204, 940.21, 940.225 (1)
to (3), 940.23, 940.235, 940.285 (2) (a) 1. or 2., 940.29,
940.295 (3) (b) 1g., Im., 1r., 2., or 3., 940.31, 940.43 (1)
to (3), 940.45 (1) to (3), 941.20 (2) or (3), 941.26, 941.30,
941.327, 943.01 (2) (c), 943.011, 943.013, 943.02,
943.04, 943.06, 943.10 (2), 943.23 (1g), 943.30, 943.32,
946.43, 947.015, 948.02 (1) or (2), 948.025, 948.03,
948.04, 948.05, 948.051, 948.06, 948.07, 948.08,
948.085, or 948.30.

SECTION 11. 767.461 (4) of the statutes, as created by
2021 Wisconsin Act 20, is amended to read:

767.461 (4) A term of incarceration, extended super-
vision, parole, or probation for a violation of s. 940.01,
940.02, 940.03, 940.05, 940.06, 940.08, 940.09, 940.10,
940.19, 940.195, 940.20, 940.201 (2), 940.203 (2),
940.204, 940.225 (1), (2), or (3), 940.23, 940.235, 940.24
(1), 940.30, 940.302 (2), 940.305, 940.31, 940.32 (2),
(2e), or (2m), 940.42, 940.43, 940.44, 940.45, 941.20,
941.29, 941.30, 941.39, 943.011 (2), 947.012, 947.013,
948.02 (1) or (2), 948.025, 948.03, 948.04, 948.05,
948.051, 948.055, 948.06, 948.07, 948.08, 948.085,
948.095, 948.30, 948.55, or 951.02 or any felony to
which the penalty enhancer under s. 939.621 could be
imposed, for a violation of a 72—-hour no contact order
under s. 968.075 (5), for a violation of a domestic abuse
restraining order, child abuse restraining order, or harass-
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ment restraining order, or for a violation to which a
penalty enhancer for the use of a dangerous weapon is
applied.

SECTION 12. 940.03 of the statutes is amended to
read:

940.03 Felony murder. Whoever causes the death
of another human being while committing or attempting
to commit a crime specified in s. 940.19, 940.195,
940.20, 940.201, 940.203, 940.204, 940.225 (1) or (2)
(a), 940.30, 940.31, 943.02, 943.10 (2), 943.23 (1g), or
943.32 (2) may be imprisoned for not more than 15 years
in excess of the maximum term of imprisonment pro-
vided by law for that crime or attempt.

SECTION 13. 940.20 (2r) of the statutes is repealed.

SECTION 14. 940.20 (7) of the statutes is repealed.

SECTION 15. 940.204 of the statutes is created to read:

940.204 Battery or threat to health care providers
and staff. (1) In this section:

(a) “Family member” means a parent, spouse, Sib-
ling, child, stepchild, or foster child.

(b) “Health care facility” means any of the following:

1. A hospital, as defined in s. 50.33 (2).

2. A clinic, which is a location with the primary pur-
pose of providing outpatient diagnosis, treatment, or
management of health conditions.

3. A pharmacy that is licensed under s. 450.06.

4. An adult day care center, as defined in s. 49.45
47).

5. An adult family home, as defined in s. 50.01 (1).

6. A community—based residential facility, as defined
in s. 50.01 (1g).

7. A residential care apartment complex, as defined
in s. 50.01 (6d).

8. A nursing home, as defined in s. 50.01 (3).

9. A mental health or substance use disorder facility,
which is a location that provides diagnosis, treatment, or
management of mental health or substance use disorders.

10. An ambulatory surgical center, as defined in 42
CFR 416.2.

(c) “Health care provider” means any of the follow-
ing:

1. A health care provider as defined in s. 146.81 (1)
(a) to (hp), (@), (1), or (s).

2. A radiographer or limited X—ray machine operator
licensed or permitted under ch. 462.

3. A driver of an ambulance, as defined in s. 256.01
(1t).

(2) Whoever intentionally causes bodily harm or
threatens to cause bodily harm to a person who works in
a health care facility or to a family member of a person
who works in a health care facility under all of the follow-
ing circumstances is guilty of a Class H felony:

(a) At the time of the act or threat, the actor knows or
should have known that the victim works or formerly
worked in a health care facility or is a family member of
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the person who works or formerly worked in a health care
facility.

