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STATEMENT OF REASON 
 

Statutory authority for the Wyoming Real Estate Commission to promulgate and amend 
administrative rules for the regulation of real estate licensing in Wyoming is authorized under W.S. 
33-28-105(a).  Amended rules adopted by the Commission on September 26, 2013 were created for 
the following purposes: 
 
1. To enhance the amounts for specific fees collected in accordance with a vote of the 

 Wyoming Real Estate Commission during a regular public meeting on February 5, 2013. 
2. To decrease the length of the rules by one chapter by condensing chapters 1 and 2. 
3. Delete redundancies mirrored in statute, and incorporate accurate statutory references 

 regarding Administrative Hearings per the request of Governor Mead in his memorandum to 
 the Commission dated April 9, 2013.  
 

The Wyoming Real Estate Commission operates solely with revenue collected from fees for licensing 
real estate brokers and salespeople.  The agency does not use any monies from the Wyoming 
General Fund.   The current fee structure for licensing real estate brokers and salespeople has not 
changed since it was last increased in 2006.  The Wyoming Real Estate Commission endeavors to 
keep fees for licensing as minimal as possible, however, the proposed increases are deemed 
necessary due to increased efforts by the Commission staff to complete duties assigned by statute, 
increased industry regulation and overall economic conditions.   
 
Operating Budget 

 The graph below highlights agency revenues and expenditures per biennium over the last six years: 
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As indicated in the chart, the cost of conducting business as a commission has remained steady 
while the amount of revenue collected over time has decreased substantially.  Revenue collected in 
2007/2008 allowed for a substantial cash balance for the Commission, but this initial $823,024 cash 
balance has dwindled to $308,0921 since 2007.  In the last fiscal year (FY2013), agency revenue 
totaled $360,932 while operating costs required expenditure of $418,541.  The last fiscal year alone 
equates to a budget shortfall of -$57,609 or -15.96 percent.  Further reliance upon the Commission’s 
cash balance puts the agency in a precarious position, especially if need arose to pay for an 
administrative hearing.  If current levels of income and spending are maintained, the current cash 
balance will be entirely spent by 2016, at the latest, and the agency’s budget moving forward will be 
in arrears. 
 
Audits and Investigations 
Since 2007, the Commission has engaged multiple efforts to keep operating costs as low as possible. 
Expenditures for everyday supplies were minimized and travel, especially for Commission meetings 
and investigative matters, was restricted.  A recent assessment of office functions revealed that this 
gradual minimization of office functions, unfortunately, discouraged completion of routine audits to 
be conducted by staff with regard to education courses and brokers’ trust accounts.    These 
functions are articulated in existing agency rule, chapters five and six respectively. 
 
In order to ensure that educational courses and instructors are high in quality, the Commission  will 
begin auditing classes at least twenty times a biennium (ten per year) to cover roughly a quarter of 
all continuing education classes offered.  Likewise, Commission staff will begin conducting audits of 
trust accounts held by real estate brokers on a regular basis.  Ideally, the Commission will audit five 
percent of established broker accounts during each biennium.  Based on 2012 data, this would 
equate to sixty-two account audits per biennium, or, thirty-one audits per year. The Commission 
aims to conduct these audits in Cheyenne, but travel within the state to conduct half of the 
education and account audits is likely and reasonable.  If each trip for auditing purposes costs the 
agency $200, this will equal a total cost of $8,200 per biennium.   
 
With increased focus on guarding public safety through auditing powers granted to the Commission, 
investigative costs moving forward will increase.  The agency’s investigator and paralegal investigate 
twenty-five real estate complaints a year, on average.  Though the complexities of complaints and 
subsequent investigations vary, occasional travel is necessary.  If complaints received by the 
Commission increase to thirty or thirty five a year, the agency will need to hire contract investigators 
to assist in completing investigations in a timely manner.  In 2007/08 biennium, contract 
investigators were utilized by the agency at a cost of approximately $100,000.   In order to avoid a 
repeat expenditure of such a large sum, the Commission will hire investigators as needed and aims 
to expend $20,000 per biennium for additional investigative support.   
 
Special attention to the Commission’s investigations and audits will add an estimated $28,200 of 
expenses per biennium to an already insolvent operational agency budget.  As always, if costs can be 
decreased or offset through other means, the Commission and its staff will pursue those 
alternatives instead of embracing high costs options. 
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Economic Impacts 
In 2008, the Wyoming Real Estate Commission made the decision to better guard the public by 
eliminating reciprocity and requiring all licensees to complete education in Wyoming law and 
regulation.  Though this decision was made in the interest of protecting the citizens of Wyoming, 
many brokers living outside of the state felt this educational requirement unnecessary and, rather 
than complete the necessary coursework in Wyoming law, they allowed their licenses to lapse and 
be canceled.  The Commission desires to uphold a high standard of education and compliance to 
conduct business in Wyoming, instead of allowing all interested to be licensed or permitted as a 
means of generating revenue for the agency.   
 
Nationally, inflation of the consumer price index has increased costs by 15.5 percent alone from 
2006 to 2013.  Concurrently, economic activity in Wyoming’s real estate industry has experienced 
significant “boom and bust” cycles.  These cycles directly impact the amount of licensed 
active/inactive brokers, associate active/inactive brokers, and active/inactive salespeople activating 
and renewing licenses on a regular basis. ).  It is critical to note that this proposed fee increase 
amounts to a ten percent increase of costs for each licensee per year as  license renewals are only 
required every three years for brokers and salespeople in the state of Wyoming.  The data in the 
chart below reflect a complete renewal cycle for all licensees in our state (generally a three-year 
span of time). 
 

WYOMING REAL ESTATE BROKER AND SALESPEOPLE  
LICENSES ISSUED 2010 – 2012* 

 Active 
Brokers 

Inactive 
Brokers 

Active 
Associate 
Brokers 

Inactive 
Associate 
Brokers 

Active 
Salespeople 

Inactive 
Salespeople 

Total 
Firms 

11/29/10 730 100 734 294 1040 763 789 

12/13/11 663 100 697 381 893 700 727 

12/31/12 600 58 643 269 791 478 717 

% Change 
(2010 to 2012) 

-17.8% -42.0% -12.4% -8.5% -23.9% -37.4% -9.1% 

*ARELLO Digest of Real Estate License Laws, 2012 Edition 
 

 

As indicated in the above data, all categories of licensing and total firms existing in the state have 
decreased by at least eight percent; the highest change exists with inactive brokers showing a 
decrease of forty-two percent from 2010 to 2012.  If Wyoming’s economy remains strong in 
comparison to surrounding states and the nation as a whole, The Commission hopes to see a 
leveling off or rebound of this shrinking workforce.  Unfortunately, a rebound is not evident at this 
time.  This increase in licensing fees is essential in order for the Commission to be better poised and 
prepared to continue providing licensing services and regulation on behalf of the State of Wyoming.  



CHAPTER 1 
GENERAL PROVISIONS 

AND 
LICENSING 

 
Section 1. Authority. Pursuant to the authority vested in the Wyoming Real Estate 
commissionCommission (Commission) by virtue of W.S. 33-28-101 through 33-28-401 
the following rules and regulations are hereby promulgated. 

Section 2. Definitions. 

 (a)  "Active license" means a real estate license that has not been inactivated, 
suspended or revoked;  

 (b)  "Advance fee" means a fee claimed, charged or received for a listing, 
advertisement or offer to sell  or lease real estate issued primarily for promoting the  sale 
or lease of real estate;  

 (c)  "Aggregate limit" means a provision in an insurance contract limiting the 
maximum liability of an insurer for a series of losses in a given time period, such as the 
policy term;  

 (d)  "Associate broker" means an individual who has qualified as a broker under 
the act, is licensed under a responsible broker and does not have supervisory 
responsibilities;  

 (e)  "Auction," when used as a noun, means a  method of sale at a predetermined 
date and time, by means  of one (1) or more exchanges between an auctioneer and 
prospective purchasers either in person verbally or physically, or by regular mail, 
telecommunications, the  internet or an electronic transmission, the exchanges  consisting 
of one (1) or more offers to sell made by the auctioneer and offers to purchase made by 
prospective  purchasers, with the right to acceptance of offers to purchase residing with 
the auctioneer. "Auction" includes a sale of real estate in which there has been a 
solicitation or invitation by advertisement to the public in advance for bidding using 
sealed bids, provided that the bids are opened and there is a call for an advancement of 
the bids. "Auction" when used as a verb, means any act or conduct done for 
compensation or the expectation thereof  and designed, intended or expected to affect the 
bidding or results of a real estate auction, including, but not  limited to, serving as an 
auctioneer or  ring man or encouraging, soliciting or receiving bids;  

 (f)  "Branch office" means any office of a responsible broker other than his 
principal place of business;  

 (g)  "Broker" means any person licensed under the act including associate brokers 
and responsible brokers. "Broker" does not include a salesman;  

 (h)  "Buyer" means a person attempting to acquire real estate and includes a 
tenant as that term is commonly used in the rental, leasing or management of real estate;  

 (j)  "Buyer's agent" means a licensee who is authorized to represent and act on 
behalf of the buyer in a real estate transaction;  
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 (k)  "Commission" means the Wyoming real estate commission;  

 (m)  "Compensation" means any money, item of value or payment which is 
provided, promised or expected for the performance of any real estate activity;  

 (n)  "Cooperative transaction" means any real estate transaction in which licensees 
from more than one (1) real estate company participate, regardless of agency 
representation;  

 (o)  "Customer" means a party to a real estate transaction who has established no 
intermediary or agency relationship with any licensee involved in the transaction;  

 (p)  "Degree in real estate" means a degree from an accredited degree granting 
college or university, including a junior or community college, with a major course of 
study in real estate. A degree under this section shall at minimum require the successful 
completion of four (4) core courses of real estate principles and practices, real estate law, 
real estate appraisal and real estate finance, plus at least two (2) additional real estate 
related courses. These courses shall total at least eighteen (18) or more semester hours or 
twenty-seven (27) quarter hours;  

 (q)  "Designated licensee" means a licensee who is designated in writing by a 
responsible broker to serve as an agent for a seller or a buyer or as an intermediary in a 
real estate transaction;  

 (r)  "Distance education course" means a course where instruction takes place 
when the teacher and the  student are not in a traditional classroom setting and are  
separated by distance or time;  

 (s)  “Equivalent coverage" means insurance coverage obtained independently of 
the group program available through the insurer under contract with the commission and 
subject to the provisions of the act;  

 (t)  “Errors and omissions insurance" means  professional liability insurance 
which provides insurance  coverage to active licensees for errors and omissions made  
during the course of real estate transactions subject to the coverages, limitations and 
exclusions of the specific  policy;  

 (u)  "Expired license" means a license for which the license period has expired;  

 (w)  "Extended reporting period” means a designated period of time after a 
claims-made policy has expired during which a claim may be made and coverage 
obtained as if the claim was made during the policy period;  

 (y)  "Funds holder" means a title company, closing agent or attorney licensed in 
this state who holds items of value in trust for the parties to a real estate transaction; 

 (z)  “Grace period" means January 1 to March 1 of each year during which an 
expired license may be renewed;  

 (aa)  “Group program" means an insurance policy from an insurance provider 
selected by the commission through the competitive process as specified in the act;  

 (bb)  “Inactive license" means a license that has been placed on inactive status at 
the request of the licensee and is not expired, terminated, suspended or revoked; 
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 (cc)  "Individual coverage" means insurance coverage other than coverage from 
the group program which meets the requirements of the commission; 

 (dd)  "In-house real estate transaction" means a real estate transaction in which the 
buyer and the seller have an agency, intermediary or customer relationship with licensees 
from the same real estate company;  

 (ee)  "Interest in a transaction" means any advantage, benefit or profit, other than 
the agreed upon compensation, which may be realized by a licensee as the result of a 
purchase, sale or lease of real estate;  

 (ff)  "Intermediary" means a licensee who assists one (1) or more parties 
throughout a contemplated real estate transaction without acting as an agent or advocate 
for any party to the transaction;  

 (gg)  "License" means the document issued by the commission certifying that the 
person named on the document had fulfilled all requirements for a license under the act;  

 (hh)  "Licensee" means any person issued a license by the commission;  

 (jj)  "Like-license" means a license from another jurisdiction which is at an 
equivalent level of experience and responsibility as a comparable Wyoming license;  

 (kk)  "Material to the transaction" means having importance, relevance or 
consequence to a person making a decision regarding the purchase, sale or lease of real 
estate. "Material to the transaction" does not include psychological considerations 
including, but not limited to, health issues, suicide, murder or crimes which have 
occurred on the property;  

 (mm)  "Offer" means any inducement, solicitation or attempt to encourage a 
person to acquire an interest in real estate which is made for gain or profit;  

 (nn)  "Offeree" means a person to whom an offer is made;  

 (oo)  "Offeror" means the person making an offer;  

 (pp)  "Office" means a responsible broker's place of business where records are 
maintained; 

 (qq)  "Option" is a right that an owner may give to another person to purchase or 
lease the owner's real estate at a specific price;  

 (rr)  "Owner" means a person with a right to convey an ownership or leasehold 
interest in real estate;  

 (ss)  "Person" means individuals, corporations, partnerships, associations or other 
public or private entities, foreign or domestic;  

 (tt)  “Prior acts coverage" means insurance coverage for any claim made during a 
current policy period when the act or acts causing the claim or injuries for which the 
claim is made occurred prior to the inception of the current policy period; 

 (uu)  "Proof of coverage" means a certificate of insurance demonstrating coverage 
of a policy of insurance equal to or exceeding the group coverage contracted for by the 
commission;  
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 (ww)  "Property management" means the act of management for compensation of 
real estate for another, including collection of rents, maintenance of the real estate and 
accounting of fees received for another;  

 (yy)  "Qualified insurance carrier" means an insurance carrier that: 

For the entire term of its contract shall provide the group plan of errors and 
omission insurance as provided in the act, maintains an A.M. Best  rating of 
"B" or better and financial size category of  class VI or higher;  

Is authorized by the Wyoming insurance department to do business in 
Wyoming as an insurance carrier for the policy term;  

Is and will remain qualified and authorized by the Wyoming insurance 
department to write policies of errors and omissions insurance in Wyoming 
for the policy term; 

After competitive bidding, has been notified by the commission that it is the 
successful bidder for the group plan to provide the errors and omissions  
insurance as specified in the act;  

Has entered into a contract to provide group errors and omissions plan in 
conformity with the contract, the act, applicable rules of the commission and 
other applicable law;  

Will collect premiums; maintain records and report names of those insured 
and a record of claims to the commission on a timely basis.  

 (zz)  "Real estate" means leaseholds, as well  as any other interest or estate in 
land, whether corporeal,  incorporeal, freehold or non-freehold, and whether the real  
estate is situated in this state or elsewhere but shall not apply to nor include mineral 
lands, rights or leases;  

 (aaa)  "Real estate activity" occurs when an individual for another and for 
compensation:  

Sells, exchanges, purchases, rents, manages or leases real estate;  

Offers to sell, exchange, purchase, rent, manage or lease real estate;  

Negotiates, offers, attempts or agrees to negotiate the sale, exchange, 
purchase, rental or leasing of real estate;  

Lists, offers, attempts or agrees to list real estate for sale, lease or exchange; 

Auctions, offers, attempts or agrees to auction real estate; 

Collects, offers, attempts or agrees to collect rent for the use of real estate; 

Advertises or holds himself out as being engaged in the business of buying, 
selling, exchanging, auctioning, renting or leasing real estate;  

Engages in the business of charging an advance fee in connection with any 
contract undertaken to promote the sale, auction or lease of real estate either 
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through its listing in a publication issued for that  purpose or for referral of 
information concerning the real  estate to brokers; 

Buys, sells, offers to buy or sell or otherwise deals in options on real estate or 
improvements thereon;  

Assists or directs in the procuring of prospects calculated to result in the sale, 
exchange, lease or rental of real estate; 

Assists or directs in the negotiation of any transaction calculated or intended 
to result in the  sale, exchange, lease or rental of real estate; or Deals in time 
shares; 

 (bbb)  "Real estate company" means a business  entity including a firm, company, 
corporation, partnership,  sole proprietorship or other entity which is licensed to conduct 
real estate activity;  

 (ccc)  "Real estate transaction" or "transaction" means any real estate activity 
under this section;  

 (ddd)  "Regular employee" means an individual  who is employed by an owner of 
real estate on a salaried basis or paid wages which are not performance based, is  subject 
to income tax withholding and FICA and whose duties  are performed in the ordinary 
course of the owner's  business or the management or operation of the owner's  
investments; 

 (eee)  "Responsible broker" means an individual who has an active broker's 
license and who is responsible for the supervision of the activities of licensees associated 
with the real estate company or a broker who operates a single license office; 

 (fff)  "Retroactive date" means the date when the first real estate errors and 
omissions coverage was  effective insuring the named insured on a claims-made basis  
and since which time the insured has been continuously insured;  

 (ggg)  "Salesman" means an individual who has qualified as a salesman under the 
act and is licensed under a responsible broker;  

 (hhh)  "Seller" means a person who is attempting to sell or exchange real estate 
and includes a landlord as  that term is commonly used in the rental, leasing or 
management of real estate;  

 (jjj)  "Seller's agent" means a licensee who is authorized to represent and act for 
the seller in a real estate transaction; 

 (kkk)  "Short term rental" means the rental of real estate for thirty-one (31) days 
or less; 

 (mmm)  "Single-limit liability" means the maximum limit payable, per licensee, 
for damages arising out of the same error, omission or wrongful act;  

 (nnn)  "Subagent" means a licensee authorized to represent and act on behalf of a 
real estate company in performing real estate activity for a principal. A subagent shall 
owe the same obligations and responsibilities to the principal as a responsible broker;  
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 (ooo)  "Surrendered license" means a license that has been voluntarily terminated 
or surrendered by a  licensee who, at the time of the voluntary termination or surrender, 
was under investigation or named in a formal  administrative complaint and the surrender 
has been accepted by the commission;  

 (ppp)  "Suspended license" means a license that has been temporarily suspended 
by the issuing authority;  

 (qqq)  "Time share" means any arrangement, whether by membership agreement, 
lease, rental agreement, license, use agreement or other means, whereby the purchaser 
receives a right to use or a freehold interest in accommodations, facilities or other real 
estate for a specific period of time during any given year, but not necessarily for 
consecutive years, and which extends for a period of more than one (1) year;  

 (rrr)  "Transaction manager" means a licensee designated in writing by the 
responsible broker to supervise a transaction. The transaction manager shall not be 
involved in the transaction and shall have the duties of an intermediary while supervising 
the transaction;  

 (sss)  "Written listing agreement" means any real estate employment agreement, 
including without limitation a buyer's brokerage agreement, a seller's listing contract and 
a property management contract. The authority created under a written listing agreement 
may not be assigned to another person without the written consent of all parties to the 
agreement;  

 (ttt)  "The act" means W.S. 33-28-101 through 33-28-401 

 
Section 2. Professional and occupational licensure of military spouses. 
 
The Commission shall use the guidelines in W.S. 33-1-116 in determining licensure of 
military spouses and military service members. 
 
Section 3. Qualification for a license. 
 
 (a) Salesman applicants shall submit: 
 
  (i) Completed application form with appropriate fees; 
 
  (ii) Fingerprint cards; 
 
  (iii) Recent snapshot or photograph; 
 
  (iv) Proof of legal presence in the United States; 
 
  (v) A copy of the Wyoming passing score(s) report; 
 
  (vi) If a non-resident, Service of Process forms; 
 

1-6 
 



  (vii) Evidence of completing, within one year prior to the date of 
application, of salesman course I and salesman course II which shall meet the curriculum 
established and published by the Commission.  Salesman course II may not be taken by 
correspondence or online. 
 
   (A) An original applicant for a license shall be required to show 
proof of completion of the pre-license salesman course I (state and national portions), 
salesman course II and pass the appropriate examination before applying for a real estate 
license.  These requirements may be accomplished in any order. 
 
   (B) In lieu of actual clock hours of education for salesman course I 
(state and national portions), an applicant may challenge an approved course by 
satisfactorily passing the approved course examination and submitting certification. 
 
  (viii) Proof of errors and omissions insurance as described in W.S. 33-28-
401 and Chapter 8 of these Commission rules. 
 
 (b) Associate broker applicants shall submit: 
 
  (i) Evidence that they have been actively engaged in real estate activity as 
a licensed salesman for two (2) of the four (4) years immediately preceding the 
application or proof that they have a degree in real estate as defined in W.S. 33-28-
102(b)(xii); 

 
  (ii) Completed application form with appropriate fees; 
 
  (iii) Fingerprint cards; 
 
  (iv) Recent snapshot or photograph; 
 
  (v) Proof of legal presence in the United States; 
 
  (vi) If a nonresident, signed Service of Process forms provided by the 
Commission; 
 
  (vii) Proof of errors and omissions insurance as described in W.S. 33-28-
401 and Chapter 8 of the Commission rules; 
 
  (viii) Evidence of completing, within one year prior to the date of 
application, of broker course I and broker course II which shall meet the curriculum 
established and published by the Commission.  Broker Course II may not be taken by 
correspondence or online; 
 
   (A) An original applicant for license shall be required to show 
proof of completion of the pre-license broker course I (state and national portions), 
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broker course II and pass the appropriate examination before applying for a real estate 
license.  These requirements may be accomplished in any order. 
 
