Administration

Licensing, Reporting and Payment

The Wyoming Department of Revenue, Excise Division, is the administrator of the Wyoming sales and use tax statutes.  All taxes to be paid, except for those collected on the purchase of a motor vehicle, house trailer, trailer coaches, trailers and semi-trailers which are paid to the county treasurers, are paid to the Wyoming Department of Revenue, Excise Division.  

All vendors, operating in the state and required to collect sales taxes in Wyoming, must be licensed to do so by the Department of Revenue prior to commencing business. Chapter 2, Section 5 of the department’s rules and regulation outlines the requirements for licensure.  Applicants must complete an application, provide any necessary supporting documentation and pay a license fee of $60.00 before obtaining a license.  Governmental entities that sell, rent or lease tangible personal property or perform taxable services must also collect the sales tax and be licensed.  The department can enter into voluntary license agreements with out-of-state vendors who collect Wyoming sales tax on sales to Wyoming residents.  A sales anduse tax license is not required of Indian tribes who do business on the Wind River Indian Reservation.  Licenses are not transferable if the business is sold.

Contractors, who submit use tax payments on materials, fixtures and supplies directly to the department, are not considered vendors and do not have to be licensed. A contractor must be registered with the department and must disclose information about all projects prior to commencing work.  Project disclosures must include the identification of all sub-contractors. Non-resident prime contractors must post a surety bond with the department equal to 4 percent of the contract price.  Non-resident sub-contractors can also post a bond equal to 4 percent of their contract price with the prime contractor. Sub-contractors can post the bond to prevent the prime contractor from withholding use tax due to the department from each payment he makes to the sub-contractor. (Wyoming § 39-15/16-301/311)

The department permits taxpayers, who choose to pay the department directly for their sales tax liability.  They are issued a direct payment permit. It is shown to the vendor at the time of the sale to prevent paying the sales tax.

Every vendor licensed with the Department of Revenue is required to submit a sales tax return on a form prescribed by the department on or before the last day of each month.  The report states the preceding month’s gross sales and is accompanied by the tax payment.  The department can authorize, if the total tax due is less than $150.00, a quarterly or annual return.  Returns are due on or before the last day of the month following the end of the quarter or the year for which the tax is collected.  Vendors going out of business must file a report within thirty days of discontinuing or selling their business.  

Contractors must remit sales/use tax not paid to a vendor to the Department of Revenue by the last day of the month following the month of purchase.  Prime contractors are ultimately responsible for the sales tax that is to be paid on purchases or services of their non-resident sub-contractors.  They are required to withhold the 4 percent tax due from each payment made to the sub-contractor until the sub-contractor furnishes the prime contractor with a certificate issued by the department showing all sales/use taxes accruing have been paid.  A bond filed with the department directly by the non-resident sub-contractor will also release the prime contractor of this obligation. Forms for reporting are provided by the department.

Direct pay taxpayers are required to report by the last day of the month to the department their purchases and services subject to the Wyoming sales and use tax for the previous month. 

Taxpayers liable for use tax are required to make payment to the department on or before the last day of the month following the month of purchase.  There is a specific form required to file a use tax return.

County treasurers are required to remit the sales taxes collected on motor vehicles, house trailers, trailer coaches, trailers and semi-trailers to the Department of Revenue once a month. The taxes are due by the 20th of the month following the month of collection.

If a required report is not received by the date due, the department will give written notice by mail to the tax remitter to file a report on or before the last day of the month following the notice of delinquency. If a report is still not received, the department can prepare a report based upon the best information available. The tax due is based upon that report and will be assessed applicable interest and penalties.  

Enforcement

Interest:

Interest is assessed on past due tax payments to the department at a rate of 4 percentage points over the prime interest rate as determined by the Wyoming State Treasurer.  Interest is assessed beginning on the first day after which the tax payment was due.  

County treasurer’s are required to collect interest on taxes due on motor vehicles, house trailers, trailer coaches, trailers and semi-trailer if the tax is not paid within forty-five days of the purchase of the vehicle.  Interest is paid both to the Department of Revenue and the county in which the tax is paid.  An interest rate of 3 percent per month accrues on the past due balance of tax. Once collected, the tax plus interest is submitted to the Department.  The county is entitled to a 10 percent civil fee on the sales tax owed.

Penalties:

If any payment or reporting deficiency is due to negligent or intentional disregard of rules or regulations but without intent to defraud, a 10 percent penalty on the tax due can be assessed by the department.  If the deficiency is due to fraud, the penalty on the tax due is 25 percent. 

It is considered a misdemeanor if a vendor intentionally collects and keeps more than the tax that is due or submits a false or fraudulent return to the Department.

Vendor licenses can be revoked by the department for violation of any provision of the sales/use tax statutes.  Department must first provide notice and an opportunity for a hearing.  The department can after giving notice and an opportunity for a hearing, suspend the license of a vendor until he comes into compliance with the provisions of the statutes.

Every vendor is required to keep for three years at their principal place of business, records and books necessary to determine the amount of tax for which he is liable.  The vendors must also preserve for three years invoices and books showing all merchandise purchased for resale.  If a vendor fails to keep these records, he is required to bear the burden of proof in any legal action.

Liens:

Any tax due under this article is considered a debt to the state and becomes a lien against the real and personal property of the parties to the transaction, unless the purchaser can prove he paid the tax to the vendor.  Notice of the lien is filed with the county clerk in the county in which the parties reside.

Tax Sales:

After the appropriate judicial proceedings, the department with Board of Equalization approval can seize and sell at public auction the property of any person owing taxes, interest and penalties. 

Taxpayer Remedies

Taxpayers and tax remitters can make appeals of department administrative decisions to the State Board of Equalization.  The decision of the board can be appealed to the state judicial system once all taxes, penalty and interest have been paid (Wyoming § 39-15/16-109 (a)).  The court can for good cause stay enforcement of this provision, but it will not prevent interest from accruing.

Any tax, penalty or interest that has been paid in error is entitled to be refunded to the payer or credited again future tax returns. The request for the refund or credit must be made within three years from the date of overpayment.

The department must bring a court action to recover delinquent taxes, penalties and interest within three years following the delinquency.  If the delinquency is discovered after an audit, the tax remitter has 30 days to pay the tax before the three-year period begins.  Interest and penalty on an assessment generated by an audit begins to accrue from the filing period in which the taxes were originally due.

Tax Collections and Distributions
Tax Collections

Currently there are 5 states that do not have a statewide sales tax.  These are Alaska, Delaware, Montana, New Hampshire and Oregon.  Table 5F, page 17 compares the distribution of tax sources for all fifty states. General sales taxes include the gross receipts taxes assessed by states such as New Mexico and Hawaii.   Selective sales taxes are excise taxes on specific products such as cigarettes, gasoline, special fuels and alcoholic beverages.  Other taxes include severance and property taxes, as well franchise taxes.  Sales tax collections in 1996 amounted to 33.7 percent of the total state tax revenues. This is very close to the United States average of 33.3 percent.  Wyoming does not have a state individual and corporate income tax.  It is one of six states who does not have a individual income tax and one of four states which does not have a corporate income tax.  Wyoming collects most of its taxes from other tax sources.  These sources are primarily mineral severance taxes and property taxes.

A comparison of sales and use tax collections is best considered from 1993/94 fiscal year since July 1, 1993 is the date the statewide sales tax was increased from 3 percent to 4 percent.  The fiscal year 1992-93 is included to show what difference was made with the one-percent increase. The table below includes only the state portion of the sales/use tax. Estimated sales/use tax collections for FY 1999 are $400 Million.

	
	
	       Sales and Use Tax Collections
	
	

	
	
	% of
	
	% of
	
	% of Total

	Fiscal Year
	Sales Tax
	Increase
	Use Tax
	Increase
	Total
	Increase

	1993-3%
	155,709,127.78
	
	22,980,880.24
	
	178,690,008.01
	

	1994-4%
	233,268,104.85
	49.81%
	34,459,185.83
	49.95%
	267,727,291.18
	49.83%

	1995-4%
	251,738,878.46
	7.92%
	37,595,583.22
	9.10%
	289,334,461.76
	8.07%

	1996-4%
	252,517,165.22
	0.31%
	38,933,791.00
	3.56%
	291,450,956.23
	0.73%

	1997-4%
	261,820,773.09
	3.68%
	36,103,697.17
	-7.27%
	297,924,470.29
	2.22%

	   1998-4%
	294,135,686.05
	12.34%
	33,443,948.47
	-7.37%
	327,579,634.52
	9.95%


There was a 49.83 percent increase in sales and use tax collections between fiscal year 1993 and fiscal year 1994 when the sales tax rate was increased.  Since that time, the increases have been moderate. Collection of use tax has out performed collections of sales tax except in FY1997 and 1998 when there was a decrease.  The collection of use tax is difficult.  Many state residents do not know it is a law and do not understand its purpose.  It is also easy to avoid.  It is difficult for the Department of Revenue to enforce. 

The increase in catalog and electronic sales has caused concern that overall sales and use tax collections will decrease due the use of these marketing mediums. Catalog and Internet sales 

TABLE 5F

1998 State Tax Collection by Source

(Percentage of Total)
	
	Property
	Sales
	Selective Sales
	Individual

Income
	Corporate Income
	Other

	ALABAMA
	2.4
	27.4
	24.8
	31.3
	4.3
	9.8

	ALASKA
	4.1
	--
	9.8
	--
	23.2
	62.8

	ARIZONA
	3.6
	43.9
	13.8
	26.8
	7.6
	4.3

	ARKANSAS
	0.2
	37.3
	14.5
	34.3
	6.2
	7.5

	CALIFORNIA
	5.7
	31.5
	7.7
	41.0
	8.3
	5.8

	COLORADO
	0.1
	26.0
	13.4
	48.9
	4.6
	7.1

	CONNECTICUT
	0.03
	2.3
	18.0
	36.3
	5.7
	7.8

	DELAWARE
	--
	--
	12.9
	38.4
	10.4
	38.3

	FLORIDA
	4.4
	57.4
	17.8
	--
	5.6
	14.8

	GEORGIA
	0.3
	34.5
	8.6
	45.9
	6.4
	4.3

	HAWAII
	--
	44.9
	15.3
	34.1
	1.9
	3.8

	IDAHO
	--
	31.7
	14.6
	37.9
	5.7
	10.1

	ILLINOIS
	1.0
	28.3
	17.8
	35.3
	9.9
	7.6

	INDIANA
	0.0
	32.5
	12.7
	41.7
	9.5
	3.5

	IOWA
	--
	31.8
	14.3
	38.3
	4.1
	11.5

	KANSAS
	1.0
	34.8
	12.0
	37.5
	6.6
	8.1

	KENTUCKY
	5.1
	27.8
	17.9
	34.0
	4.7
	10.4

	LOUISIANA
	0.4
	32.6
	20.0
	23.9
	5.9
	17.3

	MAINE
	1.8
	35.1
	13.1
	38.2
	4.5
	7.3

	MARYLAND
	2.6
	23.5
	18.3
	45.0
	4.1
	6.4

	MASSACHUSETTS
	0.0
	20.4
	9.7
	55.4
	9.4
	5.0

	MICHIGAN
	7.2
	34.9
	8.9
	31.3
	10.9
	6.8

	MINNESOTA
	0.1
	28.2
	14.7
	41.3
	6.5
	9.2

	MISSISSIPPI
	0.5
	46.8
	19.5
	19.5
	5.6
	8.0

	MISSOURI
	0.2
	32.0
	14.3
	41.0
	4.4
	8.2

	MONTANA
	15.7
	--
	20.3
	35.3
	6.8
	21.8

	NEBRASKA
	0.2
	34.9
	15.1
	37.0
	5.4
	7.4

	NEVADA
	2.2
	54.9
	30.0
	--
	--
	12.8

	NEW HAMPSHIRE
	0.1
	--
	49.4
	6.1
	23.4
	21.0

	NEW JERSEY
	0.0
	30.5
	18.5
	35.8
	7.5
	7.6

	NEW MEXICO
	1.0
	40.7
	13.9
	22.4
	5.0
	17.0

	NEW YORK
	--
	21.1
	13.3
	50.6
	8.7
	6.4

	NORTH CAROLINA
	0.0
	23.6
	17.8
	44.2
	7.2
	7.3

	NORTH DAKOTA
	0.2
	28.7
	27.9
	16.5
	7.7
	19.1

	OHIO
	0.1
	31.4
	15.8
	39.5
	4.3
	9.0

	OKLAHOMA
	--
	25.1
	12.9
	35.6
	4.2
	22.3

	OREGON
	0.0
	--
	13.4
	68.8
	5.6
	12.2

	PENNSYLVANIA
	0.7
	30.6
	16.4
	29.2
	7.6
	15.5

	RHODE ISLAND
	0.1
	29.5
	18.9
	41.2
	3.9
	6.4

	SOUTH CAROLINA
	0.2
	38.1
	12.9
	36.7
	3.8
	8.4

	SOUTH DAKOTA
	--
	53.1
	26.2
	--
	4.6
	16.1

	TENNESSEE
	--
	57.6
	18.5
	2.3
	8.7
	13.0

	TEXAS
	--
	50.6
	30.1
	--
	--
	19.3

	UTAH
	--
	36.9
	12.0
	39.8
	5.6
	5.7

	VERMONT
	1.0
	20.3
	24.0
	38.2
	4.8
	11.7

	VIRGINIA
	0.2
	21.1
	16.0
	51.3
	4.2
	7.2

	WASHINGTON
	17.3
	58.5
	15.0
	--
	--
	9.1

	WEST VIRGINIA
	0.1
	28.4
	23.3
	28.8
	7.4
	12.1

	WISCONSIN
	0.7
	27.3
	13.8
	45.3
	6.1
	6.8

	WYOMING
	11.6
	39.2
	7.9
	--
	--
	41.4

	                   
	
	
	
	
	
	

	US Totals
	2.2
	32.9
	15.0
	33.9
	6.5
	9.4


U.S. Bureau of the Census.

organizations must collect sales tax if they have nexus
 within the state.  They then submit the collections to the state.  If there is no established nexus, the marketing organization does not have to collect the tax, and the purchaser must pay use tax.  Not many purchasers comply with the law and knowing who they are so that the department can collect from them is difficult.  This problem is receiving national attention and committee has been formed at the Federal level to find a nationwide solution.

 The Wyoming Department of Administration and Information, Economic Analysis Division, annually publishes the Wyoming Sales, Use and Lodging Tax Revenue Report.  This report contains collection data by industrial sector.  The data is gathered from the payers of the actual sales taxes to the Department of Revenues.  The payers include vendors, county treasurers (public administration), contractors, use tax payers, direct pay tax payers.  There may be overlap in some categories.  For example, the amount of sales tax paid by the agriculture sector would include the taxes submitted by vendors of agriculture goods such as ranch and farm equipment dealers and use taxes paid by agricultural interests, but it would not include the grocery sales to agriculture interests.  These sales would be included in the wholesale/retail category. Table 5G, page 19 displays collections by Industrial Sector.
TABLE 5G

Sales/Use Tax Collections by Industrial Sector – FY 1993-1997 (Does not include Lodging Tax)

	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	

	
	1993
	1993
	1994
	1994
	1995
	1995
	1996
	1996
	1997
	1997
	1998
	1998

	Agriculture
	975,892
	0.37%
	1,138,233
	0.34%
	1,220,591
	0.34%
	1,317,191
	0.36%
	1,300,983
	0.34%
	1,324,471
	.36%

	Mining
	22,320,141
	8.49%
	30,636,026
	9.12%
	32,713,556
	9.01%
	34,040,507
	9.22%
	35,515,973
	9.41%
	27,119,960
	7.37%

	Construction
	8,837,467
	3.36%
	12,004,811
	3.57%
	13,484,279
	3.71%
	13,652,846
	3.70%
	17,563,331
	4.65%
	9,681,273
	2.63%

	Manufacturing
	13,604,820
	5.18%
	18,578,741
	5.53%
	19,916,064
	5.49%
	19,480,907
	5.27%
	18,495,843
	4.90%
	21,655,071
	5.89%

	Transportation
	24,867,101
	9.46%
	32,024,884
	9.53%
	32,241,011
	8.88%
	32,889,763
	8.90%
	33,335,274
	8.83%
	28,456,953
	7.73%

	Wholesale/ Retail Trade
	127,409,505
	48.49%
	161,645,437
	48.10%
	173,755,189
	47.86%
	178,871,071
	48.43%
	182,457,036
	48.34%
	196,956,513
	53.53%

	Finance
	880,167
	0.33%
	1,228,324
	0.37%
	1,551,259
	0.43%
	1,717,792
	0.47%
	1,540,652
	0.41%
	1,525,230
	.42%

	Service
	30,734,515
	11.70%
	38,405,786
	11.43%
	41,433,339
	11.41%
	42,302,313
	11.45%
	43,972,643
	11.65%
	50,997,674
	13.86%

	Public Administration
	33,139,940
	12.61%
	40,366,355
	12.01%
	46,725,415
	12.87%
	45,071,658
	12.20%
	43,280,989
	11.47%
	30,235,742
	      8.22%

	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	

	Total
	262,769,548
	100.00%
	336,028,597
	100.00%
	363,040,703
	100.00%
	369,344,048
	100.00%
	377,462,724
	100.00%
	367,957,887
	100.00%
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TABLE 5H  

Wyoming Travel Economic Impact – 1998


Morey & Associates/U. of Wyoming

Estimated Sales Tax Collections from Travelers (in $000’s)

by Expenditure Category by Region

	
	Region a
	

	Expenditure

Category
	1
	2
	3
	4
	Estimated State Total

From Travelers
	Actual State Total From

All Sources

	Accomodations
	$6,810
	$3,549
	$1,320
	$2,366
	$14,045
	$14,463

	Restaurants
	6,922
	3,678
	1,369
	2,261
	14,230
	25,765b

	Groceries
	1,431
	1,173
	389
	545
	3,438
	35,533c

	Shopping
	9,638
	5,710
	1,945
	1,744
	19,037
	58,074d

	Local Transportation
	59
	13
	1
	31
	104
	43e

	Car Rental
	608
	143
	4
	203
	958
	3,446f

	Total
	$25,468
	$14,266
	$4,928
	$7,150
	$51,812
	$147,324


a   Region 1 = Jackson Hole/Jim Bridger

   Region 2 = Medicine Bow/Flaming Gorge

   Region 3 =  Oregon Trail/Rendezvous

   Region 4 = Devil’s Tower/Buffalo Bill
b  sales taxes collected from Eating and Drinking Establishments (SIC 58)

c  sales taxes collected from Food Stores (SIC 54)

d  sales taxes collected from General Merchandise Stores (SIC 53), Apparel and Accessory Stores (SIC56), Furniture and Home                    Furnishing Stores (SIC 57), and Miscellaneous Retail Stores (SIC 59).

e  sales taxes collected from passenger transportation (SIC 472).

f  sales taxes collected from automobile rentals without drivers (SIC 7510)

TABLE 5I

	
	
	
	FY 1998 Total Sales Tax Distributions
	
	

	
	States Portion
	Local Portion 
	Optional 1%
	Optional 1%
	Lodging Tax
	Total

	
	Of 4%
	Of 4%
	General Purpose
	Special Purpose
	Distributions
	

	
	
	
	
	
	
	

	FY 1998
	236,520,706.49
	91,059,197.44
	67,140,145.25
	14,717,354.36
	2,630,785.70
	412,068,189.24

	
	
	
	
	
	
	

	FY 1998
	Collections attributed to Tourism
	
	51,812,000.00
	
	

	
	% Of Total Sales Taxes attributed to Tourism.
	12.57%
	
	


The tourism industry is an important contributor to sales tax collections in Wyoming.  Morey and Associates and University of Wyoming, College of Business, Department of Economics and Finance prepared a report for the Wyoming Division of Tourism, Department of Commerce in 1998.  This study estimated the collections received from sales taxes in FY 1998 from tourist related categories. Table 5H shows the results of this study.  An estimated $51,812,000 was collected in sales taxes from tourists between July 1, 1994 and June 30, 1995.  This tax collection includes the county option taxes as well as lodging taxes. The amount represents 33 percent of the total taxes collected in these categories.  

Table 5I compares the taxes estimated to be collected from tourism to the total sales and use taxes collected statewide from all sources.  Tourism in FY 1998 is estimated to represent 12.57 percent of all sales tax collections in the state.  It must be understood that this figure does also include sales to Wyoming tourists travelling within the state.

Tax Distributions

The sales and use tax statutes describe how the statewide and optional local sales taxes are to be distributed. (Wyoming § 39-15/16-111/211/311).  There is an administrative fee that is deducted from the collection of each type of sales and use tax and deposited to the state general fund.

A one-percent fee is deducted from the statewide 4 percent tax, and the one-percent general purpose and special purpose local option taxes.  Two percent is deducted from the lodging tax collections for administration prior to distribution back to the cities and counties.  The state treasurer deposits all license fees, penalties and interest collected by the Department of Revenue into the state’s general fund .

