
Sales Tax Due on a $210,000 RV:

Wyoming Department of Revenue Memo issued June 14, 2013:

“The Wyoming Department of Revenue has received a number of inquiries from Wyoming 
vendors and citizens over the last several years regarding a tax avoidance scheme being 
promoted by Montana legal services and Montana vehicle vendors. This scheme involves 
creating a Montana LLC to purchase and register a vehicle for the sole purpose of avoiding sales 
tax in the purchaser’s home state.”  [emphasis added]

  Avoiding Sales Tax (not County Fees)

Tax Structures in Surrounding States
Enforce Existing Laws:

W.S. 31-4-101: No person shall 
knowingly operate upon any highway 
any vehicle unless a valid certificate of 
registration and license plates have 
been issued for the vehicle.

W.S. 31-2-201: Every owner, operator 
or lessee of a vehicle which will be 
operated or drive upon any highway in 
Wyoming shall be required to obtain 
registration annually or when becoming 
a resident.

Resident: Any person, partnership, 
company, firm, corporation or 
association which maintains an office 
in Wyoming or bases and operates 
motor vehicles in Wyoming.



County Fee Distribution

Wyoming

Special Districts
4%

Towns
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Schools
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School Foundation
20%

Counties
20%

Ad Valorem Tax
County fees are a tax based “on value,” increasing or decreasing with the value of the vehicle.  The fee 
proportion, though, is the same, whether paid on a $30,000 vehicle or a $300,000 vehicle.

$30,000 Vehicle - $540 Co Fee

98%

2%

Co Fee
Value

$300,000 Vehicle - $5,400 Co Fee

98%

2%

County fees are distributed in the same manner as all other property taxes, meaning the majority of 
the fees go directly to schools or to the School Foundation Fund.  South Dakota only funds roads and 
streets with registration fees.

South Dakota

Lic Plate Fund
3%

State MV Fund
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City Street Fund
5%

Spec Hwy Fund
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Co Road Fund
23%

Local Gov’t Hwy Fund
54%