   (B) In lieu of actual clock hours of education for broker course I 
(state and national portions), an applicant may challenge an approved course by 
satisfactorily passing the approved course examination portions and submitting 
certification. 
 
  (ix)  Associate Broker applicants with a degree in real estate shall also 
provide: 
 
   (A) A certificate of completion for broker course II; 
 
   (B) A copy of the Wyoming passing score(s) report for the state 
and national broker examination. 
 
 (c) Responsible broker applicants shall: 
 
  (i) Meet all requirements for an associate broker’s license; 
 
  (ii) Provide evidence they have been actively engaged in real estate 
activity as a salesman or associate broker for two (2) of the four (4) years immediately 
preceding the application; 
 
  (iii) Provide proof of Wyoming trust account(s) or funds holder 
agreement(s); 
 
  (iv) Beginning January 1, 2013, submit proof of completion of a 
Commission approved broker management course taken no more than two (2) years prior 
to the application. 
 
 (d) An applicant who holds a prior felony conviction may be considered for 
certification twelve (12) months after all sentencing/parole/probation/requirements have 
been completed. 
 
Section 4. Registration and examination required; failure to pass. 
 
 (a) Every person desiring to become licensed shall register for the appropriate 
examination on a form provided by the testing service. 
 
 (b) Registrants for an exam shall have reached the age of majority. 

 
 (c) Each registrant is required to take an appropriate examination and attain a 
scaled score of at least seventy-five (75) percent on each applicable section of the 
examination. 
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 (d) Any person who registers for the examination shall select a date for taking the 
examination.  The selected date may be changed only by submitting another fee and 
registration or as allowed by the testing service. 
 
 (e) Failure to take the examination on the scheduled date will result in 
cancellation of the registration and no refund of the examination fee will be made. 
 
 (f) A notice to a registrant that he has received a passing score does not constitute 
a license to engage in real estate activity.  Licenses are issued only pursuant to filing the 
appropriate application for a license, paying all required fees and Commission approval 
of such application. 
 
 (g) No application for a license will be accepted until the registrant has taken and 
passed all applicable portions of the examination. 
 
 (h) Any registrant who takes the examination and does not attain a passing score, 
on a portion, shall reregister and pay the appropriate fee if they wish to retake the failed 
portion.  Registrants passing one portion of the examination are only required to retake 
the portion they failed; partial examinations shall be taken within six (6) months after 
registrant’s last test failure date.  Registrants required to take more than one portion of the 
examination who do not pass all portions of the examination within six (6) months shall 
retake the entire examination. 
 
 (j) After official notification in writing from the testing service to the registrant 
that he has successfully passed all the appropriate portions examination, the registrant 
shall within ninety (90) days of the most recent notice date, file the appropriate 
application for a license with all the required accompaniments.  Failure to file an 
application for a license and proof of required education within the ninety (90) day period 
will cancel the application and all scores will be terminated. 
 
 (k) The Commission, upon proper certification, will accept the uniform portion of 
the examination as having been successfully passed by any person seeking a license in  
Wyoming who received a like-license in the applicant’s licensing jurisdiction, provided 
that such like-license is currently valid and in good standing. 
 
  (i) Certification shall state when the applicant received his original license, 
the status of the license, and if there has been any disciplinary action taken against the 
licensee, and that the licensee has served actively for two (2) of the (4) years immediately 
preceding the application as a like-licensed real estate salesman or associate broker. 
 
 (m) Original licenses will be issued for the balance of the year.  They will expire 
on December 31 of the year in which issued.  Renewal license will be issued for 3-year 
durations.  They will expire on December 31 of the third year.  No prorating of license 
fees can be made. 
 
Section 5. Transfers, inactive licenses. 
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 (a) Notice of transfer of license from the sponsorship of one responsible broker to 
another shall be indicated on a transfer form provided by the Commission, and shall be 
accompanied by a transfer fee. 
 
 (b) When a real estate license has been returned to the Commission, the former 
licensee shall not perform any real estate activity. 
 
 (c) A licensee may request the Commission to hold his license for not more than 
thirty (30) days on a hold for transfer basis until proper request for reissue has been 
made, after which time the license will automatically become inactive.  A licensee whose 
license is inactive or on hold for transfer shall not perform any real estate activity. 
 
 (d) A licensee whose license is held by the Commission on an inactive or hold for 
transfer basis during the renewal period shall apply for renewal of such inactive license 
and pay the regular fee. 
 
  (i) A licensee whose license is on inactive status may not engage in any 
real estate activity. 
 
Section 6. Real Estate Companies. 
 
 (a) Real estate company licenses will be issued to the responsible broker for a real 
estate company engaged in real estate activity upon verification by the Secretary of State 
of Wyoming that the real estate company is in good standing. 
 
 (b) The responsible broker shall be an officer, partner or manager, or hold an 
ownership interest in the real estate company. 
 
 (c) The following documents are necessary before issuing a responsible broker’s 
license to a real estate company engaged in real estate activity: 
 
  (i) A properly executed application and fee; 
 
  (ii) A copy of the documents establishing company organization; 
 
  (iii) A copy of the bylaws of the corporation; or the operating agreement 
for the real estate company; 
 
  (iv) A copy of the meeting minutes of the corporation; partnership, limited 
liability company, or other entity indicating the name of the responsible broker. 
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CHAPTER 2 
LICENSING 

 
 Section 1. Qualification for a license.  
 
 (a) Salesman applicants must submit:  
 

 (i) Completed application form with appropriate fees;  
 

 (ii) Fingerprint cards;  
 

 (iii) Recent snapshot or photograph;  
 

 (iv) Proof of legal presence in the United States;  
 

 (v) A copy of the Wyoming passing score(s) report;  
  

 (vi) If a non-resident, Service of Process forms;  
 

 (vii) Evidence of completion, within one year prior to the 
date of application, of salesman course I and salesman course II which 
shall meet the curriculum established and published by the commission. 
Salesman course II may not be taken by correspondence or online.  
 

  (A) An original applicant for a license shall be 
required to show proof of completion of the pre-license salesman course 
I(state and national portions), salesman course II and pass the 
appropriate examination before applying for a real estate license. 
These requirements may be accomplished in any order.  
 

  (B) In lieu of actual clock hours of education for 
salesman course I (state and national portions), an applicant may 
challenge an approved course by satisfactorily passing the approved 
course examination and submitting certification.  
 

 (viii) Proof of errors and omissions insurance as described 
in W.S. 33-28-401 and Chapter 8 of these commission rules.  
 
 (b) Associate broker applicants must submit:  
 

 (i) Evidence that they have been actively engaged in real 
estate activity as a licensed salesman for two (2) of the four (4) 
years immediately preceding the application or proof that they have a 
degree in real estate as defined in W.S. 33-28-102(b)(xiii),  

 
 (ii) Completed application form with appropriate fees;  

 
 (iii) Fingerprint cards;  

 
 (iv) Recent snapshot or photograph;  

 
 (v) Proof of legal presence in the United States;  
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 (vii) Evidence of completion, within one year prior to date 

of application, of broker course I (state and national portions), and 
broker course II which shall meet the curriculum established and 
published by the commission. Broker Course II may not be taken by 
correspondence or online. 

 
  (A) An original applicant for a license shall be 

required to show proof of completion of the pre-license broker course I 
(state and national portions), broker course II and pass the 
appropriate examination before applying for a real estate license. 
These requirements may be accomplished in any order.  
 

  (B) In lieu of actual clock hours of education for 
broker course I (state and national portions), an applicant may 
challenge an approved course by satisfactorily passing the approved 
course examination portions and submitting certification.  
 

 (viii) Associate Broker applicants with a degree in real 
estate must provide:  
 
   (A) A certificate of completion for broker course II;  
 

  (B) A copy of the Wyoming passing score(s) report for 
the state and national broker examination.  
 

 (ix) If a nonresident, signed Service of Process forms 
provided by the commission.  
  

 (x) Proof of errors and omissions insurance as described in 
W.S. 33-28-401 and Chapter 8 of the commission rules.  
 
 (c) Responsible broker applicants must:  
 

 (i) Meet all requirements for an associate broker’s 
license.  
 

 (ii) Provide evidence they have been actively engaged in 
real estate activity as a salesman or associate broker for two (2) of 
the four (4) years immediately preceding the application.  

 
 (iii) Provide proof of Wyoming trust account(s) or funds 

holder agreement(s).  
 
 (iv) Beginning January 1, 2013, submit proof of completion 

of a commission approved broker management course taken no more than 
two (2) years prior to the application.  

 (d) An applicant who holds a prior felony conviction may be 
considered for certification twelve (12) month after all 
sentencing/parole/probation/requirements have been completed.  
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 Section 2. Registration and examination required; failure to 
pass.  
 
 (a) Every person desiring to become licensed shall register for 
the appropriate examination on a form provided by the testing service.  
 

 (i) Registrants for an exam must have reached the age of 
majority. 

 
(b) Each registrant is required to take an appropriate 

examination and attain a scaled score of at least seventy-five (75) 
percent on each applicable section of the examination.  
 
 (c) Any person who registers for the examination must select a 
date for taking the examination. The selected date may be changed only 
by submitting another fee and registration or as allowed by the testing 
service.  
 
 (d) Failure to take the examination on the scheduled date will 
result in cancellation of the registration and no refund of the 
examination fee will be made.  
 
 (e) A notice to a registrant that he has received a passing score 
does not constitute a license to engage in real estate activity. 
Licenses are issued only pursuant to filing the appropriate application 
for a license, paying all required fees and commission approval of such 
application.  
 
 (f) No application for a license will be accepted until the 
registrant has taken and passed all applicable portions of the 
examination.  
 
 (g) Any registrant who takes the examination and does not attain 
a passing score, on a portion, must reregister and pay the appropriate 
fee if they wish to retake the failed portion. Registrants passing one 
portion of the examination are only required to retake the portion they 
failed; partial examinations must be taken within six (6) months after 
registrant’s last test failure date. Registrants required to take more 
than one portion of the examination must pass all portions within six 
(6) months of passing any portion. Registrants who do not pass all 
portions of the examination within six (6) months must retake the 
entire examination.  
 
 (h) After official notification in writing from the testing 
service to the registrant that he has successfully passed all the 
appropriate portions examination, the registrant must within ninety 
(90) days of the most recent notice date, file the appropriate 
application for a license with all the required accompaniments. Failure 
to file an application for a license and proof of required education 
within the ninety (90) day period will cancel the application and all 
scores will be terminated.  
 
 (j) The commission, upon proper certification, will accept the 
uniform portion of the examination as having been successfully passed 
by any person seeking a license in Wyoming who received a like-license 
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in the applicant's licensing jurisdiction, provided that such like-
license is currently valid and in good standing.  
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   (i) Certification must state when the applicant received 
his original license, the status of the license, and if there has been 
any disciplinary action taken against the licensee, and that the 
licensee has served actively for two (2) of the four (4) years 
immediately preceding the application as a like-licensed real estate 
salesman or associate broker. 
 
 (k) Original licenses will be issued for the balance of the year. 
They will expire on December 31 of the year in which issued. Renewal 
licenses will be issued for 3-year durations. They will expire on 
December 31 of the third year. No prorating of license fees can be 
made.  
 
 Section 3. Transfers, inactive licenses.  
 
 (a) Notice of transfer of license from the sponsorship of one 
responsible broker to another shall be indicated on a transfer form 
provided by the commission, and must be accompanied by a transfer fee.  
 
 (b) When a real estate license has been returned to the 
commission, the former licensee shall not perform any real estate 
activity.  
 
 (c) A licensee may request the commission to hold his license for 
not more than thirty (30) days on a hold for transfer basis until 
proper request for reissue has been made, after which time the license 
will automatically become inactive. A licensee whose license is 
inactive or on hold for transfer shall not perform any real estate 
activity.  
 
 (d) A licensee whose license is held by the commission on an 
inactive or hold for transfer basis during the renewal period must 
apply for renewal of such inactive license and pay the regular fee.  
 
 Section 4. Real Estate Companies.  
 
 (a) Real estate company licenses will be issued to the 
responsible broker for a real estate company engaged in real estate 
activity upon verification by the Secretary of State of Wyoming that 
the real estate company is in good standing.  
 
 (b) The responsible broker must be an officer, partner or 
manager, or hold an ownership interest in the real estate company.  
 
 (c) The following documents are necessary before issuing a 
responsible broker’s license to a real estate company engaged in real 
estate activity:  
 

 (i) A properly executed application and fee.  
 

 (ii) A copy of the documents establishing company 
organization.  
 

 (iii) A copy of the bylaws of the corporation; or other 
operating agreement for the real estate company.  
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 (iv) A copy of the meeting minutes of the corporation; 

partnership, limited liability company, or other entity indicating the 
name of the responsible broker.  
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FEES 
 
Section 1. Fees. 
 

(a) The following nonrefundable and non-prorated fees shall be 
charged by the real estate commission: 

 
(i) Examination fee ................................................................$140 

 
(ii) Each original broker/salesman license ..............................$300 

 
(iii) Each original business entity/branch office license 

(except sole proprietorships) ................................................$300 
 

(iv) Duplicate license (lost original) ..........................................$20 
 

(v) Broker/Salesman 3 year renewal license ..........................$350 
 

(vi) Business entity/Branch office 3 year renewal license 
(except sole proprietorships) ................................................$350 
 

(vii) Recovery fund (W.S. 33-28-201(b)) ...................................$20 
 

(viii) Late renewal fee ..................................................................$75 
 

(ix) Continuing education course application fee ......................$50 
 

(x) Each business change of address ........................................$25 
 

(xi) Each transfer/active status request/name change ................$30 
 

(xii) Admin fee for group program errors and omissions ...........$15 
 

(xiii) Certified License History ....................................................$10 
 

(xiv) Certified copies of documents ............................................$10 
 

 

2-8 

 



CHAPTER 3 
FEES 

 
 Section 1. Fees.  

 
 (a) The following nonrefundable and non-prorated fees shall be 

charged by the real estate commission:  
 

(i) Examination fee       $140  
 

(ii) Each original broker's license    $200  
 

(iii) Each original business entity  
(except sole proprietorships)     $200  

 
(iv) Each original associate broker's license   $200  

 
(ix) Duplicate license (lost original)    $20  

 
(x) Duplicate pocket card (lost original)   $20  

 
(xi) Broker 3 yr. renewal license     $250  

 
(xii) Business entity 3 yr. renewal license  

(except sole proprietorships)     $250  
 

(xiii)Associate broker 3 yr. renewal license   $250  
 

(xiv) Salesman 3 yr. renewal license    $250  
 

(xv) Branch office 3 yr. renewal license    $200  
 

(xvi) Recovery fund (W.S. 33-28-201(b))    $20  
 

(xvii)Late renewal fee       $75  
 

(xviii)Continuing education course application  
fee          $50  

 
(v) Each original salesman's license    $100  

 
(vi) Each branch office license     $100  

 
(vii) Each business address change     $25  

 
(viii)Each transfer, i.e., change of sponsoring 

broker, etc.        $30 
 

(ix) Administrative fee for group program  
errors and omissions        $15 
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FORMS 
 

Section 1. Minimum requirements, forms.  
 
 (a) A responsible broker or licensee acting on his behalf shall, at the time of 
signing, deliver a hard or electronic copy of any document to the party or parties 
executing the same when such instrument has been prepared by the responsible broker or 
licensee acting on his behalf or under his supervision, or is within his control, including 
but not limited to instruments relating to the employment of the responsible broker or 
licensee acting on his behalf, the listing of real estate, the consummation of a lease, 
purchase, sale or exchange of property, or to any other type of real estate transaction in 
which he participates as a responsible broker or licensee acting on behalf of the 
responsible broker. It is the responsibility of the responsible broker or licensee acting on 
his behalf to prepare sufficient copies of such instruments in order that the above may be 
accomplished.  

 
 (i) Nothing herein shall be construed to permit the licensee to withhold 

such delivery in order to obtain other signatures on such instrument, or for any other 
reason.  

 
 (ii) Readily available and properly indexed copies of all unrecorded 

documents shall be retained by the responsible broker for 7 years.  
 
 (b) The responsible broker or licensee acting on his behalf shall prepare the 
purchase offer and acceptance form, exchange contract form or other inducement 
document form for the voluntary transfer of freehold or non-freehold real estate to 
include but not be limited to:  
 

 (i) The name and address of the real estate company.  
 

 (ii) The date of offer by offeror.  
 

 (iii) Real estate description that will adequately identify the real estate.  
 

 (iv) Enumerated and described personal property included in the 
transaction may be referenced by addendum.  
 

 (v) Total amount of purchase price. For a lease or rental agreement, the 
total amount of rent payments, if applicable, or the periodic rate.  
 

 (vi) Total amount and type of earnest money deposit, damage, security or 
other deposits and any understanding for the return of all or part of the deposits.  
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 (vii) Complete and accurate description of all contractual conditions 
including balance of purchase price, rent or lease payments or management fees and 
terms or conditions of payment.  

 
 (viii) Date of actual or constructive possession and assignment of leases or 

referenced to closing date.  
 

 (ix) Specified date of closing.  
 

 (x) Date that offering document expires. 
 
 (xi) Signature of responsible broker or his agent upon receipt of monies or 

other valuable property coming into his possession which belongs to others.  
 

 (xii) Date of acceptance of offer by offeree.  
 

 (xiii) All changes made to an offer or counter-offer mustshall be dated and 
initialed by all parties to the contract. (xiv) When an offeror makes an offer which is 
accepted by the offeree, the licensee interacting with the offeree mustshall immediately 
notify the offeror or the licensee interacting with the offeror of the acceptance.  
 

 (xiv) If contract terms are amended or extended, a written agreement form 
to amend or extend mustshall be prepared and shall be signed by all parties to the 
transaction.  
 

 (xv) All offers presented by a licensee and rejected by the offeree shall be 
so rejected in writing upon the offer form presented. The licensee shall deliver a copy of 
such offer with the written rejection thereon to the offeror or the licensee working with 
the offeror.  
 

  (A) Should an offeree authorize the licensee to reject on his behalf 
or refuse to execute a written rejection, the licensee shall, by a written, signed statement, 
verify the date of offeree’s oral notification to the licensee of rejection of such offer.  
 

 (xvi) A copy of the acknowledged disclosures as required by W.S. 33-28-
306 and 33-28-308(f).  
 
 (c) Cooperating responsible brokers or licensees acting on their behalf shall 
present offers and shall negotiate only through the listing responsible broker or licensees 
acting on his behalf unless the listing responsible broker gives written consent to contact 
the principal. All offers shall be presented as expeditiously as possible.  
 
 (d) A responsible broker shall ensure that his agents comply with minimum 
commissionCommission requirements when preparing contracts and obtaining signatures. 
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CHAPTER 4 
FORMS 

 
 Section 1. Minimum requirements, forms.  
 
 (a) A responsible broker or licensee acting on his behalf shall, 
at the time of signing, deliver a hard or electronic copy of any 
document to the party or parties executing the same when such 
instrument has been prepared by the responsible broker or licensee 
acting on his behalf or under his supervision, or is within his 
control, including but not limited to instruments relating to the 
employment of the responsible broker or licensee acting on his behalf, 
the listing of real estate, the consummation of a lease, purchase, sale 
or exchange of property, or to any other type of real estate 
transaction in which he participates as a responsible broker or 
licensee acting on behalf of the responsible broker. It is the 
responsibility of the responsible broker or licensee acting on his 
behalf to prepare sufficient copies of such instruments in order that 
the above may be accomplished.  
 
 (i) Nothing herein shall be construed to permit the licensee to 
withhold such delivery in order to obtain other signatures on such 
instrument, or for any other reason.  
 
 (ii) Readily available and properly indexed copies of all 
unrecorded documents shall be retained by the responsible broker for 7 
years.  
 
 (b) The responsible broker or licensee acting on his behalf shall 
prepare the purchase offer and acceptance form, exchange contract form 
or other inducement document form for the voluntary transfer of 
freehold or non-freehold real estate to include but not be limited to:  
 
 (i) The name and address of the real estate company.  
 
 (ii) The date of offer by offeror.  
 
 (iii) Real estate description that will adequately identify the 
real estate.  
 
 (iv) Enumerated and described personal property included in the 
transaction may be referenced by addendum.  
 