The statewide 4 percent sales tax is distributed between the state’s general fund and the cities and counties after the deduction of the administrative fee.  Seventy-two percent is deposited to the general fund and 28 percent is returned counties to be shared between the county and municipalities within the county.  The amount distributed to each county is determined by the amount of the sales tax collected in each county bears to the total of sales taxes collected in the state.  Table 5J depicts the 4 percent sales collections by county in FY 1998. 
Table 5J

	
	SALES / USE TAX COLLECTIONS BY COUNTY

	
	
	4% Statewide
	

	
	
	
	

	
	
	
	%

	County
	
	FY 1998
	of Total

	Albany
	
	13,943,128.70
	4.25%

	Big Horn
	
	5,354,646.33
	1.63%

	Campbell
	
	34,472,711.11
	10.52%

	Carbon
	
	10,809,870.77
	3.30%

	Converse
	
	6,971,833.30
	2.13%

	Crook
	
	2,830,993.41
	0.86%

	Fremont
	
	18,918,878.12
	5.77%

	Goshen
	
	4,830,907.17
	1.47%

	Hot Springs
	
	2,606,601.12
	0.80%

	Johnson
	
	3,476,736.73
	1.06%

	Laramie
	
	41,079,633.78
	12.53%

	Lincoln
	
	8,837,108.60
	2.70%

	Natrona
	
	42,824,515.84
	13.06%

	Niobrara
	
	1,010,311.71
	0.31%

	Park
	
	17,121,120.40
	5.22%

	Platte
	
	5,339,476.96
	1.63%

	Sheridan
	
	12,170,013.16
	3.71%

	Sublette
	
	7,768,397.27
	2.37%

	Sweetwater
	
	40,028,193.28
	12.21%

	Teton
	
	25,386,094.08
	7.74%

	Uinta
	
	13,295,169.84
	4.06%

	Washakie
	
	5,802,927.14
	1.77%

	Weston
	
	2,925,109.48
	0.89%

	Total
	
	327,804,378.30
	


Natrona County has the second largest county population and is centrally located.  It hosts many statewide events.  These are some reasons why it ranks first in sales tax collections. Laramie ranks second. It is the state’s largest county and the seat of state government. Sweetwater and Campbell rank third and fourth, respectively.  Their high rankings are primarily due to the sales taxes collected from mineral industry related sales. Teton County’s sales tax collections are essentially due to the impact of tourism in the county.  

Within the county, the sales tax is distributed to the cities and towns according to the portion that the population of each city and town bears to the total population of the county.  That portion of the county’s population residing outside municipal limits determines the county’s share of sales tax money.  The percentages are determined after each national census and remain the same until a new census is taken.

There is also a provision in the Wyoming § 39-15-111(c-d) that allows for sales tax funds that are distributed to the state general fund to be used to mitigate the impact effects of construction of large industrial projects within individual counties.  Certain requirements must be meant by the project in order for the county to qualify for impact funds.  

Local option sales taxes, after the administrative fee is deducted, are returned to the counties in which they are collected.  The one-percent general purpose option sales tax is distributed within the county in the same manner as the 4 percent statewide sales tax.  The one-percent special purpose option sales tax, after the deduction of the administrative costs, is returned to the county treasurer of the county in which it was collected. The treasurer distributes it to the sponsoring entities to pay for the special projects for which it was voted.

The lodging tax is also distributed to the county treasurer’s after the deduction of the administrative fee.  The entity sponsoring the tax does have the option to keep 10 percent of the tax for general revenue. Many sponsoring entities do not exercise this option.  The county treasurer distributes whatever is allowed to the sponsoring entity’s tourism joint powers board to be used for travel and tourism promotions.  The members of the board are appointed by the sponsoring entities’ governing bodies and must include a representative from each governmental entity that collects the tax and the district representative to the Wyoming Travel commission.  The majority of the board’s membership must be comprised of travel and tourism industry representatives.

Table 5K, page 24 shows the distributions of the statewide sales tax and the local option taxes to the counties for FY1998.

TABLE 5K

	
	        SALES / USE TAX DISTRIBUTIONS BY COUNTY
	

	
	
	Fiscal Year 1998
	
	

	
	
	
	
	
	

	
	4% Statewide
	1% General
	1% Special
	Lodging
	

	
	Sales Tax
	Purpose Tax
	Purpose Tax
	Tax
	Total

	Albany
	3,873,225.83
	3,378,353.67
	3,422,852.27
	153,578.36
	
	10,828,010.13

	Big Horn
	1,491,617.21
	1,523,634.89
	0.00
	18,398.95
	C
	3,033,651.05

	Campbell
	9,592,175.56
	8,500,900.34
	0.00
	128,349.47
	F
	18,221,425.37

	Carbon
	2,981,821.96
	2,659,859.44
	722,854.36
	158,654.74
	
	6,523,190.50

	Converse
	1,928,350.43
	1,702,839.87
	0.00
	45,439.39
	
	3,676,629.69

	Crook
	798,034.17
	688,561.15
	0.00
	28,181.89
	
	1,514,777.21

	Fremont
	5,234,245.72
	0.00
	10,154.37
	135,291.75
	
	5,379,691.84

	Goshen
	1,364,284.14
	0.00
	1,178,356.39
	30,975.90
	
	2,573,616.43

	Hot Springs
	719,210.22
	731,868.55
	0.00
	47,838.55
	
	1,498,917.32

	Johnson
	956,946.06
	852,494.88
	0.00
	61,755.51
	
	1,871,196.45

	Laramie
	11,450,013.13
	9,966,363.02
	23,902.39
	314,532.77
	
	21,754,811.31

	Lincoln
	2,480,687.48
	2,188,920.46
	1,711.76
	10,672.35
	D
	4,681,992.05

	Natrona
	11,803,814.73
	10,549,368.43
	0.00
	244,579.65
	
	22,597,762.81

	Niobrara
	280,977.67
	245,702.74
	256,247.19
	16,205.03
	E
	799,132.63

	Park
	4,768,069.52
	0.00
	0.00
	738,013.90
	
	5,506,083.42

	Platte
	1,515,402.90
	1,298,391.02
	0.00
	5,056.58
	B
	2,818,850.50

	Sheridan
	3,390,515.20
	2,956,220.51
	2,973,367.77
	125,149.85
	A
	9,445,253.33

	Sublette
	2,143,854.13
	0.00
	0.00
	
	
	2,143,854.13

	Sweetwater
	11,102,080.47
	9,790,434.39
	0.00
	232,425.32
	
	21,124,940.18

	Teton
	7,028,484.63
	6,121,489.91
	6,127,907.86
	0.00
	
	19,277,882.40

	Uinta
	3,687,194.05
	3,274,854.59
	0.00
	88,497.85
	G
	7,050,546.49

	Washakie
	1,643,111.34
	0.00
	0.00
	25,088.56
	
	1,668,199.90

	Weston
	824,810.89
	709,887.39
	0.00
	22,099.33
	
	1,556,797.61

	
	
	
	
	
	

	
	
	
	
	
	

	(a) Lodging tax distributed to the city of Sheridan, only.
	
	

	(b) Lodging tax distributed to the town of Guernsey, only.
	
	

	(c) Lodging tax distributed to the towns of Greybull and Lovell, only
	
	

	(d) Lodging tax distributed to the towns of Afton and Cokeville, only
	
	

	(e) Lodging tax is distributed to the town of Lusk, only.
	
	

	(f)  Lodging tax is distributed to the City of Gillette, only
	
	

	(g) Lodging tax is distributed to the City of Evanston, only
	
	


GASOLINE AND SPECIAL FUEL TAX COMPOSITION

GASOLINE EXCISE TAX

Article Citations and Tax Basis

Wyoming § 39-17-101 through § 39-17-111 contains the requirements for the basis, administration, rates, enforcement and distribution for Wyoming’s gasoline tax.  

The definition of gasoline means the volatile substance produced from petroleum, national gas, oil, shale or coal, sold under the name of gasoline and such other volatile and inflammable liquids, produced manufactured, blended or compounded which can be used for operating or propelling motor vehicles.  It does include ethanol based motor fuel which is blended 90 percent gasoline and 10 percent ethanol and gasohol which is blended 90 percent gasoline and 10 percent alcohol.  It also includes jet fuel and other fuels produced to pilot aircraft.  It does not include stove oil, furnace fuel, tractor fuel, diesel fuel, distillate, naphtha, kerosene, methane, ethane, propane, butane or liquefied gas.

The administrator of the Wyoming gasoline tax is the Wyoming Department of Transportation (WYDOT), Fuel Tax Division.  The department is responsible for developing the forms for filing tax returns, and for the assessment and collection of the tax and fees imposed. The department must also write rules and regulations necessary for the enforcement of the provisions in this article.  The State of Wyoming is the only entity that can collect a gasoline tax and no city, town or county can impose such a tax.

Taxes imposed in this article are presumed to be a direct tax upon the ultimate or retail consumer.  If the taxes are remitted by a person other than the retail consumer to the department, they are considered pre-collected and an advance payment for the convenience of the consumer.  The tax is added to the price of fuel and reimbursed to the remitter of the tax by the retail consumer when the gasoline is purchased.

Rates

Wyoming § 39-17-104(a) - On July 1, 1998, the Wyoming gasoline tax was increased from $.08 per gallon to $.11 per gallon.  This tax is in effect until June 30, 2000 when it becomes $.13.

Wyoming § 39-17-104(b) - Gasoline sold for use in aircraft is subject a $.04 per gallon tax. 

Wyoming § 39-17-104(c) - A one cent Alternative License Tax (ALT) is added for the leaking underground storage tank fund.  This tax will cease being collected once the ALT fund reaches $10,000,000 and will again be collected when the fund falls below $4,000,000, Wyoming § 39-17-103(ii).  

Wyoming § 39-17-104(d) - This article adds an additional $.02 tax to each of the taxes in clauses (a) through (c).  This tax is to be collected until June 30, 2000. 

The total gasoline tax to be paid by retail gasoline purchasers not eligible for exceptions is $.14 per gallon.  Gasoline purchased for aircraft use is subject to a $.07 per gallon.

A history of Wyoming gasoline tax is shown below in Table 8A:

Wyoming’s Gasoline and Gasohol Fuel Tax History

TABLE 8A

	Year
	Gasoline Tax

Cents
	Gasohol Tax

Cents
	Explanation

	1923
	1
	1
	Gasoline first taxed in Wyoming

	1925
	2.5
	2.5
	1.5 cent increase in gasoline tax

	1927
	3
	3
	.5 increase in gasoline tax

	1929
	4
	4
	1 cent increase in gasoline tax

	1951
	5
	5
	1 cent increase in gasoline tax

	1967
	6
	6
	1 cent increase in gasoline tax

	1969
	7
	7
	1 cent increase in gasoline tax

	1975
	8
	8
	1 cent increase in gasoline tax

	1979
	8
	4
	4 cents decrease in gasohol tax

	1989
	9
	5
	1 cent increase on all fuel for underground storage cleanup

	1995
	9
	9
	Trade of a 4 cents increase to gasohol with a 4 cents production credit to ethanol producers in Wyoming

	1998
	14
	14
	5 cents increase, 2 cents of increase to school foundation until June 30, 2000


With the rate increase in 1998, Wyoming’s gasoline tax rate is more in line with other states. See Table 8B, page 3.   It still is one of the lowest in the nation.  Of surrounding states, Wyoming has the lowest gasoline rates.  Montana has the highest rate with $0.27 and South Dakota the lowest of surrounding states at $0.21.  The average gasoline rate for Wyoming and surrounding states is $ 0.227.  Wyoming with a rate of $.14 is $0.087 below the average.

State Gasoline/Gasohol Tax
January 1, 1999

TABLE 8B

	State
	Gasoline Tax Rate-per gallon
	Gasohol Tax

Rate-per-gallon
	Other Provisions

	Alabama
	.18
	.18
	Inspection fee

	Alaska
	.08
	.00
	

	Arizona
	.18
	.18
	Carrier Surcharge 8¢

	Arkansas
	.187
	.187
	Environmental Surcharge; optional local tax

	California
	.18
	.18
	Sales Tax Applicable

	Colorado
	.22
	.22
	

	Connecticut
	.32
	.31
	

	Delaware
	.23
	.23
	Plus 0.5% GRT; portion of tax adjusted quarterly

	Florida
	.131
	.131
	Sales tax added to excise tax; optional local taxes

	Georgia
	.075
	.075
	Sales tax applicable (3%)

	Hawaii
	.16
	.16
	Sales tax applicable; optional local taxes

	Idaho
	.26
	.235
	Clean water tax; credit allowed for ethanol blend.

	Illinois
	.193
	.19
	Sales tax applicable; env. fee; local taxes; carrier surcharge 3¢

	Indiana
	.15
	.15
	Sales tax applicable; carrier surcharge 11¢

	Iowa
	.20
	.19
	

	Kansas
	.18
	.18
	

	Kentucky
	.164
	.164
	Environmental fee, rate adjusted quarterly; carrier surcharge 2%

	Louisiana
	.20
	.20
	

	Maine
	.19
	.19
	

	Maryland
	.235
	.235
	

	Massachusetts
	.21
	.21
	Rate adjusted quarterly

	Michigan
	.19
	.19
	Sales tax applicable

	Minnesota
	.20
	.20
	

	Mississippi
	.184
	.184
	Environmental fee

	Missouri
	.1705
	.1505
	Inspection fee

	Montana
	.27
	.27
	

	Nebraska
	.244
	.248
	Petroleum fee; portion of rate adjusted quarterly

	Nevada
	.24
	.24
	

	New Hampshire
	.187
	.187
	Oil discharge clean up fee

	New Jersey
	.105
	.105
	Plus a 2.75% GRT

	New Mexico
	.18
	.18
	Petroleum loading fee

	New York
	.08
	.08
	Sales tax applicable; carrier surcharge 22.21¢

	North Carolina
	.216
	.216
	Rate adjusted quarterly

	North Dakota
	.20
	.20
	

	Ohio
	.22
	.22
	Plus 3 cents commercial

	Oklahoma
	.17
	.17
	Environmental fee

	Oregon
	.24
	.24
	

	Pennsylvania
	.3077
	.3077
	Oil franchise tax; carrier surcharge 6¢

	Rhode Island
	.29
	.29
	Rate adjusted quarterly; ALT tax

	South Carolina
	.16
	.16
	

	South Dakota
	.21
	.19
	Local option taxes

	Tennessee
	.21
	.21
	Special petroleum tax; local option taxes

	Texas
	.20
	.20
	

	Utah
	.2475
	.2475
	

	Vermont
	.20
	.20
	Petroleum clean up fee

	Virginia
	.175
	.175
	Local option taxes

	Washington
	.230
	.23
	0.5% privilege tax

	West Virginia
	.2535
	.2535
	Sales tax added to excise

	Wisconsin
	.254
	.254
	

	Wyoming
	.14
	.14
	ALT tax; production credit for ethanol producers


Tax Exemptions

Wyoming § 39-17-105(a)-(c) provides 3 specific exemptions to the gasoline tax:

(a) Gasoline exported or sold at a Wyoming terminal rack
 and directly exported outside the state, other than in the fuel supply tank of a motor vehicle, by a person licensed as an exporter in this state is exempt from the taxes imposed by Wyoming § 39-17-104(a), (b) and (c).  An exporter does pay the $0.02 tax under Wyoming § 39-17-104(d). Gasoline directly exported, other than in the fuel supply tank of a motor vehicle, by a Wyoming licensed supplier, is exempt from the tax imposed by Wyoming § 39-17-104(c).  The tax paid by the licensed supplier is either $0.13 for gasoline or $0.06 for aircraft fuel. 

(b) The purchaser of gasoline or aircraft fuel for agricultural purposes is allowed a credit of 70 percent on the taxes paid under Wyoming § 39-17-104(a) and (b).  The credit is allowed on bulk sales at the time of purchase from a Wyoming licensed distributor or importer.  The purchaser does pay the full tax of $0.03 assessed under Wyoming § 39-17-104(c) and (d). 

(c) Exchanges or sales of gasoline between suppliers and the direct export of gasoline, other than in the fuel supply tank of a motor vehicle, are exempt from all taxes under Wyoming § 39-17-104.  

Administration

Licensing, Bonding, Reporting and Payment

Licensing

Every supplier, refiner, distributor, terminal operator, importer or exporter of gasoline shall annually obtain a license from WYDOT to do business within the State.  The license fee is $25.00. Every dealer shall obtain an annual license for each location where gasoline is sold.  The fee is $25.00.  

Any person, who supplies, exports or imports ethanol in this state is required to obtain a license.  The license fee is $25.00.  

If WYDOT has a reciprocal agreement with other states for the licensing of persons subject to this article, the license fee does not have to be paid if the persons are licensed in the other jurisdiction.

Bonding 

A cash bond or bond issued by a corporate surety licensed in Wyoming is required of all licensees guaranteeing payment of any delinquent taxes, penalties and interest due under this article and return of the license. The bond is $50,000.00 or the equivalent of the applicant’s tax liability for 6 months, whichever is greater the bond required can be waived by WYDOT if the licensee has established a good filing record which is complete, accurate and timely for a period of 3 years.  If the licensee is not required to file a bond and does not comply with the filing rules of WYDOT, WYDOT can require that a new cash or surety bond be filed equal to the last 6 months of tax liability.

If a cash bond is filed with WYDOT, the interest accrues to the licensee.

Reporting and Payment 

On or before the last business day of each month,

(A) Each licensed supplier from whom gasoline was purchased, must report to DOT all gallons used, sold or distributed in Wyoming during the preceding calendar month and remit the taxes due.

(B) When gasoline is purchased out of Wyoming for use in Wyoming, the Wyoming licensed supplier shall report all gasoline used, sold or distributed during the preceding calendar month and remit the tax due. 

(C) When gasoline is purchased from a licensed refiner, the refiner must report the gallons used, sold or distributed during the preceding calendar month and remit the taxes due. This method of collection is referred to as collecting taxes at the rack.

(D) A Wyoming licensed importer must report all gallons of gasoline imported during the preceding month and remit the tax unless the tax has been paid to an out-of-state supplier.

(E) All persons acquiring ethanol or other blending agents must report to the department the gallons of the blending agents acquired and pay the additional taxes due on the agents.

Remitters of tax payments may make them by electronic funds transfer. 

Distributors are allowed a refund credit on the monthly return for shrinkage allowances not to exceed one percent plus 130 gallons per product per month. Distributors must also declare expansion not to exceed one percent plus 130 gallons per product per month and pay the tax due on the monthly return.

Additional reports that must also be filed with WYDOT on monthly basis include:

1) Persons bringing gasoline into the state for sale, use or distribution must submit a verified statement to WYDOT by the tenth day of each month showing the number of gallons of gasoline delivered into the state during the preceding month.

2) Each person exporting gasoline from the state must also file a report with WYDOT showing the number of gallons exported, the destination state and the name of the person to whom it was exported.

3) On or before the last business day of each month, dealers, not licensed as distributors, must report to WYDOT the number of billed gallons of gasoline acquired during the previous month, from whom the gasoline was purchased and the total gallons sold.

4) On or before the last business day of each month, ethanol producers, importers and exporters must report the amount of ethanol produced, imported or exported for the purpose of blending with gasoline. They must also report the person who purchased the ethanol during the previous month.

5) Exporters of gasoline, out of the state, must report their exempt sales from the previous month under exemption Wyoming §39-17-105(a) to WYDOT by the last day of the month.

6) Distributors, importers or exporters must submit a statement to WYDOT showing the amount of credits given during the previous month to bulk gas purchasers for agricultural purposes under exemption Wyoming § 39-17-105(c) by the last business day of the month.  This filing is for the purpose of obtaining a refund for taxes already paid.

Wyoming § 39-17-107(a)(v) requires that parties transporting motor fuel by railroad tank car or transport truck to carry shipping documents prescribed by WYDOT and deliver the motor fuel to the destination designated on the document, unless amendment provisions are met.

Wyoming § 39-17-107(a)(xi) requires all carriers licensed under the International Fuel Tax Agreement (IFTA) to file a quarterly report.  The report is due the last business day of the month following the end of the quarter.  The report must indicate the miles traveled by the operator’s vehicles in each jurisdiction, the amount of gasoline used in each jurisdiction and the amount of tax paid during the quarter.  If there are additional taxes due, the tax is submitted with the filing.

A report filed unsigned, incomplete or on incorrect forms, is considered not filed until the licensee supplies the necessary information or forms.  The licensee has 10 days to provide the information or correct forms.

Enforcement

(a) Audits – All tax returns and records are subject to audit by the Wyoming Department of Audit.  Filers of reports made to DOT must keep records pertaining to the purchase and sale of gasoline for 3 years.

(b) Interest – Interest of one percent is assessed on taxes due from the payment due date until payment is received by WYDOT.

(c) Penalties:

(i) Persons who operate without a required license under section Wyoming §39-17-106 are guilty of a misdemeanor punishable with a fine of no more than $750.00 and/or imprisoned for not more than 6 months.  Each day operations take place without a license is considered a separate offense.

(ii) If any person who is to file a report under (A) – (E), page 6, fails to do so, WYDOT can complete a report for them, estimate the tax due and add 10 percent penalty on taxes due. WYDOT gives written notice to the payer of the amount due.  If a corrected report is received from the payer after receiving the estimated report from WYDOT, the department is to add the 10 percent penalty plus one percent interest per month to the taxes until paid. WYDOT can waive the penalty for reasonable cause.

(iii) Any person who fails to file a required report in this article or to remit the taxes due is guilty of a misdemeanor punishable with the same provisions as described in (c)(i) above.

(iv) Any supplier, refiner, terminal operator, importer, exporter or distributor selling gasoline subject to the license taxes, if delinquent in the payment of the taxes, can be made liable for double the tax due to be recovered in a suit instituted by the State of Wyoming. An injunction can also be sought by the state restricting them from selling gasoline until the taxes are paid.  After necessary applications are made by the state, their property can be impounded as security for delinquent taxes and any judgment recovered in a suit.

(v) WYDOT can revoke any license for violation of the provisions of this article.

