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2021 Interim Topic Request

Over 20 independent Wyoming pharmacists
requested the Joint Labor, Health and Social
Services Committee study Pharmacy Benefit
Manager (PBM) regulation and the creation
of legislation that mimics 2015 Arkansas Act
900, which amended Arkansas’ PBM
Maximum Allowable Cost statute.

(LSO Issue Brief p. 1)
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What are Pharmacy Benefit Managers
(PBMs)?

How are PBMs regulated?

How does Wyoming currently regulate
PBMs?

Questions

What is Arkansas Act 900 and how
does it regulate PBM maximum
allowable costs?

How does Wyoming’s Maximum
Allowable Cost statute compare with
Arkansas Act 9007 4




What are Pharmacy Benefit
Managers (PBMs)?

PBMs are companies that manage prescription
drug benefits on behalf of health insurers with

the goal of reducing or containing prescription
drug costs.

(LSO Issue Brief pp. 1-2)
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How are PBMs regulated?

* PBMs are largely regulated by states
rather than the federal government.

e All 50 states and the District of Columbia
have enacted legislation regulating PBMs.

(LSO Issue Brief p. 3)



How do States regulate PBMs?

State statutes regulating PBMs can be categorized into
12 areas of regulation.

* A few states (e.g. Louisiana, Maryland) regulate
PBMs practices in all 12 areas.

* Other states (e.g. Massachusetts, Michigan,
Nebraska) regulate PBMs in only one or two
areas.

* Most states fall somewhere in between.
Wyoming regulates 4 areas of PBM practices.

(LSO Issue Brief p. 3)



Wyoming PBM statutes

(W.S. 26-52-101 through 26-52-104)

* The 2016 Legislature passed HB 35, sponsored
by the Joint Corporations, Elections, and
Political Subdivisions Committee, creating the
first PBM statutes.

* Wyoming PBM statutes are part of the
Insurance Code.

(LSO Issue Brief p. 4)



PBM Practice Areas regulated by Wyoming

PBM statutes

The original 2016 PBM Act regulated 3 areas of
PBM practices:

 PBMs must be licensed by the Wyoming
Department of Insurance.

e PBMs must follow certain standards when
auditing pharmacies.

* PBMs must meet certain requirements for
reimbursing pharmacies according to PBM
maximum allowable cost lists.

(LSO Issue Brief pp. 4-6)
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PBM Practice Areas regulated by Wyoming

PBM statutes

The 2019 Legislature passed HB 63 amending the
statutes to add a 4t area of regulation:

* PBMs cannot prohibit or penalize a
pharmacy for disclosing prescription drug
cost information or offering a less expensive
alternative to a customer.

(LSO Issue Brief pp. 5-6)
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What are Maximum Allowable

Costs?
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How does Wyoming currently
regulate Maximum Allowable Costs?
(LSO Issue Brief p. 5)

W.S. 26-52-104 requires that PBMs:

* Ensure that MAC list drugs meet national rating
requirements and are available for purchase by
Wyoming pharmacies.

* Consider “only the price” of the drug and any generic
equivalent in setting MAC reimbursement price.

* Make MAC list and “sources” utilized to determine
the MAC available to pharmacies.

e Update MAC list every 7 days to reflect changes.

* Provide pharmacies with a process to appeal the
MAC reimbursement rate.



Wyoming MAC List Appeal Process

requ IEENS (LSO Issue Brief p. 5)

* Pharmacy has up to 10 days to appeal a MAC
reimbursement for a dispensed drug.

* PBM has up to 10 days to respond to the appeal.

* If the appeal is upheld, PBM shall adjust the MAC
reimbursement with 1 day and allow the pharmacy to
rebill the claim.

* If the appeal is denied, PBM shall provide the pharmacy
with the reason for the denial and the National Drug
Code (NDC) number for purchasing the drug from a
wholesaler at or below the MAC.
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* Are Wyoming pharmacies utilizing the
appeal process that PBMs are
required to provide under current
Wyoming statutes?

POSS:Ib|e * What percentage of appeals are
questions upheld? Denied?

for further [EEVYIYs appeals are upheld, are MAC
study costs adjusted sufficiently to cover
pharmacy acquisition costs?

* When appeals are denied, are PBMs
providing NDCs that allow pharmacies
to obtain the prescription drug at or
below the MAC price?
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How do current Wyoming
statutes regulating Maximum
Allowable Costs compare to
Arkansas Act 9007



Arkansas Act 900

* The 2015 Arkansas General Assembly passed Act 900,
amending the Arkansas Maximum Allowable Cost
statutes.

* The Act effectively requires PBMs to reimburse
pharmacies at a Maximum Allowable Cost equal to or
greater than the pharmacy acquisition cost and allows
pharmacies to decline to provide a prescription drug to a
patient if the MAC list reimbursement is less than the
pharmacy acquisition cost.

(LSO Issue Brief pp. 6-7)
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How does Arkansas’ Maximum
Allowable Cost statute differ from

Wyoming’s?

* If a pharmacy appeals a MAC reimbursement, Arkansas
statute requires PBMs to adjust the MAC to a price equal
to or greater than the pharmacy acquisition cost.
Wyoming statute does not.

* Arkansas MAC statute is more stringent than Wyoming’s
MAC statute in other ways as well, including explicitly
stating that a violation of the statute is a violation of
three other Arkansas laws.

* Arkansas MAC statute is part of more comprehensive
regu!gtion of PBMs by the state than Wyoming statutes
provide.

(LSO Issue Brief Appendix B)
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Regulatory Agency Enforcement: Wyoming

vs Arkansas (LSO Issue Brief pp. 4-5 and Appendix B)

Wyoming PBM statute provides
Department of Insurance with licensing
authority over PBMs
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Regulatory Agency Enforcement: Wyoming

vs Arkansas (LSO Issue Brief pp. 7-8 and Appendix B)

* Arkansas statutes provide the state Commissioner of
Insurance with authority to regulate licensure PLUS:

oPBM financial standards and financial solvency
oMAC practices

oPharmacy network adequacy

oPBM rebates and compensation

oPBM reporting requirements

* Arkansas Department of Insurance employs 3 F-T
staff (2 investigators and 1 coordinator) dedicated to
PBM regulation.
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In addition to a comparative summary
of Arkansas and Wyoming PBM

statutes, the Issue Brief presents model
Model PBM P

. : PBM regulation legislation developed
Legislation g%

(LSO Issue Brief

Appendix D) * National Council of Insurance
Legislators (NCOIL)

 National Association of Insurance
Commissioners (NAIC)
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