 (v) Total amount of purchase price. For a lease or rental 
agreement, the total amount of rent payments, if applicable, or the 
periodic rate.  
 
 (vi) Total amount and type of earnest money deposit, damage, 
security or other deposits and any understanding for the return of all 
or part of the deposits.  
 
 (vii) Complete and accurate description of all contractual 
conditions including balance of purchase price, rent or lease payments 
or management fees and terms or conditions of payment.  
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 (viii) Date of actual or constructive possession and assignment 
of leases or referenced to closing date.  
 
 (ix) Specified date of closing.  
 
 (x) Date that offering document expires. 
 
 (xi) Signature of responsible broker or his agent upon receipt of 
monies or other valuable property coming into his possession which 
belongs to others.  
 
 (xii) Date of acceptance of offer by offeree.  
 
 (xiii) All changes made to an offer or counter-offer must be 
dated and initialed by all parties to the contract. (xiv) When an 
offeror makes an offer which is accepted by the offeree, the licensee 
interacting with the offeree must immediately notify the offeror or the 
licensee interacting with the offeror of the acceptance.  
 
 (xiv) If contract terms are amended or extended, a written 
agreement form to amend or extend must be prepared and shall be signed 
by all parties to the transaction.  
 
 (xv) All offers presented by a licensee and rejected by the 
offeree shall be so rejected in writing upon the offer form presented. 
The licensee shall deliver a copy of such offer with the written 
rejection thereon to the offeror or the licensee working with the 
offeror.  
 
  (A) Should an offeree authorize the licensee to reject on 
his behalf or refuse to execute a written rejection, the licensee 
shall, by a written, signed statement, verify the date of offeree’s 
oral notification to the licensee of rejection of such offer.  
 
 (xvi) A copy of the acknowledged disclosures as required by W.S. 
33-28-306 and 33-28-308(f).  
 
 (c) Cooperating responsible brokers or licensees acting on their 
behalf shall present offers and shall negotiate only through the 
listing responsible broker or licensees acting on his behalf unless the 
listing responsible broker gives written consent to contact the 
principal. All offers shall be presented as expeditiously as possible.  
 
 (d) A responsible broker shall ensure that his agents comply with 
minimum commission requirements when preparing contracts and obtaining 
signatures. 
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4-2  
RENEWALS - EDUCATION 

Section 1. License renewals – Education requirements. 
 
 (a)  Licenses expire at midnight December 31. Those licensees who fail to 
renew by the December 31 deadline shall have an additional 60 days to renew by paying 
a $75 late renewal fee in addition to the fee required for renewal. All applications for 
renewal shall be postmarked on or before December 31 or within the 60-day grace period 
ending on or before March 1. Licenses not renewed by December 31 lapse and the 
licensee shall not perform or engage in real estate activity until renewed. 
 
 (b)  All licensees are required to complete and show proof of at least forty-five 
(45) hours of continuing education during each three (3) year renewal period.  Twenty-
four (24) hours of continuing education hours mustshall be obtained through satisfactory 
completion of specific courses selected by the commissionCommission and posted on the 
commissionCommission web site as “required courses”.  The remaining hours may be 
obtained through satisfactory completion of other “elective” courses approved by the 
commissionCommission.  
 
  (i) An inactive licensee will not have to furnish proof of continuing 
education until such time as licensee requests the activation of an inactive license.  

  (ii) Licensed individuals instructing commissionCommission approved 
courses may submit said class for continuing education hours toward their renewal.  

  (iii) Licensees may submit the following courses physically attended in 
another state for “elective” continuing education: 

   (A) Any course in real estate, or a directly related area, approved 
by the commissionCommission or by any real estate regulatory body in any state or 
province or having a current ARELLO certification which is not less than three (3) clock 
hours. 
 
   (B) Any course in real estate, or a directly related area, offered by 
any institution accredited by a regional accrediting agency which is recognized by the 
Office of Education of the United States Department of Health, Education and Welfare. 
 
  (iv) Distance education and online courses mustshall have been approved 
by the CommissionCommission. 
 
 (c) A responsible broker who renews a license which expires in 2012 or 
thereafter is required to complete a commissionCommission approved broker 
management course during each licensing period in addition to the continuing education 
required in section 1 (b) above. 
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  (i) An approved broker management course mustshall be: 
 
   (A) Rated an eight (8) hour course. 
 
   (B) Cover the learning objectives posted on the 
commissionCommission website. 
 
   (C) Meet all other requirements of this chapter. 
 
 (d) An approved broker management course can be used for elective 
continuing education credit by licensees not using it as a requirement for becoming a 
responsible broker or renewing a responsible broker’s license. 
 
 (e) Courses may not be taken for continuing education credit more than once 
during any renewal cycle. 

 
Section 2. CE approval. 
 
 (a) Prior to offering elective real estate continuing education courses, a course 
provider desiring course approval by the commissionCommission shall make application 
on forms prescribed by the commissionCommission which require information 
concerning course(s) offered, course outlines, examination(s), instructor(s) and pay the 
appropriate application fee.  
  
 (b)  The following will be used in determining whether to approve a course;  

    
  (i)  The course mustshall be at least three (3) clock hours in duration; 
 
  (ii)  Standards: 
 
   (A)  If the course deals with real estate, or a directly related area, 
and it is approved by any real estate regulatory body in any state or province and has a 
current ARELLO certification, the course will be favorably considered. 
 
   (B)  If the course deals with real estate, or a directly related area, 
and is offered by any institution accredited by a regional accrediting agency which is 
recognized by the Office of Education of the United States Department of Health, 
Education and Welfare, the course will be favorably considered. 
 
   (C)  Courses falling into the following categories will also be 
considered: 
 
    (I)  Real estate ethics; 
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    (II) Real estate law, contract law, agency, real estate 
licensing law;  
 
    (III)  Legislative issues that influence real estate practice 
including both pending and recent legislation and rules/rule making; 
 
    (IV)  Real estate market measurement and evaluation, 
including site evaluations, market data, and feasibility studies; 
 
    (V)  Real estate brokerage management and supervision; 
 
    (VI)  Real estate mathematics; 
 
    (VII)  Real property management; 
 
    (VIII)  Real property exchange; 
 
    (IX)  Real estate securities and syndication; 
 
    (X)  Estate building and portfolio management; 
 
    (XI)  Accounting and taxation as applied to real property; 
 
    (XII)  Land development, land use planning and zoning, 
construction, energy conservation in building; 
 
    (XII)  Antitrust; 
 
    (XIV) Fair housing, affirmative marketing, Americans with 
Disabilities Act; 
 
    (XV) Real estate financing, including mortgages and other 
financing techniques; 
 
    (XVI) Real estate investment; 
 
    (XVII) Real estate appraising; 
 
    XVIII) Real estate inspections; 
 
    (XIX) Timeshares, condominiums and cooperatives; 
 
    (XX) Real estate environmental issues and hazards, 
including lead-based paint, underground storage tanks, radon, etc.; 
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    (XXI) Water rights; 
 
    (XXII) Negotiation skills; 
 
  (iii) Other Topics. Upon written request, the commissionCommission may 
also approve any other topic that directly relates to real estate practice and that directly 
contributes to the accomplishment of the primary purpose of raising the standards of 
practice. 
     
 (c)   The course provider requesting approval of a course shall apply for 
approval at least sixty (60) days before conducting the proposed course. 
 
 (d)  A course provider which offers a course approved for continuing 
education shall notify the commissionCommission if there is a substantial change in the 
approved offering, which changes mustshall be approved by the commissionCommission 
prior to implementation. 
 
 (e)  Staff may approve courses which clearly meet the requirements of Chapter 
5, Section 2(b). 

 (f)  Distance education courses mustshall be certified by the Association of 
Real Estate License Law Officials (ARELLO) or be specifically approved by the 
commissionCommission (i.e., commissionCommission owned distance education 
courses). Proof mustshall be supplied that the student completed the course within one (1) 
year of the date of enrollment. 

 (g)  Elective continuing education course approval expires two (2) years from 
the date of approval. 

 (h)  A Wyoming Real Estate CommissionCommission member may monitor 
any class and the course fee will be waived. That member will not receive continuing 
education credit for attending such class. 

 (j)  If the commissionCommission determines a course of study previously 
approved no longer meets the prescribed standards, a written notice of withdrawal of 
approval shall be given stating the reasons for the withdrawal.  The withdrawal becomes 
effective twenty (20) days from the date of notice unless the person or entity giving the 
course files a written request for a hearing with the commissionCommission before the 
withdrawal becomes effective.  If a request for a hearing is filed, the withdrawal of 
approval will not become effective unless ordered by the commissionCommission within 
ninety (90) days after the hearing. 

 (k)  The commissionCommission mustshall be notified of each offering to 
include date, place, and time. 

 (m)  The course location mustshall meet ADA requirements. 
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 (n)  Records of attendance and course evaluation forms mustshall be submitted 
to the commissionCommission by the course provider within ten (10) days after the 
course and maintained by the course provider for five (5) years and mustshall indicate: 

  (i) The name of each participant. 

  (ii) The hours and dates each licensee attended the course. 

  (iii) The title and description of the course attended. 

  (iv) The name of the instructor. 

 (o) The course provider mustshall certify that the licensee attended at least 
ninety (90) percent of the approved course hours of instruction. 

  (i) Should an approved instructor feel that a student is disrupting the class, 
he, at his discretion, may ask the student to leave. 

 (p)   Actual clock hours are required to award credit to a student. No credit will 
be given for only taking an examination. 

 (q)  A course evaluation form mustshall be provided to each participant at the 
end of each course for submission to the commissionCommission. 

 (r)  The course provider mustshall agree to participate in the 
commissionCommission’s education electronic tracking system and enter information 
within ten (10) days of the offering. 

 (s) A clock hour is at least 50 minutes of instructional time per hour. 

Section 3. Instructor qualifications. 

 (a)  Those who instruct a commissionCommission approved education course 
shall meet at least one of the following qualifications, unless granted a special exception 
by the commissionCommission: 
 
  (i)  Completion of an instructor training certification course of not less 
than four (4) hours within the last three (3) years. 

 
  (ii)  Five (5) years of current experience in the subject instructed. 

 
 (b)  Those who instruct required continuing education courses or 
commissionCommission developed courses shall agree to the conditions stated in (a) 
above and below unless granted a special exception by the commissionCommission: 
 
  (i)  Participate in the maintenance and updating of the required course 
or commissionCommission developed courses as needed; 
 
  (ii)  Achieve favorable evaluations following a commissionCommission 
audit of the instructor teaching the required or commissionCommission developed 
course; 
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  (iii)  Agree that discipline of an instructor’s real estate license may be a 
basis for denial or suspension of that instructor’s approval. 
 
  (iv)  Agree any new material an instructor wants to teach mustshall first be 
approved by the commissionCommission and, if approved, the material will be disbursed 
by the commissionCommission staff to all approved instructors to be included in the 
course outline. 
 
   (A)  The commissionCommission may continue to provide recent 
consent orders for instructors to utilize at the instructors discretion. 

 
  (v)  A pre-license instructor may take the salesman license exam only 
once every two years. 
 
 (c)  Instructors shall not promote products during instructional hours. This 
includes specific verbal reference, print media or product display in the course delivery 
area. 
 
 (d)  Instructors mustshall audit a commissionCommission developed course 
prior to obtaining approval to instruct said course or obtain special permission from the 
commissionCommission. 
 
 (e)  Printed handouts of commissionCommission sponsored courses will be 
provided to instructors.  If the instructor chooses to expand the course outline, the 
additional information mustshall be approved by the commissionCommission, and the 
instructor will have to bear the costs of printing the new handouts. 
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CHAPTER 5 
RENEWALS – EDUCATION 

 
 Section 1. License renewals – Education requirements. 
 
 (a)  Licenses expire at midnight December 31. Those licensees 
who fail to renew by the December 31 deadline shall have an additional 
60 days to renew by paying a $75 late renewal fee in addition to the 
fee required for renewal. All applications for renewal shall be 
postmarked on or before December 31 or within the 60-day grace period 
ending on or before March 1. Licenses not renewed by December 31 lapse 
and the licensee shall not perform or engage in real estate activity 
until renewed. 
 
 (b)  All licensees are required to complete and show proof of at 
least forty-five (45) hours of continuing education during each three 
(3) year renewal period.  Twenty-four (24) hours of continuing 
education hours must be obtained through satisfactory completion of 
specific courses selected by the commission and posted on the 
commission web site as “required courses”.  The remaining hours may be 
obtained through satisfactory completion of other “elective” courses 
approved by the commission.  
 
  (i) An inactive licensee will not have to furnish proof of 
continuing education until such time as licensee requests the 
activation of an inactive license.  
  (ii) Licensed individuals instructing commission approved 
courses may submit said class for continuing education hours toward 
their renewal.  
  (iii) Licensees may submit the following courses physically 
attended in another state for “elective” continuing education: 
   (A) Any course in real estate, or a directly related 
area, approved by the commission or by any real estate regulatory body 
in any state or province or having a current ARELLO certification which 
is not less than three (3) clock hours. 
 
   (B) Any course in real estate, or a directly related 
area, offered by any institution accredited by a regional accrediting 
agency which is recognized by the Office of Education of the United 
States Department of Health, Education and Welfare. 
 
  (iv) Distance education and online courses must have been 
approved by the Commission. 
 
 (c)   A responsible broker who renews a license which expires in 
2012 or thereafter is required to complete a commission approved broker 
management course during each licensing period in addition to the 
continuing education required in section 1 (b) above. 
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  (i) An approved broker management course must be: 
 
   (A) Rated an eight (8) hour course 
 
   (B) Cover the learning objectives, posted on the 
commission website. 
 
   (C) Meet all other requirements of this chapter. 
 
 (d)  An approved broker management course can be used for 
continuing education credit by licensees not using it as a requirement 
for becoming a responsible broker or renewing a responsible broker’s 
license. 
 
 (e)  Courses may not be taken for continuing education credit 
more than once during any renewal cycle. 
 
 Section 2. CE approval. 
 
 (a) Prior to offering elective real estate continuing education 
courses, a course provider desiring course approval by the commission 
shall make application on forms prescribed by the commission which 
require information concerning course(s) offered, course outlines, 
examination(s), instructor(s) and pay the appropriate application fee.  
  
 (b)   The following will be used in determining whether to 
approve a course;  
    
  (i)  The course must be at least three (3) clock hours in 
duration; 
 
  (ii)  Standards: 
 
   (A)  If the course deals with real estate, or a 
directly related area, and it is approved by any real estate regulatory 
body in any state or province and has a current ARELLO certification, 
the course will be favorably considered. 
 
   (B)  If the course deals with real estate, or a 
directly related area, and is offered by any institution accredited by 
a regional accrediting agency which is recognized by the Office of 
Education of the United States Department of Health, Education and 
Welfare, the course will be favorably considered. 
 
   (C)  Courses falling into the following categories 
will also be considered: 
 
    (I)  Real estate ethics; 
 
    (II) Real estate law; contract law; agency; 
real estate licensing law;  
 
    (III)  Legislative issues that influence real 
estate practice including both pending and recent legislation and 
rules/rule making; 
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    (IV)  Real estate market measurement and 
evaluation, including site evaluations, market data, and feasibility 
studies; 
 
    (V)  Real estate brokerage management and 
supervision; 
 
    (VI)  Real estate mathematics; 
 
    (VII)  Real property management; 
 
    (VIII)  Real property exchange; 
 
    (IX)  Real estate securities and syndication; 
 
    (X)  Estate building and portfolio management; 
 
    (XI)  Accounting and taxation as applied to 
real property; 
 
    (XII)  Land development; land use planning and 
zoning; construction; energy conservation in building; 
 
    (XII)  Antitrust; 
 
    (XIV) Fair housing; affirmative marketing; 
Americans with Disabilities Act; 
 
    (XV) Real estate financing, including mortgages 
and other financing techniques; 
 
    (XVI) Real estate investment; 
 
    (XVII) Real estate appraising; 
 
    (XVIII) Real estate inspections; 
 
    (XIX) Timeshares, condominiums and 
cooperatives; 
 
    (XX) Real estate environmental issues and 
hazards, including lead-based paint, underground storage tanks, radon, 
etc.; 
 
    (XXI) Water rights; 
 
    (XXII) Negotiation skills; 
 
  (iii) Other Topics. Upon written request, the commission 
may also approve any other topic that directly relates to real estate 
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practice and that directly contributes to the accomplishment of the 
primary purpose of raising the standards of practice. 
     
 (c)   The course provider requesting approval of a course shall 
apply for approval at least sixty (60) days before conducting the 
proposed course. 
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 (d)  A course provider which offers a course approved for 
continuing education shall notify the commission if there is a 
substantial change in the approved offering, which changes must be 
approved by the commission prior to implementation. 
 
 (e)  Staff may approve courses which clearly meet the 
requirements of Chapter 5, Section 2(b). 
 (f)  Distance education courses must be certified by the 
Association of Real Estate License Law Officials (ARELLO) or be 
specifically approved by the commission (i.e., commission owned 
distance education courses). Proof must be supplied that the student 
completed the course within one year of the date of enrollment. 
 (g)  Elective continuing education course approval expires two (2) years from the 
date of approval 
 (h)  A Wyoming Real Estate commission member may monitor any class and the 
course fee will be waived. That member will not receive continuing education credit for 
attending such class. 
 (j)  If the commission determines a course of study previously approved no longer 
meets the prescribed standards, a written notice of withdrawal of approval shall be given stating 
the reasons for the withdrawal.  The withdrawal becomes effective twenty (20) days from the 
date of notice unless the person or entity giving the course files a written request for a hearing 
with the commission before the withdrawal becomes effective.  If a request for a hearing is filed, 
the withdrawal of approval will not become effective unless ordered by the commission within 
(90) days after the hearing. 
 (k)  The commission must be notified of each offering, to include date, place, and 
time. 
 (m)  The course location must meet ADA requirements. 
 (n)  Records of attendance and course evaluation forms must be submitted to the 
commission by the course provider within ten (10) days after the course and maintained by the 
course provider for five (5) years and must indicate: 
  (i) The name of each participant 
  (ii) The hours and dates each licensee attended the course. 
  (iii) The title and description of the course attended. 
  (iv) The name of the instructor 
 (o) The course provider must certify that the licensee attended at least 90 percent 
of the approved course hours of instruction. 
  (i) Should an approved instructor feel that a student is disrupting the class, he, 
at his discretion, may ask the student to leave. 
 (p)   Actual clock hours are required to award credit to a student. No credit will be 
given for only taking an examination. 
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 (q)  A course evaluation form must be provided to each participant at the end of 
each course for submission to the commission. 
 (r)  The course provider must agree to participate in the commission’s education 
electronic tracking system and enter information within ten (10) days of the offering. 
 (s) A clock hour is at least 50 minutes of instructional time per hour. 
 Section 3. Instructor qualifications. 
 (a)  Those who instruct a commission approved education course 
shall meet at least one of the following qualifications, unless granted 
a special exception by the commission: 
 
  (i)  Completion of an instructor training certification 
course of not less than four(4) hours within the last three (3) years. 
 
  (ii)  Five (5) years of current experience in the subject 
instructed; 
 
 (b)  Those who instruct required continuing education courses or 
commission developed courses shall agree to the conditions stated in 
(a) above and below unless granted a special exception by the 
commission: 
 
  (i)  Participate in the maintenance and updating of the 
required course or commission developed courses as needed; 
 
  (ii)  Achieve favorable evaluations following a commission 
audit of the instructor teaching the required or commission developed 
course; 
 
  (iii) Agree that discipline of an instructor’s real estate 
license may be a  basis for denial or suspension of that instructor’s 
approval. 
 
  (iv)  Agree any new material an instructor wants to teach 
must first be approved by the commission and, if approved, the material 
will be disbursed by the commission staff to all approved instructors 
to be included in the course outline. 
 
   (A)  The commission may continue to provide recent 
consent orders for instructors to utilize at the instructors 
discretion. 
 
  (v)  A pre-license instructor may take the salesman icense 
exam only once every two years. 
 
 (c)  Instructors shall not promote products during instructional 
hours. This includes specific verbal reference, print media or product 
display in the course delivery area. 
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 (d)  Instructors must audit a commission developed course prior 
to obtaining approval to instruct said course or obtain special 
permission from the commission. 
 
 (e)  Printed handouts of commission sponsored courses will be 
provided to instructors.  If the instructor chooses to expand the 
course outline, the additional information must be approved by the 
commission, and the instructor will have to bear the costs of printing 
the new handouts. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 

5-7 
 



 

 
 

5-6 
 BROKERS’ TRUST ACCOUNTS 

 
Section 1. Broker’s trust accounts. 
 
 (a) All “money belonging to others” accepted by the responsible broker shall 
be deposited with a funds holder or in a bank, financial institution or other recognized 
depository in this state in a trust account separate from money belonging to the 
responsible broker A banking trust account may be any type of checking, demand, 
passbook, or statement account insured by an agency of the United States government.  
The name of each trust account shall be identified by the word “trust” or “escrow”.  The 
account shall be maintained in the name of the responsible broker. 
 