(vi) Any person who is a retailer of gasoline must display the price per gallon of his gasoline products including the applicable taxes.  Failure to do so is a misdemeanor punishable with the same provisions as described in (c)(i) above. Any retailer selling blended gasoline products must post the blended percentages.  Failure do so is punishable as a misdemeanor as described in (c)(i).

Taxpayer Remedies

(a) Refunds:

(i) The University of Wyoming, Community Colleges, and Wyoming school districts are entitled to a refund of gasoline taxes.  They must file a report along with receipts of purchase with WYDOT monthly.  The refund form is invalid if it is submitted within one-year of purchase.

(ii) By the last business day of each month, each distributor must file a report with WYDOT to obtain the refund for the credits allowed on bulk sales to purchasers for agricultural use.

(iii) Any person who exports gasoline from Wyoming who already has paid the tax is entitled to a refund.  The refund request is to be submitted on forms prescribed by the department by the last business day of the month.  The refund request is invalid if not submitted within one year of the date of purchase.

(b) Credits

(i) A credit of $0.40 per gallon can be granted by WYDOT to producers of ethanol as long as they complete a report that helps WYDOT determine the demand and marketability of ethanol in Wyoming.

(A) The producer being granted a credit as provided in (i), can transfer the credit to any person selling ethanol based motor fuel or gasoline sold for blending with ethanol who as a tax liability under this article.

(B) Any credit granted by WYDOT must be used within one year.  If the tax is transferred to a person in (ii) above, he has until July 1, 2000 to use the credit. The credits used cannot exceed an existing tax liability and no more than $2,000,000.00 in credits can be used per year.

(C) A report by the Wyoming Department of Administration and Information and WYDOT must be submitted to Legislature’s Joint Transportation and Revenue Committees and to the Tax Reform 2000 Committee providing information about the economic benefits of the ethanol credit voucher program and the cost to the State.

(ii) A Wyoming licensed supplier, distributor, refiner or importer who is unable to recover the taxes due from a bulk sale to a licensee who is other than an end-user is not liable for the taxes and may credit the amount of unpaid taxes against a later remittance report.

DIESEL FUELS EXCISE TAX

Article Citations and Tax Basis

Wyoming § 39-17-201 through § 39-17-211 contains the requirements for the basis, administration, rates, enforcement and distribution for Wyoming’s diesel fuels tax.  

The definition of diesel fuels means those combustible gases and liquids commonly referred to as diesel fuel that is consumed or purchased for any and all purposes.  It includes kerosene and any type of additive when the additive is mixed or blended into diesel fuel, excluding a pour point depressant.  It does not include liquid petroleum gas if it is sold for use in motor vehicles on public roads.

The administrator of the diesel fuels tax is the Wyoming Department of Transportation (WYDOT), Fuel Tax Division.  The department is responsible for developing the forms for filing tax returns, and for the assessment and collection of the tax and fees imposed. The department must write rules and regulations necessary for the enforcement of the provisions in the article.  The State of Wyoming is the only entity that can collect a diesel fuels tax and no city, town or county can impose such a tax.

Taxes imposed in this article are presumed to be a direct tax upon the ultimate or retail consumer.  If the taxes are remitted by a person other than the retail consumer to the department, they are considered pre-collected and an advance payment for the convenience of the consumer.  The tax is added to the price of fuel and reimbursed to the remitter of the tax by the retail consumer when the diesel fuel is purchased.

Tax Rates

Wyoming § 39-17-204(a) - On July 1, 1998, the Wyoming diesel fuels tax was increased from $0.08 per gallon to $0.11 per gallon per gallon.  This tax is in effect until June 30, 2000 when it becomes $0.13.

Wyoming § 39-17-204(b) - A one cent ALT tax is added tax for the leaking underground storage tanks fund.  This tax will cease being collected once the ALT fund reaches $10,000,000 and will again be collected when the fund falls below $4,000,000, Wyoming § 39-17-103(ii).  

Wyoming § 39-17-204(c-d) - This section adds an additional $0.02 tax to each of the taxes in (a) and (b).  This tax is to be collected on all dyed 
or undyed diesel used, sold or distributed until June 30, 2000.  This tax is not collected on diesel sold for use outside the state if a reliable method can be developed to determine the diesel’s location of use.

Tax Exemptions

Wyoming § 39-17-205(a)-(e) provides 4 specific exemptions to the special fuels tax:

(a) Diesel fuels exported or sold at a Wyoming terminal rack and directly exported outside the state, other than in the fuel supply tank of a motor vehicle, by a person licensed as an exporter in this state is exempt from the taxes imposed by Wyoming § 39-17-204(a)-(b). An exporter does pay the $0.02 tax under Wyoming § 39-17-204(c). 

(b) Exchanges or sales of diesel fuels between suppliers and the direct export of special fuels, other than in the fuel supply tank of a motor vehicle, are exempt from all taxes under Wyoming § 39-17-204(a). The taxes under (b) and (c) are paid for a total of $0.03.

(c) Diesel fuels directly exported, other than in the fuel supply tank of a motor vehicle, by a Wyoming licensed supplier, is exempt form the tax imposed by Wyoming § 39-17-204(a-b).  They do pay the $.02 tax in Wyoming § 39-17-204(c).

(d) Dyed diesel fuel is exempt from Wyoming § 39-17-204(a).  Users of dyed fuel must still pay the one cent ALT tax in (b) and the $0.02 tax in (c).  The state sales tax is also applied on sales to dyed diesel fuel users.

Wyoming diesel fuel tax history is shown in Table 8C.  Prior to 1986, tax on diesel fuel users was figured on a per ton-mile basis.  When the total miles were determined, a mill levy of 1.1 was applied.

Wyoming’s Diesel Fuel Tax History

TABLE 8C

	Year
	Diesel Tax

Cents
	Explanation

	1923-1985
	Ton Mile Tax
	Tax 1.1 mills per ton in 1985

	1986
	8
	Changed from ton mile to tax per gallon

	1989
	9
	1 cent increase on all fuel for underground storage cleanup

	1998
	14
	5 cents increase, 2 cents of increase to school foundation until June 30, 2000


Like the gasoline tax, Wyoming still has one of the lowest diesel fuel rates in the United States.  See Table 8D, page 11. Of surrounding Wyoming states, Wyoming has the lowest rate.  Montana has the highest rate $0.2775 and the state with the next lowest rate to Wyoming is Colorado at $0.205.  The average rate for Wyoming and surrounding states is $0.2071.

State Gasoline/Gasohol Tax
January 1, 1999

TABLE 8D

	State
	Diesel Tax Rate-per gallon
	Other Provisions

	Alabama
	.19
	Inspection fee

	Alaska
	.08
	

	Arizona
	.18
	Carrier surcharge 8 ¢

	Arkansas
	.187
	Environmental surcharge

	California
	.18
	Sales tax applicable; local option taxes

	Colorado
	.205
	

	Connecticut
	.180
	

	Delaware
	.220
	Plus 0.5% GRT; portion of rate adjusted quarterly

	Florida
	.251
	Sales tax added to excise; local option taxes

	Georgia
	.075
	Sales tax applicable (3%)

	Hawaii
	.160
	Sales tax applicable; local option taxes

	Idaho
	.260
	Clean water tax 

	Illinois
	.215
	Sales tax applicable; environ fee; carrier surcharge 6.0 ¢; local option taxes

	Indiana
	.160
	Sales tax applicable; carrier surcharge 11 ¢

	Iowa
	.225
	

	Kansas
	.200
	

	Kentucky
	.134
	Environmental fee; rates adjusted quarterly; carrier surcharge 4.7%

	Louisiana
	.200
	

	Maine
	.200
	

	Maryland
	.243
	

	Massachusetts
	.210
	Rates adjusted quarterly

	Michigan
	.150
	Sales tax applicable

	Minnesota
	.20
	

	Mississippi
	.184
	Environmental fee

	Missouri
	.1705
	Inspection fee

	Montana
	.2775
	

	Nebraska
	.244
	Petroleum fee, portion of rate adjusted quarterly.

	Nevada
	.270
	Local option taxes

	New Hampshire
	.187
	Oil discharge cleanup

	New Jersey
	.135
	Plus 2.75% GRT

	New Mexico
	.190
	Petroleum loading fee

	New York
	.08
	Sales tax applicable; carrier surcharge 23.21 ¢

	North Carolina
	.216
	Price adjusted quarterly

	North Dakota
	.20
	

	Ohio
	.22
	Additional 3 cents for commercial use

	Oklahoma
	.14
	Environmental fee

	Oregon
	.24
	Local option taxes

	Pennsylvania
	.308
	Oil franchise tax; carrier surcharge 6 ¢

	Rhode Island
	.29
	Rate adjusted quarterly, ALT tax

	South Carolina
	.16
	

	South Dakota
	.21
	Local option taxes

	Tennessee
	.18
	Local option taxes; special petroleum tax

	Texas
	.20
	

	Utah
	.1925
	

	Vermont
	.17
	Petroleum cleanup fee; large trucks pay 25 ¢ a gallon tax

	Virginia
	.16
	Large trucks pay 19.5 ¢ a gallon tax

	Washington
	.23
	0.5% privilege tax

	West Virginia
	.2535
	Sales tax added to excise tax

	Wisconsin
	.254
	Portion of rate adjusted quarterly

	Wyoming
	.14
	ALT tax


Administration

Licensing, Bonding, Reporting and Payment

Licensing 

Every supplier, refiner, distributor, terminal operator, importer or exporter of special fuels shall annually obtain a license from WYDOT to do business within the State.  The license fee is $25.00. Every dealer shall obtain an annual license for each location where diesel fuels are sold.  The fee is $25.00.  

Each applicant for an international fuel tax agreement license decal must file a form with WYDOT to obtain the license and the decal.  The fee is $10.00.  WYDOT can charge an additional fee of up to $10.00 for each decal to defray the costs of the IFTA agreement.

Bonding 

A cash bond or bond issued by a corporate surety licensed in Wyoming is required of all licensees guaranteeing payment of delinquent taxes, penalties and interest due to WYDOT under this article and return of the license.  The bond is $50,000.00 or the equivalent of the applicant’s tax liability for 6 months whichever is greater. The bond can be waived by WYDOT if the licensee has established a good filing record which is complete, accurate, and timely for a period of 3 years.  If the licensee is not required to file a bond, fails to comply with the filing rules of WYDOT, WYDOT can require that a new cash or surety bond be filed equal to the last 6 months of tax liability.

If a cash bond is filed with WYDOT, the interest accrues to the licensee.

Reporting and Payment 

On or before the last business day of each month,

(A) Each licensed supplier, from whom diesel fuels are purchased, must report to WYDOT all gallons used, sold or distributed in Wyoming during the preceding calendar month and remit the taxes due.

(B) When diesel fuels are purchased outside of Wyoming for use in Wyoming, the Wyoming licensed supplier shall report all diesel fuels used, sold or distributed during the preceding calendar month and remit the tax due.

(C) When diesel fuels are purchased from a licensed refiner, the refiner must report the gallons used, sold or distributed during the preceding calendar month and remit the taxes due. This method of collection is referred to as collecting taxes at the rack.

(D) A Wyoming licensed importer must report to WYDOT all gallons of diesel fuels imported during the preceding month and remit the tax unless the tax has been paid to an out-of-state supplier.

(E) All persons acquiring blending agents must report to the department the gallons of the blending agents acquired and pay the additional taxes due on the agents.

Remitters of tax payments may make them by electronic funds transfer.

Distributors are allowed a refund credit on the monthly return for shrinkage allowances not to exceed one percent plus 130 gallons per product per month. Distributors must also declare expansion not to exceed one percent plus 130 gallons per product per month and pay the tax due on the monthly return.

Additional reports to be filed with DOT on monthly basis include:

1) Persons bringing diesel fuels into the State for sale, use or distribution must submit a verified statement to WYDOT by the tenth day of each month showing the number of gallons of special fuels delivered into the state during the preceding month.

2) Each person exporting diesel fuels from the state must also file a report with WYDOT showing the number of gallons exported, the destination state and the name of the person to whom it was exported.

3) On or before the last business day of each month, dealers, not licensed as distributors, must report to WYDOT the number of billed gallons of diesel fuels acquired during the previous month, from whom the diesel fuels were purchased and the total gallons sold.

4) Exporters of diesel fuels out of state must report their exempt sales from the previous month under exemption Wyoming § 39-17-205(b) to WYDOT by the last day of the month.

5) Distributors, importers or exporters must submit a statement to WYDOT showing the amount of credits given during the previous month to bulk diesel purchasers for agricultural purposes by the last business day of the month.  This filing is for the purpose of obtaining a refund for taxes already paid.

Wyoming §39-17-207(a)(vii) requires that parties transporting motor fuel by railroad tank car or transport truck to carry shipping documents prescribed by WYDOT and deliver the motor fuel to the destination designated on the document, unless amendment provisions are met.

Wyoming §39-17-207(a)(xi) requires all carriers licensed under the International Fuel Tax Agreement (IFTA) to file a quarterly report.  The report is due the last business day of the month following the end of the quarter.  The report must indicate the miles traveled by the operator’s vehicles in each jurisdiction, the amount of special fuels used in each jurisdiction, the amount of tax paid during the quarter.  If there are additional taxes due, the tax is submitted with the filing.

A report filed unsigned or incomplete or on incorrect forms, is considered not filed until the licensee supplies the necessary information or forms.  The licensee has ten (10) days to provide the information or correct forms.

Enforcement

(a) Audits – All tax returns and records are subject to audit by the Wyoming Department of Audit.  Filers of reports made to DOT must keep records pertaining to the purchase and sale of special fuels for 3 years.  Special agreements with other states party to IFTA allow for use of each others audits to determine if motor fuel tax due each jurisdiction are properly reported and paid.  

(b) Interest – Interest of one percent is assessed on taxes due from the payment due date until payment is received by DOT. 

(c) Penalties -

(i)  Persons who operate without a required license under section Wyoming § 39-17-206 are guilty of a misdemeanor punishable with a fine of no more than $750.00 and/or imprisoned for not more than 6 months.  Each day operations take place without a license is considered a separate offense.

(ii) If any person fails to file the monthly report required under (A) – (E), on page 12-13, (1) on page 13 or an IFTA report, WYDOT can complete a report for them, estimate the tax due and add 10 percent penalty to the taxes due. WYDOT shall then give written notice to the payer of the amount due.  If a corrected report is received from the payer after receiving the estimated report from WYDOT, the department is to add the 10 percent penalty plus one percent interest per month to the taxes until paid.  WYDOT can waive the penalty for reasonable cause.

(iii) Any person who fails to file a required report in this article or to remit the taxes due is guilty of a misdemeanor punishable with the same provisions as described in (c)(i) above.

(iv) Any supplier, refiner, terminal operator, importer, exporter or distributor selling special fuels subject to the license taxes, if delinquent in the payment of the taxes, can be made liable for double the tax due to be recovered in a suit instituted by the state of Wyoming. An injunction can also be sought by the state restricting them from selling special fuels until the taxes are paid.  After necessary applications are made by the State, their property can be impounded as security for delinquent taxes and any judgment recovered in a suit.

(v) WYDOT can revoke any license for violation of the provisions of this article.

(vi) Any person who is a retailer of diesel fuels must display the price per gallon of his diesel fuels products including the applicable taxes.  Failure to do so is a misdemeanor punishable with the same provisions as described in (c)(i) above. Any retailer selling blended diesel fuel products must post the blended percentages.  Failure do so is punishable as a misdemeanor as described in (c)(i).

(vii) Any person who makes a fraudulent statement in a report is guilty of a misdemeanor as described in (c)(i).

(viii) Any person who operates a motor vehicle on public roads with dyed diesel is guilty of a misdemeanor and can be fined not more than $300.00 or up to $3.00 per gallon of fuel involved, whichever is greater.  The penalty will increase for each subsequent violation by the number of times this section has been violated.

Taxpayer Remedies

(a) Refunds

(i) By the last business day of each month, each distributor must file a report with WYDOT to obtain the refund for the credits allowed on bulk sales of undyed diesel fuel to purchasers for agricultural use.

(ii) Any person who exports diesel fuels from Wyoming who already had paid the tax is entitled to a refund.  The refund request is to be submitted on forms prescribed by the department by the last business day of the month.  The refund request is invalid if not submitted with one year of the date of purchase.

(iii) Diesel fuels sold by a distributor, importer, supplier or dealer to the state of Wyoming or any of its political subdivisions is due a refund.

(iv) Diesel fuels sold by a distributor, importer, supplier or dealer to a purchaser for non-highway use such as logging, manufacturing, and mining operations on which a tax has been paid is entitled to a refund.  A return must be filed with WYDOT in the prescribed method within one year of purchase.

(v) The University of Wyoming, Community College, and Wyoming school districts are entitled to a refund of diesel fuels taxes.  They must file a report along with receipts of purchase with WYDOT monthly.  The refund form is invalid if it is submitted within one year of purchase.

 (b) Credits

A credit may be given for fuel purchased in Wyoming but not used in Wyoming and may be carried forward to succeeding reporting periods.

TAX COLLECTIONS AND DISTRIBUTIONS – GASOLINE AND DIESEL FUELS

Tax Collections

TABLE 8E

	Gallons Taxed and Tax Collected


	-
	Gasoline
	Gasohol
	Gasoline Gasohol
	Gasoline Gasohol
	Diesel
	Diesel

	-
	Gallons
	Gallons
	Total
	Taxes
	Gallons
	Taxes

	Calendar Yr 1993
	         281,758,803 
	           56,221,202 
	         337,980,005 
	$   26,291,213.00
	      212,959,991 
	$   20,131,380.00 

	Jan. 94 – Sept. 94
	 186,961,000 
	    42,268,672 
	229,229,672 
	$   22,088,766.14 
	    141,168,095 
	  $   19,563,988.13 

	Oct. 94 – Sept. 95
	278,859,259 
	    55,229,526 
	334,088,785 
	$   27,599,025.76 
	    219,152,660 
	  $  21,120,952.36 

	Oct. 95 – Sept. 96
	         296,895,968 
	           47,862,049 
	         344,758,017 
	$   29,476,591.00 
	         233,095,128 
	$   24,307,942.00 

	Oct. 96 – Sept. 97
	         308,631,031 
	             4,520,412 
	         313,151,443 
	 $  29,131,247.05 
	         245,399,952 
	$   24,531,759.00

	Oct. 97 –

Sept. 98
	
	
	
	$   32,696,175.27 
	
	$   28,181,358.00


Table 8E shows the amount of gallons on which taxes were collected and the taxes collected for calendar year 1993 and the four past Federal fiscal years, 1994 through 1997.
  Only nine months of gallons and collections are shown for Federal FY 94.  Three months of that fiscal year, October through December 1993, had already been accounted for in the calendar year for 1993. The amounts shown are after refunds have been made. The effect of increasing the gasohol tax from $0.04 to $0.08 on January 1, 1995 is evident.  The gallonage assessed for gasoline and gasohol was more in calendar year 1993 than in Federal fiscal year 1994/1995, but the dollars collected in taxes were larger reflecting the $0.04 increase.  WYDOT no longer accounted for gasohol gallons after February 1997. Ethanol producers are now granted a credit at $.40 a gallon which they can transfer to any person selling ethanol based motor fuel or gasoline sold for blending with ethanol who as a tax liability under this article.  See credits on page 7.
In July 1997, WYDOT moved the collection point for taxes to the rack.  This has resulted in increased and more timely tax collections.  The gallons on which taxes were collected for State FY’s 1996, 1997 and 1998 are shown in Table 8F, page 17.

TABLE 8F

	July 1 – June 30
	Gasoline
	Gasohol
	Total Gasoline and Gasohol
	Diesel



	FY 1996
	285,367,058
	35,125,665
	320,492,723
	221,184,031

	FY 1997
	324,239,536
	  7,671,479
	331,910,015
	256,534,351

	FY 1998

	324,971,712
	                0
	324,971,712
	260,350,239


There was a substantial increase in gallonage for both gasoline and for diesel between FY 1996 and FY 1997.  Even though gallons are estimated to be down in FY 1998, there is still an increase from FY 1996.

Tax Distributions

Article 15, Section 16 of the Wyoming Constitution states fees, excises or license taxes levied by the state should be used for the payment of highway obligations, costs for construction, reconstruction, maintenance and repair of public highways, county roads, bridges, streets, alleys and bridges in cities and towns and the expense of enforcing state traffic laws.  This does not apply to registration and vehicle licensing fees or excise taxes imposed by counties or municipalities.

Gasoline Taxes:

Wyoming §39-17-111(a)-(h) provides for the distribution of gasoline taxes to comply with the state constitution.  WYDOT transfers all taxes and fees received to the state treasurer who deposits the monies to the State Highway Fund.  WYDOT then certifies to the treasurer the amounts to be credited to the appropriate accounts in following order:

(i) Distribute the taxes collected on aircraft fuels sold at municipal or county airports to the cities, towns or counties where the airports are located to be used for maintenance of the airport.

(ii) Deduct from the taxes collected an amount equal to the number of snowmobiles currently registered and user fees have been paid under Wyoming § 31-2-404(a)(i) and Wyoming § 31-2-409(a)(ii) times $16.25 plus the number of snowmobiles registered under Wyoming § 31-2-404(a)(ii) and Wyoming § 31-2-409(a)(ii) times $32.50. The taxes are to be deposited to the revenue fund administered by the Department of Commerce to improve snowmobile trails in Wyoming.

(iii) Deduct from the taxes collected an amount equal to the number of motorboats computed under a formula in Wyoming § 41-13-102 and 5,000 nonresident motorboats times $16.25.  The funds are to be used by the Department of Commerce to improve watercraft facilities in state parks and as grants to local governments to improve watercraft facilities in public parks and recreational facilities.