(b) The act or threat is in response to an action occur-
ring at the health care facility or an action by an official,
employee, or agent of the health care facility acting in his
or her official capacity.

(c) There is no consent by the person harmed or
threatened.

(3) Whoever intentionally causes bodily harm or
threatens to cause bodily harm to a health care provider
or to a family member of a health care provider under all
of the following circumstances is guilty of a Class H
felony:

(a) At the time of the act or threat, the actor knows or
should have known that the victim is a health care
provider or is a family member of a health care provider.

(b) The act or threat is in response to an action by the
health care provider acting in his or her capacity as a
health care provider.

(c) There is no consent by the person harmed or
threatened.

(4) The department of justice shall post on its website
model language that health care facilities may post at its
entrances alerting persons to the penalties under this sec-
tion.

SECTION 16. 941.29 (1g) (a) of the statutes, as
affected by 2021 Wisconsin Act 76, is amended to read:

941.29 (1g) (a) “Violent felony” means any felony
under s. 943.23 (1m), 1999 stats., or s. 943.23 (1r), 1999
stats., this section, or s. 940.01, 940.02, 940.03, 940.05,
940.06, 940.08, 940.09, 940.10, 940.19, 940.195,
940.198, 940.20, 940.201, 940.203, 940.204, 940.21,
940.225, 940.23, 940.235, 940.285 (2), 940.29, 940.295
(3), 940.30, 940.302, 940.305, 940.31, 940.43 (1) to (3),
940.45 (1) to (3), 941.20, 941.26, 941.28, 941.2905,
941.292,941.30, 941.327 (2) (b) 3. or 4., 943.02, 943.04,
943.06, 943.10 (2), 943.23 (1g), 943.32, 943.87, 946.43,
948.02 (1) or (2), 948.025, 948.03, 948.04, 948.05,
948.051, 948.06, 948.07, 948.08, 948.085, or 948.30.

SECTION 17. 941.291 (1) (b) of the statutes, as
affected by 2021 Wisconsin Act 76, is amended to read:

941.291 (1) (b) “Violent felony” means any felony,
or the solicitation, conspiracy, or attempt to commit any
felony, under s. 943.23 (Im) or (1r), 1999 stats., or s.
940.01, 940.02, 940.03, 940.05, 940.06, 940.08, 940.09,
940.10, 940.19, 940.195, 940.198, 940.20, 940.201,
940.203, 940.204, 940.21, 940.225, 940.23, 940.285 (2),
940.29, 940.295 (3), 940.30, 940.305, 940.31, 940.43 (1)
to (3), 940.45 (1) to (3), 941.20, 941.26, 941.28, 941.29,
941.30, 941.327, 943.01 (2) (c), 943.011, 943.013,
943.02, 943.04, 943.06, 943.10 (2), 943.23 (1g), 943.32,
943.81, 943.82, 943.83, 943.85, 943.86, 943.87, 943.88,
943.89, 943.90, 946.43, 947.015, 948.02 (1) or (2),
948.025, 948.03, 948.04, 948.05, 948.06, 948.07,
948.08, 948.085, or 948.30; or, if the victim is a financial
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institution, as defined in s. 943.80 (2), a felony, or the
solicitation, conspiracy, or attempt to commit a felony
under s. 943.84 (1) or (2).