 (b) “Money belonging to others” which is received by the responsible broker 
or licensees or employees acting on his behalf includes but is not limited to money 
received in connection with property management contracts; rent or lease contracts; 
advance fee contracts; or money belonging to others received for future investment or 
other purposes. 
 
 (c) If the responsible broker does business as a real estate company, such 
account shall be maintained in the name of the responsible broker acting for such real 
estate company and in the name of the real estate company.  The name of the responsible 
broker is to be followed by the words “responsible broker”. 
 
 (d) Each “trust” bank account heading shall include a label identifying the 
purpose/type of such account, i.e. “sales trust,” “security deposit escrow,” “property 
management trust.” 
 
 (e) Unless otherwise permitted by other subsections of this rule, all money 
belonging to others shall be deposited accounting to the purpose of the transaction in 
separate types of escrow accounts.  For example, sales escrow deposits separated from 
property management deposits separated form security deposits as follows: 
 
 For example: 
 
  Line 1 – XYZ Realty 
  Line 2 – John Doe, Responsible Broker 
  Line 3 – Meadows Homeowners’ Association Escrow Account 
 
  (i) The responsible broker mustshall be able to withdraw money from such 
trust account without the benefit of a cosigner.  Other authorized signatures of licensed or 
unlicensed people may also appear on the account. 
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  (ii) Money belonging to others shall not be invested in any type of account 
or security or certificate of deposit which has a fixed term for maturity unless the written 
consent of all parties to the transaction has been secured. 
 
  (iii) Money held in a trust account which is due and payable to the 
responsible broker shall be withdrawn promptly.  Monies earned by licensees affiliated 
with a responsible broker may not be paid directly from the responsible broker’s trust 
account. 
 
  (iv) All money belonging to others in the form of cash or check received 
shall be deposited directly into the listing responsible broker’s trust account or with the 
responsible broker’s funds holder by the listing responsible broker, not later than the first 
banking day after receipt unless all persons having an interest in the funds have agreed 
otherwise in writing. 
 
  (v) When trust funds are held by a funds holder, the responsible broker 
shall obtain a receipt showing the date and the amount of the funds transferred to the 
funds holder. 
 
   (A) The broker, for each funds holder account maintained, shall 
also maintain a recordkeeping system in his place of business, consisting of at least the 
following:  Date Received/Paid, Check number, Amount, Buyer, Seller, Escrow Agent, 
Date Delivered, Description of the real estate, Disposition of Transaction. 
 
  (vi) The responsible broker, for all money belonging to others, shall also 
maintain a recordkeeping system in his place of business consisting of at least the 
following: 
 
   (A) A journal mustshall show the chronological sequence in which 
funds are received and disbursed.  For funds received, the journal mustshall include the 
date, the name of the party who is giving the money, the name of the principal, address or 
description of the real estate, the amount.  For disbursements, the journal mustshall also 
include the date, check number, amount, payee, principal, and the address or description 
of the real estate. The journal mustshall include a current running balance. 
 
   (B) A transaction ledger mustshall show the receipts and 
disbursements as they affect a particular transaction between buyer and seller or landlord 
and tenant, etc.  The transaction ledger mustshall include the names of both parties to the 
transaction, the dates and amounts received, and the address and description of the real 
estate.  When funds are disbursed, the date, payee, check number, and amount mustshall 
be shown. 
 
   (C) The responsible broker shall reconcile trust account journals 
and ledger liabilities monthly.  The bank reconciliation shall prove agreement on the date  
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of reconciliation by (1) the cash balance showing in the account journal; (2) the sum of 
the cash balances for all ledgers; and (3) the corresponding bank account balance.  This 
worksheet mustshall be maintained in hard copy form for later inspection and list each 
beneficiary’s ledger balance on the date of reconciliation.  The responsible broker is not 
required to reconcile any trust account when no banking activity has occurred. 
 
   (D) Separate trust account journals mustshall be reconciled with 
the related bank statement monthly. 
 
 (f) Money belonging to one beneficiary shall not be used for the benefit of 
another beneficiary. 
 
 (g) Any instrument or equity or thing of value taken in lieu of cash shall be 
held by the listing responsible broker except as otherwise agreed to by all parties to the 
transaction. 
 
 (h) A nonresident responsible broker licensed in Wyoming engaged in real 
estate activity in this state shall maintain such separate trust accounts with a Wyoming 
funds holder or in a bank or recognized depository in Wyoming. 
 
 (j) A responsible broker is not limited to the number of separate trust 
accounts or funds holder accounts he may maintain for money belonging to others. 
 
 (k) When money is collected by a responsible broker for performance or 
services or for the expenses of performing such services, or for advertising expenses in 
regard to the sale of real estate, and such money is collected before the advertising or 
services have been performed, such responsible broker shall deposit such money with a 
funds holder or in a trust account.  No money may be withdrawn from such principal’s 
funds, except for actual expenses paid on behalf of the principal, until the responsible 
broker has fully performed the services for which the principal contracted.  A full and 
itemized accounting mustshall be furnished the principal within twenty (20) days of any 
withdrawal of such principal’s funds from such principal’s account. 
 
Section 2. Audits. 
 
 (a) The commissionCommission may audit the responsible broker’s records 
of his trust accounts and the responsible broker’s records of monies deposited with his 
funds holders to assure compliance with commissionCommission rules and statutes. 
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CHAPTER 6 
BROKERS’ TRUST ACCOUNTS 

 
 Section 1.  Brokers’ trust accounts. 

 (a)  All "money belonging to others" accepted by the responsible 
broker shall be deposited with a funds holder or in a bank, financial 
institution or other recognized depository in this state in a trust 
account separate from money belonging to the responsible broker. A 
banking trust account may be any type of checking, demand, passbook, or 
statement account insured by an agency of the United States government. 
The name of each trust account shall be identified by the word "trust" 
or “escrow”. The account shall be maintained in the name of the 
responsible broker. 

 (b)  "Money belonging to others" which is received by the 
responsible broker or licensees or employees acting on his behalf 
includes but is not limited to money received in connection with 
property management contracts; rent or lease contracts; advance fee 
contracts; or money belonging to others received for future investment 
or other purposes. 

 (c)  If the responsible broker does business as a real estate 
company, such account shall be maintained in the name of the 
responsible broker acting for such real estate company and in the name 
of the real estate company. The name of the responsible broker is to be 
followed by the words “responsible broker”. 

 (d)  Each “trust” bank account heading shall include a label 
identifying the purpose/type of such account, i.e., “sales trust,” 
“security deposit escrow,” “property management trust.” 

 (e)  Unless otherwise permitted by other subsections of this 
rule, all money belonging to others shall be deposited according to the 
purpose of the transaction in separate types of escrow accounts. For 
example, sales escrow deposits separated from property management 
deposits separated from security deposits as follows: 

For example:  

Line 1 – XYZ Realty 

Line 2 – John Doe, Responsible Broker 

Line 3 – Meadows Homeowners’ Association Escrow Account 

  (i) The responsible broker must be able to withdraw money 
from such trust account without the benefit of a cosigner. Other 
authorized signatures of licensed or unlicensed people may also appear 
on the account. 

  (ii) Money belonging to others shall not be invested in any 
type of account or security or certificate of deposit which has a fixed 
term for maturity unless the written consent of all parties to the 
transaction has been secured. 

  (iii) Money held in a trust account which is due and 
payable to the responsible broker shall be withdrawn promptly. Monies 
earned by licensees affiliated with a responsible broker may not be 
paid directly from the responsible broker's trust account. 
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  (iv) All money belonging to others in the form of cash or 
check received shall be deposited directly into the listing responsible 
broker's trust account or with the responsible broker’s funds holder by 
the listing responsible broker, not later than the first banking day 
after receipt unless all persons having an interest in the funds have 
agreed otherwise in writing. 

  (v) When trust funds are held by a funds holder, the 
responsible broker shall obtain a receipt showing the date and the 
amount of the funds transferred to the funds holder.  

   (A) The broker, for each funds holder account 
maintained, shall also maintain a recordkeeping system in his place of 
business, consisting of at least the following:  Date Received/Paid, 
Check number, Amount, Buyer, Seller, Escrow Agent, Date Delivered, 
Description of the real estate, Disposition of Transaction. 

  (vi) The responsible broker, for all money belonging to 
others, shall also maintain a recordkeeping system in his place of 
business consisting of at least the following: 

   (A) A journal must show the chronological sequence in 
which funds are received and disbursed. For funds received, the journal 
must include the date, the name of the party who is giving the money, 
the name of the principal, address or description of the real estate, 
and the amount. For disbursements, the journal must also include the 
date, check number, amount, payee, principal, and the address or 
description of the real estate. The journal must include a current 
running balance. 

   (B) A transaction ledger must show the receipts and 
disbursements as they affect a particular transaction as between buyer 
and seller or landlord and tenant, etc. The transaction ledger must 
include the names of both parties to the transaction, the dates and 
amounts received, and the address and description of the real estate. 
When funds are disbursed, the date, payee, check number, and amount 
must be shown. 

   (C) The responsible broker shall reconcile trust 
account journals and ledger liabilities monthly. The bank 
reconciliation shall prove agreement on the date of reconciliation by 
(1) the cash balance showing in the account journal; (2) the sum of the 
cash balances for all ledgers; and (3) the corresponding bank account 
balance. This worksheet must be maintained in hard copy form for later 
inspection and list each beneficiary’s ledger balance on the date of 
reconciliation. The responsible broker is not required to reconcile any 
trust account when no banking activity has occurred. 

   (D) Separate trust account journals must be 
reconciled with the related bank statement monthly. 

 (f)  Money belonging to one beneficiary shall not be used for 
the benefit of another beneficiary. 

 (g)  Any instrument or equity or thing of value taken in lieu of 
cash shall be held by the listing responsible broker except as 
otherwise agreed to by all parties to the transaction. 
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  (h)  A nonresident responsible broker licensed in Wyoming 
engaged in real estate activity in this state shall maintain such 
separate trust accounts with a Wyoming funds holder or in a bank or 
recognized depository in Wyoming. 

 (j)  A responsible broker is not limited to the number of 
separate trust accounts or funds holder accounts he may maintain for 
money belonging to others. 

 (k)  When money is collected by a responsible broker for 
performance or services or for the expenses of performing such 
services, or for advertising expenses in regard to the sale of real 
estate, and such money is collected before the advertising or services 
have been performed, such responsible broker shall deposit such money 
with a funds holder or in a trust account. No money may be withdrawn 
from such principal's funds, except for actual expenses paid on behalf 
of the principal, until the responsible broker has fully performed the 
services for which the principal contracted. A full and itemized 
accounting must be furnished the principal within twenty (20) days of 
any withdrawal of such principal's funds from such principal's account. 

 Section 2. Audits. 

 (a)  The commission may audit the responsible broker’s records 
of his trust accounts and the responsible broker’s records of monies 
deposited with his funds holders to assure compliance with commission 
rules and statutes. 
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REGULATORY ENFORCEMENT GROUNDS 
 

Section 1. Regulatory enforcement grounds. The commissionCommission may take 
disciplinary action, which includes an administrative fine, censure, probation, suspension, 
or revocation, including a combination thereof, with respect to a licensee, for any of the 
following acts or conduct: 
 
 (a) Against a licensee and/or licensee’s responsible broker for: 
 
  (i) Violating or failing to comply with any rule of the 
commissionCommission or provision of the act; 
 
  (ii) Participating in real estate activity while a license is on inactive status; 
 
  (iii) Representing that a particular form or sales commissionCommission 
rate has been approved by the commissionCommission; 
 
  (iv) Violation or assisting in the violation of local, state or federal law or 
regulation; 
 
  (v) Using a form which does not describe the actual real estate transaction; 
 
  (vi) Making any false promise which influences, persuades, or induces 
action by another relating to a real estate transaction; 
 
  (vii) Failing to account for or to remit any moneys or documents coming 
into his possession which belong to others; 
 
  (viii) Commingling the money or property of others with his own; 
 
  (ix) Permitting the use of his license as a responsible broker to enable 
anyone to operate a real estate company without actual participations therein and control 
thereof by the responsible broker; 
 
  (x) Failing to provide information requested by the 
commissionCommission relative to a complaint, investigation, or audit which could 
indicate a violation of the act; 
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  (xi) Failing to disclose matters know to the licensee which are material to 
the real estate transaction; 
 
  (xii) Failing to notify sub-agents, multiple listing service or other 
interested parties when agency or non-agency has been terminated.  Notice to multiple 
listing services shall constitute notice to all members thereof; 
  (xiii) Failing to remove signs and/or lock boxes after termination of a 
listing; continuing to advertise real estate which is no longer listed; 
 
  (xiv) Advertising and promoting another real estate company’s or broker’s 
listings without written permission; 
 
  (xv) Failing to pay a fine imposed or comply with all requirements of a 
commissionCommission settlement agreement, stipulation and order; 
 
  (xvi) Compensating any unlicensed person for performing the services of a 
licensee for any real estate activity except: 
 
   (A) Anyone arranging non-consecutive short-term rentals.  
 
  (xvii) Failing to obtain and maintain errors and omissions insurance and 
provide proof of insurance to the commissionCommission.  
 
 (b) Unless approved by the commissionCommission, the voluntary surrender, 
expiration or lapse of a license by a licensee does not prevent the 
commissionCommission from proceeding with its investigation of a complaint and taking 
appropriate disciplinary action against a licensee. 
 
Section 2. Suspension/revocation requirements.  
 
 (a) When a responsible broker's license is suspended or revoked, he shall return his 
license and the licenses of his associate brokers and salesmen to the office of the 
commissionCommission.  
 
  (i) Licensees affiliated with a responsible broker who have had their license 
suspended or revoked may not perform any real estate activity until they have transferred to a 
new responsible broker.  
 
 (b) When an associate broker or salesman license has been suspended or revoked, the 
licensee mustshall surrender his license to the responsible broker who shall return the license 
to the commissionCommission.  
 
Section 3. Unlawful compensation; disputes between licensees.  
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 (a) The commissionCommission shall not entertain complaints between licensees 
regarding disputes concerning matters of compensation, the earning, splitting or the non-
payment thereof. 
 
 (b) A responsible broker may compensate an unlicensed or inactive person for 
real estate activity performed if the person was actively licensed and under the 
responsible broker’s supervision at the time the real estate activity was performed. 
 
 (c) W.S. 33-28-110 (a) does not apply to incentives offered or paid to persons, 
who on their own behalf, engage the services of a licensee to assist them with the sale or 
purchase of real estate, provided those persons do not perform any real estate activity.  
Advertising and/or paying such incentives does not violate any provision of the act or 
rule or regulation of the commissionCommission. 
 
 (d) A licensee may pay their personal assistant a salary directly.  The responsible 
broker mustshall pay a licensed personal assistant if that personal assistant is to receive a 
percentage of any compensation. 
 
 (e) A responsible broker’s payment of earned real estate commissionCommission 
to a corporation or LLC which is solely owned by a licensee working under the 
responsible broker shall not be considered a violation of W.S. 33-28-111(a)(xxiii), 
“compensating any unlicensed person.”  Any agreement between the responsible broker 
and the corporation or LLC does not relieve the responsible broker of the obligation to 
supervise the licensee or any other requirement of the act or commissionCommission 
rules. 
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CHAPTER 7 
REGULATORY ENFORCEMENT GROUNDS 
 
 Section 1. Regulatory enforcement grounds. The commission may 
take disciplinary action, which includes an administrative fine, 
censure, probation, suspension, or revocation, including a combination 
thereof, with respect to a licensee, for any of the following acts or 
conduct:  
 
 (a) Against a licensee and/or licensee's responsible broker for:  
 
 (i) Violating or failing to comply with any rule of the 
commission or provision of the act;  
 
 (ii) Participating in unlicensed real estate activity;  
 
 (iii) Representing that a particular form or sales commission 
rate has been approved by the commission;  
 
 (iv) Violation or assisting in the violation of local, state or 
federal law or regulation;  
 
 (v) Using a form which does not describe the actual real estate 
transaction;  
 
 (vi) Making any false promise which influences, persuades, or 
induces action by another relating to a real estate transaction;  
 
 (vii) Failing to account for or to remit any moneys or documents 
coming into his possession which belong to others;  
 
 (viii) Commingling the money or property of others with his own;  
 
 (ix) Permitting the use of his license as a responsible broker to 
enable anyone to operate a real estate company without actual 
participation therein and control thereof by the responsible broker;  
 
 (x) Failing to provide information requested by the commission 
relative to a complaint, investigation, or audit which could indicate a 
violation of the act;  
 
 (xi) Failing to disclose matters known to the licensee which are 
material to the real estate transaction;  
 
 (xii) Failing to notify sub-agents, multiple listing service or 
other interested parties when agency or non-agency has been terminated. 
Notice to multiple listing services shall constitute notice to all 
members thereof;  
 
 (xiii) Failing to remove signs and/or lock boxes after 
termination of a listing; continuing to advertise real estate which is 
no longer listed.  
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 (xiv) Advertising and promoting another real estate company’s or 
broker’s listings without written permission.  
 
 (xv) Failing to pay a fine imposed or comply with all 
requirements of a commission settlement agreement, stipulation and 
order. 
 
 (xvi) Compensating any unlicensed person for performing the 
services of a licensee for any real estate activity except:  
 
   (A) Anyone arranging non consecutive short-term 
rentals.  
 
 (xvii) Failing to obtain and maintain errors and omissions 
insurance and provide proof of insurance to the commission.  
 
 (b) Unless approved by the commission, the voluntary surrender, 
expiration or lapse of a license by a licensee does not prevent the 
commission from proceeding with its investigation of a complaint and 
taking appropriate disciplinary action against a licensee.  
 
 (c)   The commission will retain records relating to complaints 
against licensees as follows: 
 
  (i)  Complaints and investigative files for complaints 
which are dismissed will be retained for 3 years; 
 
       (ii)  Complaints and investigative files for cases 
resulting in fines only will be retained for 5 years and decisions and 
orders will be retained for 15 years; 
 
       (iii)  Complaints and investigative files for cases 
resulting in probation will be retained for 5 years following 
completion of probation and decisions and orders will be retained for 
15 years; 
 
       (iv) Complaints and investigative files for cases resulting 
in suspension or revocation will be retained for 15 years, decisions 
and orders will be retained permanently; 
 
       (v)  Records will be destroyed when of the retention period 
expires. 
 
 (d) A summary of all final discipline, whether imposed by 
settlement or following a contested case hearing, will be published in 
the Real Estate Review, posted on the Commission website, reported to 
the Association of Real Estate License Law Officials (“ARELLO”), and 
released to the Wyoming Press Association. 
 Section 2. Suspension/revocation requirements.  
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 (a) When a responsible broker's license is suspended or revoked, 
he shall return his license and the licenses of his associate brokers 
and salesmen to the office of the commission.  
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 (i) Licensees affiliated with a responsible broker who have had 
their license suspended or revoked may not perform any real estate 
activity until they have transferred to a new responsible broker.  
 
(b) When an associate broker or salesman license has been suspended or 
revoked, the licensee must surrender his license to the responsible 
broker who shall return the license to the commission.  
 
 Section 3. Unlawful compensation; disputes between licensees.  
 
 (a) The commission shall not entertain complaints between 
licensees regarding disputes concerning matters of compensation, the 
earning, splitting or the nonpayment thereof.  
 
 (b) A responsible broker may compensate an unlicensed or inactive 
person for real estate activity performed if the person was actively 
licensed and under the responsible broker’s supervision at the time the 
real estate activity was performed.  
 
 (c) W.S. 33-28-110 (a) does not apply to incentives offered or 
paid to persons, who on their own behalf, engage the services of a 
licensee to assist them with the sale or purchase of real estate, 
provided those persons do not perform any real estate activity. 
Advertising and/or paying such incentives does not violate any 
provision of the act or rule or regulation of the commission.  
 
 (d) A licensee may pay their personal assistant a salary 
directly. The responsible broker must pay a licensed personal assistant 
if that personal assistant is to receive a percentage of any 
compensation.  
 
 (e) A responsible broker’s payment of earned real estate 
commission to a corporation or LLC which is solely owned by a licensee 
working under the responsible broker shall not be considered a 
violation of W.S. 33-28-111 (a) (xxiii), “compensating any unlicensed 
person.” Any agreement between the responsible broker and the 
corporation or LLC does not relieve the responsible broker of the 
obligation to supervise the licensee or any other requirement of the 
act or commission rules. 
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7-3  
ERRORS AND OMISSIONS INSURANCE 

 
Section 1. Every Wyoming licensee shall provide proof of errors and omissions 
insurance which meets the criteria established by these rules. 
 
Section 2. Definitions. The definitions in Chapter 1, section 2W.S.  33-28-102 apply. 
 