The remainder of funds is distributed by the state treasurer to accounts in the state highway fund and to municipalities and counties.

Diesel Fuel Taxes:

Wyoming § 39-17-211(a)-(f) provides for the distribution of special fuels taxes to comply with the state constitution.  WYDOT transfers all taxes and fees received to the state treasurer who deposits the monies to the state highway fund and to municipalities and counties.

Distribution
Table 8G on page 21, displays the distribution of fuel taxes from Federal fiscal year 1993 until 1997.

Though the ALT tax was collected since 1989 it is not broken out until 1995.  The ALT assessment is deposited to the ALT tax fund to be used to correct damages caused by underground storage tank leakage.  The fund is administered by the Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ).

In 1994, the legislature made special provision for a 2 percent assessment for diesel tax administration.  This provision does not exist for gasoline taxes by statute. 

The separate account in the State Highway Fund for primary, secondary and forest roads was closed in July, 1994 and consolidated into State Highway Funds general account.
Table 8H on page 22 displays the distributions to cities and counties for the state FY’s 1995 and 1996. Thirteen and one-half percent of the gasoline taxes available for distribution after the deductions for non-highway uses and 20 percent the diesel taxes available to be distributed are given to counties. The amount each county receives is determined by the following formula:

(A) One third of each of the gasoline and diesel taxes to be distributed is taken times the ratio of the area of each county to the total area of the state.

(B) One third of each of the gasoline and diesel taxes to be distributed is taken times the ratio of each county’s rural population (rural population includes incorporated areas and towns less than fourteen hundred residents) to the total rural population of the state as determined by the most recent federal census.

(C) One third of each of the gasoline and diesel taxes to be distributed is taken times the ratio of each county’s last assessed valuation to the total last assessed valuation of the State.

Table 8I on page 23, shows the percentage counties would have received from the above formula in 1996. The table indicates that Campbell and Sweetwater Counties would receive the largest amounts tax distributions. Campbell County’s average percentage is 11.127 percent and Sweetwater is 10.477 percent. Table H, page 22 shows that Campbell County did $694,449.00 and Sweetwater, $656,995.00, the largest distributions of all 23 counties.  In contrast, Niobrara and Hot Springs counties both received the least distribution as Table H indicated they would. The variable that causes the most change is the assessed value since it fluctuates annually.  Population could affect the distributions after every federal census.

Fourteen percent of the gasoline funds available for distribution after deductions for non-highway uses is credited to the State-County Road Account (SCCFM).  This account includes county funding for the University’s Technology Transfer Program
 up to $31,250.00.  Counties use the money for road and bridge construction.  The funds are allocated to counties based upon the following ratios:

Fifty percent upon the ratio which the rural population of each county including population of within the cities and towns with less than 1,400 bears to the total rural population of the state according to the last federal census.

Fifty percent based on the ratio which the areas of the county bears to the total area of the state.  

Any interest earned on invested funds shall be credited to each county and may be used for the county’s matching fund requirements and for project costs as provided by Wyoming § 242-2110(c)(ii).

The formula for the SCCFM money does not include a percentage based upon assessed value. This percentage is included in the formula used to distribute gasoline and diesel taxes to counties.  Without this percentage, more tax money does go to counties with low assessed valuations.
Distribution of gasoline taxes to cities is figured differently than that of counties.   Fifteen percent of the amount of gasoline taxes available for distribution after the deductions for non-highway uses is distributed to municipalities.  Initially, a maximum of $31,250.00 is deducted for the University of Wyoming’s Technology Transfer program.  The balance is distributed as followed:

(A) Seventy-five percent of the gasoline taxes are distributed according to the taxes paid on gasoline sold to and distributed by dealers within each incorporated city and town.  In other words, three-fourths of the gasoline funds to be distributed to municipalities are returned to the location where the taxes were originally collected.

(B) Twenty-five percent of the gasoline taxes to be distributed is taken times the ratio of each town’s/city’s population to the total municipal population of the state as determined by the last federal census.

Cities and towns also receive a portion of the diesel fuels taxes collected.  Five percent of the amount available for distribution is distributed to municipality based upon the ratio of each city’s and town’s population to the total municipal population. 

Table 8H, page 22 shows the amounts of gasoline and diesel taxes distributed to cities/towns in 1995 and 1996.  The influence of (A) in the gasoline distribution formula is evident.  Towns such as, Afton, Thayne, and Cokeville on Wyoming’s western border, benefit from sales to Idaho, which has a higher tax rate than Wyoming. The distribution per capita of gasoline taxes for all municipalities in Wyoming is $11.26 in 1996. Afton’s per capita distribution was $41.42, Thayne’s $34.57 and Cokeville $15.30. Other municipalities who lie on major interstates and have gasoline service centers within the municipal limits receive higher per capita tax distributions than the statewide average.  Wamsutter receives $23.39 and Rawlins $13.62 per capita.  Both are on I-80.  Jackson receives $27.33 per capita due to its tourist exposure.  It must be noted even though a municipality has a border influence, lies on an interstate or has a tourism exposure, it may not benefit from higher gasoline tax distributions. The distribution centers must lie within the municipal limits.

Fifty-seven and one-half percent of the gasoline tax available for distribution after deductions for non-highway uses and 73 percent of the special fuels tax is distributed to the state highway fund.

Fuel Tax Distributions 

TABLE 8G

	
	Gasoline
	Diesel
	Gasoline
	Diesel
	Gasoline
	Diesel
	Gasoline
	Diesel
	Gasoline
	Diesel

	       Calendar Year 1993
	       Jan. 1994 – Sep. 1994
	     Oct. 1994 -  Sep. 1995
	     Oct. 1995 – Sep. 1996
	    Oct. 1996 – Sep. 1997


	Tax Collections
	$27,856,877.00 
	$22,240,005.00 
	$22,562,326.22 
	$22,918,463.65 
	$27,851,349.76 
	$26,097,253.36 
	$29,899,176.20 
	$29,289,786.00 
	$29,112,374.00 
	$33,534,573.00 

	License Collections
	       189,986.38 
	
	       173,559.00 
	
	161,191.00 
	
	      190,961.05 
	

	Total Available
	$27,856,877.00 
	$22,240,005.00 
	$22,752,312.60 
	$22,918,463.65 
	$28,024,908.76 
	$26,097,253.36 
	$30,060,367.20 
	$29,289,786.00 
	$29,303,335.05 
	$33,534,573.00 

	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	

	Refunds and Credits
	    1,565,664.00 
	    2,108,625.00 
	       473,560.08 
	    3,354,475.52 
	       425,883.00 
	    4,976,301.00 
	       583,776.20 
	    4,981,841.00 
	       172,088.00 
	    9,002,814.00 

	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	

	Amounts to distribute
	$26,291,213.00 
	$20,131,380.00 
	$22,278,752.52 
	$19,563,988.13 
	$27,599,025.76 
	$21,120,952.36 
	$29,476,591.00 
	$24,307,945.00 
	$29,131,247.05 
	$24,531,759.00 

	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	

	Non Highway Dedications:
	
	
	
	
	
	

	    Motorboats
	       186,321.00 
	
	       183,335.85 
	
	       222,739.00 
	
	       237,793.00 
	
	       234,002.00 
	

	    Snowmobile
	       118,249.00 
	
	       139,379.47 
	
	       172,103.00 
	
	       183,457.00 
	
	       190,752.00 
	

	    Airports
	       175,827.00 
	
	       207,675.41 
	
	       378,206.00 
	
	       377,597.00 
	
	       449,303.00 
	

	Total Non-Highway
	 $    480,397.00 
	
	 $    530,390.73 
	
	 $    773,048.00 
	
	 $    798,847.00 
	
	 $    874,057.00 
	    

	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	

	Amount to distribute after non-highway deductions
	$25,810,816.00
	$20,131,380.00
	$31,800,845.41
	$23,252,973.79
	$26,825,977.76
	$21,120,952.36
	$28,677,744.00
	$24,307,945.00
	$28,257,190.05
	$24,531,759.00

	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	

	State Highway fund
	  12,456,430.00 
	  11,608,748.00 
	    9,130,291.92 
	  14,738,395.93 
	  13,490,229.76 
	  12,030,316.36 
	  14,582,399.00 
	  14,073,746.00 
	 14,374,828.05 
	  14,199,611.00 

	Diesel Fuel Administration
	
	       336,874.00 
	
	       548,044.00 
	
	       386,684.00 

	Primary secondary forest
	       5,291,071.00 
	
	       4,653,978.18 
	
	
	
	
	
	
	

	SCCFM
	    2,752,462.00 
	
	    2,623,467.74 
	
	    3,313,396.00 
	
	    3,511,243.00 
	
	    3,453,468.00 
	

	Payments: cities
	    2,614,182.00 
	       753,415.00 
	    2,810,863.74 
	       761,935.61 
	  3,550,074.00 
	       825,337.00 
	    3,762,053.00 
	       938,250.00 
	    3,700,143.00 
	       946,341.00 

	Payments: counties
	    2,453,115.00 
	    3,013,662.00 
	    2,529,760.21 
	    4,063,656.59 
	    3,195,056.00 
	    3,301,353.00 
	    3,385,852.00 
	    3,752,998.00 
	    3,330,114.00 
	    3,786,563.00 

	ALT Fund 
	
	
	
	    3,277,222.00 
	    4,627,072.00 
	   3,436,197.00 
	    4,994,907.00 
	   3,398,637.00 
	    5,212,560.00 

	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	

	Total Distributed 
	$26,047,657.00 
	$15,375,825.00 
	$22,278,752.52 
	$19,563,988.13 
	$27,599,025.76 
	$21,120,952.36 
	$29,476,591.00 
	$24,307,945.00 
	$29,131,247.05 
	$24,531,759.00 

	Balance Carried Forward
	$     243,556.00 
	$  4,755,555.00 
	
	
	                         
	                         
	
	
	
	 


	TABLE 8H
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	

	
	1995

Gas Tax
	1996

Gas Tax
	1995

Diesel Tax
	1996

Diesel Tax
	
	1995

Gas Tax
	1996

Gas Tax
	1995

Diesel Tax
	1996

Diesel Tax
	
	1995

Gas Tax
	1996

Gas Tax
	1995

Diesel Tax
	1996

Diesel Tax

	Albany
	      92,188 
	      92,244 
	      94,949 
	      90,925 
	   Riverton
	    127,947 
	    112,907 
	      23,632 
	     22,424 
	
	
	
	
	

	   Laramie
	    237,698 
	    240,506 
	      68,537 
	      65,034 
	  Shoshoni
	      12,309 
	    120,358 
	        1,276 
	        1,211 
	
	
	
	
	

	   Rock River
	        1,316 
	        1,190 
	           488 
	           463 
	Goshen
	     76,370 
	     76,115 
	      78,568 
	      75,026 
	Park
	  186,586 
	  183,536 
	      40,873 
	      38,776 

	Big Horn
	      92,219 
	      90,717 
	      94,697 
	      89,403 
	   Ft. Laramie
	        2,531 
	       2,575 
	           624 
	           592 
	   Cody
	  110,234 
	       4,600 
	      20,281 
	      19,244 

	   Basin
	    10,079 
	       8,944 
	        3,030 
	        2,876 
	   La Grange
	       1,281 
	         849 
	           575 
	           546 
	   Meteetsee
	      4,560 
	        1,688 
	           945 
	           897 

	   Burlington
	      2,110 
	        2,068 
	           473 
	           448 
	   Lingle
	        3,017 
	       2,859 
	        1,215 
	        1,153 
	   Powell
	    53,188 
	     55,603 
	      13,591 
	      12,896 

	   Byron
	      2,016 
	        2,076 
	        1,207 
	        1,145 
	   Torrington
	     62,535 
	      60,888 
	      14,513 
	      13,771 
	Platte
	    73,094 
	    73,770 
	      75,751 
	      72,700 

	   Cowley
	      4,037 
	        4,004 
	        1,284 
	        1,218 
	   Yoder
	           454 
	          432 
	           349 
	           331 
	   Chugwater
	6,008
	        6,214 
	           493 
	           467 

	   Deaver
	   1,421 
	954 
	           511 
	           485 
	Hot Spings
	     46,718 
	     45,126 
	      47,790 
	      44,464 
	   Glendo
	      5,181 
	        5,222 
	           501 
	           475 

	   Frannie
	1,764 
	      22,984 
	           380 
	           361 
	  E.Thermopolis
	           613 
	          607 
	           568 
	           539 
	   Guernsey
	13,495
	     12,408 
	        2,966 
	       2,815 

	   Greybull
	    30,690 
	      31,158 
	        4,594 
	        4,360 
	   Kirby
	          164 
	           162 
	           152 
	          144 
	   Hartville
	216 
	           215 
	           200 
	           190 

	   Lovell
	20,027
	     18,518 
	5,473
	        5,193 
	   Thermopolis
	     35,907 
	     32,984 
	        8,339 
	        7,913 
	   Wheatland
	    47,441 
	      45,791 
	        8,401 
	7,971

	   Manderson
	273 
	           279 
	           213 
	           202 
	Johnson
	     74,316 
	     75,219 
	      76,251 
	      74,195 
	Sheridan
	  104,421 
	  105,055 
	    107,383 
	    103,529 

	Campbell
	    355,975 
	    349,750 
	    365,080 
	    344,699 
	   Buffalo
	42,329
	40,288
	        9,248 
	        7,986 
	   Clearmont
	        330 
	           327 
	           306 
	           290 

	   Gillette
	    220,550 
	    200,799 
	      45,059 
	      42,756 
	   Kaycee
	        6,275 
	       6,231 
	           657 
	           624 
	   Dayton
	      6,274 
	        6,457 
	1,520 
	        1,443 

	   Wright
	      13,372 
	      14,865 
	        3,174 
	        3,012 
	Laramie
	   231,446 
	   233,540 
	    238,540 
	    230,240 
	   Ranchester
	      8,477 
	        7,775 
	        1,736 
	        1,647 

	Carbon
	    159,621 
	    159,485 
	    164,307 
	    157,205 
	   Albin
	        1,536 
	1259
	           308 
	292
	   Sheridan
	  192,731 
	    182,246 
	      32,708 
	      33,883 

	   Baggs
	        6,961 
	        5,166 
	           699 
	           663 
	   Burns
	        2,611 
	        4,739 
	           652 
	           619 
	Sublette
	    12,797 
	  128,039 
	    133,105 
	    126,158 

	   Dixon
	           306 
	          327 
	           180 
	           171 
	   Cheyenne
	    438,514 
	    514,537 
	    128,430 
	    121,865 
	   Big Piney
	7,180
	10,659 
	        1,166 
	        1,106 

	   Elk Mountain
	           947 
	         717 
	           478 
	           453 
	   Pine Bluffs
	      28,165 
	     26,818 
	        2,707 
	        2,568 
	   Marbleton
	9,254 
	        6,361 
	        1,628 
	        1,545 

	   Encampment
	       2,439 
	2,236
	1,258
	        1,194 
	Lincoln
	   173,465 
	   173,784 
	    179,404 
	    141,256 
	    Pinedale
	    10,960 
	        8,935 
	        3,033 
	        2,878 

	   Hanna
	        5,919 
	       5,415 
	        2,763 
	        2,622 
	   Afton
	      44,762 
	     59,254 
	        3,580 
	        3,397 
	Sweetwater
	  343,091 
	  330,946 
	    351,417 
	    326,049 

	   Medicine Bow
	3,079
	2,829
	           999 
	           948 
	   Alpine
	          813 
	          881 
	           514 
	           487 
	  Bairoil
	      1,460 
	        1,724 
	           586 
	           556 

	   Rawlins
	  128,485 
	    121,848 
	      24,090 
	      22,858 
	   Cokeville
	       8,749 
	       8,004 
	        1,266 
	        1,201 
	  Granger
	      1,370 
	           819 
	           324 
	           307 

	   Riverside
	        3,176 
	       2,819 
	           218 
	           207 
	   Diamondville
	       2,414 
	2,374 
	        2,219 
	        2,106 
	  Green River
	    94,657 
	     88,837 
	      32,644 
	      30,976 

	   Saratoga
	      20,819 
	      20,535 
	        5,057 
	        4,798 
	   Kemmerer
	      10,095 
	     35,635 
	        7,756 
	        7,359 
	  Rock Springs
	  248,027 
	    234,478 
	      48,924 
	      46,426 

	   Sinclair
	5,705
	2,915
	        1,284 
	        1,218 
	   LaBarge
	        4,019 
	       5,753 
	        1,266 
	        1,201 
	  Superior
	         758 
	          750 
	           701 
	          665 

	Converse
	    115,144 
	    109,542 
	    117,720 
	    107,899 
	   Opal
	           271 
	           263 
	           244 
	           232 
	  Wamsutter
	      5,219 
	        5,708 
	           616 
	           585 

	   Dougas
	      54,672 
	      54,869 
	      13,036 
	      12,370 
	   Thayne
	      11,677 
	     10,371 
	           686 
	           651 
	Teton
	  128,370 
	  134,834 
	    132,607 
	    133,032 

	   Glenrock
	      17,334 
	      19,789 
	        5,529 
	        5,247 
	Natrona
	   181,474 
	   176,107 
	    185,945 
	    173,525 
	   Jackson
	  137,826 
	    128,673 
	     12,091 
	      11,473 

	   Lost Springs
	             12 
	             11 
	             10 
	             10 
	   Bar Nunn
	        2,344 
	        2,308 
	        2,144 
	        2,035 
	Uinta
	  134,493 
	  130,211 
	    137,921 
	    128,286 

	   Rolling Hills
	          916 
	           906 
	           848 
	           804 
	   Casper
	    387,222 
	    349,662 
	    120,101 
	    113,962 
	   Evanston
	  134,910 
	    130,345 
	      28,003 
	26,572

	Crook
	      79,203 
	      76,317 
	      81,200 
	      75,182 
	   Edgerton
	        3,415 
	        3,195 
	634 
	           602 
	   Lyman
	    27,197 
	      23,773 
	        4,869 
	        4,620 

	   Hulett
	4,865
	        4,718 
	        1,102 
	        1,045 
	   Evansville
	      23,693 
	      29,877 
	        3,816 
	        3,621 
	   Mountain View
	    21,428 
	      20,354 
	        3,054 
	        2,897 

	   Moorcroft
	      20,390 
	      23,018 
	        1,972 
	        1,872 
	   Midwest
	        1,870 
	       1,838 
	        1,271 
	        1,206 
	Washakie
	    53,765 
	    53,217 
	      55,287 
	      52,448 

	   Pine Haven
	625
	716
	362
	           344 
	   Mills
	      32,614 
	     26,360 
	        4,065 
	        3,858 
	   Ten Sleep
	      3,069 
	        4,162 
	           799 
	           758 

	   Sundance
	      15,511 
	      15,676 
	        2,925 
	        2,776 
	Niobrara
	     39,819 
	     39,342 
	     40,873 
	      38,776 
	   Worland
	    48,345 
	       7,385 
	     14,747 
	      13,993 

	Fremont
	    211,464 
	    225,580 
	    256,555 
	    243,752 
	   Lusk
	      28,892 
	      34,497 
	        3,863 
	        3,665 
	Weston
	    56,647 
	    56,128 
	     58,132 
	      55,327 

	   Dubois
	     22,566 
	      11,348 
	        2,299 
	        2,181 
	   Manville
	           269 
	           587 
	           249 
	           236 
	   Newcastle
	    33,685 
	      30,437 
	        8,064 
	        7,652 

	   Hudson
	        1,264 
	       1,382 
	       1,007 
	          955 
	   Van Tassell
	             22 
	             22 
	             21 
	             20 
	  Upton
	     8,756 
	        8,425 
	        2,517 
	        2,388 

	   Lander
	      66,434 
	      63,502 
	      18,036 
	      17,114 

	   Pavillion
	           474 
	           498 
	           324 
	           307 


	TABLE 8I
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	

	County
	Area

Square Miles
	% of

State
	Rank
	Rural

Population
	% of

State
	Rank
	1995 Assessed Value
	% of

State
	Rank
	Average

%

	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	

	Campbell
	       4,756 
	4.87%
	7
	11825
	7.14%
	3
	1,331,629,700
	21.37%
	1
	11.127%

	Sweetwater
	     10,482 
	10.73%
	1
	7062
	4.27%
	8
	1,024,102,302
	16.43%
	2
	10.477%

	Fremont
	       9,225 
	9.45%
	2
	17437
	10.53%
	2
	226,288,692
	3.63%
	11
	7.869%

	Laramie
	       2,687 
	2.75%
	15
	23134
	13.97%
	1
	356,317,806
	5.718%
	4
	7.480%

	Park
	       6,968 
	7.13%
	4
	9989
	6.03%
	5
	273,628,284
	4.39%
	8
	5.853%

	Natrona
	       5,366 
	5.49%
	5
	11392
	6.88%
	4
	273,294,561
	4.39%
	7
	5.587%

	Lincoln
	       4,081 
	4.18%
	12
	9605
	5.80%
	7
	410,798,291
	6.592%
	5
	5.524%

	Carbon
	       7,956 
	8.15%
	3
	5310
	3.21%
	13
	244,839,444
	3.93%
	9
	5.094%

	Teton
	       4,219 
	4.32%
	10
	6464
	3.90%
	11
	305,750,706
	4.91%
	6
	4.377%

	Uinta
	       2,088 
	2.14%
	22
	5905
	3.57%
	12
	415,422,307
	6.67%
	3
	4.123%

	Sublette
	       4,927 
	5.04%
	6
	4843
	2.92%
	16
	262,350,711
	4.21%
	12
	4.060%

