

SF0078 Distribution of unsolicited absentee ballot request forms.

Sponsored By: Senator(s) Hutchings, Biteman and Ide and

Representative(s) Knapp and Singh

AN ACT relating to elections; prohibiting a person from distributing unsolicited absentee ballot application forms to any qualified elector as specified; and providing for an effective date.

12/31/2024 Bill Number Assigned

1/6/2025 S Received for Introduction

1/16/2025 S Introduced and Referred to S07 - Corporations

1/24/2025 S07 - Corporations: Recommend Amend and Do Pass 5-0-0-0-0

ROLL CALL

Ayes: Senator(s) Boner, Case, Dockstader, Landen, Steinmetz Ayes 5 Nays 0 Excused 0 Absent 0 Conflicts 0

1/24/2025 S Placed on General File

SF0078SS001/ADOPTED

1/27/2025 S COW: Passed

1/28/2025 S 2nd Reading: Passed

1/29/2025 S 3rd Reading: Passed 31-0-0-0-0

ROLL CALL

Ayes: Senator(s) Anderson, Barlow, Biteman, Boner, Brennan, Case, Cooper, Crago, Crum, Dockstader, Driskill, French, Gierau, Hicks, Hutchings, Ide, Jones, Kolb, Landen, Laursen, Mckeown, Nethercott, Olsen, Pappas, Pearson, Rothfuss, Salazar, Schuler, Scott, Smith, Steinmetz

Ayes 31 Nays 0 Excused 0 Absent 0 Conflicts 0

1/30/2025 H Received for Introduction

2/10/2025 H Introduced and Referred to H07 - Corporations 2/12/2025 H07 - Corporations:Recommend Do Pass 8-1-0-0-0

ROLL CALL

Ayes: Representative(s) Brown, Hoeft, Johnson, Knapp, Locke, Lucas, Webb,

Webber

Nays: Representative Yin

Ayes 8 Nays 1 Excused 0 Absent 0 Conflicts 0

2/12/2025 H Placed on General File

2/14/2025 H COW: Passed

SF0078H2001/FAILED (TO ENGROSSED COPY)

Page 1-lines 13 through 15 Delete entirely.

Page 2-lines 1 through 6 Delete entirely and insert:

"(e) Unless requested to do so by a qualified elector, no person, except a county clerk or the secretary of state, shall distribute an absentee ballot request form by mail, email or any other means, which claims to be an official election document, to any qualified elector.". YIN

2/18/2025 H 2nd Reading:Passed

2/19/2025 H 3rd Reading:Passed 57-4-1-0-0

ROLL CALL

Ayes: Representative(s) Allemand, Andrew, Angelos, Banks, Bear, Brady, Bratten, Brown, G, Brown, L, Byron, Campbell, E, Campbell, K, Clouston, Connolly, Davis, Eklund, Erickson, Filer, Geringer, Guggenmos, Haroldson, Harshman, Heiner, Hoeft, Jarvis, Johnson, Kelly, Knapp, Larsen, Larson, Lawley, Lien, Locke, Lucas, Mccann, Neiman, Nicholas, Ottman, Pendergraft, Posey, Rodriguez-Williams, Schmid, Sherwood, Singh, Smith, Strock, Styvar, Tarver, Thayer, Washut, Wasserburger, Webb, Webber, Wharff, Williams, Winter, Wylie

Nays: Representative(s) Chestek, Provenza, Storer, Yin

Excused: Representative Riggins

Ayes 57 Nays 4 Excused 1 Absent 0 Conflicts 0

2/19/2025 Assigned Number SEA No. 0010 2/19/2025 S President Signed SEA No. 0010 2/20/2025 H Speaker Signed SEA No. 0010