Section 3 Insurance required. An applicant for issuance of a license on active status, a 
licensee renewing a license, or an inactive licensee activating a license mustshall submit 
proof of insurance coverage through the group plan or through certification of equivalent 
coverage. 
  
Section 4. Minimum standards. The group policy obtained by the 
commissionCommission shall provide to each individual licensee, at a minimum, the 
following terms of coverage:  
 

(a) Not less than one hundred thousand dollars single-limit liability coverage for 
each licensee per occurrence or claim made, not including costs for investigation or 
defense;  
 

(b) An annual aggregate limit of not less than five hundred thousand dollars per 
licensee;  
 

(c) A deductible amount for each occurrence of not more than one thousand 
dollars for single-limit liability coverage and one thousand dollars maximum additional 
deductible for defense and investigation;  
 

(d) An extended reporting provision of ninety days and an option to purchase an 
additional three years extended reporting provision for a premium not to exceed two 
hundred percent of the premium charged for the last year of the terminating coverage;  
 

(e) Coverage under this section for covered acts in any state, United States 
territory, or Canada in which a covered individual, domiciled in Wyoming, holds a 
license;  
 

(f) A conformity endorsement allowing a Wyoming resident licensee to meet the 
errors and omissions insurance requirement for an active license in another group 
mandated state without the need to purchase separate coverage in that state;  
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(g) Stacking of benefits;  

 
(h) Proration of premiums for coverage that is purchased during the course of a 

calendar year but with no provision for refunds of unearned premiums;  
 

 
(j) The ability of a licensee, upon payment of an additional premium, to obtain 

higher or excess coverage or to purchase additional coverages from the group carrier as 
may be determined by the carrier;  

 
(k) The coverage is individual and license-specific and will cover the licensee 

regardless of changes in employing broker; and  
 
(m) Prior acts coverage shall be offered to licensees with continuous past 

coverage. 
 
Section 5. Exceptions to coverage.  
 

(a) Except as provided in this section, coverage may not exclude claims brought 
against the insured licensee arising out of an act or failure to act by the licensee when 
performing a professional service for which a real estate license is required. Coverage 
may limit or exclude claims brought against a licensee which arise as follows:  
 

(i) Out of claims or suits made or brought by any insured person against 
any other insured person within the same firm or from compensation disputes between 
licensees;  
 
  (ii) Out of loss assumed under contract or agreement, except for liability 
the insured would have had in the absence of such agreements;  
 
  (iii) From any criminal, dishonest, actual fraud, or willful act or omission. 
This exclusion does not apply to any insured person who did not personally participate in 
committing such an act or omission and who, upon having knowledge of the act or 
omission, reported it;  
 

 (iv) From unlawful discrimination committed by or for the insured person;  
 

 (v) From fines or penalties imposed by law;  
 

 (vi) From failure to maintain any type or amount of insurance for managed 
property;  
 

 (vii)From bodily injury, personal injury, advertising injury, or property 
damage;  

7-5 

 



 
 (viii)From related business activities for which a license is not required 

under this chapter;  
 
 (ix) From involvement in any real estate investment contract or 

syndication as a partner, joint venture, or underwriter;  
 

 
 (x) From hazardous materials, nuclear materials, or pollutants;  

 
 (xi) From prior wrongful acts;  

 
 (xii) From management or sale of property in which the insured or spouse 

has more than a ten percent financial or ownership interest. This exclusion does not apply 
for one year from the date a property is acquired under a guaranteed sale listing contract 
if the property is listed for sale during that entire period;  
 

 (xiii)From any violation of the Securities Act of 1933, as amended through 
July 1, 1993, or the Securities Exchange Act of 1934, as amended through July 1, 1993, 
or any state blue sky or securities law or similar state or federal statutes; or  

 
 (xiv) Other standard exclusions that are typical in the professional liability 

insurance industry may be permitted, subject to the approval of the Wyoming Real Estate 
CommissionCommission. 
 
Section 6. Group policy approval requirements.  
 
 (a) Any group policy to be issued mustshall conform to the standards and 
practices of the insurance industry and be approved by the Wyoming insurance 
department. 
 
 (b) The administrative fee the commissionCommission shall charge and collect as 
outlined in W.S. § 33-28-401 may be waived by the CommissionCommission if the total 
number of licensees enrolled in the group program is less than two thousand (2,000). 
 
Section 7. Equivalent coverage.  
 
 (a) An active licensee who chooses the option of obtaining errors and omissions 
insurance independently from a carrier other than the group carrier under contract with 
the commissionCommission mustshall show evidence of coverage by providing 
certification of coverage on a form prescribed by the commissionCommission. The form 
mustshall show proof that the licensee has coverage in compliance with the minimum 
standards established by section 9. The form mustshall be signed by an authorized 
representative of the insurance company and mustshall contain a cancellation notification 
clause as required by section 10.  
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Section 8. Standards for equivalent coverage.  
 
 (a) Licensees or applicants may obtain errors and omissions coverage independent 
of the group plan from any insurance carrier subject to the following terms and 
conditions:  
 
 

 (i) The insurance carrier is licensed and authorized by the Wyoming 
insurance department to write policies of errors and omissions insurance in this state and 
is in conformance with all Wyoming statutes.  
 

 (ii) The insurance provider maintains an A.M. Best rating of "B" or better 
and Financial size category of class VI or higher.  
 

 (iii) The policy, at a minimum, complies with all relevant conditions set 
forth in this rule and the insurance carrier so certifies in an affidavit issued to the insured  
licensee or applicant in a form specified by the commissionCommission and agrees to 
immediately notify the commissionCommission of any cancellation or lapse in coverage. 
Independent coverage mustshall provide, at a minimum, the following:  
 

  (A) The contract and policy are in conformance with all relevant 
Wyoming statutory requirements.  
 

  (B) Coverage includes all acts for which a real estate license is 
required, except those illegal, fraudulent or other acts which are normally excluded from 
such coverage.  

 
  (C) Coverage cannot be canceled by the insurance provider except 

for nonpayment of premiums or fraud.  
 

  (D) Coverage is for not less than $100,000 for each licensed 
individual and entity per covered claim, regardless of the number of licensees or entities 
to which a settlement or claim may apply, with an annual aggregate limit of not less than 
$500,000 per licensed individual and entity.  

 
  (E) Payment of claims by the provider shall be on a first dollar 

basis and the provider shall look to the insured for payment of any deductible. 
 

  (F) The ability of a licensee, upon payment of an additional 
premium to obtain an extended reporting period of not less than 365 days.  
 

  (G) That the provider of the independent policy has executed an 
affidavit in a form or manner specified by the commissionCommission attesting that the 
independent policy is in force and, at a minimum, complies with all relevant conditions 
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set forth herein and that the provider will immediately notify the commissionCommission 
in writing of any cancellation or lapse in coverage of any independent policy.  
 
 (b) Licensees or applicants who obtain equivalent coverage and wish to be on 
active status mustshall present the affidavit referred to in subsection (iii) of this section to 
the commissionCommission:  
 

 (i) When renewing an active license, no later than at the time of renewal; 
 

 
 or  

 
 (ii) Upon any request for reinstatement or activation of a license; or  

 
 (iii) Upon application for an active license.  

 
 (c) Applicants for a license, activation, renewal and reinstatement shall certify 
compliance with this rule on forms or in a manner prescribed by the 
commissionCommission. Any active licensee who so certifies and fails to obtain errors 
and omissions coverage or to provide proof of continuous coverage, either through the 
group carrier or directly to the commissionCommission, shall be placed on inactive 
status:  

 (i) Immediately, if certification of current insurance coverage is not 
provided to the commissionCommission; or,  
 

 (ii) Immediately upon the expiration of any current insurance when 
certification of continued coverage is not provided.  
 
Section 9. Time for filing certification of equivalent coverage. Certification of 
equivalent coverage mustshall be filed with the commissionCommission by 5 p.m. on the 
date of expiration of coverage. If the certification is not filed on time, the 
commissionCommission shall place the license on inactive status on that date.  
 
Section 10. Nonpayment of premium. If a licensee’s insurance company or group plan 
notifies the commissionCommission that a licensee has not paid a premium, the 
commissionCommission shall place that license on inactive status as of the date of 
termination of coverage.  
 
Section 11. Surrender of license for failure to provide proof of insurance.  
 
 (a) When a licensee receives notice of being placed on inactive status for failure 
to provide proof of insurance, the licensee shall immediately surrender the license to the 
commissionCommission.  
  
Section 12. Notification required for cancellation. 
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 (a) If insurance under equivalent coverage is to lapse or not be renewed, the 
providing company mustshall notify the real estate commissionCommission of the intent 
to lapse or not to renew, a minimum of thirty (30) days before the expiration date of the 
term.  
 
Section 13. Proof of insurance required to activate license.  
 
 (a) A licensee whose license has been placed on inactive status for failure to  

 
provide proof of insurance may not conduct any activities for which a license is required 
until proof of insurance has been provided to the commissionCommission and the license 
has been activated. The license shall be considered active as of the effective date of the 
insurance.  
 
Section 14. Authenticity of coverage.  
 
 (a) A licensee may not willfully or knowingly cause or allow a certificate of 
coverage to be filed with the commissionCommission that is false, fraudulent, or 
misleading. 
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CHAPTER 8 
ERRORS AND OMISSIONS INSURANCE 

 
 Section 1. Every Wyoming licensee shall provide proof of errors 
and omissions insurance which meets the criteria established by these 
rules. 
  
 Section 2. Definitions. The definitions in Chapter 1, section 2 
apply. 
  
 Section 3. Insurance required. An applicant for issuance of a 
license on active status, a licensee renewing a license, or an inactive 
licensee activating a license must submit proof of insurance coverage 
through the group plan or through certification of equivalent coverage. 
  
 Section 4. Minimum standards. The group policy obtained by the 
commission shall provide to each individual licensee, at a minimum, the 
following terms of coverage:  
 

(a) Not less than one hundred thousand dollars single-limit 
liability coverage for each licensee per occurrence or claim made, not 
including costs for investigation or defense;  
 

(b) An annual aggregate limit of not less than five hundred 
thousand dollars per licensee;  
 

(c) A deductible amount for each occurrence of not more than one 
thousand dollars for single-limit liability coverage and one thousand 
dollars maximum additional deductible for defense and investigation;  
 

(d) An extended reporting provision of ninety days and an option 
to purchase an additional three years extended reporting provision for 
a premium not to exceed two hundred percent of the premium charged for 
the last year of the terminating coverage;  
 

(e) Coverage under this section for covered acts in any state, 
United States territory, or Canada in which a covered individual, 
domiciled in Wyoming, holds a license;  
 

(f) A conformity endorsement allowing a Wyoming resident licensee 
to meet the errors and omissions insurance requirement for an active 
license in another group mandated state without the need to purchase 
separate coverage in that state;  
 

(g) Stacking of benefits;  
 

(h) Proration of premiums for coverage that is purchased during 
the course of a calendar year but with no provision for refunds of 
unearned premiums;  

 
(j) The ability of a licensee, upon payment of an additional 

premium, to obtain higher or excess coverage or to purchase additional 
coverages from the group carrier as may be determined by the carrier;  
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(k) The coverage is individual and license-specific and will 

cover the licensee regardless of changes in employing broker; and  
 
(m) Prior acts coverage shall be offered to licensees with 

continuous past coverage. 
 
 Section 5. Exceptions to coverage.  
 

(a) Except as provided in this section, coverage may not exclude 
claims brought against the insured licensee arising out of an act or 
failure to act by the licensee when performing a professional service 
for which a real estate license is required. Coverage may limit or 
exclude claims brought against a licensee which arise as follows:  
 

(i) Out of claims or suits made or brought by any insured 
person against any other insured person within the same firm or from 
compensation disputes between licensees;  
 
  (ii) Out of loss assumed under contract or agreement, 
except for liability the insured would have had in the absence of such 
agreements;  
 
  (iii) From any criminal, dishonest, actual fraud, or 
willful act or omission. This exclusion does not apply to any insured 
person who did not personally participate in committing such an act or 
omission and who, upon having knowledge of the act or omission, 
reported it;  
 

 (iv) From unlawful discrimination committed by or for the 
insured person;  
 

 (v) From fines or penalties imposed by law;  
 

 (vi) From failure to maintain any type or amount of 
insurance for managed property;  
 

 (vii)From bodily injury, personal injury, advertising 
injury, or property damage;  
 

 (viii)From related business activities for which a license 
is not required under this chapter;  
 

 (ix) From involvement in any real estate investment 
contract or syndication as a partner, joint venture, or underwriter;  
 

 (x) From hazardous materials, nuclear materials, or 
pollutants;  
 

 (xi) From prior wrongful acts;  
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 (xii) From management or sale of property in which the 
insured or spouse has more than a ten percent financial or ownership 
interest. This exclusion does not apply for one year from the date a 
property is acquired under a guaranteed sale listing contract if the 
property is listed for sale during that entire period;  
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 (xiii)From any violation of the Securities Act of 1933, as 

amended through July 1, 1993, or the Securities Exchange Act of 1934, 
as amended through July 1, 1993, or any state blue sky or securities 
law or similar state or federal statutes; or  
 

 (xiv) Other standard exclusions that are typical in the 
professional liability insurance industry may be permitted, subject to 
the approval of the Wyoming real estate commission. 
 
 Section 6. Group policy approval requirements.  
 
 (a) Any group policy to be issued must conform to the standards 
and practices of the insurance industry and be approved by the Wyoming 
insurance department. 
 
 (b) The administrative fee the commission shall charge and 
collect as outlined in 33-28-401 may be waived by the Commission if the 
total number of licensees enrolled in the group program is less than 
two thousand (2,000). 
 
 Section 7. Equivalent coverage.  
 
 (a) An active licensee who chooses the option of obtaining errors 
and omissions insurance independently from a carrier other than the 
group carrier under contract with the commission must show evidence of 
coverage by providing certification of coverage on a form prescribed by 
the commission. The form must show proof that the licensee has coverage 
in compliance with the minimum standards established by section 9. The 
form must be signed by an authorized representative of the insurance 
company and must contain a cancellation notification clause as required 
by section 10.  
 
 Section 8. Standards for equivalent coverage.  
 
 (a) Licensees or applicants may obtain errors and omissions 
coverage independent of the group plan from any insurance carrier 
subject to the following terms and conditions:  
 

 (i) The insurance carrier is licensed and authorized by the 
Wyoming insurance department to write policies of errors and omissions 
insurance in this state and is in conformance with all Wyoming 
statutes.  
 

 (ii) The insurance provider maintains an A.M. Best rating 
of "B" or better and Financial size category of class VI or higher.  
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 (iii) The policy, at a minimum, complies with all relevant 
conditions set forth in this rule and the insurance carrier so 
certifies in an affidavit issued to the insured licensee or applicant 
in a form specified by the commission and agrees to immediately notify 
the commission of any cancellation or lapse in coverage. Independent 
coverage must provide, at a minimum, the following:  
 

  (A) The contract and policy are in conformance with 
all relevant Wyoming statutory requirements.  
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  (B) Coverage includes all acts for which a real 

estate license is required, except those illegal, fraudulent or other 
acts which are normally excluded from such coverage.  
 

  (C) Coverage cannot be canceled by the insurance 
provider except for nonpayment of premiums or fraud.  
 

  (D) Coverage is for not less than $100,000 for each 
licensed individual and entity per covered claim, regardless of the 
number of licensees or entities to which a settlement or claim may 
apply, with an annual aggregate limit of not less than $500,000 per 
licensed individual and entity.  

 
  (E) Payment of claims by the provider shall be on a 

first dollar basis and the provider shall look to the insured for 
payment of any deductible. 

 
  (F) The ability of a licensee, upon payment of an 

additional premium to obtain an extended reporting period of not less 
than 365 days.  
 

  (G) That the provider of the independent policy has 
executed an affidavit in a form or manner specified by the commission 
attesting that the independent policy is in force and, at a minimum, 
complies with all relevant conditions set forth herein and that the 
provider will immediately notify the commission in writing of any 
cancellation or lapse in coverage of any independent policy.  

 
 (b) Licensees or applicants who obtain equivalent coverage and 
wish to be on active status must present the affidavit referred to in 
subsection (iii) of this section to the commission:  
 

 (i) When renewing an active license, no later than at the 
time of renewal; or  
 

 (ii) Upon any request for reinstatement or activation of a 
license; or  
 

 (iii) Upon application for an active license.  
 
 (c) Applicants for a license, activation, renewal and 
reinstatement shall certify compliance with this rule on forms or in a 
manner prescribed by the commission. Any active licensee who so 
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certifies and fails to obtain errors and omissions coverage or to 
provide proof of continuous coverage, either through the group carrier 
or directly to the commission, shall be placed on inactive status:  
 

 (i) Immediately, if certification of current insurance 
coverage is not provided to the commission; or,  
 

 (ii) Immediately upon the expiration of any current 
insurance when certification of continued coverage is not provided.  
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 Section 9. Time for filing certification of equivalent coverage. 
Certification of equivalent coverage must be filed with the commission 
by five p.m. on the date of expiration of coverage. If the 
certification is not filed on time, the commission shall place the 
license on inactive status on that date.  
 
 Section 10. Nonpayment of premium. If a licensee’s insurance 
company or group plan notifies the commission that a licensee has not 
paid a premium, the commission shall place that license on inactive 
status as of the date of termination of coverage.  
 
 Section 11. Surrender of license for failure to provide proof of 
insurance.  
 
 (a) When a licensee receives notice of being placed on inactive 
status for failure to provide proof of insurance, the licensee shall 
immediately surrender the license to the commission.  
  
 Section 12. Notification required for cancellation. 
  
 (a) If insurance under equivalent coverage is to lapse or not be 
renewed, the providing company must notify the real estate commission 
of the intent to lapse or not to renew, a minimum of thirty days before 
the expiration date of the term.  
 
 Section 13. Proof of insurance required to activate license.  
 
 (a) A licensee whose license has been placed on inactive status 
for failure to provide proof of insurance may not conduct any 
activities for which a license is required until proof of insurance has 
been provided to the commission and the license has been activated. The 
license shall be considered active as of the effective date of the 
insurance.  
 
 Section 14. Authenticity of coverage.  
 
 (a) A licensee may not willfully or knowingly cause or allow a 
certificate of coverage to be filed with the commission that is false, 
fraudulent, or misleading. 
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WYOMING REAL ESTATE COMMISSIONCOMMISSION 
 

APPLICATION REVIEW, COMPLAINTS AND HEARING PROCEDURES 
 

Section 1. Application Review Process.  
 
 (a) Upon receipt of a completed application, the CommissionCommission office 
shall review the application and, if it is complete and there are no known grounds for 
denial of the license requested, issue the license. If there are known grounds for denial, 
the CommissionCommission office shall forward the application to the Application 
Review Committee (ARC).  
 
 (b) The ARC shall review the application and all other information available and 
following the review may: 
  
  (i) Approve the application if the applicant meets all requirements; or  
 
  (ii) If there are questions as to whether denial is appropriate, forward the 
application and the ARC report to the Assistant Attorney General assigned to the 
CommissionCommission for prosecution for review.  
 
 (c) If, after review, and following consultation with the Assistant Attorney 
General, the ARC concludes that grounds exist to recommend denial of an application:  
 
  (i) A preliminary denial letter shall be sent to applicant. The letter shall:  
 
   (A) State the basis for the denial including relevant statutes and 
rules; and  
 
   (B) Advise the applicant of the right to request reconsideration.  
 
  (ii) If the applicant fails to request reconsideration in writing within thirty 
(30) days of the date of the preliminary denial letter, the preliminary denial becomes 
final.  
 
  (iii) If the applicant requests reconsideration within thirty (30) days, a 
reconsideration conference shall be held with the ARC, the Assistant Attorney General, 
and the applicant.  
 
  (iv) Following a reconsideration conference, the ARC shall either approve 
or deny the application and notify the applicant.  
 

8-7 

 



  (v) If denied, the applicant mustshall submit a written request for a hearing 
before the CommissionCommission within thirty (30) days of the date of the denial letter 
or the denial is final.  
 
Section 2. Application Denial Hearings. 
 (d)  Application denial hearings 
 
  (ai) An application denial hearing is a formal contested case hearing 
conducted pursuant to the Wyoming Administrative Procedure Act following applicable 
provisions of the formal hearing procedures established later in this Chapter.  
 
 (b) The hearing is to be conducted in the presence of a quorum of the commission, 
with a hearing officer presiding.  
 
  (iic) The applicant has the burden of proving that he/she meets all 
requirements for the license requested.  
 
 (e)  The ARC may attend hearings, but shall not take part in the consideration of 
any contested case. 
 
Section 23. Complaints.  
 