	Converse
	       4,258 
	4.36%
	9
	3899
	2.35%
	19
	227,405,153
	3.65%
	10
	3.455%

	Sheridan
	       2,528 
	2.59%
	17
	9658
	5.83%
	6
	104,940,633
	1.68%
	15
	3.368%

	Albany
	       4,321 
	4.42%
	8
	4110
	2.48%
	17
	121,443,040
	1.95%
	13
	2.952%

	Big Horn
	       3,154 
	3.23%
	13
	6605
	3.99%
	10
	89,907,103
	1.44%
	16
	2.887%

	Goshen
	       2,232 
	2.285%
	20
	6722
	4.06%
	9
	59,136,882
	0.95%
	21
	2.431%

	Crook
	       2,864 
	2.93%
	14
	5294
	3.20%
	14
	68,849,917
	1.105%
	18
	2.411%

	Johnson
	       4,167 
	4.27%
	11
	2868
	1.73%
	21
	74,638,804
	1.20%
	20
	2.399%

	Platte
	       2,108 
	2.16%
	21
	4874
	2.94%
	15
	120,804,501
	1.94%
	14
	2.347%

	Weston
	       2,396 
	2.45%
	18
	3378
	2.04%
	20
	55,152,190
	0.89%
	22
	1.793%

	Washakie
	       2,239 
	2.292%
	19
	2646
	1.60%
	22
	74,395,903
	1.194%
	19
	1.695%

	Hot Springs
	       2,022 
	2.07%
	23
	1562
	0.94%
	23
	80,998,028
	1.30%
	17
	1.438%

	Niobrara
	       2,623 
	2.69%
	16
	995
	0.60%
	18
	29,659,701
	0.48%
	23
	1.254%

	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	

	State Total
	97,670
	100.00%
	
	165,577
	100.00%
	
	6,231,754,659
	100.00%
	
	


DOT’s Estimates of Future Collections
As noted in the tax rate sections, fuel taxes were increased by the 1998 Legislature. The rate increase was $.05.  Until June 30, 2000, $.02 of the increase is being diverted for public school funding. The monies will reimburse the state highway account funded by distributions from the State severance tax.  Funds from the severance tax fund account will be used to meet the funding obligations under the School finance bill passed by the 1998 Legislature. The amount appropriated for school funding is $20,000,000.  The $.02 tax collected under Wyoming § 39-17-104(d) and Wyoming § 39-17-204(c) is deposited to the State highway severance tax fund until the $20,000,000.00 is collected. WYDOT estimates the amount will be reached early in FY 2000. The balance collected from the tax will be distributed to the State Highway fund, municipalities and counties.  Presently, there are no exemptions allowed on the $.02, this will change once the $20,000,000.00 for the schools is collected.  The resulting revenue deductions are evident when fiscal years 2000 and 2001 are compared.
	FY
	1999
	2000
	2001
	2002

	.05 Motor Fuel Tax Increase
	

	    .02  Schools/no exempt.
	    18,000,000.00 
	      2,000,000.00 
	                       -   
	                       -   

	    .02 DOT/no exemptions
	                       -   
	      4,400,000.00 
	                       -   
	                       -   

	    .02 DOT/with exemptions
	                       -   
	    11,800,000.00 
	                       -   
	                       -   

	   . 03 Motor Fuel Tax
	    17,400,000.00 
	    17,700,000.00 
	    30,000,000.00 
	    30,500,000.00 

	.08 Motor Fuel Tax
	    46,400,000.00 
	    47,200,000.00 
	    48,000,000.00 
	    48,800,000.00 

	
	
	
	
	

	
	
	
	
	

	Total Receipts
	 $ 81,800,000.00 
	 $ 83,100,000.00 
	 $ 78,000,000.00 
	 $ 79,300,000.00 

	
	
	
	
	

	Amount Diverted to Schools
	    18,000,000.00 
	      2,000,000.00 
	                       -   
	                       -   

	
	
	
	
	

	State Highway Fund
	    41,690,196.00 
	    53,030,479.00 
	    51,037,720.00 
	    51,921,678.00 

	Amount Distributed to Counties 

	    SCFFM Money
	      4,927,843.00 
	      6,235,617.00 
	      5,969,824.00 
	      6,042,658.00 

	    Direct Distributions
	    10,472,073.00 
	    13,324,892.00 
	    12,828,296.00 
	    13,054,480.00 

	Total Distribution to Counties
	    15,399,916.00 
	    19,560,509.00 
	    18,798,120.00 
	    19,097,138.00 

	
	
	
	
	

	Amount Distributed to Municipalities 
	      6,709,888.00 
	      8,509,012.00 
	      8,164,160.00 
	      8,281,184.00 

	
	
	
	
	

	 Total Distributions 
	 $ 81,800,000.00 
	 $ 83,100,000.00 
	 $ 78,000,000.00 
	 $ 79,300,000.00 


CIGARETTE AND TOBACCO PRODUCTION TAX COMPOSITION

Statute Citations and Tax Basis – Cigarette Tax

The Statutes that governs the imposition, administration, exemptions, rates collection and distribution of the cigarette tax are Wyoming §39-18-101 through §39-18-111.  The Wyoming Department of Revenue has established rules and regulations for the cigarette excise tax in Chapter 4 of the department’s rules and regulations.  The tax is assessed on each cigarette sold by wholesalers or used or stored by consumers if the tax has not paid by the wholesaler.  The wholesaler means any person whom: 

(a) imports cigarettes into this state for sale or resale; 

(b) purchases cigarettes in this state for sale to any other person; or 

(c) purchases cigarettes for sale or resale through mechanical vending devices except persons who sell cigarettes in vending devices, which are owned or leased by them and located in their place of business.  

The state has the sole right of imposing taxes on cigarettes and no city, town or county may impose, levy or collect a tax on them.

Tax Exemptions

Sales of cigarettes to any agency of the United States government, sales in interstate commerce or the taxation of any transaction prohibited by the United States Constitution are exempted from the cigarette tax. Cigarette sales made on the Wind River Indian Reservation to members of the Shoshone or Northern Arapaho Tribes are exempt.

Rates

The tax levied and collected is an excise tax of $.006 upon the sale of each cigarette sold by wholesalers.  If the tax is not collected from the wholesaler, it is levied on cigarettes used or stored by consumers.  The tax on a 20 pack of cigarettes is $.12 cents, on a 25 pack of cigarettes it is $.15 cents.  Wyoming does not have an excise tax on other tobacco products, though state sales tax is collected on these items.

Wyoming has one of the lowest cigarette tax rates in the United States.  Table 6A compares cigarette tax rates and other tobacco product tax rates of surrounding states. The cigarette tax rates of all fifty states is shown in Table 6B, page 2, the tax rates on other tobacco products are given.

Wyoming’s cigarette tax ranks forty-sixth with five states having lower tax rates. Effective July 1, 1999 the State will charge sales tax on the sale of cigarettes.  Prior to this date they were exempt from this law.  Of the 46 states who have a sales tax, 45 charge sales tax on cigarettes. Forty-four states have an excise tax on tobacco products.  All of the states surrounding Wyoming have an excise tax on tobacco products.

TABLE 6A

	State
	Tax Rate on a Twenty Pack
	Tobacco Products Tax Rate
	Sales Tax

Applied

	Wyoming
	Twelve (12) Cents
	20% of manufacturers price, effective July 1, 1999
	4% State + County optional

	Colorado
	Twenty (20) Cents
	20% of manufacturers price
	NA

	Utah
	Fifty-one and a Half (51.5) Cents
	35% of manufacturers price
	4.75% State

	Idaho
	Twenty-eight (28) Cents
	40% of wholesale price
	5.0% State

	Montana
	Eighteen (18) Cents
	12.5% of wholesale price
	NA

	South Dakota
	Thirty-three (33) Cents
	10% of wholesale price
	4.0% State

	Nebraska
	Thirty–four (34) Cents
	15% of wholesale price
	5.0% State
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State Cigarette Tax Rates

January 1, 1999

	STATE
	TAX RATE
(¢ per pack)
	RANK
	
	STATE
	TAX RATE
(¢ per pack)
	RANK

	Alabama (1)
	16.5
	43
	
	Nebraska
	34
	26

	Alaska
	100
	1
	
	Nevada
	35
	20

	Arizona 
	58
	13
	 
	New Hampshire 
	37
	22

	Arkansas
	31.5
	29
	 
	New Jersey (1)
	80
	5

	California 
	87
	3
	 
	New Mexico 
	21
	36

	Colorado 
	20
	37
	 
	New York (1) 
	56
	15

	Connecticut 
	50
	17
	 
	North Carolina 
	5
	49

	Delaware 
	24
	32
	 
	North Dakota 
	44
	19

	Florida 
	33.9
	27
	 
	Ohio 
	24
	32

	Georgia 
	12
	46
	 
	Oklahoma 
	23
	35

	Hawaii
	100
	1
	 
	Oregon (3) 
	68
	10

	Idaho 
	28
	31
	 
	Pennsylvania 
	31
	30

	Illinois (1) 
	58
	13
	 
	Rhode Island 
	71
	9

	Indiana 
	15.5
	44
	 
	South Carolina 
	7
	48

	Iowa 
	36
	23
	 
	South Dakota 
	33
	28

	Kansas 
	24
	32
	 
	Tennessee (1) (2) 
	13
	45

	Kentucky (2) 
	3
	50
	 
	Texas 
	41
	21

	Louisiana 
	20
	37
	 
	Utah 
	51.5
	16

	Maine 
	74
	8
	 
	Vermont 
	44
	19

	Maryland 
	36
	23
	 
	Virginia (1) 
	2.5
	51

	Massachusetts 
	76
	6
	 
	Washington 
	82.5
	4

	Michigan 
	75
	7
	 
	West Virginia 
	17
	41

	Minnesota 
	48
	18
	 
	Wisconsin 
	59
	12

	Mississippi 
	18
	39
	 
	Wyoming 
	12
	46

	Missouri (1) 
	17
	41
	 
	Dist. of Columbia 
	65
	11

	Montana 
	18
	39
	 
	 
	 
	 

	 
	 
	 
	 
	U. S. Median
	34.0
	 


Source: Compiled by FTA from various sources.
(1) Counties and cities may impose an additional tax on a pack of cigarettes in AL, 1¢ to 6¢; IL, 10¢ to 15¢; MO,4¢ to 7¢; TN, 1¢; and VA, 2¢ to 15¢.
(2) Dealers pay an additional enforcement and administrative fee of0.1¢ per pack in KY and 0.05¢ in TN.
(3) In Oregon, the tax rate will decrease to $0.58 per pack effective1/1/00.

Administration

Licensing, Reporting and Payment

Every wholesaler who sells or offers to sell cigarettes in this state must have license issued by the Department.  The annual license fee is $10.00.  A license is required for each location in which a wholesaler operates.  A wholesaler residing outside the state may be authorized to sell within the state by adhering to the stamping requirements of the cigarette tax law.  Out of state wholesalers must agree to submit their accounting records to examination by the department and to appoint the Wyoming Secretary of State as their attorney for service of process. License fees are deposited to the general fund of the state.

All cigarettes sold in the state must have affixed to them a stamp that is purchased by wholesalers from the department.  Wholesalers pay .006 cents a stamp and actually pay the tax in advance of the actual sale of the cigarettes.  The stamps can be purchased with certified funds (cash, certified check, money order, wire transfer) or non-certified funds (personal or business check).  If the latter method is used a cash or surety bond equal to the face value of the maximum purchase of stamps must be posted with the department.  Those wholesalers purchasing stamps with certified funds receive a 6 percent discount. 

The stamps must be affixed to cigarette packages in consecutive order.  The department must keep accurate records of all stamps sold.  Each wholesaler must keep accurate records of all cigarettes purchased and sold for 3 years.  

By the twentieth day of each month, the wholesaler must report on a form prescribed by the department:

(a) The number of packages of cigarettes sold in each incorporated city and town; 

(b) The number of packages of cigarettes sold in each county outside the incorporated cities and towns; 

(c) Other information as required by the department.  A copy of the reporting form is included in Appendix A.

Enforcement

The department can investigate and examine the stock of cigarettes upon any premises where they are stored or sold.  All records of the wholesaler shall be available for inspection by the Department at any reasonable time.

Penalties:  If packages of cigarettes are found in this state without the necessary stamping affixed to them, they are contraband goods and can either be seized by the department with Board of Equalization approval or a law enforcement official.  Unopened packages in transit or in the possession of a licensed wholesaler are not subject to seizure.  If such a seizure takes place the cigarettes are to be sold to a licensed wholesaler at market rates.  Funds received from such a sale are deposited to the state general fund.

It is a misdemeanor punishable by a fine of not more than $100.00 or imprisonment in the county jail for not more than 6 months for the following offenses: 

(a) Selling or distributing cigarettes as a wholesaler without a license;

(b) Selling cigarettes without proper stamping; 

(c) Evading or abetting any person to evade the payment of the taxes imposed by the statute;

(d) Making a false or fraudulent reporting form.

Taxpayer Remedies

The department will refund the cost of stamps to any wholesaler who returns the stamps unused.  It will give a credit to any wholesaler on taxes paid for merchandise that is not sellable and has been returned to the manufacturer.  A signed statement by the wholesaler and the manufacturer’s representative certifying the number of cigarette packages returned must be submitted prior to receiving the credit.

Wind River Indian Reservation

Sales of cigarettes made on the Wind River Indian Reservation by an Indian, Indian Tribes or non-Indians to Indian customers are exempt from Wyoming cigarette tax.  Cigarettes sold by an Indian, Indian Tribes or non-Indians to non-Indian customers on the Wind River Indian Reservation are taxable. 

The wholesaler must be authorized by the department to sell cigarettes to vendors on the reservations without stamps. The vendor on the reservation is responsible for reporting the amount of cigarettes sold to Indians and those sold to non-Indians, and he must collect the tax on the cigarettes sold to non-Indians.  The department enters into an agreement annually with the reservation vendor allowing the tax to be paid on a percentage basis.  A percentage of sales to non-Indians are agreed to by the department and the vendor, and the tax is then remitted to the department pursuant to the terms and conditions of the agreement.

Members of Indian tribes are required to pay the cigarette tax if they make their purchase off the Wind River Indian Reservation.
Tax Collections and Distributions

Tax Collections

The cigarette tax collections from FY 1992 to FY 1998 are shown in Table 6C. 

TABLE 6C

	
	
	
	State Cigarette Tax Collections
	
	
	

	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	

	
	FY 1992
	FY 1993
	FY 1994
	FY 1995
	FY 1996
	FY 1997
	FY 1998

	Total
	
	
	
	
	
	
	

	Collections
	5,631,725 
	5,468,054 
	5,651,377 
	5,992,519 
	5,891,976 
	5,858,465
	6,422,903


The increase in tax collections from 1993 through 1998 can be attributed to Wyoming’s low tax rate.  The states surrounding Wyoming have significantly higher tax rates.  Many individuals from other states purchase cigarettes in Wyoming border communities to avoid paying the higher tax in their home state.  The truck travel on the state’s interstates also enhances the purchase of cigarettes in Wyoming.

Tax Distributions

Thirty-eight and one-fourth percent of the taxes collected are distributed to the State general fund.  Sixty-one and three-fourths percent of the taxes collected is distributed to incorporated cities and towns and to the counties in the proportion the cigarette taxes derived from sales within each incorporated city or town or county bears to total cigarette license taxes collected.  In other words, each county is returned 61.75 percent of the cigarette taxes collected in the unincorporated areas of the county, and cities and towns are reimbursed the same percentage of the taxes collected within their municipal limits. If a county does not have or has very few cigarette retailers selling in the unincorporated areas of the county, the county will receive very little cigarette tax money.  The same is true for municipalities. The department makes computation of each entity’s proportion from the monthly reports submitted by wholesalers.

Table 6D, page 7 displays the total distributions to Wyoming counties (amounts shown for counties include the county’s portion plus all distributions made to municipalities within county).  The distributions to the county for the unincorporated areas and the major towns or cities within the county are also shown.  The average per capita cigarette tax distribution within the state between FY 1995 to FY 1997 was a low of $8.47 in 1997 and a high of $9.35 in 1996. Most municipalities exceeded this amount, some significantly.  Border towns Torrington, Sheridan, Jackson, and Afton had exceeded the state average by as much $10.00 reflecting the sales made to out of state residents.  Jackson’s high distribution is also due to the impact of the tourist industry.  Uinta County had the highest distribution per capita for counties.  Utah has a $.515 excise tax per pack and borders Uinta County. Collections in Uinta County have increased steadily since July 1, 1997 when Utah’s tax increased to its present level.  

Some counties and municipalities benefit from having an interstate pass through their boundaries.  Carbon County lies on I-80.  Both Rawlins and the county itself have more cigarette tax distributions per capita than Washakie, Hot Springs or Fremont counties, which do not have a major highway.  Fremont County’s low tax distribution also reflects the fact that taxes are not collected on cigarettes sold to Indians on the reservation.

There are anomalies. Mills, a suburb of Casper, has the highest per capita distribution rate of any community in Wyoming.  Mill’s Clerk Treasurer, Norene Kilmer, stated there are two retailers in the town’s limits that sell cigarettes at a considerably lower price than other retailers.  These merchants attract many customers from within and outside the state’s borders.  Some communities, like Pinedale, have high per capita collections but do not border an interstate or another state. Pinedale’s distributions did drop considerably in 1997.   Other communities, like Laramie, have very low per capita collections, even though Albany County borders Colorado and is a main stopping point along I-80. 

 Joyce Stewart, past administrator of the Excise Division of the Wyoming Department of Revenue, remarked there have been times when wholesalers do not accurately report the locations where their cigarettes have been sold. Since the department relies on these reports to figure the distributions, sometimes communities are not accurately credited with the taxes due them.  Once the error is discovered, the department must make the adjustments in future distributions.  This situation did occur in Lyman, when they received cigarette taxes that should have gone to Uinta County. Lyman is presently reimbursing Uinta County over a period time for the cigarette taxes the town received in error.

TABLE 6D




Cigarette Revenue Distributions

	
	
	
	1996 
	1996
	1996
	1997
	1997 
	1997
	1997
	1998
	1998
	1998
	1998

	
	Influences
	1996
	Tax 
	Cigarette Tax
	Tax
	Estimated
	Tax 
	Cigarette Tax
	Tax
	Estimated
	Tax 
	Cigarette Tax
	Tax

	
	
	 Population 
	Distributions
	Individual
	Per
	Population
	Distributions
	Individual
	Per
	Population
	Distributions
	Individual
	Per

	
	
	
	Countywide
	Distributions
	Capita
	1997
	Countywide
	Distributions
	Capita
	
	Countywide
	Distributions
	Capita

	Statewide
	
	      481,400 
	
	4,499,186.00
	9.35
	481,010
	
	  4,364,228.49 
	9.07
	480,960
	
	 4,308,627.04 
	8.96

	Albany
	CO,  I-80
	        30,831 
	        199,197 
	           1,581.00 
	6.46
	        30,960 
	        198,236 
	         2,084.00 
	6.40
	29,680
	194,110.69
	4,208.28
	0.14

	   Laramie
	
	        26,583 
	
	       197,502.00 
	7.43
	        26,802 
	
	     193,072.00 
	7.20
	25,741
	
	189,851.99
	7.38

	Laramie
	CO, NE,
	        79,175 
	        752,851 
	       120,250.00 
	9.51
	        79,750 
	        702,644 
	     197,464.00 
	8.81
	78,750
	748,943.55
	224,222.08
	2.85

	   Cheyenne
	I-25, I-80
	        53,729 
	
	       604,668.00 
	11.25
	        54,391 
	
	     481,000.00 
	8.84
	53,807
	
	506,125.03
	9.41

	Goshen
	NE
	        12,731 
	        126,824 
	         16,202.00 
	9.96
	        12,760 
	        137,740 
	         7,894.00 
	10.79
	12,870
	136,211.87
	6,353.56
	0.49

	  Torrington
	
	          5,950 
	
	       109,470.00 
	18.40
	          5,892 
	
	     124,154.00 
	21.07
	5,951
	
	124,902.60
	20.99

	Niobrara
	NE, SD
	          2,637 
	          19,980 
	              276.00 
	7.58
	          2,650 
	          18,874 
	            325.00 
	7.12
	2,630
	18,086.97
	446.23
	0.17

	   Lusk
	
	          1,574 
	
	         19,689.00 
	12.51
	          1,588 
	
	       18,510.00 
	11.66
	1,585
	
	17,603.78
	11.11

	Crook
	MT, I-90
	         5,763 
	          35,828 
	         10,562.00 
	6.22
	          5,780 
	          42,016 
	       17,057.00 
	7.27
	5,830
	55,237.68
	27,304.11
	4.68

	   Sundance
	
	          1,245 
	
	         12,838.00 
	10.31
	          1,239 
	
	       12,015.00 
	9.70
	1,250
	
	11,299.63
	9.04

	Campbell
	MT, I-90
	          32,012 
	        319,042 
	           5,161.00 
	9.97
	        32,210 
	        320,767 
	         6,083.00 
	9.96
	32,230
	316,717.24
	10,508.07
	0.33

	   Gillette
	
	          19,202 
	
	       307,609.00 
	16.02
	        19,289 
	
	     308,789.00 
	16.01
	19,322
	
	298,577.05
	15.45

	Sheridan
	MT, I-90
	          25,318 
	        248,825 
	         13,967.00 
	9.83
	        25,430 
	        213,337 
	         5,444.00 
	8.39
	25,260
	231,630.11
	3,479.20
	0.14