SECTION 18. 949.03 (2) of the statutes, as affected by
2021 Wisconsin Act 76, is amended to read:

949.03 (2) The commission or the attempt to commit
any crime specified in s. 346.62 (4), 346.63 (2) or (6),
940.01, 940.02, 940.03, 940.05, 940.06, 940.07, 940.08,
940.09, 940.10, 940.19, 940.198, 940.20, 940.201,
940.204, 940.21, 940.22 (2), 940.225, 940.23, 940.235,
940.24, 940.25, 940.285, 940.29, 940.30, 940.302 (2),
940.305, 940.31, 940.32, 941.327, 942.09, 943.02,
943.03, 943.04, 943.10, 943.20, 943.23 (1g), 943.32,
943.81, 943.86, 943.87, 948.02, 948.025, 948.03,
948.04, 948.05, 948.051, 948.06, 948.07, 948.075,
948.08, 948.085, 948.09, 948.095, 948.20, 948.21 (1),
948.30 or 948.51.

SECTION 19. 968.26 (1b) (a) 2. a. of the statutes, as
affected by 2021 Wisconsin Act 76, is amended to read:

968.26 (1b) (a) 2. a. Section 940.04, 940.11, 940.19
(2), (4), (5), or (6), 940.195 (2), (4), (5), or (6), 940.198
(2) (b) or (c) or (3), 940.20, 940.201, 940.203, 940.204,
940.205, 940.207, 940.208, 940.22 (2), 940.225 (3),
940.29, 940.302 (2) (c), 940.32, 941.32, 941.38 (2),
942.09 (2), 943.10, 943.205, 943.32 (1), 946.43, 946.44,
946.47, 946.48, 948.02 (3), 948.03 (2) (b) or (c), (3), or
(4), 948.04, 948.055, 948.095, 948.10 (1) (a), 948.11,
948.13 (2) (a), 948.14, 948.20, 948.23 (1), (2), or (3) (¢)
2.0or 3., or 948.30 (1).

SEcCTION 20. 969.08 (10) (b) of the statutes, as
affected by 2021 Wisconsin Act 76, is amended to read:
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969.08 (10) (b) “Serious crime” means any crime
specified in s. 943.23 (1m), 1999 stats., or s. 943.23 (1r),
1999 stats., or s. 346.62 (4), 940.01, 940.02, 940.03,
940.05, 940.06, 940.08, 940.09, 940.10, 940.19 (5),
940.195 (5), 940.198 (2) (a) or (c), 940.20, 940.201,
940.203, 940.204, 940.21, 940.225 (1) to (3), 940.23,
940.24, 940.25, 940.29, 940.295 (3) (b) 1g., Im., 1r., 2.
or 3., 940.302 (2), 940.31, 941.20 (2) or (3), 941.26,
941.30, 941.327, 943.01 (2) (c), 943.011, 943.013,
943.02, 943.03, 943.04, 943.06, 943.10, 943.23 (1g),
943.30, 943.32, 943.81, 943.82, 943.83, 943.85, 943.86,
943.87, 943.88, 943.89, 943.90, 946.01, 946.02, 946.43,
947.015, 948.02 (1) or (2), 948.025, 948.03, 948.04,
948.05, 948.051, 948.06, 948.07, 948.085, or 948.30 or,
if the victim is a financial institution, as defined in s.
943.80 (2), a crime under s. 943.84 (1) or (2).

SECTION 21. 973.123 (1) of the statutes, as affected
by 2021 Wisconsin Act 76, is amended to read:

973.123 (1) In this section, “violent felony” means
any felony under s. 943.23 (1m), 1999 stats., or s. 943.23
(1r), 1999 stats., or s. 940.01, 940.02, 940.03, 940.05,
940.06, 940.08, 940.09, 940.10, 940.19, 940.195,
940.198, 940.20, 940.201, 940.203, 940.204, 940.21,
940.225, 940.23, 940.235, 940.285 (2), 940.29, 940.295
(3), 940.30, 940.302, 940.305, 940.31, 940.43 (1) to (3),
940.45 (1) to (3), 941.20, 941.26, 941.28, 941.29,
941.292, 941.30, 941.327 (2) (b) 3. or 4., 943.02, 943.04,
943.06, 943.10 (2), 943.23 (1g), 943.32, 943.87, 946.43,
948.02 (1) or (2), 948.025, 948.03, 948.04, 948.05,
948.051, 948.06, 948.07, 948.08, 948.085, or 948.30.