 (a) A disciplinary action is initiated against a licensee by submitting a sworn 
written complaint to the CommissionCommission office. A complaint concerning an 
alleged violation of the Act or CommissionCommission Rules may be submitted by any 
person or entity, a CommissionCommission member, or a member of the 
CommissionCommission staff. The sworn written complaint should provide as much of 
the following information as may be available and applicable:  
 
  (i) The name and address of the complainant;  
 
  (ii) The name, address, place of employment, and telephone number of the 
licensee against whom the charges are made;  
 
  (iii) The specific conduct alleged to constitute the violation;  
 
  (iv) The name and address of any other witnesses; and  
 
  (v) The signature of the complainant.  
 
Section 34. Review of Sworn Written Complaint.  
 
 (a) Sworn written complaints shall be referred to an Liaison Commission Member  
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(LCM) selected by Commission staff from a rotating schedule.  License holders against 
whom charges are made will be advised of the investigation, the name of the LCM, and 
the nature of the complaint.  

sent to the licensee complained against and be referred to the investigator for the 
commission, the Assistant Attorney General, and a Liaison commission Member (LCM) 
selected by commission staff. The LCM, following consultation with the investigator and 
the assistant attorney general, shall determine whether the complaint merits further 
investigation. If the complaint does not evidence conduct which violates the Act or  
Commission Rules, it does not merit further investigation and the LCM shall dismiss it.  
If  the  complaint merits further investigation, the licensee against whom the complaint 
was filed will be advised of the investigation, the names of the LCM and the investigator, 
and the nature of the complaint, and given an opportunity to respond to the complaint.  
 
  (i) The LCM shall not take part in the consideration of any contested case. 
 
  (ii) The LCM shall not, by this rule, be barred from attending any 
disciplinary hearing.  
  
Section 45. Investigations and CommissionCommission Action. The investigator for 
the commission shall investigate those sworn written complaints received which the 
LCM has determined merit further investigation. LCM and Commission staff shall 
investigate those written complaints received which merit further investigation. 
 
 (a) Upon completion of the investigation, the investigator for the 
commissionCommission shall prepare an investigative report and submit it to the LCM.  
 
  (i) The report shall include:   
 
   (A) The findings;  
 
   (B) A list of statutes and/or commissionCommission rules believed 
to have been violated; and  
 
   (C) Any relevant additional information and/or documentation.  
 
 (b) The LCM shall review the investigative report, forward the report and his/her 
recommendations to the Assistant Attorney General assigned to the 
commissionCommission for prosecution, and consult with the Assistant Attorney 
General.  
 
 (c) Following consultation with the Assistant Attorney General, the LCM may:  

 
  (i) Send the notice required by section 65;  
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  (ii) Prepare and file a formal petition and notice of hearing setting the 
matter for a contested case hearing before the commissionCommission;  
 
  (iii) Recommend the commissionCommission accept an offer of 
conditional terms for settlement, which may include educational courses;  
 
  (iv) Recommend the Commission Ddismiss the complaint.  
 
 (d) The commissionCommission may resolve a complaint at any time by:  
 
  (i) Accepting a voluntary surrender of a license;  
 
  (ii) Accepting conditional terms for settlement;  
 
  (iii) Dismissal.  
 
Section 65. Service of Notice and Opportunity to Show Compliance.  
 
 (a) Prior to commencement of a formal hearing, the LCM shall give notice by 
mail to the licensee of the facts or conduct which warrants his/her intended action. The 
notice shall give the licensee an opportunity to show compliance with all lawful 
requirements for retention of the license within twenty (20) days of the mailing of the 
notice. Such notice shall be sent to the licensee’s last known address both by certified 
mail with return receipt requested and by first class mail. Service shall be deemed 
complete when mailed. 
 
Section 76. Formal Hearing ProceduresPrerequisites.  
 
 (a) Formal proceedings for a hearing before the commissionCommission 
regarding a denied application or an action against an applicant or licensee shall be 
commenced by notice of hearing for applicants or petition and notice of hearing for 
licensees, served in person, or by both certified mail and first class mail sent to the 
address last known by the commissionCommission at least thirty (30) days prior to the 
date set for the hearing. The petition and notice shall contain at least:  
 
  (i) The name and address of the applicant or licensee;  
 
  (ii) A statement, in ordinary and concise language, of the reasons for 
denial or the nature of the complaint filed with the commissionCommission, the facts 
upon which the denial or complaint is based, as well as the specific statute(s) or 
commissionCommission rules and regulations alleged to have been violated;  
 
  (iii) The time, place, and nature of the hearing;  
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  (iv) That the hearing is being held pursuant to the authority provided by 
W.S. 33-28-106(g), (h), (j), or (m) (for application denials), 33-28-111 and 33-28-113; 
and  
 
  (v) That the applicant or licensee shall file an Answer or Notice of 
Appearance, which mustshall be received by the commissionCommission at least ten (10) 
working days prior to the date set for hearing, or the applicant or licensee will be in 
default.  
 
Section 8. Continuance. For good cause shown, extensions and continuances may be 
granted or denied at the discretion of the commission or the hearing officer.  
 
Section 97. Default. The commissionCommission may enter an order based on the 
allegations in a notice of hearing or petition and notice of hearing in any case where the 
applicant or licensee has not answered or appeared in writing ten (10) working days 
before the hearing, or in any case in which the applicant or licensee or his/her 
representative has not appeared at a scheduled hearing for which he had notice.  
 
Section 108. Hearing OfficerContested Case Hearings. 
 
 The commission may appoint a hearing officer to take evidence at the hearing, or the 
chairperson or a commission member may serve as the hearing officer.  (a) The Office 
of Administrative Hearings shall act as the hearing officer and shall preside over the 
formal contested case hearing which shall be conducted pursuant to the Wyoming 
Administrative Procedure Act and the Office of Administrative Hearings’ rule concerning 
contested case proceedings. 
 
 (b)  At the Commission’s discretion, contested case hearings shall either be 
conducted in the presence of a quorum of Commission members or a committee of one 
(1) or more Commission members. 
 
 (c)  During the formal contested case hearing, Commission members may ask 
questions of the witnesses and/or the parties including their attorneys. 
 
 (d)  A court reporter shall be present during the hearing and report the entire 
proceeding. 
 
Section 11. Discovery. In all formal proceedings before the commission, discovery shall 
be afforded in accordance with the Wyoming Administrative Procedure Act.  
 
Section 129. Subpoenas.  
 
 (a) A commission member or the hearing officer may issue subpoenas for the 
attendance of witnesses and for the production of books, records, documents, and other 
evidence, and shall have the power to administer oaths.  
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 (b) Service of a subpoena must be made at the expense of the party applying for it 
and shall be made in the manner provided by law for service of subpoenas in civil 
actions.  
 
Section 1310. Witnesses.  
 
 (a) All persons testifying at any hearing before the commission shall be 
administered a standard oath or affirmation.  
 
 (b) No testimony will be received from a witness except under oath or 
affirmation.  
 
 (c) The party calling a witness shall bear the costs associated with his appearance.  
 
 (d) The commission and hearing officer shall have an opportunity to examine any 
witness.  
 
Section 1411. Representation.  
 
 (a) An applicant or licensee may represent himself or be represented by counsel, 
provided that such counsel is licensed to practice law in the State of Wyoming or is 
associated at the hearing with one or more attorneys licensed to practice law in the State 
of Wyoming.  
 
 (b) In any case before the commission, an appearance in person or the filing of an 
answer or other pleading by an attorney shall constitute an appearance of record by an 
attorney.  
 
  (c) A request for withdrawal from representation by an attorney shall be 
submitted to the commission in writing.  
 
 (d) The Assistant Attorney General assigned to the commission for prosecution 
shall present all matters in a contested case on behalf of the ARC or LCM.  
 
Section 1512. Prehearing Conference.  
 
 (a) The hearing officer may direct the parties to appear before him to consider:  
 
  (i) The simplification of the issues;  
 
  (ii) The necessity or desirability of amending the pleadings;  
  (iii) The possibility of obtaining admissions of fact and of documents to 
avoid unnecessary proof;  
 

8-12 

 



  (iv) Formulating procedures to govern the hearing; or  
 
  (v) Such other matters as may aid in the presentation or disposition of the 
case.  
 
 (b) Prehearing conferences shall be conducted informally. An order will be 
prepared which recites the actions taken at the conference, amendments allowed, 
agreements of the parties, and the issues to be determined at the hearing.  
 
Section 1613. Order of Procedure at Hearing. The hearing will be conducted in 
substantially the following order:  
 
 (a) Opening announcements are made by the hearing officer, including case name 
and docket number, the issue(s) to be considered, parties and counsel present, and 
subpoenas issued;  
 
 (b) Witnesses should be identified and sworn;  
 
 (c) Opening statements may be made at the discretion of the hearing officer. In 
cases of license denial, the applicant should go first. In disciplinary cases the LCM 
should go first;  
 
 (d) Presentation of Evidence. The order above will be followed with each party, 
the hearing officer, and the commission having the opportunity to cross-examine the 
witnesses. Rebuttal evidence may be presented;  
 
 (e) Exhibits offered in evidence by the applicant or the licensee will be marked 
with the letters of the alphabet. Those offered by the LCM will be marked numerically;  
 
 (f) Closing arguments may be made at the discretion of the hearing officer. Time 
may be limited, the order of presentation is as above, and brief rebuttal time may be 
allowed. The hearing and the evidence are then closed, unless reopened by the hearing 
officer for good cause shown. 
 
Section 1714. Decisions.  
 
 (a) Proposed Decisions:  
 
  (i) At the discretion and direction of the commissionhearing officer, the 
parties may file proposed findings of fact, conclusions of law, and order after the hearing 
and before the deadline announced in the hearing’s closing announcements.  
 
  (ii) At the discretion and direction of the commissionCommission, the 
hearing officer or the Assistant Attorney General assigned to advise the Commission 
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shall prepare proposed findings of fact, conclusions of law, and order following 
deliberations by the Commission or its committee.  
 
 (b) Final Decisions. Proposed decisions will be given consideration but are not 
binding upon the commissionCommission. All final decisions will be issued by the 
commissionCommission and shall be based exclusively upon the evidence in the record 
and matters officially noticed. All final decisions issued by the commissionCommission 
shall be served to all parties by first class mail sent to their last known address.  
 
Section 185. Appeals. A Petition for Judicial Review of the commissionCommission 
decision may be filed in the district court in accordance with the Wyoming Rules of 
Appellate Procedure.  
 
Section 169. Transcripts. If a Petition for Judicial Review is filed in the district court, 
the petitioner shall either arrange the preparation and pay for the transcript of the 
testimony, or reimburse the commissionCommission for the cost of the transcript if 
previously prepared at commissionCommission expense.  
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CHAPTER 1 

GENERAL PROVISIONS 

AND 

LICENSING 

 

Section 1. Authority. Pursuant to the authority vested in the Wyoming Real Estate 

Commission (Commission) by virtue of W.S. 33-28-101 through 33-28-401 the following 

rules and regulations are hereby promulgated. 

 

Section 2. Professional and occupational licensure of military spouses. 
 

The Commission shall use the guidelines in W.S. 33-1-116 in determining licensure of 

military spouses and military service members. 

 

Section 3. Qualification for a license. 

 

 (a) Salesman applicants shall submit: 

 

  (i) Completed application form with appropriate fees; 

 

  (ii) Fingerprint cards; 

 

  (iii) Recent snapshot or photograph; 

 

  (iv) Proof of legal presence in the United States; 

 

  (v) A copy of the Wyoming passing score(s) report; 

 

  (vi) If a non-resident, Service of Process forms; 

 

  (vii) Evidence of completing, within one year prior to the date of 

application, of salesman course I and salesman course II which shall meet the curriculum 

established and published by the Commission.  Salesman course II may not be taken by 

correspondence or online. 

 

   (A) An original applicant for a license shall be required to show 

proof of completion of the pre-license salesman course I (state and national portions), 

salesman course II and pass the appropriate examination before applying for a real estate 

license.  These requirements may be accomplished in any order. 

 

   (B) In lieu of actual clock hours of education for salesman course I 

(state and national portions), an applicant may challenge an approved course by 

satisfactorily passing the approved course examination and submitting certification. 

 

  (viii) Proof of errors and omissions insurance as described in W.S. 33-28-

401 and Chapter 8 of these Commission rules. 
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 (b) Associate broker applicants shall submit: 

 

  (i) Evidence that they have been actively engaged in real estate activity as 

a licensed salesman for two (2) of the four (4) years immediately preceding the 

application or proof that they have a degree in real estate as defined in W.S. 33-28-

102(b)(xii); 

 

  (ii) Completed application form with appropriate fees; 

 

  (iii) Fingerprint cards; 

 

  (iv) Recent snapshot or photograph; 

 

  (v) Proof of legal presence in the United States; 

 

  (vi) If a nonresident, signed Service of Process forms provided by the 

Commission; 

 

  (vii) Proof of errors and omissions insurance as described in W.S. 33-28-

401 and Chapter 8 of the Commission rules; 

 

  (viii) Evidence of completing, within one year prior to the date of 

application, of broker course I and broker course II which shall meet the curriculum 

established and published by the Commission.  Broker Course II may not be taken by 

correspondence or online; 

 

   (A) An original applicant for license shall be required to show 

proof of completion of the pre-license broker course I (state and national portions), 

broker course II and pass the appropriate examination before applying for a real estate 

license.  These requirements may be accomplished in any order. 

 

   (B) In lieu of actual clock hours of education for broker course I 

(state and national portions), an applicant may challenge an approved course by 

satisfactorily passing the approved course examination portions and submitting 

certification. 

 

  (ix)  Associate Broker applicants with a degree in real estate shall also 

provide: 

 

   (A) A certificate of completion for broker course II; 

 

   (B) A copy of the Wyoming passing score(s) report for the state 

and national broker examination. 

 

 (c) Responsible broker applicants shall: 



1-3 

 

 

  (i) Meet all requirements for an associate broker’s license; 

 

  (ii) Provide evidence they have been actively engaged in real estate 

activity as a salesman or associate broker for two (2) of the four (4) years immediately 

preceding the application; 

 

  (iii) Provide proof of Wyoming trust account(s) or funds holder 

agreement(s); 

 

  (iv) Beginning January 1, 2013, submit proof of completion of a 

Commission approved broker management course taken no more than two (2) years prior 

to the application. 

 

 (d) An applicant who holds a prior felony conviction may be considered for 

certification twelve (12) months after all sentencing/parole/probation/requirements have 

been completed. 

 

Section 4. Registration and examination required; failure to pass. 

 

 (a) Every person desiring to become licensed shall register for the appropriate 

examination on a form provided by the testing service. 

 

 (b) Registrants for an exam shall have reached the age of majority. 

 

 (c) Each registrant is required to take an appropriate examination and attain a 

scaled score of at least seventy-five (75) percent on each applicable section of the 

examination. 

 

 (d) Any person who registers for the examination shall select a date for taking the 

examination.  The selected date may be changed only by submitting another fee and 

registration or as allowed by the testing service. 

 

 (e) Failure to take the examination on the scheduled date will result in 

cancellation of the registration and no refund of the examination fee will be made. 

 

 (f) A notice to a registrant that he has received a passing score does not constitute 

a license to engage in real estate activity.  Licenses are issued only pursuant to filing the 

appropriate application for a license, paying all required fees and Commission approval 

of such application. 

 

 (g) No application for a license will be accepted until the registrant has taken and 

passed all applicable portions of the examination. 

 

 (h) Any registrant who takes the examination and does not attain a passing score, 

on a portion, shall reregister and pay the appropriate fee if they wish to retake the failed 
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portion.  Registrants passing one portion of the examination are only required to retake 

the portion they failed; partial examinations shall be taken within six (6) months after 

registrant’s last test failure date.  Registrants required to take more than one portion of the 

examination who do not pass all portions of the examination within six (6) months shall 

retake the entire examination. 

 

 (j) After official notification in writing from the testing service to the registrant 

that he has successfully passed all the appropriate portions examination, the registrant 

shall within ninety (90) days of the most recent notice date, file the appropriate 

application for a license with all the required accompaniments.  Failure to file an 

application for a license and proof of required education within the ninety (90) day period 

will cancel the application and all scores will be terminated. 

 

 (k) The Commission, upon proper certification, will accept the uniform portion of 

the examination as having been successfully passed by any person seeking a license in  

Wyoming who received a like-license in the applicant’s licensing jurisdiction, provided 

that such like-license is currently valid and in good standing. 

 

  (i) Certification shall state when the applicant received his original license, 

the status of the license, and if there has been any disciplinary action taken against the 

licensee, and that the licensee has served actively for two (2) of the (4) years immediately 

preceding the application as a like-licensed real estate salesman or associate broker. 

 

 (m) Original licenses will be issued for the balance of the year.  They will expire 

on December 31 of the year in which issued.  Renewal license will be issued for 3-year 

durations.  They will expire on December 31 of the third year.  No prorating of license 

fees can be made. 

 

Section 5. Transfers, inactive licenses. 
 

 (a) Notice of transfer of license from the sponsorship of one responsible broker to 

another shall be indicated on a transfer form provided by the Commission, and shall be 

accompanied by a transfer fee. 

 

 (b) When a real estate license has been returned to the Commission, the former 

licensee shall not perform any real estate activity. 

 

 (c) A licensee may request the Commission to hold his license for not more than 

thirty (30) days on a hold for transfer basis until proper request for reissue has been 

made, after which time the license will automatically become inactive.  A licensee whose 

license is inactive or on hold for transfer shall not perform any real estate activity. 

 

 (d) A licensee whose license is held by the Commission on an inactive or hold for 

transfer basis during the renewal period shall apply for renewal of such inactive license 

and pay the regular fee. 
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  (i) A licensee whose license is on inactive status may not engage in any 

real estate activity. 

 

Section 6. Real Estate Companies. 
 

 (a) Real estate company licenses will be issued to the responsible broker for a real 

estate company engaged in real estate activity upon verification by the Secretary of State 

of Wyoming that the real estate company is in good standing. 

 

 (b) The responsible broker shall be an officer, partner or manager, or hold an 

ownership interest in the real estate company. 

 

 (c) The following documents are necessary before issuing a responsible broker’s 

license to a real estate company engaged in real estate activity: 

 

  (i) A properly executed application and fee; 

 

  (ii) A copy of the documents establishing company organization; 

 

  (iii) A copy of the bylaws of the corporation; or the operating agreement 

for the real estate company; 

 

  (iv) A copy of the meeting minutes of the corporation; partnership, limited 

liability company, or other entity indicating the name of the responsible broker. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 



 
 
 

CHAPTER 2 
FEES 

 
Section 1. Fees. 

 
(a) The following nonrefundable and non-prorated fees shall be charged by 

the real estate commission: 
 

(i) Examination fee ................................................................$140 
 
(ii) Each original broker/salesman license ..............................$300 
 
(iii) Each original business entity/branch office license 
(except sole proprietorships) .........................................................$300 
 
(iv) Duplicate license (lost original) ..........................................$20 
 
(v) Broker/Salesman 3 year renewal license ..........................$350 
 
(vi) Business entity/Branch office 3 year renewal license 
(except sole proprietorships) .........................................................$350 
 
(vii) Recovery fund (W.S. 33-28-201(b)) ...................................$20 
 
(viii) Late renewal fee ..................................................................$75 
 
(ix) Continuing education course application fee ......................$50 
 
(x) Each business change of address ........................................$25 
 
(xi) Each transfer/active status request/name change ................$30 
 
(xii) Admin fee for group program errors and omissions ...........$15 
 
(xiii) Certified License History ....................................................$10 
 
(xiv) Certified copies of documents ............................................$10 
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CHAPTER 3 

FORMS 

 

Section 1. Minimum requirements, forms.  

 

 (a) A responsible broker or licensee acting on his behalf shall, at the time of 

signing, deliver a hard or electronic copy of any document to the party or parties 

executing the same when such instrument has been prepared by the responsible broker or 

licensee acting on his behalf or under his supervision, or is within his control, including 

but not limited to instruments relating to the employment of the responsible broker or 

licensee acting on his behalf, the listing of real estate, the consummation of a lease, 

purchase, sale or exchange of property, or to any other type of real estate transaction in 

which he participates as a responsible broker or licensee acting on behalf of the 

responsible broker. It is the responsibility of the responsible broker or licensee acting on 

his behalf to prepare sufficient copies of such instruments in order that the above may be 

accomplished.  

 

 (i) Nothing herein shall be construed to permit the licensee to withhold 

such delivery in order to obtain other signatures on such instrument, or for any other 

reason.  

 

 (ii) Readily available and properly indexed copies of all unrecorded 

documents shall be retained by the responsible broker for 7 years.  

 

 (b) The responsible broker or licensee acting on his behalf shall prepare the 

purchase offer and acceptance form, exchange contract form or other inducement 

document form for the voluntary transfer of freehold or non-freehold real estate to 

include but not be limited to:  

 

 (i) The name and address of the real estate company.  