	   Sheridan
	
	          14,730 
	
	       263,667.00 
	17.90
	        14,916 
	
	     202,251.00 
	13.56
	14,839
	
	225,031.41
	15.16

	Big Horn
	MT
	          11,276 
	          67,253 
	           1,523.00 
	5.96
	        11,380 
	          66,579 
	         1,182.00 
	5.85
	11,080
	64,658.48
	2,869.45
	0.26

	   Basin
	
	            1,262 
	
	         15,870.00 
	12.58
	          1,273 
	
	       14,226.00 
	11.18
	1,243
	
	14,515.49
	11.68

	   Greybull
	
	            1,916 
	
	         22,367.00 
	11.67
	          1,934 
	
	       23,772.00 
	12.29
	1,887
	
	19,685.39
	10.43

	   Lovell
	
	            2,265 
	
	         22,986.00 
	10.15
	          2,298 
	
	       23,815.00 
	10.36
	2,242
	
	24,170.47
	10.78

	Park
	MT
	          25,373 
	        208,159 
	           4,770.00 
	8.20
	        25,600 
	        205,165 
	         6,233.00 
	8.01
	25,820
	192,356.35
	1,565.59
	0.06

	   Cody
	
	            8,721 
	
	       128,225.00 
	14.70
	          8,761 
	
	     130,762.00 
	14.93
	8,845
	
	126,104.61
	14.26

	   Powell
	
	            5,680 
	
	         72,169.00 
	12.71
	          5,818 
	
	       65,297.00 
	11.22
	5,874
	
	62,932.32
	10.71

	Teton
	ID, 
	          13,587 
	        125,200 
	           9,665.00 
	9.21
	        13,760 
	        115,757 
	       14,434.00 
	8.41
	14,090
	116,631.56
	22,714.74
	1.61

	   Jackson
	Tourism
	            5,614 
	
	       115,535.00 
	20.58
	          5,683 
	
	     101,323.00 
	17.83
	5,823
	
	93,916.82
	16.13

	Lincoln
	ID, UT
	          13,971 
	          61,231 
	           2,131.00 
	4.38
	        14,040 
	          66,133 
	         3,972.00 
	4.71
	13,920
	112,723.90
	10,680.08
	0.77

	   Afton
	
	            1,437 
	
	         27,208.00 
	18.93
	          1,518 
	
	       30,396.00 
	20.02
	1,506
	
	27,488.83
	18.25

	   Kemmerer
	            3,055 
	
	           9,172.00 
	3.00
	          3,267 
	
	       10,541.00 
	3.23
	3,241
	
	53,128.41
	16.39

	Uinta
	UT, I-80
	          20,255 
	        381,320 
	       229,519.00 
	18.83
	        20,360 
	        387,789 
	     213,396.00 
	19.05
	20,330
	443,272.67
	191,329.07
	9.41

	   Evanston
	
	          11,514 
	
	       131,717.00 
	11.44
	        11,768 
	
	     155,112.00 
	13.18
	11,766
	
	228,792.11
	19.45

	   Lyman
	
	            2,075 
	
	           5,362.00 
	2.58
	          2,070 
	
	         2,599.00 
	1.26
	2,069
	
	8,187.21
	3.96

	   Mountain View
	            1,365 
	
	         14,722.00 
	10.79
	          1,324 
	
	       16,682.00 
	12.60
	1,323
	
	14,964.28
	11.31

	Sweetwater
	UT, CO, 
	          40,322 
	        387,113 
	         12,751.00 
	9.60
	        40,360 
	        384,297 
	       12,546.00 
	9.52
	39,630
	405,467.69
	19,376.00
	0.49

	   Rock Springs      I-80
	          19,742 
	
	       263,667.00 
	13.36
	        19,798 
	
	     256,014.00 
	12.93
	19,469
	
	284,080.95
	14.59

	   Green River
	          13,289 
	
	       101,117.00 
	7.61
	        13,271 
	
	     103,346.00 
	7.79
	13,050
	
	101,293.88
	7.76


	
	
	
	1996 
	1996
	1996
	1997
	1997 
	1997
	1997
	1998
	1998
	1998
	1998

	
	Influences
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	Tax 
	Cigarette Tax
	Tax
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	Tax 
	Cigarette Tax
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	Tax 
	Cigarette Tax
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	Distributions
	Individual
	Per
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	Individual
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	Countywide
	Distributions
	Capita
	1997
	Countywide
	Distributions
	Capita
	
	Countywide
	Distributions
	Capita

	Carbon
	CO, I-80
	          15,855 
	        216,895 
	         17,447.00 
	13.68
	        15,830 
	        201,228 
	       14,326.00 
	12.71
	15,770
	22,503.91
	16,770.22
	1.06

	   Rawlins
	
	          11,989 
	
	       160,106.00 
	13.35
	          8,944 
	
	     149,639.00 
	16.73
	8,909
	
	153,791.08
	17.26

	   Saratoga
	
	            1,865 
	
	         18,597.00 
	9.97
	          1,859 
	
	       17,624.00 
	9.48
	1,852
	
	16,208.91
	8.75

	Converse
	I-25
	          11,989 
	          82,000 
	              148.00 
	6.84
	        12,060 
	          90,435 
	         5,193.00 
	7.50
	12,360
	85,617.35
	10,017.08
	0.81

	   Glenrock
	
	            2,288 
	
	         13,545.00 
	5.92
	          2,321 
	
	       12,182.00 
	5.25
	2,365
	
	12,023.86
	5.08

	   Douglas
	
	            5,432 
	
	         68,307.00 
	12.57
	          5,481 
	
	       73,060.00 
	13.33
	5,586
	
	63,576.41
	11.38

	Fremont
	
	          35,940 
	        208,538 
	         60,972.00 
	5.80
	        36,200 
	        201,892 
	       58,005.00 
	5.58
	36,010
	197,458.17
	51,029.58
	1.42

	   Lander
	
	            7,372 
	
	         52,987.00 
	7.19
	          7,457 
	
	       49,184.00 
	6.60
	7,428
	
	45,268.50
	6.09

	   Riverton
	
	          10,050 
	
	         76,464.00 
	7.61
	        10,036 
	
	       78,264.00 
	7.80
	9,997
	
	86,114.08
	8.61

	Hot Springs
	
	            4,627 
	          34,043 
	              566.00 
	7.36
	          4,640 
	          32,505 
	            787.00 
	7.01
	4,690
	31,449.14
	1,995.00
	0.43

	   Thermopolis
	            3,101 
	
	         33,380.00 
	10.76
	          3,117 
	
	       31,437.00 
	10.09
	3,370
	
	29,249.93
	8.68

	Johnson
	I-25
	            6,690 
	          46,122 
	              259.00 
	6.89
	          6,740 
	          48,535 
	              20.16 
	7.20
	6,830
	45,693.40
	391.56
	0.06

	   Buffalo
	
	            3,572 
	
	         41,951.00 
	11.74
	          3,606 
	
	       43,306.00 
	12.01
	3,659
	
	42,615.18
	11.65

	Natrona
	I-25
	          63,875 
	        766,093 
	           8,098.00 
	11.99
	        64,160 
	        700,585 
	       35,576.00 
	10.92
	63,690
	669,262.70
	2,450.27
	0.04

	   Casper
	
	          48,800 
	
	       551,994.00 
	11.31
	        49,050 
	
	     438,280.00 
	8.94
	48,758
	
	412,825.95
	8.47

	   Mills
	
	            1,648 
	
	       185,960.00 
	112.84
	          1,649 
	
	     206,595.00 
	125.29
	1,639
	
	208,421.77
	127.16

	Weston
	
	            6,554 
	          58,563 
	           1,098.00 
	8.94
	          6,560 
	          54,124 
	            919.00 
	8.25
	6,500
	51,883.36
	1,233.63
	0.19

	   Newcastle
	
	            3,163 
	
	         49,955.00 
	15.79
	          3,171 
	
	       46,442.00 
	14.65
	3,139
	
	44,177.25
	14.07

	Platte
	I-25
	            8,425 
	          54,964 
	                     -   
	6.52
	          8,480 
	          61,253 
	            688.00 
	7.22
	8,580
	66,811.04
	1,531.18
	0.18

	   Wheatland
	            3,437 
	
	         39,385.00 
	11.46
	          3,433 
	
	       46,249.00 
	13.47
	3,475
	
	48,571.02
	13.98

	Sublette
	
	            5,577 
	          45,073 
	           5,270.00 
	8.08
	          5,640 
	          34,400 
	         5,346.00 
	6.10
	5,750
	36,230.02
	3,118.55
	0.54

	   Pinedale
	
	            1,274 
	
	         24,616.00 
	19.32
	          1,332 
	
	       15,236.00 
	11.44
	1,359
	
	17,320.67
	12.75

	Washakie
	
	            8,617 
	          54,072 
	                     -   
	6.28
	          8,660 
	          79,937 
	            649.00 
	9.23
	8,660
	65,669.19
	2,425.31
	0.28

	   Worland
	
	            5,937 
	
	         51,634.00 
	8.70
	          5,942 
	
	       76,899.00 
	12.94
	5,956
	
	60,800.96
	10.21


EXHIBIT A

Statute Citations and Tax Basis – Tobacco Products Tax

The 1999 Wyoming State Legislature adopted a tax on tobacco products other than cigarettes to take effect July 1, 1999.  The statute that will govern the imposition, administration, exemptions, rates, collection and distribution of the tobacco products tax is the same legislation that covers the cigarette tax Wyoming §39-18-101 through §39-18-111. The tax is assessed upon cigars snuff and other tobacco products sold in the state, and or imported into the State for resale by wholesalers or used or stored by consumers if the tax has not paid by the wholesaler.  The wholesaler means any person who: 

(a) Imports cigars, snuff or other tobacco products in this state for sale or resale.

(b) Purchases cigars, snuff or other tobacco products in this state for sale or resale.

Rates

(a) The tax levied and assessed upon cigars, snuff and other tobacco products sold in this state, or imported into this State for resale is 20 percent of the wholesale price at which the tobacco products are purchased by wholesalers.

(b) The tax levied and assessed upon cigars, snuff and other tobacco products in this state, and upon those consumers, at the rate of 10 percent of the retail price of the cigar, snuff or other tobacco product.  The tax does not apply if the wholesaler has paid the tax.

Administration

Licensing, Reporting and Payment

Every wholesaler who sells or offers to sell cigars, snuff or other tobacco products in this state must have license issued by the department.  The annual license fee is $10.00.  A license is required for each location in which a wholesaler operates. 

Each wholesaler must keep complete and accurate records of all cigars, snuff, or other tobacco products purchased and sold for 3 years.  

By the 20th day of each month, the wholesaler must report on a form prescribed by the department:

(a) The amount of cigars, snuff or other tobacco products sold in each incorporated city and town.

(b) The amount of cigars, snuff or other tobacco products sold in each county outside the incorporated cities and towns; 

(c) On or before the 10th day of each calendar quarter, every consumer who during the preceding calendar quarter, has acquired title to or possession of cigars, snuff or other tobacco products must file a return with the State. If the Wyoming tobacco products tax has already been paid by the wholesaler, the return is not necessary. The form will be provided by the Department of Revenue and will request the quantity of such products required.  The consumer must file the report with the tax remittance due.

Enforcement

It is a misdemeanor punishable by a fine of not more than one hundred dollars ($100.00) or imprisonment in the county jail for not more than six (6) months for the following offenses: 

(a)  Selling or distributing cigars, snuff or other tobacco products as a wholesaler without a license;

(b)  Any person who purchases any tobacco product for resale in this state from other than a licensed wholesaler is liable for the tax and any penalties and interest imposed as if he was a wholesaler.  In addition he is liable for a 25 percent of any tax due.

(c) If a whole wholesaler or other person who does not pay the tax or fail the return as required is subject to a 5 percent penalty on the amount of tax due plus one-percent of the tax for each month of delinquency.  

Tax Collections and Distributions

Tax Collections

The Legislative Service Office estimates the Tobacco Products tax will generate $1,140,000.00 in FY 1999.

Tax Distributions

Tax will be distributed to the state general fund.

LIQUOR AND MALT BEVERAGE EXCISE TAX

Statute Citations and Tax Basis – Liquor Excise Tax

The Wyoming Liquor Division is a division within the Wyoming Department of Revenue.  The director of the department appoints an administrator of the division.  The division administers all programs formerly administered by the Wyoming Liquor Commission. The Wyoming Liquor Commission, composed of the five state elected officials, was disbanded on July 1, 1996, and the newly created Wyoming Liquor Division assumed its duties. The division’s actions are governed by Wyoming § 12-1-101 through § 12-9-119.

The State of Wyoming through the Liquor Division is the exclusive distributor and seller of distilled spirits and wine within Wyoming, and all retailers must purchase their liquor and wine inventory from the State Liquor Division. The Liquor Division grants a wholesale license to malt beverage breweries and wholesalers to sell malt beverage products to retailers within Wyoming.

Rates 

The state excise tax on spirits is $.025/100 ml or 3.4 oz.    This equates to  $0.19 per 750 ml bottle of liquor or $2.25 per case (a case contains twelve 750 ml bottles).  The tax on a gallon is $0.94.

The state excise tax on wine is $.0075/100 ml or 3.4 oz.    This equates to $0.056 per 750 ml bottle of wine or $0.68 per case (a case contains twelve 750 ml bottles).  The tax on a gallon is $0.28.  

The state excise tax on beer is $.005/liter or 33.8 oz.  This equates to $.02 per gallon.

Liquor and malt beverage sales in Wyoming are subject to the state and local sales tax. The retailer collects the tax.

It is difficult to compare the excise tax rates for the 50 states because of the liquor control states.  In liquor control states, the government directly controls the sales of distilled spirits and in some cases, wine. Wyoming is one of 18 states that controls the sale of distilled spirits and one of 4 states that controls the sale of wine. Utah is the only state with limited control of the sale of malt beverages.  Revenue in controlled states is generated from excise taxes, fees and net liquor profits from wholesale operations, retail and franchise or agency operations.  Wyoming adds a 17.6 percent mark up to the division’s cost of liquor and in-coming freight costs.  To this price is added the out-going freight cost to retailers and the excise tax.  The total is the wholesale price to retailers.  Table 7A provides a sample wholesale price calculation from the Liquor Division to the liquor retailer for both distilled spirits and wine. 

Wyoming liquor taxes are figured on quantity.  Many states structure their excise taxes on alcohol content and quantity.  The greater the content the higher the tax.  Table 7B, 7C, and 7D compares the excise taxes for distilled spirits, wine and malt beverages.
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TABLE 7A

State Liquor Excise Tax Rates

January 1, 1999

TABLE 7B

	State
	Excise Tax Rate-per gallon
	Sales Taxes Applied
	Other Provisions

	Alabama
	(1)
	Yes
	

	Alaska
	$5.60
	NA
	under 21% alcohol content -$0.85/gal

	Arizona
	3.00
	Yes
	

	Arkansas
	2.50
	Yes
	Under 5%-$0.50/gal, under 21%-$1.00/gal; $.20/case and 3% off-14% on premises tax

	California
	3.30
	Yes
	Over 50% -$6.60/gallon

	Colorado
	2.28
	Yes
	

	Connecticut
	4.50
	Yes
	Under 7%-$2.05/gal.

	Delaware
	3.75
	NA
	Under 25%-$2.50/gal.

	Florida
	6.50
	Yes
	Under 17.259%-$2.25/gal, over  55.780%-$9.53/gal $0.10/ounce on-premises retail tax

	Georgia
	3.79
	Yes
	$0.83/gal local tax

	Hawaii
	5.92
	Yes
	

	Idaho
	(1)
	Yes
	

	Illinois
	2.00
	Yes
	under 14%-$0.23/gal; local taxes in addition. 

	Indiana
	2.68
	Yes
	under 15%-$0.47/gal

	Iowa
	(1)
	Yes
	

	Kansas
	2.50
	No
	8% off- and 10% on-premise retail tax

	Kentucky
	1.92
	Yes
	under 6%-$0.25/gal; $0.05/case and 9% wholesale tax

	Louisiana
	2.50
	Yes
	under 6%-$0.32/gal

	Maine
	(1)
	Yes
	

	Maryland
	1.50
	Yes
	

	Massachusetts
	4.05
	Yes
	under 15%-$1.10/gal, over 50% alcohol-$4.05/proof gallon

	Michigan
	(1)
	Yes
	

	Minnesota
	5.03
	-
	$0.01/bottle (except miniatures) and 8.5% sales tax

	Mississippi
	(1)
	Yes
	

	Missouri
	2.00
	Yes
	

	Montana
	(1)
	NA
	

	Nebraska
	3.00
	Yes
	

	Nevada
	2.05
	Yes
	under 14%-$0.40/gallon and under 21%-$0.75/gallon

	New Hampshire
	(1)
	NA
	

	New Jersey
	4.40
	Yes
	

	New Mexico
	6.06
	Yes
	

	New York
	6.44
	Yes
	under 24%-$2.54/gallon; Local  taxes

	North Carolina
	(1)
	Yes
	Sales tax is applied on-premises sales only

	North Dakota
	2.50
	-
	7% state sales tax

	Ohio
	(1)
	Yes
	

	Oklahoma
	5.56
	Yes
	$1.00/bottle on premise and 12% on premises

	Oregon
	(1)
	NA
	

	Pennsylvania
	(1)
	Yes
	

	Rhode Island
	3.75
	Yes
	

	South Carolina
	2.72
	Yes
	$5.36/case and 9% surtax

	South Dakota
	3.93
	Yes
	under 14%-$..93/gallon, 2% wholesale tax

	Tennessee
	4.00
	Yes
	$0.15/case and 15% on premise; under 7%-$1.10/gal

	Texas
	2.40
	Yes
	14% on premise and $.05/drink on airline sales

	Utah
	(1)
	Yes
	

	Vermont
	(1)
	No
	

	Virginia
	(1)
	Yes
	

	Washington
	(1)
	Yes*
	Sales tax is applied on-premises sales only

	West Virginia
	(1)
	Yes
	

	Wisconsin
	3.25
	Yes
	

	Wyoming
	(1)
	Yes
	

	US Median
	3.25
	
	


 (1) In 18 states, the government directly controls the sales of distilled spirits.

State Wine Excess Tax Rates

January 1, 1999

TABLE 7C

	State
	Excise Tax Rate-per gallon
	Sales Taxes Applied
	Other Provisions

	Alabama
	1.70
	Yes
	over 14% - sold through state stores

	Alaska
	.85
	NA
	

	Arizona
	.84
	Yes
	

	Arkansas
	.75
	Yes
	under5%-$0.25/gal;$0.05/case; 3% off  & 10% on premises tax

	California
	.20
	Yes
	sparkling wine - $0.30/gallon

	Colorado
	.32
	Yes
	

	Connecticut
	.60
	Yes
	over 21% and sparkling wine - $1.50/gal

	Delaware
	.97
	NA
	

	Florida
	2.25
	Yes
	over 17.259%-$3.00/gal; sparkling wine $3.50/gal, premises tax

	Georgia
	1.51
	Yes
	over 14%-$2.54/gal; $0.83/gal local tax

	Hawaii
	1.36
	Yes
	Sparkling wine - $2.09/gal and wine coolers - $0.84/gal

	Idaho
	.45
	Yes
	

	Illinois
	.23
	Yes
	over 14%-$0.60/gal; Local taxes in addition

	Indiana
	.47
	Yes
	over 21%-$2.68/gal

	Iowa
	1.75
	Yes
	under 5%-$0.19/gal

	Kansas
	.30
	No
	over 14%-$0.75/gal; 8%of f and 10% on premises

	Kentucky
	.50
	Yes*
	9% wholesale

	Louisiana
	.11
	Yes
	14% to 24%-$0.23/gal, over 24% and sparkling wine $1.59/gal over 15.5% sold through liquor store, sparkling wine-$1.25 gal

	Maine
	.60
	Yes
	

	Maryland
	.40
	Yes
	

	Massachusetts
	.55
	Yes*
	sparkling wine - $0.70/gal

	Michigan
	.51
	Yes
	over 16%-0.76/gal

	Minnesota
	.30
	-
	14%to 21% - $0.95/gal, under 24% and sparkling wine-$1.82/gal

8.5% sales tax

	Mississippi
	.35
	Yes
	over 14% and sparkling wine – sold through the state

	Missouri
	.36
	Yes
	

	Montana
	1.06
	NA
	over 16%-sold through state stores, 7% surtax

	Nebraska
	.75
	Yes
	over 14% - $1.35/gal

	Nevada
	.40
	Yes
	14% to 22% - .75/gal; over 22% - $2.05/gal

	New Hampshire
	(1)
	NA
	

	New Jersey
	.70
	Yes
	

	New Mexico
	1.70
	Yes
	over 14%-$6.06/gal

	New York
	.19
	Yes
	

	North Carolina
	.79
	Yes
	over 17%-$0.91/gal

	North Dakota
	.50
	-
	over 17%-$0.60/gal, sparkling wine -$1.00/gal; 7% sales tax

	Ohio
	.32
	Yes
	over 14%-$1.00/gal, vermouth-$1.10/gal ,sparkling wine-1.50/gal

	Oklahoma
	.72
	Yes
	over 14%-$1.44/gal, sparkling wine-$2.08/gal, premises tax-12%

	Oregon
	.67
	NA
	over 14%-$0.77/gal

	Pennsylvania
	(1)
	Yes
	

	Rhode Island
	.60
	Yes
	sparkling wine - $0.75/gal

	South Carolina
	.90
	Yes
	$0.18/gal additional tax

	South Dakota
	.93
	Yes
	14%-20%-$1.45/gal, over 21% and sparkling wine $2.07/gal; 2% wholesale tax

	Tennessee
	1.10
	Yes
	$0.15/case and 15% on premise; under 7%-$1.10/gal

	Texas
	.20
	Yes
	over 14%-$0.408/gal and sparkling wine-$0.516/gal; 14% on-premise and $.05/drink, on airline sales

	Utah
	(1)
	Yes
	

	Vermont
	.55
	Yes
	over 16%-sold through state store

	Virginia
	1.51
	Yes
	under 4%-$0.2565/gal and over 14%-sold through state store

	Washington
	.87
	Yes
	over 14%-$1.72/gal

	West Virginia
	1.00
	Yes
	over 14%-sold through state store

	Wisconsin
	.25
	Yes
	over 14%-$0.45/gal

	State
	Excise Tax Rate-per gallon
	Sales Taxes Applied
	Other Provisions

	Wyoming
	(1)
	Yes
	

	US Median
	.73
	
	


*Sales tax is applied on.73-premises sales only

(1) In  four (4) states, the government directly controls total wine sales.

