## HOUSE BILL NO. HB0301

Redistricting of the legislature.

Sponsored by: Representative(s) Williams

## A BILL

for

- 1 AN ACT relating to state legislative districts; specifying
- 2 senate districts; providing for election of the senate;
- 3 requiring a report; and providing for an effective date.

4

5 Be It Enacted by the Legislature of the State of Wyoming:

6

- 7 **Section 1.** W.S. 28-2-117(a), (b) and by creating a
- 8 new subsection (e) and 28-2-118(a), (b) and by creating a
- 9 new subsection (d) are amended to read:

10

- 28-2-117. Effective date of changes in legislative
- 12 districts; election of holdover senators.

13

- 14 (a) Subject to subsection (e) of this section,
- 15 changes in all legislative districts are effective for the

1

1 2022 general election cycle and the sixty-seventh

2 legislature.

3

4 (b) Subject to subsection (e) of this section, members for senate districts designated as odd-numbered 5 districts in W.S. 28-2-118(b) shall be elected for a term 6 of four (4) years at the 2022 general election. As provided 7 8 in subsection (c) of this section, no election shall be 2022 for senate districts designated 9 held in even-numbered districts in W.S. 28-2-118(b) for which 10 members were elected at the 2020 general election and 11 nothing in this act shall affect the terms of those 12 13 members. Members for senate districts designated as even-numbered districts in W.S. 28-2-118(b), shall be 14 elected for a term of four (4) years at the 2024 general 15 election. 16

17

(e) Changes to senate districts as provided in W.S.

28-2-118(d) are effective for the 2028 general election

cycle and the seventieth legislature. All senate districts

shall be elected in the 2028 general election and no member

elected at the 2026 general election or earlier, or

appointed during the sixty-ninth legislature, shall

1 continue in office regardless of the term for which the

2 member was elected or appointed. Members for senate

3 districts designated as odd-numbered districts in W.S.

4 28-2-118(d) shall be elected for a term of two (2) years at

5 the 2028 general election. Members for senate districts

6 designated as even-numbered districts in W.S. 28-2-118(d)

7 shall be elected for a term of four (4) years at the 2028

8 general election. For the 2030 general election and

9 thereafter, members for any senate district standing for

10 election shall be elected for a four (4) year term.

11

12 **28-2-118.** Senate legislative districts; list of 13 nested house districts formed to create senate districts.

14

(a) Subsection (b) Subsections (b) and (d) of this 15 16 section <del>creates</del> create legislative districts for the 17 Wyoming senate consisting of the numbered legislative districts contained therein. There shall be one (1) 18 senator elected from each legislative district as specified 19 20 in subsection (b) or (d) of this section. If the senate district is listed with two (2) house districts in 21 subsection (b) of this section, those senate districts 22 shall consist of the entirety of the geographic area of the 23

2025

23

4

1	(v) Senate district 5 - Albany county;
2	
3	(vi) Senate district 6 - Carbon county;
4	
5	(vii) Senate district 7 - Goshen county;
6	
7	(viii) Senate district 8 - Platte county;
8	
9	(ix) Senate district 9 - Big Horn county;
10	
11	(x) Senate district 10 - Fremont county;
12	
13	(xi) Senate district 11 - Park county;
14	
15	(xii) Senate district 12 - Lincoln county;
16	
17	(xiii) Senate district 13 - Converse county;
18	
19	(xiv) Senate district 14 - Niobrara county;
20	
21	(xv) Senate district 15 - Hot springs county;
22	
23	(xvi) Senate district 16 - Johnson county;
	5 нв0301

Τ	
2	(xvii) Senate district 17 - Campbell county;
3	
4	(xviii) Senate district 18 - Crook county;
5	
6	(xix) Senate district 19 - Uinta county;
7	
8	(xx) Senate district 20 - Washakie county;
9	
10	(xxi) Senate district 21 - Weston county;
11	
12	(xxii) Senate district 22 - Teton county; and
13	
14	(xxiii) Senate district 23 - Sublette county.
15	
16	Section 2. The joint corporations, elections and
17	political subdivisions interim committee shall review the
18	changes implemented by this act and shall recommend any
19	additional statutory changes to management council not
20	later than October 1, 2026.
21	

6

1 Section 3. This act is effective July 1, 2025.

2

3 (END)

7