 

 (ii) The date of offer by offeror.  

 

 (iii) Real estate description that will adequately identify the real estate.  

 

 (iv) Enumerated and described personal property included in the 

transaction may be referenced by addendum.  

 

 (v) Total amount of purchase price. For a lease or rental agreement, the 

total amount of rent payments, if applicable, or the periodic rate.  

 

 (vi) Total amount and type of earnest money deposit, damage, security or 

other deposits and any understanding for the return of all or part of the deposits.  
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 (vii) Complete and accurate description of all contractual conditions 

including balance of purchase price, rent or lease payments or management fees and 

terms or conditions of payment.  

 

 (viii) Date of actual or constructive possession and assignment of leases or 

referenced to closing date.  

 

 (ix) Specified date of closing.  

 

 (x) Date that offering document expires. 

 

 (xi) Signature of responsible broker or his agent upon receipt of monies or 

other valuable property coming into his possession which belongs to others.  

 

 (xii) Date of acceptance of offer by offeree.  

 

 (xiii) All changes made to an offer or counter-offer shall be dated and 

initialed by all parties to the contract. (xiv) When an offeror makes an offer which is 

accepted by the offeree, the licensee interacting with the offeree shall immediately notify 

the offeror or the licensee interacting with the offeror of the acceptance.  

 

 (xiv) If contract terms are amended or extended, a written agreement form 

to amend or extend shall be prepared and shall be signed by all parties to the transaction.  

 

 (xv) All offers presented by a licensee and rejected by the offeree shall be 

so rejected in writing upon the offer form presented. The licensee shall deliver a copy of 

such offer with the written rejection thereon to the offeror or the licensee working with 

the offeror.  

 

  (A) Should an offeree authorize the licensee to reject on his behalf 

or refuse to execute a written rejection, the licensee shall, by a written, signed statement, 

verify the date of offeree’s oral notification to the licensee of rejection of such offer.  

 

 (xvi) A copy of the acknowledged disclosures as required by W.S. 33-28-

306 and 33-28-308(f).  

 

 (c) Cooperating responsible brokers or licensees acting on their behalf shall 

present offers and shall negotiate only through the listing responsible broker or licensees 

acting on his behalf unless the listing responsible broker gives written consent to contact 

the principal. All offers shall be presented as expeditiously as possible.  

 

 (d) A responsible broker shall ensure that his agents comply with minimum 

Commission requirements when preparing contracts and obtaining signatures. 

 



CHAPTER 4 
RENEWALS - EDUCATION 

Section 1. License renewals – Education requirements. 
 
 (a)  Licenses expire at midnight December 31. Those licensees who fail to 
renew by the December 31 deadline shall have an additional 60 days to renew by paying 
a $75 late renewal fee in addition to the fee required for renewal. All applications for 
renewal shall be postmarked on or before December 31 or within the 60-day grace period 
ending on or before March 1. Licenses not renewed by December 31 lapse and the 
licensee shall not perform or engage in real estate activity until renewed. 
 
 (b)  All licensees are required to complete and show proof of at least forty-five 
(45) hours of continuing education during each three (3) year renewal period.  Twenty-
four (24) hours of continuing education hours shall be obtained through satisfactory 
completion of specific courses selected by the Commission and posted on the 
Commission web site as “required courses”.  The remaining hours may be obtained 
through satisfactory completion of other “elective” courses approved by the Commission.  
 
  (i) An inactive licensee will not have to furnish proof of continuing 
education until such time as licensee requests the activation of an inactive license.  

  (ii) Licensed individuals instructing Commission approved courses may 
submit said class for continuing education hours toward their renewal.  

  (iii) Licensees may submit the following courses physically attended in 
another state for “elective” continuing education: 

   (A) Any course in real estate, or a directly related area, approved 
by the Commission or by any real estate regulatory body in any state or province or 
having a current ARELLO certification which is not less than three (3) clock hours. 
 
   (B) Any course in real estate, or a directly related area, offered by 
any institution accredited by a regional accrediting agency which is recognized by the 
Office of Education of the United States Department of Health, Education and Welfare. 
 
  (iv) Distance education and online courses shall have been approved by 
the Commission. 
 
 (c) A responsible broker who renews a license which expires in 2012 or 
thereafter is required to complete a Commission approved broker management course 
during each licensing period in addition to the continuing education required in section 1 
(b) above. 

 
  (i) An approved broker management course shall be: 
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   (A) Rated an eight (8) hour course. 
 
   (B) Cover the learning objectives posted on the Commission 
website. 
 
   (C) Meet all other requirements of this chapter. 
 
 (d) An approved broker management course can be used for elective 
continuing education credit by licensees not using it as a requirement for becoming a 
responsible broker or renewing a responsible broker’s license. 
 
 (e) Courses may not be taken for continuing education credit more than once 
during any renewal cycle. 

 
Section 2. CE approval. 
 
 (a) Prior to offering elective real estate continuing education courses, a course 
provider desiring course approval by the Commission shall make application on forms 
prescribed by the Commission which require information concerning course(s) offered, 
course outlines, examination(s), instructor(s) and pay the appropriate application fee.  
  
 (b)  The following will be used in determining whether to approve a course;  

    
  (i)  The course shall be at least three (3) clock hours in duration; 
 
  (ii)  Standards: 
 
   (A)  If the course deals with real estate, or a directly related area, 
and it is approved by any real estate regulatory body in any state or province and has a 
current ARELLO certification, the course will be favorably considered. 
 
   (B)  If the course deals with real estate, or a directly related area, 
and is offered by any institution accredited by a regional accrediting agency which is 
recognized by the Office of Education of the United States Department of Health, 
Education and Welfare, the course will be favorably considered. 
 
   (C)  Courses falling into the following categories will also be 
considered: 
 
    (I)  Real estate ethics; 
 
    (II) Real estate law, contract law, agency, real estate 
licensing law;  
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    (III)  Legislative issues that influence real estate practice 
including both pending and recent legislation and rules/rule making; 
 
    (IV)  Real estate market measurement and evaluation, 
including site evaluations, market data, and feasibility studies; 
 
    (V)  Real estate brokerage management and supervision; 
 
    (VI)  Real estate mathematics; 
 
    (VII)  Real property management; 
 
    (VIII)  Real property exchange; 
 
    (IX)  Real estate securities and syndication; 
 
    (X)  Estate building and portfolio management; 
 
    (XI)  Accounting and taxation as applied to real property; 
 
    (XII)  Land development, land use planning and zoning, 
construction, energy conservation in building; 
 
    (XII)  Antitrust; 
 
    (XIV) Fair housing, affirmative marketing, Americans with 
Disabilities Act; 
 
    (XV) Real estate financing, including mortgages and other 
financing techniques; 
 
    (XVI) Real estate investment; 
 
    (XVII) Real estate appraising; 
 
    XVIII) Real estate inspections; 
 
    (XIX) Timeshares, condominiums and cooperatives; 
 
    (XX) Real estate environmental issues and hazards, 
including lead-based paint, underground storage tanks, radon, etc.; 

 
    (XXI) Water rights; 
 
    (XXII) Negotiation skills; 
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  (iii) Other Topics. Upon written request, the Commission may also 
approve any other topic that directly relates to real estate practice and that directly 
contributes to the accomplishment of the primary purpose of raising the standards of 
practice. 
     
 (c)   The course provider requesting approval of a course shall apply for 
approval at least sixty (60) days before conducting the proposed course. 
 
 (d)  A course provider which offers a course approved for continuing 
education shall notify the Commission if there is a substantial change in the approved 
offering, which changes shall be approved by the Commission prior to implementation. 
 
 (e)  Staff may approve courses which clearly meet the requirements of Chapter 
5, Section 2(b). 

 (f)  Distance education courses shall be certified by the Association of Real 
Estate License Law Officials (ARELLO) or be specifically approved by the Commission 
(i.e., Commission owned distance education courses). Proof shall be supplied that the 
student completed the course within one (1) year of the date of enrollment. 

 (g)  Elective continuing education course approval expires two (2) years from 
the date of approval. 

 (h)  A Wyoming Real Estate Commission member may monitor any class and 
the course fee will be waived. That member will not receive continuing education credit 
for attending such class. 

 (j)  If the Commission determines a course of study previously approved no 
longer meets the prescribed standards, a written notice of withdrawal of approval shall be 
given stating the reasons for the withdrawal.  The withdrawal becomes effective twenty 
(20) days from the date of notice unless the person or entity giving the course files a 
written request for a hearing with the Commission before the withdrawal becomes 
effective.  If a request for a hearing is filed, the withdrawal of approval will not become 
effective unless ordered by the Commission within ninety (90) days after the hearing. 

 (k)  The Commission shall be notified of each offering to include date, place, 
and time. 

 (m)  The course location shall meet ADA requirements. 

 (n)  Records of attendance and course evaluation forms shall be submitted to 
the Commission by the course provider within ten (10) days after the course and 
maintained by the course provider for five (5) years and shall indicate: 

  (i) The name of each participant. 

  (ii) The hours and dates each licensee attended the course. 

  (iii) The title and description of the course attended. 
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  (iv) The name of the instructor. 

 (o) The course provider shall certify that the licensee attended at least ninety 
(90) percent of the approved course hours of instruction. 

  (i) Should an approved instructor feel that a student is disrupting the class, 
he, at his discretion, may ask the student to leave. 

 (p)   Actual clock hours are required to award credit to a student. No credit will 
be given for only taking an examination. 

 (q)  A course evaluation form shall be provided to each participant at the end 
of each course for submission to the Commission. 

 (r)  The course provider shall agree to participate in the Commission’s 
education electronic tracking system and enter information within ten (10) days of the 
offering. 

 (s) A clock hour is at least 50 minutes of instructional time per hour. 

Section 3. Instructor qualifications. 

 (a)  Those who instruct a Commission approved education course shall meet at 
least one of the following qualifications, unless granted a special exception by the 
Commission: 
 
  (i)  Completion of an instructor training certification course of not less 
than four (4) hours within the last three (3) years. 

 
  (ii)  Five (5) years of current experience in the subject instructed. 

 
 (b)  Those who instruct required continuing education courses or Commission 
developed courses shall agree to the conditions stated in (a) above and below unless 
granted a special exception by the Commission: 
 
  (i)  Participate in the maintenance and updating of the required course 
or Commission developed courses as needed; 
 
  (ii)  Achieve favorable evaluations following a Commission audit of the 
instructor teaching the required or Commission developed course; 
 
  (iii)  Agree that discipline of an instructor’s real estate license may be a 
basis for denial or suspension of that instructor’s approval. 
 
  (iv)  Agree any new material an instructor wants to teach shall first be 
approved by the Commission and, if approved, the material will be disbursed by the 
Commission staff to all approved instructors to be included in the course outline. 
 
   (A)  The Commission may continue to provide recent consent 
orders for instructors to utilize at the instructors discretion. 
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  (v)  A pre-license instructor may take the salesman license exam only 
once every two years. 
 
 (c)  Instructors shall not promote products during instructional hours. This 
includes specific verbal reference, print media or product display in the course delivery 
area. 
 
 (d)  Instructors shall audit a Commission developed course prior to obtaining 
approval to instruct said course or obtain special permission from the Commission. 
 
 (e)  Printed handouts of Commission sponsored courses will be provided to 
instructors.  If the instructor chooses to expand the course outline, the additional 
information shall be approved by the Commission, and the instructor will have to bear the 
costs of printing the new handouts. 
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CHAPTER 5 

BROKERS’ TRUST ACCOUNTS 

 

Section 1. Broker’s trust accounts. 
 

 (a) All “money belonging to others” accepted by the responsible broker shall 

be deposited with a funds holder or in a bank, financial institution or other recognized 

depository in this state in a trust account separate from money belonging to the 

responsible broker A banking trust account may be any type of checking, demand, 

passbook, or statement account insured by an agency of the United States government.  

The name of each trust account shall be identified by the word “trust” or “escrow”.  The 

account shall be maintained in the name of the responsible broker. 

 

 (b) “Money belonging to others” which is received by the responsible broker 

or licensees or employees acting on his behalf includes but is not limited to money 

received in connection with property management contracts; rent or lease contracts; 

advance fee contracts; or money belonging to others received for future investment or 

other purposes. 

 

 (c) If the responsible broker does business as a real estate company, such 

account shall be maintained in the name of the responsible broker acting for such real 

estate company and in the name of the real estate company.  The name of the responsible 

broker is to be followed by the words “responsible broker”. 

 

 (d) Each “trust” bank account heading shall include a label identifying the 

purpose/type of such account, i.e. “sales trust,” “security deposit escrow,” “property 

management trust.” 

 

 (e) Unless otherwise permitted by other subsections of this rule, all money 

belonging to others shall be deposited accounting to the purpose of the transaction in 

separate types of escrow accounts.  For example, sales escrow deposits separated from 

property management deposits separated form security deposits as follows: 

 

 For example: 

 

  Line 1 – XYZ Realty 

  Line 2 – John Doe, Responsible Broker 

  Line 3 – Meadows Homeowners’ Association Escrow Account 

 

  (i) The responsible broker shall be able to withdraw money from such trust 

account without the benefit of a cosigner.  Other authorized signatures of licensed or 

unlicensed people may also appear on the account. 
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  (ii) Money belonging to others shall not be invested in any type of account 

or security or certificate of deposit which has a fixed term for maturity unless the written 

consent of all parties to the transaction has been secured. 

 

  (iii) Money held in a trust account which is due and payable to the 

responsible broker shall be withdrawn promptly.  Monies earned by licensees affiliated 

with a responsible broker may not be paid directly from the responsible broker’s trust 

account. 

 

  (iv) All money belonging to others in the form of cash or check received 

shall be deposited directly into the listing responsible broker’s trust account or with the 

responsible broker’s funds holder by the listing responsible broker, not later than the first 

banking day after receipt unless all persons having an interest in the funds have agreed 

otherwise in writing. 

 

  (v) When trust funds are held by a funds holder, the responsible broker 

shall obtain a receipt showing the date and the amount of the funds transferred to the 

funds holder. 

 

   (A) The broker, for each funds holder account maintained, shall 

also maintain a recordkeeping system in his place of business, consisting of at least the 

following:  Date Received/Paid, Check number, Amount, Buyer, Seller, Escrow Agent, 

Date Delivered, Description of the real estate, Disposition of Transaction. 

 

  (vi) The responsible broker, for all money belonging to others, shall also 

maintain a recordkeeping system in his place of business consisting of at least the 

following: 

 

   (A) A journal shall show the chronological sequence in which 

funds are received and disbursed.  For funds received, the journal shall include the date, 

the name of the party who is giving the money, the name of the principal, address or 

description of the real estate, the amount.  For disbursements, the journal shall also 

include the date, check number, amount, payee, principal, and the address or description 

of the real estate. The journal shall include a current running balance. 

 

   (B) A transaction ledger shall show the receipts and disbursements 

as they affect a particular transaction between buyer and seller or landlord and tenant, etc.  

The transaction ledger shall include the names of both parties to the transaction, the dates 

and amounts received, and the address and description of the real estate.  When funds are 

disbursed, the date, payee, check number, and amount shall be shown. 

 

   (C) The responsible broker shall reconcile trust account journals 

and ledger liabilities monthly.  The bank reconciliation shall prove agreement on the date  
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of reconciliation by (1) the cash balance showing in the account journal; (2) the sum of 

the cash balances for all ledgers; and (3) the corresponding bank account balance.  This 

worksheet shall be maintained in hard copy form for later inspection and list each 

beneficiary’s ledger balance on the date of reconciliation.  The responsible broker is not 

required to reconcile any trust account when no banking activity has occurred. 

 

   (D) Separate trust account journals shall be reconciled with the 

related bank statement monthly. 

 

 (f) Money belonging to one beneficiary shall not be used for the benefit of 

another beneficiary. 

 

 (g) Any instrument or equity or thing of value taken in lieu of cash shall be 

held by the listing responsible broker except as otherwise agreed to by all parties to the 

transaction. 

 

 (h) A nonresident responsible broker licensed in Wyoming engaged in real 

estate activity in this state shall maintain such separate trust accounts with a Wyoming 

funds holder or in a bank or recognized depository in Wyoming. 

 

 (j) A responsible broker is not limited to the number of separate trust 

accounts or funds holder accounts he may maintain for money belonging to others. 

 

 (k) When money is collected by a responsible broker for performance or 

services or for the expenses of performing such services, or for advertising expenses in 

regard to the sale of real estate, and such money is collected before the advertising or 

services have been performed, such responsible broker shall deposit such money with a 

funds holder or in a trust account.  No money may be withdrawn from such principal’s 

funds, except for actual expenses paid on behalf of the principal, until the responsible 

broker has fully performed the services for which the principal contracted.  A full and 

itemized accounting shall be furnished the principal within twenty (20) days of any 

withdrawal of such principal’s funds from such principal’s account. 

 

Section 2. Audits. 
 

 (a) The Commission may audit the responsible broker’s records of his trust 

accounts and the responsible broker’s records of monies deposited with his funds holders 

to assure compliance with Commission rules and statutes. 
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CHAPTER 6 

REGULATORY ENFORCEMENT GROUNDS 

 

Section 1. Regulatory enforcement grounds. The Commission may take disciplinary 

action, which includes an administrative fine, censure, probation, suspension, or 

revocation, including a combination thereof, with respect to a licensee, for any of the 

following acts or conduct: 

 

 (a) Against a licensee and/or licensee’s responsible broker for: 

 

  (i) Violating or failing to comply with any rule of the Commission or 

provision of the act; 

 

  (ii) Participating in real estate activity while a license is on inactive status; 

 

  (iii) Representing that a particular form or sales Commission rate has been 

approved by the Commission; 

 

  (iv) Violation or assisting in the violation of local, state or federal law or 

regulation; 

 

  (v) Using a form which does not describe the actual real estate transaction; 

 

  (vi) Making any false promise which influences, persuades, or induces 

action by another relating to a real estate transaction; 

 

  (vii) Failing to account for or to remit any moneys or documents coming 

into his possession which belong to others; 

 

  (viii) Commingling the money or property of others with his own; 

 

  (ix) Permitting the use of his license as a responsible broker to enable 

anyone to operate a real estate company without actual participations therein and control 

thereof by the responsible broker; 

 

  (x) Failing to provide information requested by the Commission relative to 

a complaint, investigation, or audit which could indicate a violation of the act; 

 

  (xi) Failing to disclose matters know to the licensee which are material to 

the real estate transaction; 

 

  (xii) Failing to notify sub-agents, multiple listing service or other 

interested parties when agency or non-agency has been terminated.  Notice to multiple 

listing services shall constitute notice to all members thereof; 
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  (xiii) Failing to remove signs and/or lock boxes after termination of a 

listing; continuing to advertise real estate which is no longer listed; 

 

  (xiv) Advertising and promoting another real estate company’s or broker’s 

listings without written permission; 

 

  (xv) Failing to pay a fine imposed or comply with all requirements of a 

Commission settlement agreement, stipulation and order; 

 

  (xvi) Compensating any unlicensed person for performing the services of a 

licensee for any real estate activity except: 

 

   (A) Anyone arranging non-consecutive short-term rentals.  

 

  (xvii) Failing to obtain and maintain errors and omissions insurance and 

provide proof of insurance to the Commission.  

 

 (b) Unless approved by the Commission, the voluntary surrender, expiration or 

lapse of a license by a licensee does not prevent the Commission from proceeding with 

its investigation of a complaint and taking appropriate disciplinary action against a 

licensee. 

 
Section 2. Suspension/revocation requirements.  

 

 (a) When a responsible broker's license is suspended or revoked, he shall return his 

license and the licenses of his associate brokers and salesmen to the office of the 

Commission.  

 

  (i) Licensees affiliated with a responsible broker who have had their license 

suspended or revoked may not perform any real estate activity until they have transferred to a 

new responsible broker.  

 

 (b) When an associate broker or salesman license has been suspended or revoked, the 

licensee shall surrender his license to the responsible broker who shall return the license to 

the Commission.  

 

Section 3. Unlawful compensation; disputes between licensees.  
 

 (a) The Commission shall not entertain complaints between licensees regarding 

disputes concerning matters of compensation, the earning, splitting or the non-payment 

thereof. 

 

 (b) A responsible broker may compensate an unlicensed or inactive person for 

real estate activity performed if the person was actively licensed and under the 

responsible broker’s supervision at the time the real estate activity was performed. 

 



 

6-3 

 

 

 (c) W.S. 33-28-110 (a) does not apply to incentives offered or paid to persons, 

who on their own behalf, engage the services of a licensee to assist them with the sale or 

purchase of real estate, provided those persons do not perform any real estate activity.  

Advertising and/or paying such incentives does not violate any provision of the act or 

rule or regulation of the Commission. 

 

 (d) A licensee may pay their personal assistant a salary directly.  The responsible 

broker shall pay a licensed personal assistant if that personal assistant is to receive a 

percentage of any compensation. 