State Beer Excise Tax Rates

January 1, 1999

TABLE 7D

	State
	Excise Tax Rate-per gallon
	Sales Taxes Applied
	Other Provisions

	Alabama
	$0.53
	Yes
	$0.52/gal local tax

	Alaska
	0.35
	NA
	

	Arizona
	0.16
	Yes
	

	Arkansas
	0.23
	Yes
	under 3.2%-$0.16/gal; $0.008/gal and 10% on premise tax

	California
	0.20
	Yes
	

	Colorado
	0.08
	Yes
	

	Connecticut
	0.19
	Yes
	

	Delaware
	0.16
	NA
	

	Florida
	0.48
	Yes
	$0.04/12ounce on premises retail tax

	Georgia
	0.48
	Yes
	$0.53/gal local tax

	Hawaii
	0.92
	Yes
	$0.53/gal draft beer

	Idaho
	0.15
	Yes
	over 4%-$0.45/gal

	Illinois
	0.07
	Yes
	Local taxes in addition

	Indiana
	0.12
	Yes
	

	Iowa
	0.19
	Yes
	

	Kansas
	0.18
	-
	over 3.2%-(8%off and 10% on premise); under 3.2%-4.25%sales tax

	Kentucky
	0.08
	Yes*
	9% wholesale tax

	Louisiana
	0.32
	Yes
	$0.048/gal local tax

	Maine
	0.35
	Yes
	additional 5% on-premise tax

	Maryland
	0.09
	Yes
	Local taxes in addition

	Massachusetts
	0.11
	Yes*
	0.57% on private club sales

	Michigan
	0.20
	Yes
	

	Minnesota
	0.15
	-
	under 3.2%-$0.077/gal; 8.5% sales tax

	Mississippi
	0.43
	Yes
	

	Missouri
	0.06
	Yes
	

	Montana
	0.14
	NA
	plus 7% surtax

	Nebraska
	0.23
	Yes
	

	Nevada
	0.09
	Yes
	

	New Hampshire
	0.30
	NA
	

	New Jersey
	0.12
	Yes
	

	New Mexico
	0.41
	Yes
	

	New York
	0.16
	Yes
	Local taxes in addition

	North Carolina
	0.48
	Yes
	

	North Dakota
	0.16
	-
	7% state sales tax

	Ohio
	0.18
	Yes
	

	Oklahoma
	0.40
	Yes
	under 3.2%-$0.36/ga; $1.00/case on-premise and 12% on premise

	Oregon
	0.08
	NA
	

	Pennsylvania
	0.08
	Yes
	

	Rhode Island
	0.10
	Yes
	$0.04/case wholesale tax

	South Carolina
	0.77
	Yes
	

	South Dakota
	0.27
	Yes
	

	Tennessee
	0.13
	Yes
	17% wholesale tax

	Texas
	0.19
	Yes
	over 4%-$0.198/gal, 14% on premise &.05/drink on airline sales

	State
	Excise Tax Rate-per gallon
	Sales Taxes Applied
	Other Provisions

	Utah
	0.35
	Yes
	over 3.2%- sold through state stores

	Vermont
	0.27
	No
	6% to 8% alcohol – 0.55; 10% on premise sales tax

	Virginia
	0.26
	Yes
	

	Washington
	0.15
	Yes*
	plus, $4.78/ barrel additional tax

	West Virginia
	0.18
	Yes
	

	Wisconsin
	0.06
	Yes
	

	Wyoming
	0.02
	Yes
	

	US Median
	0.185
	
	


*Sales tax is applied on-premises sales only

(1) In 18 states, the government directly controls the sales of distilled spirits.
Wyoming’s  $0.94 per gallon excise tax on spirits and $0.28 per gallon tax on wine is low when compared to other states. Non-controlled states do have higher tax rates.  They do not generate profits from the sale of liquor.  The Table 7E shows the profits Wyoming has made from the sale of liquor from FY 1996-1998.

TABLE 7E
	
	Net Sales
	Expenses
	Net Profit

	FY 1996
	 32,838,345.23 
	  28,116,624.46 
	     4,721,720.77 

	FY 1997
	 34,718,299.66 
	  29,812,035.34 
	     4,906,264.32 

	FY 1998
	36,935,075.11
	31,716,225.67
	5,218,849.44


The Consensus Revenue Estimating Group (CREG) estimates for each $0.30/ gallon increase in the wine tax and a $1.00/gallon increase in the distilled spirits tax, Wyoming would realize an additional $800,000 per year in tax income.  Retailers in alcoholic beverages contend that with the mark up of 17.6 percent the liquor commission charges on the wholesale price, any additional taxes would impair their profit margins.  

The excise tax on beer is the lowest of all fifty states.  CREG estimates that for each $0.01 per gallon each, Wyoming could generate $100,000.00. 

Tax Exemptions

By statute, there are not any exemptions for the liquor excise tax.

Administration

Licensing Reporting and Payment

The Liquor Division issues the following licenses:

1. Wholesale license for sale of malt beverages – The license is granted to breweries and malt beverage wholesalers resident within the state.  The annual fee is $250.00. (Wyoming § 12-2-201)

2. Vendor sales representative license - The license is granted to agents, salesmen, solicitors, brokers, sales consultants and representatives of distilleries, breweries and wineries marketing products in Wyoming.  The annual fee is $25.00. (Wyoming § 12-2-203)

3. Alcoholic manufacturing license – This license is granted to the manufacturer and bottler of alcoholic beverages.  Distilled spirits and wines must be sold to the division and malt beverages sold to licensed wholesalers in the State.  The annual fee is $250.00. (Wyoming § 12-2-203)

4. Commercial importation and storage of alcoholic beverages- The license is issued to a business commercially importing and storing alcoholic beverages within the State.  The licensee must sell alcoholic beverages, except for malt beverages, exclusively to the State Liquor Division.  They cannot make deliveries or sell to any retail outlet.  The annual fee is $250.00. (Department of Revenue, Rules and Regulations, Chapter 20, Section 11)

5. Chartered Transportation Services - Chartered transportation services traveling in Wyoming can be licensed to sell alcoholic beverages.  The annual fee is $250.00. (Wyoming § 12-2-202)

Town, city and county governments issue retail licenses.  The Liquor Division, for compliance with state statutes, reviews the applications. Local governments issue retail liquor licenses, limited retail liquor licenses, resort liquor licenses, retail malt beverage permits, restaurant liquor licenses and catering permits.  Local governments, within the limits specified by state statute, set the fees for the licenses and permits. (Wyoming § 12-3-101 through § 12-4-702.) 

The Liquor Division, at the time of sale, collects all excise taxes on wine and distilled spirits. Licensed beer wholesalers are responsible for collecting the excise tax on malt beverages.  The Wyoming Department of Revenue’s Rules and Regulations, Chapter 20, Section 9(c)(i) states each wholesaler must report not later than the 15th day of the month, the purchases by retailers for the previous month.  The total tax due must be paid at the time the report is filed.  Each microbrewery permit holder must report to the department by the 15th of each month the amount of beverage produced during the previous month.  The tax is submitted with the report.

All breweries, microbreweries and out-of-state wholesalers making sales of malt beverages to Wyoming wholesalers must report to the Liquor Division the quantity sold to each wholesaler.  This report is due on the 15th of the month following the month of sale.

Enforcement

It is unlawful for any licensee to receive or possess any alcoholic or malt beverage upon which the state excise taxes have not been paid.  Any person who violates this provision is guilty of a misdemeanor and subject to a fine of not more than $500.00, imprisoned for not more than one year, or both. (Wyoming § 12-3-101(b-c))

No person, without authorization by the Commission or by law, may import or transport alcoholic liquor or malt beverages into Wyoming for sale, use or consumption when the state excise tax has not been paid.  Violation of this provision is a misdemeanor.  The liquor brought into the state illegally is forfeited and delivered to the Division.  Individuals can enter the state with up to 3 liters of alcoholic liquor or 5 gallons of malt liquor for personal use without paying applicable state taxes. (Wyoming § 12-3-101(d-e))

Failure to file the above reports or make a tax payment, is a violation of the Department of Revenue’s Rules and Regulation and of state statute.  The division can commence proceedings to suspend or revoke the license of the offender.   An administrative hearing is held before a hearing officer designated by the division.  Counsel can represent each party, the division and the alleged offender, if they choose.  Once both parties give all testimony, the hearing is closed and the hearing officer has 20 working days to prepare proposed findings of fact and conclusions of law for submittal along with the entire record, to the director of the Department of Revenue.  The Liquor Division then has 20 days to enter a decision. (Department of Revenue Rules and Regulations, Chapter 20, Section 12)

Wyoming § 12-2-306 states that if any retail licensees are 60 or more days delinquent in paying sales taxes, the Liquor Division cannot sell alcoholic beverages to the licensee or its operator until the Department of Revenue certifies that the licensee has paid all sales taxes due.  

Taxpayer Remedies

Any licensee aggrieved or adversely affected by a final decision of the division after a hearing is entitled to judicial review in the appropriates court pursuant to Wyoming § 16-3-114 and Wyoming § 12-7-201(d).

Any retail licensee, who is not allowed to purchase liquor from the division for failure to pay sales tax, can appeal the decision to the state Board of Equalization.

Collections and Distributions

Tax and License Collections and Profits from the Wholesale Operation

During the past six fiscal years, the Liquor Commission and the Liquor Division of the Wyoming Department of Revenue has generated the following funds.
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License Fees

 8,250 

 8,160 

 7,272 

 7,907 

 7,885 

 8,458 

 9,731 

 11,123 

Excise Taxes

 1,159,902 

 1,135,474 

 1,128,089 

 1,107,797 

 1,089,501 

 1,101,809 

 1,107,257 

 1,131,661 

Wholesale Operations

 4,045,114 

 4,645,795 

 4,696,464 

 4,350,503 

 4,319,657 

 4,721,721 

 4,906,264 

 5,218,849 

Total Revenues

 5,213,266 

 5,789,429 

 5,831,825 

 5,466,207 

 5,417,043 

 5,831,988 

 6,023,252 

 6,361,633 
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TABLE 7F

The wholesale operation of the Liquor Division is treated as an enterprise fund, which in governmental accounting terminology, means the accounting procedures used are similar to those used in private industry.  The profits shown are after freight, sales and return, cost of goods sold and operating expenses have been deducted from gross sales.

The dollar amount of excise taxes collected on all liquor sales indicates there has not been growth in Wyoming’s liquor industry. This is due to Wyoming’s limited population growth and social and law enforcement education programs. The growth in profits from the wholesale operation is due to the increase in the price of the product from the manufacturer.  Profits increased by approximately $400,000.00 between 1995 and 1996. The growth in licensing fees is due to an increase in the representative license fee from $10.00 to $25.00 and the sales of licenses not usually sold such as the chartered transportation service fees.

Table 7G compares Wyoming to surrounding states for revenues per capita generated from state liquor excise tax collections and liquor store profits.

	Table 7G
	How Wyoming Compares to Surrounding State  FY 1995
	
	

	
	Store Revenues and Tax Revenue per Capita 
	
	

	
	Population
	Tax Revenue
	Liquor Wholesale /Retail
	Total
	Per Capita

	 Wyoming 
	            480,000 
	1,089,501 
	4,319,657 
	5,409,158 
	      11.27 

	 Colorado * 
	         3,747,000 
	23,652,000 
	
	23,652,000 
	        6.31 

	 Nebraska* 
	         1,637,000 
	15,885,000 
	
	15,885,000 
	        9.70 

	 South Dakota* 
	            729,000 
	9,682,000 
	
	9,682,000 
	      13.28 

	 Montana **
	            870,000 
	14,842,000 
	3,843,000 
	18,685,000 
	      21.48 

	 Idaho 
	         1,163,000 
	   4,897,000 
	10,537,000 
	15,434,000 
	      13.27 

	 Utah **
	         1,951,000 
	    18,002,000 
	20,011,000 
	38,013,000 
	      19.48 

	
	
	
	
	
	

	 * Non-Controlled States 
	
	
	
	

	**Utah Controls wholesale operations and operates state liquor stores, Montana controls wholesale operations and limited retail. 


Wyoming collected the lowest amount of revenue per capita of the controlled surrounding states.  Montana collects the most per capita, not because of its liquor store revenues, but because of its excise tax collections.  Two non-controlled states collect less revenue per capita than Wyoming, Colorado and Nebraska.  Controlled states do generate more revenue per capita for state coiffures than those with only state liquor excise tax. 

Distribution

Wyoming § 12-2-302 provides that all license fees and excise taxes are to be dispersed to the state general fund and Wyoming § 9-4-204(o) states that profits from enterprise funds are to be deposited into the state general Fund.

CORPORATION FRANCHISE TAX 

FACT SHEET

Insurance Premium Tax

Statute Citations and Tax Basis
The insurance premium tax is governed by Wyoming § 26-1-101 through 26-48-110. 

An insurance premium tax is a tax paid by insurance companies to the State of Wyoming on premiums they charge for insurance written in Wyoming.  The tax is applied to premiums for all lines of insurance .

Rates
The rate by statute is .75 percent of the premium written in the state of Wyoming for both domestic and foreign domiciled insurance companies.  The retaliatory premium tax statutes provide that foreign insurance companies pay the higher of the Wyoming rate (.75 percent) or their domestic state rate on business written in the State of Wyoming.  Wyoming has one of the lowest premium tax rates in the US.  Most foreign companies end up paying their domestic state rate on insurance premiums written in Wyoming.  The average insurance premium tax rate for all fifty states is over 2 percent.

Credits 

There are two credits applied against the premium tax.

1) Guaranty Fund Credit – This is a fund established in Wyoming for individuals who cannot obtain health insurance through normal means.  Though these individuals do pay premiums for the coverage, losses do exceed the premiums paid.  Insurance companies who write health insurance in Wyoming are assessed these losses according to their proportionate share of health insurance premiums written in Wyoming.  They then receive a credit against the insurance premium tax .

2) Wyoming Life Insurance Guarantee Fund (WHIP) Credit-This is the fund established in Wyoming to make payments to insureds in event a company providing life, health and annuities insurance becomes insolvent. Insurance companies who write life, health and annuities insurance in Wyoming are assessed these payments according to their proportionate share of insurance premiums written.  They then receive a credit against the insurance premium tax due to the State of Wyoming.

Distribution

The taxes collected are distributed to the State General Fund.  In FY 1998, approximately $9.8 million were collected.  Insurance companies writing business in Wyoming are also assessed fees to fund the operations of the Wyoming Insurance Department.

Current Problem 

Insurance companies domiciled in Illinois wrote insurance premiums in the amount of $176,212,205.  They paid the Illinois rate of 2 percent instead of the Wyoming .75 percent rate.  In 1997, the Illinois insurance premium tax rates were overturned by the Illinois Supreme Court due to the unconstitutionality of their foreign premium tax.  Illinois then adopted an insurance tax rate of .50 percent for all insurance companies.  This meant the insurance companies from Illinois would pay the Wyoming premium tax of .75 percent on business written in Wyoming.  This resulted in a revenue loss of $2.3 million to the state of Wyoming.  

Suggested Solution – The Wyoming Insurance Department suggests increasing  Wyoming’s rate to 1 percent or 1.25 percent.  One percent would mean a loss of $280,575 rather than $2.3 Million.  One and a quarter percent would increase revenues by $492,627.00. 

WYOMING ESTATE TAX

Statute Citation and Tax Basis

The Wyoming Estate Tax is governed by Wyoming § 39-19-101/111.  The amount of revenue that Wyoming receives from this tax is dependent upon United State Estate laws.  Federal gross estate means the gross estate of any decedent and is determined under the laws of the United States.  The Wyoming gross estate means the value of the Federal gross estate of a decedent, excluding the value of real or tangible personal property which has an actual situs outside Wyoming at the time of death of the decedent, and excluding the value of intangible personal property owned by a decedent not domiciled in Wyoming.

Tax Basis and Rate

The tax is imposed on the transfer of property constituting the Wyoming gross estate of every decedent.  The basis of the tax is the maximum state death tax credit allowed to a Wyoming estate as a credit against Federal estate taxes under the laws of the United States for estate, inheritance, legacy and succession taxes.  If property to be taxed is located in more than one state, Wyoming receives the ratio that the Wyoming gross estate bears to Federal gross estate.  For example, if Wyoming is the only state in which the decedent has property, Wyoming will receive as the estate tax the maximum state death tax credit allowed as a credit on the Federal return.  If one-third of the property is located in Wyoming, two-thirds of the property in other states, Wyoming will receive one-third of the minimum state death tax credit allowed as a credit on the Federal return.

Administration

The personal representative of the estate, must file with the Wyoming Department of Revenue a copy of the Federal estate tax return (Form 706).  At the time the form is filed, the tax due must be remitted.  The Department of Revenue also requests that in addition to the Federal form, copies of the will and the death certificate be attached.  Appraisals of Wyoming property and mineral interests should also be included.

If no Federal estate tax return is filed, the State of Wyoming must receive evidence that no tax is due.  The Application for No Tax Due Certificate must be filed with the State along with a filing fee of $10.00.

Enforcement

If after a tax payment is made, the department determines that an additional tax is due, it will assess and collect the additional tax due.  If the department cannot collect the additional tax, the state attorney general can bring an action in the name of the state to collect the tax liability.

Taxpayer Remedies

A decision on the Wyoming Estate tax by the Department of Revenue can be appealed to the Wyoming State Board of Equalization.  A decision made by the Board of Equalization can be appealed to the county district court where the property is located. 

If the Department of Revenue determines that an overpayment of the estate tax has been made, full refund of the overpayment will be made to the taxpayer.

Tax Collections and Distributions

Tax Collections

	Fiscal Year
	Collections

	1989
	1,704,236.21

	1990
	2,202,118.61

	1991
	2,295,987.47

	1992
	3,067,724.17

	1993
	3,734,275.67

	1994
	26,038,910.15

	1995
	2,788,867.16

	1996
	4,559,572.00

	1997
	3,998,078.78

	1998
	6,464,710.66


Distributions

One hundred percent of the monies collected from the estate tax is distributed the state general fund.
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� Data from the U.S. Department of Commerce, Census Bureau and published by the Federation of Tax Administrators, 444 north Capitol Street, N.W., Washington, D.C. 20001.  Information was obtained from the website of the Federal Tax Administrators, www.taxadmin.org. 





� Nexus is a legal term meaning having sufficient “contacts” within a state to be subject to that state’s taxing jurisdiction.  It is well established that if a business located in State A has more than de minimis amount of its property located in State B, or its employees regularly enter State B to conduct business, State B has taxing jurisdiction over the company…  The ambiguity surrounding the existence of nexus generally arises when a business is making sales or earning a profit without any direct physical presence, e.g., by licensing a trademark in exchange for royalties or through the physical presence of third parties who may or may not be considered its agent.


Many state officials believe that a “physical presence” standard for establishing nexus is to limited in a world in which an increasing number of services can be provided via telecommunications and would prefer a much broader standard under which nexus would exist whenever a business purposefully take advantage of a profit-making opportunity in a state.  Snell, Ronald, Financing State Government in the 1990’s, National Conference of State Legislatures, National Governors’ Association, December, 1993, pp 109-110.


� Rack means any person who produces, refines, manufactures, blends or compounds gasoline in this state for use, sale or distribution.


� Wyoming § 39-17-101 defines the terms: supplier, refiner, distributor, terminal operator, importer, exporter and dealer.


� Dyed diesel fuel means diesel fuel that is dyed pursuant to regulations issued by the United State Internal Revenue Service or DOT


� The US Department of Transportation, Federal Highway Administration, requires DOT to complete a Series 500 Federal report at the end of each Federal fiscal year.  A Federal fiscal year runs from October 1 to September 30.  The State fiscal year runs from July 1 to June 30. Up until 1994, DOT had reported on a calendar year basis.  The State must report the revenue collections, its administrative expenses and to whom the taxes were distributed on this annual report.


� The gallons of fuel on which tax was collected for FY98 have yet to be finalized by DOT and the figures shown are approximate.