 

 (e) A responsible broker’s payment of earned real estate Commission to a 

corporation or LLC which is solely owned by a licensee working under the responsible 

broker shall not be considered a violation of W.S. 33-28-111(a)(xxiii), “compensating 

any unlicensed person.”  Any agreement between the responsible broker and the 

corporation or LLC does not relieve the responsible broker of the obligation to supervise 

the licensee or any other requirement of the act or Commission rules. 
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CHAPTER 7 

ERRORS AND OMISSIONS INSURANCE 

 

Section 1. Every Wyoming licensee shall provide proof of errors and omissions 

insurance which meets the criteria established by these rules. 

 

Section 2. Definitions. The definitions in W.S.  33-28-102 apply. 

 

Section 3 Insurance required. An applicant for issuance of a license on active status, a 

licensee renewing a license, or an inactive licensee activating a license shall submit proof 

of insurance coverage through the group plan or through certification of equivalent 

coverage. 

  

Section 4. Minimum standards. The group policy obtained by the Commission shall 

provide to each individual licensee, at a minimum, the following terms of coverage:  

 

(a) Not less than one hundred thousand dollars single-limit liability coverage for 

each licensee per occurrence or claim made, not including costs for investigation or 

defense;  

 

(b) An annual aggregate limit of not less than five hundred thousand dollars per 

licensee;  

 

(c) A deductible amount for each occurrence of not more than one thousand 

dollars for single-limit liability coverage and one thousand dollars maximum additional 

deductible for defense and investigation;  

 

(d) An extended reporting provision of ninety days and an option to purchase an 

additional three years extended reporting provision for a premium not to exceed two 

hundred percent of the premium charged for the last year of the terminating coverage;  

 

(e) Coverage under this section for covered acts in any state, United States 

territory, or Canada in which a covered individual, domiciled in Wyoming, holds a 

license;  

 

(f) A conformity endorsement allowing a Wyoming resident licensee to meet the 

errors and omissions insurance requirement for an active license in another group 

mandated state without the need to purchase separate coverage in that state;  

 

(g) Stacking of benefits;  

 

(h) Proration of premiums for coverage that is purchased during the course of a 

calendar year but with no provision for refunds of unearned premiums;  
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(j) The ability of a licensee, upon payment of an additional premium, to obtain 

higher or excess coverage or to purchase additional coverages from the group carrier as 

may be determined by the carrier;  

 

(k) The coverage is individual and license-specific and will cover the licensee 

regardless of changes in employing broker; and  

 

(m) Prior acts coverage shall be offered to licensees with continuous past 

coverage. 

 

Section 5. Exceptions to coverage.  

 

(a) Except as provided in this section, coverage may not exclude claims brought 

against the insured licensee arising out of an act or failure to act by the licensee when 

performing a professional service for which a real estate license is required. Coverage 

may limit or exclude claims brought against a licensee which arise as follows:  

 

(i) Out of claims or suits made or brought by any insured person against 

any other insured person within the same firm or from compensation disputes between 

licensees;  

 

  (ii) Out of loss assumed under contract or agreement, except for liability 

the insured would have had in the absence of such agreements;  

 

  (iii) From any criminal, dishonest, actual fraud, or willful act or omission. 

This exclusion does not apply to any insured person who did not personally participate in 

committing such an act or omission and who, upon having knowledge of the act or 

omission, reported it;  

 

 (iv) From unlawful discrimination committed by or for the insured person;  

 

 (v) From fines or penalties imposed by law;  

 

 (vi) From failure to maintain any type or amount of insurance for managed 

property;  

 

 (vii)From bodily injury, personal injury, advertising injury, or property 

damage;  

 

 (viii)From related business activities for which a license is not required 

under this chapter;  

 

 (ix) From involvement in any real estate investment contract or 

syndication as a partner, joint venture, or underwriter;  
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 (x) From hazardous materials, nuclear materials, or pollutants;  

 

 (xi) From prior wrongful acts;  

 

 (xii) From management or sale of property in which the insured or spouse 

has more than a ten percent financial or ownership interest. This exclusion does not apply 

for one year from the date a property is acquired under a guaranteed sale listing contract 

if the property is listed for sale during that entire period;  

 

 (xiii)From any violation of the Securities Act of 1933, as amended through 

July 1, 1993, or the Securities Exchange Act of 1934, as amended through July 1, 1993, 

or any state blue sky or securities law or similar state or federal statutes; or  

 

 (xiv) Other standard exclusions that are typical in the professional liability 

insurance industry may be permitted, subject to the approval of the Wyoming Real Estate 

Commission. 

 

Section 6. Group policy approval requirements.  

 

 (a) Any group policy to be issued shall conform to the standards and practices of 

the insurance industry and be approved by the Wyoming insurance department. 

 

 (b) The administrative fee the Commission shall charge and collect as outlined in 

W.S. 33-28-401 may be waived by the Commission if the total number of licensees 

enrolled in the group program is less than two thousand (2,000). 

 

Section 7. Equivalent coverage.  

 

 (a) An active licensee who chooses the option of obtaining errors and omissions 

insurance independently from a carrier other than the group carrier under contract with 

the Commission shall show evidence of coverage by providing certification of coverage 

on a form prescribed by the Commission. The form shall show proof that the licensee has 

coverage in compliance with the minimum standards established by section 9. The form 

shall be signed by an authorized representative of the insurance company and shall 

contain a cancellation notification clause as required by section 10.  

 

Section 8. Standards for equivalent coverage.  

 

 (a) Licensees or applicants may obtain errors and omissions coverage independent 

of the group plan from any insurance carrier subject to the following terms and 

conditions:  

 

 (i) The insurance carrier is licensed and authorized by the Wyoming 

insurance department to write policies of errors and omissions insurance in this state and 

is in conformance with all Wyoming statutes.  
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 (ii) The insurance provider maintains an A.M. Best rating of "B" or better 

and Financial size category of class VI or higher.  

 

 (iii) The policy, at a minimum, complies with all relevant conditions set 

forth in this rule and the insurance carrier so certifies in an affidavit issued to the insured  

licensee or applicant in a form specified by the Commission and agrees to immediately 

notify the Commission of any cancellation or lapse in coverage. Independent coverage 

shall provide, at a minimum, the following:  

 

  (A) The contract and policy are in conformance with all relevant 

Wyoming statutory requirements.  

 

  (B) Coverage includes all acts for which a real estate license is 

required, except those illegal, fraudulent or other acts which are normally excluded from 

such coverage.  

 

  (C) Coverage cannot be canceled by the insurance provider except 

for nonpayment of premiums or fraud.  

 

  (D) Coverage is for not less than $100,000 for each licensed 

individual and entity per covered claim, regardless of the number of licensees or entities 

to which a settlement or claim may apply, with an annual aggregate limit of not less than 

$500,000 per licensed individual and entity.  

 

  (E) Payment of claims by the provider shall be on a first dollar 

basis and the provider shall look to the insured for payment of any deductible. 

 

  (F) The ability of a licensee, upon payment of an additional 

premium to obtain an extended reporting period of not less than 365 days.  

 

  (G) That the provider of the independent policy has executed an 

affidavit in a form or manner specified by the Commission attesting that the independent 

policy is in force and, at a minimum, complies with all relevant conditions set forth 

herein and that the provider will immediately notify the Commission in writing of any 

cancellation or lapse in coverage of any independent policy.  

 

 (b) Licensees or applicants who obtain equivalent coverage and wish to be on 

active status shall present the affidavit referred to in subsection (iii) of this section to the 

Commission:  

 

 (i) When renewing an active license, no later than at the time of renewal; 

or 

 (ii) Upon any request for reinstatement or activation of a license; or  

 

 (iii) Upon application for an active license.  
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 (c) Applicants for a license, activation, renewal and reinstatement shall certify 

compliance with this rule on forms or in a manner prescribed by the Commission. Any 

active licensee who so certifies and fails to obtain errors and omissions coverage or to 

provide proof of continuous coverage, either through the group carrier or directly to the 

Commission, shall be placed on inactive status:  

 (i) Immediately, if certification of current insurance coverage is not 

provided to the Commission; or,  

 

 (ii) Immediately upon the expiration of any current insurance when 

certification of continued coverage is not provided.  

 

Section 9. Time for filing certification of equivalent coverage. Certification of 

equivalent coverage shall be filed with the Commission by 5 p.m. on the date of 

expiration of coverage. If the certification is not filed on time, the Commission shall 

place the license on inactive status on that date.  

 

Section 10. Nonpayment of premium. If a licensee’s insurance company or group plan 

notifies the Commission that a licensee has not paid a premium, the Commission shall 

place that license on inactive status as of the date of termination of coverage.  

 

Section 11. Surrender of license for failure to provide proof of insurance.  

 

 (a) When a licensee receives notice of being placed on inactive status for failure 

to provide proof of insurance, the licensee shall immediately surrender the license to the 

Commission.  

  

Section 12. Notification required for cancellation. 

  

 (a) If insurance under equivalent coverage is to lapse or not be renewed, the 

providing company shall notify the real estate Commission of the intent to lapse or not to 

renew, a minimum of thirty (30) days before the expiration date of the term.  

 

Section 13. Proof of insurance required to activate license.  

 

 (a) A licensee whose license has been placed on inactive status for failure to  

provide proof of insurance may not conduct any activities for which a license is required 

until proof of insurance has been provided to the Commission and the license has been 

activated. The license shall be considered active as of the effective date of the insurance.  

 

Section 14. Authenticity of coverage.  

 

 (a) A licensee may not willfully or knowingly cause or allow a certificate of 

coverage to be filed with the Commission that is false, fraudulent, or misleading. 
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CHAPTER 8 

WYOMING REAL ESTATE COMMISSION 

 

APPLICATION REVIEW, COMPLAINTS AND HEARING PROCEDURES 

 

Section 1. Application Review Process.  

 

 (a) Upon receipt of a completed application, the Commission office shall review 

the application and, if it is complete and there are no known grounds for denial of the 

license requested, issue the license. If there are known grounds for denial, the 

Commission office shall forward the application to the Application Review Committee 

(ARC).  

 

 (b) The ARC shall review the application and all other information available and 

following the review may: 

  

  (i) Approve the application if the applicant meets all requirements; or  

 

  (ii) If there are questions as to whether denial is appropriate, forward the 

application and the ARC report to the Assistant Attorney General assigned to the 

Commission for prosecution for review.  

 

 (c) If, after review, and following consultation with the Assistant Attorney 

General, the ARC concludes that grounds exist to recommend denial of an application:  

 

  (i) A preliminary denial letter shall be sent to applicant. The letter shall:  

 

   (A) State the basis for the denial including relevant statutes and 

rules; and  

 

   (B) Advise the applicant of the right to request reconsideration.  

 

  (ii) If the applicant fails to request reconsideration in writing within thirty 

(30) days of the date of the preliminary denial letter, the preliminary denial becomes 

final.  

 

  (iii) If the applicant requests reconsideration within thirty (30) days, a 

reconsideration conference shall be held with the ARC, the Assistant Attorney General, 

and the applicant.  

 

  (iv) Following a reconsideration conference, the ARC shall either approve 

or deny the application and notify the applicant.  
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  (v) If denied, the applicant shall submit a written request for a hearing 

before the Commission within thirty (30) days of the date of the denial letter or the denial 

is final.  

 

 (d)  Application denial hearings 

  (i) An application denial hearing is a formal contested case hearing 

conducted pursuant to the Wyoming Administrative Procedure Act.  

 

  (ii) The applicant has the burden of proving that he/she meets all 

requirements for the license requested.  

 

 (e)  The ARC may attend hearings, but shall not take part in the consideration of 

any contested case. 

 

Section 2. Complaints.  

 

 (a) A disciplinary action is initiated against a licensee by submitting a sworn 

written complaint to the Commission office. A complaint concerning an alleged violation 

of the Act or Commission Rules may be submitted by any person or entity, a Commission 

member, or a member of the Commission staff. The sworn written complaint should 

provide as much of the following information as may be available and applicable:  

 

  (i) The name and address of the complainant;  

 

  (ii) The name, address, place of employment, and telephone number of the 

licensee against whom the charges are made;  

 

  (iii) The specific conduct alleged to constitute the violation;  

 

  (iv) The name and address of any other witnesses; and  

 

  (v) The signature of the complainant.  

 

Section 3. Review of Sworn Written Complaint.  

 

 (a) Sworn written complaints shall be referred to an Liaison Commission Member 

(LCM) selected by Commission staff from a rotating schedule.  License holders against 

whom charges are made will be advised of the investigation, the name of the LCM, and 

the nature of the complaint.  

  (i) The LCM shall not take part in the consideration of any contested case. 

 

  (ii) The LCM shall not, by this rule, be barred from attending any 

disciplinary hearing.  
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Section 4. Investigations and Commission Action. The LCM and Commission staff 

shall investigate those written complaints received which merit further investigation. 

 

 (a) Upon completion of the investigation, the investigator for the Commission 

shall prepare an investigative report and submit it to the LCM.  

 

  (i) The report shall include:   

 

   (A) The findings;  

 

   (B) A list of statutes and/or Commission rules believed to have 

been violated; and  

 

   (C) Any relevant additional information and/or documentation.  

 

 (b) The LCM shall review the investigative report, forward the report and his/her 

recommendations to the Assistant Attorney General assigned to the Commission for 

prosecution, and consult with the Assistant Attorney General.  

 

 (c) Following consultation with the Assistant Attorney General, the LCM may:  

 

  (i) Send the notice required by section 5;  

 

  (ii) Prepare and file a formal petition and notice of hearing setting the 

matter for a contested case hearing before the Commission;  

 

  (iii) Recommend the Commission accept an offer of conditional terms for 

settlement, which may include educational courses;  

 

  (iv) Recommend the Commission dismiss the complaint.  

 

 (d) The Commission may resolve a complaint at any time by:  

 

  (i) Accepting a voluntary surrender of a license;  

 

  (ii) Accepting conditional terms for settlement;  

 

  (iii) Dismissal.  

 

Section 5. Service of Notice and Opportunity to Show Compliance.  

 

 Prior to commencement of a formal hearing, the LCM shall give notice by mail to 

the licensee of the facts or conduct which warrants his/her intended action. The notice 

shall give the licensee an opportunity to show compliance with all lawful requirements 

for retention of the license within twenty (20) days of the mailing of the notice. Such 
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notice shall be sent to the licensee’s last known address both by certified mail with return 

receipt requested and by first class mail. 

 

Section 6. Formal Hearing Prerequisites.  

 

 (a) Formal proceedings for a hearing before the Commission regarding a denied 

application or an action against an applicant or licensee shall be commenced by notice of 

hearing for applicants or petition and notice of hearing for licensees, served in person, or 

by both certified mail and first class mail sent to the address last known by the 

Commission at least thirty (30) days prior to the date set for the hearing. The petition and 

notice shall contain at least:  

 

  (i) The name and address of the applicant or licensee;  

 

  (ii) A statement, in ordinary and concise language, of the reasons for 

denial or the nature of the complaint filed with the Commission, the facts upon which the 

denial or complaint is based, as well as the specific statute(s) or Commission rules and 

regulations alleged to have been violated;  

 

  (iii) The time, place, and nature of the hearing;  

 

  (iv) That the hearing is being held pursuant to the authority provided by 

W.S. 33-28-106(g), (h), (j), or (m) (for application denials), 33-28-111 and 33-28-113; 

and  

 

  (v) That the applicant or licensee shall file an Answer or Notice of 

Appearance, which shall be received by the Commission at least ten (10) working days 

prior to the date set for hearing, or the applicant or licensee will be in default.  

 

 

Section 7. Default. The Commission may enter an order based on the allegations in a 

notice of hearing or petition and notice of hearing in any case where the applicant or 

licensee has not answered or appeared in writing ten (10) working days before the 

hearing, or in any case in which the applicant or licensee or his/her representative has not 

appeared at a scheduled hearing for which he had notice.  

 

Section 8. Contested Case Hearings. 

 

  (a) The Office of Administrative Hearings shall act as the hearing officer and 

shall preside over the formal contested case hearing which shall be conducted pursuant to 

the Wyoming Administrative Procedure Act and the Office of Administrative Hearings’ 

rule concerning contested case proceedings. 
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 (b)  At the Commission’s discretion, contested case hearings shall either be 

conducted in the presence of a quorum of Commission members or a committee of one 

(1) or more Commission members. 

 

 (c)  During the formal contested case hearing, Commission members may ask 

questions of the witnesses and/or the parties including their attorneys. 

 

 (d)  A court reporter shall be present during the hearing and report the entire 

proceeding. 

 

Section 9. Subpoenas.  

 

 (a) A commission member or the hearing officer may issue subpoenas for the 

attendance of witnesses and for the production of books, records, documents, and other 

evidence, and shall have the power to administer oaths.  

 

 (b) Service of a subpoena must be made at the expense of the party applying for it 

and shall be made in the manner provided by law for service of subpoenas in civil 

actions.  

 

Section 10. Witnesses.  

 

 (a) All persons testifying at any hearing before the commission shall be 

administered a standard oath or affirmation.  

 

 (b) No testimony will be received from a witness except under oath or 

affirmation.  

 

 (c) The party calling a witness shall bear the costs associated with his appearance.  

 

 (d) The commission and hearing officer shall have an opportunity to examine any 

witness.  

 

Section 11. Representation.  

 

 (a) An applicant or licensee may represent himself or be represented by counsel, 

provided that such counsel is licensed to practice law in the State of Wyoming or is 

associated at the hearing with one or more attorneys licensed to practice law in the State 

of Wyoming.  

 

 (b) In any case before the commission, an appearance in person or the filing of an 

answer or other pleading by an attorney shall constitute an appearance of record by an 

attorney.  
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  (c) A request for withdrawal from representation by an attorney shall be 

submitted to the commission in writing.  

 

 (d) The Assistant Attorney General assigned to the commission for prosecution 

shall present all matters in a contested case on behalf of the ARC or LCM.  

 

Section 12. Prehearing Conference.  

 

 (a) The hearing officer may direct the parties to appear before him to consider:  

 

  (i) The simplification of the issues;  

 

  (ii) The necessity or desirability of amending the pleadings;  

  (iii) The possibility of obtaining admissions of fact and of documents to 

avoid unnecessary proof;  

 

  (iv) Formulating procedures to govern the hearing; or  

 

  (v) Such other matters as may aid in the presentation or disposition of the 

case.  

 

 (b) Prehearing conferences shall be conducted informally. An order will be 

prepared which recites the actions taken at the conference, amendments allowed, 

agreements of the parties, and the issues to be determined at the hearing.  

 

Section 13. Order of Procedure at Hearing. The hearing will be conducted in 

substantially the following order:  

 

 (a) Opening announcements are made by the hearing officer, including case name 

and docket number, the issue(s) to be considered, parties and counsel present, and 

subpoenas issued;  

 

 (b) Witnesses should be identified and sworn;  

 

 (c) Opening statements may be made at the discretion of the hearing officer. In 

cases of license denial, the applicant should go first. In disciplinary cases the LCM 

should go first;  

 

 (d) Presentation of Evidence. The order above will be followed with each party, 

the hearing officer, and the commission having the opportunity to cross-examine the 

witnesses. Rebuttal evidence may be presented;  

 

 (e) Exhibits offered in evidence by the applicant or the licensee will be marked 

with the letters of the alphabet. Those offered by the LCM will be marked numerically;  
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 (f) Closing arguments may be made at the discretion of the hearing officer. Time 

may be limited, the order of presentation is as above, and brief rebuttal time may be 

allowed. The hearing and the evidence are then closed, unless reopened by the hearing 

officer for good cause shown. 

 

Section 14. Decisions.  

 

 (a) Proposed Decisions 

 

  (i) At the discretion and direction of the hearing officer, the parties may 

file proposed findings of fact, conclusions of law, and order after the hearing and before 

the deadline announced in the hearing’s closing announcements.  

 

  (ii) At the discretion and direction of the Commission, the hearing officer 

or the Assistant Attorney General assigned to advise the Commission shall prepare 

proposed findings of fact, conclusions of law, and order following deliberations by the 

Commission or its committee.  

 

 (b) Final Decisions. Proposed decisions will be given consideration but are not 

binding upon the Commission. All final decisions will be issued by the Commission and 

shall be based exclusively upon the evidence in the record and matters officially noticed. 

All final decisions issued by the Commission shall be served to all parties by first class 

mail sent to their last known address.  

 

Section 15. Appeals. A Petition for Judicial Review of the Commission decision may be 

filed in the district court in accordance with the Wyoming Rules of Appellate Procedure.  

 

Section 16. Transcripts. If a Petition for Judicial Review is filed in the district court, the 

petitioner shall either arrange the preparation and pay for the transcript of the testimony, 

or reimburse the Commission for the cost of the transcript if previously prepared at 

Commission expense.  
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