� This program, sponsored by the University of Wyoming for municipal, county and state employees, provides education on road construction and maintenance, safety, and administration.
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Tax

		TAX SOURCES						TAX SOURCES																						1985		1986		1987		1988		1989		1990		1991		1992		1993		1994		1995		1996		1997		1998

		State Government						County Government																				Oil Production		3,128,164,344		2,889,361,320		1,440,262,656		1,726,056,828		1,386,610,892		1,657,596,044		1,944,312,061		1,525,148,746		1,392,784,056		1,145,997,408		976,428,678		1,046,253,644		1,262,398,254		1,094,434,115

		July 1, 1995 to June 30, 1996						July 1, 1995 to June 30, 1996																				Coal Production		1,230,917,455		1,256,360,635		1,111,486,981		1,006,229,601		1,170,706,216		1,157,292,224		1,128,751,476		1,124,208,895		1,124,159,350		1,086,519,590		1,134,921,050		1,190,504,945		1,217,201,878		1,168,819,736

																												Natural Gas Production		1,484,730,803		1,238,247,618		889,888,628		717,673,951		719,589,653		771,209,008		802,742,792		754,046,591		866,037,624		1,070,372,528		982,669,079		777,111,224		1,079,831,210		1,432,024,354																																																										1993		1993		1994		1994		1995		1995		1996		1996		1997		1997		1998		1998

		Sales, Use &Other Excise Taxes		$295,047,285.00				Sales, Use and Other Excise Taxes		$69,415,838.00																		Trona Production		95,792,777		96,839,980		105,566,325		114,546,971		116,918,544		150,600,216		179,369,884		191,288,342		195,116,349		178,541,871		174,696,366		235,924,659		258,344,864		259,007,520																																																								Agriculture		975,892		0.37%		1,138,233		0.34%		1,220,591		0.34%		1,317,191		0.36%		1,300,983		0.34%		1,324,471		0.36%

		Mineral Severance Taxes		233,757,769.00				Mineral Severance Taxes		4,598,713.00																		Other Mineral Production		48,021,767		34,112,330		34,343,639		23,035,941		44,568,666		36,116,824		39,969,271		46,795,746		41,901,658		41,043,459		47,646,972		48,523,309		58,353,020		63,325,758																																																								Mining		22,320,141		8.49%		30,636,026		9.12%		32,713,556		9.01%		34,040,507		9.22%		35,515,973		9.41%		27,119,960		7.37%

		Ad Valorem Taxes		0.00				Ad Valorem Taxes		62,103,490.00																		All Mineral Production		5,987,627,146		5,514,921,883		3,581,548,229		3,587,543,292		3,438,393,971		3,772,814,316		4,095,145,484		3,641,488,320		3,619,999,037		3,522,474,856		3,316,362,145		3,298,317,781		3,876,129,226		4,017,611,483																																																								Construction		8,837,467		3.36%		12,004,811		3.57%		13,484,279		3.71%		13,652,846		3.70%		17,563,331		4.65%		9,681,273		2.63%

		Other Taxes		47,872,311.00				Other Taxes		0.00																		Residential Property		855,618,203		843,473,840		842,563,332		757,990,491		734,587,024		754,836,024		789,611,910		770,321,178		870,596,675		978,237,731		1,117,609,569		1,304,328,890		1,431,821,307		1,524,030,646																																																								Manufacturing		13,604,820		5.18%		18,578,741		5.53%		19,916,064		5.49%		19,480,907		5.27%		18,495,843		4.90%		21,655,071		5.89%

																												Commercial Property		393,224,082		330,587,215		307,464,190		458,593,337		432,005,230		370,692,816		339,953,572		413,794,560		430,020,250		451,992,102		468,988,644		437,447,673		455,839,890		488,914,017																																																								Transportation		24,867,101		9.46%		32,024,884		9.53%		32,241,011		8.88%		32,889,763		8.90%		33,335,274		8.83%		28,456,953		7.73%

		TOTAL		$576,677,365.00				TOTAL		$136,118,041.00																		Agricultural lands		172,046,489		167,261,207		162,685,211		138,477,319		133,937,334		116,908,125		125,270,600		118,514,875		121,770,490		133,541,230		144,225,854		145,000,761		138,758,644		139,232,340																																																								Wholesale/ Retail Trade		127,409,505		48.49%		161,645,437		48.10%		173,755,189		47.86%		178,871,071		48.43%		182,457,036		48.34%		196,956,513		53.53%

																												Industrial Property		980,640,895		974,470,832		1,078,429,160		951,537,959		983,848,995		1,059,179,770		1,037,005,414		1,109,222,965		1,132,663,441		1,204,967,388		1,184,568,446		1,238,305,750		1,243,320,246		1,271,682,453																																																								Finance		880,167		0.33%		1,228,324		0.37%		1,551,259		0.43%		1,717,792		0.47%		1,540,652		0.41%		1,525,230		0.42%

																												All Non-Mineral Production		2,401,529,669		2,315,793,094		2,391,141,893		2,306,599,106		2,284,378,583		2,301,616,735		2,291,841,496		2,411,853,578		2,555,050,856		2,768,738,451		2,915,392,513		3,125,083,074		3,269,740,087		3,423,859,456																																																								Service		30,734,515		11.70%		38,405,786		11.43%		41,433,339		11.41%		42,302,313		11.45%		43,972,643		11.65%		50,997,674		13.86%

																												Total Assessed Valuation		8,389,156,815		7,830,714,977		5,972,690,122		5,894,142,398		5,722,772,554		6,074,431,051		6,386,986,980		6,053,341,898		6,175,049,893		6,291,213,307		6,231,754,658		6,423,400,855		7,145,869,313		7,441,470,939																																																								Public Administation		33,139,940		12.61%		40,366,355		12.01%		46,725,415		12.87%		45,071,658		12.20%		43,280,989		11.47%		30,235,742		8.22%

																																																																																																																Total		262,769,548		100.00%		336,028,597		100.00%		363,040,703		100.00%		369,344,048		100.00%		377,462,724		100.00%		367,957,887		100.00%

																												Assessed Values		1985		1986		1987		1988		1989		1990		1991		1992		1993		1994		1995		1996		1997		1998

																												Oil Production		37.3%		34.4%		17.2%		20.6%		16.5%		19.8%		23.2%		18.2%		16.6%		13.7%		11.6%		12.5%		15.0%		13.0%

																												Coal Production		14.7%		16.0%		18.6%		17.1%		20.5%		19.1%		17.7%		18.6%		18.2%		17.3%		18.2%		18.5%		17.0%		15.7%

																												Natural Gas Production		17.7%		15.8%		14.9%		12.2%		12.6%		12.7%		12.6%		12.5%		14.0%		17.0%		15.8%		12.1%		15.1%		19.2%

																												Trona Production		1.1%		1.2%		1.8%		1.9%		2.0%		2.5%		2.8%		3.2%		3.2%		2.8%		2.8%		3.7%		3.6%		3.5%

																												Other Mineral Production		0.6%		0.4%		0.6%		0.4%		0.8%		0.6%		0.6%		0.8%		0.7%		0.7%		0.8%		0.8%		0.8%		0.9%

																												All Mineral Production		71.4%		70.4%		60.0%		60.9%		60.1%		62.1%		64.1%		60.2%		58.6%		56.0%		53.2%		51.3%		54.2%		54.0%

																												Residential Property		10.2%		10.8%		14.1%		12.9%		12.8%		12.4%		12.4%		12.7%		14.1%		15.5%		17.9%		20.3%		20.0%		20.5%

																												Commercial Property		4.7%		4.2%		5.1%		7.8%		7.5%		6.1%		5.3%		6.8%		7.0%		7.2%		7.5%		6.8%		6.4%		6.6%

																												Agricultural lands		2.1%		2.1%		2.7%		2.3%		2.3%		1.9%		2.0%		2.0%		2.0%		2.1%		2.3%		2.3%		1.9%		1.9%

		TABLE 2A						TABLE 2B																				Industrial Property		11.7%		12.4%		18.1%		16.1%		17.2%		17.4%		16.2%		18.3%		18.3%		19.2%		19.0%		19.3%		17.4%		17.1%

																												All Non-Mineral Production		28.6%		29.6%		40.0%		39.1%		39.9%		37.9%		35.9%		39.8%		41.4%		44.0%		46.8%		48.7%		45.8%		46.0%

																												Total Assessed Valuation

		TAX SOURCES						TAX SOURCES

		Cities/Towns						School Districts																						1985		1986		1987		1988		1989		1990		1991		1992		1993		1994		1995		1996		1997		1998

		July 1, 1995 to June 30, 1996						July 1, 1995 to June 30, 1996																				Oil Production		52.2%		52.4%		40.2%		48.1%		40.3%		43.9%		47.5%		41.9%		38.5%		32.5%		29.4%		31.7%		32.6%		27.2%

																												Coal Production		20.6%		22.8%		31.0%		28.0%		34.0%		30.7%		27.6%		30.9%		31.1%		30.8%		34.2%		36.1%		31.4%		29.1%

		Sales, Use and Other Excise Taxes		$72,661,523.00				All Other Taxes		0.00																		Natural Gas Production		24.8%		22.5%		24.8%		20.0%		20.9%		20.4%		19.6%		20.7%		23.9%		30.4%		29.6%		23.6%		27.9%		35.6%

		Mineral Severance Taxes		10,727,030.00				Ad Valorem Taxes		356,572,009.26																		Trona Production		1.6%		1.8%		2.9%		3.2%		3.4%		4.0%		4.4%		5.3%		5.4%		5.1%		5.3%		7.2%		6.7%		6.4%

		Ad Valorem Taxes		8,279,858.00				TOTAL		$356,572,009.26																		Other Mineral Production		0.8%		0.6%		1.0%		0.6%		1.3%		1.0%		1.0%		1.3%		1.2%		1.2%		1.4%		1.5%		1.5%		1.6%

		Other Taxes		0.00																								All Mineral Production		100.0%		100.0%		100.0%		100.0%		100.0%		100.0%		100.0%		100.0%		100.0%		100.0%		100.0%		100.0%		100.0%		100.0%

		TOTAL		$91,668,411.00

																																																														Locally Assessed Industrial Property

																																																														Total Industrial		Mineral Related		% Mineral

																																																								1994						631,666,203.00		476,495,394.00		75.43%

																																																								1995						615,519,991.00		471,306,480.00		76.57%

																																																								1996						630,199,311.00		555,434,756.00		88.14%

																																																								1997						639,622,556.00		570,874,410.00		89.25%

																																																								1998						659,506,197.00		592,176,809.00		89.79%

		TABLE 2C						TABLE 2D

		TAX SOURCES						TAX SOURCES

		Special Districts						Higher Education

		July 1, 1995 to June 30, 1996						July 1, 1995 to June 30, 1996

		All Other Taxes		0.00				Sales, Use and Other Excise Taxes		86,596,735.00

		Ad Valorem Taxes		42,540,418.00				Mineral Severance Taxes		43,575,936.00

		TOTAL		42,540,418.00				Ad Valorem Taxes		13,489,000.00

								Other Taxes

								TOTAL		143,661,671.00

		TABLE 2E						TABLE 2F

		TAX SOURCES

		All Governments																												1970				1,317,876,063.00						78,273,440.00		25,667,876.00		32.79%

		July 1, 1995 to June 30, 1996																												1975				2,168,456,373.00						131,082,890.00		56,781,222.00		43.32%

																														1980				4,515,133,799.00						298,415,206.00		162,726,224.00		54.53%

		Sales, Use and Other Excise Taxes		523,721,381.00																										1985				8,389,156,815.00						565,740,057.00		393,652,409.00		69.58%

		Mineral Severance Taxes		292,659,448.00																										1990				6,074,431,051.00						412,013,986.00

		Ad Valorem Taxes		482,984,775.26																										1994				6,291,213,307.00		3,523,774,856.00		56.01%		436,644,341.00		237,229,568.00		54.33%

		Other Taxes		47,872,311.00																										1995				6,231,754,659.00		3,316,362,145.00		53.22%		430,007,453.00		221,575,958.00		51.53%

																						15330		0.5866146252						1996				6,423,400,855.00		3,298,317,781.00		51.35%		450,010,743.00		223,879,371.00		49.75%

		TOTAL		1,347,237,915.26																		0.3697272267								1997				7,145,869,312.00		3,876,129,226.00		54.24%		509,052,515.00		267,438,424.00		52.54%

																																				0.0000

																						68.491		78.551		14.7%								1985		1986		1987		1988		1990		1991		1992		1993		1994		1995		1996		1,997

																						0		0				Oil Production						37.3%		36.9%		24.1%		29.3%		27.3%		30.4%		25.2%		22.6%		17.3%		15.7%		16.2%		0

														226599340		415000000						12		12		0.0%		Coal Production						14.7%		16.0%		18.6%		17.1%		19.1%		17.7%		18.6%		18.2%		18.2%		18.2%		18.5%		0

														447000000		714000000						12.697		11.531		-9.2%		Natural Gas Production						17.7%		15.8%		14.9%		12.2%		12.7%		12.6%		12.5%		14.0%		17.0%		15.8%		12.1%		0

														335000000								8.854		7.292		-17.6%		Trona Production						1.1%		1.24%		1.8%		1.9%		2.5%		2.8%		3.2%		3.2%		2.8%		2.8%		3.7%		0

																						35.867		41.893		16.8%		Other Mineral Production						0.6%		0.4%		0.6%		0.4%		0.6%		0.6%		0.8%		0.7%		0.6%		0.8%		0.7%		0

														1008599340		$   1,129,000,000.00						10.873		4.56		-58.1%		All Mineral Production						71.4%		70.4%		60.0%		60.9%		62.1%		64.1%		60.2%		58.6%		55.9%		53.3%		51.2%		1

																												Residential Property						11.0%		11.6%		15.1%		13.9%		13.1%		12.8%		13.1%		14.1%		15.5%		17.6%		20.3%		0

														0.4431888682		63.24%												Commercial Property						1.2%		1.1%		1.3%		4.0%		4.5%		4.4%		5.5%		5.7%		6.6%		6.3%		6.7%		0

																												Agricultural lands						4.4%		4.1%		5.4%		3.0%		2.9%		2.4%		3.0%		3.0%		3.2%		3.4%		2.6%		0

																												Industrial Property						12.0%		12.7%		18.3%		18.2%		17.4%		16.4%		18.1%		18.5%		18.8%		19.4%		19.3%		0

		TABLE 2G																										All Non-Mineral Production						28.7%		29.6%		40.0%		39.1%		37.9%		35.9%		39.8%		41.4%		44.1%		46.7%		48.9%		0

																																																		-0.0%

								PROPERTY TAXES

								All Governments

								July 1, 1995 to June 30, 1996

								State Government		0.00

								County Government		62,103,490.00

								City/Town government		8,279,858.00

								School Districts		356,572,009.26

								Higher Education(Comm. Colleges)		13,489,000.00

								Special Districts		42,540,418.00

								TOTAL		482,984,775.26
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0.0441
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		5514921883		843473840		330587215		167261207		974470832		2315793094		7830714977

		3581548229		842563332		307464190		162685211		1078429160		2391141893		5972690122

		3587543292		757990491		458593337		138477319		951537959		2306599106		5894142398

		3438393971		734587024		432005230		133937334		983848995		2284378583		5722772554

		3772814316		754836024		370692816		116908125		1059179770		2301616735		6074431051

		4095145484		789611910		339953572		125270600		1037005414		2291841496		6386986980

		3641488320		770321178		413794560		118514875		1109222965		2411853578		6053341898

		3619999037		870596675		430020250		121770490		1132663441		2555050856		6175049893

		3522474856		978237731		451992102		133541230		1204967388		2768738451		6291213307

		3316362145		1117609569		468988644		144225854		1184568446		2915392513		6231754658

		3298317781		1304328890		437447673		145000761		1238305750		3125083074		6423400855

		3876129226		1431821307		455839890		138758644		1243320246		3269740087		7145869313

		4017611483		1524030646		488914017		139232340		1271682453		3423859456		7441470939



All Mineral Production

Residential Property

Commercial Property

Agricultural lands

Industrial Property

All Non-Mineral Production

Total Assessed Valuation

Valuation

Year

Assessed Valuation

5987627146

855618203

393224082

172046489

980640895

2401529669

8389156815



		1985		1985		1985		1985		1985

		1986		1986		1986		1986		1986

		1987		1987		1987		1987		1987

		1988		1988		1988		1988		1988

		1989		1989		1989		1989		1989

		1990		1990		1990		1990		1990

		1991		1991		1991		1991		1991

		1992		1992		1992		1992		1992

		1993		1993		1993		1993		1993

		1994		1994		1994		1994		1994

		1995		1995		1995		1995		1995

		1996		1996		1996		1996		1996

		1997		1997		1997		1997		1997

		1998		1998		1998		1998		1998



Oil Production

Coal Production

Natural Gas Production

Trona Production

Other Mineral Production

Mineral

Percentage

Mineral Production Valuation

0.5224380657

0.2055768379

0.247966476

0.0159984539

0.0080201666

0.5239169985

0.2278111389

0.2245267738

0.0175596286

0.0061854602

0.4021340951

0.3103370135

0.2484647898

0.0294750533

0.0095890483

0.4811250172

0.2804787341

0.200046074

0.031929084

0.0064210907

0.4032728372

0.3404805342

0.2092807453

0.0340038242

0.0129620591

0.4393526702

0.3067450786

0.2044121294

0.0399172086

0.0095729132

0.4747846123

0.2756315937

0.1960230217

0.0438006134

0.009760159

0.4188256592

0.3087223674

0.2070709899

0.0525302638

0.0128507198

0.3847470791

0.3105413395

0.2392369763

0.0538995583

0.0115750467

0.325338705

0.3084534693

0.3038694588

0.0506864856

0.0116518813

0.2944276395

0.3422186723

0.2963093402

0.0526771077

0.0143672403

0.3172082599

0.3609430698

0.2356083542

0.0715287837

0.0147115324

0.3256852856

0.3140251026

0.2785849354

0.0666502196

0.0150544568

0.2724091465

0.2909240331

0.3564367436

0.0644680356

0.0157620413
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Sales Tax Collections by Industrial Sector



		FEDERAL SOURCES						FEDERAL SOURCES

		State Government						County Government

		1995-1996						1995-1996

		Federal Mineral Royalties		61,228,319.00				Federal Mineral Royalties

		Federal Aid and Grants		449,193,825.00				Federal Aid and Grants

		Other						Other		8,229,418.00

		(i.e. PILT, Forest Reverve)						(i.e. PILT, Forest Reverve)

		Total		510,422,144.00				Total		8,229,418.00

		TABLE 3A						TABLE 3B

		FEDERAL SOURCES						FEDERAL SOURCES

		City/Town Government						School Districts

		1995-1996						1996-1997

		Federal Mineral Royalties		17,365,512.00				Federal Mineral Royalties		107,718,411.82

		Federal Aid and Grants		21,517,149.00				Federal Aid and Grants		6,345,370.00

		Other		41,391.00				Other		509,756.00

		(i.e. PILT, Forest Reverve)						(i.e. PILT, Forest Reverve)

		Total		38,924,052.00				Total		114,573,537.82

		TABLE 3C						TABLE 3D

		FEDERAL SOURCES						FEDERAL SOURCES

		Special Districts						Higher Education

		1995-1996						1995-1996

		Federal Mineral Royalties						Federal Mineral Royalties		14,044,777.00

		Federal Aid and Grants		6,812,971.00				Federal Aid and Grants		31,978,539.00

		Other						Other

		(i.e. PILT, Forest Reverve)						(i.e. PILT, Forest Reverve)

		Total		6,812,971.00				Total		46,023,316.00

		TABLE 3E						TABLE 3F

		FEDERAL SOURCES

		All Governments

		1995-1996

		Federal Mineral Royalties		200,357,019.82

		Federal Aid and Grants		515,847,854.00

		Other		8,780,565.00

		(i.e. PILT, Forest Reverve)

		Total		724,985,438.82

		TABLE 3G
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		1991		8250		1159902		4045114		5213266

		1992		8160		1135474		4645795		5789429

		1993		7272		1128089		4696464		5831825

		1994		7907		1107797		4350503		5466207

		1995		7885		1089501		4319657		5417043

		1996		8458		1101809		4721721		5831988

		1997		9731		1107257		4906264		6023252

		1998		11123		1131660.54		5218849.44		6361632.98
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Excise Taxes

Wholesale Operations
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Sheet1

				Liquor Tax Rates

				37.6470588235		37.65		22.20

				0.025		0.01

				0.9411764706		0.28

						Net Sales		Expenses		Net Profit

				FY 1996		32,838,345.23		28,116,624.46		4,721,720.77

				FY 1997		34,718,299.66		29,812,035.34		4,906,264.32

				FY		License Fees		Excise Taxes		Wholesale Operations		Total Revenues

				1991		8,250		1,159,902		4,045,114		5,213,266

				1992		8,160		1,135,474		4,645,795		5,789,429

				1993		7,272		1,128,089		4,696,464		5,831,825

				1994		7,907		1,107,797		4,350,503		5,466,207

				1995		7,885		1,089,501		4,319,657		5,417,043

				1996		8,458		1,101,809		4,721,721		5,831,988

				1997		9,731		1,107,257		4,906,264		6,023,252

				1998		11,123		1,131,661		5,218,849		6,361,633

								How Wyoming Compares to Surrounding States - FY 95

								Store Revenues and Tax Revenue per Capita

								Population		Tax Revenue		Liquor Stores		Total		Per Capita

						Wyoming		480,000		1,089,501		4,319,657		5,409,158		11.27

						Colorado *		3,747,000		23,652,000				23,652,000		6.31

						Nebraska*		1,637,000		15,885,000				15,885,000		9.70

						South Dakota*		729,000		9,682,000				9,682,000		13.28

						Montana		870,000		14,842,000		3,843,000		18,685,000		21.48

						Idaho		1,163,000		4,897,000		10,537,000		15,434,000		13.27

						Utah		1,951,000		18,002,000		20,011,000		38,013,000		19.48

						Non-Controlled States
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